Trinity, Volume 1
A part of DC Universe: Rebirth!The Dark Knight. The Man of Steel. The Amazon Warrior. The three greatest heroes in the DC Universe unite when the threats to their planet are bigger than just one of them can handle. They are the core of the World's Greatest Heroes...but with a new Superman! When a new villain emerges, the bonds these three share will be tested and redefined to their breaking point, with the lives of innocents hanging in the balance!By New York Times best-selling creator Francis Manapul (The Flash), Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman unite again...for the first time in Trinity, Volume 1: Better Together!Collecting: Trinity 1-6

Trinity, Volume 1 Details

TitleTrinity, Volume 1
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN140127076X
ISBN-139781401270766
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreSuperheroes, Dc Comics, Sequential Art, Graphic Novels, Batman, Superman, Comics, Graphic Novels Comics

Trinity, Volume 1 Review

  • Sam Quixote
    May 17, 2017
    Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman are the Trinity, DC’s three most popular, iconic superheroes. But mixing three great tastes doesn’t necessarily make them taste great together, as Trinity Rebirth proves. “Better Together”? Ha! Batman and Wonder Woman visit the new Superman’s Kansas farmstead for a getting-to-know-you dinner. BUT THEN…! Nonsense ensues meaning we have to endure re-reading each character’s well-known origins, finally ending on some convoluted, meaningless pap with a B-list villai Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman are the Trinity, DC’s three most popular, iconic superheroes. But mixing three great tastes doesn’t necessarily make them taste great together, as Trinity Rebirth proves. “Better Together”? Ha! Batman and Wonder Woman visit the new Superman’s Kansas farmstead for a getting-to-know-you dinner. BUT THEN…! Nonsense ensues meaning we have to endure re-reading each character’s well-known origins, finally ending on some convoluted, meaningless pap with a B-list villain. Great: a book full of origins. As if I haven’t already read enough retellings of Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman’s beginnings! There’s some sort of theme of parents/kids going on here but nothing remotely clever to make it worthwhile to suss it out. I was yawning pretty much non-stop throughout this one. Francis Manapul’s art is a treat, especially during the Batman origin – golly, can he draw a compelling and dramatic Gotham! – but unfortunately his writing isn’t anywhere near as high quality. Manapul-ing stuff. Mayhap completely green readers who haven’t read these characters’ origins too many times before might enjoy this one but I couldn’t have been less entertained. The Rebirth crapfest chugs on…
    more
  • Jedi JC Daquis
    March 30, 2017
    I have read Francis Manapul's first arc of the Trinity series in separate issues. The otherwise promising start somehow ended in an anticlimactic and underwhelming fashion. But given the right mindset, one could really appreciate one Manapul is trying to convey to its readers.Trinity's Better Together is not a boombastic fight between comic's most iconic heroes and whoever supervillain they are fighting against. There's that fight of course in the end but in a rather subdued and in an extremely I have read Francis Manapul's first arc of the Trinity series in separate issues. The otherwise promising start somehow ended in an anticlimactic and underwhelming fashion. But given the right mindset, one could really appreciate one Manapul is trying to convey to its readers.Trinity's Better Together is not a boombastic fight between comic's most iconic heroes and whoever supervillain they are fighting against. There's that fight of course in the end but in a rather subdued and in an extremely small scale given what Mongul (and even Poison Ivy) can REALLY do. But Better Together is more of a character study of Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman - who they really are at their core, what binds them and what distinguishes them from each other.Manapul's art is another thing. His color choices are vibrant and the color contrasts are just pleasing to look at. This may be the most dreamy-vibed main series in DC Rebirth right now. And I am pleased that Manapul has went to that route instead of a more generic superhero art gallery.
