Shade, the Changing Girl, Volume 1
Part of Gerard Way's new imprint, DC's Young Animal!Far away on the planet Meta, Loma's going nowhere fast. She's dropped out of school, dumped her boyfriend and is bored out of her mind. She longs to feel things. That's where her idol, the lunatic poet Rac Shade, and his infamous madness coat come in. Loma steals the garment and makes a break across galaxies to take up residence in a new body: Earth girl Megan Boyer.Surely everything will be better on this passionate, primitive planet with a dash of madness on her side and this human girl's easy life. Only now that she's here, Loma discovers being a teenaged Earth girl comes with its own challenges and Earth may not be everything she thought it'd be. Megan Boyer was a bully who everyone was glad was almost dead, and now Loma has to survive high school and navigate the consequences of the life she didn't live with the ever-growing and uncontrollable madness at her side. Not to mention that there are people back on her homeworld who might just want Shade's coat back.Written by Cecil Castellucci (The Plain Janes), drawn by Marley Zarcone (Effigy) and overseen by Gerard Way, Shade, the Changing Girl starts a whole new chapter in the story of one of comics' most unique series.Collecting: Shade, the Changing Girl 1-6

Shade, the Changing Girl, Volume 1 Details

TitleShade, the Changing Girl, Volume 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN1401270999
ISBN-139781401270995
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Aliens, Superheroes, Dc Comics

Shade, the Changing Girl, Volume 1 Review

  • Sam Quixote
    July 18, 2017
    I like to move it, move it, move it, I like to… movie it, provie it, shooo… sorry, I think my brain’s broken from too many crappy comics lately! Oh up yours Young Animal. Thank Jeebus this is the last one of these I’ve gotta endure! Shade, the Changing Man is reimagined as Shade, the Changing Girl because I guess the character changes? Ahhhhh you spin me right round baby right round like a record... Come on, dude, keep it together, it’s almost over… have another drink. I’ve never read any of the I like to move it, move it, move it, I like to… movie it, provie it, shooo… sorry, I think my brain’s broken from too many crappy comics lately! Oh up yours Young Animal. Thank Jeebus this is the last one of these I’ve gotta endure! Shade, the Changing Man is reimagined as Shade, the Changing Girl because I guess the character changes? Ahhhhh you spin me right round baby right round like a record... Come on, dude, keep it together, it’s almost over… have another drink. I’ve never read any of the previous incarnations so I can’t compare or even know if this is similar in approach but this Shade is an alien called Loma inhabiting a teen girl’s body for a contrived reason. Loma must find out why everyone thinks she’s a bitch - not that anything’s at stake, she’s just gotta do something to fill the pages. Yup, real edge of your seat reading!I wasn’t sucked into what little story there was. We know that Megan, the Earth girl host, was a mean girl before Loma inhabited her, so we have to wait tediously for Loma to figure out what we know from the start. No explanation either for how possession works - is Megan’s, uh, “spirit” killed when Loma jumps in or what? It appears at the end but where was it up til then? Ah, I didn’t really care anyway. Loma leaving her home planet to come to Earth was a flimsy excuse that added to the pointlessness of this comic. And the stuff on Loma’s home planet was equally unimaginative. Basically aliens have the same culture as we do on Earth (even vaping!) but they’re alien-looking. The art is nothing special but Kelly Fitzpatrick’s colours are trippy and cool. Shade, the Changing Girl is boring garbage. I highly recommend avoiding any books with the Young Animal label!
