The Good Daughter (Good Daughter, #1)
The stunning new novel from the international #1 bestselling author — a searing, spellbinding blend of cold-case thriller and psychological suspense.Two girls are forced into the woods at gunpoint. One runs for her life. One is left behind…Twenty-eight years ago, Charlotte and Samantha Quinn's happy small-town family life was torn apart by a terrifying attack on their family home. It left their mother dead. It left their father — Pikeville's notorious defense attorney — devastated. And it left the family fractured beyond repair, consumed by secrets from that terrible night.Twenty-eight years later, and Charlie has followed in her father's footsteps to become a lawyer herself — the ideal good daughter. But when violence comes to Pikeville again — and a shocking tragedy leaves the whole town traumatized — Charlie is plunged into a nightmare. Not only is she the first witness on the scene, but it's a case that unleashes the terrible memories she's spent so long trying to suppress. Because the shocking truth about the crime that destroyed her family nearly thirty years ago won't stay buried forever…Packed with twists and turns, brimming with emotion and heart, The Good Daughter is fiction at its most thrilling.

The Good Daughter (Good Daughter, #1) Details

TitleThe Good Daughter (Good Daughter, #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 8th, 2017
PublisherWilliam Morrow
ISBN0062430262
ISBN-139780062430267
Number of pages528 pages
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Mystery Thriller, Suspense

The Good Daughter (Good Daughter, #1) Review

  • Paromjit
    June 29, 2017
    This is a superb, dark and brutal novel from the talented Karin Slaughter set in Pikeville, North Georgia. Two tragic set of events occur 28 years apart and their catastrophic repercussions on a family and their community are observed. Rusty is a notoriously able lawyer who believes that justice should be for everybody, such as defending innocent black people, and others deemed beyond the pale, like rapists. This has made Rusty a host of enemies, seen the family home burn down and bring fresh da This is a superb, dark and brutal novel from the talented Karin Slaughter set in Pikeville, North Georgia. Two tragic set of events occur 28 years apart and their catastrophic repercussions on a family and their community are observed. Rusty is a notoriously able lawyer who believes that justice should be for everybody, such as defending innocent black people, and others deemed beyond the pale, like rapists. This has made Rusty a host of enemies, seen the family home burn down and bring fresh danger to his wife, the fiercely intelligent and double PhD genius, Gamma, and his two young daughters, Samantha and Charlotte, known as Charlie. Two masked men enter the family home, shoot Gamma dead, leaving Sam for dead, buried in a grave, though a bloodied Charlie manages to get away. This is a story that transcends the most violent of crimes, its about family, loss, love, sibling relationships, regret, survival, damage and forgiveness. Twenty eight years later, the savage events that ripped the family apart have taken their toll on Sam and Charlie. The two sisters have not seen each other for twenty years after Sam's anger led to an estrangement. Sam is a highly successful New York patent lawyer, has lost her beloved husband, Anton, and hasn't seen her father for decades. Charlie's marriage to Ben is on the skids, she works from the same building as Rusty as a lawyer, and she has made the terrible mistake of indulging in a one night stand with a stranger, with whom she left her phone. She is in the process of collecting her phone at her old school when all hell lets loose. Charlie is traumatised once again as she finds herself in the midst of a distressing double school shooting that includes a young child. The perpetrator is a girl with learning issues called Kelly. With rising tensions, flaring tempers, fear, rage, and intense media coverage, Sam returns to Pikeville amidst a disturbing set of circumstances. She provides legal counsel for Kelly at her arraignment after Rusty persuades Sam that Kelly is the unicorn he has been searching for. The stage is set to see the original family trauma under a new light as the truth begins to emerge and to discover if it is remotely possible that Kelly is not the killer she is painted to be, in direct contradiction to the evidence available.Karin Slaughter has written a brilliant novel that incorporates the worst of humankind, a veritable Pandora's box of horror and despair, and the faint wisps of hope for Sam and Charlie. The complex characterisations are astonishingly good and feel desperately authentic. The novel captures the small town meanness that can run through a conservative rural community and its young people, and the atrocious behaviour and actions that result. The strength and wisdom of Rusty, given all that happens, along with his ability to protect his daughters the only way he knew how, is awe inspiring. I will never forget the role that ice cream plays for Charlie in the novel, given all the feel good factor that surrounds it. A fantastic read that I highly recommend. Thanks to HarperCollins for an ARC.
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    March 29, 2017
    Yay! We have a cover!!
