New Super-Man, Volume 1 (New Super-man Rebirth, #1)
#1 New York Times best-selling author and National Book Award nominee Gene Luen Yang continues his work at DC with New Super-Man, Volume 1, a part of DC Universe: Rebirth!An impulsive act of heroism thrusts an arrogant young man into the limelight of Shanghai as China begins to form its own Justice League of powerful heroes. As the government creates their own Superman, will they live to regret the person they've chosen? Rising from the ashes of Superman: The Final Days of Superman and the death of the Man of Steel, will this New Super-Man step up to the challenge, or be crushed under the weight of his hubris and inexperience? Award-winning writer Gene Luen Yang (American Born Chinese, Superman) and on-the-rise art star Viktor Bogdanovic (Batman: Arkham Knight) introduce readers to Kong Kenan, an all-new superhero who could change the world...or be the end of it, in New Super-Man, Volume 1.Collecting: New Super-Man 1-6

New Super-Man, Volume 1 (New Super-man Rebirth, #1) Details

TitleNew Super-Man, Volume 1 (New Super-man Rebirth, #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN140127093X
ISBN-139781401270933
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Superheroes, Dc Comics

New Super-Man, Volume 1 (New Super-man Rebirth, #1) Review

  • Sam Quixote
    May 29, 2017
    This Chinese Superman book was one of the few Rebirth titles that genuinely intrigued me, not least because it featured the only original new character in the entire line - I know that’s deliberate though, that Rebirth is about bringing back classic characters/timelines, etc. So it’s disappointing that New Super-Man follows the Rebirth trend of being unreadable drek. Kong Kenan is a bully who throws a drinks can at the first of many shitty Chinese villains he happens across. This one incident so This Chinese Superman book was one of the few Rebirth titles that genuinely intrigued me, not least because it featured the only original new character in the entire line - I know that’s deliberate though, that Rebirth is about bringing back classic characters/timelines, etc. So it’s disappointing that New Super-Man follows the Rebirth trend of being unreadable drek. Kong Kenan is a bully who throws a drinks can at the first of many shitty Chinese villains he happens across. This one incident somehow singles him out to be the perfect test subject to become the Chinese Super-Man who is made in a Captain America-esque machine. That might be the worst origin story I’ve ever heard. The story? Well, what are all shit superhero comics about? A baddie wants to drink everyone’s milkshakes so the goodie sets out to stop them. Yeah, it’s that archetypical and unimaginative. And speaking of unimaginative, there’s a Chinese Bat-Man (who’s fat for no reason) and a Chinese Wonder-Woman who make up the Justice League of China, as well as a Chinese Lois Lane, a Chinese Starro, and a Chinese Amanda Waller. Aside from it being set in China and featuring Chinese people this is your run-of-the-mill superhero comic - Gene Luen Yang is doing nothing original nor making a convincing case for why there should be Chinese superhero comics. It’s certainly not entertaining to read! But the non-blatantly derivative characters are even worse. The villain of the book is called Human Firecracker with a henchman called Folding Paper Man. At least I think they were on the same side - there are way too many groups rolling around this wreck! I get that the Justice League of China are the heroes, but how about the Ministry of Self-Reliance or the Great Ten or the Freedom Fighters of China? I think the first two are “good” even though they fight the JLC - that’s superhero comics for you - but I’m not sure. Gene Luen Yang overstuffs the book with far too many characters to make a coherent story. Yang’s other Superman books have been mediocre at best but I hoped, given how his other Chinese-centric comics are so good, that his Chinese Super-Man would be good too - and it really wasn’t. Chinese knockoffs are usually inferior to the original but it’s about the same quality as the rest of the current Superman line these days: utter dogshit. Awful, boring stuff - don’t do it!
