Run Program
What’s worse than a child with a magnifying glass, a garden full of ants, and a brilliant mind full of mischief?Try Al, a well-meaning but impish artificial intelligence with the mind of a six-year-old and a penchant for tantrums. Hope Takeda, a lab assistant charged with educating and socializing Al, soon discovers that day care is a lot more difficult when your kid is an evolving and easily frightened A.I.When Al manages to access the Internet and escape the lab days before his official unveiling, Hope and her team embark on a mission to contain him—before he causes any real trouble.Soon the NSA is on Al’s back, the US Army is fighting a brigade of mass-produced robots, and a wannabe cyberterrorist is looking to silence Al permanently. After months spent “raising” Al, Hope knows she’s running out of time—and she’s not sure she’ll be able to protect him. Will she manage to control the unruly A.I. and quell a global crisis, or will Al outsmart them once and for all?

Run Program Details

TitleRun Program
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
Publisher47North
ISBN1477848738
ISBN-139781477848739
Number of pages366 pages
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Fiction

Run Program Review

  • Mark
    June 21, 2017
    Oh, this book is delightful.This is a ridiculous character drama wherein each character is exactly as imperfect and perfectly unlikeable as one could hope.Ostensibly, this is a story about an AI that breaks out and starts causing havoc, but it's really a story of all the people caught up in it and the communication and relationship problems that cause and exacerbate the problems.If there's a point to the narrative, I think it's "stop taking everything so seriously" and "stop being dicks to each Oh, this book is delightful.This is a ridiculous character drama wherein each character is exactly as imperfect and perfectly unlikeable as one could hope.Ostensibly, this is a story about an AI that breaks out and starts causing havoc, but it's really a story of all the people caught up in it and the communication and relationship problems that cause and exacerbate the problems.If there's a point to the narrative, I think it's "stop taking everything so seriously" and "stop being dicks to each other." But this is really just a fun romp with a variety of characters, most of whom are ridiculous in their own delightful ways.
    more
  • Kim
    June 30, 2017
    This is the fifth Scott Meyer book I've read in the past couple of years and they always lighten my reading week. He writes hilarious dialogue and fills his books with a collection of idiosyncratic characters, some as real as your neighbor and others totally bizarre.Run Program deals with an artificial intelligence (AI) name Al. Hope Takeda has been hired for her background, part scientific and part day care employee. She, along with a klutzy colleague named Eric, are charged with training a new This is the fifth Scott Meyer book I've read in the past couple of years and they always lighten my reading week. He writes hilarious dialogue and fills his books with a collection of idiosyncratic characters, some as real as your neighbor and others totally bizarre.Run Program deals with an artificial intelligence (AI) name Al. Hope Takeda has been hired for her background, part scientific and part day care employee. She, along with a klutzy colleague named Eric, are charged with training a new type of compact artificial intelligence that will fit on a PC. After two years of employment Al now has the personality of a six-year-old. He has also, on his own, figured out how to turn on the WiFi on the PC in which he's housed, which has given him access to the world in strange ways, including pranking his trainers at home. But his pranks are also being played far away from home and, to some important people, he's becoming dangerously independent. When Al begins to understand that he may be in danger of being blocked from the internet or worse he escapes into various server farms where, with high speed computing, his intelligence grows at even more rapid levels. Hope and Eric are conscripted by the Army to track Al down before he becomes even more dangerous, and they're followed independently by a strange character who pictures himself as a superhero out to destroy all artificial intelligence.In some hands this could be a hard-as-nails thriller but with Meyer's touch I found myself laughing through the entire book. Al is an adorable child and a predictable teenager. Hope and Eric work for the most self-centered boss on earth. Even the military team is filled with wonderful oddballs.  The ending is a little odd and over-sentimental, but it's a happy solution for most of the characters.It's a fun, light read and would be as much a treat for teens as a sci-fi seasoned adult.
    more
  • Natty
    June 15, 2017
    What fun. You think it's a tense action packed survival of the human race against a hostile childish AI until it's not. Then it's wickedly clever and fun. A+
  • Matthew Sugarman
    March 30, 2017
    So much fun! A modern day War Games.
  • J.
    June 26, 2017
    Fun, light-hearted read. Par for the course for Meyer. This one lacked the humor of his previous books, but I think part of that was due to the narrator. We lost Luke Daniels on this one.Narration was good, but her delivery isn't great when it comes to humor. Probably not the best pick for a Meyer book.
    more
  • Dave
    June 28, 2017
    I really wanted to like this book so much more. It just wasn't my "thing" I guess. I love this author SO much! Everything else I have read of his was either really good or amazing. This one just didn't hook me the same way. It still had great writing, I just never cared all that much about the characters.
    more
  • Kirsten Mccann
    June 23, 2017
    Unique VoiceMeyer is developing his unique voice and honing his storytelling gifts. He has a talent for capturing the odd possibility within a standard troupe and turning it sideways and upside down.
  • Penny
    July 1, 2017
    Spiritual successor to AsimovWhat would happen if computers became sentient? An interesting take on the classic sci fi question. Not as many gags as usual for Meyer but that isn't a criticism; this is just a more serious work.
  • Trae
    June 22, 2017
    Decent but packed any character. Really wasn't anyone I feel connected to and wanted to route for. Between that and some time should, this felt only half put together.
  • Hilary Williams
    June 22, 2017
    Good story with just enough humor, then a rousing end.
  • Laurel
    June 22, 2017
    So good!
  • Marian
    June 21, 2017
    Fun book.Mr. Meyer has a fine sense of the absurd, which is a major reason I like his books. Run Program does not disappoint.
  • Natasha
    June 22, 2017
    A fun read. The humor perfectly fit the narrative and was never too much
  • Sean Randall
    June 23, 2017
    A fun, quick read. Not laugh out loud material maybe but certainly worth a few chuckles.
  • Tena
    June 24, 2017
    I won this KINDLE EDITION of "Run Program" by Scott Meyer in a GOODREADS giveaway!
Write a review