    more
  • Dan Schwent
    July 26, 2017
    Loma, an alien from Meta, tries on Rac Shade's legendary madness coat and finds herself on earth, in the body of a brain-dead girl, Megan, who was not very nice before her accident. Will she adjust to Megan's life with Metan authorities on her trail?As someone who has most of the Steve Ditko Shade run from the 1970s AND most of the 1990s Vertigo run, I approached Shade The Changing Girl with cautious optimism. Since the Young Animal imprint seems to be the second coming of Vertigo, I figured I'd Loma, an alien from Meta, tries on Rac Shade's legendary madness coat and finds herself on earth, in the body of a brain-dead girl, Megan, who was not very nice before her accident. Will she adjust to Megan's life with Metan authorities on her trail?As someone who has most of the Steve Ditko Shade run from the 1970s AND most of the 1990s Vertigo run, I approached Shade The Changing Girl with cautious optimism. Since the Young Animal imprint seems to be the second coming of Vertigo, I figured I'd give it a shot.I wound up digging it. Shade, The Changing Girl, takes elements from both the Ditko run and the Peter Milligan-penned Vertigo adventures. Honestly, it's more coherent that both were a lot of the time.Shade, The Changing Girl, is a fish (or bird) out of water story as Loma steps into Megan Boyer's life and tries to experience earth life. Too bad Megan was a tremendous bitch. As Loma pieces together what happened on the night Megan drowned, she makes friends and encounters a lot of people Megan did wrong. A LOT of people. Even her parents hate her.Without spoiling things too much, Earth Girl Made Easy laid a lot of groundwork and set the stage for future adventures. It was really cool that Mellu is on the trail of the stolen M-Vest. I have a feeling Shade and River will be visiting Meta and the Area of Madness in the future. It kind of feels like Doctor Who in a way.Earth Girl Made Easy feels like it could easily fit into the Vertigo Shade series. As a long time Shade fan, I'm pretty excited about what's to come. Four out of five stars.
    more
  • Chelsea
    July 2, 2017
    ** received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review **3 stars.Look, this is my first introduction to this character. I’ve heard a little about this series from one of my favorite podcasts, Talking Comics. The fact that Gerard Way was involved also drew to me picking this one up. I must admit, I don’t understand this book. Not in a “why does it exist?” kind of way but in a “wtf happened?” kind of way.The story as I understand it: Loma Shade is an alien from Meta who steals a special jacke ** received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review **3 stars.Look, this is my first introduction to this character. I’ve heard a little about this series from one of my favorite podcasts, Talking Comics. The fact that Gerard Way was involved also drew to me picking this one up. I must admit, I don’t understand this book. Not in a “why does it exist?” kind of way but in a “wtf happened?” kind of way.The story as I understand it: Loma Shade is an alien from Meta who steals a special jacket and makes it to earth. She steals the body of a comatose girl, Megan, and assumes her life. As she does, she learns that Megan was a total nightmare before her coma and Loma has to deal with that while learning to deal with human emotions and customs. As a premise, that’s pretty straight forward and kind of cool. Unfortunately, something about the format to this book made several of those rather simple concepts hard to comprehend? The biggest problem I had with this book is that I was never quite sure what was in Loma’s head and what others, like River and Teacup, could see. There are several times when there’s color splashes across the page and I can’t tell if Loma’s in her headspace or if the colors were visible to everyone. It made it hard to follow the story. Loma is an interesting character. I liked River just fine and Teacup was moderately interesting in a “I’ve seen this type of character several times before” kind of way. I would be interested in more of a story from their point of view. Honestly, reading this I was slightly imagining how this story would have worked on Teen Nick or something. The art was pretty damn awesome! It was next level bonkers with some of the scenes of Loma Meta Meditating and dreaming. I enjoyed the colors and the style quite a bit. It was the best part of this book, in my opinion.So, largely, what made this kind of a difficult read for me is that I had no clue what was happening. A lot of that is probably because this is my introduction to the character. I think a volume one should be a good jumping off point for everyone. That’s just my personal opinion though. I suppose not every first volume of a series has to take the time to introduce the world and the concepts. That being said, I still enjoyed parts of this series. Not sure if I’ll continue with it, though. 3 stars.
    more
  • Lauren
    June 9, 2017
    This is a fantastic continuation to Shade, and more than anything it is BEAUTIFUL. When I say this, what I mean is that every single page is a masterpiece. You could close your eyes and flip through, and wherever you landed, you could blow it up and frame it on your wall and it would look magnificent. The writing is strong, the plot is strong, the characters (and their names--Teacup? Hello yes) are strong; but what this does so astonishingly well is tell its story simultaneously through imagery This is a fantastic continuation to Shade, and more than anything it is BEAUTIFUL. When I say this, what I mean is that every single page is a masterpiece. You could close your eyes and flip through, and wherever you landed, you could blow it up and frame it on your wall and it would look magnificent. The writing is strong, the plot is strong, the characters (and their names--Teacup? Hello yes) are strong; but what this does so astonishingly well is tell its story simultaneously through imagery and words. And yeah, all graphic novels should do that--but this is on another level. It's not just worlds that the art creates, and it's not just a point of view. It's a state of mind. It's philosophical, it's poetic, it's aesthetically stunning, and it transports you to a whole new mindspace. 5 stars.**Full review here:http://laurenanalepa.weebly.com/blog-...
