Wreck
Tamara Bennett is going to be the first journalist to strictly report only good news. Finished with high school, Tamara is ready to say goodbye to her sleepy little town and part-time job at the local paper. O-weeks awaits, which means parties, cute boys and settling into student res with her best friend Relle. Things take an unexpected turn, however, when she arrives home to find her house ransacked and her life in danger. What is this mysterious note? And why does it mean so much to one of Australia's most powerful media moguls? Caught between a bitter rivalry and dangerous family secret, who can Tamara trust? Or should she trust herself?

Wreck Details

TitleWreck
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 3rd, 2017
PublisherRandom House Australia
Number of pages288 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Thriller, Contemporary, Mystery

Wreck Review

  • Ryan Buckby
    July 23, 2017
    bad things happen. fight to make them right or let it wreck your life. This book was just top notch.. this is Fleur Ferris at her absolute best and i didn't think that could be possible as her other two novels are just as good. This book was one of my most anticipated releases of 2017 and i wasn't disappointed at all. Fleur is one of those authors that just has a natural talent for writing and story telling and it shows in her novels. I could read and listen to her stories non stop because they bad things happen. fight to make them right or let it wreck your life. This book was just top notch.. this is Fleur Ferris at her absolute best and i didn't think that could be possible as her other two novels are just as good. This book was one of my most anticipated releases of 2017 and i wasn't disappointed at all. Fleur is one of those authors that just has a natural talent for writing and story telling and it shows in her novels. I could read and listen to her stories non stop because they just draw you in and leave you hanging out for more. Plot: The plot was very strong and had me hooked from the very first page and did not stop until i finished the book. Following Tamara's journey all throughout this novel was a pleasant experience because her story was so well-written and so intense that i couldn't put it down. In this book we follow a much older main character who's starting her first week at university and going through that transition from high school to the real world. This was so spot on because many of us can relate to the how stressful the transition period can be after finishing high school because you are in that gap period before you start your career or university. However not all is what it seems when Tamara returns home to find her house damaged and this is where Tamara begins to fight for her own life. I honestly wasn't expecting this type of story and i was pleasantly surprised on what direction Fleur took this story because it was an absolute thrill ride that had my heart racing from the moment this all went down. I don't want to give to much of the plot away because it's a type of book you have to go in not knowing anything. I wasn't expecting to come out of this book with learning some little lessons on the way, this threw me of completely because i didn't think it would be that type of book but i came away with a few good lessons. I learnt that it's ok to trust someone that everyone else seems to think isn't trustworthy enough to believe. I learnt that it's ok to fight for what you believe in no matter how hard people make things for you, if you have enough determination you can make anything possible. I learnt that the truth will always come out sooner or later, so it's better to get the truth out there in the open rather then make up lies to cover up the truth. I learnt that people aren't what they always seem to be, they can have everyone fooled but you have to try get people to see what a person is truly capable of. Characters: Tamara: an exceptional main character for this story because she was relatable and honest to read from. I feel like i went on this journey with this character i got to feel all the emotions and hardships that she dealt with. Tamara is one of those characters that doesn't always know what she's doing but is always there for people even when they're at there worst. I loved following her journey all throughout the novel and how much she grew as a person and how much stronger she has become after all of these events. I love how open-minded Tamara was during this whole book, she didn't just believe one person all together her mind was changed at different stages. Tamara tried to stand back and not take control of this whole situation herself however she did try to put her own import into the situation at hand. Fleur has written a very strong and likeable main lead and i would love to hear more from this character because to me i feel that her journey isn't over just yet. Zel *William*: Zel was a very mysterious character and i couldn't quite work him out for the majority of the book which is a testament to how good Fleur's writing is. I did believe in some points of the book that Zel was actually the one who had lost his mind and was completely mad about this whole situation but i'm so glad i was proven wrong. Zel was a very strong and capable character who knew things that i didn't think one knew how to do, i enjoyed the friendship that he and Tamara had because it wasn't insta-love but it was just pure friendship and it was nice to see how there relationship changed from the beginning right up until the end. Knox: I hated Knox in the way i'd expect me to hate the character because he was so calculated and charming that he had every single person fooled during this whole investigation and at times i was second questioning his motives. During the book i didn't know whether to believe him or side against him because of how good he was at covering his tracks and making other people believe he was innocent. Apart from being pure evil i really enjoyed reading this character because you don't see characters like this anymore, it's like he has two faces one that he wants everyone to believe and the second face is the one he truly is. Knox was very calculated and manipulative in the way he acted and spoke to people and he knew how to win them over which i found very scary to think someone is that capable of doing that. I'm glad he got what was coming to him in the end because he deserved it after all the pain he caused not only the family but his brother as well. I also loved going from Tamara's pov back to five years before because it gave an insight to an entire family and how they acted before this tragedy and how it effected everyone in the present. This book was an absolute thrill ride with twist and turns with every page, it had high-stakes action and suspense i only wish this book was longer because i didn't want the story to end.
