Star Trek
All-new series following the adventures of Captain Kirk and the iconic crew! New worlds! New species! New ships! And a new danger unlike anything the Federation has encountered before! Boldly go into a new era of STAR TREK! Collects issues #1–6

Star Trek Details

TitleStar Trek
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherIDW Publishing
ISBN1631409239
ISBN-139781631409233
Number of pages136 pages
Rating
GenreMedia Tie In, Star Trek, Sequential Art, Comics, Science Fiction, Graphic Novels

Star Trek Review

  • Helix
    October 19, 2016
    Wow, I think I'm the first one who rated & reviewed this (to boldly review where no man has reviewed before)--so I just wanted to say, the first issue of Boldly Go managed to meet my expectations nicely (they rendezvous without any Klingon interruption). The art is amazing, definitely an improvement from the Ongoing series (although I'm not going to say that the Ongoing series is by any means really bad, either, just that there's a lot of improvement involved), and I really loved Beyond (it Wow, I think I'm the first one who rated & reviewed this (to boldly review where no man has reviewed before)--so I just wanted to say, the first issue of Boldly Go managed to meet my expectations nicely (they rendezvous without any Klingon interruption). The art is amazing, definitely an improvement from the Ongoing series (although I'm not going to say that the Ongoing series is by any means really bad, either, just that there's a lot of improvement involved), and I really loved Beyond (it really throw me deep into the Trek hell), so seeing where the crew went after the events in the movie is a big deal for me. I want it to be handled perfectly. And, I have to say, this issue delivers. I think it offers a chance for further character development, too--I would love to see how Bones is progressing under the command of the Tellarite, the CMO aboard the Endeavour, for example. But Kirk and Spock separated? The triumvirate not together aboard the same ship? That's almost heresy, but one I can accept for the time being.I'm not going to spoil it for everyone, but the villain is really intriguing. I haven't watched TNG yet but I think I can kind of guess where this is going. This keeps me on the edge of my seat, I read it in one go, and I'm definitely waiting impatiently for the second issue. Also, there's a cameo of Jaylah! That's all I'm going to spoil. I'm really loving this issue and this series so far.
    more
  • Lör K.
    March 29, 2017
    I am SHOOKI've been a fan of Star Trek for a long time and so to find this by chance was absolutely amazing. I immediately settled down to read the first issue of this, and this was a mistake. Purely because now, I want to sit and binge the whole series. The artwork in this is stunning. We have our usual characters, the ones we all know and love, and this comic introduces brand new ones as well, ones that we get to see grow and develop in the comic as it goes on and I am so excited to see that. I am SHOOKI've been a fan of Star Trek for a long time and so to find this by chance was absolutely amazing. I immediately settled down to read the first issue of this, and this was a mistake. Purely because now, I want to sit and binge the whole series. The artwork in this is stunning. We have our usual characters, the ones we all know and love, and this comic introduces brand new ones as well, ones that we get to see grow and develop in the comic as it goes on and I am so excited to see that. Our crew are no longer together in this, as this takes place after Star Trek: Beyond (it has mild spoilers, I wouldn't read these if you haven't watched STB) and it's wonderful to see how this takes shape and where all our beloved crew are. This issue is a wonderful mix of catch up and action and a brilliant start to a comic series. It's definitely caught my attention, and not just because I'm a Star Trek fan. This has a very intriguing story line and I really am hooked; I need to see how it's played out. I am so excited to sit down and read through this over the weekend; I am so excited. A definite recommendation from me.
    more
  • Tina
    October 20, 2016
    As always with these, decent plot, good fan service, horribly horrible art. I cannot emphasize how bad this art is. Also seriously, authors? The only character allowed to call McCoy "Bones" is Jim. That's it.
  • Aron
    October 29, 2016
    Solid start to what I'm hoping is gonna be a great series. While the Enterprise A is under construction the crew is spread out on different asignments & Kirk is in command of the Starship Endeavor. I enjoyed the previous series, but what I'm hoping for in this series is more in depth & longer story arcs. Oh & don't let the cover art fool you, Shasteen's doing the artwork & it's just about perfect.