    more
  • Cat (cat-thecatlady)
    July 15, 2017
    not sure what I thought about this one. it was weird at first and when I got the hang of it, it wasn't that interesting either. I'm kinda sick of these comics that aren't reader friendly or don't even try to be more captivating to the reader. let's stop this "random sentences no one's really sure what they're about" kind of comic, ok? the art was kinda nice thofull review here: https://catshelf.wordpress.com/2017/0...
    more
  • Charles
    July 4, 2017
    Utterly lost…Damn, that was a real challenging read unfortunately. Honestly, it made me physically ill and gave me a helluva headache. I think it stems from the fact that this really didn’t feel reader friendly. I’ve only a cursory knowledge of the previous iteration of Shade and hoped to be eased into this one.Nope.So bloody lost throughout. I can’t in good conscience recommed this to anyone I know. I mean the Young Animal titles are edgier, out there, and experimental but this was less “art ho Utterly lost…Damn, that was a real challenging read unfortunately. Honestly, it made me physically ill and gave me a helluva headache. I think it stems from the fact that this really didn’t feel reader friendly. I’ve only a cursory knowledge of the previous iteration of Shade and hoped to be eased into this one.Nope.So bloody lost throughout. I can’t in good conscience recommed this to anyone I know. I mean the Young Animal titles are edgier, out there, and experimental but this was less “art house clever” and more “WTF is happening in this very moment?”Maybe I’m just an obtuse reader, but simple things like “Can anyone see what she’s projecting/making?” were lost on me. I mean in one secod, it seems River does…and maybe Teacup, but in others no one seems to be noticing. Straight up, if a wee blue and black, floppy circle came out of someone’s head, I’d freak the hell out. Another example is in the finale, she’s in her room having an epic battle, and her father (seems?!?!) to be surrounded by eyeballs and coloured circles. A few moments later, mom invites the kids in for cocoa like nothing happened.Also, one issue ends with Megan’s essence/aura/spirit/mean ass presence confronting Shade. The next issue’s first panel says Shade’s been followed by it for days. Wait, have days passed? Did I miss something? Am I just that dumb?The art was certainly interesting, but it’s not outweighed by the fact that this felt like a chore, bored me because I felt lost, and in the end I felt kind of dumb. Also, the “actual” lead character has no redeeming qualities whatsoever.Sorry Young Animal, this one just didn’t do it for me on any level.
    more
  • Todd S
    July 22, 2017
    Breezed right through this book and loved it. Writing and art are both peachy-keen, and I hope the next arc is as enjoyable.
  • Hanna
    June 22, 2017
    I rate this 4.5/5 stars! Full review will be up on July 4th, stay tuned!
  • Elisa The-Bookie-Monster
    July 17, 2017
    3.5/5 this was totally a cover pick, the artwork is beautiful! Megan is a teenager who has been in a coma for so long that her parents made the decision to pull the plug, however she wakes up- sort of. Shade is an alien who possesses Megan's body to get away from her own life. She struggles to remember her classmates, and in remembering them, she sees what a terrible person Megan was. The beginning is really weird and somewhat confusing it didn't click for me right away, but once the story got g 3.5/5 this was totally a cover pick, the artwork is beautiful! Megan is a teenager who has been in a coma for so long that her parents made the decision to pull the plug, however she wakes up- sort of. Shade is an alien who possesses Megan's body to get away from her own life. She struggles to remember her classmates, and in remembering them, she sees what a terrible person Megan was. The beginning is really weird and somewhat confusing it didn't click for me right away, but once the story got going it got better. The artwork is also beautifully done, especially in parts where it gets really trippy.
