Teen Titans, Volume 1
As a part of DC Universe: Rebirth, the son of Batman, Damian Wayne, joins the Teen Titans!The Teen Titans are further apart than ever before...until Damian Wayne recruits Starfire, Raven, Beast Boy and the new Kid Flash to join him in a fight against his own grandfather, Ra's al Ghul! But true leadership is more than just calling the shots--is Robin really up to the task? Or will the Teen Titans dismiss this diminutive dictator?The team will have to figure this out fast, as a great evil from Damian's past is lurking around the corner, ready to strike at the team's newest leader and destroy the new Teen Titans before they even begin! The newest era of one of DC's greatest super-teams begins here in Teen Titans, Volume 1: Damian Knows Best! Written by Benjamin Percy (Green Arrow) with spectacular art by newcomer Jonboy Meyers.Collecting: Teen Titans 1-5, Rebirth

Teen Titans, Volume 1 Details

TitleTeen Titans, Volume 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN1401270778
ISBN-139781401270773
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Superheroes, Dc Comics, Graphic Novels Comics

Teen Titans, Volume 1 Review

  • Chris
    June 29, 2017
    So...yeah, the new Teen Titans series has some funny jokes:"Did you just banish him into a hellish dimension?""Close. I teleported him to a McDonald's restroom in Nebraska."It's just as well though, because it also has this weird regression of Damian Wayne's relationship with his father (Bruce has gone from bringing his son back to life by any means necessary, to forgetting his birthday) and a storyline that's as rushed as it is clichéd. Not to mention the startling nosedive the quality of the a So...yeah, the new Teen Titans series has some funny jokes:"Did you just banish him into a hellish dimension?""Close. I teleported him to a McDonald's restroom in Nebraska."It's just as well though, because it also has this weird regression of Damian Wayne's relationship with his father (Bruce has gone from bringing his son back to life by any means necessary, to forgetting his birthday) and a storyline that's as rushed as it is clichéd. Not to mention the startling nosedive the quality of the artwork takes after just three issues.Original artist Jonboy Meyers left the series early on due to either "creative differences" (ugh) or online abuse (double ugh), depending on which source you believe. As a result, colourist Jim Charalampidis struggles to redeem to the ugly efforts of new artist Khoi Pham, rather than enhance the cool, stylised work of Meyers.Perhaps i'd be a bit more forgiving if I were new to comics. Or if Damian wasn't one of my favourite characters and I hadn't spent years investing in his journey. Or if this book didn't reference the events of Robin, Son of Batman while simultaneously forgetting Damian's bond with Maya from that run. Or if this wasn't the second disappointing book i've read by writer Ben Percy (I didn't enjoy his Green Arrow, either). Or if...well, you get the idea.Damian Knows Best was a considerable disappointment for me. But at least there's the funny jokes:"If I ever run fast enough to change history, i'm erasing this moment from the timeline."Same here, Kid Flash. Same here.
