Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud
From celebrity gossip expert and BuzzFeed culture writer Anne Helen Petersen comes an accessible, analytical look at how female celebrities are pushing boundaries of what it means to be an acceptable woman.You know the type: the woman who won't shut up, who's too brazen, too opinionated, too much. She's the unruly woman, and she embodies one of the most provocative and powerful forms of womanhood today. In Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud, Anne Helen Petersen uses the lens of unruliness to explore the ascension of pop culture powerhouses like Lena Dunham, Nicki Minaj, and Kim Kardashian, exploring why the public loves to love (and hate) these controversial figures. With its brisk, incisive analysis, Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud will be a conversation-starting book on what makes and breaks celebrity today.

Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud Details

TitleToo Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherPlume Books
ISBN0399576851
ISBN-139780399576850
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Feminism

Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud Review

  • Quirkyreader
    May 15, 2017
    I received this as an ARC from Penguin. Thank You.I didn't give this book a ranking because I am not familiar with many of the woman profiled in this book. I am not a big TV watcher and I don't follow that much pop culture.Aside from that it was well written, and would greatly appeal to people who are interested in learning a bit about the women profiled.
    more
  • Brittany
    May 31, 2017
    I received an ARC from First to Read in exchange for my honest review. It took me a little while to get into Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud. I think this is mostly due to the fact that I expected it to read like a Buzzfeed article since Anne Helen Petersen is a writer for Buzzfeed and the book announces this right on the front cover (of the ARC anyway). Once I got past that expectation I was able to enjoy it much more, so whether Buzzfeed is your thing or not, if you are into feminism and interes I received an ARC from First to Read in exchange for my honest review. It took me a little while to get into Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud. I think this is mostly due to the fact that I expected it to read like a Buzzfeed article since Anne Helen Petersen is a writer for Buzzfeed and the book announces this right on the front cover (of the ARC anyway). Once I got past that expectation I was able to enjoy it much more, so whether Buzzfeed is your thing or not, if you are into feminism and interested in exploring how celebrities affect the movement, you should give this book a try and forget that the writer also writes for Buzzfeed.It is clear that Petersen has done extensive research on each celebrity in the book and makes a good case about their impact on society as "unruly women". There are some people you'd expect to be in this book, Hillary Clinton (my favorite chapter: too shrill) and others who the audience, and even the celebrity themselves, may not necessarily think of as a feminist (Kim Kardashian: too pregnant) but nevertheless they have had an impact on how society and media views women through their "unruly" unapologetic ways.Some chapters were better than others, the ones that really kept me engaged and thinking were: Hillary Clinton-too shrill, Serena Williams-too strong, Nicky Minaj- too sexy. 4/5
    more
  • Tracey
    May 15, 2017
    The author, Anne Helen Petersen, takes a look into why some women are shamed for some things, like being to aggressive in a sport or too fat to be taken seriously. The accepted societal norm for how women are supposed to look and behave is held up against the looks and behaviors of those that challenge it in the media (actors, politicians, sports figures, etc). For example, why is it regarded acceptable for a male athlete to lose his temper during an event, but not a female athlete? Why when wom The author, Anne Helen Petersen, takes a look into why some women are shamed for some things, like being to aggressive in a sport or too fat to be taken seriously. The accepted societal norm for how women are supposed to look and behave is held up against the looks and behaviors of those that challenge it in the media (actors, politicians, sports figures, etc). For example, why is it regarded acceptable for a male athlete to lose his temper during an event, but not a female athlete? Why when women try to be heard, they are viewed as loud, shril,l or angry when males that do the same are viewed as perfectly fine? Why does a women have to hide her body from society? If she wears something too clingy or too little, then she's a slut and should wear something more conservative. If she's not a perfect size 0, then she's too fat and should wear a tent to hide it. If she dresses too conservative, then she's a prude and should loosen up a bit. Etc, etc, etc... This book looks at these questions, using celebrities as examples of women that live their life always being told they are too fat, too slutty, too loud, too much.I enjoyed the book and found it thought provoking. I may not entirely agree with every argument presented, but I think it will help open up discussions about these issues.
    more
  • Ang
    April 5, 2017
    This was really good. I don't know what I was expecting from it, but I was pleased with what I ended up getting. I think the author did an especially good job with the Nicki Minaj chapter; I think I got the most from it. That's not to take away from most of the other chapters, though, because I got a lot out of the book in general. (Take this review with a grain of salt, though, because I too am an unruly woman! That may be why I liked it so much.)Thanks to the publisher and to NetGalley for the This was really good. I don't know what I was expecting from it, but I was pleased with what I ended up getting. I think the author did an especially good job with the Nicki Minaj chapter; I think I got the most from it. That's not to take away from most of the other chapters, though, because I got a lot out of the book in general. (Take this review with a grain of salt, though, because I too am an unruly woman! That may be why I liked it so much.)Thanks to the publisher and to NetGalley for the digital ARC.
    more
  • Ceilidh
    February 8, 2017
    Review to come nearer to the release of the book.
