Cave Carson Has a Cybernetic Eye, Vol. 1
Cave Carson has a cybernetic eye. But you knew that already. The question is, why was this spelunking adventurer fitted with a bionic implant and what do the visions it's giving him mean?Before his cybernetic eye started showing Cave Carson a world outside his own, he had retired from his life of exploring the center of the Earth with his wife, Eileen, and they had settled into a comfortable, if not mundane, existence above the surface. That is, until Eileen got sick. Now, newly widowed, a knock on the door of Cave's underground lab has brought him back into the world he thought he left behind, beneath the surface of the Earth.Co-written by Gerard Way (Doom Patrol) and Jon Rivera (Heartbreak), with stunning art by Michael Avon Oeming (Powers), this absurdist take on one of DC's more obscure spelunkers explores love and loss, and the line between reality and perception.Collecting: Cave Carson Has a Cybernetic Eye 1-6

Cave Carson Has a Cybernetic Eye, Vol. 1 Details

TitleCave Carson Has a Cybernetic Eye, Vol. 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 28th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN1401270824
ISBN-139781401270827
Number of pages176 pages
Rating
GenreGraphic Novels Comics, Sequential Art, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Superheroes, Dc Comics, Comics

Cave Carson Has a Cybernetic Eye, Vol. 1 Review

  • ☙ percy ❧
    June 17, 2017
    yet more excellent content from the Young Animal team!!ok so this comic is kinda like.... uh.... superhero meets h.p lovecraft meets...... well, gerard way. if you're acquainted with literally any of gerard way's work at all, you know what i mean. that's literally the best description i can make, really.i don't actually think i can criticise any aspects of this comic at all. the art was really good (especially the colouring, which was truly excellent), the storyline was cohesive and complex, and yet more excellent content from the Young Animal team!!ok so this comic is kinda like.... uh.... superhero meets h.p lovecraft meets...... well, gerard way. if you're acquainted with literally any of gerard way's work at all, you know what i mean. that's literally the best description i can make, really.i don't actually think i can criticise any aspects of this comic at all. the art was really good (especially the colouring, which was truly excellent), the storyline was cohesive and complex, and the characters were also really interesting, which i was really pleased to see because sometimes characterisation is not so good in comics. but not this one! i think i enjoyed it even more than Doom Patrol! actually i could criticise the fungus monsters because i have a huge phobia of fungi and it made me go HAUIAHFNAFYAFHAUGHGUH but i guess that added to the overall atmosphere
    more
  • Rory Wilding
    July 1, 2017
    Who is Cave Carson? And why does he have a cybernetic eye?Please click here for my full review.
  • Charles
    June 27, 2017
    Talk about a madcap, crazy-ass romp through a retro chic world!That, was a lot of fun and full of WTF moments.I’m really enjoying some of the titles under the Young Animal imprint as they’re really offering some amazing forms of escapism. To me, this title had it all from a crazy story, with even crazier art. I can of course (my like the current Doom Patrol) see that this might not be for all, but I had a helluva fun time reading it.Also really enjoyed the slight nods to some older and lesser kn Talk about a madcap, crazy-ass romp through a retro chic world!That, was a lot of fun and full of WTF moments.I’m really enjoying some of the titles under the Young Animal imprint as they’re really offering some amazing forms of escapism. To me, this title had it all from a crazy story, with even crazier art. I can of course (my like the current Doom Patrol) see that this might not be for all, but I had a helluva fun time reading it.Also really enjoyed the slight nods to some older and lesser known DC characters. Nice to briefly see Dr. Magnus and the Metal Men. I can assure you that I certainly missed other references, but for the uninitiated, let me tell you now…you’ll be ok! The story is so kooky that you won’t really feel like you’re missing out on anything. Just enjoy the ride while it lasts.It’s got some moments of levity as well, with silly jokes and light touches. I was totally sucked into the moment when they were calling for some major backup, to de delightfully surprised by an all too silly situation.The story does become more and more insane as it goes on, from a retro style suspense story with a hint of James Bond to a psychedelic mess of Eldritch horror!Ends on a cliff hanger, and I have to say that in this instance, I’m really eager to see what happens next! Although many of the Rebirth titles have been more miss than hit for me, Young Animal is offering up some interesting, and wildly different takes on less-than ordinary characters. I’d recommend this to anyone with a sense of adventure, humour, and a touch of madness!