    more
  • Chelsea
    June 17, 2017
    ** received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review **4.5 starsI really enjoyed this!This is such an interesting take on Superman!Kong Kenan is not your typical Clark Kent type because he’s kind of an ass. He starts this book bullying one of his classmates. Of course, we find out later that there’s a little more to why he singled out that classmate in particular but he’s not a nice guy. He’s arrogant, he doesn’t seem to listen to anyone and he’s rude. Yet, when Lixin, the kid he’s bullyi ** received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review **4.5 starsI really enjoyed this!This is such an interesting take on Superman!Kong Kenan is not your typical Clark Kent type because he’s kind of an ass. He starts this book bullying one of his classmates. Of course, we find out later that there’s a little more to why he singled out that classmate in particular but he’s not a nice guy. He’s arrogant, he doesn’t seem to listen to anyone and he’s rude. Yet, when Lixin, the kid he’s bullying, is in real danger, Kenan comes to his aid for reasons he’s unsure of. It’s this incident that leads to Kenan receiving an invitation to become a real superhero.Now, I’m not against characters who start out as arrogant and become better people. I adore Tony Stark and that’s basically his life story. I will say, while Kenan doesn’t have a tone of humbling experiences in this book, I never found him obnoxious. I quite enjoyed his narrative and I laughed several times. Gene Leun Yang has excellent comedic timing. I like the moments where Kenan realizes he has to fight for something bigger than himself and I like that his mother had a lot to do with that. The scene where Kenan sees himself in the little girl Wonder-Woman saved was really moving. The Justice League of China is a really interesting concept. Although, I wasn’t quite sure if they have the exact same powers as the JLA or if the experimentation made them slightly different. After Superwoman Rebirth, I thought perhaps they might have slightly different abilities but we don’t get a lot on that in this book. I’m still not sure if Wonder-Woman’s lasso makes people tell the truth or not? Anyway, I really liked her character and Bat-Man. I enjoyed Bat-Man’s chemistry with Kenan. It’s a little different from Supes and Batsy but entertaining all the same. A large part of Kenan’s motivation comes from his poor relationship with his father. After his mother died, they’ve been rather distant with each other and later issues int his book reveal why. The explanation fits and it provides the catalyst for Kenan, Wonder-Woman and Bat-Man breaking away to form their own trinity. The plot was rather interesting. I was actually surprised at a few of the reveals. I could have done without the fat-shaming, to be honest. I really enjoyed the art and, as I said earlier, I greatly enjoyed the characters. Definitely a recommend from me!Check out this review and others on my new blog!
    more
  • James DeSantis
    January 5, 2017
    This is def one of my fave DC Rebirth titles. Okay so what did I like about it? Let's hit the positives. The main character is great. He's funny, charming, good (somewhat) and a nice contrast between this Super-man and our Superman. The chemistry between the main trio (the justice league of china, it's amazing, go with it) is near perfect. Especially by the end you feel these guys are friends, and it's a nice way of building through issue 1-6. The twist at the end is actually something that caug This is def one of my fave DC Rebirth titles. Okay so what did I like about it? Let's hit the positives. The main character is great. He's funny, charming, good (somewhat) and a nice contrast between this Super-man and our Superman. The chemistry between the main trio (the justice league of china, it's amazing, go with it) is near perfect. Especially by the end you feel these guys are friends, and it's a nice way of building through issue 1-6. The twist at the end is actually something that caught me off guard. I thought it would go safe but it actually went a little crazy and I kind of love it. Solid art too, though sometimes little off. My only negative is it feels safe at times. But it's really a story touching on new themes and talking about copying and based on China and their lifestyle. So for that i found it interesting throughout. Check out New Super-man if want something a bit refreshing. Picking up volume 2 once it's out. In a year...Please don't get canceled.
    more
  • Deepika
    June 24, 2017
    This was better towards the end RTC
  • Sesana
    January 9, 2017
    The worst Rebirth comic that I've read so far. Which is a damn shame, because the premise intrigued me. Superman as a character is very much a product of where and when he landed, and I love the idea of exploring what he would be like if he'd grown up somewhere else. See Superman: Red Son for an excellent take on that very concept. So I was really into the idea of a modern Chinese version of Superman, who couldn't help but be different from middle American Superman. Instead, I get a blandly unli The worst Rebirth comic that I've read so far. Which is a damn shame, because the premise intrigued me. Superman as a character is very much a product of where and when he landed, and I love the idea of exploring what he would be like if he'd grown up somewhere else. See Superman: Red Son for an excellent take on that very concept. So I was really into the idea of a modern Chinese version of Superman, who couldn't help but be different from middle American Superman. Instead, I get a blandly unlikable dumb bully for a main character, surrounded by a cast of characters who range from bearable to awful. It would be possible for an incredible story, stellar characterization, and killer art to save a comic that's filled with characters I dislike. This book has none of that.
