Our Little Secret
For fans of In a Dark, Dark Wood and All the Missing Girls comes Our Little Secret, a compulsive and thrilling debut about a missing woman, a tangled love triangle, the secrets we keep and the secrets we share.The detective wants to know what happened to Saskia, as if I could just skip to the ending and all would be well. But stories begin at the beginning and some secrets have to be earned.Angela is being held in a police interrogation room. Her ex’s wife has gone missing and Detective Novak is sure Angela knows something, despite her claim that she’s not involved.At Novak’s prodding, Angela tells a story going back ten years, explaining how she met and fell in love with her high school friend HP. But as her past unfolds, she reveals a disconcerting love triangle and a dark, tangled web of betrayals. Is Angela a scorned ex-lover with criminal intent? Or a pawn in someone else’s revenge scheme? Who is she protecting? And why?Twisty and suspenseful, Our Little Secret is an intense cat-and-mouse game and a riveting thriller about the lies we tell others—and ourselves.

Our Little Secret Details

TitleOur Little Secret
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherSimon & Schuster
ISBN1501142801
ISBN-139781501142802
Number of pages228 pages
Rating
GenreThriller, Fiction, Mystery, Mystery Thriller, Suspense

Our Little Secret Review

  • Mel
    March 29, 2017
    So it's now been a few days since I read this and I think I'm ready to review it. I said in my initial review that this was the best thriller I've ever read and that still stands. At the heart of the story is a girl named Angela and she is being interviewed in the disappearance of a woman. We don't know who this woman is, but Angela starts to tell us a love story and slowly things start to unravel from there. I won this through a Goodreads giveaway and like I only entered because the odds seemed So it's now been a few days since I read this and I think I'm ready to review it. I said in my initial review that this was the best thriller I've ever read and that still stands. At the heart of the story is a girl named Angela and she is being interviewed in the disappearance of a woman. We don't know who this woman is, but Angela starts to tell us a love story and slowly things start to unravel from there. I won this through a Goodreads giveaway and like I only entered because the odds seemed to be good in my favour and they so were. This was outstanding. I expected nothing from this small 238 page psychological thriller and yet I was given this addicting captivating read. The number one thing that makes book amazing is that it's so manipulative. The author writes like I've never seen before. She got me to feel things, to think things about characters, to just experience this book in ways I've never felt before. She made me hate people I shouldn't have, like people I shouldn't have. I seriously wished death upon some of these characters. I was completely captivated and manipulated into feeling what the main character was feeling, even when that was clearly not the best choice, and that was so amazing to me. Angela is by far such a special character. She is extremely unreliable but at the same time you trust every word she speaks. She is messed up and has so many flaws but I looked through them because I grew to care so much for her. It feels like I have an unhealthy relationship with her and it's so weird to have that with a book character. I mean all the characters were perfectly written to me. I am trying to review this with no bias, but it's so hard to judge characters when you read a book and it leaves you feeling manipulated. For example, the detective interviewing her, like I know detectives are doing their jobs to solve crimes but I just naturally hated him in this. In another situation, with another character's POV, I might have felt completely different, but because of the way this is written I just hated him. Overall I will recommend this to the moon and back to everyone who reads psychological thrillers. It's such a good one. It's honestly the best I've ever read. Like I will honestly read anything this author reads. She's up there with some of my favourite authors because this blew me away. I think this is even a debut and that just baffles me because the talent you have to have to manipulate my entire thoughts and beliefs have to be off the charts.
    more
  • Roz Nay
    March 15, 2017
    Obviously I'm rating it 5/5. I wrote it.
  • Lashaan Balasingam (Bookidote)
    May 28, 2017
    This is one of those rare thrillers that actually succeeds in telling a fast-paced, completely immersive and strongly manipulative story. I'm not even kidding. You'll feel things towards certain characters in the beginning and feel something polar opposite once you reach the end. Roz Nay's writing is brilliant and draws you into the story like none other. Our Little Secret is about the disappearance of a woman. The whole story is our protagonist, also the narrator, who's being interviewed by a d This is one of those rare thrillers that actually succeeds in telling a fast-paced, completely immersive and strongly manipulative story. I'm not even kidding. You'll feel things towards certain characters in the beginning and feel something polar opposite once you reach the end. Roz Nay's writing is brilliant and draws you into the story like none other. Our Little Secret is about the disappearance of a woman. The whole story is our protagonist, also the narrator, who's being interviewed by a detective who's trying to figure out what happened to the missing woman. What comes next is our protagonist telling us the story since her teenage days as she builds the intrigue in an completely addictive and manipulative fashion. For a thriller this short, this one delivers its story brilliantly!P.S. Full review to come closer to release date.Yours truly,Lashaan | Blogger and Book ReviewerOfficial blog: https://bookidote.com/
    more
  • Jaclyn
    February 26, 2017
