Nightwing, Volume 2
Dick Grayson's adventures as Nightwing continue in the second volume collecting the best-selling Nightwing series from DC Universe: Rebirth!Former Robin and retired superspy Dick Grayson has returned to Gotham and stepped back into his life as Nightwing--the blue-and-black clad vigilante known for going where others won't. Fresh off a deep cover operation to infiltrate the Parliament of Owls, Nightwing must come to terms with secrets of his past that will forever change his destiny. Featuring appearances by Batman and Superman, this volume is packed with nonstop action and adventure!Written by Grayson veteran scribe Tim Seeley, Nightwing, Volume 2: Blüdhaven continues the spectacular adventures of the former Robin, Dick Grayson!Collecting: Nightwing 9-15

Nightwing, Volume 2 Details

TitleNightwing, Volume 2
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN1401270859
ISBN-139781401270858
Number of pages168 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Superheroes, Dc Comics, Comic Book

Nightwing, Volume 2 Review

  • Chris
    February 16, 2017
    Read in single issues. Collects Nightwing #9-15.The second volume of Nightwing's Rebirth series sees Dick Grayson move to Blüdhaven for a quieter, character-driven arc that provides a welcome change of pace.Blüdhaven has changed since we last saw it, having revamped it's boardwalk into a tourist destination, complete with cheesy slogans such as 'Get your Blüd up!'. The mayor's primary goal of selling the city as a safe tourist destination means that crime goes unchecked anywhere that isn't lit u Read in single issues. Collects Nightwing #9-15.The second volume of Nightwing's Rebirth series sees Dick Grayson move to Blüdhaven for a quieter, character-driven arc that provides a welcome change of pace.Blüdhaven has changed since we last saw it, having revamped it's boardwalk into a tourist destination, complete with cheesy slogans such as 'Get your Blüd up!'. The mayor's primary goal of selling the city as a safe tourist destination means that crime goes unchecked anywhere that isn't lit up by a bright neon sign. When a series of murders are connected to a group of former villains seeking reform, Nightwing gets caught up in trying to clear their name. Which is easier said than done when the police and the lead detective on the case don't tolerate "the tights" in their city.Marcus To joins the series on art duties and does a good job throughout. While his style is fairly 'safe' and he has a tendency to leave white space and plain backgrounds, his characters looks great and the city has plenty of detail. He is outshone however by colourist Chris Sotomayor, who uses a varied palette to soak the city in neon-washed grime. A perfect example of how important colourists are to comic art, Sotomayor brings the characters to life with bold costumes and emphasises key moments with striking hues. Ivan Reis also continues to impress with his ongoing run of fantastic variant covers.While Seeley's narrative feels a bit uninspired this time around (which isn't helped by a very predictable reveal towards the end), I appreciated the steadier pace at which the story develops. Character interactions are the highlight of the arc, along with Dick's attempts to rebuild his faith and trust in others after the events of the first volume. My favourite issue was one that featured almost no action, instead focusing on detective work and adding character to the city and it's inhabitants.The main arc is bookended by two one-shots, the first of which sees Dick meeting the Pre-New 52 Superman for the first time. It's a tale that's heavy on optimism, which is perfect for these two heroes. The second is centered around a new romance and has some great exchanges between Dick and his friends (view spoiler)[Which sadly, doesn't quite make up for said romance going from zero to "I love her" in twenty pages. I wish DC would just put Dick and Babs together. There's real chemistry there. (hide spoiler)].Despite not enjoying this arc as much as the first, I still think Tim Seeley is doing a good job with Nightwing and I'm even more impressed with colourist Chris Sotomayor. With Javier Fernandez returning for the next arc and a new, personal threat looming, I can't wait to see what happens next.