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    June 28, 2017
    Totally awesome! A whole new super-character with a whole new origin story. Gene Luen Yang is one of my favourite graphic novelists and though his run on the original Superman disappointed me, this new Super-Man of China totally rocks. A fantastic backstory with government and dissident organizations working behind the scenes and members of three new teams whose classification as superheroes or villains is blurry until the end. A spectacular job of introducing an army of new characters but espec Totally awesome! A whole new super-character with a whole new origin story. Gene Luen Yang is one of my favourite graphic novelists and though his run on the original Superman disappointed me, this new Super-Man of China totally rocks. A fantastic backstory with government and dissident organizations working behind the scenes and members of three new teams whose classification as superheroes or villains is blurry until the end. A spectacular job of introducing an army of new characters but especially Super-Man, Bat-Man and Wonder Woman of China. Great plot with lots of action and a shock ending make for an engrossing read. Both DC fans and Yang fans alike will want to get in on this new series.
    more
  • Steve
    June 30, 2017
    I received this from Edelweiss and DC Comics in exchange for an honest review. Very corny, and I'm not sure of the "why" of the plot. Just weird, overall, and not in a good way.
  • Gully
    May 21, 2017
    The premise of this was intriguing, but sadly it did not live up to my expectations. I was excited to read this, since it is a series dedicated to a new and foreign hero with Superman’s powers. However, I was disappointed from the very beginning: the hero, Kenan Kong, was a bully with very little redeeming qualities. They tried to explain why he was a bully much later, but not convincingly. I don’t think this sends out a great message to younger readers either, seeing as a bully receives the gif The premise of this was intriguing, but sadly it did not live up to my expectations. I was excited to read this, since it is a series dedicated to a new and foreign hero with Superman’s powers. However, I was disappointed from the very beginning: the hero, Kenan Kong, was a bully with very little redeeming qualities. They tried to explain why he was a bully much later, but not convincingly. I don’t think this sends out a great message to younger readers either, seeing as a bully receives the gift of superpowers.The heroes that Kenan works alongside are Justice League ripoffs: Wonder Woman and a needlessly chubby Batman. I was really hoping that they would introduce new characters with exciting powers and characteristics, but this was not the case. The villains were even worse… There were moments when I enjoyed reading this, as it was a coming-of-age story and posed interesting questions about communism and oppression, hence the two stars.
    more
  • Samantha
    June 27, 2017
    Yo. This is one of the best titles in Rebirth. I don't care what anybody says, ITS ONE OF THE BEST. Gene's writing in this was so funny, vibrant, and realistic. Kenan felt like a child, he acted exactly how you would expect a teenager to act if he were given superpowers and it was great. This trade is lighthearted and fun, has action, and heart. Kenan is far from being Clark Kent, and that's what makes him such a great character. Honestly he's more Tony Stark than he is Clark Kent. He has Clark' Yo. This is one of the best titles in Rebirth. I don't care what anybody says, ITS ONE OF THE BEST. Gene's writing in this was so funny, vibrant, and realistic. Kenan felt like a child, he acted exactly how you would expect a teenager to act if he were given superpowers and it was great. This trade is lighthearted and fun, has action, and heart. Kenan is far from being Clark Kent, and that's what makes him such a great character. Honestly he's more Tony Stark than he is Clark Kent. He has Clark's powers, but he isn't Clark at all. What Kenan is, is a little shithead. I say that with love because by the end of the trade he has grown. He's still a little brat, but if he weren't he wouldn't be Kenan and then this trade would suck. The kid we are introduced to in the beginning is, different than the kid we see at the end. He's been knocked down and so he doesn't shine as bright, but the growth is noticeable. This a new run with a new character so there isn't much I can say without spoiling the whole trade but here are a few things you will find in this trade: great characters, an unlikely team, broken family ties, lots of sarcasm, and teasing, a magic lasso, Chinese politics, and a plot twist that I saw coming a mile way, and a plot twist at the end that shocked the hell out of me.
