I Can't Make This Up
Superstar comedian and Hollywood box office star Kevin Hart turns his immense talent to the written word by writing some words. Some of those words include: the, a, for, above, and even even. Put them together and you have the funniest, most heartfelt, and most inspirational memoir on survival, success, and the importance of believing in yourself since Old Yeller.The question you’re probably asking yourself right now is: What does Kevin Hart have that a book also has?According to the three people who have seen Kevin Hart and a book in the same room, the answer is clear:A book is compact. Kevin Hart is compact.A book has a spine that holds it together. Kevin Hart has a spine that holds him together.A book has a beginning. Kevin Hart’s life uniquely qualifies him to write this book by also having a beginning.It begins in North Philadelphia. He was born an accident, unwanted by his parents. His father was a drug addict who was in and out of jail. His brother was a crack dealer and petty thief. And his mother was overwhelmingly strict, beating him with belts, frying pans, and his own toys.The odds, in short, were stacked against our young hero, just like the odds that are stacked against the release of a new book in this era of social media (where Hart has a following of over 100 million, by the way).But Kevin Hart, like Ernest Hemingway, JK Rowling, and Chocolate Droppa before him, was able to defy the odds and turn it around. In his literary debut, he takes the reader on a journey through what his life was, what it is today, and how he’s overcome each challenge to become the man he is today.And that man happens to be the biggest comedian in the world, with tours that sell out football stadiums and films that have collectively grossed over $3.5 billion.He achieved this not just through hard work, determination, and talent: It was through his unique way of looking at the world. Because just like a book has chapters, Hart sees life as a collection of chapters that each person gets to write for himself or herself.“Not only do you get to choose how you interpret each chapter, but your interpretation writes the next chapter,” he says. “So why not choose the interpretation that serves your life the best?”

I Can't Make This Up Details

TitleI Can't Make This Up
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherAtria / 37 INK
ISBN1501155563
ISBN-139781501155567
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Humor, Autobiography, Memoir, Audiobook

I Can't Make This Up Review

  • Steph
    May 13, 2017
    I'll start off by saying I had zero interest in reading this book. I was admittedly a hater and felt that although I am a huge fan of Kevin Hart's stand-up, he did not deserve a book deal. His grammar is so horrible, I had to unfollow him on social media. With that said....I LOVED this book. I really appreciated how honest and genuine the entire book felt. He was upfront about having a writer, and I think Hart and Strauss collaborated perfectly. You can just see the Hart shining through the enti I'll start off by saying I had zero interest in reading this book. I was admittedly a hater and felt that although I am a huge fan of Kevin Hart's stand-up, he did not deserve a book deal. His grammar is so horrible, I had to unfollow him on social media. With that said....I LOVED this book. I really appreciated how honest and genuine the entire book felt. He was upfront about having a writer, and I think Hart and Strauss collaborated perfectly. You can just see the Hart shining through the entire memoir.This book is not at all what I expected it would be. I didn't think it was that funny. I chuckled a handful of times while reading it, but I actually liked that about it. Instead of it being a written version of a comedy special (like I thought it would be), it read like an inspirational story that absolutely anyone would love. There are sooo many things I loved about this book. 1. I loved how much he loves and honors his mom for everything she did for him. He could have whined and complained, but instead he honors her as being the reason why he succeeded. 2. He was not scared to show his ugly side, and I just felt this made it so much more authentic, and showed you how much he has grown as a person. This alone makes you want to strive to become better as well.3. His positivity is just such a beautiful trait, and it shines throughout. 4. I loved his advice because he cited examples from his own life where he wished he had known or followed his own advice.5. I admire what a great dad he is despite having a horrible father himself. He never once bashed his dad, but stated facts and expressed his love for his dad nonetheless.Overall, I cannot even begin to express my gratitude to Atrium for offering me the chance to read this book a month before it goes on sale. I would have missed out on a great read because I was too busy being a hateful jerk. I am now going to follow him on social media again... 5/5