    more
  • Rachael
    July 8, 2017
    Let me catch my breath! Wowsers! What a ride. Fleur Ferris has crafted another page-turning thriller in this murder-mystery-who-dunnit. I was gripped from the very beginning. I loved the dual narratives drip feeding the story from Tamara in the present and William in the past. I had a great time trying to guess who to trust. Ferris masterfully creates a cast of characters to love and hate and then tips you into a spiral of self doubt! I really enjoyed the shipwreck details and found the descript Let me catch my breath! Wowsers! What a ride. Fleur Ferris has crafted another page-turning thriller in this murder-mystery-who-dunnit. I was gripped from the very beginning. I loved the dual narratives drip feeding the story from Tamara in the present and William in the past. I had a great time trying to guess who to trust. Ferris masterfully creates a cast of characters to love and hate and then tips you into a spiral of self doubt! I really enjoyed the shipwreck details and found the description fascinating. I always LOVE reading Ferris' police scenes because I know for sure they are accurate and realistic! She was a cop! I love seeing the police as good guys! I know I've said it after each of Ferris' books but: THIS IS HER BEST WORK YET! I felt like I was watching a movie - it would translate so brilliantly to the big screen! I also loved the very satisfying ending.
    more
  • Richard
    June 1, 2017
    After 'Risk' Fleur Ferris could have written a kind of 'Risk 2' which would have been the easy way. Since then however she has produced 'Black' and now 'Wreck' both of which are definitely not 'Risk 2.'Wreck has an older main character than Fleur's first two books who deals with different though equally serious and contemporary issues. It is fast paced, has characters we love and some we most definitely do not. Its brilliant pace is in part due to the actual physical movement of Tamara (the main After 'Risk' Fleur Ferris could have written a kind of 'Risk 2' which would have been the easy way. Since then however she has produced 'Black' and now 'Wreck' both of which are definitely not 'Risk 2.'Wreck has an older main character than Fleur's first two books who deals with different though equally serious and contemporary issues. It is fast paced, has characters we love and some we most definitely do not. Its brilliant pace is in part due to the actual physical movement of Tamara (the main character) who travels on foot, in cars, a plane and a helicopter in pursuit of a confusing truth. What struck me most about Wreck is how 'now' it is. Truth is manipulated by powerful vested interests. Tamara is a wonderful main character, flawed, honest, brave. Her honest determination drives this brilliant book.
    more
  • Danielle
    June 14, 2017
    Fleur Ferris really knows how to hook you into a story and keep you on the edge of your seat! Thrilling and action-packed, I couldn't put it down because I just wanted to know how it was going to end! Full review to come on my blog:www.thechroniclesofdanielle.wordpress...