    more
  • Chris
    April 24, 2017
    One look at the creative team and it should come as no surprise that the highlight of Trinity's first volume is the artwork. Better Together is an absolute treat for the eyes, in no small part thanks to writer and artist Francis Manapul's creative visuals, which are on a whole other level. Disappointingly then, his story left me wanting and makes Trinity a bit of a mixed bag.Having also been underwhelmed by Manapul's writing in the past, I was pleasantly surprised to reach the halfway point of T One look at the creative team and it should come as no surprise that the highlight of Trinity's first volume is the artwork. Better Together is an absolute treat for the eyes, in no small part thanks to writer and artist Francis Manapul's creative visuals, which are on a whole other level. Disappointingly then, his story left me wanting and makes Trinity a bit of a mixed bag.Having also been underwhelmed by Manapul's writing in the past, I was pleasantly surprised to reach the halfway point of Trinity without any real concerns. The opening issue where the Trinity meet for dinner at Lois and Clark's house is a great start and when our heroes become lost in what appears to be a dream world, it leads to a surprisingly emotional trip to Gotham City that hit me right in the feels.Unfortunately, I felt let down by the second half as it descended into confusing and clichéd territory. The entire volume leans towards the more hopeful and optimistic tone of Rebirth, but Manapul doesn't quite stick the landing and it hurts the story as a whole. There are some very strong character moments and i'm sure there will be many who love this for the artwork alone, but I was disappointed after such a strong start.At least there's the fantastic artwork to enjoy throughout. Manapul handles pencils, inks and colours for his three issues and his layouts, techniques and attention to detail are as spectacular as ever. Clay and Seth Mann, along with colourist Brad Anderson, draw the aforementioned trip to Gotham City and their art is a perfect fit. Finally, Emanuela Lupacchino, Ray McCarthy, Matt Santorelli and colourist Hi-Fi illustrate the finale and a beautiful issue in Themyscira.I have no doubt that anyone who reads Trinity will be impressed by the art, but when it comes to the story their mileage may vary. While i'd say that this is Manapul's best writing to date and that he's definitely improving, Better Together's narrative left unsatisfying gaps that even the best artwork couldn't fill. Recommended, but there's definitely room for improvement.
    more
  • Bookwraiths
    May 23, 2017
    3.5 stars. Full review at publication.
  • Chelsea
    February 17, 2017
    This has a promising beginning and end but the story arc did nothing for me. It was basically a blank slate to rehash the backgrounds of all of these characters. Maybe they thought it necessary with the Rebirth relaunch but it didn't make for entertaining reading. The art is gorgeous. The beginning where Clark has to get used to Bruce and Diana was great! I loved Jon's meeting with Bruce. Diana and Lois had few moments. That was all I really enjoyed about this. I'm sure the next issues will be b This has a promising beginning and end but the story arc did nothing for me. It was basically a blank slate to rehash the backgrounds of all of these characters. Maybe they thought it necessary with the Rebirth relaunch but it didn't make for entertaining reading. The art is gorgeous. The beginning where Clark has to get used to Bruce and Diana was great! I loved Jon's meeting with Bruce. Diana and Lois had few moments. That was all I really enjoyed about this. I'm sure the next issues will be better because they can move on from retell into the origins of the characters.
    more
  • Sesana
    June 15, 2017
    Manapul's art is spectacular, but unfortunately the writing is not to the same standard. It's simply yet another bland look at the origins of characters whose origins have been written and re-written to death. There's meant to be character development, but there's nothing that hasn't already been developed half a dozen times before. The impulse to write an ongoing book with DC's Big Three isn't off target, but it needs to say something that hasn't already been said, repeatedly.
    more
  • Hannah
    June 10, 2017
    ARC REVIEW Story: In an act of friendship and as a chance to get to know the new Superman, Lois Lane invites Diana Prince and Bruce Wayne to the farm house for dinner. It goes fine aside from little Jon accidentally burning a hole through the door and almost burns a hole through Bruce and Diana. But after dinner something funny happens. They get tangled up in a suspicious vine that transports them into their dreams where they must relive pivotal life changing events from their lives. Poison Ivy ARC REVIEW Story: In an act of friendship and as a chance to get to know the new Superman, Lois Lane invites Diana Prince and Bruce Wayne to the farm house for dinner. It goes fine aside from little Jon accidentally burning a hole through the door and almost burns a hole through Bruce and Diana. But after dinner something funny happens. They get tangled up in a suspicious vine that transports them into their dreams where they must relive pivotal life changing events from their lives. Poison Ivy orchestrated it but the real menace behind it all is not who they think. Now Batman, Wonder Woman and Superman need to trust each other enough to get out alive all the while Lois and Jon are in the real world dealing with Poison Ivy. Art: Beautiful. Francis Manapul did the art for the part 1, 2, and 5. Emanuela Lupacchino does the penciling for 4 and 6 with Ray McCarthy and Matt Santorelli and HI-FI as the inkers and colorist. Part Three is done by Clay and Seth Mann with Seth Anderson as the colorist. They all did a fantastic job. I am always picky on Poison Ivy and how she is drawn and I love how she’s drawn in this. I’m warming up on the neon colors, not much but I’m getting used to it.Characters: Diana Prince/ Wonder Woman, Bruce Wayne/ Batman, Clark Kent/ Superman, Lois Lane, Jon Kent, Poison Ivy, and various characters from each of the characters pasts.Review: I had no idea what happened before this with Superman and was a little lost but that is what Google is for I looked it up and found a great spoiler from back in March, (What the Hell did Superman just do to the DC Comics) that explained it to me. With this new information so much more makes sense! The story in this was very engaging I couldn't put it down, that's why I wait for the volumes to come out. Each of the characters had to face something from their past that helped shape who they are and face other issues that came from the guilt of their past. Clark gets to talk to his father again, Diana meets a younger version of herself and Bruce has to relive his parents death and the trauma afterwards. But in each situation the character takes away an important lesson from it. Unfortunately they weren't the only ones learning the vulnerabilities of the trio. It was a great story and showed so much character development.
