Esteemed Vampire Cat (Colt Harper, #1)
Colt Harper hates it when you pat a cat the wrong way, or when you upload their faux pas to YouTube. In fact, he'll probably kill you for it. As a self-proclaimed master vampire cat, Colt never imagined he'd be sent to community service at a revolting community theater. And for what? Killing humans who don't buy the expensive brand of cat food? Talk about unfair. Still, working with a nervous werewolf and a monster addicted to tickling wasn't on his to-do list.What's worse, is he's falling for a human. Sure, she has green eyes. Sure, she fosters stray cats. But she's still a disgusting human. So why is he risking his own life to save her from the chasers?

Esteemed Vampire Cat (Colt Harper, #1) Details

TitleEsteemed Vampire Cat (Colt Harper, #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherCuriosity Quills Press
Number of pages170 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Fiction

Esteemed Vampire Cat (Colt Harper, #1) Review

  • Steven Brown
    June 26, 2017
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7H3s...No spoilers. Just our ridiculously sad drawing skills. Think BookTube with stick figures.
  • Montzalee Wittmann
    May 30, 2017
    Colt Harper: Esteemed Vampire Cat (Colt Harper #1) by Tyrolin Puxty is a hilarious novel that is full of wit and snarky humor! I got this novel from Curiosity Quills and the review is voluntary. The book had me right away with the insane antics of the vampire cat and how he has to do community service, again. He has borrowed a 'meat suit' of a man and will have to help with a community theater. Working with a werewolf, he also comes across other monsters. It is so funny. How this author can mak Colt Harper: Esteemed Vampire Cat (Colt Harper #1) by Tyrolin Puxty is a hilarious novel that is full of wit and snarky humor! I got this novel from Curiosity Quills and the review is voluntary. The book had me right away with the insane antics of the vampire cat and how he has to do community service, again. He has borrowed a 'meat suit' of a man and will have to help with a community theater. Working with a werewolf, he also comes across other monsters. It is so funny. How this author can make something so unremarkable into something so absolutely fabulously funny is amazing! Every paragraph is sprinkled with wit and humor. Loved it! So crazy and unexpected. This book was a true delight!
    more
  • Erin Sky
    June 26, 2017
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7H3s...No spoilers. Just our ridiculously sad drawing skills. Think BookTube with stick figures.😂😂😂
  • Lena♥Ribka
    June 8, 2017
    3,5 starsIt was a quick and fun read!In spite of much flowing blood and many dead bodies. But don’t feel pity for those humans: they DID hurt cats, and…they were just annoying and disgusting, like all humans are, it is why they deserved to die. At least it is a life philosophy of Colt Harper, a self-proclaimed master vampire cat, the last alive of his art on the Earth. Only it is not the rules that could be tolerated by the council. The council will not allow any more human killings. Times have 3,5 starsIt was a quick and fun read!In spite of much flowing blood and many dead bodies. But don’t feel pity for those humans: they DID hurt cats, and…they were just annoying and disgusting, like all humans are, it is why they deserved to die. At least it is a life philosophy of Colt Harper, a self-proclaimed master vampire cat, the last alive of his art on the Earth. Only it is not the rules that could be tolerated by the council. The council will not allow any more human killings. Times have changed. For his behavior Colt is sentenced to community service in a small-town community theater. Even worse is that he has to put up with two further companions in misfortune: Jax, a sensible werewolf ("A warewolf? Oh great. Just great. They detest vampire cats, and they're always hungry.") and Leshi, a quirky tickling female monster. ("The one thing worse than humans are other monsters"). But who could imagine that this tiny town is swarmed with mendacious monsters, insidious chasers, who hunt monsters, pesky humans (don’t forget, our trio is on probation), and that the owner director of the community theater Saffron-Jade herself is…A cheeky paranormal comedy, full of humor and action. with an eccentric narrator, many hilarious moments, an easy-going holiday read. ***Copy provided by Curiosity Quills Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**
    more
  • Kirsty White
    June 11, 2017
    I picked this book to review purely because of the title and it didn't disappoint. It's as bonkers as you'd suspect. Colt Harper is in trouble again. He possesses people who are cruel to cats and uses their 'meat suits' as he sees fit. He now has to do community service at a amateur dramatics theatre as penance where he meets a werewolf and a woman who tickles people to death.It's a short book, it's really funny and doesn't care who it offends which just makes it even more perfect. I just loved I picked this book to review purely because of the title and it didn't disappoint. It's as bonkers as you'd suspect. Colt Harper is in trouble again. He possesses people who are cruel to cats and uses their 'meat suits' as he sees fit. He now has to do community service at a amateur dramatics theatre as penance where he meets a werewolf and a woman who tickles people to death.It's a short book, it's really funny and doesn't care who it offends which just makes it even more perfect. I just loved it
    more
  • Mirror
    April 11, 2017
    "The world is full of idiots and people who get offended too easily. If this offends you, you're probably an idiot."I fell in love with Colt Harper the moment I read that first sentence. He's reckless, blunt and totally adorable. A fun ride full of twists and turns, perfect for people who are fans of Supernatural and Jim Butcher series. More, more, more!
