Batman Beyond, Volume 1
A part of DC Universe: Rebirth!Terry McGinnis takes on the Batman cowl amidst rumors that the original Joker has returned. An entire section of Gotham City has decended into the Jokerz' hands, creating a community of clown-worshipping crazies called Jokerztown! Rising from the chaos, Terminal unifies the gang of Jokerz and he's after the new Batman.Written by Dan Jurgens and illustrated by Bernard Chang, the in-continuity tales of the Dark Knight of the future continue here in Batman Beyond, Volume 1: The Return!Collecting: Batman Beyond 1-5, Rebirth

Batman Beyond, Volume 1 Details

TitleBatman Beyond, Volume 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN1401271030
ISBN-139781401271039
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreSuperheroes, Dc Comics, Sequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Comic Book, Batman

Batman Beyond, Volume 1 Review

  • Sam Quixote
    May 30, 2017
    I’m giving Rebirth every chance here. Dan Jurgens has always been a shit writer, Batman Beyond is always a shit title, but maybe - just maybe - the Rebirth version of Dan Jurgens’ Batman Beyond will be good…? Nah. Terry McGinnis - the OG Batman Beyond - is back from the dead. When did he die? How did he return from the dead? Who was Batman Beyond while he was gone? Not only aren’t they answered but the fact that these questions are asked in this first volume negates the claim on the back cover t I’m giving Rebirth every chance here. Dan Jurgens has always been a shit writer, Batman Beyond is always a shit title, but maybe - just maybe - the Rebirth version of Dan Jurgens’ Batman Beyond will be good…? Nah. Terry McGinnis - the OG Batman Beyond - is back from the dead. When did he die? How did he return from the dead? Who was Batman Beyond while he was gone? Not only aren’t they answered but the fact that these questions are asked in this first volume negates the claim on the back cover that this is a “great new jumping-on-point”! Future’s End, a big DC event story from a couple years ago set in the Batman Beyond-verse, is also a key reference in the story. This is for seasoned BB readers only; though, to be fair, a rushed retelling of Terry’s origin is included at the start so there’s a half-assed attempt at being accessible for new readers.The Jokerz gang have taken over a patch of Gotham and their leader, Terminal, is trying to bring Joker back from the dead. Terry, himself recently returned from the grave, dons that snazzy outfit once again to fight Jokerz, once again. And at no point is it ever interesting to read. It’s a cliched superhero v supervillain story with weak and forgettable supporting characters and few standout scenes. Terry’s girlfriend Dana Tan is taken hostage for no reason - she’s literally there for the villain to spout exposition at. Bernard Chang’s art is ok, the twist at the end isn’t bad and Terry does do something different instead of just being Batman Beyond and punching Jokerz goons for a change. It’s small potatoes though compared to the vast tedium that is the rest of the book. Batman Beyond Rebirth is just like every other Batman Beyond book: beyond boring!
    more
  • Chelsea
    June 19, 2017
    ARC review to come!
  • James DeSantis
    April 26, 2017
    I had fun with this. It wasn't amazing or even great, but it was solid enough for me to have a good time with it. I grew up with Batman Beyond. I respect the 90's Batman Cartoon but it wasn't my thing. I loved Batman Beyond and even the cheese that came with it. Saying that I never read a comic of his. I always felt like it would tarnish the image of Terry so I never tried. I just didn't think it was worth my time. Till Rebirth announced they'd be doing a series. I jumped on to try it out. Glad I had fun with this. It wasn't amazing or even great, but it was solid enough for me to have a good time with it. I grew up with Batman Beyond. I respect the 90's Batman Cartoon but it wasn't my thing. I loved Batman Beyond and even the cheese that came with it. Saying that I never read a comic of his. I always felt like it would tarnish the image of Terry so I never tried. I just didn't think it was worth my time. Till Rebirth announced they'd be doing a series. I jumped on to try it out. Glad I did because this was pretty fun. Watching Terry and his brother work together to take down the Jokerz or whatever the hell they are is both fun and badass at points. Sure it's simply by the numbers superhero writing but sometimes that's all I need to have a fun read. I liked Max and Terry's relationship. Even more so I like Bruce and Terry. The feels at the end of this volume made me smile. Sure you could see it coming from a mile away but it's good. I also could see the very ending coming but hey, who didn't? I hope this series can builds. This feels very "First volume/arc kickoff" and it'll get better from here. I can only hope. I say give this one a chance!