    more
  • Alex Sarll
    March 16, 2017
    It wasn't the first book from Gerard Way's Young Animal imprint, but because all comics by extra-comics celebrities are legally obliged to run late, it's the first to conclude an arc. Pretty much a straight sequel to Peter Milligan's Shade, The Changing Man - but that was a book which seldom went anywhere near straight, and its heir follows the same crooked path. So a young Metan fan of Shade nicks the madness coat and follows her hero's route to Earth, where she takes over the body of a comatos It wasn't the first book from Gerard Way's Young Animal imprint, but because all comics by extra-comics celebrities are legally obliged to run late, it's the first to conclude an arc. Pretty much a straight sequel to Peter Milligan's Shade, The Changing Man - but that was a book which seldom went anywhere near straight, and its heir follows the same crooked path. So a young Metan fan of Shade nicks the madness coat and follows her hero's route to Earth, where she takes over the body of a comatose high school queen bee. Whose family and friends are more shocked by the sudden outbursts of decent behaviour than any freaky manifestation of alien superpowers. It's the classic device of using genre furniture to talk about the weirdness of puberty better than realism could, and this team are great at capturing the right note of fevered melodrama meets deadpan cool.
    more
  • Tim
    March 1, 2017
    This is my absolute favorite book from DC's Young Animal imprint and one of my favorite books that I read on a monthly basis period. The story follows an alien named Loma from the planet Meta who steals Roc Shade's M-Vest and uses it to inhabit the body of a high school girl on Earth. Cecil Castellucci's writing is top notch and Marley Zarcone's art has the perfect amount of surrealism to it and is perfectly colored by Kelly Fitzpatrick.
    more
  • Rebecca
    July 14, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the ARCI haven't read the original Shade series- I hadn't even heard of it before reading this so some of my confusion may be to do with that, but I had no clue what was going on. I read the blurb after reading the comic, and honestly, that explained the book to me far better than actually reading the book did. I couldn't understand the main character's motivation for doing anything that she did.The "stream of consciousness" type of dialogue that DC d Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the ARCI haven't read the original Shade series- I hadn't even heard of it before reading this so some of my confusion may be to do with that, but I had no clue what was going on. I read the blurb after reading the comic, and honestly, that explained the book to me far better than actually reading the book did. I couldn't understand the main character's motivation for doing anything that she did.The "stream of consciousness" type of dialogue that DC do in most of their books where there are these weird, out of place, poetic thoughts all over the page were even more present here that usual, and I just don't understand why they do it. These are just some examples:"No matter how I try, I can't go further?No stream to stride.No way to go but back to earth.There is a choice. Her life or my death.I choose life."(Even with the context, this still makes very little sense)"It takes so little effort to change the way feelings feel.It is an antidote to the darkness in her.I feel so light. Like I could almost fly.How do you find a star to sail by?When there is nothing but a black sky?You start with your heart."This is like bad Tumblr poetry. I don't know why any of it's in this comic.How small is that hand that pinches you real?How long does the sun bend to your smile?How far do you dare when you don't dream?How warm does a home feel after you fall?"???I think they use madness as a plot point as an excuse for when things don't make sense or seem random.I have to say- the art is really pretty and I love how bright the whole book is. I don't usually like DC's covers- that's some of what puts me off reading more of their stuff, but the covers for the Young Animal comics are beautiful, and the cover is really what made me give this imprint another shot after reading Doom Patrol and not understanding any of that either.The story-line of an alien in her 20's wanting more for her life and escaping via a coat that can transport you somehow into another person's body on another planet could have been interesting to read about, and I think you could have it be weird without it making no sense and confusing new readers who aren't familiar with the context or the characters in the story.
    more
  • Timothy
    July 17, 2017
    I think about it all the time. The idea of slipping into another life, the way there are so many different careers and cities and body types and just a whole myriad of identities out there. What must it be like to live one that isn't mine? And at the heart of this book, here it is. An alien casting off her old life to start again, to literally slip into another body. It seems so simple, drop your own problems, your tangled web of relationships, and just drop into a new one. That's part of the ap I think about it all the time. The idea of slipping into another life, the way there are so many different careers and cities and body types and just a whole myriad of identities out there. What must it be like to live one that isn't mine? And at the heart of this book, here it is. An alien casting off her old life to start again, to literally slip into another body. It seems so simple, drop your own problems, your tangled web of relationships, and just drop into a new one. That's part of the appeal to me, seeing Shade try to figure out what to do with this other life she has taken on. Another part of what makes this book so compelling to me is the main character herself. Shade looks at the world in a fun and unique way. She has a sense of wonder about things so familiar to us, some we don't even think about often because they are so routine or ordinary.So yes, this is one of my favorite comics of all time! It has everything: Poetry, madness, friendship, aliens, weirdness, great artwork, the magic of discovery, etc! I love a lot of things about it, so here's some gushing! I love how Loma sees our world. I love how she finds herself being dropped right in the middle of another life and tries her best to fix and enjoy it. I love all the little side characters: Megan's old friends, the Metans, the complicated relationship between Teacup and Shade. I love the way the madness is drawn literally dripping off characters and objects. I love the vibrant colors, the opposing colors used on the text boxes for Megan and Shade. I love the poetry interwoven throughout that enriches both the immediate situation and the larger lore of the story through Rac Shade's invisible but immense presence (both on the story within the pages and on a meta level through this book's spiritual predecessor, Shade the Changing Man).Pretty simply, the best comic currently coming out, bar none. I've already read it three times (twice in single issues and now once again in this collected format) and can't wait to revisit it further down the road.