    more
  • Tyrolin
    March 16, 2017
    Boom chicka meow, meow. 3 months until release date! If you love cats and comedy, then Colt Harper is your next read :)
  • Clair
    June 3, 2017
    A quirky book filled with humour. A vampire cat is sentenced to community service for killing a human. Throughout his journey he meets a bunch of weird characters including werewolf, tickle monster, demons, shapeshifter. We follow his escape from human chases (humans who seek out and destroy monsters) in this wonderful book which is told from the point of view of the monsters.The author plays with what is good or bad in a delightfully amusing way. I loved seeing the humans as the bad guys whilst A quirky book filled with humour. A vampire cat is sentenced to community service for killing a human. Throughout his journey he meets a bunch of weird characters including werewolf, tickle monster, demons, shapeshifter. We follow his escape from human chases (humans who seek out and destroy monsters) in this wonderful book which is told from the point of view of the monsters.The author plays with what is good or bad in a delightfully amusing way. I loved seeing the humans as the bad guys whilst the monsters justified their actions. Filled with crazy antics which turns the everyday into a quirky delight. Colt’s bluntness, cheekiness and mission to kill any human that harmed a cat were hilarious. The quotes at the start of each chapter were especially brilliant. Colt Harper is now my favourite bad boy vampire cat as it was such fun to see the world through his eyes. This is lighthearted tale filled with humour perfect to make you smile.I’d recommend to anyone who enjoys humorous fantasy, demons and cats.I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Marlene
    April 23, 2017
    This was an extremely fun read! As a lover of cats, I knew I would like snarky Colt Harper, Vampire Cat, who is made to kill humans who harm cats. He ends up traveling with a werewolf and a tickle-monster to do community service at a community theater for harming humans but there meets a surprisingly feline woman with 27 cats and decides that maybe not ALL humans are bad.They end up on the run, more adventures ensue. Overall, this is a just fun silly book that any true cat lover might get a kick This was an extremely fun read! As a lover of cats, I knew I would like snarky Colt Harper, Vampire Cat, who is made to kill humans who harm cats. He ends up traveling with a werewolf and a tickle-monster to do community service at a community theater for harming humans but there meets a surprisingly feline woman with 27 cats and decides that maybe not ALL humans are bad.They end up on the run, more adventures ensue. Overall, this is a just fun silly book that any true cat lover might get a kick out of!I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Nichole Mohler
    June 6, 2017
    Colt Harper is a master vampire cat. In fact, he's the last of his kind. He has made it his mission in life to kill humans who don't treat cats with the love and adoration they deserve. But, things aren't the way they used to be. The Council is against killing humans, so Colt is once again in trouble. Usually his community service is gardening or some other boring job. Since this is his last chance, the punishment is very severe, his punishment this time is community theater. This was a quick re Colt Harper is a master vampire cat. In fact, he's the last of his kind. He has made it his mission in life to kill humans who don't treat cats with the love and adoration they deserve. But, things aren't the way they used to be. The Council is against killing humans, so Colt is once again in trouble. Usually his community service is gardening or some other boring job. Since this is his last chance, the punishment is very severe, his punishment this time is community theater. This was a quick read, lots of humor, and Colt and Jax are great together. I received a copy from Net Galley.