    more
  • Wayne McCoy
    October 20, 2016
    'Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye' by Gerard Way and Jon Rivera with art by Michael Avon Oeming takes a little known character from DC that was first around in 1960 and gives him a weird twist via DC's Young Animal line.Young Animal is just a weird imprint. I like Doom Patrol quite a bit. Shade the Changing Girl is something that might grow on me, and now we have this piece. It's just as strange as the other titles from Young Animal. Cave buries his wife and has to deal with his estranged daught 'Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye' by Gerard Way and Jon Rivera with art by Michael Avon Oeming takes a little known character from DC that was first around in 1960 and gives him a weird twist via DC's Young Animal line.Young Animal is just a weird imprint. I like Doom Patrol quite a bit. Shade the Changing Girl is something that might grow on me, and now we have this piece. It's just as strange as the other titles from Young Animal. Cave buries his wife and has to deal with his estranged daughter Chloe. He works at EBX which seems to be a corporate gig but includes excavations and cave digging. He's got a weird cybernetic eye (hence the title) which reports strange things to him.I just read that and it sounds somewhat normal, but this comic is not. Add in the strange art by Michael Avon Oeming. Sometimes the characters look like puppetmation, sometimes things are just skewed and off. There is a really weird backup comic called the Wonder Twins by Tom Scioli included in this issue.I like weird comics. I don't know how many weird comics I can take, but if you like weird comics, check out this one.I received a review copy of this issue from DC Entertainment and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for allowing me to review this issue.
    more
  • Alex Sarll
    March 20, 2017
    Probably the most straightforward of the Young Animal books, which is saying something given it's a subterranean pulp adventure happy to throw in whichever oddball DC characters nobody else is using. And that on top of the mysteriously unreliable eponymous organ, our hero also ends up tripping balls which layers in an extra level of hallucination. And of course, the way Oeming's art always turns everything larger-than-life anyhow. Oh, and the very unexpected twist ending. But still, underneath a Probably the most straightforward of the Young Animal books, which is saying something given it's a subterranean pulp adventure happy to throw in whichever oddball DC characters nobody else is using. And that on top of the mysteriously unreliable eponymous organ, our hero also ends up tripping balls which layers in an extra level of hallucination. And of course, the way Oeming's art always turns everything larger-than-life anyhow. Oh, and the very unexpected twist ending. But still, underneath all that this is an old-fashioned action romp through the odd corners of a DCU which here more than anywhere else lately feels like its loveable, ridiculous old self. That only goes for the main story, mind. Tom Scioli's back-ups, even by his own standards, feel like the fever dreams of a young Grant Morrison. They're great fun too, though.
    more
  • mike andrews
    October 27, 2016
    Good first issue. May have an interesting one here.
  • Comics Alternative
    January 11, 2017
    http://comicsalternative.com/episode-...