    more
  • Charles
    June 23, 2017
    This was really a tough one to review.Within the first few pages, it’s pretty obvious that Kenan, our protagonist, is a straight up jerk. I accepted that and continued hoping for the turn to occur sooner rather than later. Unfortunately, his redemption came really late in the game, which means the reader is subjected to a longer-than-necessary arc of him delivering corny lines, insults, being a jack ass, arrogant, hitting on anything that’s female with two legs, and charging headlong into troubl This was really a tough one to review.Within the first few pages, it’s pretty obvious that Kenan, our protagonist, is a straight up jerk. I accepted that and continued hoping for the turn to occur sooner rather than later. Unfortunately, his redemption came really late in the game, which means the reader is subjected to a longer-than-necessary arc of him delivering corny lines, insults, being a jack ass, arrogant, hitting on anything that’s female with two legs, and charging headlong into trouble.When I first heard about the title, I was interested in checking it out, but decided to wait for a collected edition. Considering it takes such a long time in the story for him to sort of redeem himself, I’m glad I didn’t pick this up in single issues. A few times, it’s remarked that Kenan is the new Super-Man as he has the heart of a hero. I think you really need to search for that aspect to shine through.Also, I’ll just come out and say that I’m Caucasian, but at times wondered if some of the character names and their alter egos were trying to be clever, or just downright racist. “Human Firecracker”? Seriously, is that supposed to be clever or just way too on the nose for a costumed hero/villain out of China?Another sticking point is about just bad, lazy writing. In several issues, the term “fifty center” is tossed around. Ok, that’s well and good, but when you decided to define that for the readers only in the fifth issue, well that just stinks.For me, the best parts were far into the arc, with the turn involving Kenan’s father. That for me redeemed this whole story, but (for obvious reasons) isn’t enough to keep me interested in continuing with the title.I salute DC for trying something new, but in the end it just wasn’t enough and offered some peculiar moments at times that made me cringe.
    more
  • Primo S.
    March 27, 2017
    A really great series so far, the main character is funny and charming, he's very different than the Superman we're familiar with, while the side characters (Wonder Woman of China and Bat-man of China) are not as developed, I think we'll get more of them in the later arcs so I'm fine with that. The plot itself has some twists but it's nothing spectacular, so is the art.
    more
  • Kevin Smythe
    December 23, 2016
    Started off feeling like it was just going to be a rebrand of an existing hero (or heroes); ended as something very unique with great characters and emotional moments. Glad I stuck through this, even though I wasn't sure at first.
  • Dan
    December 15, 2016
    Quite possibly my new favorite DC series? I dunno... maybe. It was definitely interesting and amusing, though. I will absolutely keep reading this one.
  • Rick Hunter
    June 28, 2017
    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I'm normally very skeptical of new characters that are based off of existing popular character. Superman is one of the oldest heroes in the world of comics. For someone to create a "new" character that was based off of him and his powers, and make it enjoyable for me, it's like the writer has a superpower of his own. Gene Luen Yang has created a new character, whose real name is Kong Kenan, that is extremely likable. At the beginning of the book, Kong Ken I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I'm normally very skeptical of new characters that are based off of existing popular character. Superman is one of the oldest heroes in the world of comics. For someone to create a "new" character that was based off of him and his powers, and make it enjoyable for me, it's like the writer has a superpower of his own. Gene Luen Yang has created a new character, whose real name is Kong Kenan, that is extremely likable. At the beginning of the book, Kong Kenan is a high school bully that is picking on a fellow classmate and trying to steal his lunch. As the classmate runs away, a Chinese supervillain grabs ahold of him and tries to abduct him. Kong Kenan sees this and pelts the villain in the head with a can of soda. For some reason the villain flies off without fighting back.A cute, young, female news reporter named Laney Lan (yep, still doing the double "L" thing when it comes to characters in a book about Superman) is on scene and captures the event on her cell phone. She interviews Kong Kenan right afterwards. The interview and footage of him rescuing his classmate go viral. The classmate gives the hero all his money. Kong Kenan uses the money to travel to his dad's auto shop where he expects his father to congratulate him for being a hero. Dad doesn't have time for that nonsense and sends the son home. Dad and his friends are trying to expose a secret government agency that Kong Kenan's dad blames for his wife's death years ago. Because the talk with dad was so fun, Kong Kenan goes to visit his mother's grave as he thinks about how terrible his life is. There he's approached by a woman named Dr. Omen, who works for the agency his dad is trying to out. She tells him