    more
  • Sesana
    June 20, 2017
    There's a lot that I like in here. It was about time that Dick got out of Gotham and back to Bludhaven. He simply isn't needed in Gotham, and getting him out of the shadow of Batman, Batwoman, Batgirl, Robin, Red Robin... It's necessary for the character, and it's a better and more sustainable move than working undercover as a spy. I like Dick going into social work, though there's a few truly hysterical mentions of Dick "draining" his savings. The notion that Dick Grayson, Bruce Wayne's oldest There's a lot that I like in here. It was about time that Dick got out of Gotham and back to Bludhaven. He simply isn't needed in Gotham, and getting him out of the shadow of Batman, Batwoman, Batgirl, Robin, Red Robin... It's necessary for the character, and it's a better and more sustainable move than working undercover as a spy. I like Dick going into social work, though there's a few truly hysterical mentions of Dick "draining" his savings. The notion that Dick Grayson, Bruce Wayne's oldest son, doesn't have a hefty trust fund that would let him do whatever the hell he wants without concern for money is probably the least plausible thing in a life that has included dating an orange alien, but DC writers have been trying to convince me this is so for years. I also sort of fell in love with the concept of a group of D list ex-villains moving to Bludhaven to get away from the Bats so they can try to start over. The relationship with Shawn Tsang is probably going to divide a lot of readers. Why does Dick need yet another love of his life? He's already gone through three, and there's no way this relationship can survive the next writer reverting to Babs or Kori or Helena. And yet... I kind of like Shawn. And the fast-forward issue that tried to convince me they were super serious did at least make them look like a cute couple, even if I'm not entirely sold on them being deeply in love.Oh, yeah, there's a story, too. And it's not bad. I feel like I've read this story in Bat-related books at least two or three times before. There's nothing unusually good about this take, and the ending is predictable as can be. But a paint-by-the-numbers story is largely redeemed by an interesting cast of characters, including a delightfully salty police detective. I wanted to like it more than I did. It's a fairly good volume overall, but it would have been great with a more exciting story.
    more
  • Danielle
    May 19, 2017
    Read this review and more on my blog, uncovered-books.I received a free copy of Nightwing Volume 2: Back To Blüdhaven from DC Comics in exchange for my honest opinion.After the events of Nightwing Volume 1 and Batman: Night Of The Monster Men, Nightwing feels like to have a fresh start as he had started questioning himself.The storyline follows Nightwing moving from Gotham to Blüdhaven and what happens in the first few weeks that he is their. Both Nightwing and Dick Grayson have to deal with stu Read this review and more on my blog, uncovered-books.I received a free copy of Nightwing Volume 2: Back To Blüdhaven from DC Comics in exchange for my honest opinion.After the events of Nightwing Volume 1 and Batman: Night Of The Monster Men, Nightwing feels like to have a fresh start as he had started questioning himself.The storyline follows Nightwing moving from Gotham to Blüdhaven and what happens in the first few weeks that he is their. Both Nightwing and Dick Grayson have to deal with stuff that they thought that they would not have to and this leads to a very good character arc.The art style was again a good balance of background detail whilst not distracting you from what was the focus of the panel. The contrast between the colour palette of Nightwing and Dick Grayson made it obvious which aspect of him we were focusing on .Another great addition for Nightwing which most people will enjoy.
    more
  • Rick Hunter
    June 21, 2017
    The first volume of this Rebirth Nightwing series didn't feel like much of a rebirth. It was too tied into everything that happened to Dick Grayson going all the way to the very beginning of the New 52. Dick was still dealing with people like Tiger and Midnighter that he'd met during his spy days as Agent 37 working for Spyral. He was still taking on the Owls. Hell, Dick even had some interactions with someone that knew his mother waaaay back in the day. Since the first volume dealt with so much The first volume of this Rebirth Nightwing series didn't feel like much of a rebirth. It was too tied into everything that happened to Dick Grayson going all the way to the very beginning of the New 52. Dick was still dealing with people like Tiger and Midnighter that he'd met during his spy days as Agent 37 working for Spyral. He was still taking on the Owls. Hell, Dick even had some interactions with someone that knew his mother waaaay back in the day. Since the first volume dealt with so much of the past, it seemed more of a continuation of the New 52. With this volume, we finally get a proper rebirth.The book starts off with a standalone issue that has Superman take Dick to Bludhaven, a city not far outside Gotham. The Superman Dick knew is dead. This Superman is from a different universe. He tells Dick that in his world Nightwing left Gotham for Bludhaven to become his own man and escape Batman's shadow. Since Dick is trying to rediscover himself after all he's been through in recent years, he decides moving to Bludhaven temporarily to find himself. As so often happens, life has other plans. As soon as Dick moves to town, he is pulled into a case where prominent city figures are being killed. Dick runs into