    more
  • Camille
    May 15, 2017
    ****I WAS GIVEN A COPY OF THIS BOOK IN EXCHANGE FOR A HONEST REVIEW ****I didn't expect half of what I got from this book. I knew there would be funny parts, obviously, but it was much more than a funny memoir. During the telling of how he got to the level of success he has obtained, there were some real life struggles unfolding across every page. It didn't read like a hyped version of his life but a look back of on how funny, crazy, sad and tumultuous a life can be. I have experienced quite a f ****I WAS GIVEN A COPY OF THIS BOOK IN EXCHANGE FOR A HONEST REVIEW ****I didn't expect half of what I got from this book. I knew there would be funny parts, obviously, but it was much more than a funny memoir. During the telling of how he got to the level of success he has obtained, there were some real life struggles unfolding across every page. It didn't read like a hyped version of his life but a look back of on how funny, crazy, sad and tumultuous a life can be. I have experienced quite a few things that he mentioned in his book and I wasn't trying to be a comedian. That alone helped me to tune into more of what each lesson was about rather than what the outcome was. There was good advice on these pages as well as some things that seemed so personal it was hard to read but he wrote them, so the least I could do was oblige. I knocked one star off because there was a lot about going back and forth to New York that just seemed redundant and kind of took away from the book. However, this was a great read! I was surprised by how much I liked it and by how much I needed to hear some of his advice.
    more
  • Ashley
    May 30, 2017
    I didn’t know what to expect coming into this book. I enjoy Kevin Hart’s movies, but I didn’t really follow him as a “comedian.” With that said, I thought this was a great book! I tend to have mixed feelings when it comes to celebrity memoirs as many of the tend to be purely for publicity reasons, offering the reader no value or substance, but this one felt very honest and genuine. He was just sharing his story and offering readers advice that goes beyond the standard work hard and you'll succee I didn’t know what to expect coming into this book. I enjoy Kevin Hart’s movies, but I didn’t really follow him as a “comedian.” With that said, I thought this was a great book! I tend to have mixed feelings when it comes to celebrity memoirs as many of the tend to be purely for publicity reasons, offering the reader no value or substance, but this one felt very honest and genuine. He was just sharing his story and offering readers advice that goes beyond the standard work hard and you'll succeed.It was great to read a story that was so transparent. He shared all the unsightly details about his first marriage as well as his not-so-great financial decisions at the beginning of his career. And even though Kevin Hart worked with Neil Strauss to write the book, his personality and humor shine through. As I was reading this book, Kevin Hart felt like a friend who was telling me their life story. And, while the book is a little long compared to most celebrity memoirs it goes into a lot of detail about his life and the decisions he made to get to where he is now. If you’re someone that wants to know every detail about Kevin Hart, understand his childhood, and delve deeper into his early career this book is well worth reading.Some of the humor did feel a little overdone, but I think that some comedy just doesn't translate well in written word. I think listening to the book would enhance the experience. Since Kevin Hart is the narrator, it would help bring out the humor.*I received a copy of this book in return for an honest review.***Video review: https://youtu.be/ykUS2-cLz_4**
    more
  • Andre
    May 11, 2017