  • Sandy
    July 1, 2017
    Whenever I get my hands on a book by Karin Slaughter, I always have this feeling I should put on a seatbelt before I crack the cover. She tends to nibble away at the edge of your comfort zone with stories that are intense, emotional & disturbing. This one is no different. The book opens in 1989 with a brutal day in the life of the Quinn family. Rusty, the father, is typically absent. He’s a small town lawyer who specializes in successfully defending the dregs of society while dodging death t Whenever I get my hands on a book by Karin Slaughter, I always have this feeling I should put on a seatbelt before I crack the cover. She tends to nibble away at the edge of your comfort zone with stories that are intense, emotional & disturbing. This one is no different. The book opens in 1989 with a brutal day in the life of the Quinn family. Rusty, the father, is typically absent. He’s a small town lawyer who specializes in successfully defending the dregs of society while dodging death threats. It’s just Gamma & daughters Charlotte & Samantha at home that afternoon when 2 masked men come calling. By the time they’re through Gamma is dead, Sam has been shot in the head & Charlie is hiding at a neighbouring farm. The family has been gutted & Rusty makes some snap decisions that will haunt them for years to come. In present day, 41 year old Charlie is a lawyer who just made a huge mistake. She goes to the local school to set things right. Unfortunately, teenager Kelly Wilson chose the same day to stalk the hallways with a gun. By the time the dust settles 2 people are dead, Charlie is injured & Kelly is arrested. The police response is a tad enthusiastic to say the least & in the days that follow, they form a blue wall to make sure their version of events is accepted. Rusty, of course, can’t wait to defend Kelly but Charlie is blindsided by memories of the last time she was held at gunpoint. As she begins to unravel, it’s clear there is one thing she needs. Her sister. We revisit the 1989 attack several times during the course of the book. Charlie & Sam alternate as narrators to give their versions of what happened. A few more details leak out each time & as the whole truth slowly emerges, we begin to grasp the numerous connections to present day events. But it’s not just these events that put you through the wringer. The cast also provokes strong reactions. Slaughter specializes in putting her characters through ordeals that showcase their strengths & weaknesses. As the story progresses, they can morph from good guy to bad & back again, radically affecting how you feel about them. Charlie & Sam are good examples. Both are strong personalities & at several points I wanted to knock their heads together. But there were also times when I wanted to take them to the nearest bar & get them guttered enough to forget what they’d endured. Rusty comes across as a grandstander who talks a lot but says little. I spent much of the story rolling my eyes at his chatter, frustrated by the way he treated the girls. But just as you grow tired of his obscure quotes & homilies, he’ll slip up & reveal the man behind the persona. From one particularly poignant scene... “What a rapist takes from a woman is her future. The person she is going to become, who she is supposed to be, is gone. In many ways, it’s worse than murder, because he has killed the potential person, eradicated that potential life, yet she still lives and breathes….” Several other characters deserve mention. Charlie’s estranged husband Ben is a sympathetic guy who gets dragged into the whole mess. Rusty’s eccentric assistant Lenore has known the girls all their lives & can be counted on for no-nonsense advice. But it’s Kelly who breaks your heart every time she appears. She’s from “the holler”, a trailer park on the edge of town. Her social status & learning disabilities have made her a prime target for mean girls & the cliche of a disaffected youth who finally snapped has the media salivating. My only complaint (and it’s teeny) is the last 20% or so. Was it badly written? Heck no, it’s freaking fabulous. It’s more a case of everything coming to a head at once. Following a pivotal plot twist, it’s like someone opened a cage full of restless clues & they all came out screaming at the same time. So much is revealed that you’re left reeling, trying to keep up as your brain makes a dozen connections. It has a profound effect on what you thought you knew & you may need to take a moment & look at some of the characters with fresh eyes. There are some jaw droppers here. Hidden agendas, secrets & lies will alter what Charlie & Sam had believed for so long. This is a layered, engrossing & sometimes uncomfortable read. It’s an unflinching look at the lives of those judged with prejudice because of their social status & family history. There’s rarely a dull moment & you’ll fly through the pages to discover the fates of these characters you’ve come to care about. Just a heads up: there are scenes that are fairly graphic but not gratuitous as they inform the story on several levels. So if you’re a fan of gritty character driven drama, I’ll just leave you with 2 pieces of advice. Get it. And buckle up.
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    May 28, 2017
    I've always adored Karin Slaughter's writing but this book was something else. I was hooked, the beautifully drawn divisive relationship between the Sister's, their very different connection to their Father, the heartbreaking thing that happened to the family all layered into a twisty plot that is fantastically unpredictable.More nearer publication. Going to be one of the top books of the Summer for me though I think.
    more
  • Karin Slaughter
    May 29, 2017
    A quick note to let you guys know that the publication date has moved up to August 8th for various exciting reasons that will become clear later on.I also want to talk a little bit about the story. (With extremely, incredibly light spoilers in that I tell you who some of the characters are, but not what happens, especially when the aliens come and impregnate the men ha ha okay I'm just kidding about that, but you've been warned!)With the GOOD DAUGHTER, I decided to do another stand-alone because A quick note to let you guys know that the publication date has moved up to August 8th for various exciting reasons that will become clear later on.I also want to talk a little bit about the story. (With extremely, incredibly light spoilers in that I tell you who some of the characters are, but not what happens, especially when the aliens come and impregnate the men ha ha okay I'm just kidding about that, but you've been warned!)With the GOOD DAUGHTER, I decided to do another stand-alone because the Will Trent/Sara Linton story I've been thinking about isn't quite there yet in my head, so I was looking to do something different in order to give myself brain space for both stories to work themselves out. I really enjoyed writing from the point of view of non-investigators in PRETTY GIRLS, because it was a challenge to figure out how to put Claire and Lydia in the middle of the action in a believable way, and have them make choices that a normal person would make (as opposed to choices that would just easily further the plot but don't make a lot of sense for a real human being who is afraid for their life). So I decided to write about a family of lawyers (I know, how did I not just kill them all on the first page). At first I was a little hesitant about writing another sister story, because I didn't want to be the "sister story woman" (which sounds like the title of a great Amish TV show) but I am the youngest of three sisters, so I know what sisters are like, and also, I write about murder in every book and no one thinks of me as the murder woman (though I understand having a last name like "Slaughter" does beg the question). I also wanted to go back to writing about a small town, as I haven't really done that since Grant County. I grew up in a small town, and I do most of my writing in a beautiful, small mountain town (Pikeville is not you, Blue Ridge!) so I know what it's like so be in a place where everyone knows you--or thinks they know you, and how that can at times be rewarding and at other times be incredibly stifling.A lot of times my stories tend to reflect what I'm not seeing in other books that I read, or what I really like in books that I've read (I'm thinking of you, Liane Moriarty!), so one of the other goals in this book was to write about a woman who really, really loves her husband. I am so proud of the way that Will and Sara's relationship has evolved, and I love the respect that they have for each other, because I think more than anything, that's what women crave in a partner: someone who respects their opinion, who they are, what they feel. You could go all the way back to the Knight's Tale in Canterbury Tales to understand this long-standing desire. So, I took the opportunity to write about a woman who adores her husband, but can't quite stop screwing things up. And why she keeps screwing up goes to the heart of one of the many mysteries