    more
  • Karen Mace
    June 3, 2017
    This is a story about a cat who possesses humans and then kills those who are mean to cats.....and those who just annoy him... what more do I need to say?! You NEED to read this story for this fact alone! I also loved the extremely funny quotes at the start of each chapter - Colt Harper is one very opinionated kitty!!Colt Harper is a very funny, rude, witty, sarcastic but lovable Vampire Cat! And for his crimes against humans he is sent on community service to community theatre!! The perfect pun This is a story about a cat who possesses humans and then kills those who are mean to cats.....and those who just annoy him... what more do I need to say?! You NEED to read this story for this fact alone! I also loved the extremely funny quotes at the start of each chapter - Colt Harper is one very opinionated kitty!!Colt Harper is a very funny, rude, witty, sarcastic but lovable Vampire Cat! And for his crimes against humans he is sent on community service to community theatre!! The perfect punishment but not in his eyes and he's not best pleased when he finds out what awaits him. Along the way he meets up with a werewolf, a tickle monster (yes they exist!), and other weird and wonderful monsters from his walk of life who are living amongst us! But as he spends more time in his human form, could he be going soft and falling for Saffy at the Theatre - and why is he even drawn to her in the first place?!I have loved the previous Broken Dolls series by Tyrolin Puxty, and this is just as quirky and wonderful as those stories so can highly recommend that if you are looking for a hilarious new character to embrace, then Colt Harper is your cat!! And I was very pleased to find out that there will be another story about Colt to follow!!Thank you to Curiousity Quills for the advance copy in return for a fair and honest review
    more
  • A
    June 22, 2017
    ARC received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review :)I freaking loved this book :) it was ridiculous, hilarious and full of supernatural shenanigans... can't wait to share all my thoughts about it with you on the release day... ;) but definitely keep an eye out for this gem :)edited to add my full review :)I got an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review :) the first thing I have to say about this story is that it was absolutely ridiculous, in the best ARC received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review :)I freaking loved this book :) it was ridiculous, hilarious and full of supernatural shenanigans... can't wait to share all my thoughts about it with you on the release day... ;) but definitely keep an eye out for this gem :)edited to add my full review :)I got an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review :) the first thing I have to say about this story is that it was absolutely ridiculous, in the best possible way... ;) fast paced, hilarious and full of awesomeness... :) it was my very first read by this author, but I will certainly check out her other work, after falling in love with her freakingly entertaining writing style... :) this wasn't a super long read, so I will keep my review on the shorter side as well, so I won't spoil you anything... because trust me, the less you know, the better... :) but don't worry, I will tell you some stuff ;)I figured we will start with me telling you a bit more about the main character, and a few other important... well... I can't really call them people, so let's go with the word "characters" again ;) and then I will share my thoughts and feelings about this amazing gem :) so our main guy is Colt... and Colt is a vampire cat :) yep, you read it correctly... after all, it's in the title as well :) he is the last one of his kind, and long story short, he kills people who are mean to cats, or worse... :) he's obnoxious, sarcastic, rude, complains all the time and hates people... I freaking loved him from the start :) but he's not the only one I adored in this story... :) I want to mention three more... :) first, there's Jax, a werewolf who gets easily scared and is such a sweetheart, fighting his monster nature and trying to be good... and let's not forget about Leshi... she is a tickle monster... yep, she is addicted to tickling people to death... AND she has troubles with finding words, so she describes them in the most hilarious and unexpected way... for example, when she says "christmas llama" she means "reindeer" :) and there's much more where this little gem came from ;) and of course the human in their midst, Saffy... she is the owner of the theatre, where our group is send to do community service :) because when monsters break rules, they are usually sentenced to do some sort of community service, before being eternally damned :) and that's pretty much all I can say about this book :) so how about we jump into my thoughts and feelings, so I can convince you all to read this story :)I had such a blast reading this gem :) I fell in love with the writing style from the very first chapter I read, and then it got only better :) this is a fast paced, action filled story, with so many surprising turns of events along the way... and of course the sarcastic humor... oh, it is one of my greatest weknesses when it comes to books :) and this one was filled with it... witty banter and hilarious remarks were on every page and trust me... I was laughing so hard throughout