The Song of the Orphans
The second book in the genre-bending Silvers series—an io9 "can't miss" science fiction pick—about six extraordinary people whose fates become intertwined on an earth far different from our own.After their world collapsed in a sheet of white light, everything and everyone were gone—except for Hannah and Amanda Given. Saved from destruction by three fearsome and powerful beings, the Given sisters found themselves on a strange new Earth where restaurants move through the air like flying saucers and the fabric of time is manipulated by common household appliances. There, they were joined by four other survivors: a sarcastic cartoonist, a shy teenage girl, a brilliant young Australian, and a troubled ex-prodigy. Hunted by enemies they never knew they had, and afflicted with temporal abilities they never wanted, the sisters and their companions began a cross-country journey to find the one man who could save them.Now, only months after being pursued across the country by government forces and the Gothams—a renegade group with similar powers—the Silvers discover that their purpose on this unfamiliar earth may be to prevent its complete annihilation. With continually shifting alliances and the future in jeopardy, the Silvers realize that their only hope for survival is to locate the other refugees—whether they can be trusted or not.From the Hardcover edition.

The Song of the Orphans Details

TitleThe Song of the Orphans
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherBlue Rider Press
Number of pages752 pages
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Adult

The Song of the Orphans Review

  • Sarah Brehm
    March 27, 2015
    Update: March 7, 2017:Alrighty folks, I can finally tell you all my secret: I'VE ALREADY READ THE SONG OF THE ORPHANS! And, you will not be disappointed with the second installment of the Silvers trilogy. It is a non-stop adventure with new characters who will cling to your heart, new settings that'll make you wish it were real (hint: The Gothams), and one or two plot twists that'll make you hate everything and want to reread The Flight of the Silvers pronto.Speaking of which, Daniel Price has c Update: March 7, 2017:Alrighty folks, I can finally tell you all my secret: I'VE ALREADY READ THE SONG OF THE ORPHANS! And, you will not be disappointed with the second installment of the Silvers trilogy. It is a non-stop adventure with new characters who will cling to your heart, new settings that'll make you wish it were real (hint: The Gothams), and one or two plot twists that'll make you hate everything and want to reread The Flight of the Silvers pronto.Speaking of which, Daniel Price has created a Badly Drawn Recap of Silvers to get you ready for Song of the Orphans hitting stores on July 4 (yeah, Freedom).You'll learn so much more about the characters, like why Future-Mia can be so angry, how far the Givens sisters can push their talents, and possibly the motivation behind the mysterious Pelletiers' actions. There'll be fights on floating restaurants, imprisonment for someone, love and broken hearts, Doctor Who references, an important song and an ingenious way of getting a message out to others.Below is a collection of gifs that appropriately relates my emotions as I read this fantastic book.So many emotions Seriously, you're going to love Song of the Orphans. It's certainly going to be one of my favorites of 2017, and I fully expect it to be one of yours too.So, Daniel Price, I expect you to begin work on the third installment immediately.Below are my updates I wrote well before I read the book. I leave them here for fun.May 25, 2015:Cookie Monster and I are impatiently waiting for The Song of the Orphans.Update: September 10, 2015:Hermione has joined in the waiting.Update: January 13, 2016:Without The Song of the Orphans to read, Sherlock is starting to get a little bored.Update: April 28, 2016:Guys, there's been a development!Update: December 15, 2016:We have a cover and release date!!!
    more
  • Maraia
    March 27, 2017
    Damn, that was good! 752 pages and I wasn't bored for a single one of them. Daniel Price has outdone himself with this book, solidifying Silvers as one of the best sci-fi series out there. I already loved the first book, but this one takes the series to a whole new level. I can't wait to find out what happens next to this great group of characters. (Or maybe I don't want to know.)
    more
  • Sebastian
    March 27, 2017
    I've waited three years for this book and it was worth every single day of the wait. Now I just need to find someone who can build me a portal that takes me to the release day of "The War of the Givens". MIIIIAAAAAA! :D
  • Derrick
    September 8, 2015
    I've gotta say, I am beyond excited to see even more of this world in this next book! Keep up the good work Daniel!
Write a review