in this story.Long-time readers will know that I also try to be inclusive in my writing and discuss how the world is for people with disabilities, so I took the opportunity in the GOOD DAUGHTER to write a bit about the struggle for someone who has mobility issues and how often times, small towns are not equipped to handle them (whether through lack of funding or lack of care).Another character I was very eager to write about is Rusty Quinn. A few years ago when Go Set a Watchman came out, I was at dinner with a bunch of authors (for Thrillerfest in NYC) and the NY Times had just released an excerpt where it was revealed that Atticus Finch was not the saint that many of us were led to believe. Greg Isles and I got into a heated discussion about whether or not an educated man in a small Southern town would behave and think the way that the "new" Atticus did. He was firmly on the side of educated men, and I was firmly on the side of a more nuanced approach (perhaps because I had just read a book on the lynching of Leo Frank, and seen photos of some of Georgia's most upstanding citizens--lawyers, judges, p0liticians--standing proudly beside his hanged body). At any rate, I wanted to write about a complicated man, not the saint that Scout worships in To Kill a Mockingbird, and not the casual racist she sees in Watchman. Rusty is a good man, but he has his flaws, chief among them the belief that he always does what is right. Now, as with a lot of people, what "right" means tends to be whatever he feels justified in doing. The question of whether or not he is a good man, or a good flawed man, is another one I mull over in the book.Well, I think that's all I can say without dropping some massive spoilers. So I will leave you with my heart-felt thanks to the GoodReads community (many of whom I've shared some wonderful communications with) and hope that you love this story as much as I do. I know every author says that their favorite book is the last one they wrote, but I cannot express to you how happy I am with the themes and relationships and the fast pacing and the tension that I managed to weave through this novel.Please come see me on my tour! Karin Slaughter
    more
  • Emma
    June 17, 2017
    An easy 5* for this standalone crime/legal thriller. I flat out loved it, Karin Slaughter hasn't hit my heart so hard since I read a ARC of Blindsighted a long, long time ago. The layered, clever plot links two violent, deadly events separated by 28 years as experienced by two very different sisters. It is the interplay between them that make the book so compelling, their complex relationship and the events of both past and present are deliberately revealed by chapters from each perspective, lar An easy 5* for this standalone crime/legal thriller. I flat out loved it, Karin Slaughter hasn't hit my heart so hard since I read a ARC of Blindsighted a long, long time ago. The layered, clever plot links two violent, deadly events separated by 28 years as experienced by two very different sisters. It is the interplay between them that make the book so compelling, their complex relationship and the events of both past and present are deliberately revealed by chapters from each perspective, largely Charlie in the first half and Sam in the second. Each sister's tale is underlined by love and tragedy, by misunderstandings, lies, and personal demons. It is exceptionally well done, true character stories interwoven with drama and tension, and backed up with a cast of the kind of flawed humanity from which you can't look away. The writing is the best she's ever done, piercing and fast paced. Highly recommended.ARC via Netgalley
    more
  • Abby (Crime by the Book)
    June 17, 2017
    Read my full review here: http://crimebythebook.com/blog/2017/6...THE GOOD DAUGHTER is my first Karin Slaughter read, and it absolutely won't be my last. Layered, visceral, and complex, this is a guy-wrenching psychological suspense story from a brilliant author. This book is often quite violent and gritty, but it's balanced perfectly by its rich character development and complex plotting. A fantastic read!!
    more
  • The Book Review Café
    June 26, 2017
    Review to follow as part of the blog tour
  • Mandy
    July 5, 2017
    Easily a five star read for me. I loved this book. I really enjoy Karin Slaughter novels anyway and I am so happy that this one was no exception.This is the story of two sisters, Sam and Charlie, and the way in which their lives were affected following a horrendous attack on themselves and their mother. I just love the way that this author writes her female characters.These two women are damaged, flawed strong, completely believable people, and I loved them both.I found myself reading this book Easily a five star read for me. I loved this book. I really enjoy Karin Slaughter novels anyway and I am so happy that this one was no exception.This is the story of two sisters, Sam and Charlie, and the way in which their lives were affected following a horrendous attack on themselves and their mother. I just love the way that this author writes her female characters.These two women are damaged, flawed strong, completely believable people, and I loved them both.I found myself reading this book feeling a whole range of emotions. Some parts of this book are extremely difficult to read yet I felt that each and every word was necessary to the story. One of my favourite reads of the year.Many thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for letting me read this book.
    more
  • Amy
    June 26, 2017
    Disclaimer: Every time I read a Karin Slaughter book, I gear up for something SPECTACULAR. As far as I’m concerned, she’s set the bar for crime fiction so freaking high that no others need apply. So, it almost seems unfair for me to rate her new novel, as I hold her works to a higher standard. So, please keep that in mind as I go forth with my FOUR star review. It’s possible that if I had read this offering with a different name on the cover, it may have garnered that golden 5 star review from m Disclaimer: Every time I read a Karin Slaughter book, I gear up for something SPECTACULAR. As far as I’m concerned, she’s set the bar for crime fiction so freaking high that no others need apply. So, it almost seems unfair for me to rate her new novel, as I hold her works to a higher standard. So, please keep that in mind as I go forth with my FOUR star review. It’s possible that if I had read this offering with a different name on the cover, it may have garnered that golden 5 star review from me. But, since it’s a SLAUGHTER book, well…I read it, perhaps, a little too harshly.I love that Ms. Slaughter tends to concentrate on small towns, and the lives of those who inhabit them. Having grown up in a relatively small residential area myself, I can relate to that gossipy tendency to never forget the really juicy stuff. More importantly, the gossipers who never let anyone else forget, either. In The Good Daughter, the action kicks off right from the start, when we’re introduced to sisters Charlotte and Samantha Quinn. The siblings live with their mom, Gamma, and their dad, local defense attorney Rusty. Due to the rather unsavory characters Rusty has made a career of protecting, the family is often the target of hostility and, at times, violence. What follows is one such event, so enormous in the scope of its tragedy, that it follows our book subjects throughout the coming decades.The bulk of the story takes place in the same locale, with many of the same players, some 20+ years later. There’s a new tragedy at play, however, necessitating the Quinn family to unite once again. The story flips back and forth between the past and present, filling in some of the blanks for the reader as the pages turn. I tend to enjoy novels written in such a way, as it makes you feel like you’re privy to some of the inner workings of the character that may have been missed if those blanks were never completed. One of the things I enjoy most about Slaughter’s novels is the fact that they’re non-stop. There are no lulls in action. Her chapters tend to run 25+ pages each, which is typically a little long for my taste. In this case, however, you don’t even realize how many pages you’re flying through, because there’s just SO MUCH happening. That brings me to my one, small criticism, however. It was almost like there was too much action. There were too many things going on – too much drama out there. Without giving any specifics, we were dealt a hand loaded down with infidelity, school shootings, grief, marital woes, you name it. With each new event, the likelihood of everything working out well became slimmer and slimmer. Or at least, it appeared that way. As is sadly typical, at the end, the events were all tied up with a neat little bow – not so much a happy ending, as a concise ending, if that makes any sense. I think it was just too much to swallow, particularly when you can usually trust Karin Slaughter to throw in a monkey wrench somewhere. Grant County, anyone? *sigh* I need a tissue.
    more
  • Aileene
    March 18, 2017
    because LOVELY MO knows best
  • Shawna P.