it all, that I definitely caught some attention, when I was reading it on my way to work ;) #TrueStory :) I inhaled it in record time, and before I knew what was going on, the book ended... so now I am very eagerly awaiting the sequel... and there will be one, because we got a little glimpse about it at the very end :) the whole book is written from Cole's perspective, and I couldn't be more happy about it, because like I mentioned, I absolutely adored that grump ;) I highly recommend you guys to read this absolutely entertaining gem :) it will make you laugh out loud and gasp in shock and surprise... it will definitely brighten your day so give it a try... that way. we can talk together about all the paranormal shenanigans ;)XOXOAfor more book-ish stuff visit:my blog -> https://bookworm8619.blogspot.com/my facebook page -> https://www.facebook.com/bookworm8619/
    more
  • Suze
    June 27, 2017
    Colt Harper is a vampire cat. He loves killing, especially humans who are cruel to cats. He doesn't know any others of his kind, but he isn't the only monster that exists. He is being watched by the council and tried like all monsters when he does something wrong. They don't allow killing humans any longer and because Colt has just murdered someone he's being ordered to do community service, which he finds incredibly unfair.Colt is being sent to a community theater where he has to work together Colt Harper is a vampire cat. He loves killing, especially humans who are cruel to cats. He doesn't know any others of his kind, but he isn't the only monster that exists. He is being watched by the council and tried like all monsters when he does something wrong. They don't allow killing humans any longer and because Colt has just murdered someone he's being ordered to do community service, which he finds incredibly unfair.Colt is being sent to a community theater where he has to work together with several other monsters that have done something the council doesn't approve of as well. Jax, a scared werewolf has turned someone against their will, Lexi is a tickle monster and kills kids by tickling them to death and Saffy has green eyes and seems human, but is she really? How can Colt like someone who's human, he normally finds them beneath him and wants to kill them. When chasers are coming after the group of monsters Colt wants to protect them, especially Saffy. That's nothing like him, what's happening to him?Colt Harper: Esteemed Vampire Cat is a fantastic absurd story. Tyrolin Puxty has a great sense of humor and I loved every word of her story. Colt likes killing people and doesn't understand why he isn't allowed to do what his species can do best. He says exactly what he thinks and I liked the way his mind works. I loved his dry remarks and he kept making me laugh. His story captivated me immediately and enjoyed reading it from beginning to end. He's a brilliant main character.Tyrolin Puxty's writing has an easy flow and she has a great original own style. Her stories are fast-paced and filled with amazing dialogue and surreal ideas. It's wonderful to be taken into one of her imaginary worlds. Colt Harper: Esteemed Vampire Cat is a terrific story, it's creative, entertaining, fascinating and absolutely spellbinding. The characters are fabulous and every single one of them made me smile. They're the least scary monsters I've ever read about and I found that hilarious. I read this story in one sitting and really enjoyed it.
    more
  • Sibil
    June 19, 2017
    3.5 stars Thanks to Curiosity Quills Press. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest reviewThis book is just fitting for summer: it's fast, it's not too demanding, it's funny and you have also originality and action.Colt Harper is a vampire cat. Yes, you read it right. A vampire cat. And it seems that his mission is of murder human who doesn't respect cats. Sometimes he's a little bit extreme: it's ok to be angry if someone beat a cat, that's right! But kill a man just because he 3.5 stars Thanks to Curiosity Quills Press. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest reviewThis book is just fitting for summer: it's fast, it's not too demanding, it's funny and you have also originality and action.Colt Harper is a vampire cat. Yes, you read it right. A vampire cat. And it seems that his mission is of murder human who doesn't respect cats. Sometimes he's a little bit extreme: it's ok to be angry if someone beat a cat, that's right! But kill a man just because he didn't buy the most expensive cat's food is a little bit too much. But, oh well! Nobody is perfect, right?And in this adventure he's not alone. He will be in the sweet company of a werewolf with anxious problems and a Leshi, a tickle demon. The anxious werewolf is a good character, and the author is bright with all of her character, but the demon who is addicted to tickle is something fantastic.The first chapters are the best, in these chapters we met Colt Harper and we know the world invented by the author. We met also the other characters and all is funny and original, but the story is not so original or so captivating. It's not a bad reading and it's quite enjoyable, it's an unpretentious book that you can read if you want something not demanding or serious or challenging, it's something you can read to take a break.To be honest, this book has to be read for his characters, they are all quite unique and they all are good!