    more
  • Rory Wilding
    June 9, 2017
    As much as I have read many solo adventures featuring Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman, with the exception of them being founding members of the Justice League, there aren’t many stories working as a threesome, let alone many good ones (Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice). As one of the most prominent artists for DC in the last ten years, Francis Manapul reunites the holy trinity in a world that is different yet familiar with the characters and their readers.Please click here for my full review As much as I have read many solo adventures featuring Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman, with the exception of them being founding members of the Justice League, there aren’t many stories working as a threesome, let alone many good ones (Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice). As one of the most prominent artists for DC in the last ten years, Francis Manapul reunites the holy trinity in a world that is different yet familiar with the characters and their readers.Please click here for my full review.
    more
  • Rick Hunter
    June 13, 2017
    ***** In return for an honest review, I got a digital ARC of this book from DC through Netgalley.Where, oh where to start with this this one? Since the art is fantastic in this book, I guess I'll start there. Francis Manapul, Clay Mann, and Emanuela Lupacchino all contribute illustrations for the book. Manapul draws issues #1, 2, & 5. Mann's lone issue is #3. Lupacchino handles issues #4 & 6. Each is an amazing artist. Emanuela Lupacchino has a bit of a different style than the other 2. ***** In return for an honest review, I got a digital ARC of this book from DC through Netgalley.Where, oh where to start with this this one? Since the art is fantastic in this book, I guess I'll start there. Francis Manapul, Clay Mann, and Emanuela Lupacchino all contribute illustrations for the book. Manapul draws issues #1, 2, & 5. Mann's lone issue is #3. Lupacchino handles issues #4 & 6. Each is an amazing artist. Emanuela Lupacchino has a bit of a different style than the other 2. Her art is closer in style to Jim Lee with its need for heavier inks. The 2 guys have a more fine line style like Mikel Janin. This seems to be an ever more popular style in today's comics. I've had a really hard sitting here debating whose art I like the best. I guess I would have to go with Emanuela over the others. Her female characters look great, of course, they all have beautiful females, but she also has the best Batman in the book. Clay Mann has a couple of really great panels of Wonder Woman. He must have been looking at a picture of Gal Gadot for one of them because it's a close-up profile that looks just like her. Mann illustrates the Gotham issue and really nails the horrific visions Bruce sees. Manapul really excels at the plain characters like Lois and the heroes out of uniform. All-around 5 star art.I think the only thing I've ever read that was written by Francis Manapul was the New 52 Flash series. I loved that. To me, that was the best Flash had been in years. I was anxious to get my hands on this to see if he wrote Bruce, Clark, and Diana as well as he did Barry. I liked how well he ended up writing all 3. He kept Clark as the voice of hope. Bruce was the skeptic that used reason to try to deduce what was going on, and Diana just sought out the truth while distancing herself enough to get a clear picture of what was going. I like the choice for main villain too. Definitely need a powerhouse that is capable of taking on all 3 heroes. I'm already looking forward to which villain or groups of villains hat the Trinity take on next. The writing gets 4 stars. This was one of the best Rebirth titles so far. I'll definitely be buying a paper copy of this in the future to add to my collection. Some long time readers may be disappointed that the book gives a little glimpse of the origins of each character, but it doesn't go really in depth or even spend a whole issue for each one. It's just enough to introduce the characters to new readers which is the whole point of having the Rebirth reboot anyway. This is a great place for readers that have been too daunted by the massive histories of each of the characters to jump onto a book that contains all 3 at one time. The only other place you're going to get all 3 at once is in the pages of Justice League and they're gonna have to share page time with even more people. Long time readers may enjoy the spotlight on the 3 together without the rest of the JL so I can recommend this to pretty much anyone that likes these characters. Overall rating is 4.5 stars.