    more
  • Sesana
    December 4, 2016
    Not great, which is a shame. I have a serious soft spot for the Teen Titans, but DC hasn't delivered anything great for the team in quite some time. The team has to be built around Damian, because we always need a Robin or former Robin on the team, but the rest? Kid Flash is a decent choice, but isn't Starfire too old to be a Teen Titan anymore? I get the sense that she, Raven, and Beast Boy are only here because they're some of the best known Titans (as Teen Titans, I mean) and not because they Not great, which is a shame. I have a serious soft spot for the Teen Titans, but DC hasn't delivered anything great for the team in quite some time. The team has to be built around Damian, because we always need a Robin or former Robin on the team, but the rest? Kid Flash is a decent choice, but isn't Starfire too old to be a Teen Titan anymore? I get the sense that she, Raven, and Beast Boy are only here because they're some of the best known Titans (as Teen Titans, I mean) and not because they're a good organic fit in their own right. Wouldn't it have made more sense to include actually teenage characters like Blue Beetle? Instead, we have a team of obligatory Titans that doesn't really work. Kid Flash aside, it's like they're all there to babysit Damian. Team choice aside, the story is just ok. The resolution is just a bit too neat and easy, and Damian goes too quickly from outright jerk to self-sacrificing. It also relies on having characters who should be very powerful, highly experienced, and well-trained get bested by a group of teenagers on their first mission. It may have helped if anybody had more than the barest hint of characterization, but that didn't happen. Those teenaged assassins don't even get that much, just a vague description of their powers and and uninspired codename. It's never a good sign when the artist suddenly changes a few issues in. Meyers is only the artist for the first two issues (Rebirth and #1), with two other artists rounding out the issue. I've seen worse, as far as turnover goes. Katana has fifteen artists on ten issues, so three artists on six issues isn't that horrible, I guess. And none of these artists are bad, at all. But Meyers has a little something extra that the other two don't, and I missed that. I've read worse volumes of Teen Titans, but I've read way better, too. I think I'll wait for the next iteration to give it another shot.
    more
  • Gully
    May 15, 2017
    3.5 stars. I enjoyed reading this. The story was simple to follow. Damian was the highlight of the volume, unsurprisingly. His character was depicted really well, insofar as he was portrayed as a complicated, and proud, hero. I also liked the reference to Robert Browning's 'Child Rolande to the Dark Tower Came', which really complimented the narrative. I found the rival team compelling, but at times thought Raven or Starfire could have singlehandedly overpowered them during their encounters! I f 3.5 stars. I enjoyed reading this. The story was simple to follow. Damian was the highlight of the volume, unsurprisingly. His character was depicted really well, insofar as he was portrayed as a complicated, and proud, hero. I also liked the reference to Robert Browning's 'Child Rolande to the Dark Tower Came', which really complimented the narrative. I found the rival team compelling, but at times thought Raven or Starfire could have singlehandedly overpowered them during their encounters! I found Beast Boy's depiction representation peculiar: characters kept referring to him as an annoying, loud mouth, but he did not come across as such (in this volume).
    more
  • Charles
    June 19, 2017
    That was pretty rough.Let me preface that with the fact that I really don’t enjoy Damian Wayne’s character. Now, with it being Rebirth, I’d hoped that maybe there’d be some changes. I was wrong on that point by a country mile. Still as annoying and arrogant as ever. His snicker of “TT” just grated on my every nerve throughout this story. Some of the characters are alright, but pretty hollow. Not much definition to them other than reflecting on the same stories from their past multiple times thro That was pretty rough.Let me preface that with the fact that I really don’t enjoy Damian Wayne’s character. Now, with it being Rebirth, I’d hoped that maybe there’d be some changes. I was wrong on that point by a country mile. Still as annoying and arrogant as ever. His snicker of “TT” just grated on my every nerve throughout this story. Some of the characters are alright, but pretty hollow. Not much definition to them other than reflecting on the same stories from their past multiple times throughout this story. Gar/Beast Boy is still a perv so I guess that’s kind of a nod to the classic Teen Titans of the 80s. Again, this doesn’t end up adding much to the story and further hinders it with brutal quips and attempts at humour that fall flat.Once again, a change in the art team part way through a DC arc feels disorienting to me. They once again go for a slapstick, anime-esque look to the characters which feels wrong. The original art at the beginning was nice with Beast Boy looking a bit more beast than boy, but he then just looks like a green kid with coiffed hair later on.I honestly do not know what the target audience for this book is and maybe that’s the main problem. Is it supposed to be for young adults and adults or kids? It feels like an attempt at a kids movie where they try and slot in some jokes to keep the grown-ups entertained and focused, but for me this proved like quite a task to read.As for the plot, it’s a pendulum in its approach. Jerky Damian surveils and kidnaps the would-be Teen Titans. He acts like a jerk. He keeps a secret from them that is supposed to be a big reveal. Monster-of-the-week rival group shows up. Team sorta bonds. Damian leaves seeing the group uniting and he needs to sacrifice himself. Meanie group doubts itself and is at square one of where the Teen Titans were at the beginning. Teen Titans show up to save Damian. He calls them friends. They talk some humanity into meanies. All is well with world and Ra’s swears that this is the last time he’ll waste any effort on Damian. Ugh. I’m sure that in the future Ra’s appeal will be further and further eroded as they continue to drag that old chestnut (and once an intriguing villain) out of the closet yet again.I can’t really recommend this in good conscience, because in the end I don’t know who to recommend it to. If you enjoy it, please let me know as maybe I approached this all wrong.