    more
  • Dave Higgins
    June 30, 2017
    Puxty displays paranormal romance and Boschian demonology through the lens of slapstick and surrealism to produce a story that is both amusing and thrilling. And provides a salutary warning to those who do not treat cats with the respect they are due.Colt Harper is, by his own admission, the greatest of vampire cats; and, as he is by definition, always right, then he is the greatest of vampire cats. Unfortunately, he’s also the last surviving vampire cat. In addition, while any sensible being wo Puxty displays paranormal romance and Boschian demonology through the lens of slapstick and surrealism to produce a story that is both amusing and thrilling. And provides a salutary warning to those who do not treat cats with the respect they are due.Colt Harper is, by his own admission, the greatest of vampire cats; and, as he is by definition, always right, then he is the greatest of vampire cats. Unfortunately, he’s also the last surviving vampire cat. In addition, while any sensible being would clearly agree that killing someone for rubbing a cat’s fur the wrong way is an entirely proper act, the Council have made that – and most of the other things he enjoys – illegal. However, the Council will allow him one last chance to expiate his crimes before he’s sentence to an eternity of tedium: helping put on a single performance of community theatre. Which is as degrading as it sounds for a master vampire, and considerably more dangerous than expected.While Colt describes himself as a vampire cat, he is actually a spirit that is strongly aligned with cats but possesses humans. As such, this novel is some distance from a feline version of Zoltan, Hound of Dracula. However, as the possession causes the victim’s body to gain claws and other minor feline traits, and he does consume blood, his claim is more than pretence.While the story does not avoid the darkness inherent in a creature that will brutally murder someone for giving their cat the wrong brand of food, this book is more comedy than horror. Colt, and other monsters, face a mystically enforced parole system, complete with world-weary case officer, and the ultimate sanction of being sentenced to run backwards in a circle for all eternity. This inclination toward the absurd rather than visceral gives a feel akin to a Tom Holt novel, told from the perspective of the villains.It is potentially this thread of melodramatic villainy that most risks losing reader sympathy. While, as with most protagonists, Colt changes over the course of the book, the first few scenes feature a joke that echoes the casual prejudice of a Seventies comedian so accurately that readers might well expect Colt to elbow someone in the ribs and say “Am I right?” after delivering it.Having set up Colt as a selfish and prejudiced, but ultimately sympathetic, character, Puxty provides a pastiche of the classic paranormal romance plot: a supernatural being is forced to work alongside a woman that he finds overwhelmingly intriguing. Although this is laced with absurdist humour, readers who have encountered one to many selfish loners who turn out to have a tragic backstory and reasonable explanations for their rudeness might actually find a hero who appears selfish because he is selfish less comic than serious heroes.However, this is not merely a parody of urban fantasy. Puxty successfully balances humour with challenge and conspiracy, making this equally engaging as a magical thriller.Making full use of the perspective offered by an evil yet relatable protagonist, Puxty creates a supporting cast of monsters and humans who – rather than being defined by their virtues – are defined by the manner of their sins and their reactions to them: a werewolf wracked with guilt for a single slip, a tickle-demon who’s trying to go cold turkey, a nightmare who values petty vengeance over his own interests.Overall, I enjoyed this novel. I recommend it to readers seeking humorous urban fantasy.I received a free copy from the publisher with a request for a fair review.
    more
  • *flora*
    June 10, 2017
    You can read my full review on my WordPress Blog, Flora's Musings...So, what did I like about it?Tyrolin Puxty is a new-to-me author and I liked her witty and disrespectful style; I found her writing style very easy to read, I enjoyed the fact that Ms Puxty has created her paranormal world within our own modern one (monsters having to pay for their crimes against humans by way of community service – fantastic!), the pace of this story felt good and I liked the balance of romantic/sexy scenes and You can read my full review on my WordPress Blog, Flora's Musings...So, what did I like about it?Tyrolin Puxty is a new-to-me author and I liked her witty and disrespectful style; I found her writing style very easy to read, I enjoyed the fact that Ms Puxty has created her paranormal world within our own modern one (monsters having to pay for their crimes against humans by way of community service – fantastic!), the pace of this story felt good and I liked the balance of romantic/sexy scenes and the tension of the violent/fight scenes.This book is full of great characters; a vampire cat who possesses a man’s body to live, a tickle monster who is addicted to tickling, a werewolf who doesn’t want to hurt anyone and St Damian himself, their parole officer, to name but a few. It’s hard to tell who the actual villains are in this tale which I always enjoy; nothing is ever a clear case of good or evil.The thrilling aspect of this story is our main characters being chased by an organisation that saves mankind by killing monsters. This story certainly keeps you guessing and I enjoyed the twists and turns along the way. Our narrator for this story is Colt Harper, one of the parolee monsters. I enjoyed the quotes at the start of each chapter and Colt’s words of wisdom throughout this tale. This story made me laugh, got me thinking and put a lump in my throat and a tear in my eye.So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?There’s nothing I disliked about it but I can’t put my finger on why I didn’t feel more for it. I did get a bit lost in the monster world a few times. No cliff-hanger ending and we do get a sneaky peek at book two as the story about Colt and Saffy continues and although I enjoyed the ride while I was reading the book, I’m not going to rush out for book two....So, basically what I’m saying is... I enjoyed reading this novella; it was good. It was witty, with a quirky set of characters and the plot itself had mystery/thriller elements, action in the form of good fight scenes and even some mushy emotional scenes. I'd recommend this book to readers who love cats, have a good sense of humour and who are fans of paranormal romances with a bit of quirkiness. I was lucky enough to be given a digital version of this book for free from the publisher (Curiosity Quills Press) after making a request via Netgally.com in exchange for an honest review. The expected publication date is 27th June 2017.
