The Darkest Sunrise (The Darkest Sunrise, #1)
Sticks and stones will break my bones, but words will never harm me.Whoever coined that phrase is a bald-faced liar. Words are often the sharpest weapon of all, triggering some of the most powerful emotions a human can experience.“You’re pregnant.”“It’s a boy.” “Your son needs a heart transplant.”Sticks and stones will break my bones, but words will never harm me.Lies.Syllables and letters may not be tangible, but they can still destroy your entire life faster than a bullet from a gun.Two words—that was all it took to extinguish the sun from my sky.“He’s gone.” For ten years, the darkness consumed me.In the end, it was four deep, gravelly words that gave me hope of another sunrise. “Hi. I’m Porter Reese.”

The Darkest Sunrise (The Darkest Sunrise, #1) Details

TitleThe Darkest Sunrise (The Darkest Sunrise, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance

The Darkest Sunrise (The Darkest Sunrise, #1) Review

  • Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾
    June 16, 2017
    This. Book.ALL OF THE STARS!!This is quite possibly the most memorable, captivating, and gripping romance Aly has written to date. It was full of so much depth and raw emotion, I couldn't tear myself away for even a second. I sobbed my way through the entire second half. I fell SO hard for the hero because he just may be the swooniest broken hero Aly has written. He was EVERYTHING. The romance here was simply unforgettable and this is only the beginning. I don't have enough words to describe how This. Book.ALL OF THE STARS!!This is quite possibly the most memorable, captivating, and gripping romance Aly has written to date. It was full of so much depth and raw emotion, I couldn't tear myself away for even a second. I sobbed my way through the entire second half. I fell SO hard for the hero because he just may be the swooniest broken hero Aly has written. He was EVERYTHING. The romance here was simply unforgettable and this is only the beginning. I don't have enough words to describe how much I adored it, so I won't even try.Instead, I'll just be off rocking myself in a corner somewhere in my wait for the conclusion to this incredible duet.If this book isn't on your radar yet, it needs to be at the very top of your list. PERIOD.Find me on:
    more
  • Val ⚓️ ShamelessBitchySkanky ⚓️ Steamy Reads
    June 30, 2017
    OMG so excited.
  • Brittainy Cherry
    May 27, 2017
    I CANNOT EVEN TALK ABOUT HOW EXCITED I AM!
  • Olga therebelreader
    June 30, 2017
    “Two people alone in the darkness. No questions. No judgments. No faking it.” I absolutely loved this book. Multiple times whilst reading it, tears welled up in my eyes at the beauty of AM's writing, and just imagining being in Charlotte's situation got me really emotional. The writing is gripping, demanding that the pages are turned. The story is exceptional!Without giving too much away, the author makes all characters in this story extremely real. Despite the somewhat dark subject matter this “Two people alone in the darkness. No questions. No judgments. No faking it.” I absolutely loved this book. Multiple times whilst reading it, tears welled up in my eyes at the beauty of AM's writing, and just imagining being in Charlotte's situation got me really emotional. The writing is gripping, demanding that the pages are turned. The story is exceptional!Without giving too much away, the author makes all characters in this story extremely real. Despite the somewhat dark subject matter this is a story of hope, life affirmation and all that it brings. The relationship between Charlotte and Porter is honest, they might be in love but they have real problems and they aren't all solved with a snap of the fingers. I loved the way the romance developed in this story. Their slow transition from formality to a deeper understanding and eventually, to love was beautifully played out. “Porter Reese understood me. Not in sentences, but in the silence”. ~ Charlotte “Our situations were different, but the same shade of black painted both of our souls. But, as I clung to him, trying to perform the impossible task of collecting myself, it hit me that the darkness was all we’d ever have”. ~ Charlotte The Darkest Sunrise is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make. All in all, a truly heart-warming love story, and one I would recommend to all fans of contemporary romance and family drama.In short:Hero 5/5 | Heroine 5/5 | Plot (Point, Originality) 5/5 | Writing Style 5/5 | Steam 4/5 | Romance 4/5 | Angst-Suspense 5/5 | Darkness 4/5 | Humor 3/5 | Secondary Characters 4/5 | Drama-Conflict 5/5 | Mystery 4/5 | Twists 4/5 | Pacing Fast | Action 3/5
    more
  • Claire Robinson
    July 1, 2017
    **My review will also appear on Straight Shootin' Book Reviews -https://straightshootinbookreviews.com
  • FMABookReviews
    March 21, 2017
    ★★★ ALL OF THE STARS IN THE SKY, ALL OF THEM! ★★★ ❝You have no idea what you're talking about. We don't share an inferno, Porter. You wouldn't last a day in my flames.❞ BRILLIANT! SIMPLY, BRILLIANT! I don't even know how to begin to process all of the thoughts and emotions swirling in me right now! I have loved Aly Martinez since 'Changing Course'. I have enjoyed watching her grow as an author, watching her come into her voice, and masochistically, I have enjoyed having her break my heart, ov ★★★ ALL OF THE STARS IN THE SKY, ALL OF THEM! ★★★ ❝You have no idea what you're talking about. We don't share an inferno, Porter. You wouldn't last a day in my flames.