    more
  • Chris Lemmerman
    June 11, 2017
    [Read as single issues]Teen Titans has had a rocky history for the past five years or so. Ever since the New 52, the series has floundered under odd direction and the constant appearance of Scott Lobdell and his mad-on for NOWHERE and Harvest. Thankfully, this new series looks set to change that with the best opening arc in a long time for the team.Damian Wayne discovers that Ra's Al Ghul's League Of Assassins teenage murderer squad is going to target teenage metahumans as their final exam, so h [Read as single issues]Teen Titans has had a rocky history for the past five years or so. Ever since the New 52, the series has floundered under odd direction and the constant appearance of Scott Lobdell and his mad-on for NOWHERE and Harvest. Thankfully, this new series looks set to change that with the best opening arc in a long time for the team.Damian Wayne discovers that Ra's Al Ghul's League Of Assassins teenage murderer squad is going to target teenage metahumans as their final exam, so he does what he thinks is best - kidnap them all and force them to work with him to stop them. Nice try Robin, but that's not how you make friends. So in the face of adversity, Damian, Starfire, Beast Boy, Raven, and Kid Flash must work together to stop Ra's and the League, or Damian may have to succumb to his darker impulses and leave forever. Drama!Ben Percy's been writing up a storm on Green Arrow, and his Teen Titans feels natural and fun. The interplay between the characters can get a little repetitive since Damian constantly seems to think he's smarter than everyone else, but it's great to see familiar faces mixing with newer ones. Only in a sliding timeline can Starfire, Beast Boy, and Raven be on three or four incarnations of the same team and never grow up. The ultimate resolution to the story plays out well too, and gives the team a reason to remain together - they actually work really well as a team, when Damian stops being a dick for ten minutes. Also, Goliath, Damian's giant red dog dragon monster pet, is adorable.The art is a little more shaky, as Jonboy Meyers left the series after two issues. As a result, we get Meyers for the Rebirth one-shot and issue 1, Diogenes Neves on issue 2, and then new series artist Khoi Pham on issues 3-5. They're not massively different, especially Pham and Neves, but Meyers' heavily detailed style is a taste of what could have been, and it's a shame to see him go so early on. It's still a consistent tone for the book however, helped by having colourist Jim Charalampadis colour all three artists.A great start to the new series, with fan favourite characters, a compelling plot, and a varied but consistent art team. This volume is definitely Damian's story, with each new arc looking to focus on someone new (volume 2 for example, is all about new Titan Aqualad). I have faith in this team again, and I haven't said that since pre-2011. Teen Titans, go!