    more
  • Raena Pellichet
    June 12, 2017
    I really enjoyed this graphic novel. I am admittedly a novice when it comes to graphic novels and comics, I’ve only read a handful, but I was still able to understand the story and really enjoy it. I tend to be very intimidated with books like this simply because of how many books already exist in this universe and for these characters. It can sometimes feel like I’m going to miss some part of the story or like I need to go back and read other books to fully enjoy the newer releases. While that I really enjoyed this graphic novel. I am admittedly a novice when it comes to graphic novels and comics, I’ve only read a handful, but I was still able to understand the story and really enjoy it. I tend to be very intimidated with books like this simply because of how many books already exist in this universe and for these characters. It can sometimes feel like I’m going to miss some part of the story or like I need to go back and read other books to fully enjoy the newer releases. While that certainly helps with enjoyment, I love that I was still able to just pick up this story and I didn’t feel lost or confused. This was just fun, superhero action which is always a great time. Especially with the Wonder Woman movie which just came out, the whole DC universe feels really fresh in my mind so I feel like that helped increase my excitement and joy to just have some aspect of Wonder Woman to read about, because she is amazing and I love her. But beyond that, I really loved the interactions between the characters. I loved the relationships, the backstory and history that clearly already exist between all the characters involved in the story and how that influences their interactions and conversations. I liked this book in a way that I wasn’t prepared for and that excites me. I tend to go for superheroes because I love the action and fights, but those weren’t the moments that I found myself enjoying with this book and I was surprised at myself. I loved the support each character gave to the others, how they are able to understand each other in a way no one else can. I recommend this even for people who don’t read graphic novels or comics all the time, if you enjoy superhero movies or even just casually read superhero stories I think this is worth picking up. I am excited to see what happens in the next volume.
    more
  • Chad
    June 12, 2017
    I thought this was a pretty solid beginning to the book. Francis Manapul's art is a beauty to behold. I could stare at it all day. Unfortunately there are some fill in artists for some of the issues. Fortunately, Clay and Seth Mann and Emanuela Lupacchino are all talented artists in their own right. Manapul does a great job with the first issue. Bruce Wayne and Princess Diana come to the Kents' farm for dinner to get to know each other better. It's nice, heartwarming issue. Leading into the 2nd I thought this was a pretty solid beginning to the book. Francis Manapul's art is a beauty to behold. I could stare at it all day. Unfortunately there are some fill in artists for some of the issues. Fortunately, Clay and Seth Mann and Emanuela Lupacchino are all talented artists in their own right. Manapul does a great job with the first issue. Bruce Wayne and Princess Diana come to the Kents' farm for dinner to get to know each other better. It's nice, heartwarming issue. Leading into the 2nd issue I was completely confused, but partway through the book I figured out what was really going on, paying homage to one of the most famous pre-Crisis Superman stories. Yes, we do get variations of the big 3 origins, but there is a purpose for it which leads into the back half of the book. All in all, it was actually better than I expected.Received an advance copy from DC and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Charles
    May 29, 2017
    Considering this is another kick at the can thanks to a reboot (soft or otherwise) I was a bit hesitant at first. I was really worried that we’d be rehashing something again for the sake of rehashing it. In the end, this was actually pretty fun and for me at least, the elements from the past felt more like nods of the hat than say a call back that served no purpose. Long story short, this is the current iteration of how the Trinity (Wonder Woman, Superman, and Batman) meetup and come to an agree Considering this is another kick at the can thanks to a reboot (soft or otherwise) I was a bit hesitant at first. I was really worried that we’d be rehashing something again for the sake of rehashing it. In the end, this was actually pretty fun and for me at least, the elements from the past felt more like nods of the hat than say a call back that served no purpose. Long story short, this is the current iteration of how the Trinity (Wonder Woman, Superman, and Batman) meetup and come to an agreement to work together. Thanks to the somewhat confusing backstory of the current Superman (current while this story was first printed) he and his family are a bit hesitant, but Lois steps up to the plate and invites Diana and Bruce over for a dinner. An incredibly benign event to try and get these folks talking and hopefully respect each other. There’s a cute call back to the Rainbow Suit Batman which was a nice touch in a moment of levity. Soon though, things go south on the farm and the Trinity is in some peculiar trouble. I’m happy to see one of my old favourites show up in the form of Mongul and that oh-so-dangerous temptress in the form of a plant, the Black Mercy! Might be seen as a bit of a spoiler, but still leaves much to be discovered in the story.Manapul’s art and writing is a bit sharper in this compared to his tie-ins to the Darkseid War (compiled in Power of the Gods). It was more heartfelt and emotional to read for me. I really enjoyed it and the way he chose to portray the Trinity (in particular a good old squared-jawed Superman!). One downside might be that you don’t get the full enjoyment of the story without knowing the surrounding bits contained in the individual titles of each character. In particular, I feel that Wonder Woman’s loses some emotion punch and weight if one doesn’t know the current challenges she is facing in Rucka’s run and her ongoing struggle to return home.This was pretty fun, with some good sappy moments in it for someone like me, lovely art, and a story that was fluffy, but engaging enough to keep me going.