❞ BRILLIANT! SIMPLY, BRILLIANT! I don't even know how to begin to process all of the thoughts and emotions swirling in me right now! I have loved Aly Martinez since 'Changing Course'. I have enjoyed watching her grow as an author, watching her come into her voice, and masochistically, I have enjoyed having her break my heart, over and over again. Martinez has an uncanny talent of pulling emotions from her characters and throwing them at her readers. Like, it should be classified as assault, really. I don't remember the last time I felt so caught up in a couple of characters that I couldn't breathe and I couldn't see through the tears. Porter and Charlotte's pain became my pain, their tears fell from my eyes and their laughter filled my room. If you liked Till Page, you are going to fall in love with, want to marry and bear the children of Porter Reese! This man will steal your heart. He will set the bar for all of your book boyfriends. He is so special to me I built him a pedestal, um ... er ... created a new shelf to place him on, "ULTIMATE BBF"! The character of Charlotte Mills was devastatingly outstanding. She was strong in her weakness, hilarious in her sadness, and she was stalwart while she was drowning. Together, they couldn't have been more well-suited. Brought together by a shared darkness, he took her pain, he sheltered her from the storm, while she helped him trust in humanity and love again.'The Darkest Sunrise' is this author's best novel to date! I question whether my heart can take The Brightest Sunset! But, what I know for sure is Aly won't leave me hanging, there will be an HEA. Right? There is, isn't there, Aly??? **I received an Advanced Reader Copy. This did not influence my opinion of the book, nor my review.**
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    June 30, 2017
    Omg can't wait to read it ❤❤❤    
  • Leddy Harper
    July 1, 2017
    The Darkest Sunrise by Aly Martinez has got to be one of the most intense, riveting stories I have read in a very long time, if ever. It sucked me in from the first page and wouldn't let me go until...well, it still hasn't let me go, and I've long since finished the last word. I found myself easily relating to Charlotte, even though I've never experienced a fraction of her tragedy. I understood her because of the way she was written, making her story palpable as if I'd lived her whole life. And The Darkest Sunrise by Aly Martinez has got to be one of the most intense, riveting stories I have read in a very long time, if ever. It sucked me in from the first page and wouldn't let me go until...well, it still hasn't let me go, and I've long since finished the last word. I found myself easily relating to Charlotte, even though I've never experienced a fraction of her tragedy. I understood her because of the way she was written, making her story palpable as if I'd lived her whole life. And I absolutely love Porter and all his awkward glory. There's laugh out loud banter and witty humor, all strategically placed throughout this emotional journey that had me on the edge of my seat from the very beginning. This is a MUST read! Don't add it to your TBR, don't make a note to buy it, just get it and devour it. You won't have a single regret.
    more
  • Aɤɩ
    July 2, 2017
    5 in the dark starsWarning: There'll be no spoilers of any sorts in this review, because the lady herself ordered us to not divulge in her secrets, and also because I don't kiss and tell. So, can you tell that I'm in a really good mood? I bet you can. This book was one of the best and the most terrible things to happen to me. I mean seriously, it ends on a cliffy and let it be known, you can quote me on this if I ever disagree, but I fucking hate cliffhangers. Argh! Yes, I had the reveal all 5 in the dark starsWarning: There'll be no spoilers of any sorts in this review, because the lady herself ordered us to not divulge in her secrets, and also because I don't kiss and tell. So, can you tell that I'm in a really good mood? I bet you can. This book was one of the best and the most terrible things to happen to me. I mean seriously, it ends on a cliffy and let it be known, you can quote me on this if I ever disagree, but I fucking hate cliffhangers. Argh! Yes, I had the reveal all figured out within the first chapter of the book, I won't lie about that. But that is when Martinez's talent for writing comes in, because oh-my-fucking-god did it still hit me like a wreaking ball- straight in my chest.I wanted to weep for Charlotte and Porter, and how impossible their situation seemed. She couldn't heal me. And I couldn't heal her. But sometimes, when the overwhelming weight of gravity had you pinned to the Earth, two hours of simple conversation with no pressure to pretend was the only reprieve people like us were ever going to get. I have been reading Martinez for a long time now, and this book is the prime example of why I keep coming back to her again and again and again.Porter and Charlotte had the exact kind of romance between the two of them that not only just tugs at your heartstrings, but crashes into your chest and drags your heart behind it- uncaring of how much it hurts you to read them, and you go along with it, because it keeps throwing crumbs of adorable awkwardness and sweet silly jokes as occasional pacifier. I think without those crumbs I might have crumbled, because to this date, The Darkest Sunrise could easily be Martinez's emotionally strongest book. No shit.This was what all that I wanted to do after I finished the book― But because the story is not over yet, I'll just be sitting here, twiddling my thumbs, and trying to not lose my goddamn mind thinking about how long it is going to take for The Brightest Sunset to hit my kindle.You play a rough ball Martinez, and you play completely unfair. Let me leave you with these parting words from Porter that made this book into an arrow that skewered right through me- scarring me, and forcing me to keep remembering this phenomenal story. I hope like hell you don't ever come to me the way you did tonight. But, if you do, I'll always be there. Door open. Light switch poised. Darkness waiting.