    June 9, 2017
    After reading this authors other standalone novel Pretty Girls, I was a bit hesitant to try another one of her books. While her novel was gripping it was also way too gory for me. The Good Daughter reduces some of the goriness but it's still a harrowing tale. 28 years ago tragedy struck a family and one sister named Charlie is left to pick up the pieces.After trying to get over everything that happened all those years ago Charlie is then thrown back into trauma at a whirlwind rate. What really h After reading this authors other standalone novel Pretty Girls, I was a bit hesitant to try another one of her books. While her novel was gripping it was also way too gory for me. The Good Daughter reduces some of the goriness but it's still a harrowing tale. 28 years ago tragedy struck a family and one sister named Charlie is left to pick up the pieces.After trying to get over everything that happened all those years ago Charlie is then thrown back into trauma at a whirlwind rate. What really happened all those years ago, how does it tie into what is happening now, and what happened to the rest of the family after that incident? Without giving too much away this book was seriously a roller coaster of emotions for me. It did take a bit longer for me to read this because a lot of it had to really do with the legal process of things which is not exactly what I like to read. There were really interesting parts, especially the end. However, it was a little bit predictable. There were a lot of things going on in the book at once and it was just almost too confusing.This book is definitely a crime legal thriller that has some touchy subjects that it covers however it is more about all the relationships between the people in the book. Fathers and their daughters, husbands and wives,cops and lawyers. If you are looking for more of a complex read about how all these different characters and personalities enter twine this is definitely for you. 3.5 in my book.
    more
  • Stacey Taylor
    June 21, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley and the publishers for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review. "The stunning new standalone, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestelling author of the Will Trent and Grant County series.Twenty-eight years ago, Charlotte and Samantha Quinn's happy smalltown family life was torn apart by a terrifying attack on their family home. It left their mother dead. It left their father – Pikeville's notorious defence attorney – devastated. And Thank you to NetGalley and the publishers for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review. "The stunning new standalone, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestelling author of the Will Trent and Grant County series.Twenty-eight years ago, Charlotte and Samantha Quinn's happy smalltown family life was torn apart by a terrifying attack on their family home. It left their mother dead. It left their father – Pikeville's notorious defence attorney – devastated. And it left the family fractured beyond repair, consumed by secrets from that terrible night.Twenty-eight years later, and Charlie has followed in her father's footsteps to become a lawyer herself – the archetypal good daughter. But when violence comes to Pikeville again – and a shocking tragedy leaves the whole town traumatised – Charlie is plunged into a nightmare. Not only is she the first witness on the scene, but it's a case which can't help triggering the terrible memories she's spent so long trying to suppress. Because the shocking truth about the crime which destroyed her family nearly thirty years ago won't stay buried for ever …"*trigger warning for rape*After reading this author's other stand alone novel 'Pretty Girls', I immediately requested this when I saw it was the latest novel by Karin Slaughter and I was not disappointed.I love the way the author writes. 500+ pages and you fly through it, I read this in just 4 sittings. She writes in a way that flows so well. The prose is simplistic, but that's part of the reason it's so easy to read, and one of the many reasons I love Slaughter's work so much.There is great characer development, as always from Miss Slaughter. At first I didn't connect to them as much as I expected to, but I grew to love the sisters and you really do end up feeling for them, especially Charlie. I cried for her when I discovered the true horrors of what when on. I was hooked from the get go. There was not a dull moment within the entire story and I couldn't wait to see what happened next. Was on the edge of my seat throughout the whole thing. Another outstanding novel. 4.5/5*. Bravo
    more
  • Christine
    June 25, 2017
    It is that time of year again! A new Karin Slaughter is released. Fabulous! I am a little sad, that there is no Will Trent or Sara Linton in sight. I am patient (not really). I can pretend to be patient. As Karin Slaughter is one of my absolutely favourite authors, it will come as no surprise that I adored The Good Daughter. I really LOVED it!The Good Daughter takes us into the lives of a tragic family. The story starts with the nightmare of death and violence for two teenage sisters, Charlie an It is that time of year again! A new Karin Slaughter is released. Fabulous! I am a little sad, that there is no Will Trent or Sara Linton in sight. I am patient (not really). I can pretend to be patient. As Karin Slaughter is one of my absolutely favourite authors, it will come as no surprise that I adored The Good Daughter. I really LOVED it!The Good Daughter takes us into the lives of a tragic family. The story starts with the nightmare of death and violence for two teenage sisters, Charlie and Sam and their parents. Their home comes under attack and the family is never the same again. The girls react very differently to this trauma. Twenty eight years later, we see where the horrors of 1989 have taken them. In the present day, there is a new violent act that Charlie gets caught up in. This leads to revelations about the past. What is the truth about 1989?Beautifully written, you cannot help but feel for both sisters and what they have been through. They are very human and very scarred by the past. At times, I felt Charlie and her husband reminded me of Sara and Jeffrey Tolliver. They just did. Slaughter does write some gorgeous relationships, with complex and twisted dynamics. She does sisterly banter so well! She gets the level of violence and the tone just right. She never shies away from the darker side of life, as we have previously seen. No one can leave this book without feeling they have read something very special. In my mind, it matches the excellence of Cop Town.Clever, heart-breaking with total Karin Slaughter magic and a pair of unforgettable sisters! I hope that this is the start of a new series (hint hint).Totally Recommended!