    more
  • Rob De
    May 10, 2017
    Fleur is a fantastic author of gripping YA crime suspense thrillers and Wreck might be her best work yet! She certainly draws on personal experience both as a police officer and paramedic.Our main character Tamara is about to enter university to study journalism with high ideals of only ever writing good news stories. Alternate chapters are the story of William set five years ago when his mega rich media owner families super yacht capsizes and his adored cousin Christian goes missing, presumed d Fleur is a fantastic author of gripping YA crime suspense thrillers and Wreck might be her best work yet! She certainly draws on personal experience both as a police officer and paramedic.Our main character Tamara is about to enter university to study journalism with high ideals of only ever writing good news stories. Alternate chapters are the story of William set five years ago when his mega rich media owner families super yacht capsizes and his adored cousin Christian goes missing, presumed dead. I can't give the story away except to say that Tamara's life changes instantly when she discovers a letter in a bottle while surfing. Could it really by from Christian?What happens next is an amazing roller-coaster ride to uncover the truth with a whole empire working against her. It is an exceptional story that will resonate with teens of today as it asks questions of media power and control by the wealthy. It raises questions of trust, family and corruption and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Both the characters and storyline were exceptional.
    more
  • Josephine
    July 22, 2017
    WOW. Absolutely brilliant, and addictive to the very last word. Best work of Fleur's yet (it seems by each book she is improving exponentially) and I am already aching to read what she comes out with next. Thanks for the ride!
  • Jenny
    July 12, 2017
    YA readers out there you will love this third novel by Fleur Ferris. It is packed full of action, emotion, suspense and drama. All the right ingredients to hook a reader in and keep them engaged to the very last page. Congrats Fleur on another top read, there's lots to like - particularly the way this novel will connect with young adult readers. The cover design is enticing and the writing is fast paced.
    more
  • Emily Mead
    June 10, 2017
    Somehow this is the first Fleur Ferris book I've read and it did NOT DISAPPOINT. Very fast-paced thriller, I loved the MC, the journalism influences...really excellent. I kind of wish there'd been another plot twist at the end but it was still fantastic.
    more
  • Anisha
    June 10, 2017
    this was such a fun thriller that kept me on my toes THE ENTIRE TIME! i had no idea what was going to happen next and the entire story was so well written and unpredictable! i did not have super high hopes going into this but it was absolutely amazing, thank goodness! for more, click the link to read my no spoiler book review: https://sprinkledpages.blogspot.com.a...
    more
  • Annie
    June 8, 2017
    this would have to be the YA thriller of 2017!!! Once again, my friend Fleur Ferris is back with her third novel, “Wreck” and once again… She does not disappoint!!! This book was simply “un-put-downable” and if I didn’t have to work full time I would have finished this book much sooner!! From page one this book really was a page turner, such a suspenseful story!!! Published by Penguin Random House, this is a fantastic story where 2 worlds collide over a 5 year old mystery and a battle for the tr this would have to be the YA thriller of 2017!!! Once again, my friend Fleur Ferris is back with her third novel, “Wreck” and once again… She does not disappoint!!! This book was simply “un-put-downable” and if I didn’t have to work full time I would have finished this book much sooner!! From page one this book really was a page turner, such a suspenseful story!!! Published by Penguin Random House, this is a fantastic story where 2 worlds collide over a 5 year old mystery and a battle for the truth to finally set one free begins. Written in 2 perspectives, Tamara and William, what I loved about this book (besides how well it’s written) was how both voices are very distinguished and each character’s story was set in a different time. One is told in the present and the other’s was set 5 years prior. In the present day, Tamara is interning at the local paper and is supposed to be celebrating O-Week to start her first year in Uni, yet she finds herself roped into a situation where her home was ransacked, her world has just been turned upside and her life is in danger. All this because Tamara randomly found a note – a note that somebody is desperately trying to hide and will kill for. Now on the run and not knowing who to trust (not even the police) Tamara is trying to piece together a jigsaw puzzle that seems to be getting bigger and bigger at every turn. Even with both perspectives and backstory, the big mystery kept unraveling which raised more questions than answers and made me formulate theories as I went along, what a wild ride that was!! At some parts I was frustrated with the characters but then again, put yourself in their shoes – would we have reacted the same way or would we have known better? Fast paced, action packed and suspenseful... this book was awesome!!! Special thanks to Fleur Ferris for sending me an Advanced Review Copy, can’t believe this is the third novel I have read by Fleur and each time, I am left stunned!! Blog will be posted soon.
    more
  • Pat
    June 13, 2017
    A thrilling read, great main characters and interesting plot.