some former Gotham villains that have relocated to Bludhaven for pretty much the same reasons he did. They're tied up in what is going on, but how? Are they as guilty as they appear or is it something else? This story is the major part of the book and takes up the middle 5 issues.Finally the book wraps up with another solo issue tale. It takes place over the course of a couple of months as Dick narrates to us about the new love in his life. Many of Nightwing's costumed allies that know him very well all meet with him at different times to see how he's doing on his own. We, the readers, find out about his relationship as he discusses it with the various Bat-family members and former Teen Titans that show up. The meeting between Nightwing and Batgirl is short, but extremely touching. I've said before in reviews for previous books that Tim Seeley really understands who Dick Grayson is as a character. That is never more evident than the scenes Dick and Batgirl have shared in the last 2 volumes. As much as I enjoyed the rest of the book, that one little section really stands out to me like a gigantic Bat-signal is drawing my focus right to it. That one scene touched me deeply and makes me want to give a higher score than what the rest of the book deserved. I debated with myself for a while before finally deciding on a 4 star score for the writing.I initially didn't think the art in this volume was going to be a whole lot better than the art in volume 1, which absolutely loathed. The first issue in the book, #9, is drawn by artist Marcio Takara. His art has its good moments, but it's really inconsistent looking. One panel will be good. The next several won't look anything like the good panel. All of his characters are really baby-faced. This version of Superman is older than the one Dick knew, but he looks like a teenager in the face. Issues #10-14 were drawn by Marcus To. There is a remarkable difference in the art during this meaty section of the book. This is the best art on the series to date. As much as I loved To's art, it makes me sad in a way because I'm pretty sure I will have to suffer through the atrocious artwork of the artist that drew volume 1 when I get to volume 3. Why can't To, or at least somebody as talented as To, draw the other parts of the series? The final issue is illustrated by Minkyu Jung who has a similar style to To, but the art is just shy of the bar set by To. It looks good. It just doesn't look as good as To's art. 3.75 stars for the art.I don't think the story was quite as good as volume, but it was still highly enjoyable. The art was much better though. That means this one gets a higher overall rating than volume one did. I'd recommend this volume to anyone that likes Nightwing. This is also a great jumping on point for new readers. Overall rating 4 stars. ***** I got digital copy from the publisher through Netgalley.com.
    more
  • Hannah
    June 17, 2017
    ARC REVIEW Story: Nightwing’s future is undetermined at the starting point of this comic he’s been suffering from some pretty bad dreams, Superman has an idea on what might be happening and he helps Nightwing and gives him the idea that maybe moving to Blüdhaven, like the Nightwing he knew, would be the best course of action for him. Dick takes the advice and moves to Blüdhaven to start over with a clean slate and to help sort out everything that has happened. Once there it becomes obvious that ARC REVIEW Story: Nightwing’s future is undetermined at the starting point of this comic he’s been suffering from some pretty bad dreams, Superman has an idea on what might be happening and he helps Nightwing and gives him the idea that maybe moving to Blüdhaven, like the Nightwing he knew, would be the best course of action for him. Dick takes the advice and moves to Blüdhaven to start over with a clean slate and to help sort out everything that has happened. Once there it becomes obvious that the city needs him just as much as he needed a new place to call home. A group of reformed villains have taken refuge in Blüdhaven, they just want a chance to start over. But the crime is rising and someone is framing these reformed villains for murders they didn’t commit. Nightwing is the only one that believes them and goes against the police and a crime boss to prove his new friend’s innocence.Art: Marcus To did a great job with the art, the backgrounds and details are wonderful. The coloring had a nice contrast between the neon colors and the dark and it seemed to fit in with the setting. Sometimes though Grayson looked like he was drawn you young, there wasn’t enough detail drawn on his face and he ended up looking like a young teenager instead of the adult he his. Other than that it was visually compelling the art did a wonderful job of telling the story. I loved Ivan Reis, Oclair Albert and Sula Moon’s variant covers.Characters: Nightwing/Dick Grayson, Superman, Shawn Tsang/Defacer, Gorilla Grimm, Juan-Andres Santos Suarez/ Thrill Devil, Brendon Li/ Giz, Pamela Sweigeld/ Mouse, Randy/ Stallion, The Orca, Detective Svoboda and special appearances by Starfire, Kid Flash, Batgirl, Red Hood, Bruce and AlfredReview: What I enjoyed most about this was Grayson learning that the world consisted of just more that black and white, the varying shades of gray in between are what most people live in and coming to Blüdhaven and becoming friends with the Run-offs along with coming to terms with what happened at the start of Rebirth he has learned so much, and had quite a bit of character development. Of course I’m a sucker for romance and I like how Shawn and Grayson started their relationship. Damn you cliffhanger!