    This book is laugh out loud funny. Funny man Kevin Hart has much to draw on as he shares tales from his upbringing in an entertaining, inspirational and always humorous fashion making this book a big ball of fun. The book is spread across 99 chapters (yes 99) with some of the craziest chapter titles I’ve ever seen in a book, divided through 16 Life Lessons. He uses the life lessons to dispense advice and to explore what he has learned and his not always successful way of handling what life throw This book is laugh out loud funny. Funny man Kevin Hart has much to draw on as he shares tales from his upbringing in an entertaining, inspirational and always humorous fashion making this book a big ball of fun. The book is spread across 99 chapters (yes 99) with some of the craziest chapter titles I’ve ever seen in a book, divided through 16 Life Lessons. He uses the life lessons to dispense advice and to explore what he has learned and his not always successful way of handling what life throws at you. I think the strength of the book is the advice comes from a place of humble experience. So it’s not, hey I’m the star and I said do this, that and the third and you too will be a success. He is not writing as if he is some self-help guru, he is simply sharing his life and decisions he made at the various forks in the road. You can go left or you can go right. Judging by the success he has attained, Kevin has gone right far more than he has gone left, though he doesn’t shy away from discussing those lefts. The honesty he brings to the failures and the embarrassing moments help give the book it’s solid feel of authenticity and realness. Although he had a less than middle class rearing, with a comical say anything father, and what today would clearly be labeled an abusive mother he succeeded beyond their expectations. Well in the case of his mother, it could be said because of her, he is a success. She laid a strong foundation and things he hated as a child, he found himself appreciating as an adult. Kevin learned early on that humor was a natural magnet and a way to deescalate conflict. He didn’t grow up dreaming of being a comedian, he kind of fell into it, because he was the fun and funny guy. After testing the stage at an open mic night at the local comedy club he was hooked. He showed an incredible work ethic and perseverance as he kept moving forward and reaching for the comedic title. He caught some good breaks on his way to becoming an “overnight success” explaining that process, “was only sixteen years in the making.”Readers will certainly appreciate his grit and endurance and will find his grind inspirational. If you are in a rut while trying to achieve something, it doesn’t have to be a comedy career, it could be anything, I feel adequately safe in saying you will find inspiration in Kevin’s life lessons, which qualifies this book as a success. There is some profane language in these pages that the more squeamish may find objectionable, but don’t let that deter you from appreciating and enjoying what is sure to be a bestseller.Thanks to Atria books and Netgalley for providing an advanced e-copy in exchange for an honest review. Book publishes on June 6, 2017
    more
  • Vowelor Books
    March 16, 2017
    I Can’t Make This Up is Kevin Hart’s biography in which the Hollywood Superstar comedian gives ‘life lessons’ in the most laughable way possible. The book, I Can’t Make This Up, is also Kevin Hart’s debut into the writing world. This 256-page memoir of Kevin Hart is set to release in June 2018.Being written by Kevin Hart himself, the book is absolutely funny and equally deep just like his comedy. Neil Strauss has also contributed to the book. Kevin has opened about ...see review
    more
  • Marnise
    June 7, 2017
    This was so very good. A must read for any fans and the audiobook was amazing. Kevin did a great job narrating. I listen to this in two days. I only imagined I'd listen to an hour or two the first night and next thing I know 6 hours had gone by. I listened too it at lunch, as I cooked dinner, while taking my dog for a walk. I just didn't want to stop. While there were just a few parts that seemed glossed over or preachy, as a whole I loved it. So many great stories throughout and we get every as This was so very good. A must read for any fans and the audiobook was amazing. Kevin did a great job narrating. I listen to this in two days. I only imagined I'd listen to an hour or two the first night and next thing I know 6 hours had gone by. I listened too it at lunch, as I cooked dinner, while taking my dog for a walk. I just didn't want to stop. While there were just a few parts that seemed glossed over or preachy, as a whole I loved it. So many great stories throughout and we get every aspect of his life. Basically a tell-all but from the source.