    more
  • Rick Hunter
    June 21, 2017
    This iteration of the Teen Titans consists of Robin (Damian Wayne), Starfire, Raven, Beast Boy, & Kid Flash (the one from New 52 that everybody hated). I've never liked Damian Wayne since he was first created. His inclusion in this book made me a little sketchy about reading it. The way the character has been written it's like they don't want anyone to like him. Starfire is a character that I like somewhat. She was at her best when in a book with Dick Grayson and in New 52 as part of The Out This iteration of the Teen Titans consists of Robin (Damian Wayne), Starfire, Raven, Beast Boy, & Kid Flash (the one from New 52 that everybody hated). I've never liked Damian Wayne since he was first created. His inclusion in this book made me a little sketchy about reading it. The way the character has been written it's like they don't want anyone to like him. Starfire is a character that I like somewhat. She was at her best when in a book with Dick Grayson and in New 52 as part of The Outlaws. I love Raven. There's never been a version of the character I didn't like. Her inclusion was a major plus for me and a main reason I gave this title a shot. Beast Boy has always been kind of cool. He makes me laugh. The sucky politically correct ripoff of Kid Flash that was to try to appease certain people because so may established heroes were white being included in the book was an even bigger reason I was sketchy about the book. This was supposed to have been Wally West in New 52, but after so many people hated it, DC backtracked and made him a different person while bringing the REAL Wally back. The character probably should have died when New 52 universe ended and Rebirth began, but it looks like we're stuck with him now.Benjamin Percy is the writer for this series. I had no idea who he was before reading this book. I'm always skeptical about reading comics from a name I've never heard of before. In this case, the skepticism was unwarranted. Damian plays a bigger role in the book than the other Titans do. On the surface, he's still the unlikeable character he's always been. In a relatively short amount of time, Percy has added a little more added depth to the character that was only beginning to be seen towards the latter part of the New 52 era. He also does a good job with the rest of the Titans in their smaller roles, but I still haven't seen enough of Kid Flash to decide if DC made the right call by keeping the character around. The major plot of the book revolves around Damian gathering the other Titans together to face a group of young League of Assassins members called The Demon's Fist. Damian was originally supposed to lead this group, but when he left to join his father, Batman, leadership was passed to Damian's cousin, Mara. She's always resented Damian during their years of training together. Damian just turned 13, and if he was still with the League of Assassins, it would be time for him to undergo his rite of passage. Mara and the other members of the Demon's Fist are ready to undergo theirs, which means each member has to study and choose an opponent to kill in order to become a full-fledged LoA member. Of course, the people they all chose to kill are the same ones Damian rounded up to be in his new version of the Teen Titans, which is why Damian got them all together.It's really good to see Ra's Al Ghul back in comics as a major villain. It's been a while since i read anything with him in it. I don't think it would have been possible to choose a better villain for the first arc of this series since he's Damian's grandfather and tied to so closely to Damian's story. This was the perfect way to launch this series. I may not have known the writer beforehand or liked all of the characters, but I really enjoyed this book. The dialogue had me laughing out loud a few times. Benjamin Percy already seems to have a perfect grasp on things that Beast Boy would say. The writing was by no means perfect, but it was highly entertaining. The writing score is 4 stars. There are 3 artists that work on this book. Jonboy Meyers starts off in the Rebirth one-shot and Teen Titans issue #1. Diogenes Neves draws issue #2. Khoi Pham finishes the book with issues #3-5. All 3 artists are extremely close in talent and still, but I'd give Jonboy Meyers a slight edge in terms of the look of the finished product. His characters all look just a bit better. Neves would be next. Pham has the worst art in the book, but just because it is the worst in the book doesn't mean it's bad. So far, Damian is the standout character for all 3. It's probably because he gets the most panels and gets featured up close more often. This isn't the best looking Rebirth title, but it's much better than several of the others. Art gets 4 stars. People that do like Damian Wayne will probably love this book since he's in a starring role. For those of you that are like me and don't really care for Damian, I'd still encourage you to give this one a chance. For new readers, this is a great starting point. I wouldn't say this is one of the elite Rebirth titles. I'd probably place it just a rung below the few elites. It's definitely in the upper half of all Rebirth books. Overall rating is 4 stars. **** I received a digital ARC of this from Netgalley.
    more
  • Tim
    June 20, 2017
    Ben Percy's transformation into a solid comics writer continues here (the progress he made from DCYou era Green Arrow to Rebirth Green Arrow is remarkable) with a solid story focused on Damian breaking away from his past and the al Ghul side of his family. This would have easily been 4 stars had Jonboy Meyers stayed on the art duties, once Pham took over the art was uneven and quite ugly at times, which is a damn shame.