    more
  • Leah
    July 18, 2017
    Loma, an alien, is in a rut in her life. So she decides to steal the famous madness coat from her favorite poet, Rac Shade. To avoid getting caught stealing this item, she runs away finally settling in earth and into an earth body of a high school girl named Megan. Loma thinks that life will be easier on Earth, a planet much simpler than her home planet. However, the body she has chosen in of a high school bully who is currently in a coma. When Loma in Megan's body (who now goes by Shade) goes b Loma, an alien, is in a rut in her life. So she decides to steal the famous madness coat from her favorite poet, Rac Shade. To avoid getting caught stealing this item, she runs away finally settling in earth and into an earth body of a high school girl named Megan. Loma thinks that life will be easier on Earth, a planet much simpler than her home planet. However, the body she has chosen in of a high school bully who is currently in a coma. When Loma in Megan's body (who now goes by Shade) goes back to school, people are less than enthused to see her, all while people in her home world are trying to figure out how to get the coat back.Overall, the artwork in this book was pretty incredible and vibrant. However, the story text sometimes had me confused and made my head spin a bit. I suppose that is probably how Loma felt in her new world and body, but at times it detracted from the story. The concept for this comic was awesome, and it shows how hard it is to be a teenager (especially if you are an alien from another planet). I will be interested to watch and see where this series goes, as of right now it wasn't really for me. Thank you to NetGalley who gave me a copy of this comic for an honest review.
    more
  • Maia
    July 25, 2017
    Loma Shade is a bird-like native of Meta, a distant planet with a lingering interest in the scraps of nostalgic Earth culture they've collected. Shade uses her boyfriend's position as a security guard at a museum of Earth objects to steal the Madness Vest. She uses this to (somehow) transmit her soul to Earth, where she inhabits the body of a 16 year old girl, Megan. Megan has been lying in a coma after nearly drowning at a wild party with her swim team. Only her boyfriend Wes is happy about her Loma Shade is a bird-like native of Meta, a distant planet with a lingering interest in the scraps of nostalgic Earth culture they've collected. Shade uses her boyfriend's position as a security guard at a museum of Earth objects to steal the Madness Vest. She uses this to (somehow) transmit her soul to Earth, where she inhabits the body of a 16 year old girl, Megan. Megan has been lying in a coma after nearly drowning at a wild party with her swim team. Only her boyfriend Wes is happy about her surprise recovery- the rest of the team, and even Megan's parents, fear and resent her. Shade struggles to understand life as an Earth high school student even as she struggles to resist the raw Madness that swirls from her transport, the Vest. This book is part of the larger Young Animals series from DC, but I read and enjoyed it as a stand-alone.
    more
  • Shannon Appelcline
    July 26, 2017
    Castelucci manages to create a comic that feels totally original, but is nonetheless a match in tone and style for the classic Vertigo Shade, the Changing Man. It's a rather magnificent trick.The joy of Shade, the Changing Girl may be that it's so mundane. It's about a girl trying to live her life in a high school full of mean girls, bullies, and victims. The catch is that she's one of those bullies, or at least used to be. It's a pretty magnificent match for the story of how Rac possessed a mur Castelucci manages to create a comic that feels totally original, but is nonetheless a match in tone and style for the classic Vertigo Shade, the Changing Man. It's a rather magnificent trick.The joy of Shade, the Changing Girl may be that it's so mundane. It's about a girl trying to live her life in a high school full of mean girls, bullies, and victims. The catch is that she's one of those bullies, or at least used to be. It's a pretty magnificent match for the story of how Rac possessed a murderer all these years ago, but if anything bully Megan is a more dangerous force!As for the rest, there's a joyful story here of an awakening, a great cast of characters, and some fun madness as well.