    more
  • Kim
    July 2, 2017
    ***5 star Spoiler free review***I am sitting here forcing myself to take some deep breaths and compose myself as I write this review...I cannot say that much specifically about the plot of this book because it is one that you just need to dive in and experience. I devoured this first part of the duet and now I am completely jonesing for the second part to see how it all plays out. This is the story of two broken people. Charlotte Mills is a work-a-holic Doctor that has not been living life for t ***5 star Spoiler free review***I am sitting here forcing myself to take some deep breaths and compose myself as I write this review...I cannot say that much specifically about the plot of this book because it is one that you just need to dive in and experience. I devoured this first part of the duet and now I am completely jonesing for the second part to see how it all plays out. This is the story of two broken people. Charlotte Mills is a work-a-holic Doctor that has not been living life for the past ten years. She is destroyed, guilt-ridden, grief stricken, and lost in darkness. Porter Reese has his own demons and pain. He is a single father and busy business owner. But his past has marked him and he is plagued by anger, guilt, and regret. His life is challenging and he does the best he can to take care of those he cares about, but it never seems to be enough.These two meet and somehow can see through their masks to their damaged cores. They can sense the fact they are both survivors, just going through the motions, and barely getting by. Porter pushes her to allow him to accompany her in the darkness with no questions, no judgment, faking, or apologies. Hope sparks only to be put out intermittently. Together they can be real, breathe, laugh, and even begin to share. But their lives and issues provide natural barriers. It is hard to hold on and to let go of their pasts. It is hard to hold onto each other and fight their demons. Porter especially is torn between his chaotic world and Charlotte's needs. But I adored Porter. He was trying so hard to be what everyone needed him to be and he was already only half functioning before. He was understanding, patient, kind, and had a good sense of humor And Charlotte was trying even though she was clearly struggling. Porter could bring her back to life in increments. But it was still hard to hold onto the thought of truly emerging from the darkness to live in the light again.There are no easy answers or cures for healing. And sometimes even when it seems things cannot get any worse, fate has some more surprises to toss into the equation. This book is beautifully written and intricately layered in multiple points of view. It is a truly unique story that is tragic, heartbreaking, passionate, and has glimmers of hope and humor. It sucked me in, held me captive, ripped me to shreds, and would start to sew me back together before tearing me up again. And then it just left me needing the next part so that I can breathe again. I am completely and utterly invested in these characters and this story. I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review. Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Ashi- A hopeless romantic girl :D
    June 30, 2017
    OMG! Is it just me or really all of my fav authors are releasing a book with damn intresting blurbs this month? July is gonna be a rocking month if these books turns out to be as amazing as what they are promising❤
  • Jan
    June 30, 2017
    Oh heck! I think I stopped breathing at one point.I actually came up for air after the last sentence. I was so gripped throughout The darkest Sunrise but near the end I was like a rabbit in headlights. Two people in darkness wrestling with their own grief and demons, fate brought them together but would the same see them through. Charlotte is a Doctor who throws herself into work, she has been numb for 10 years ever since her baby was taken in a park. Charlotte functions but is like a robot,no h Oh heck! I think I stopped breathing at one point.I actually came up for air after the last sentence. I was so gripped throughout The darkest Sunrise but near the end I was like a rabbit in headlights. Two people in darkness wrestling with their own grief and demons, fate brought them together but would the same see them through. Charlotte is a Doctor who throws herself into work, she has been numb for 10 years ever since her baby was taken in a park. Charlotte functions but is like a robot,no humor, very little emotion her smiles are fake and her heart is empty. Charlotte first meets Porter when he hears that the talented Doctor Mills is going to be at a charity fun day event and he offers hes services to the event. Porter has a sick child and knows Doctor Mills is one of the best in the country but she won't treat children only adults and Porter wants to persuade her. Porter is instantly drawn to Charlotte and doesen't even know she is the person he came to see when they first start talking. Charlotte's grief reflects that of his own and they both have an instant inner calm around each other.Porter had me swooning even in his own darkness all he wanted to do is help Charlotte see the light, let go and feel instead of the numbness she had become accustomed to. The Darkest Sunrise is a very moving and emotional story with dots of humor,hotness and comes complete with twists and turns, Aly Martinez never fails to move me. With the unanswered questions that lead to Porters wife's death, Charlotte still struggling,hoping,grieving,searching for her son and the emotions that poured from the pages made The Darkest Sunrise is a book I couldn't put down and I'm eager for more. A highly emotional read told in dual pov's. Part one in the duet part two can't come soon enough I will be waiting for the release impatiently. Porter:Two people alone in the darkness. No questions No judgements No Faking it.Until she decided to turn on the lights. Arc gratefully received for review purposes http://www.Bbbf-sizzlereads-bestbookb...
