Dark Rites (Krewe of Hunters #22)
The witches, they are real... A series of bizarre assaults is mystifying Boston police: an unknown attacker is viciously beating random strangers and leaving a note quoting an old warning about witchcraft. History professor Alex Maple was one of the victims, and now he's gone missing. Vickie Preston is certain that someone has taken her friend for malicious purposes. She's having blood-drenched visions that seem to be staining her waking life, and the escalating attacks suggest that a dangerous cult is at work behind the scenes—a cult so powerful that its members would rather die than be apprehended.Vickie is grateful to have Special Agent Griffin Pryce and the FBI's elite Krewe of Hunters on her side. Vickie and Griffin are finding their way in an increasingly passionate relationship, and he's keeping her safe and sane amid the disturbing investigation. The search for Alex will take them deep into the wilderness of Massachusetts on the trail of a serial killer, where an ancient evil is waking.

Dark Rites (Krewe of Hunters #22) Details

TitleDark Rites (Krewe of Hunters #22)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherMIRA
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Fiction, Mystery, Romance, Romantic Suspense, Suspense, Paranormal Romance

Dark Rites (Krewe of Hunters #22) Review

  • Kayla Hemmerle
    July 27, 2017
    Heather Graham has been one of my favorite authors for awhile now. I adore her Krewe of Hunters series and I know I can always count on her for an amazing book. But with “Dark Rites”, Heather Graham really stepped into the epic authors category for me.Our story starts with History professor Alex Maple going missing. He’s not entirely sure where he is or what’s happening to me. Someone wants the knowledge that Alex has. To survive, he has to find out where the mysterious “Jehovah” area is.If you Heather Graham has been one of my favorite authors for awhile now. I adore her Krewe of Hunters series and I know I can always count on her for an amazing book. But with “Dark Rites”, Heather Graham really stepped into the epic authors category for me.Our story starts with History professor Alex Maple going missing. He’s not entirely sure where he is or what’s happening to me. Someone wants the knowledge that Alex has. To survive, he has to find out where the mysterious “Jehovah” area is.If you read “Dying Breath”, you already knew who Vickie and Griffin are. (If you didn’t read “Dying Breath”, you’ll still be able to follow this book). This aspect by itself is one reason that I love this author. This book could be the first one you’ve ever read by her and still understand everything. But if you have read the other books, this story becomes enhanced because you see a few past characters and it makes for a more enjoyable experience.Vickie and Alex have become friends and when Alex doesn’t show up for their dinner plans, she knows something is amiss. Alex is intelligent, considerate, and the kind of friend everyone would want to have. Vickie immediately gets Griffin involved and what they find is nothing short of horrifying. As they go through Fall River to the forests of Western Massachusetts, the mystery only intensifies.As the victims continue to add up, the Krewe digs deeper and deeper into the history of Massachusetts. For me, this is one of the best aspects of a Heather Graham book. I love the history melded into the mystery. It really adds an extra element to the story and I find myself unable to put these books down.If you love history, mystery, and romance, this book is for you. Heck, the whole series is for you. This is the kind of story that will keep you up all night for all the right reasons.*Reviewing for A Published Romancewww.apublishedromance.comwww.facebook.com/apublishedromance
    more
  • ☕ Kimberly
    June 14, 2017
    While this is a paranormal romance, we already have an established relationship, and Graham used that to lighten the darker tones of DARK RITES. We did get some hilarious moments between Griffin and Vickie which I thoroughly enjoyed. On a side note we do see other romances develop mostly off page, but again these lightened the tone.Griffin and Vickie were supposed to be heading to Virginia, but a series of murders with notes have Griffin sticking around. The notes reference a Puritan man, who le While this is a paranormal romance, we already have an established relationship, and Graham used that to lighten the darker tones of DARK RITES. We did get some hilarious moments between Griffin and Vickie which I thoroughly enjoyed. On a side note we do see other romances develop mostly off page, but again these lightened the tone.Griffin and Vickie were supposed to be heading to Virginia, but a series of murders with notes have Griffin sticking around. The notes reference a Puritan man, who left and formed his own congregation. Some believe he worshiped Satan. When Griffin almost captures a killer, and then, history professor Alex Maple goes missing, Griffin begins to think they may have a dangerous cult in their midst.Vickie concerned for her friend begins having visions in the form of nightmares. She thinks she hears Alex calling her and sees a young woman deep in the woods. All of this has the Krewe traveling into rural communities around the city. We even get to spend the night at Liz Borden's house! Graham always delights me when she weaves in historical tidbits from the past into her tales. This time we have the Puritans, Satan worshippers, unsolved murders, Lizzy Bordon and more.  