    more
  • Marco
    June 13, 2017
    Terry McGinnis is the new, sleeker superhero in "Batman Beyond: Escaping the Grave" as he battles an old foe and faces his past in the graphic novel that follows the animated television series.Taking place several decades in the future, "Neo-Gotham" is craving a hero. The city has a neighborhood that's been taken over by "The Jokerz", a group of criminals or wanna-be-criminals who follow the legacy of The Joker, but rather than chaos this new group is just out to make illegal activity a way of l Terry McGinnis is the new, sleeker superhero in "Batman Beyond: Escaping the Grave" as he battles an old foe and faces his past in the graphic novel that follows the animated television series.Taking place several decades in the future, "Neo-Gotham" is craving a hero. The city has a neighborhood that's been taken over by "The Jokerz", a group of criminals or wanna-be-criminals who follow the legacy of The Joker, but rather than chaos this new group is just out to make illegal activity a way of life.Terry recounts how he met Bruce Wayne after battling The Jokerz and after finding his family as fallen victims, he asks Bruce Wayne to help him find vengeance after discovering Wayne is also Batman. He reluctantly agrees and Terry becomes trained in the ways of Batman. In this apocalyptic future, it's up to Terry to become the new hero and help former flame Dana Tan, now a social worker who thinks he's dead, escape Carter Wilson, now known as the villain "Terminal", who has a shocking secret that changes everything.This volume is an excellent start to this Batman story and is just as gritty and dark as we've come to expect from the Batman series now. One of the DC Rebirth series entries that actually pays homage to the past of this history while creating a new one.Fan favorites are here in new forms and when you get to the ending, you just might be in for one big shock that will make the next installments of this series "must-reads".A true successor to the Batman franchise with a new, sleek Batman that has all the same issues and complexes but new twists and turns. Plenty of action that's sure to keep readers entertained until the last gasp-inducing panel.
    more
  • ☘Tara Sheehan☘
    July 2, 2017
    My Batman Beyond experience has been pretty much relegated to the tv series I watched growing up so sadly I don’t have much knowledge of the print world as this is my first venture into the land of BB graphic novels. I still enjoyed the storylines and feel the author did a fairly decent job of providing enough information to newbies so you don’t get frustrated and just toss this aside. However, I still think you need some kind of exposure to this series of DC’s creation because the origin story My Batman Beyond experience has been pretty much relegated to the tv series I watched growing up so sadly I don’t have much knowledge of the print world as this is my first venture into the land of BB graphic novels. I still enjoyed the storylines and feel the author did a fairly decent job of providing enough information to newbies so you don’t get frustrated and just toss this aside. However, I still think you need some kind of exposure to this series of DC’s creation because the origin story for this Batman incarnation is a bit rushed; you don’t get a huge sense of who Terry McGinnis is and how he’s our new hero the way other stories have done with their first volumes.Jurgens did a fairly good job in his character development, creating a few scenes that you’ll walk away remembering for a while and adding some pretty fun twists & turns into his plot. Granted there are some clichés but it’s a Superhero versus Comic Villain story so that’s to be expected and he does end the volume with a pretty good twist that should have you looking forward to the second volume.I liked Chang’s artwork as it felt fitting for the story and this particular line in DC’s Rebirth series.Overall I felt it was a good way to pass the time, it gave me some decent laughs and felt like a solid read.
    more
  • Nathaniel Darkish
    May 23, 2017
    This was a lot of fun, even though my Batman Beyond knowledge is fairly limited as I've never read the comics and have only watched snippets of the TV series. The story was exciting, it did a good job of explaining stuff to new members of the audience who picked it up because it is a volume 1. There were fun twists and turns and the characters felt very fleshed-out. I said "awesome," out loud several times. I really look forward to picking up more!
    more
  • Beelzefuzz
    June 14, 2017
    I was not ready to enjoy this, but it pulled me in and was very interesting and fun.
  • GONZA
    May 24, 2017
    REVIEW TO COME!
  • Krys
    May 27, 2017
    Review to come.
  • John H
    June 29, 2017
    Yep. Evil.
Write a review