    more
  • Karyn Niedert
    May 16, 2017
    I am beyond giddy that I won this book through Goodreads Giveaway! I haven't won a book in over a year, and this win made it well worth the wait! Now I'll be stalking the mail man for the next five weeks. Poor fella doesn't know what he's in for...UPDATE: So I finished this latest in the Karin Slaughter standalone mysteries in record time, and was enthralled from chapter to chapter. I'd love to sit down for lunch with Ms. Slaughter some afternoon, just to glimpse how her mind works. I've enjoyed I am beyond giddy that I won this book through Goodreads Giveaway! I haven't won a book in over a year, and this win made it well worth the wait! Now I'll be stalking the mail man for the next five weeks. Poor fella doesn't know what he's in for...UPDATE: So I finished this latest in the Karin Slaughter standalone mysteries in record time, and was enthralled from chapter to chapter. I'd love to sit down for lunch with Ms. Slaughter some afternoon, just to glimpse how her mind works. I've enjoyed her writing from her Grant County series, the newer Will Trent series, and love her standalones. "The Good Daughter" is no exception.Charlie and Sam have had a relatively rough childhood, being daughters to the town's most successful defense attorney, Rusty. That their mother, Gamma, is smarter than the whole town combined is an extra cross to bear, but all in all their family is loving and happy. The book opens with their family settling into a crappy farm house, the result of their house in town being burned down after Rusty's latest courtroom victory. Unfortunately, the house fire is not the last heartbreak that the family will bear. An afternoon of unboxing items at their new house will end with a devastating crime that will leave the family changed and damaged for years to come.Weaving between present and past takes us to Charlie all grown up and working in her father's law firm. Charlie finds herself doing a little walk of shame to exchange cell phones with last night's one night stand, a teacher at the local school. After a quick exchange, when the teacher realizes who Charlie's father in and wastes no time sharing his distaste for Rusty, shots ring out through the school hall way. The shooting leaves two dead, and a teenage girl clearly holding the smoking gun. As Rusty and Charlie rush to represent the girl, with an angry town screaming for blood, secrets from the past come out. Why is the teacher so anxious to have the girl fairly represented? What does this shooting have to do with Charlie's past? Slaughter is the absolute MASTER of moving in time, from past to present. She's done this quite deftly in past novels, my favorite (until this book) example being "Criminal", book six of the Will Trent series. Her attention to detail is beyond compare, and the ending to this book is beyond satisfying. My advice to Karin Slaughter fans is to get this book into your hands as quickly as possible, and enjoy!
    more
  • Karin Meinen-Benjamins
    June 20, 2017
    Ja hoor, ik ben blijf een Slaughterfan. Mijn recensie op Samenlezenisleuker:https://samenlezenisleuker.wordpress....
  • Elaine Tomasso
    June 24, 2017
    I would like to thank Netgalley and HarperFiction for an advance copy of The Good Daughter, a stand alone novel set in North Georgia.The novel opens with harrowing scenes of a home invasion and two teenage sisters being forced at gunpoint into the woods. Only one survives. Cut to 28 years later and the surviving sister, Charlie Quinn is now a lawyer with some self destructive issues. One of these leads her into the local school, just as a shooting happens. How these two events affect Charlie and I would like to thank Netgalley and HarperFiction for an advance copy of The Good Daughter, a stand alone novel set in North Georgia.The novel opens with harrowing scenes of a home invasion and two teenage sisters being forced at gunpoint into the woods. Only one survives. Cut to 28 years later and the surviving sister, Charlie Quinn is now a lawyer with some self destructive issues. One of these leads her into the local school, just as a shooting happens. How these two events affect Charlie and her family form the basis of the novel.I thoroughly enjoyed The Good Daughter. Ms Slaughter has a very inviting writing style and I was immediately pulled into Charlie's life. It is a long, sprawling novel with a fairly sedate pace and yet there is plenty to keep the mind occupied. The term southern gothic springs to mind. As it is set in a small town everyone knows everyone and all their business but there are still secrets and some of them are doozies. The twists come throughout the novel, some are surprising, some guessable.The novel also has some surprises in its format. The opening chapter with its description of the attack on Charlie and her family is repeated twice more in the novel word for word (or so it seems) with extra information at the end of it. Does it work? I'm not sure, I found it strange to re-read the same thing I had read an hour or so earlier but it gives the new information a more immediate context even if the impact is lessened by skim reading what has gone before.I don't think there's much new in Ms Slaughter's depiction of small town Southern America but I found the constant death threats against its liberal lawyer, Charlie's father Rusty, a bit hard to swallow. On the other hand the claustrophobia is well drawn and atmospheric.I liked the slow burn of the novel and the gradual revelation of secrets. By the end of the novel most of the reasons for the secrets are revealed and it made me re-assess some of the characters and their actions, not in the sense of liking them better but in my understanding of them.The Good Daughter is a good, intriguing read which kept me up far too late turning the pages to see what was coming next so I have no hesitation in recommending it.
    more
  • Jessica Woodbury
    May 20, 2017
    Karin Slaughter writes about trauma. Her books explore how trauma happens, how it plays out in her characters' lives, and how it can change a person. I often find that Slaughter's standalone novels are better and more satisfying than her series because the trauma she heaps on her characters is contained to just one book instead of having to return over and over again. This is one of Slaughter's better standalones, though I think it doesn't rise to the successes of her more recent standalones, PR Karin Slaughter writes about trauma. Her books explore how trauma happens, how it plays out in her characters' lives, and how it can change a person. I often find that Slaughter's standalone novels are better and more satisfying than her series because the trauma she heaps on her characters is contained to just one book instead of having to return over and over again. This is one of Slaughter's better standalones, though I think it doesn't rise to the successes of her more recent standalones, PRETTY GIRLS and COP TOWN, which I think are her best books. It is a more traditional legal thriller than either of those two, and while it of course contains her standard levels of horrific violence, it doesn't rise to the level of PRETTY GIRLS in that respect, which may be a relief for some readers.Charlie and Sam, the sisters at the center of the novel, are well drawn and interesting. After a horrific crime during their adolescence they have very different responses and very different lives. They are the most successful parts of the book. The plot itself doesn't quite flow the way it could, a few too many tangents. I was usually a few steps ahead of the characters, which is not my favorite place to be. And it does expose some of Slaughter's most common flaws, which you are probably used to by now if you read her regularly. People do terrible things. The way characters view sexual assault in this book feels very problematic. And this is a town in North Georgia where we are told several times that a large Mexican population lives there and yet we never see a single Mexican character. And, of course, as a person who practiced criminal law in Georgia I had to suspend some disbelief, especially for how things play in a small town where all the lawyers know each other. (A defense attorney is the target of threats and violence, often from his own clients, and this is really not how the world works most of the time.)If you are a long-time Slaughter fan you will not be disappointed. For newer readers it's not a bad place to get started. An easier one for me to recommend as an entry point than some of her others.