    more
  • Emmanuel Nevers
    March 16, 2017
    This New incarnation of the Teen Titans (not to be confused with the title "NEW TEEN TITANS") is spectacular!! It has all the heart and drive of the old teen titans with a bit of the fun from the cartoon incarnation of the characters. I really enjoyed how Damian purposefully put this team together and assumes he should be the leader of the team. Highly Recommended!!
    more
  • Andrew
    June 22, 2017
    While not great, still good and fun. Damian butting heads with the rest of the Titans is fun, and the Demon's Fist is a fun oddball group of antagonists. Promising start to this Rebirth series.
  • Samantha
    June 22, 2017
    Filled with action & heart. Just the way I like 'em.
  • Hannah
    May 3, 2017
    ARC REVIEW Story: With the death (wink wink) of Tim Drake the Teen Titans pretty much disbanded, they each went their separate ways. One by one Starfire, Raven, Beast Boy, and the new Kid Flash are all taken but it’s not by some nefarious mastermind…ok well they are but Damian ultimately had a good purpose for it. Damian Wayne wants the Teen Titans to get back together again with him in charge. As Robin, Damian is ready to follow in the footsteps of his predecessors he’s thirteen now and ready t ARC REVIEW Story: With the death (wink wink) of Tim Drake the Teen Titans pretty much disbanded, they each went their separate ways. One by one Starfire, Raven, Beast Boy, and the new Kid Flash are all taken but it’s not by some nefarious mastermind…ok well they are but Damian ultimately had a good purpose for it. Damian Wayne wants the Teen Titans to get back together again with him in charge. As Robin, Damian is ready to follow in the footsteps of his predecessors he’s thirteen now and ready to prove to his father that he can do this. Damian’s Grandfather, Ra’s al Ghul, has plans of his own and unless Robin can convince the other Titans to work together again with him they are doomed.Art: This probably has some of my favorite art in it, Jonboy Meyers working both story and illustrations did a fantastic job at both. Khoi Pham, Diogenes Neves and all the colorist… everyone, I loved it. The art was clear, detailed, the coloring was bold. I had to go back and just look at the art without reading the story.Characters: Damian Wayne/ Robin, Beast Boy, Starfire, Raven, Kid Flash, Ra’s al Ghul, League of Assassins, The Demon’s Fist, Alfred and Batman.Review: Damian Wayne, that’s the little shit I know and love. Damian tracks down, stalks, and masterminds the kidnapping of the new Kid Flash, Starfire, Raven, and Beast Boy all to prove they need him. Didn’t even occur to him that they might find it offensive and not too keen on working with someone who basically insulted each and every one of them and then asked for a favor. You really see the dual sided nature that Damian is struggling with, being trained by Ra’s but trying to live up the standards of Batman and prove that he is up to the task that is being the leader of the Teen Titans. As they fight the Demon Fist, the villainous teen group that Ra’s created for the League of Assassins, the Titans learn that Damian is more like his father then they all thought. And seriously Starfire is STILL a teenager?