    more
  • Hannah
    May 3, 2017
    ARC REVIEW TO COME
  • Linda
    March 7, 2017
    God, I love it when Manapul draws. Unfortunately, he only draws on half of the issues in this arc. I know he's been trying to write as well for some time now, but his writing just hasn't been very strong. I wish he would pull a Quietly and hole up working as long as it took with the work of an amazing writer.
    more
  • Iris Nevers
    February 27, 2017
    Read in February 2017. Read in individual issues.I loved this arc!! Manapul's writing and art (on the issues he drew) is breathtaking! All the arty was breathtaking but his panel placement was fantastic. In issue #1, when he incorporated character's logo with their first appearance in the issue was absolutely wonderful and I loved it so, so, so much. I definitely can't wait to see where this title takes us!
    more
  • Max Van Dyke
    March 22, 2017
    This started out really strong. The first issue was great and despite the lack of action had some really nice character development. What DC is doing with the whole New 52 Superman dying and the post-Crisis Superman coming back thing is a bit confusing (I didn't read Convergence) but him having dinner with post-52 Diana and Bruce was nice to see. Even if it did go south pretty quickly. The interaction between Diana and Lois was also really well done.From there the next two issues were pretty coo This started out really strong. The first issue was great and despite the lack of action had some really nice character development. What DC is doing with the whole New 52 Superman dying and the post-Crisis Superman coming back thing is a bit confusing (I didn't read Convergence) but him having dinner with post-52 Diana and Bruce was nice to see. Even if it did go south pretty quickly. The interaction between Diana and Lois was also really well done.From there the next two issues were pretty cool but by issue 4 the plot started to get pretty confusing to follow. The conclusion was all over the place and didn't really make much sense. So while it started out really strong by the end it fell pretty flat. That said, Manapul's artwork (the issues he drew) were gorgeous. His art was definitely the best part of this book. Even the ones he didn't draw still looked really nice. 5/10
    more
  • Ramón Fernández Ayarzagoitia
    May 7, 2017
    Esp/ Eng.Es raro que yo de calificaciones tan bajas, pero la verdad es que este cómic pasó de un primer par de números muy buenos a ser una historia de lo más cliché, sacada de la manga y honestamente innecesaria. No voy a decir que no hubo muchas cosas que disfruté mucho del cómic: la referencia nada sutil a "Whatever happened to the man of tomorrow?", de Alan Moore, el arte (en especial el color) y el hecho de ver a Batman, Wonder Woman y Superman en una historia más personal y en una relación Esp/ Eng.Es raro que yo de calificaciones tan bajas, pero la verdad es que este cómic pasó de un primer par de números muy buenos a ser una historia de lo más cliché, sacada de la manga y honestamente innecesaria. No voy a decir que no hubo muchas cosas que disfruté mucho del cómic: la referencia nada sutil a "Whatever happened to the man of tomorrow?", de Alan Moore, el arte (en especial el color) y el hecho de ver a Batman, Wonder Woman y Superman en una historia más personal y en una relación de amistad. Pero hay muy poco más que me guste. Los personajes son versiones muy limitadas de sí mismos, y es claro que al autor le interesa mucho más la historia de Superman que las otras dos, y tiene hasta poco respeto por Batman. Aunque entiendo quién es el más importante de la trinidad, no siento que el autor haga mucha justicia a los tres superhéroes más grandes que existen de esta manera.Además de esto, la verdad es que, como dije, la historia confunde ser personal con ser excesivamente melosa. Es de esas historias que sienten que deben tener un final perfecto, una historia feliz y una conclusión con moral estilo Hallmark. Qué flojera.I practically never give such low reviews, but I really, honestly think this story took a turn for the worse after a couple of excellent issues. It became excessively cliché, had a no sequitur ending and felt honestly unnecessary.I won’t say, however, that I didn’t love a lot of things about it: the not-subtle-at-all reference to “Whatever Happened to the Man of Tomorrow?”. By Alan Moore and the art as a whole (specially the coloring) were big plusses for me. I also liked to see Batman, Wonder Woman and Superman on a more personal story centered around their friendship. But I like little else about it. The characters feel as very limited versions of themselves, and the author clearly has a preference for Superman, an indifference for Wonder Woman and a subtle disrespect for Batman in this story. Even though I agree that Superman is the central pillar of the trinity, I feel that none of the three most important superheroes are given their due this way.The story overall confuses being personal with being excessively cheesy. I feel it even has a Hallmark ending with a moral. It just fell flat for me.