    more
  • Vickie
    July 1, 2017
    5 isn't anywhere near enough for this book. I knew before I started that I'd be taking emotional hit after emotional hit (because it's Aly Martinez and she knows how to pack a punch) but I never expected the characters to make me fall in love with them like they did. I am completely obsessed with this story. This book squeezed my heart from the start. Reading what Charlotte went through, it was all too easy to try and understand what she was thinking and feeling. As a parent myself it's my worst 5 isn't anywhere near enough for this book. I knew before I started that I'd be taking emotional hit after emotional hit (because it's Aly Martinez and she knows how to pack a punch) but I never expected the characters to make me fall in love with them like they did. I am completely obsessed with this story. This book squeezed my heart from the start. Reading what Charlotte went through, it was all too easy to try and understand what she was thinking and feeling. As a parent myself it's my worst nightmare so I found Charlotte very easy to connect with. She broke my heart. Having lived with her guilt for the last ten years, she's now a successful Pulmonary doctor but she's not the Charlotte she used to be. She's broken, confused, lost and feeling like she'll never find her way. Single dad Porter is an absolute sweetheart. I can't put into words just how much I LOVE this man. He's such a strong character and so caring, I swear I was swooning all over the place. When he meets Charlotte, he sees this beautiful, broken woman with a wicked sense of humour that intrigues him. He sees Charlotte from the first meeting, really sees her deep inside and there's something about her that calls to him. Recognising the same darkness in her that he carries, he can't stay away even though he knows he should. Having both suffered horrific tragedies in their pasts, they're both struggling to let go of the guilt over the parts they played. These two people are so broken and beat up mentally and emotionally, I couldn't help but admire them for getting through each day. What starts off as an awkward, amusing meeting between two strangers develops into this fantastic friendship/relationship with them both needing something only the other can give them. I loved everything about this book. As usual Ms Martinez has got the balance and range of emotions absolutely perfect. I felt everything while reading The Darkest Sunrise. Their pain, confusion, anger and loss but also the excitement, the silence in the dark, the intense connection between Charlotte and Porter. They are so cute together. The banter between them sets the tone perfectly and I dare anyone to read their dates and not smile. I can't wait for the second part of this story, I'm literally counting down the days to release day.
    more
  • Becca
    June 30, 2017
    Sweet Heaven. I want my heart back!!! You hear, dear Aly Martinez? I want that freakin’ organ back!OMG, this book is far the best book I’ve read this year. It conquered my body, my whole damn existent. I’ve never ever read a book like this before! It’s a pure, raw emotional roller coaster. It broke my heart into a million tiny pieces, did a little dance on these pieces, then put it together just to broke it again. Yet, all I can think about is rereading it. Again and again. This book made me cry Sweet Heaven. I want my heart back!!! You hear, dear Aly Martinez? I want that freakin’ organ back!OMG, this book is far the best book I’ve read this year. It conquered my body, my whole damn existent. I’ve never ever read a book like this before! It’s a pure, raw emotional roller coaster. It broke my heart into a million tiny pieces, did a little dance on these pieces, then put it together just to broke it again. Yet, all I can think about is rereading it. Again and again. This book made me cry – what, it was totally ugly crying -, made my heart beat faster and it absolutely took my breath away.This is a story you won’t forget. Ever. Can’t wait to have my hands on the second book. Until then, I’m going to sit in a corner and reread all over again.