    more
  • Danielle Booey
    July 24, 2017
    This book came to me very highly recommended by a coworker. I am glad to report that Shade is worth all of the fuss. This is a fun psychedelic space romp into the mad mad world of a brain dead teenage bully, Meghan, who made the lives of her "friends", enemies, and parents miserable. As well as the alien, Loma Shade, who decides to take her body for a ride, all the while attempting to repair the relationships that the earth girl had burned to the ground.Just fantastic. Lovely art and a thrilling This book came to me very highly recommended by a coworker. I am glad to report that Shade is worth all of the fuss. This is a fun psychedelic space romp into the mad mad world of a brain dead teenage bully, Meghan, who made the lives of her "friends", enemies, and parents miserable. As well as the alien, Loma Shade, who decides to take her body for a ride, all the while attempting to repair the relationships that the earth girl had burned to the ground.Just fantastic. Lovely art and a thrilling story that includes a little mystery, murder, teen angst, and some really esoteric poetry.This could be one of those books you either love or hate, but I loved it. Highly recommended.P.S. I had never read any Shade, the Changing Man outside of Justice League Dark
    more
  • Rummanah (Books in the Spotlight)
    July 9, 2017
    It did not take me long to figure out that this graphic novel is not for me nor would it appeal to my students. The plot is pretty simple despite its non-linear narrative structure. Loma, a birdlike alien creature, is bored on her planet and desires adventure so she dons on a madness coat and turns into a spirit that inhabits the body of Megan, a comatose high school queen bee. Loma is disheartened to find out that Megan was a mean girl that pretty much everyone hated. Loma tries to amend Megan' It did not take me long to figure out that this graphic novel is not for me nor would it appeal to my students. The plot is pretty simple despite its non-linear narrative structure. Loma, a birdlike alien creature, is bored on her planet and desires adventure so she dons on a madness coat and turns into a spirit that inhabits the body of Megan, a comatose high school queen bee. Loma is disheartened to find out that Megan was a mean girl that pretty much everyone hated. Loma tries to amend Megan's wrong meanwhile Megan's parents and friends are more shocked about Megan acting like a real human being with emotions and empathy rather than her weird alien powers. Despite the colorful and vibrant illustrations of the graphic novel, I was bored throughout reading it. The plot was just okay and the characters failed to pique my interest. I didn't get a good grasp on who Loma is before she inhabited Megan. I also couldn't drum up any sympathy for Megan who was a big bully that took a lot of drugs and ended up drowning. I also didn't feel there was a lot of depth to the story despite the trope of using the high school setting as a metaphor of explaining the tumultuous time of puberty. Plot points that didn't really connect where casually explained by the weird things happening in the story instead of an actual explanation.