    more
  • Donald Scott
    June 11, 2017
    Though by no means an expert on graphic novels or comics - my interest in them (other than childhood) has only, in fact, developed within the last couple years - I've been reviewing a number of both on this blog and elsewhere in recent months ... and have to say, Trinity Vol. 1: Better Together puts even the best of them to shame. Part of DC's Rebirth series, writer/artist/genius Francis Manapul (working with other incredible artists) is behind the six issues compiled here of the Trinity storyli Though by no means an expert on graphic novels or comics - my interest in them (other than childhood) has only, in fact, developed within the last couple years - I've been reviewing a number of both on this blog and elsewhere in recent months ... and have to say, Trinity Vol. 1: Better Together puts even the best of them to shame. Part of DC's Rebirth series, writer/artist/genius Francis Manapul (working with other incredible artists) is behind the six issues compiled here of the Trinity storyline, in which Batman and Wonder Woman, along with an older and wiser Superman, must learn to trust each other and come together as a team if they are to defeat one of their most unique foes - one who burrows into the deepest secrets of their souls in order to utilize both their fears and weaknesses. Everything about this series is stellar: the artwork, writing, characters, story arcs - engaging from first page to last, and first-class work worthy of arguably the three most iconic characters in comic history. Superman, Wonder Woman, and Batman are all given equal star-status time here, each shown in his or her best light and with backstories that flesh them out as human - and humane - more than ever. Add to all this a deeply satisfying and surprisingly poignant ending, and it all only serves to remind the reader of just how well-crafted this series is; afterward you're left with the sensation of not wanting to leave the characters, but instead follow them to their next adventure - something I'd only before experienced in my most favorite of novels. Truly brilliant, and a must-read for fans of any of the characters involved - this is the kind of graphic novel that can turn a non-fan, one whose never even read a comic book, into a certified addict of the genre. Kudos, DC and Mr. Manapul! 5/5 starsNote: I received a free ARC of this title via NetGalley and the publisher, in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Trey
    June 7, 2017
    I'm not sure that what's happening to Superman in the Rebirth universe is good. I mean, it's a statement of fact that the pre-New 52 Superman as a character was superior to the garbage that came out of the New 52, but trying to replace the New 52 Superman while everyone around him remains rebooted? So confusing. I don't think it's a positive thing for the origin story of the company's most iconic character to involve the crazy machinations that landed him where he is today. In All-Star Superman, I'm not sure that what's happening to Superman in the Rebirth universe is good. I mean, it's a statement of fact that the pre-New 52 Superman as a character was superior to the garbage that came out of the New 52, but trying to replace the New 52 Superman while everyone around him remains rebooted? So confusing. I don't think it's a positive thing for the origin story of the company's most iconic character to involve the crazy machinations that landed him where he is today. In All-Star Superman, Grant Morrison distilled this origin down to eight words. That should be all you need to know about Superman, but now it isn't. How do you you begin to explain this to a child reading his first Superman comic?That said, given the current status quo, this new Superman obviously needs to build a rapport with the Wonder Woman and Batman that are new to him. And Wonder Woman and Batman need to get to know the most powerful being on earth before they can trust him the way they trusted his inferior New 52 counterpart. With that in mind, Trinity does a nice job of teaming them up for their first big adventure and forging the bonds of trust and friendship they will need going forward. The backstory is convoluted, but within that context, Manapul's story is about as good as you can get, and his art is compelling as always. I received a preview copy of this book from NetGalley.