    more
  • Tanya
    July 1, 2017
    wow....speechless...amazing....emotionalthe prologue made me cry, and i continues to be an emotional mess throughout this book. this book will make you feel even if you don't have a maternal bone in your body.Charlotte is a fighter, regarless of the guilt and circumstances she is thrown throughout the book. Porter is a damaged man who is trying to survive his own past. Book 2 cannot be here fast enough to see how this couple deal with the news that will forever change their lives
    more
  • Shayna
    June 30, 2017
  • Shelley Youngblood
    July 2, 2017
    Aly Martinez is a true talent with The Darkest Sunrise, the first book in her Darkest Sunrise Duet. From the very start she drew me in and did not let go. She made me feel a wealth of emotions throughout the book as she developed a story line that kept me burning through the pages, to find out what would happen next. The story line itself is rather unique. It is about two people who are going through the motions of life, without being able to experience any of the true emotions that go with it. Aly Martinez is a true talent with The Darkest Sunrise, the first book in her Darkest Sunrise Duet. From the very start she drew me in and did not let go. She made me feel a wealth of emotions throughout the book as she developed a story line that kept me burning through the pages, to find out what would happen next. The story line itself is rather unique. It is about two people who are going through the motions of life, without being able to experience any of the true emotions that go with it. They do what they have to do to survive, but that's just it. Each are just a shell of the former life that they have lived. For Charlotte Mills, she experienced one of the most unfathomable experiences one should ever have to go through as a parent. She continues to help others every day, as a pulmonologist. In fact, she is the best there is in the region. She works around the clock to save the lives of others. She takes little time for herself. She thinks she is doing an okay job of hiding behind her work, until she meets Porter Reese. He sees more than the front she put up. He sees her and he knows her, because it is a version of himself.Porter Reese is a single dad of two, the co-owner of a restaurant that is so successful, they are about to open another and he should be ecstatic, except he can't. His son is sick, and ever since that fateful day of his wife's death, he does all he can to just survive life. He will do whatever it takes to get his son the care he needs, even if it includes groveling with the doctor who refuses to see children as patients. When he finally does meet the infamous Dr. Mills, he sees much more than her expertise as a doctor. He sees a woman who, like him, has lost something. Their connection is like no other. Maybe they come out of the darkness together. This is my first book written by Aly Martinez, but it will not be my last. I absolutely loved the way she developed her characters and plot. He characters were so real and believable. I devoured this book as I had to know what would happen next. Not only am I dying to know what happens in the rest of this story, but I will likely be reading many books from her in the future. She is an extremely talented author, whom I would highly recommend to all!
    more
  • MJ
    June 28, 2017
    The Darkest Sunrise is yet another all-consuming beginning to the latest duet by Aly Martinez. And once again I'm held captive by this heart-wrenching tale of two people, both lost in their own worlds due to grief and the cruelty that is life, continuing to question the universe when their paths intersect.This story is written with a depth I can equate to her duet from last summer (Retrieval/Transfer). Feeling the uncertainty of the whys and hows of the burgeoning relationship between Charlotte The Darkest Sunrise is yet another all-consuming beginning to the latest duet by Aly Martinez. And once again I'm held captive by this heart-wrenching tale of two people, both lost in their own worlds due to grief and the cruelty that is life, continuing to question the universe when their paths intersect.This story is written with a depth I can equate to her duet from last summer (Retrieval/Transfer). Feeling the uncertainty of the whys and hows of the burgeoning relationship between Charlotte and Porter and waiting for the floor to drop out at any second, had my stomach in knots. But I craved that tension, the almost dread at what would happen next. It's a book that firmly grabs hold of your soul from the very start and through all the highs and lows, you can't help but love both Charlotte and Porter and their slow-burn romance. Characters extremely well-written and just so genuine. Feelings are raw and yet both know exactly how to be each other's solace, even when they try so hard to resist. Told in alternating POV's, you'll get to experience each thought full of hurt, joy and everything in between. There are scenes that completely gutted me and I still wanted more.Aly Martinez continues to amaze me with her words. She doesn't hold back one bit with The Darkest Sunrise and I am sincerely grateful there are only two weeks between Book 1 and the conclusion, The Brightest Sunset. Clearly a test in patience, this very impatient reader can sense that the reward will be the utmost in satisfaction.Not to be missed, I love that the author isn't afraid to test her boundaries to give us her very best. I was at times overwhelmed but found myself still smiling at the brilliance that is this book.A huge 5+++ stars!