I loved seeing Vickie come into her own and watching them piece together clues from the past to help those in the present. A ghostly couple and a silent, spectral figure assist them, but it is Vickie who emerges as the hero in this story. The story built slowly, and as the pieces clicked into place, we moved into a suspenseful, nail-biting conclusion that freaked Griffin out as much as it did me.The cryptic quote that seemed to foretell of an evil coming was quite smart and I was delighted by the way it all came together. For me, DYING BREATH and DARK RITES have been excellent stories in the Krewe of Hunter series. I am eager to get my hands on WICKED DEEDS which includes Edgar Allen Poe!Copy provided by the publisher. This review was originally posted at Caffeinated Book Reviewer
    more
  • Kimberly
    July 1, 2017
    Review featured at www.books-n-kisses.com3.5 Hearts This series is one of my favorites. I always look forward to picking up the latest but this one didn’t do it for me. I think it might have been because it was the same characters from the previous book. We met Vickie and Griffin in Dying Breath which was a really good book. I am not exactly sure why we have a follow up book to that one. Usually the books in this series bring the previous characters back as background but this one focuses on the Review featured at www.books-n-kisses.com3.5 Hearts This series is one of my favorites. I always look forward to picking up the latest but this one didn’t do it for me. I think it might have been because it was the same characters from the previous book. We met Vickie and Griffin in Dying Breath which was a really good book. I am not exactly sure why we have a follow up book to that one. Usually the books in this series bring the previous characters back as background but this one focuses on the same couple again. Now that being said one of the things I enjoy most about this series is the history that Graham includes. I feel the need to mention this in every review because by the end of each other books I am ready to jump on a plane to visit the location and this was no different. The location is still Boston and the surrounding areas and this is an area with so much history that Graham had to work with. This might not have been one of my favorites but I can’t wait for the next one. Because even the non-faves are still a joy to read. Disclaimer:I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Linda
    July 30, 2017
    FBI Agent Griffin Pryce and his girlfriend Vickie Preston were gearing up to leave Boston on their way to Virginia when they were told to stay in Boston to help solve the Satanist attacks. People are being attacked by Satanic cult members and, when Griffin chases one and is about to cuff him, the young man swallows a cyanide tablet and kills himself. Notes are being left with victims referring to words uttered by a Satanist in the late 1600’s. Police are baffled and have no clue where the cult i FBI Agent Griffin Pryce and his girlfriend Vickie Preston were gearing up to leave Boston on their way to Virginia when they were told to stay in Boston to help solve the Satanist attacks. People are being attacked by Satanic cult members and, when Griffin chases one and is about to cuff him, the young man swallows a cyanide tablet and kills himself. Notes are being left with victims referring to words uttered by a Satanist in the late 1600’s. Police are baffled and have no clue where the cult is or who is leading it. Vickie is a historian and searches for anything on Ezekiel Martin, the Satanic leader in the 1600’s, and finds they lived in Jehovah. The Martin family came from England and was believed to have looted many of the churches there. Griffin thinks the Satanic activity might be related to Martin’s hidden treasure but no one knows where Jehovah is today. When one of Vickie’s friends is kidnapped by the group, she is determined to save him.
    more
  • Laura
    July 19, 2017
    I give this book 4 out of 5 stars. Heather Graham once again does a wonderful job blending fact and fiction as they search for Alex and the killers. The characters are well drawn and sympathetic. The plot moves along at a good pace. And the mystery kept me guessing. I thought the leader was one character when he really turned out to be another. The main characters are the same as they were in Book #21 in the Krewe of Hunters series. You could read this as a standalone, but it would be better to I give this book 4 out of 5 stars. Heather Graham once again does a wonderful job blending fact and fiction as they search for Alex and the killers. The characters are well drawn and sympathetic. The plot moves along at a good pace. And the mystery kept me guessing. I thought the leader was one character when he really turned out to be another. The main characters are the same as they were in Book #21 in the Krewe of Hunters series. You could read this as a standalone, but it would be better to at least read the book before it to get a better understanding of the characters and to see the beginning of the relationship between Agent Pryce and Vickie. I would recommend this book and the series to readers who enjoy romantic suspense with a paranormal bent.Disclaimer: I received a copy of the ARC from the publisher through NetGalley. All opinions are my own and freely given.