    OMG this book is AMAZING. I read so many thrillers that it's rare for one to blow me away. Roz Nay's Our Little Secret did. And it wasn't so much a gripping, unputdownable page turner that sent my blood racing, but rather a slow burn build up of psychological darkness. What begins as a rather innocuous break up between high school sweethearts turns into a tale of psychological manipulation and potential murder. Nay's genius is in the subtlety of her writing and character development, such that i OMG this book is AMAZING. I read so many thrillers that it's rare for one to blow me away. Roz Nay's Our Little Secret did. And it wasn't so much a gripping, unputdownable page turner that sent my blood racing, but rather a slow burn build up of psychological darkness. What begins as a rather innocuous break up between high school sweethearts turns into a tale of psychological manipulation and potential murder. Nay's genius is in the subtlety of her writing and character development, such that it's hard to pinpoint the part where things go wrong, and we have a niggling suspicion that something isn't quite right without being able to identify what that is.Full review to come on my blog in June for the publisher's blog tour from June 5 - 9.
    more
  • Rebecca Hock
    April 9, 2017
    I WON THIS BOOK THROUGH GOOD READS. I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK. IT IS A SOMEWHAT QUICK READ, BUT IT KEPT MY INTEREST THROUGH THE ENTIRE BOOK. I THOUGHT I HAD THE ENDING FIGURED OUT, BUT BOY WAS I WRONG. I DID NOT SEE THE ENDING COMING AT ALL. AND IT WAS A GOOD ENDING. A VERY ENJOYABLE BOOK. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO OTHER READERS.
    more
  • Colleen
    April 30, 2017
    Read this in one sitting. I'm talking no pee breaks or anything! Loved it.
  • Denise
    February 15, 2017
    "All love stories are crime stories and all crime stories, love." Perhaps it's inevetable the things two people will damage in each other.Angela is in an interview room being questioned by the police in regards to her ex's missing wife, Saskia. She weaves quite the tale for Detective Novak -- she reminesces about how she met HP, the love of her life -- how he married Saskia despite knowing that he and Angela were soul mates. Angela can't let go of him and manages to insert herself into their liv "All love stories are crime stories and all crime stories, love." Perhaps it's inevetable the things two people will damage in each other.Angela is in an interview room being questioned by the police in regards to her ex's missing wife, Saskia. She weaves quite the tale for Detective Novak -- she reminesces about how she met HP, the love of her life -- how he married Saskia despite knowing that he and Angela were soul mates. Angela can't let go of him and manages to insert herself into their lives, including becoming godmother to their little girl, Olive. But then things go wrong, as they usually do when one of the triad has an unrequited love to another member. Angela is obsessed with HP and can't let go -- but does that mean she had something to do with the missing Saskia?Definitely a psychological study and I wasn't quite sure at first where this was going, as Angela probably isn't the most reliable of narrators. Will she tell the truth? I enjoyed this one but was taken aback a bit at the sudden ending. "The spiders aren't crawling anymore."Thank you to NetGalley and Simon&Schuster for the e-book ARC to review.
    more
  • BookgirlonGoodreads
    May 25, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley and Simon and Schuster for an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This one sadly got lost in a pile and although I got this book last winter I just now read it in May. I was completely drawn in by it and read it almost in one sitting - took a break to get kids and that was it. I am surprised it doesn't have more fanfare around it, as I feel it is a better suspense/missing girl mystery than many others I have read that are more well-known. Someone ne Thank you to NetGalley and Simon and Schuster for an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This one sadly got lost in a pile and although I got this book last winter I just now read it in May. I was completely drawn in by it and read it almost in one sitting - took a break to get kids and that was it. I am surprised it doesn't have more fanfare around it, as I feel it is a better suspense/missing girl mystery than many others I have read that are more well-known. Someone needs to start promoting this book!We begin with the police interrogating Angela about her ex's missing wife. Angela agrees to tell the cop a story, but HER story, from the beginning. The story itself is compulsively read-able, but the best part of the whole book is how, as the story progresses, our perception of Angela continues to shift and change. This book was a lot of fun. The ending felt a little anticlimactic, but I say that about almost every book. Sticking the landing on a thrilling and gasp-inducing end to a suspense novel is pretty darn near impossible.
    more
  • Zoe
    May 28, 2017
    One of the quickest reads in a while!I received this book via a Goodreads giveaway as a way to explore new authors. I am glad I won as I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The narration was at a good pace while keeping you turning the pages.Pretty good for a first novel and I am interested to see what else she writes.Thanks for sending such an enjoyable read.
    more
  • Amy Stuart
    May 30, 2017
    I devoured this book in a few sittings. You will too.
  • ashley | citygirlscapes
    May 25, 2017
    (4.5) Review to come.
  • Delilah Trenaman
    April 30, 2017
    was a great story line but I was a little disappointed by the ending but that is just my preference. I would recommend the book because of its twists and turns.
  • Mirlou
    March 31, 2017
    Very good thriller, well written. I recommand it.
  • Ryley (Ryley Reads)
    April 28, 2017
    Thanks so much to Simon and Schuster Canada for providing me with a copy of this book for an honest review. As always, all opinions are my own.**FULL REVIEW TO COME CLOSER TO RELEASE DATE**
Write a review