    more
  • Ramón Fernández Ayarzagoitia
    May 29, 2017
    ENG/ESPTeen Titans volume one represents what DC is trying to do with Rebirth: taking beloved characters and bringing them back to what makes them great. In this team title, we have old faces and new, brought together by a bratty, overly confident Robin. Fighting off a rival group of super-youngsters (cue heavy Teen Titans animated nostalgia), the team must come together on the fly, and decide whether their new leade r is trustworthy. I’ll freely admit that the trope used to launch this title (n ENG/ESPTeen Titans volume one represents what DC is trying to do with Rebirth: taking beloved characters and bringing them back to what makes them great. In this team title, we have old faces and new, brought together by a bratty, overly confident Robin. Fighting off a rival group of super-youngsters (cue heavy Teen Titans animated nostalgia), the team must come together on the fly, and decide whether their new leade r is trustworthy. I’ll freely admit that the trope used to launch this title (no, abducting and imprisoning your allies won’t do any good, Damian) is too much, and the title had to win me over after it. But the amount of heart displayed in this and the way Damian becomes the new Robin torch-bearer for the team did it for me. The title seemed to be getting better with each issue, until it reached a great payoff in the end. As I said, it understood what made Teen Titans so good: this is a team-up of very different adolescent individuals, who have to learn to love and understand each other in order to defeat challenges greater than themselves.*Goes and watches teen titans animated series for the third time*Teen Titans, volumen 1 representa lo que DC está tratando de hacer con Rebirth: toma personajes amados y los regresa a lo que los hacía increíbles. En este título tenemos un equipo con caras conocidas y otras no tanto, unido por un pedante y malcriado Robin. Los Teen Titans tendrán que cohesionar como equipo mientras combaten a un equipo rival de jóvenes superdotados (nostalgia enorme por la serie animada) y tendrán que decidir si su nuevo líder es digno de confianza.Admito que el cliché utilizado para relanzar este título es demasiado (no, Damian, raptar y negar la libertad de tus aliados jamás te ayudara), y el cómic tuvo que recobrar mi confianza desde entonces. Esto lo hizo con mucho corazón y con la manera en la que el nuevo Robin se vuelve el líder del equipo. Teen Titans mejoró con cada número, y me recompenzó de manera increíble al final. Como dije, este volumen entiende lo que hizo tan buenos a los Teen Titans: es la unión de un montón de adolescentes completamente diferentes, que tienen que aprender a amarse y a entenderse los unos a los otros para superar los retos que enfrentan.*Se pone a ver la serie animada por tercera ocasión*
    more
  • Meghannf
    June 28, 2017
    I received a free copy in exchange of an honest review. After the death of Tim Drake, the Teen Titans has part ways. Damian, son of Batman, is decided to take his destiny into his own hands. Leading to a quest to reassemble the team Teen Titans… When I saw that DC Comics was going to publish a volume about Damian, the first thing that came to my mind was: sign me in! I was really excited to read about the Teen Titans, especially with the whole Rebirth event going on. First things first, I have t I received a free copy in exchange of an honest review. After the death of Tim Drake, the Teen Titans has part ways. Damian, son of Batman, is decided to take his destiny into his own hands. Leading to a quest to reassemble the team Teen Titans… When I saw that DC Comics was going to publish a volume about Damian, the first thing that came to my mind was: sign me in! I was really excited to read about the Teen Titans, especially with the whole Rebirth event going on. First things first, I have to say it was a very good comics! I enjoyed it all along, the art, the writing, the characters development, and the list goes on. Hopefully, it is Rebirth so it sets everything straight and minimize the number of rebounds on past events or backstory. About that, you need to know that it’s been a while since I read about Teen Titans. Added to the fact that I do not have the best memory (you might as well call me Dory now!), especially for ALL the backstories and small details between EVERY character! Moreover, I attach great importance to the beginning of comics, if I get hook from the start it’s often a good sign. Verdict: I did! In my opinion, the beginning is one the strongest point of this volume. It is very well-done and the art is at his best. I counted on the writing and the captions to set a smooth reading experience, which Percy and Meyers delivered. The captions and the art support each other very well by offering a quick recap of past events (much needed by the way!). Concerning the whole volume, it was very good and entertaining. The writing was great, it explores interesting shifts in character’s evolutions and introspections. My only dislike, and dislike is a big word here, is that I wish the author had added more humor, even though you can always count on Kid Flash to lighten up the mood!About the art, it is bright with some shadows well put for some characters or scenes. This is good and pleasant work for the eyes. In a nutshell, I liked the progressive tone of Damian’s evolution as well as the fresh formation of the team. It’s definitely an empowering debut. Now, I am eager to read about their next adventures now that they are all set!