    more
  • Adam Graham
    June 3, 2017
    This book collects the first six issues of the Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman series, "Trinity." It begins with Lois deciding to invite Bruce Wayne and Diana Prince over for a barbecue and it ends up with them in costume and on journey through their own pasts. What's going on and who's behind it?Writer/artist Francis Manapul sets out to make a team of this trio and to do that, the story focuses on letting them see each other at their most vulnerable moments, while at the same time keeping al This book collects the first six issues of the Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman series, "Trinity." It begins with Lois deciding to invite Bruce Wayne and Diana Prince over for a barbecue and it ends up with them in costume and on journey through their own pasts. What's going on and who's behind it?Writer/artist Francis Manapul sets out to make a team of this trio and to do that, the story focuses on letting them see each other at their most vulnerable moments, while at the same time keeping alive the mystery of what's going on. The art is incredible. It's far more beautiful and well done than the vast majority of comic book art being done today. The challenge of the book is that it's working through some well-worn territory. The origins and backstories of these heroes are so well-worn and have been revisited so many times that it can feel like old hat to go back to that well. But, I think that the book shows that part of the reason why we revisit them so often is that these stories have emotional connections with readers and Manopoul pulls those connections out.Batman in this book is a bit one dimensional compared to how he's appeared in other Rebirth books. He's constantly there to be the skeptic and discount other people's emotions. It’s easy to pigeonhole that way in an attempt to balance the other two, but it’s really not consistent with his character in other books.The other issue is that the story of this new Superman is being told over so many books that it can be hard to keep track. If you read the Superman trades, Bruce's comments on Clark's son Jon's inability to control his powers seem weird as this was addressed in the second Superman trade. Trinity is a monthly series while Superman and Batman are among those that publish twice a month, so the trades are a bit out of sync. Even still, it does seem like much of the Superman embracing this world's heroes storyline has been covered in Superman, Action Comics, Justice League, and now Trinity. (And those are just the ones I've read.) Still, the book manages to take familiar stories and create a compelling emotional narrative to draw our heroes together and features some of the best art work I've seen in any trade I've seen released this year.***Disclosure: I Received a free digital copy from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • JenLovesBooks
    May 4, 2017
    3.5 StarsThis wasn't one of those reads that has the reader out of their seat, but it did have great feels to it. I very much enjoyed seeing Clark, Bruce, and Diana going through their most difficult choices and moments in their life and moving forward through them together. They were able to see loved ones they didn't have with them any longer, forgive themselves and be nurturing, and stand up for one another and each others friendship.I'm not sure how I felt about Poison Ivy in this issue, the 3.5 StarsThis wasn't one of those reads that has the reader out of their seat, but it did have great feels to it. I very much enjoyed seeing Clark, Bruce, and Diana going through their most difficult choices and moments in their life and moving forward through them together. They were able to see loved ones they didn't have with them any longer, forgive themselves and be nurturing, and stand up for one another and each others friendship.I'm not sure how I felt about Poison Ivy in this issue, there were so many odd things going on. It was a nice change in pace, but would have possibly liked it more if it had a little more story to it. I liked the shift and adding the dream world to the mix, just not the quick pace of how it all came to be. It was nice seeing Ivy fighting for something good and not having to end in extremes like she usually does. It might have moved along faster than I would have liked, but it was still very entertaining and glad I was able to get my hands on an e-copy. If your looking for a nice quick read featuring all three favorites in there, definitely check this one out.***I received this copy from DC Comics via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.***
    more
  • Susan
    June 13, 2017
    Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman must fight a deadly menace known as the White Mercy. Who is White Mercy? White Mercy has the three superheroes in some of their most vulnerable moments in their life. The superheroes want to make those moments better--not so difficult but it doesn't happen or does it?If you are new to these three superheroes, you don't need to worry. It is a chance to see moments of their earlier life that will give you the information you need for the superheroes and the White Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman must fight a deadly menace known as the White Mercy. Who is White Mercy? White Mercy has the three superheroes in some of their most vulnerable moments in their life. The superheroes want to make those moments better--not so difficult but it doesn't happen or does it?If you are new to these three superheroes, you don't need to worry. It is a chance to see moments of their earlier life that will give you the information you need for the superheroes and the White Mercy. It is a beautiful illustrated graphic book. The graphic novel is thrilling! Enjoy it!Disclaimer: I received an arc of this book free from the author/publisher from Net-galley. I was not obliged to write a favorable review, or even any review at all. The opinions expressed are strictly my own.