    more
  • Sarah Nickles
    July 1, 2017
    Oh my Book World God.. I have no words that can truly express how this book consumed me. How it still is actually. “Just a little company in the darkness. No questions. No judgments. No faking it.”14 words that stole my heart and gave it to Porter Reese. For the past 10 years Charlotte has known nothing other than devastation, heartache, and loss. She lives the motions of everyday life but only to cover the crippling Hell she actually feels running through her veins every second I the day. Porte Oh my Book World God.. I have no words that can truly express how this book consumed me. How it still is actually. “Just a little company in the darkness. No questions. No judgments. No faking it.”14 words that stole my heart and gave it to Porter Reese. For the past 10 years Charlotte has known nothing other than devastation, heartache, and loss. She lives the motions of everyday life but only to cover the crippling Hell she actually feels running through her veins every second I the day. Porter has lived in his own version of Hell the last 3 years. The betrayal and loss he experienced left him hating the one he vowed to love, while trying to keep his light and strength for his children.Aly's writing brought this story to life. You feel the pain radiating off of both character's. You see the little spark of hope they have while in each other's presence. Aly broke my heart with the pain written throughout her pages but she also made me laugh pretty damn hard at Porter's adorable awkwardness. Charlotte and Porter's story is still running circles in my head. My heart hurts for them, my soul has hope for them. I've been a mess since I finished the last sentence. They have consumed my thoughts since slamming my Kindle down and wanting to punch something. The ending made me see red but not because it was a bad ending but because I have to wait for my answers. Good Lord please help me not lose my sanity while waiting for The Brightest Sunset. IBeautifully written Aly. Thank you for all the mixed emotions and small heart attacks.
    more
  • Sienna Logan (Lost to Books)
    July 1, 2017
    This author can be a bit hit or miss for me. I found her via a book signing and started with The Fall Up. If you saw my review for this book, I enjoyed it, but didn't love it. However, after seeing the buzz about her Retrieval duet, I gave her another chance, picked up those books, and absolutely loved them. For that reason, I decided to take a chance on this duet and I'm so glad I did. I requested The Darkest Sunrise, but wasn't sure what I was getting into. What I got was an emotional read abo This author can be a bit hit or miss for me. I found her via a book signing and started with The Fall Up. If you saw my review for this book, I enjoyed it, but didn't love it. However, after seeing the buzz about her Retrieval duet, I gave her another chance, picked up those books, and absolutely loved them. For that reason, I decided to take a chance on this duet and I'm so glad I did. I requested The Darkest Sunrise, but wasn't sure what I was getting into. What I got was an emotional read about two sets of people struggling to piece themselves back together after horrible events. Through their pain and darkness, they find each other and help each other through the tough time. Martinez's writing in the book is beautiful. Everything flows, it kept me hooked, and I finished this book much too quickly. It reminded me of her Retrieval series in structure, so if you're a fan of that definitely check this out. It had the same tone and amount of emotion. What I really loved though was the humour brought to this book. While it is a sad, intense, and emotional read, the author did a great job of injecting lighter scenes that balanced out the bad. It made the characters more likeable and developed the connection between them. Overall, this is definitely one of the better books by this author. I would highly recommend it and I can't wait to conclude the duet in book 2.
    more
  • C.J. Butcher
    June 30, 2017
    OMG! This is the book that makes you cuss at the very last page...but in a good way! It gives you all the feels. It makes your family throw napkins at you during TV time because you're over there moaning and groaning like you're at a wake and they're thinking you have heartburn or having a heart attack. It's probably Aly's best book to date. The premise is the heroine gets pregnant when she's younger and the baby needs a heart transplant, but then something happens while Charlotte is helping som OMG! This is the book that makes you cuss at the very last page...but in a good way! It gives you all the feels. It makes your family throw napkins at you during TV time because you're over there moaning and groaning like you're at a wake and they're thinking you have heartburn or having a heart attack. It's probably Aly's best book to date. The premise is the heroine gets pregnant when she's younger and the baby needs a heart transplant, but then something happens while Charlotte is helping someone else. I can't tell you what it is!! I want too, but I can't. Then you meet Porter, who is one of those heroes that you just love. You root for him and want him to succeed. Seriously, it's a real good thing that Aly decided to release these within weeks of each other because had she not...ummm we'd all be on her front lawn - just hanging! Cause we're cool like that. I'm kind of hoping that there's a book about Tanner;) He's kind of hot!! Anywhoo, y'all need to read this book because it's got all the feels in it and gives good heartfelt feelings!!I received an ARC from the publisher/author in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own and do not reflect anyone else's.