    more
  • Erin Shiba
    July 21, 2017
    3.5 stars. The first thing I have to say about Shade the Changing Girl is: KEEP READING. I like fantasy. I like slow burns and late reveals. I'm not usually put off by a muddling-through. But for me, the first issue of this new series was a SERIOUS slog. The introduction of a totally foreign reality interspersed with quasi-philosophical song lyrics and oh yeah ALL-CONSUMING MADNESS was well-played, in that it was entirely maddening... almost maddening enough to drop the whole thing. However, all 3.5 stars. The first thing I have to say about Shade the Changing Girl is: KEEP READING. I like fantasy. I like slow burns and late reveals. I'm not usually put off by a muddling-through. But for me, the first issue of this new series was a SERIOUS slog. The introduction of a totally foreign reality interspersed with quasi-philosophical song lyrics and oh yeah ALL-CONSUMING MADNESS was well-played, in that it was entirely maddening... almost maddening enough to drop the whole thing. However, all of the missing context gets thoroughly filled in as the story unfolds, and (as someone with no familiarity with the original Vertigo series) I found the overall premise pretty fascinating. With no less than a dozen primary and secondary characters introduced across this six-issue run, each one was skillfully rendered in terms of both art and characterization. And the art is SO GOOD. Marley Zarcone was a brilliant match for this story, and her interpretations of reality (as we know it) and madness are simultaneously clean and chaotic. By the end of this read, my skepticism had been entirely subsumed by eager anticipation for the next chapter. So yeah. Keep reading. Thanks to NetGalley for providing me with access to this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Maria
    July 26, 2017
    Очень годная подростковая переработка Шэйда. Джерард Вэй там обещает приключения, трансформации и трубезумие, но по-моему, начать со школоты очень неплохо. (Все лучше, чем с изнасилования.) В оригинале у Питера Миллигана было безумие серийных убийц, политики, теорий заговора и т.п., но в 21 веке, с его эгоцентричностью и инфантильностью, зациклиться на подростке — очень логичное решение. (А Лома Шэйд еще и дропаут, что добавляет ей инфантильности.) Сэсил Кастелуччи молодец (а стихи прямо как из Очень годная подростковая переработка Шэйда. Джерард Вэй там обещает приключения, трансформации и трубезумие, но по-моему, начать со школоты очень неплохо. (Все лучше, чем с изнасилования.) В оригинале у Питера Миллигана было безумие серийных убийц, политики, теорий заговора и т.п., но в 21 веке, с его эгоцентричностью и инфантильностью, зациклиться на подростке — очень логичное решение. (А Лома Шэйд еще и дропаут, что добавляет ей инфантильности.) Сэсил Кастелуччи молодец (а стихи прямо как из тумблера, но с поправкой на галактического масштаба метафизику). Рисовка очень симпатичная, много милых моментов — хотя безумие как таковое особенно и не чувствуется особо, скорее меланхолическое смущение. Но подростковые проблемы — это только начало, так что еще успеют разогнаться.
    more
  • Danielle
    July 26, 2017
    Shade, the Changing Girl is a sequel/homage to the classic Vertigo title, Shade, the Changing Man. Beautifully drawn and colored, with a thought provoking storyline about the nature of humanity and how it changes two different women who happen to share a body, unfortunately, this is totally not for me. The madness makes for an interesting background to every panel, but it made it hard for me to focus and connect to the story. It's more existential than I like and large swaths of the book left me Shade, the Changing Girl is a sequel/homage to the classic Vertigo title, Shade, the Changing Man. Beautifully drawn and colored, with a thought provoking storyline about the nature of humanity and how it changes two different women who happen to share a body, unfortunately, this is totally not for me. The madness makes for an interesting background to every panel, but it made it hard for me to focus and connect to the story. It's more existential than I like and large swaths of the book left me uncomfortable and unsettled. That's a failing for me, that I didn't want a book that pushed too hard. Maybe you do.
    more
  • Ryan
    June 23, 2017
    This is a DNF for me. I gave it a valiant try and made it over halfway. Megan has had her body taken over by an alien life form. She was the mean girl in school and after taking too many drugs and drowning, she was declared brain dead. Enter our birdlike alien, who takes over her body and intends to live her life. But her life, is not all he thought a human life would be like. Part of what keeps this graphic novel flowing is our alien thinks in poetry, and interrupts himself in Shades poetry. Th This is a DNF for me. I gave it a valiant try and made it over halfway. Megan has had her body taken over by an alien life form. She was the mean girl in school and after taking too many drugs and drowning, she was declared brain dead. Enter our birdlike alien, who takes over her body and intends to live her life. But her life, is not all he thought a human life would be like. Part of what keeps this graphic novel flowing is our alien thinks in poetry, and interrupts himself in Shades poetry. There are constantly two to three conversations going on, plus then what is happening in the Alien’s home world. It’s all a big mess. Others will probably like it, but I don't.
    more
  • Fiction State Of Mind
    July 27, 2017
    I'll confess I wasn't sure I would be onboard with the Vertigo reboot: Young Animal. This series however has changed my mind. An alien with the shared name of shade, is drawn to the madness vest that is held under lock and key in a museum. With the help of an ex, Loma steals the jacket and finds herself in the comatose body of a young earth girl who was also a huge bully. Now Loma must deal with the repercussions of her hosts life as well as avoid falling into the madness of the vest.The art on I'll confess I wasn't sure I would be onboard with the Vertigo reboot: Young Animal. This series however has changed my mind. An alien with the shared name of shade, is drawn to the madness vest that is held under lock and key in a museum. With the help of an ex, Loma steals the jacket and finds herself in the comatose body of a young earth girl who was also a huge bully. Now Loma must deal with the repercussions of her hosts life as well as avoid falling into the madness of the vest.The art on this series is fantastic and Cecil turns in a fantastic script with adventure on two different planets each with its own excellent supporting cast. a wonderfu read.