    more
  • Angie
    May 28, 2017
    I requested a copy of this on a whim and wasn’t expecting much. It’s your basic celebrity memoir with a good amount of life advice mixed in amongst the stories from his childhood and adult life. I wasn’t blown away (celeb memoirs are rarely that exciting) but Hart’s book was raw and honest in a way that a lot of memoirs aren’t. He doesn’t hide his mistakes or low points and bares them to show not only the progress he’s made but the lessons he took from such things. It’s not a standup act in writ I requested a copy of this on a whim and wasn’t expecting much. It’s your basic celebrity memoir with a good amount of life advice mixed in amongst the stories from his childhood and adult life. I wasn’t blown away (celeb memoirs are rarely that exciting) but Hart’s book was raw and honest in a way that a lot of memoirs aren’t. He doesn’t hide his mistakes or low points and bares them to show not only the progress he’s made but the lessons he took from such things. It’s not a standup act in written form, like many books from comedians tend to be. Instead he barges headfirst into the heavy and dark sides of life. His love and respect for his mother and the sacrifices she made for him shines throughout. He was able to speak of his father, his absence, his addictions and his mistakes in a way that didn’t sugarcoat anything but didn’t disrespect his dad at all. It’s a place he definitely had to work toward but its good to see that they appear to be in a good place now. It’s not a must read for everyone, but definitely enjoyable for fans of Kevin Hart and real looks at the life of a standup comic. I received a copy of this book in advance in exchange for review.
    more
  • Toni
    June 9, 2017
    Even the Library of Congress and acknowledgments pages are funny.
  • Shan
    May 22, 2017
    This is how you write a celebrity memoir. This is a genre that can get very tired, very quick. Over the past few years the publishing industry has spit out so many books by celebrities, many of which weren't that deserving. It felt like too many people were writing books too soon, they just didn't have enough years under the belt to make their story worth reading right now. And that could be said of Kevin Hart as it seems like he's only been around for a few years. But as this book shows, he's b This is how you write a celebrity memoir. This is a genre that can get very tired, very quick. Over the past few years the publishing industry has spit out so many books by celebrities, many of which weren't that deserving. It felt like too many people were writing books too soon, they just didn't have enough years under the belt to make their story worth reading right now. And that could be said of Kevin Hart as it seems like he's only been around for a few years. But as this book shows, he's been grinding for years, never giving up on the path to his dream, no matter how many times something tried to knock him off that path.Like many celebrity books, this one is co-authored. And another issue with the genre is that often it's obvious who did most of the writing and it's usually not the celebrity. But however much the writing was divided up, Kevin's voice shone through like the brightest light. From finding the positives in his humble beginnings to truthfully discussing the ups and downs of his difficult marriage to owning up to his mistakes, his warmth and humour are at the forefront of this book. Every detail of this book was well thought out, right down the funny chapter titles (and at 99 chapters, that's a feat.)I learned so much about Kevin's life and what got him to this point as an international celebrity. Lots of people can learn from his perseverance and his positivity. I'd go so far as to say you don't even have to like his humour to still take away so much from this book. It's not just another piece of his comedy career, it's a thoughtful, genuine book. And I'd definitely like to be in the background when his father is near celebrities, those parts had me cracking up.I received a copy of this book courtesy of NetGalley.
    more
  • Claudia Pinillos
    June 10, 2017
    Let's start off by saying I absolutely love Kevin Hart. I first saw him when he went to Rutgers for a show and fell in love with his comedy. Since then I've loved watching him blow up. The comedy shows kept getting bigger and all the movies started happening and I was so happy to get so much Kevin. When I heard he was coming out with a book I was so excited. I'm a huge fan of books by comedians and I could not wait to get my hands on this! I was lucky enough to get an early ebook from Atria and Let's start off by saying I absolutely love Kevin Hart. I first saw him when he went to Rutgers for a show and fell in love with his comedy. Since then I've loved watching him blow up. The comedy shows kept getting bigger and all the movies started happening and I was so happy to get so much Kevin. When I heard he was coming out with a book I was so excited. I'm a huge fan of books by comedians and I could not wait to get my hands on this! I was lucky enough to get an early ebook from Atria and I was over the moon. I loved this book so much! This isn't just the story of a comedian's rise to fame. It's the story of a man that knows the value of hard work and perseverance. The story of a man that's faced failure at every turn and said, "ok, where do we go now?" Watching his struggles and his setback happen, makes watching his success that much sweeter.For me, the best parts were the parts about his mother. I loved the way that he reflects back on those tough lessons and the strict upbringing he has and sees it for what it was. Preparation for the real world. You can see a strong, determined, resilient man that was shaped by a mother looking to do the best she could for her son. This book made me laugh, it made me cry, and I came out of it with a deeper understanding of a man I love supporting. 100% recommend this book! For fans of Kevin, for fans of comedians, for people looking to get into comedy and just for people that are trying, people that are out there working hard trying to reach their goals.