    more
  • Kylee
    July 1, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book and this is my voluntary and honest review. This is the first book I have read from this author and believe me Aly Martinez blew me out of the water with this book. There is no faking how much I loved this book and yes I am going to judge this book, judge it to be the best book I have read so far this year. This story will have every emotion you could ever imagine come crashing to the surface, you will feel heartbroken, tormented, frustrated, gut wrenching sadness, I received an ARC of this book and this is my voluntary and honest review. This is the first book I have read from this author and believe me Aly Martinez blew me out of the water with this book. There is no faking how much I loved this book and yes I am going to judge this book, judge it to be the best book I have read so far this year. This story will have every emotion you could ever imagine come crashing to the surface, you will feel heartbroken, tormented, frustrated, gut wrenching sadness, happiness and total confusion. I am not going to give you one piece of this story as this is one that you need to experience for yourself, you need to go in blind feeling every word that this author has poured onto the pages, but I will tell you the story will have you so gripped that you need to clear your schedule because once you start reading this book there is no way you are putting it down. I am now counting the days until part 2 of this duet is available because until then these characters and their story will be occupying and consuming every one of my thoughts.
    more
  • Amanda Casey
    July 1, 2017
    This book!!!! I don't even know where to begin.. I haven't read anything like it, honestly. It tugged at my heart strings from the very beginning. It was gut wrenching at times but I just couldn't put it down. Two people trying to survive two separate tragedies. Charlotte and Porter. She's trying to survive after the loss of her son. Porter is trying to survive being a parent to a sick child (and so much more). I found myself holding my breath at certain points, waiting to see what was going to This book!!!! I don't even know where to begin.. I haven't read anything like it, honestly. It tugged at my heart strings from the very beginning. It was gut wrenching at times but I just couldn't put it down. Two people trying to survive two separate tragedies. Charlotte and Porter. She's trying to survive after the loss of her son. Porter is trying to survive being a parent to a sick child (and so much more). I found myself holding my breath at certain points, waiting to see what was going to happen. My heart felt like it was in my throat. Without giving too much away, this book is a must read! I felt like I was living this story with her characters. (I also want to say that Porter is all kinds of amazing). It will captivate you from the moment you pick it up. (Also, the very last page will make your jaw drop). I haven't had the pleasure of reading any of her books before but I can say without a doubt, I'm a huge fan. Her writing flows easily and is beautiful. One of the best, emotionally charged, 5 star reads I've read in a long time!
    more
  • Maria Angie Mendoza
    July 2, 2017
    My first read by this author and I was totally consumed by this story!From the very beginning of the book the author takes you on a chilling intense and emotional journey following tragic events.Charlotte's agonizing past is killing her slowly, but she goes through the motions of walking among the living burying herself in her work. When she meets restauranteur and single father Porter something she hadn't experienced in 10 years happened. She started to feel. Unbeknownst to Charlotte, they shar My first read by this author and I was totally consumed by this story!From the very beginning of the book the author takes you on a chilling intense and emotional journey following tragic events.Charlotte's agonizing past is killing her slowly, but she goes through the motions of walking among the living burying herself in her work. When she meets restauranteur and single father Porter something she hadn't experienced in 10 years happened. She started to feel. Unbeknownst to Charlotte, they share more than their unique attraction for each other.The writing was spot on! The story flowed nicely with humor and flirty banter to brake the heartbreaking angst of the story.This is a story of 2 very broken people who are perfectly flawed and matched. This is their journey as they find love, closure and forgiveness under terrible circumstance.The characters were well developed and relatable. The ending to me was not completely surprising but Holy Mother of Dragons, I cannot wait to find out what happens next!!book 2 can't come soon enough.4.5 stars!!
    more
  • Sheila'S Book Corner
    July 2, 2017
    This book Deserves 10 Fucking Awesome Stars.....Firstly don't be afraid by me shouting you will know why I'm so messed up after you read this book. And Please Please Please stop what you doing and read this book. It's the Book of the year. You gonna love this book beyond measure..... OMFG this book was an absolute Mind Fuck. I'm not sure I have ever been so raw. My chest is actually aching. Aly Martinez I DON'T KNOW WHETHER TO KISS YOU OR GET YOU HELP.This book is utterly Beautiful, Soul Fucking This book Deserves 10 Fucking Awesome Stars.....Firstly don't be afraid by me shouting you will know why I'm so messed up after you read this book. And Please Please Please stop what you doing and read this book. It's the Book of the year. You gonna love this book beyond measure..... OMFG this book was an absolute Mind Fuck. I'm not sure I have ever been so raw. My chest is actually aching. Aly Martinez I DON'T KNOW WHETHER TO KISS YOU OR GET YOU HELP.This book is utterly Beautiful, Soul Fucking Crushing. My heart is broken and bleeding.Every word spoken touches you so deep. You feel the pain, Happiness, helplessness and by the Hopelessness. All that's going through my mind Is OMG THIS CANNOT BE HAPPENING. I desperately need book two. Desperately.Grab this book the minute it's out you gonna love it.