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    June 13, 2017
    This was absolutely fantastic! I didn't care much for the touchy-feely ending but otherwise, it was a great story. The story switches quickly between the present reality and a dream world in the past. This is a great introduction for newbies as it goes back to a defining moment in the past for each: Wonder Woman, Batman, and Superman. But even as a longtime reader I enjoyed this. The main conflict is the person behind the dream world and what they want from being able to pull the three into it. This was absolutely fantastic! I didn't care much for the touchy-feely ending but otherwise, it was a great story. The story switches quickly between the present reality and a dream world in the past. This is a great introduction for newbies as it goes back to a defining moment in the past for each: Wonder Woman, Batman, and Superman. But even as a longtime reader I enjoyed this. The main conflict is the person behind the dream world and what they want from being able to pull the three into it. It's a surprise as to who the ultimate villain is but I will say that Poison Ivy fits in as well. A good, exciting, in-depth story which explores the main character's emotions.
    more
  • Marcus
    June 14, 2017
    This is one of the most beautiful books I've seen in a while. The art is brilliant trough and through. I enjoyed Manapul's work the most but Mann and Lupacchino are outstanding as well. A complete feast for your eyes. The story is very interesting and has many elements that I loved. Manapul tries to reset the bond between these three main characters taking them to their past to face their fears. Even thought the last part of the story gets bumpy and a bit confusing I enjoyed this book very much. This is one of the most beautiful books I've seen in a while. The art is brilliant trough and through. I enjoyed Manapul's work the most but Mann and Lupacchino are outstanding as well. A complete feast for your eyes. The story is very interesting and has many elements that I loved. Manapul tries to reset the bond between these three main characters taking them to their past to face their fears. Even thought the last part of the story gets bumpy and a bit confusing I enjoyed this book very much.
    more
  • Kristine
    June 13, 2017
    Trinity, Vol. 1: Better Together (Rebirth) by Francis Manapul et. al. is a free NetGalley e-comicbook that I read in late May.Extreeeeemely emotive, heart-to-heart dialogues and color-coded inner monologues between all the major players of this book, including Lois Lane. What really kept me going through this honey-dripped story about family is the change-on-dime palette (i.e. a walk through a Smallville forest can be blush pink and canary yellow, then glowy emerald as you step under a shadowy c Trinity, Vol. 1: Better Together (Rebirth) by Francis Manapul et. al. is a free NetGalley e-comicbook that I read in late May.Extreeeeemely emotive, heart-to-heart dialogues and color-coded inner monologues between all the major players of this book, including Lois Lane. What really kept me going through this honey-dripped story about family is the change-on-dime palette (i.e. a walk through a Smallville forest can be blush pink and canary yellow, then glowy emerald as you step under a shadowy canopy).
    more
  • India Staten
    June 10, 2017
    I thought this story was going to be different than what was actually written. It was ok with showing a deeper understanding on how Superman, Batman, & Wonder Woman interact and grow their friendship. I liked how Bruce & Diana went to have dinner with Clark's family because it showed a different side to their superhero lifestyle.
    more
  • John Yelverton
    June 9, 2017
    I have mixed feelings about this graphic novel. It's extremely bold to choose Poison Ivy as the villain of the story to the point of foolishness; yet, giving Poison Ivy a black mercy is the equivalent of giving her an atom bomb. The art work was beautiful. On the whole, I'd say it was good, but I'm waiting for it to be epic, because that's what a book like this needs to be.
    more
  • Nathaniel Darkish
    May 23, 2017
    This was very, very confusing. There's a lot of context missing that is never provided. I'm sure a lot of the context was provided in another title, but I really don't know which one to turn to since this is a volume 1. Also, setting aside the lack of context, it was still a very trippy, confusing story that jumped around a lot.
    more
  • Luke Sims-Jenkins
    March 21, 2017
    I wasn't so sure about this, but the art made me curious. I find it a shame that writer and artist Manupal couldn't do all 6 issues himself. Art on two of them was done by Emanuela Lupacchino and while the art in those issues is good and serves the story, it doesn't gel well with Manapul's work.The story is very light as well, it took me less than an hour to finish and didn't really set my world on fire. It's a story that sets to bring Batman and Wonder Woman back together with Superman and it a I wasn't so sure about this, but the art made me curious. I find it a shame that writer and artist Manupal couldn't do all 6 issues himself. Art on two of them was done by Emanuela Lupacchino and while the art in those issues is good and serves the story, it doesn't gel well with Manapul's work.The story is very light as well, it took me less than an hour to finish and didn't really set my world on fire. It's a story that sets to bring Batman and Wonder Woman back together with Superman and it accomplishes that goal, but I was hoping for something different and more exciting. I'm going to give it a few more issues so I can stare at the pretty pictures, but I'm hoping in the future the story will match the art.
    more
  • Eric
    June 15, 2017
    I was really excited when I saw this series, but vol 1 was a let down.
Write a review