that she can give him superpowers so that he can be the superhero she already believes him to be because of his actions earlier in the day.Dr. Omen takes him back to the headquarters of the Ministry of Self-Reliance where Kong Kenan is placed inside a device which imbues him with the powers of Superman. After emerging from the machine, this new Superman meets his new teammates the Bat-man and Wonder-Woman of China. Together, the 3 form the Justice League of China. It doesn't take them long to capture their first supervillain. When they take the villain in, New Super-man gets his first look at the underwater jail facility that houses all of China's superpowered bad guys. From there, the story starts getting a bit more complex as more villains emerge and the newly formed threesome start getting a glimpse at the larger picture of what is really going on. Is the Ministry of Self-Reliance as bad as Kong Kenan's father seems to think? If so, why did they power up his son to be a new hero for the country? As the story winds its way towards conclusion, Gene Luen Yang writes some nice dialogue that really makes you question what is going on and helps each of the main characters become more relatable to each other and the reader. The writing gets 4 stars. Victor Bogdanovic is the artist for the entire book. I've thought for a while now that he deserved to be a full time artist on a good series. I'm really glad to see him get the call here. His artwork really adds to the overall quality of the book. All of the characters look great, but the Wonder-Woman of China is my favorite. Kong Kenan's dad is a close second. With this title not realeasing every 2 weeks like some of the Rebirth titles are, Bogdanovic's art doesn't have the fluctuations in quality that some some of the other books have suffered from. This one looks great from cover to cover. The art gets 5 stars. This title wasn't even showing up on my radar when I first heard about DC's Rebirth line. I never planned on reading this at all. I found this book listed on Netgalley.com and decided to give it a shot since it was free to read in exchange for an honest review. Man, am I glad that I did decide to give this a chance. In the course of one volume, this series went from being one that I outright dismissed to being one of the books I'll anxious await each volume being published. If you like superhero comics and are looking for a new title to read, this is it. Overall rating is 4.5 stars.
    more
  • Britt
    June 14, 2017
    2.5 starsKong Kenan is a bully, who doesn’t mind to use his strength on smaller kids. When the kid Kenan is bullying gets attacked by BLUE CONDOR he heroically stupidly throws his freshly stolen soda can at one of China’s infamous supervillains. This action leads to media attention but also the attention of Dr Omen, who presents Kenan an opportunity to give him the powers to match his heroic heart. And so the origin story of the NEW SUPER-MAN begins.My previous encounters with Gene Luen Yang’s w 2.5 starsKong Kenan is a bully, who doesn’t mind to use his strength on smaller kids. When the kid Kenan is bullying gets attacked by BLUE CONDOR he heroically stupidly throws his freshly stolen soda can at one of China’s infamous supervillains. This action leads to media attention but also the attention of Dr Omen, who presents Kenan an opportunity to give him the powers to match his heroic heart. And so the origin story of the NEW SUPER-MAN begins.My previous encounters with Gene Luen Yang’s work were in the AVATAR THE LAST AIRBENDER comics. Since I am a huge fan of ATLA, I enjoyed those comics mostly because of nostalgia. Although I do have some problems with those comics, I do not mind them as much because I love the characters and the world of Avatar so much.I always am a big supporter of diverse characters and stories. Thus, the combination of Yang as the writer and a Chinese Super-Man had intrigued me. It was the reason why I requested the NETGALLEY. However, after having read the first volume, I feel a bit disappointed. Although I do see a big possibility for a lot of character growth and I hope that is the way in which Kenan is headed.From this point on there will be SPOILERS for the first volume of NEW SUPER-MAN VOLUME 1: MADE IN CHINA.(view spoiler)[First of all, I feel like it might not have been to try to copy paste the Justice League idea to China. I will have to mention that the only superhero comics I have read before were Kamala Khan’s Ms Marvel volumes 1-4 and the Young Justice TV show tie-ins. I understand that it is probably hard to come up with ideas for new (diverse) superheroes but in this volume, Kenan is trying to be someone who he isn’t. However, I do feel like it could be so much better if new, authentic Chinese superheroes were created who would teach the readers about Chinese culture along the way ala Rick Riordan. However, on first sight, I really thought that Wonder Woman and Bat-Man looked very cool. I just think it is too bad they are just copies. I would love to see Chinese superheroes with their own backstories and lore.That brings me to my second problem: Kenan’s personality. He is very cocky and arrogant with daddy issues which reminded me a lot of the Marvel Cinematic Universe’s Tony Stark. Especially, when Kenan revealed his secret identity. I do know there was a small character arc in Kenan realising how stupid it was to reveal his identity, I did not feel that he had learned a lot. Since this is only the first volume, I am okay with this because if he would have learned all the values Super-Man and JLA stood for that would have been a very rushed story. The first plot twist, I saw that one coming from miles away. However, the other one I did not. So I was pleasantly surprised with that. Furthermore, I feel like there were some “origin stories clichés” like the father who is dying but he has time to say his last words.