    more
  • Geppis Baltimore
    July 21, 2017
    This is an interesting book. So basically Megan was THE "it" girl in her class, after an accident she is in a coma for months- so long that her parents decide to pull the plug on life support. She suddenly wakes up, but she's no longer herself, she's possessed by an alien by the name of Loma (who wishes to be called "Shade"). As Shade lives life through Megan, she realizes what a terrible person was, and decides to make amends with everyone she's mistreated in the past, much to the dismay of Meg This is an interesting book. So basically Megan was THE "it" girl in her class, after an accident she is in a coma for months- so long that her parents decide to pull the plug on life support. She suddenly wakes up, but she's no longer herself, she's possessed by an alien by the name of Loma (who wishes to be called "Shade"). As Shade lives life through Megan, she realizes what a terrible person was, and decides to make amends with everyone she's mistreated in the past, much to the dismay of Megan's spirit. ~ Elisa**Recommended to mature readers because of language**
    more
  • Kristine
    July 18, 2017
    Shade, the Changing Girl, Vol. 1: Earth Girl Made Easy by Cecil Castellucci et. al. is a free NetGalley e-comicbook that I read in mid-June.An otherworldly birdlike creature called Loma steals a magical jacket and is able to enter the mind of Megan, a rebellious high school synchronized swimming mean girl who awoke out of a drug-induced coma. While struggling to understand human nature and why nearly all of her peers fear and loathe her, the newly minted Loma Shade thinks highly philosophical co Shade, the Changing Girl, Vol. 1: Earth Girl Made Easy by Cecil Castellucci et. al. is a free NetGalley e-comicbook that I read in mid-June.An otherworldly birdlike creature called Loma steals a magical jacket and is able to enter the mind of Megan, a rebellious high school synchronized swimming mean girl who awoke out of a drug-induced coma. While struggling to understand human nature and why nearly all of her peers fear and loathe her, the newly minted Loma Shade thinks highly philosophical cosmic thoughts and manages to keep human angst at bay.
    more
  • Laura
    July 18, 2017
    I have zero familiarity with the original series, but this was a fun take on the idea of the fantastic/supernatural as a metaphor for high school alienation. Marley Zarcone's art is a great combination of simple, appealing characters and over-the-top psychedelic madness. The colorists do an amazing job as well. My one caveat is the same issue I always have with these kinds of stories: why would an alien keep going to high school instead of running away to do whatever tf she wants to on earth?
    more
  • Mckinlay
    July 11, 2017
    *i received a copy of this book from netgalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review*I don't have much to say about this, I didn't really care for it. Didn't really understand what was going on. I think I read that this is actually continuing a previous Shade comic, which I didn't know going in. I don't really have the desire to look the original up and read it though. Not for me.
    more
  • Jaclyn
    July 23, 2017
    - beautiful artwork!- story started off really confusing. Wasn't till almost the end that I think I got what was going on.- shaky morality, like Megan was a bitch and brain dead but did she really deserve to have an alien take over her life?- at its core, a rather trippy take on a mean girl story and how it feels to have the tables turned and know how despised you are.- that poor alien friend back on Loma's home planet. Wonder how that'll turn out.
    more
  • Nathaniel Darkish
    June 19, 2017
    This has been, by far, the best Young Animals book I've picked up. I was unfamiliar with Shade (though I've learned from other reviews that Shade was already an existing character, though in a different context) and came in with no expectations, but really enjoyed the interesting characters and story. It's really interesting to see what it like to inherit the life of somebody who is hated for being a bully.I had a lot of fun with this and definitely recommend picking it up.
    more
  • Jesse Hill
    June 19, 2017
    A great continuation of the "Shade, the Changing Man" mythos that takes from Steve Ditko's original run and Peter Milligan's Vertigo run and adds a dash of contemporary teen drama. The result is an endearing character who exalts in the new world she's discovered while maintaining her integral weirdness.
    more
Write a review