    more
  • Martin Felando
    June 10, 2017
    There are many reasons why I recommend this book. The first is that Kevin contributes an incredible amount of life details about his beginnings in a way that's funny and enlightening. I've read a lot of books that offer life guidance and this is one of the best. All the qualities you need to succeed are listed in this book. If you or someone you know is thinking about working in the entertainment industry this is a must read. There are a number of relationships that are really interesting, espec There are many reasons why I recommend this book. The first is that Kevin contributes an incredible amount of life details about his beginnings in a way that's funny and enlightening. I've read a lot of books that offer life guidance and this is one of the best. All the qualities you need to succeed are listed in this book. If you or someone you know is thinking about working in the entertainment industry this is a must read. There are a number of relationships that are really interesting, especially Kevin's mom and how she kept her young son so busy he couldn't get into trouble. Keith Robinson's expert guidance during Kevin's effort to break into the NYC comedy clubs is great storytelling. Keith's role in Kevin's life will make you wish you had that kind of mentoring. Kevin shares nearly everything about his up and down journey before, during, and after his first years in Hollywood. He shares his faults and struggles and we get a clear sense of how he succeeded and why. We get to know a lot of details about his remarkable seven years as a road warrior doing comedy, especially about his promoting. I met Kevin at his book signing in NYC; he was kind, energetic, and showed everyone a lot of respect. He's an extraordinary person. A real star who has been through real struggles. You're going to laugh and you're going to get lots of insights about an incredible journey. Buy this book.
    more
  • Janeen
    June 12, 2017
    Maybe two years ago - Kevin Hart did a Nike Run called Hustle With Hart. The coolest thing about him was that he cheered everybody on. He wait until the very last person to finish and encouraged them. I even saw him at the finish line. Really cool. That spirit is embodied in his book - working hard, being the best version of yourself and being fun about it. The book is good because it's funny but the theme of hard work is constant. Definitely some laugh out loud moments. It's a self help book as Maybe two years ago - Kevin Hart did a Nike Run called Hustle With Hart. The coolest thing about him was that he cheered everybody on. He wait until the very last person to finish and encouraged them. I even saw him at the finish line. Really cool. That spirit is embodied in his book - working hard, being the best version of yourself and being fun about it. The book is good because it's funny but the theme of hard work is constant. Definitely some laugh out loud moments. It's a self help book as much as it a comedy book. He writes it in sections based on the life lesson and it's good because it's staggered to show his life progress. Resilience, humility, comedy, disappointed - it's real and a delightful read. I did get a copy of this book because of my past reading habits.
    more
  • Vnunez-Ms_luv2read
    June 6, 2017
    Kevin Hart is the man!!! This is a great book. He gives you it straight and with no chaser. I felt like I was at one of him comedy shows. This book gives you the right, the wrong and the indifferent in his life. His relationship with his mother, brother, father, friends, etc. I love the way he gives you another way to look at things that may be going on in one's life. For those looking for a good read, a book that will make you smile, laugh out loud but yet leave you with something to think abou Kevin Hart is the man!!! This is a great book. He gives you it straight and with no chaser. I felt like I was at one of him comedy shows. This book gives you the right, the wrong and the indifferent in his life. His relationship with his mother, brother, father, friends, etc. I love the way he gives you another way to look at things that may be going on in one's life. For those looking for a good read, a book that will make you smile, laugh out loud but yet leave you with something to think about after you have finished reading it, this is the book. Continued success Mr. Hart!!!! Thanks to NetGalley, the author and the publisher for the advanced reading copy of this book in return for my honest review.