    more
  • Alissa
    May 8, 2017
    Quick, gripping thriller from master suspense writer Slaughter. Liked that it was a stand alone was sorta disappointed there was no GBI character crossover though - even a glimpse would've been fun for her series readers.
  • Mainlinebooker
    June 27, 2017
    Firstly, I loved that this book was a total reversal of her other books. No, she did not abandon lawyers but this featured a look from the defense which which was refreshing to my bleeding heart. I keep expecting to be disappointed by at least one of her books, but she continues to slay the dragon and happily defy my expectations. In this novel, the voices of her characters were so alive and vibrant that they leaped off the page. Two intertwined stories linked the past and the present. Two siste Firstly, I loved that this book was a total reversal of her other books. No, she did not abandon lawyers but this featured a look from the defense which which was refreshing to my bleeding heart. I keep expecting to be disappointed by at least one of her books, but she continues to slay the dragon and happily defy my expectations. In this novel, the voices of her characters were so alive and vibrant that they leaped off the page. Two intertwined stories linked the past and the present. Two sisters, daughters of a liberal jokester father and a brilliant almost savant- like mother, are subjected to a horrid crime when they are in their young teenage years. Both,reacting to the circumstances in their individual unique way, have had far reaching repercussions on their personal lives.Twenty eight years later, another horrific event occurs which unites them physically and emotionally as they come full circle. As I read the book, I had to put it down several times as my heart was pounding so hard and loud, that I couldn't bear to continue.I would like to package Karin Slaughter and keep her by my bedside. She is just that darn good!
    more
  • Jessikah Stenson
    June 15, 2017
    One of the best written thrillers ever. Yep, I said it.
  • Vilma's Book Blog
    June 26, 2017
    Loved this book! Review to come!
  • Celine Schuurman
    June 22, 2017
    Wow, weer een geweldig boek van Karin Slaughter!Vanaf de eerste bladzijde wordt je meegesleurd in een nagelbijtend spannend verhaal met een onverwachte ontknoping!
  • Roman Clodia
    May 31, 2017
    A standalone from Slaughter where a brutal crime from 28 years ago is finally solved in the present, prompted by another act of violence. In lots of ways, this is more about family relationships (sisters, father/daughter, mother/daughter) than about solving a crime in itself, though the two strands are intricately intertwined. This certainly gives an emotional charge to the text that kept me turning the pages so that I finished this in the early hours of the morning. There are some problems with A standalone from Slaughter where a brutal crime from 28 years ago is finally solved in the present, prompted by another act of violence. In lots of ways, this is more about family relationships (sisters, father/daughter, mother/daughter) than about solving a crime in itself, though the two strands are intricately intertwined. This certainly gives an emotional charge to the text that kept me turning the pages so that I finished this in the early hours of the morning. There are some problems with the pacing, though, with a blip in the middle where the protagonist changes and the narrative gets a bit repetitive before moving forward again. We also have a flurry of revelations at the end, not least a wholly unnecessary confession from not one, but two separate criminal perpetrators. (view spoiler)[ With hindsight, the holes in the plot loom larger than while reading: that Huck and Charlie, living in a tiny town where everyone knows each other, somehow manage to hook up anonymously... that almost all the actors from the first crime gather back together again for the second... and I found the motives for the school crime unconvincing (hide spoiler)].Niggles aside, this is certainly gripping with some excellent characterisation - not quite up to Slaughter's brilliant Cop Town, but a compelling page-turner of a book.Thanks to the publisher for an ARC via NetGalley
    more
  • Tammy Zautner
    July 1, 2017
    DNF @ 32%Ever since Pretty Girls I have been a huge fan girl of Ms. Slaughter's. So I was really excited to see she had another standalone coming out. I started this book about a week and a half ago, approximately, and I've only gotten 32%. This is not good, especially since I put it down and walk away from it for days, dragging myself to open it back up. It really surprises me since I was absolutely enthralled at the beginning; so much so, my mother scared the living daylights out of me. I thou DNF @ 32%Ever since Pretty Girls I have been a huge fan girl of Ms. Slaughter's. So I was really excited to see she had another standalone coming out. I started this book about a week and a half ago, approximately, and I've only gotten 32%. This is not good, especially since I put it down and walk away from it for days, dragging myself to open it back up. It really surprises me since I was absolutely enthralled at the beginning; so much so, my mother scared the living daylights out of me. I thought, "wow, this book is going to be something else if I can slip that far into it that I don't even hear others in the room. Yeah, it didn't stay that way for long. I think the issue is it gets bogged down quickly and begins to move very, very slow. That gripping feeling I had faded away. If I am being completely honest, sitting here writing this review, I can't even remember the characters names or what the book was actually about. And it's only been a few days since I last picked it up.