  • Melissa Pouliot
    May 31, 2017
    I read Fleur Ferris's third YA fiction novel Wreck in one sitting. I was drawn in instantly by the eye catching cover and blurb on the back as I knew I would relate to the central character Tamara Bennett who 'is going to be the first journalist to strictly report only good news' - something I aspired to in my early journalism career while reality constantly challenged that notion. Wreck is the type of book that you will stay awake during the night for, with its fast pace, suspense, drama and in I read Fleur Ferris's third YA fiction novel Wreck in one sitting. I was drawn in instantly by the eye catching cover and blurb on the back as I knew I would relate to the central character Tamara Bennett who 'is going to be the first journalist to strictly report only good news' - something I aspired to in my early journalism career while reality constantly challenged that notion. Wreck is the type of book that you will stay awake during the night for, with its fast pace, suspense, drama and intriguing storyline. I read it as my adult self while thinking how amazing it would have been to read something like this when I was a teenager who could never find enough books to satisfy my passion for reading. I was also drawn in by the undertones of the ambiguous loss families and friends of missing people go through, as this is something I experience myself. Fleur writes so sensitively without overdoing it. She captures how it feels when you don't have a clear end point for your grief, when you teeter between hope that your missing person will turn up alive and well on your doorstep, while knowing that the chances of that are unlikely. I highly recommend this book to all readers, you will not be able to put it down. It will stay with you long after you have finished, and you will return to it again and again.
    more
  • Melissa (Jen & Mel's Book Nook)
    July 14, 2017
    This is my favourite book from Fleur yet! I could not put this book down for a second! I loved the way the chapters jumped back and forth from the past to present, slowly revealing clues as the story progressed. I worked out who Zel was at page 58 (yep, I even made a note of the page!) and chapter three was an early tear-jerker. I loved that the action started in chapter one, where normally there'd be casual introductions to the characters. None of that here! It's all "Hi, I'm the main character This is my favourite book from Fleur yet! I could not put this book down for a second! I loved the way the chapters jumped back and forth from the past to present, slowly revealing clues as the story progressed. I worked out who Zel was at page 58 (yep, I even made a note of the page!) and chapter three was an early tear-jerker. I loved that the action started in chapter one, where normally there'd be casual introductions to the characters. None of that here! It's all "Hi, I'm the main character and I'M BEING ABDUCTED!" We never see this in a YA novel, so that's a breath of fresh air right off the bat. Tamara is quite the tough cookie! Sure, she has her breakdowns, but is otherwise a resilient and driven character. Her pursuit of the truth is admiral, and I loved that she often went with her gut when she knew she could help Zel. I loved how everything went down at the end. It was the perfect edge-of-your-seat kind of action and who doesn't love that?! And finally putting an end to a five year old mystery was bittersweet but so satisfying, especially when it meant justice and peace of mind for those left in the aftermath. I already cannot wait for Fleur's next book!
    more
  • Trisha
    April 30, 2017
    Lots of shelves to tick. Lots of gripping suspense. Feisty, brave main character, with a really nice best friend relationship.Lots to think about, and very relevant to the current political climate.(view spoiler)[ very glad that evil bad villain got what was coming (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Hayliejeaan
    July 21, 2017
    I just finished an amazing book & I was worried it would be a long time before I found another one I could love the same or even more.. The next day I found this book & it wiped all those worries away.. This book was pure perfection! Even better than the last book I read.Could not put this baby down! Half of me is happy that I read this book & the other half is sad because I wish I read it slower only because I was not ready to let go of Tamera or Zel yet :(Even wanted to jump into t I just finished an amazing book & I was worried it would be a long time before I found another one I could love the same or even more.. The next day I found this book & it wiped all those worries away.. This book was pure perfection! Even better than the last book I read.Could not put this baby down! Half of me is happy that I read this book & the other half is sad because I wish I read it slower only because I was not ready to let go of Tamera or Zel yet :(Even wanted to jump into the book when Knox went into the cave, just wanted to save Christian :(Think I even felt closer to these characters because I am Australian myself, I loved it!All I can say is 10000/10! Bravo Fleur Ferris! You have now a big fan in me! Death Scene: this book destroys my feels
    more
  • Wing-yee (bibliomeds)
    July 3, 2017
    Truth to be told, I’ve never read any of Fleur’s books. I’ve seen her other YA title Black around on bookstagram but I never got the chance to read it. But seeing that Wreck is a YA thriller set in Australia and written by an Australian author – I KNEW I had to get my hands on it. AND OH MY! It did not let me down!The first few pages got me hooked completely that I couldn’t stop reading (nevermind that it was like 1 am) – and I simply couldn’t stop reading. I love the fact there was minimum mund Truth to be told, I’ve never read any of Fleur’s books. I’ve seen her other YA title Black around on bookstagram but I never got the chance to read it. But seeing that Wreck is a YA thriller set in Australia and written by an Australian author – I KNEW I had to get my hands on it. AND OH MY! It did not let me down!The first few pages got me hooked completely that I couldn’t stop reading (nevermind that it was like 1 am) – and I simply couldn’t stop reading. I love the fact there was minimum mundane ‘fluff’ at the start – whereas in some novels, things don’t pick up until the third chapter. In this case, readers are thrown right into actions right from the beginning... CONTINUE READING ON: https://bibliophilicmedstudent.wordpr...