    more
  • Jami
    June 12, 2017
    If you like Kevin Hart's comedy, then you'll love this book. He tells his life story in the same way he speaks during his shows; I think he is absolutely hysterical. I was prepared to laugh when I got this book, and I was not disappointed. However, I was surprised to learn about his life and his perseverance and attitude. In a world where everyone is blaming everyone else for their failures, he takes responsibility for his wrong turns and doesn't let that deter him. He has some words of wisdom a If you like Kevin Hart's comedy, then you'll love this book. He tells his life story in the same way he speaks during his shows; I think he is absolutely hysterical. I was prepared to laugh when I got this book, and I was not disappointed. However, I was surprised to learn about his life and his perseverance and attitude. In a world where everyone is blaming everyone else for their failures, he takes responsibility for his wrong turns and doesn't let that deter him. He has some words of wisdom and inspiration, which I did not expect. Very interesting story and person! I got the audio version, since he was the narrator. I felt like I had my own personal comedy show!
    more
  • Melissa
    June 9, 2017
    First and foremost this book did not disappoint. Kevin Hart is hilarious and so just getting to listen to him made the book even better. There is no such thing as an overnight success and his story drives that exact point.I learned about the events happening behind the scenes while I was laughing at his stand up specials. I loved his honesty and his constant strive for growth. Success is not for the faint of heart and his journey highlights the importance of shrugging off the rejections and the First and foremost this book did not disappoint. Kevin Hart is hilarious and so just getting to listen to him made the book even better. There is no such thing as an overnight success and his story drives that exact point.I learned about the events happening behind the scenes while I was laughing at his stand up specials. I loved his honesty and his constant strive for growth. Success is not for the faint of heart and his journey highlights the importance of shrugging off the rejections and the let downs and moving forward. There is foul language so just be forewarned if you get the audible version but nothing risque beyond that.
    more
  • JT
    June 8, 2017
    HILARIOUS!!!! Authentic Kevin Hart!!! Life stories told only the way he can tell them! I listened to the Audible audiobook, that was narrated by him and the story was AWESOME! Hours of listening to K. Hart was a treat! I It was also nice to hear the background story about his 1st marriage as well as how he got in to comedy! I can't count how many times I laughed out loud and was wiping tears! ENJOY
    more
  • Amiee
    June 10, 2017
    I am a fair weather fan of Kevin. I read this because there was a review talking about how great the audio is. And it was...at first. It was like listening to his stand up. But he of course was over the top and more silly than I care for. I can take him in small doses and about halfway through I was over him. But he did give some great advice and I respect his hustle.
    more
  • C Fox
    June 12, 2017
    Loved itI don't know what I was looking for when I bought this book besides wanting to help a black succeed but I definitely was happy I read it. It was a great book also loved the disclaimer lol
  • James Gainford
    June 11, 2017
    Fascinating. Riveting. Raw Honesty. Enriching.
  • Jaminda Wasser
    June 12, 2017
    This book was very inspiring and very funny...a must read by all.
  • Brittany
    June 8, 2017
    I need Kevin Hart to be my life coach.
  • Javaughn Lawrence
    June 10, 2017
    Hilarious life lessons on the value of persistence and hustle.
  • Deshawn
    June 11, 2017
    Great ReadOnly 4 stars because of those got d*** chapter titles lol. Really enjoyed the book, much success to you brother. Keep striving
  • William Derry
    April 10, 2017
    Inspiring words from a hardworking individual. Kevin Hart's voice was evident throughout the book and his story was funny, sad, and inspirational all at the same time. The Philadelphia native did not waste a signal page of I Can't Make This Up: Life Lessons, with filler and stayed true to himself. Thank you Kevin Hart for writing I Can't Make This Up: Life Lessons.
    more
Write a review