    more
  • Shandy Jo
    June 30, 2017
    I'm going to start off by saying that I'm not a fan of Damian Wayne, I find him smug, arrogant and way to full of himself. On the other hand I love the Teen Titans, so it was a trade off. Damian has some big shoes to fill as Robin both as Batman's sidekick and leader of the Teen Titans.The books start off with Damian and his daddy issues, which spiral into who am I and alot of the plot is taken up by his whole drama. I found some of the story very reminiscent of his subplot in Justice League vs. I'm going to start off by saying that I'm not a fan of Damian Wayne, I find him smug, arrogant and way to full of himself. On the other hand I love the Teen Titans, so it was a trade off. Damian has some big shoes to fill as Robin both as Batman's sidekick and leader of the Teen Titans.The books start off with Damian and his daddy issues, which spiral into who am I and alot of the plot is taken up by his whole drama. I found some of the story very reminiscent of his subplot in Justice League vs. Teen Titans facing down his grandfather, Ra's al Ghul, and coming to grips with his new role as a superhero. In my opinion there was way too much focus on Damian. When Starfire, Raven, Beast Boy and the new Kid Flash are targeted by Ra's al Ghul's forces Damian kidnaps them to save(?) them. After a big speech about fighting together or dieing alone, he takes off to face his grandfather alone. Of course the Titans come to his rescue and fighting ensues.For me the plot was eh, I was hoping for something more original and, I don't know, involving the Teen Titan's as a, you know, group. In order to end this review on a positive note I will say that I liked the artwork. I feel Mr Meyers did a good job making them slightly like the Teen Titan's animated series, but still different enough to be it's own thing.Even though the writing fell a little flat, I'm still interested in seeing how Damian under the guidance of the Titan's will grow. The series has potential, let's see if the writers will run with or not.I received a copy via NetGalley
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    June 23, 2017
    First, just let me get this out of the way, I do not like the art at all. Everybody looks weird and it just did not appeal to me. OK, now the story. I really enjoyed it. The Teen Titans are basically disbanded. I haven't read the book previous to this where they loose their Red Robin, Tim Drake, so I just kind of gathered intel as I went along. However, Damian is under threat from his past and decides he is going to get the team back together with him, obviously as the Robin. Beast, Starfire, Ra First, just let me get this out of the way, I do not like the art at all. Everybody looks weird and it just did not appeal to me. OK, now the story. I really enjoyed it. The Teen Titans are basically disbanded. I haven't read the book previous to this where they loose their Red Robin, Tim Drake, so I just kind of gathered intel as I went along. However, Damian is under threat from his past and decides he is going to get the team back together with him, obviously as the Robin. Beast, Starfire, Raven and Kid Flash don't know Damian and what they do know is that he isn't "good" or to be trusted so they get off to a rocky start. The book's villain is Ras al Ghul and features Robin overcoming his heritage. Meanwhile, the other Titans divulge their less than stellar roots and we see this group does have a commonality after all. Good story, I haven't seen Ras show up in my reading lately so that was fun as well as a couple-page pop-in by Batman at one point.
    more
  • Liana
    June 29, 2017
    This was actually a very pleasant surprise! I went into it with no expectations, as I've never read any Teen Titans comic books before (even though I have watched a bit of the animated show), so getting to know the characters was a very exciting experience. I enjoyed the overall storyline and the artwork, I thought the characterization was good and the action sequences were absolutely marvellous! Damian clearly overshadowed the other characters, with the story focusing more on him and his charac This was actually a very pleasant surprise! I went into it with no expectations, as I've never read any Teen Titans comic books before (even though I have watched a bit of the animated show), so getting to know the characters was a very exciting experience. I enjoyed the overall storyline and the artwork, I thought the characterization was good and the action sequences were absolutely marvellous! Damian clearly overshadowed the other characters, with the story focusing more on him and his character growth, but it never bothered me; he is a complex, multi-layered character, one I enjoyed reading about. Also, the rival team??? I was actually hoping to see more of them, as they seemed super interesting and such a fun addition to the team. An ARC was provided via Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.