    more
  • Danny Jeffery
    July 2, 2017
    Firstly, I really would recommend that you go into this book as blind as you possibly can as I feel this will really heighten the reading experience of this book.There are no words for how much I enjoyed this book. I was pulled in and gripped to this story from the first page. The emotion that Aly gets across from both our MC's is spot on and I was moved and my heart was in my mouth pretty much throughout. Fear not, there is just the right amount of light humour to cut through the angst and dram Firstly, I really would recommend that you go into this book as blind as you possibly can as I feel this will really heighten the reading experience of this book.There are no words for how much I enjoyed this book. I was pulled in and gripped to this story from the first page. The emotion that Aly gets across from both our MC's is spot on and I was moved and my heart was in my mouth pretty much throughout. Fear not, there is just the right amount of light humour to cut through the angst and drama to give you that light relief. This was a wonderfully suspenseful romance that I simply couldn't recommend enough. I was provided with a copy of this book from the Publisher; there was no inducement or obligation.
    more
  • Natasha
    July 1, 2017
    Where can I begin at how beautiful this story is. Charlotte capture my soul as she trudge through life. She lost something so precious 10 years ago that she doesn't know if she would ever get out of her darkness. Porter is doing the best he can do as a single dad. He is juggling the building of his new restaurant and his sick child. He knows he needs he best doctor in Atlanta, but she doesn't see children. When two people know the depths of their own darkness it could be healing and it could als Where can I begin at how beautiful this story is. Charlotte capture my soul as she trudge through life. She lost something so precious 10 years ago that she doesn't know if she would ever get out of her darkness. Porter is doing the best he can do as a single dad. He is juggling the building of his new restaurant and his sick child. He knows he needs he best doctor in Atlanta, but she doesn't see children. When two people know the depths of their own darkness it could be healing and it could also bring more questions. See more soon on my YouTube channel A Day With Ethel.https://youtu.be/69GfpFPgWgU
    more
  • Kelly
    July 2, 2017
    Five high emotion stars!! I could not put this book down. This is the first book in a fast paced duet by Aly Martinez. I've read everything Aly has written and this book is at the top of my favorite list. The hero, Porter is swoon worthy with a little awkward thrown in. Charlotte is surviving in the dark but not living in the light until she meets Porter. He brings her into the light, makes her laugh. I can't say too much without spoilers but I can't recommend this book enough. I'm counting down Five high emotion stars!! I could not put this book down. This is the first book in a fast paced duet by Aly Martinez. I've read everything Aly has written and this book is at the top of my favorite list. The hero, Porter is swoon worthy with a little awkward thrown in. Charlotte is surviving in the dark but not living in the light until she meets Porter. He brings her into the light, makes her laugh. I can't say too much without spoilers but I can't recommend this book enough. I'm counting down the days until the conclusion of this duet.
    more
  • Debbie Choe
    July 2, 2017
    This is the first book I've read by Aly Martinez. I was left speechless by the time I reached the last page. This story was beautifully written with so much raw emotion that I felt it deep in my soul. The painful pasts of two broken characters brought them together as they tried to face the darkness. I went through a rollercoaster of emotions - cried, laughed and cheered for both Charlotte and Porter. If you are looking for a highly emotional read, this book is for you!***ARC received in exchang This is the first book I've read by Aly Martinez. I was left speechless by the time I reached the last page. This story was beautifully written with so much raw emotion that I felt it deep in my soul. The painful pasts of two broken characters brought them together as they tried to face the darkness. I went through a rollercoaster of emotions - cried, laughed and cheered for both Charlotte and Porter. If you are looking for a highly emotional read, this book is for you!***ARC received in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • Melissa B
    July 1, 2017
    This is the first book I've read from this author but it definitely won't be the last! This book held me captive from each paragraph, page and chapter until the very end. I was riveted by this heartbreakingly beautiful story of two lost souls that have gone through so much tragedy but find solace in their darkness through each other. This was one of the most gripping and emotional books I've read and would highly recommend this amazing book but be prepared for an emotional rollercoaster ride.
    more
Write a review