“Okay” is also my overall feeling about this volume. It didn’t blow me away with new things. I don’t feel a learned a lot about Chinese culture like I would have liked to when I picked this volume up. I am not sure if I would recommend this volume just like it is. Maybe when the second volume is released, maybe it would be nicer to read them back to back and get a more in-depth read. However, since the second volume won’t be out for a while, I would say pick up another volume and wait until the next volume is out to get a more (hopefully) complete story. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Marco
    June 13, 2017
    "New Super-Man: Made in China" is a new take on the Justice League, this time in China with their own versions of Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman.All of your favorites are here. This is not an alternate timeline however as references and panels show the American Justice League.In this graphic novel, Kong Kenan becomes the new Super-Man after saving frenemy Luo Lixin from the Blue Condor. Dr. Omen of The Ministry of Self-Reliance, a shady organization, takes notice and agrees to give Kenan the "New Super-Man: Made in China" is a new take on the Justice League, this time in China with their own versions of Superman, Batman, and Wonder Woman.All of your favorites are here. This is not an alternate timeline however as references and panels show the American Justice League.In this graphic novel, Kong Kenan becomes the new Super-Man after saving frenemy Luo Lixin from the Blue Condor. Dr. Omen of The Ministry of Self-Reliance, a shady organization, takes notice and agrees to give Kenan the now deceased American Superman's powers they've replicated in a lab. He takes to the new role quickly and maybe too quickly as on his first assignment he's quick to label himself the leader of the group he's named "The Justice League of China" to reporter Laney Lan (a.k.a. Lois Lane).This exposes his identity to the world while also putting his father at risk. Kenan's father also happens to be investigating the group his son now works for as the new Super-Man and is convinced they are hiding something. After already setting up a distant relationship early in the graphic novel, this new role for Kenan further distances father and son.After a rough origin story, the revelations come fast and quickly near the end of this volume and the stakes suddenly become clearer as battles start between good and evil. We'll have to wonder at who's telling the truth and whether Kenan can really handle having Superman's powers.This is an interesting take on the DC Super-Man series and has a new kind of Superman fans might not take to right away. Kenan as Super-Man is spoiled, sarcastic, and judgemental with a more flippant attitude than I expected, however he's also young and therefore a little more impulsive than we might be used to from other versions of Superman. The beginning of this series is off to a solid start and has a whole new world to explore that's a little limited now but may grow with future installments.
    more
  • Wayne McCoy
    June 29, 2017
    'New Super-Man, Volume 1: Made in China' by Gene Luen Yang is a different take on superheroes, this time from China. I liked the perspective it took, but I didn't love it.Kenan Kong is kind of a jerk. He bullies a rich kid for lunch money because the kid's parents own an airline that Kenan's mom was killed on. When Kenan makes a heroic act (against his own nature), he gets selected for a superhero program and his life changes. He joins two other young people who will make up a new Justice League 'New Super-Man, Volume 1: Made in China' by Gene Luen Yang is a different take on superheroes, this time from China. I liked the perspective it took, but I didn't love it.Kenan Kong is kind of a jerk. He bullies a rich kid for lunch money because the kid's parents own an airline that Kenan's mom was killed on. When Kenan makes a heroic act (against his own nature), he gets selected for a superhero program and his life changes. He joins two other young people who will make up a new Justice League for the nation of China. The two other heroes are takes on Wonder Woman and Batman. Kenan finds his powers come and go, and he needs to figure out how to make them work. Additionally, he finds himself at odds with his father. Can Kenan learn to be a hero, mend his relationship with his father, and figure out who is behind this new superhero initiative?Kenan is a pretty unlikable character at the beginning of the story, and he stays that way for quite a while. He is arrogant and a bully. By the end of the story, things have happened to help move him towards being a hero, but it takes quite a few chapters before I liked this character much. I really liked the Wonder Woman and Batman characters and I hope they have more to do in the future. This is a very different take on DC superheroes and I liked the cultural shift in perspective that it takes.I received a review copy of this graphic novel from DC Entertainment and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for allowing me to review this graphic novel.