  • Anna Asplund
    May 18, 2017
    I was really excited to read this book...until I saw that the author was from Buzzfeed. I had been looking for an in-depth and serious book about women's issues and wasn't sure a publication as silly as Buzzfeed could deliver. That definitely dampened my spirits a bit. Luckily, this book lived up to my initial expectations and I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned quite a bit from it.Petersen examines several noteable women in pop culture today and analyzes society's reactions to these women's "un I was really excited to read this book...until I saw that the author was from Buzzfeed. I had been looking for an in-depth and serious book about women's issues and wasn't sure a publication as silly as Buzzfeed could deliver. That definitely dampened my spirits a bit. Luckily, this book lived up to my initial expectations and I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned quite a bit from it.Petersen examines several noteable women in pop culture today and analyzes society's reactions to these women's "unruliness" - which Petersen classifies as basically anything that would make the woman not a perfectly well-behaved lady. The idea of some of these women being "unruly" was interesting to me, as I generally think of that as a harder, more dark term than any of these women live up to, but upon further reflection (and after reading the book), the word "unruly" is a perfect fit for what Petersen intended.To begin with, Petersen picked some interesting women. A handful of them weren't on my radar at all I had to look them up to make sure I knew who she was talking about. Some of the other ones (i.e. Hilary Clinton) were impossible not to know. The women Petersen chose to talk about were an interesting mix and I appreciated how they were selected to contrast and compliment each other. Many of the women are compared to each other throughout the book, but not in demeaning ways. Each woman is primarily discussed as someone who is "too" something - loud, shrill, gross, etc. Any comparisons done elsewhere in the book on other topics seemed to stem from Petersen's intense research on each woman and the comparisons drawn from that.I appreciated how thorough Petersen's analyses were. In each chapter, we not only see how the woman fits (or doesn't fit) society's perspective, but how perspectives on each issue have changed over time and how the perspectives have changed over the celebrity's lifetime. I was most intrigued by Petersen's chapter on Kim Kardashian, who's state of being "too pregnant" is examined. Not only did I learn quite a bit about societal expectations of pregnant women over time (especially the past 50 years), but how those expectations have changed in recent years and what happens to women who don't fit into those expectations. While this book could have been more in-depth, it was perfect for what it was. This book is an excellent start into researching women's issues and confronting the many different parts that factor into women's place and expectations in society right now. Anyone with an interest in women's issues should start with this book - it's accessible, clear, and fascinating.
    more
  • Helois
    May 18, 2017
    A look at the societal demands placed on women, and those who are pushing the boundaries of what is generally considered "normal femininity". Using a collection of essay's showcasing various celebrities, who are "too" much of something, give a face to the very real societal repulsion of a woman being too fat, too old, too sexual or too outspoken, too in your face and strong. In each essay the rise, fame and sometimes decline of these woman is highlighted as well as how the public responds to the A look at the societal demands placed on women, and those who are pushing the boundaries of what is generally considered "normal femininity". Using a collection of essay's showcasing various celebrities, who are "too" much of something, give a face to the very real societal repulsion of a woman being too fat, too old, too sexual or too outspoken, too in your face and strong. In each essay the rise, fame and sometimes decline of these woman is highlighted as well as how the public responds to them. The material is interesting and well presented, though I did find some of it dull and perhaps gossipy, I think it more to do with the nature of the topic as opposed to the writing style or presentation.There is a very fine line between commentary and rant. Especially, when the topics of sexism, racism and women's rights are concerned. The author manages to walk it and bring these topics out in an honest and thought provoking manner.** I was provided an early digital copy via the First to Read program at Penguin Random House, all thoughts and opinions are my own honest opinion.**
    more
  • Jennie
    May 5, 2017
    While I could have easily read 5 or 6 more profiles and the use of the word "unruly" is kind of out of control, overall Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud is an extremely enjoyable critical analysis of the many ways public women damn themselves in the public eye. Petersen ties the images of various celebrity women to current societal expectations and views of non-public women, uncovering persistent, insidious, and exhausting attitudes at large. Loudmouths like to posit that we all know better than to While I could have easily read 5 or 6 more profiles and the use of the word "unruly" is kind of out of control, overall Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud is an extremely enjoyable critical analysis of the many ways public women damn themselves in the public eye. Petersen ties the images of various celebrity women to current societal expectations and views of non-public women, uncovering persistent, insidious, and exhausting attitudes at large. Loudmouths like to posit that we all know better than to model ourselves on popular culture. Maybe if we could each go into a cave for the rest of our lives with only back issues of Ranger Rick for company we could overcome the reptilian parts of our brains that respond to the "not good enough" and "too much" messages that barrage us. Until we get our caves, Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud is a great addition to the recent feminist literature canon that encourages women to accept themselves and others despite years of bullshit wearing us down.