    more
  • Jasmine
    April 13, 2017
    Overall pretty good, but I do wish the artwork was more consistent. The art in issue 6 was my favourite, but it was also completely different from the former ones. Let's not even talk about Kirk's pig nose in that last issue...
  • Ed
    April 18, 2017
    The new Star Trek Boldly Go series is more consistent in style and quality than its predecessor. A really good start!
  • Amy Softa
    May 8, 2017
    Saturday May 6th was Free Comic Book Day 2017. I happen to be in a bookstore that was giving away some comics and had some on clearance. I picked up the free Star Trek one set in The Next Generation world and this one that takes place after the last movie releases on the Kelvin timeline with the new cast setting off for life post-Enterprise. I’m not much of a comic reader but I enjoyed this so much that I can’t wait to get my hand on the next five copies to find out what happens next. I’m not in Saturday May 6th was Free Comic Book Day 2017. I happen to be in a bookstore that was giving away some comics and had some on clearance. I picked up the free Star Trek one set in The Next Generation world and this one that takes place after the last movie releases on the Kelvin timeline with the new cast setting off for life post-Enterprise. I’m not much of a comic reader but I enjoyed this so much that I can’t wait to get my hand on the next five copies to find out what happens next. I’m not in a big rush, however, so I might check the local stores first before I download them all from the publisher’s website. I wouldn’t mind having physical copies of these but will settle for digital.The story was quite good, the graphics a little less. I’m reading it for plot so it didn’t bother me that some of the characters looked a bit off, Uhura being the lest resembling the current actor portraying the character. Major cliffhanger at the end that sucked me in and frustrated me to no end that the comic was only 22 pages long. So it looks like I might be a new convert to these graphic novels even if it is just the Star Trek ones.
    more
  • John Yelverton
    July 24, 2017
    Normally, I would scream if you tried to pit Kirk against the Borg; however, first, this was done really well, second, it's in the Kelvin timeline, and finally, this is exactly how I imagine Kirk would have dealt with the Borg. It's well done, and picks right up where "Star Trek Beyond" left off.
    more
  • David
    June 8, 2017
    Absolutely loved this. The cliffhanger is heart stopping. Headed to the comic book store now to pick up the rest of the series!
  • Liz
    July 31, 2017
    Review to follow.
  • John Shaw
    November 11, 2016
    Picking up after the events ofSTAR TREK BEYONDWe now see the former crew ofThe USS Enterprisesettling into new roles across the FederationKirk, Bones and Chekov( sniffle) are on temporary assignmentto the USS EndeavorSpock and Uhura are on New VulcanSulu is 1st Officer of The USS ConcordAnd Scotty has begun the unlikely role as instructor at Star Fleet AcademyAll is going well for our scattered familyand then of course all hell breaks looseThe Concord is attacked and destroyedRushing to their ai Picking up after the events ofSTAR TREK BEYONDWe now see the former crew ofThe USS Enterprisesettling into new roles across the FederationKirk, Bones and Chekov( sniffle) are on temporary assignmentto the USS EndeavorSpock and Uhura are on New VulcanSulu is 1st Officer of The USS ConcordAnd Scotty has begun the unlikely role as instructor at Star Fleet AcademyAll is going well for our scattered familyand then of course all hell breaks looseThe Concord is attacked and destroyedRushing to their aid The EndeavorPulls Sulu from the wreckagehe relays the message from the mysterious enemyResistance Is FutileOf course all Star Trek fans recognize the famous line as the battle cry of the Borgone of the great Big Badsfrom The Next Generation yearsHow will Kirk and his crew fareagainst an enemy that fought The Enterprise of the future to a standstill?Somehow I don't think James Tiberius Kirk can be counted out easily
    more
  • Jared
    October 19, 2016
    An interesting startAn interesting start, I'm looking forward to reading the other issues. And a nice touch with the Concord's captain being Terrell. My only quibble is the minor fact that they're by the border of the Delta Quadrant, but travelling massive distances with no comment is just a standard part of the Kelvinverse.
    more
  • LQ (to the max!)
    November 2, 2016
    The last three words of issue one sold me on this series...
Write a review