    more
  • Adam Fisher
    June 23, 2017
    Even after dwelling on it a bit, I'm still not sure I know exactly how to feel about this new title.The premise: a jokester and bully, Kong Kenan, is grabbed by an underground government organization and subjected to testing (almost like the Captain America Super Soldier serum) and is turned into Super-Man. He joins up with the (still secret) Justice League of China, which is part of the Ministry of Self-Reliance, meeting Bat-Man and Wonder-Woman. Together they fight against the Freedom Fighters Even after dwelling on it a bit, I'm still not sure I know exactly how to feel about this new title.The premise: a jokester and bully, Kong Kenan, is grabbed by an underground government organization and subjected to testing (almost like the Captain America Super Soldier serum) and is turned into Super-Man. He joins up with the (still secret) Justice League of China, which is part of the Ministry of Self-Reliance, meeting Bat-Man and Wonder-Woman. Together they fight against the Freedom Fighters of China, a rogue terrorist group, which Kenan's dad is a part of. The FFofC are using a version of Starro to control peoples minds. Can Super-Man align his Qi to that of Superman so that he can reliably use his super powers?I almost feel like this is a way for Gene Luen Yang to stretch his Chinese roots and culture on a new story that will have a similar feel to his excellent run on Superman near the end of the New 52 lifespan. How it comes off (at least for me) is a subpar un-funny jokey action book about the Justice League, spun in the (very funny and excellent) humor of Yang's "American Born Chinese". Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman already protect the entire globe. Why the (pardon my phrasing here) Chinese knock-offs? They could be called something that didn't sound like their namesakes and it would already be a better book. I really am just confused about the author's choice of naming here.Not horrible, but not great. Not sure if I will continue.
    more
  • Kate
    June 8, 2017
    Kenan Kong is no one’s idea of a hero. In fact, he might be better characterized as a bully. One day before school, Kenan chases one of his classmates down a deserted alley to “encourage” him to give up his lunch to Kenan. Their “conversation” is interrupted by Blue Condor, a villan that has been tormenting Shanghai. Kenan, in an act of defiance more than one of heroism, throws a soda can at the villain. This act is caught on camera by some onlookers, and before he knows it, Kenan is being inter Kenan Kong is no one’s idea of a hero. In fact, he might be better characterized as a bully. One day before school, Kenan chases one of his classmates down a deserted alley to “encourage” him to give up his lunch to Kenan. Their “conversation” is interrupted by Blue Condor, a villan that has been tormenting Shanghai. Kenan, in an act of defiance more than one of heroism, throws a soda can at the villain. This act is caught on camera by some onlookers, and before he knows it, Kenan is being interviewed by a beautiful newscaster about his hero status. Please with himself, what Kenan doesn’t know is that he has caught the eye of the Ministry of Self-Reliance, a government agency that is making their own Chinese super heroes. They imbue Kenan with superman’s powers using some fancy technology, and adopt him into their own justice league with the Batman and Wonder Woman of China.
    more
  • Nathaniel Darkish
    May 22, 2017
    Although I overall enjoy the idea of the Chinese government using science to make their own Superman, I felt like there were a lot of holes in this story. The reasoning for selecting the protagonist to be this Superman felt really weak to me, and I would have liked the Chinese Justice League to have been more distinctly Chinese instead of essentially just being knock-offs of the American League's main players. There was a lot of interesting aspects to the story that make me interested to see wha Although I overall enjoy the idea of the Chinese government using science to make their own Superman, I felt like there were a lot of holes in this story. The reasoning for selecting the protagonist to be this Superman felt really weak to me, and I would have liked the Chinese Justice League to have been more distinctly Chinese instead of essentially just being knock-offs of the American League's main players. There was a lot of interesting aspects to the story that make me interested to see what happens next, though, and that definitely says a lot about a story.