    more
  • Suzanne
    May 23, 2017
    This is an outstanding book. I struggle to figure out why Karin Slaughter writes so amazingly well about events that surround horrendous crimes (when I normally avoid books now that feature crimes against women just for entertainment.)She can develop characters so completely that you expect to meet them, literally. You, as a reader, could describe their reactions to novel situations. She can create the setting and atmosphere so realistically that even if you are reading in an over-air conditione This is an outstanding book. I struggle to figure out why Karin Slaughter writes so amazingly well about events that surround horrendous crimes (when I normally avoid books now that feature crimes against women just for entertainment.)She can develop characters so completely that you expect to meet them, literally. You, as a reader, could describe their reactions to novel situations. She can create the setting and atmosphere so realistically that even if you are reading in an over-air conditioned room, when her story describes the heat of the summer; you are there. Her dialog is realistic. You end up feeling you are eavesdropping rather than reading.So, given those considerable talents, the question is, has she given us a good tale this time? Has she created something we can really puzzle about? The story is complex and simple, simultaneously. Something awful happened and then 20 years passed and now time catches up. The ability to pace the story and hold back pieces while moving forward is a real skill. That's the part that keeps the reader turning pages late at night and looking bleary-eyed in the morning. As I did and I presume you will also. I've worked hard not to give anything away here. I received my copy from the publisher through edelweiss. I am very grateful.
    more
  • Cheryl
    May 12, 2017
    I loved this book. It was so hard to put down. A lot of O. M. G. moments. A great mystery with interesting characters that you can picture and that you care about! The story is great all the way through to the end.
  • Boekenfans
    June 25, 2017
    GESCHONKEN DOOR HARPERCOLLINS HOLLAND(www.facebook.com/groups/boekenfans)RECENSIESGESCHREVEN DOOR BIANCA MAARTENSEOver de schrijfster:Karin Slaughter (Georgia, 1971) is een Amerikaanse thrillerauteur. Ze verwierf bekendheid met haar zesdelige Grant County-reeks, waarin kinderarts en lijkschouwer Sara Linton haar hoofdpersonage is. Het eerste deel Blindsighted (Nachtschade ) verscheen in 2001, het laatste deel Skin Privilege (Onaantastbaar ) in 2007. Slaughter schreef ook de tweedelige Atlantis-r GESCHONKEN DOOR HARPERCOLLINS HOLLAND(www.facebook.com/groups/boekenfans)RECENSIESGESCHREVEN DOOR BIANCA MAARTENSEOver de schrijfster:Karin Slaughter (Georgia, 1971) is een Amerikaanse thrillerauteur. Ze verwierf bekendheid met haar zesdelige Grant County-reeks, waarin kinderarts en lijkschouwer Sara Linton haar hoofdpersonage is. Het eerste deel Blindsighted (Nachtschade ) verscheen in 2001, het laatste deel Skin Privilege (Onaantastbaar ) in 2007. Slaughter schreef ook de tweedelige Atlantis-reeks met special agent Will Trent in de hoofdrol. Ze verweeft haar beide protagonisten in de in 2009 gestarte Georgia-reeks, waarvan het eerste deel Genesis onder de gelijknamige titel in Nederland werd uitgebracht.Haar thrillers worden wisselend ijzingwekkend, weergaloos spannend en gruwelijk genoemd. Ze werden in achtentwintig landen uitgegeven en verschijnen steevast op de nationale en internationale bestsellerslijsten. In totaal werden van haar boeken alleen al in Nederland meer dan twee miljoen exemplaren verkocht. Slaughter verwierf internationale faam, de titel 'Queen of suspense', een grote schare trouwe fans en veel lof van haar collega-misdaadschrijvers.Achterflap:Achtentwintig jaar geleden: het zorgeloze leven van zusjes Charlotte en Samantha Quinn en hun ouders wordt wreed verstoord door een gruwelijke aanslag. Hun moeder verliest daarbij het leven en hun vader wordt nooit meer de oude.Achtentwintig jaar later: Charlotte - de klassieke 'goede dochter' - is advocaat geworden, in de voetsporen van haar vader. Dan is ze getuige van een nieuwe aanslag, en de details van het misdrijf halen de herinneringen naar boven die ze zo lang heeft geprobeerd te onderdrukken. Want de schokkende waarheid wil niet langer begraven blijven...Mijn mening:Ik heb alle boeken van Karin Slaughter gelezen, ik kan gerust zeggen verslonden. De schrijfster staat garant voor een aantal uren gegarandeerd lees genot. Goede dochter is een stand alone waarin het gezin Quinn van het begin tot het eind centraal staat. De aanslag die 28 jaar geleden op het gezin gepleegd is heeft voor altijd zijn sporen na gelaten. De zusjes Charlie en Sam proberen ieder op hun eigen manier iets van hun leven te maken. Moeder is er niet meer dus ze zijn aangewezen op hun vader die na de bizarre aanslag niet in staat is zijn ware gevoelens te tonen. Wanneer Charlie van dichtbij een nieuwe aanslag mee maakt komen alle oude beelden weer helder op haar netvlies te staan. Dit zorgt voor herbelevingen die moeilijk te verwerken zijn, elke dag moet ze dealen met de gevolgen van hetgeen haar en haar familie is overkomen. Slaughter is een kei in het uitwerken van personages, je voelt het verdriet, de boosheid de machteloosheid die schuilgaat in mensen met toch diep van binnen gevoelens van liefde waar ze zich veelal geen weg mee weten. De levens van de personages voeren de boventoon ten op zichten van de spanning, zo af en toe vond ik het zelf iets te. Het begin en het einde van het boek zijn spannend, heftig en vooral de plot is geweldig, maar wat mij betreft had dit wel in minder dan 500 bladzijden gekund. De plot is rakend, bizar, emotioneel te noemen. Daar heeft Slaughter toch weer heel goed over nagedacht. Als ik het boek dicht sla heb ik begrip voor het gedrag van Rusty waar ik me tijdens het lezen soms aan stoorde, het geven van liefde kan op vele manieren plaats vinden dat wordt na het lezen van dit boek maar weer eens heel erg duidelijk.De laatste 60 bladzijden heb ik twee keer gelezen om alles voor mezelf goed op een rijtje te hebben en dubbel te genieten van het einde.Leesplezier: ****Originalitiet: ****Schrijfstijl: ****Psychologie: *****Spanning: ***Plot: *****Goede dochter krijgt van mij dik verdiend 4 sterren!GESCHREVEN DOOR Joy SienaertDankzij de winactie op de Facebook pagina "Boekenfans" door de uitgeverij HarperCollins Holland heb ik een gratis,splinternieuw boek " de Goede Dochter " van Karine Slaughter ontvangen om te rescenseren. Ik was in de wolken