    more
  • Susan Johnston
    June 27, 2017
    Princess Fuzzypants here:Colt Harper is a vampire. He's a cat and he is an avenger of cats. Humans who harm cats, intentionally or by accident had better beware. He is one mean and heartless dude. In fact, he is such a bad character that if he makes one more slip up, he will be banished to a purgatory for monsters. He does not want to walk backwards forever until he morphs into a pair of leg. Yes. The fantasy level in the book is off the grid but it is strangely sweet.He and his friends are all Princess Fuzzypants here:Colt Harper is a vampire. He's a cat and he is an avenger of cats. Humans who harm cats, intentionally or by accident had better beware. He is one mean and heartless dude. In fact, he is such a bad character that if he makes one more slip up, he will be banished to a purgatory for monsters. He does not want to walk backwards forever until he morphs into a pair of leg. Yes. The fantasy level in the book is off the grid but it is strangely sweet.He and his friends are all sentenced to doing community service in a theatre. Little do they know at first that it is a trap for monsters and there are chasers, humans who hunt monsters, who want to kill them. Just when it becomes most dangerous, Colt falls in love with a human, who turns out to be not quite what she seems. It is a ripping good story with undertones. It brings into question whether who we are is less a matter of choice than nature. It also looks at who the real monsters are. Is it the monsters or those who hunt them?The reader cannot help but like Colt despite the horrible things he has done. He finds himself becoming more human and less monster, something that leaves him ambivalent at best. At the same time his lady love is turning less human. Neither is who or what they were before they met.I know there is another book in the series and I confess, I am intrigued with how the story will unfold.I give this five purrs and two paws up.
    more
  • Jessica
    June 30, 2017
    What I liked most about Colt Harper-Esteemed Vampire Cat, was the world created for the characters. It was both believable and original. You can't have a believably entertaining story unless the world the characters are living in somewhat makes sense and seems like it could be real, and this story made perfect sense and absorbed me until the end! I also found the characters themselves interesting and quirking. With all their differences, they still worked when written together and seemed relevan What I liked most about Colt Harper-Esteemed Vampire Cat, was the world created for the characters. It was both believable and original. You can't have a believably entertaining story unless the world the characters are living in somewhat makes sense and seems like it could be real, and this story made perfect sense and absorbed me until the end! I also found the characters themselves interesting and quirking. With all their differences, they still worked when written together and seemed relevant to each others stories.It takes a really good author to get the readers to become attached to the characters, and luckily Tyrolin Puxty is an amazing author, so the parts that were meant to be emotional, were emotional.Thank you Tyrolin Puxty for this fantastic book! I loved every single part of it and am regretting finishing it so soon. As soon as I picked it up, I was tearing through the pages, laughing at the funning parts, crying at sad, and screaming at characters for doing stupid things. It ended all too soon.Thanks again Tyrolin. I'll be hanging for the sequel!