    more
  • Laura Edgely bishop
    July 29, 2017
    Someone is attacking people in Boston, and leaving an old poem on each victim! Vickie's friend Alex is missing. She is sure he has been kidnapped, although she is not sure why. Since he has gone missing, Vickie is having terrible night and day visions. Griffin and the Krewe of Hunters are going to help find her find Alex. But will they find him before it is too late?. With her usual finesse Heather weaves a story that is exciting and fun to read! I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley in e Someone is attacking people in Boston, and leaving an old poem on each victim! Vickie's friend Alex is missing. She is sure he has been kidnapped, although she is not sure why. Since he has gone missing, Vickie is having terrible night and day visions. Griffin and the Krewe of Hunters are going to help find her find Alex. But will they find him before it is too late?. With her usual finesse Heather weaves a story that is exciting and fun to read! I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Candy Hart
    July 15, 2017
    Another great addition. This one stars the recent additions to the Krewe, those from the Massachusettes setting group of books. And the Krewe continues to grow.This story again included history with which most of us are unfamiliar. Ms. Graham's research is evident, as expected. Always happy when a new Krewe book is expected and this lived up to that expectation.
    more
  • Emilie Davis
    July 29, 2017
    Another Winner for the Krewe!Quite a few of Heather Graham's stories have enough history in them to make the reader go, hummmmmm. This story is a perfect example. Great New England scenery and characters makes this a great read.
  • Karen Halunen
    July 26, 2017
    ExcellentI've always loved her stories but I liked this so much more because the sex scenes weren't detailed which always put me off I always found them unnecessary. This was an exciting story. Terrific characters. Interesting history. Thoroughly enjoyable.
    more
  • diana romano
    July 27, 2017
    A paranormal romance novel krewe of huntersThis was another winner. Heather graham is one of my favorite author s. She writes wonderful character s and storylines. I have read every one of her books. I love this series the most. I highly recommend all her books. Diana Romano
    more
  • Kathy
    July 30, 2017
    I love Heather Graham's books! Only reason this did not get a five star was one annoying character, Roxanne. Her dialogue made me crazy...maybe that was Graham's intent. The book was exciting and full of Massachusetts history:)
  • April Oharah Hernandez
    July 30, 2017
    Story was good but the editing of the book was terrible. Also left holes in the story and came up with a plot twist out of nowhere.
  • Debbie
    July 14, 2017
    Love this author, love this series. But for some reason this book was hard for me to get into. I look forward to the next one in the series.
  • Pam
    June 24, 2017
    Love this author and love this series. This book kept me going from the beginning all the way to the end.Thank you netgalley and MIRA books for this advanced readers copy.
  • Bernice Schuberg
    July 27, 2017
    OutstandingAs always, I enjoy getting lost in Heathers weave of history, lore, drama and the how her characters lead you through the story.
  • Diane Saul
    May 24, 2017
    The Boston police have had a series of assaults on strangers in the city. The victims are left with quotes that refer to witchcraft. Vickie is convinced that her friend has been taken and has been having nightmares. Now the FBIs Krewe Of Hunters is on the case.This is a great story and a great series. It covers a lot of genres, paranormal, romance, thriller, so it will have something for everyone It is a fast paced book that will hold your attention all they way thru the book. The author uses lo The Boston police have had a series of assaults on strangers in the city. The victims are left with quotes that refer to witchcraft. Vickie is convinced that her friend has been taken and has been having nightmares. Now the FBIs Krewe Of Hunters is on the case.This is a great story and a great series. It covers a lot of genres, paranormal, romance, thriller, so it will have something for everyone It is a fast paced book that will hold your attention all they way thru the book. The author uses local history to put a lot of color into the story. I look forward to the next book in the series. Thank you to net galley for an advanced readers copy.
    more
Write a review