    more
  • Ffcharade
    June 10, 2017
    The first two chapters of this book showed a great amount of promise, with a team of vibrant and distinctive personalities coming together, highlighted with the bold and expressive art of Jonboy Meyer. Unfortunately, as Meyer left, so did the book's fire. The replacement artwork is mediocre in every way, failing to capture the visual flair of the characters. At the same time, the writing also drops in quality, struggling to make the characters stand out, and instead just letting them take turns The first two chapters of this book showed a great amount of promise, with a team of vibrant and distinctive personalities coming together, highlighted with the bold and expressive art of Jonboy Meyer. Unfortunately, as Meyer left, so did the book's fire. The replacement artwork is mediocre in every way, failing to capture the visual flair of the characters. At the same time, the writing also drops in quality, struggling to make the characters stand out, and instead just letting them take turns talking without saying anything meaningful. The plot is uninspired and seems to have been thrown together just for the sake of getting these characters in a room together.
    more
  • Adam Graham
    June 10, 2017
    This book collects Teen Titans Rebirth and the first five issues of the new version of Teen Titans with Damian Wayne leading a team that includes Starfire, Raven, Kid Flash (New 52 Wally West), and Beast Boy.To be honest, I began reading this book with trepidation because I’ve never really cared for the Damian Wayne character. He always seems like a bit of a jerk in the stories I’ve seen him with his actions in the Teen Titans: Rebirth issue being representative as he kidnaps eac h proposed memb This book collects Teen Titans Rebirth and the first five issues of the new version of Teen Titans with Damian Wayne leading a team that includes Starfire, Raven, Kid Flash (New 52 Wally West), and Beast Boy.To be honest, I began reading this book with trepidation because I’ve never really cared for the Damian Wayne character. He always seems like a bit of a jerk in the stories I’ve seen him with his actions in the Teen Titans: Rebirth issue being representative as he kidnaps eac h proposed member of the Titans in order to recruit them into the team. That’s a heck of a way to get started, but the fact is the Titans may have little choice but to join together as a highly trained team of young wannabe members of the League of Assassin want to earn their membership by killing each member of the Teen Titans.The threat is credible and the the Teen Titans are well matched up to create a good challenge. The art is solid, but it’s mostly the character arc that makes Damian is relatable without betraying who the character is. He may be tough and arrogant, but he’s also lonely and socially awkward. I found myself sympathizing and connecting with this character in a way I hadn’t before. The way he proves himself to the team and gives it a sense of identity after the awkward start is what make the book a worthwhile read.
    more
  • Krista Ivy
    June 29, 2017
    Damian turns 13 and he questions which side of the family he should be following. His grandfather, the father of assassins, or his father, Batman. He assembles his own team of Teen Titans to change what the name stands for. They are targeted by his old group that is now run by his crazed cousin. He must find himself and save his new team before it is too late.
    more
  • Cam (abookeater)
    June 27, 2017
    full review to come!
  • Lestat
    May 20, 2017
    Netgalley review to follow post publication in June 2017.
  • Derek
    June 17, 2017
    Damian Wayne fans will likely enjoy this. Damian haters probably will not.
  • Martin Králik
    May 30, 2017
    Na tu detsku kresbu som si zvykol o dost rychlejsie, ako som cakal. A Damianov prerod z otravneho egoistu na (aspon ciastocneho) "teamoveho hraca" bol fakt zaujimavy.
  • John Yelverton
    June 19, 2017
    It's a pretty decent Damian story, but I'm not sure there's enough there for the Teen Titans. I'm definitely taking a wait and see approach with this book series.
  • Kameron
    June 29, 2017
    3.5⭐ 3.5⭐️
  • Iris Nevers
    March 9, 2017
    This was a great trade and a great introduction for me to the Teen Titans. I'm excited to see what'd going to happen next!!
Write a review