  • Meghannf
    June 30, 2017
    I'll go with a small 4 stars, thanks to the artwork. Cave Carson has a Cybernetic Eye is not a character I knew from before. This revival is appreciated. I have to say that I was not amazed by the plot which left me confused most of the time. Though, the art! The art took over the writing part. Why? Because first things first: it is artistically speaking really beautiful! Indeed, the pencil and ink works are gorgeous! The construction of the grid is well done and exploited as much as it can. In I'll go with a small 4 stars, thanks to the artwork. Cave Carson has a Cybernetic Eye is not a character I knew from before. This revival is appreciated. I have to say that I was not amazed by the plot which left me confused most of the time. Though, the art! The art took over the writing part. Why? Because first things first: it is artistically speaking really beautiful! Indeed, the pencil and ink works are gorgeous! The construction of the grid is well done and exploited as much as it can. In my opinion, this is the strongest part of comics. I am most sensitive about the colors and here it delivers!! I loved how the reader can experience the play of colors on every page layout. It portrays a wonderful perception of how we can see. It seems almost psychotic from Cave Carson's perspective. Overall, the lines are great, there is a play with the background of the page. The expressions on the face of the characters are simpler from what I am used to, still it is nice. Actually, I enjoyed them even more as I could concentrate on the other type of art displayed on the page. Now, about the writing, it is the "weakest" part. Why? Simply because I got confused with the plot. It goes on different paths from time to time and left you with gaps where you expect to have some answers or details about the story or characters. There is a small character development. I recommend you to read the character's personal data at the end of the comics before reading the comics. I have to say, the end left me curious to know more about their adventures! I received an Edelweiss copy in exchange of an honest review.
    more
  • Nathaniel Darkish
    June 19, 2017
    There are some fun, classic pulp fiction ideas and stylistic choices that I really enjoyed in this book, but as a whole it was pretty confusing. I haven't loved any of the Young Animal books I've picked up yet, and this continues that streak. I will say it was less disjointed and bizarre than the others I've picked up. I just don't really feel like Young Animals really fits into the DC universe.
    more
  • Emmanuel Nevers
    May 14, 2017
    Probably my favorite from the new DC Young Animal imprint. Cave Carson has that great indy storytelling appeal with throwback styled sci-fi! I'm just loving it!!
  • Vinton Bayne
    November 17, 2016
    I love the look at old comic heroes through modern eyes. This series has great promise.
  • S. Wilson
    March 2, 2017
    First of all, best name for a comic book ever. Ever. In the long tradition of relaunching old and obscure comic book characters for modernization, Cave Carson is back! Attempting to cope with the recent loss of his wife Eileen with the help of his daughter Chloe, and dealing with some cybernetic eye side-effects with some help from Doc Magnus, Carson stumbles upon something sinister happening with Muldroog and EBX that promises to complicate his life even further. Special kudos to Way and Rivera First of all, best name for a comic book ever. Ever. In the long tradition of relaunching old and obscure comic book characters for modernization, Cave Carson is back! Attempting to cope with the recent loss of his wife Eileen with the help of his daughter Chloe, and dealing with some cybernetic eye side-effects with some help from Doc Magnus, Carson stumbles upon something sinister happening with Muldroog and EBX that promises to complicate his life even further. Special kudos to Way and Rivera for the "HI-KE-BA!"
    more
  • Patrick
    October 20, 2016
    Not a bad comic book by any means. But I wasn't really interested in what was going. It felt a bit flat in some ways, story wise. On the plus side, the art reminded me of Darwyn Cooke and Bruce Timm. That's a good compliment coming from me. I received an advanced copy of this from NetGalley.com and the publisher. .
    more
  • John Shaw
    October 21, 2016
    The Young Animal imprint from DCcontinues to revive classic charactersfrom the golden age of mad science adventureCave Carson who's many adventuresin the wilds beneath the Earth were a staple of the field Teaming up as part of the Challengers of the Unknownthis is a great restart to a classic herobringing all the sense of wonder back for a new age
    more
  • Brandon St Mark
    October 19, 2016
    What?I mean really, what is going on with Young Animal? Doom Patrol is insane, but at least fun to look at and sane enough to keep me in. Shade, the Changing Girl was too insane, and this was just too.... all over the place. I feel like I should know more about Cave Carson before now, but I have never heard of him before in my life. I don't know if I'll continue this title for not...
    more
  • John
    November 2, 2016
    The Young Animal comics are absolutely unconventional.I cant say i know exactly what is going on in this one but i can say it certainly caught my interest and im eager to read the next one.
Write a review