toen ik het boek ontving. Het is voor mij de eerste keer dat ik deelnam aan een winactie en ik was aangenaam verrast. Ik had al vele goede dingen gehoord over de schrijfter "Karine Slaughter" maar was er nog niet aan toegekomen om een boek van haar te lezen. Wat me opviel aan de kaft van het boek toen ik het de eerste keer bekeek waren de gevouwen handen (zoals bij het ontvangen van de hostie bij het doen van de communie in de katholieke godsdienst) waarin het papier ligt dat vuur vat en asresten er rond heeft. Ik vind deze afbeelding zeer goed gekozen voor het verhaal. Ook de titel "Goede dochter" past in het verhaal en is een zeer goede keuze. Als je het boek helemaal hebt uitgelezen weet je het complete "waarom" de schrijfster deze titel gekozen heeft. Het voorstukje van Flannery O' Conner helemaal vooraan in het boek doet je meteen zin krijgen om het boek in één ruk uit te lezen want het is zo mysterieus dat je er nieuwsgierig van wordt.Een korte samenvatting van de achterkant van het boek:Achtentwintig jaar geleden: het zorgeloze leven van zusjes Charlotte en Samantha Quinn en hun ouders wordt wreed verstoord door een gruwelijke aanslag. Hun moeder verliest daarbij het leven en hun vader wordt nooit meer de oude.Achtentwintig jaar later: Charlotte - de klassieke 'goede dochter' - is advocaat geworden, in de voetsporen van haar vader. Dan is ze getuige van een nieuwe aanslag, en de details van het misdrijf halen de herinneringen naar boven die ze zo lang heeft geprobeerd te onderdrukken. Want de schokkende waarheid wil niet langer begraven blijven...Mijn besluit:Het boek is zeker een aanrader voor wie van veel spanning houdt. De spanning wordt geleidelijk aan opgebouwd en beetje bij beetje past de puzzel steeds beter in elkaar door de tijdsprongen van heden naar verleden en de twee verschillende gebeurtenissen. Het is zeker de moeite waard om te lezen want het is een boek dat absoluut NIET verveelt. Voor wie nog nooit een boek van deze schrijfster heeft gelezen is dit zeker een goed boek. Je kan hem lezen zonder dat je voorkennis moet hebben van één van haar andere boeken. Je moet je zeker niet laten afschrikken door de 510 bladzijden die het boek telt want 1 keer als je er in begint leest het als een trein. Mijn score voor dit boek is een 10/10
    more
  • Bex (Beckie Bookworm)
    June 19, 2017
    Arc Reviewed By Beckie Bookworm https://www.beckiebookworm.com/Now, this was the first book I have read by Karin Slaughter and it was also a very enjoyable experience.first I will say that The Good Daughter was totally different to what I was expecting but this was so not a bad thing for me.I'm a sucker for a good psychological thriller, but I also love the drama that comes with a good ole family saga, This story brilliantly combined these two elements giving us an insight into the fallout that Arc Reviewed By Beckie Bookworm https://www.beckiebookworm.com/Now, this was the first book I have read by Karin Slaughter and it was also a very enjoyable experience.first I will say that The Good Daughter was totally different to what I was expecting but this was so not a bad thing for me.I'm a sucker for a good psychological thriller, but I also love the drama that comes with a good ole family saga, This story brilliantly combined these two elements giving us an insight into the fallout that comes when horrific tragedy strikes an ordinary family and how these dynamics can spiral, taking on a life of their own through miscommunication and prideful behaviour.The outcome of this incident echoing down the unfolding decades.This story describes the events that occur to the Quinn family, resulting in a death and two young teenagers with scars both physically and figuratively for life.Samantha and Charlotte's lives are about to come full circle when events in their home town bring them along with their father together again.This was a very easy read, that kept you guessing until the end, the graphic descriptions both pulled you in while equally repelling you with the realness behind the visuals provided.I'm not easily grossed out but MAN!!! it was way EWW!!! in places.So, in conclusion, I would definitely give The Good Daughter a big thumbs up, a very intriguing read.Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for providing me with an advanced reader copy it was thoroughly devoured by me, this is my own personal opinion of this book.https://www.beckiebookworm.com/https://www.facebook.com/beckiebookworm/
    more
  • Claire Henson
    June 27, 2017
    I received an arc copy from Netgalley of this book for an open and honest review. Recently I have been reading young adults and supernatural books, these are great I love them, I love the supernatural genre and I think the stories are fun,however, I have read a lot of them and this book really honed in on the fact that I have really missed a good old fashioned Suspenseful Thriller! It's absolutely amazing,I was hooked like a fish on a rod, I literally could not put this book down it got to the p I received an arc copy from Netgalley of this book for an open and honest review. Recently I have been reading young adults and supernatural books, these are great I love them, I love the supernatural genre and I think the stories are fun,however, I have read a lot of them and this book really honed in on the fact that I have really missed a good old fashioned Suspenseful Thriller! It's absolutely amazing,I was hooked like a fish on a rod, I literally could not put this book down it got to the point where I'm reading it to the very last second before I need to leave for work or I can't quite go to sleep yet I just have to finish this chapter.The writing is spectacular she has this amazing ability to really bring you into the story,you are invested in the characters, you want to know them, you want to be with them, you feel their pain, their joy and you want what they want and you're afraid when they're afraid and I think that's just such a fantastic skill set to have.I love the characters I think Sam and Charlie are great and they really work of each other and I love rusty especially nearing the end when you find out more about him, you really find out who he is and what makes him tick and I think he has some really good advice that he gave them.This book is painful and it's sad and it's tough but there is a light at the end of the tunnel there is good in it as well and I really don't want to say anymore as I don't want to say anything about the story as I don't want to spoil it but it is an amazing story and I truly recommend this.
    more
Write a review