    more
  • Jessie
    June 1, 2017
    NetGalley ARCWhile the idea behind this book is interesting, it reads more like a college thesis than a serious book. Petersen uses contemporary celebrities as examples of how women are judged by society. Serena Williams is too strong, Lena Dunham is too naked, Hillary Clinton is too shrill. For the most part she picks good examples. I wasn't a fan of the Caitlyn Jenner chapter, I think she could have picked a better trans/queer person. I think the Jennifer Weiner and Lena Dunham chapters illust NetGalley ARCWhile the idea behind this book is interesting, it reads more like a college thesis than a serious book. Petersen uses contemporary celebrities as examples of how women are judged by society. Serena Williams is too strong, Lena Dunham is too naked, Hillary Clinton is too shrill. For the most part she picks good examples. I wasn't a fan of the Caitlyn Jenner chapter, I think she could have picked a better trans/queer person. I think the Jennifer Weiner and Lena Dunham chapters illustrated their points the best.I found the writing repetitive. She describes her subjects as unruly multiple times per chapter. She refers to Kim Kardashian's pregnancy as "abject" multiple times. It comes across as awkward. I think Peterson has some good ideas, but the execution was off.
    more
  • Stella
    May 25, 2017
    "Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud: The Rise and Reign of the Unruly Woman" should be required reading for high school kids. This collection from the wonderful Anne Helen Petersen studies unruly women, from Lena Dunham to Kim Kardashian. Women who are often called 'too loud, too fat, too naked'. You know...all the good things to be, that society often says are bad things.The writing is engaging and well researched, with plenty of pop culture references, but enough of a feminist, educated voice that "Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud: The Rise and Reign of the Unruly Woman" should be required reading for high school kids. This collection from the wonderful Anne Helen Petersen studies unruly women, from Lena Dunham to Kim Kardashian. Women who are often called 'too loud, too fat, too naked'. You know...all the good things to be, that society often says are bad things.The writing is engaging and well researched, with plenty of pop culture references, but enough of a feminist, educated voice that I felt I learned something from each essay. Thanks to NetGalley, the publisher and Anne Helen Petersen for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for this review.
    more
  • Cynthia
    May 9, 2017
    I don't know why I thought this might be kind of funny....but it was anything but funny. It is quite a serious essay on how women are treated....quite unfairly, actually. It tells about/exposes all the ways women are held to different standards/expectations......using popular, famous women in example... pretty much spot on! It was quite interesting, & it was a fine read. Not a hard read at all considering the serious subject matter. Maybe 2.5 stars is a more accurate rating. I might recommen I don't know why I thought this might be kind of funny....but it was anything but funny. It is quite a serious essay on how women are treated....quite unfairly, actually. It tells about/exposes all the ways women are held to different standards/expectations......using popular, famous women in example... pretty much spot on! It was quite interesting, & it was a fine read. Not a hard read at all considering the serious subject matter. Maybe 2.5 stars is a more accurate rating. I might recommend it to someone who likes a more serious read, it's not frivolous at all.I did win this e-ARC in a Penguin First-To-Read Giveaway Program, in return for my own fair & honest review.
    more
  • Laura
    May 8, 2017
    Overall I really enjoyed this book. I thought that Petersen, for the most part, did a really good job of investigating her subjects without putting them on a pedestal. She pointed out the reasons why judgement against them was unfair, but also pointed out the less gender-based reasons why they aren't perfect (particularly when looking at Madonna, Jenner, and Clinton). If you like pop culture and feminism, this a great, quick read.Received from NetGalley in exchange for review.
    more
  • Kandi Lopez
    May 21, 2017
    -I received this book in exchange for my honest feedback-This book is well written and gives an insight into why certain celebrities are perceived in a certain way. This collection of short stories is a must read for all. It just reminds me why we should not wear labels but always be inspired to be the best, be unique and be kind to everyone. I recommend this book to all.
    more
  • J a n n i (erchomaiii)
    May 6, 2017
    I absolutely loved this set of essays. Not only did I scream "Yes so true!" so many times while reading it, it also made me shake my head because I can't believe how women still get all the hate for doing things men always did. Absolutely in love with this one and can't wait for it to get released so I can buy a physical copy of this one!
    more
  • Zeba
    May 8, 2017
    This is one of the good ones on the subject. Extremely readable, very well-researched and beautifully written. It's inspiring and enraging at the same time.
  • Yanira
    April 29, 2017
    Received this as a Goodreads Giveaway. And I'm so happy I did. These are great essays that deserve attention and thought. It's intersectional, critical and important. I enjoyed my time with this one.
Write a review