    more
  • Donna
    June 20, 2017
    Colt Harper: Esteemed Vampire Cat is a quirky, tongue in cheek paranormal work of art. Take a conflicted werewolf, Jax, a tickle fairy with control issues, Lexie, and an Esteemed Vampire Cat, Colt, who enjoys being evil and throw them together for community service and you are asking for trouble. Now add in some Chasers (humans who protect the world from the monsters) and a newbie vampire cat and you have a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat and rollicking with laughter. If you ar Colt Harper: Esteemed Vampire Cat is a quirky, tongue in cheek paranormal work of art. Take a conflicted werewolf, Jax, a tickle fairy with control issues, Lexie, and an Esteemed Vampire Cat, Colt, who enjoys being evil and throw them together for community service and you are asking for trouble. Now add in some Chasers (humans who protect the world from the monsters) and a newbie vampire cat and you have a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat and rollicking with laughter. If you are looking for something different give Colt and the gang a try.I received a copy of this book and chose to review it
    more
  • Sadie Forsythe
    July 3, 2017
    I think it will take a certain reader to love this book. I didn't hate it, but I didn't particularly like it either. Look, it was funny and all, but the joke got old long before the book ended. Plus, I found Colt really unlikable. Yes, I understood he had the characteristics of a cat, and that's clever, but I couldn't enjoy him. I found his narrative style annoying and a lot of the comedy slap-stick and weak. I'll still give it three stars though, because I think this is a poor reader to book ma I think it will take a certain reader to love this book. I didn't hate it, but I didn't particularly like it either. Look, it was funny and all, but the joke got old long before the book ended. Plus, I found Colt really unlikable. Yes, I understood he had the characteristics of a cat, and that's clever, but I couldn't enjoy him. I found his narrative style annoying and a lot of the comedy slap-stick and weak. I'll still give it three stars though, because I think this is a poor reader to book match rather than poor quality. But I only enjoyed it two stars worth.
    more
  • Arlene Arredondo
    July 4, 2017
    Entertaining and laugh out loud funny.The author captures the essence of what personality traits would give life to a vampire cat possessing a human. The characters are well developed and easy to like. There are some unexpected twists that heightens the thrill effect. Love the writing style and the cameo from the author (LOL).Can't wait for the second installment. This is highly recommended for cat lover.Note: I received an ARC for review and an honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Sally Hannoush
    May 30, 2017
    This was an entertaining story. There were a lot of different kinds of creatures or "monsters." It made me think that this book should be a comic book series. It was fun and had funny quotes. We also get a sneak peak into the next book.
  • Nathan
    April 11, 2017
    Thanks for the ARC, Tyrolin. Well. LOL. Really. This is so freakin' strange in the best possible way. A possessed man seeks revenge on people who don't treats cats like royalty. The premise alone is both hilarious and bizarre.Having read Tyrolin's Broken Dolls series, I was anticipating a dark ride. This is the polar opposite to Dolls. Colt Harper is funny, light, meta and incredibly cheeky. It's refreshing to read through the villain's perspective.All in all, an entertaining, light read. Recomm Thanks for the ARC, Tyrolin. Well. LOL. Really. This is so freakin' strange in the best possible way. A possessed man seeks revenge on people who don't treats cats like royalty. The premise alone is both hilarious and bizarre.Having read Tyrolin's Broken Dolls series, I was anticipating a dark ride. This is the polar opposite to Dolls. Colt Harper is funny, light, meta and incredibly cheeky. It's refreshing to read through the villain's perspective.All in all, an entertaining, light read. Recommended and keen for the hinted sequel!
    more
  • Desmond
    April 17, 2017
    Ha. Weird.
  • Ada
    June 7, 2017
    I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT THIS!BUT LOOK A CAT! (I don't really like vampires but dude a vampire cat?!)
  • Amy
    April 11, 2017
    I love Broken Dolls, so I genuinely thought Colt Harper would be a similar read. It's not. Tyrolin Puxty shows she can write comedy as well as horror.One theme, I've noticed, is she likes to toys with the concept of 'what is bad'? Is there such a thing? Colt Harper is adorable, naughty and highly entertaining. The characters came alive in my mind more than any book has ever done for me before. His 'quotes' at the beginning of each chapter put a smile on my face. If you like quirky, weird and fun I love Broken Dolls, so I genuinely thought Colt Harper would be a similar read. It's not. Tyrolin Puxty shows she can write comedy as well as horror.One theme, I've noticed, is she likes to toys with the concept of 'what is bad'? Is there such a thing? Colt Harper is adorable, naughty and highly entertaining. The characters came alive in my mind more than any book has ever done for me before. His 'quotes' at the beginning of each chapter put a smile on my face. If you like quirky, weird and fun, this is for you.
    more
Write a review