    more
  • Bert Zee
    July 25, 2017
    I liked this book however for me it didn’t even come close to how much I liked Black and Risk. Wreck doesn’t have as good of a story as either of those books, the time jumping also had me a little jarred and I can’t say that I’d gotten used to it by the end because I didn’t. It was well written, fast paced and is thrilling to a degree but it just seemed to be at 90% and never quite made it to 100, never fully comes alive and becomes great they way her other books did.I still really love Fleur Fe I liked this book however for me it didn’t even come close to how much I liked Black and Risk. Wreck doesn’t have as good of a story as either of those books, the time jumping also had me a little jarred and I can’t say that I’d gotten used to it by the end because I didn’t. It was well written, fast paced and is thrilling to a degree but it just seemed to be at 90% and never quite made it to 100, never fully comes alive and becomes great they way her other books did.I still really love Fleur Ferris as an author, she writes great fiction that other writers should envy and I’ll still be getting her books in the future. 3 stars.
    more
  • Ruth
    July 29, 2017
    Finishing this book has made my day it was the most stressful book with all its turns but I would highly suggest reading it, WRECK is an amazing book it is amazingly well written and the storyline is unpredictable. At first I was a little apprehensive to the book but I got hooked fast and in the end I binged the finish of this book I was so deep into it. Its a must read for young adult lovers
    more
  • Madelyn Paige
    July 15, 2017
    3.5*
  • Ally Van Schilt
    June 25, 2017
    I was certainly sucked into this story and I think that the parallels worked really well. I don't think that the romance was that necessary or successful.
  • Gabby
    June 12, 2017
    Full review on my blog soon;alwaysandforeverreading.wordpress.com
  • Erica Swanson
    July 23, 2017
    This book was an easy and engaging read!I was hooked at the beginning, and could not put it down. But i feel as the book progressed it lost some of its flare and the plotting became a little unsteady. The story went back and forth a lot, i feel some parts could have been culled so the plot ran more smoothly. There easily could have been another 50 pages to get some more of those details and developments! In saying that i did enjoy it! Great concept and different to the typical YA stand alone. Al This book was an easy and engaging read!I was hooked at the beginning, and could not put it down. But i feel as the book progressed it lost some of its flare and the plotting became a little unsteady. The story went back and forth a lot, i feel some parts could have been culled so the plot ran more smoothly. There easily could have been another 50 pages to get some more of those details and developments! In saying that i did enjoy it! Great concept and different to the typical YA stand alone. Also love that Fleur is an Australian author and love that her books are set there. (Support your local)
    more
  • Star
    July 31, 2017
    It's no secret that I love all of Fleur's books, and this one is no different.I enjoyed the change up in the dual POV with this book. It was really cool to see things from Tamara's point of view, to William's view from five years previous. 4.5/5 stars
    more
  • Joelie
    July 31, 2017
    Great writer. Had me doubting my own opinion on who was guilty.
Write a review