    more
  • Katie Florida
    June 25, 2017
    So, technically, I've been reading this issue by issue throughout this year (which don't get tracked on here). First, it's Gene Yang. He is so talented at writing that I'm willing to try anything he takes aim at. And this is good.There were some growing pains in a couple of issues, and it didn't compel me as much as some other recent favs, but I am really enjoying a different cultural perspective on superhero mythology: how they get/use their powers, their motivations, etc.The cultural reference So, technically, I've been reading this issue by issue throughout this year (which don't get tracked on here). First, it's Gene Yang. He is so talented at writing that I'm willing to try anything he takes aim at. And this is good.There were some growing pains in a couple of issues, and it didn't compel me as much as some other recent favs, but I am really enjoying a different cultural perspective on superhero mythology: how they get/use their powers, their motivations, etc.The cultural references and nuance make this a unique journey alongside a new superhero.
    more
  • Trey
    June 27, 2017
    A fun start to a new series in which Superman's spiritual successor finds himself on the Justice League of China! Although this is a new setting and a host of new characters for the Superman family, the story still feels very familiar, part Elseworlds tale, part Invincible, part Ultimate Spider-Man, with a little of the New 52 Superboy thrown in for good measure. It's hard for a book that is so clearly beholden to its precursors to feel this fresh, but New Super-Man is a good read.I received a p A fun start to a new series in which Superman's spiritual successor finds himself on the Justice League of China! Although this is a new setting and a host of new characters for the Superman family, the story still feels very familiar, part Elseworlds tale, part Invincible, part Ultimate Spider-Man, with a little of the New 52 Superboy thrown in for good measure. It's hard for a book that is so clearly beholden to its precursors to feel this fresh, but New Super-Man is a good read.I received a preview copy of this book from NetGalley.
    more
  • Kristine
    June 28, 2017
    New Super-Man, Vol. 1: Made in China (Rebirth) by Gene Luen Yang et. al. is a free NetGalley e-comicbook that I read in mid-June.The story of the rather vain and quite boastful Kong Kenan, who's selected to be the New Super-Man by the mysterious Dr. Omen, and his acceptance into the Justice League of China with Bat-Man and Wonder-Woman against the super-villain syndicate, the Chinese Freedom Fighters. The non-traditional uniforms issue bright, gelled blasts of color, along with Kenan's crimson n New Super-Man, Vol. 1: Made in China (Rebirth) by Gene Luen Yang et. al. is a free NetGalley e-comicbook that I read in mid-June.The story of the rather vain and quite boastful Kong Kenan, who's selected to be the New Super-Man by the mysterious Dr. Omen, and his acceptance into the Justice League of China with Bat-Man and Wonder-Woman against the super-villain syndicate, the Chinese Freedom Fighters. The non-traditional uniforms issue bright, gelled blasts of color, along with Kenan's crimson narrative bubbles and innermost thoughts.
    more
  • Κάρολος Φαταζής
    June 8, 2017
    P-E-R-F-E-C-T!
  • Jenna
    May 13, 2017
    Review to come closer to the review date, based off an eARC from Edelweiss.
  • John H
    May 30, 2017
    This was an enjoyable Chinese twist on Superman (along with Batman and Wonder Woman), and the art was nice.
  • Iris Nevers
    January 8, 2017
    Good trade for a new character in the DC Universe
  • Mirabel-chan
    June 18, 2017
    ARC provided by NetGalleyThe New Super-man is a very solid book with some issues.After an act of heroism, Kenan Kong gets chosen to take a part in an experiment to create a government- funded Justice League of China, led by the mysterious and shadowy government agency. The story is interesting and keeps you hooked with its twists and turns, especially those involving Kenan’s father. Although, to be fair, I wasn’t a huge fan of the implications that freedom-fighters fighting for democracy are as ARC provided by NetGalleyThe New Super-man is a very solid book with some issues.After an act of heroism, Kenan Kong gets chosen to take a part in an experiment to create a government- funded Justice League of China, led by the mysterious and shadowy government agency. The story is interesting and keeps you hooked with its twists and turns, especially those involving Kenan’s father. Although, to be fair, I wasn’t a huge fan of the implications that freedom-fighters fighting for democracy are as bad as their oppressors. Read the rest of my review on my blog
    more
  • Emmanuel Nevers
    February 27, 2017
    New Super-Man is just fantastic!! This is the perfect book to give non-comics fans a starting point. The story so far references what's going on in DC but stays to itself for the most part. Extremely well written and made perfect by the bully turned China's Super-man Kong Kenan, this book is a must read!!
    more
  • Martin Králik
    March 1, 2017
    Spociatku celkom humorne, potom vazne a politicke temy. Fajn
Write a review