    more
  • Chris Lemmerman
    June 11, 2017
    [Read as single issues]The second Rebirth storyline for Nightwing takes him back to his old stomping ground - welcome back to Bludhaven, Dick. Hope you survive the experi-no, wait, that's X-Men.So after his disastrous attempts at taking down the Parliament Of Owls and Raptor, Dick heads off out of Batman's shadow to star fresh in Bludhaven. Soon he finds trouble in the form of the Run Offs - ex-supervillains who just want to live normal lives, but instead keep getting framed for crimes they didn [Read as single issues]The second Rebirth storyline for Nightwing takes him back to his old stomping ground - welcome back to Bludhaven, Dick. Hope you survive the experi-no, wait, that's X-Men.So after his disastrous attempts at taking down the Parliament Of Owls and Raptor, Dick heads off out of Batman's shadow to star fresh in Bludhaven. Soon he finds trouble in the form of the Run Offs - ex-supervillains who just want to live normal lives, but instead keep getting framed for crimes they didn't commit. Enter Nightwing, who isn't about to let that happen.The actual mystery of the story isn't that compelling, if I'm honest. The real fun is seeing Dick interacting with all these different characters, and his burgeoning relationship with Shawn Tsang, made even better by flashbacks to their previous encounters when Dick was just Robin.The art is by the always delightful Marcus To, with Minkyu Jung aiding him in finishing off the final few issues as well as the epilogue issue. To's artwork is great, although I don't think pairing him with colourist Chris Sotomayor is such a good idea - Sotomayor's colour choices here seem to make things look a little washed out, as opposed to the bold colours he usually selects. Not a deal breaker, but it creates a slightly different atmosphere for the book than you'd expect, given To's previous collaborations with Guy Major and Ruth Redmond on Red Robin and New Warriors respectively.
    more
  • Kristen Duncan
    June 23, 2017
    “Y'know what, I'm too tired to pretend I understand this alternate universe stuff.” Nightwing, I'm with you sometimes, bro. ;)At the beginning of Nightwing, Volume 2: Back to Blüdhaven, Nightwing is unsure what his future will entail. He’s suffering from nightmares that he's unable to shake even during his waking hours. Superman has an idea of what is causing the nightmares and offers to help. He suggests that moving to Blüdhaven would be in Dick's best interest, to which Dick agrees. Once there “Y'know what, I'm too tired to pretend I understand this alternate universe stuff.” Nightwing, I'm with you sometimes, bro. ;)At the beginning of Nightwing, Volume 2: Back to Blüdhaven, Nightwing is unsure what his future will entail. He’s suffering from nightmares that he's unable to shake even during his waking hours. Superman has an idea of what is causing the nightmares and offers to help. He suggests that moving to Blüdhaven would be in Dick's best interest, to which Dick agrees. Once there, he discovers that his supervisor is a former villain, Defacer. While patrolling the city, he encounters another former villain from Gotham named Gorilla Grimm. Dick discovers a support group for former Gotham villains who want to change their villainous ways. Unfortunately, crime is on the rise and the reformed villains are being framed. Nightwing must side against the law to prove his unlikely new friends' innocence before it is too late. “I know what this looks like. Me in the lead. Nightwing. Former kid sidekick. Current young adult superhero. Flanked by my new super-team. But these guys aren't superheroes. And we're not charging into battle against some cosmic maniac. No. We're running full steam...”I was provided an Advanced digital copy of this comic by Netgalley. Thank you!
    more
  • Kendall
    June 15, 2017
    This was way more enjoyable than I thought it would be (Volume 1 was just okay for me). I love Nightwing and to see him wanting to help previous villains who are reformed and who just want normalcy (but keep getting framed for crimes they don't commit), is typical, awesome Nightwing. The story arc is full of new beginnings for Nightwing, who is no longer living in Batman's shadow. With his return to Bludhaven, Nightwing is becoming the superhero he is meant to be. Art work is great and I'm reall This was way more enjoyable than I thought it would be (Volume 1 was just okay for me). I love Nightwing and to see him wanting to help previous villains who are reformed and who just want normalcy (but keep getting framed for crimes they don't commit), is typical, awesome Nightwing. The story arc is full of new beginnings for Nightwing, who is no longer living in Batman's shadow. With his return to Bludhaven, Nightwing is becoming the superhero he is meant to be. Art work is great and I'm really excited about the storyline and where it seems to be going.
    more
  • Adam Graham
    June 19, 2017
    This book collects Issues 9-15 of Nightwing. The book is essentially a five part story bracketed in by a One Shot. Issue 9 is, “Fighting Destiny” and finds Dick having some serious nightmares. Superman comes along to help him. Even though, he’s not the Superman Dick knows, the two have a good dynamic and it’s interesting to see that relationship to develop. There are also some good insight as Dick faces his fears.Issues 10-14 is a five part story that has Dick moving to Blüdhaven in an attempt t This book collects Issues 9-15 of Nightwing. The book is essentially a five part story bracketed in by a One Shot. Issue 9 is, “Fighting Destiny” and finds Dick having some serious nightmares. Superman comes along to help him. Even though, he’s not the Superman Dick knows, the two have a good dynamic and it’s interesting to see that relationship to develop. There are also some good insight as Dick faces his fears.Issues 10-14 is a five part story that has Dick moving to Blüdhaven in an attempt to get in touch with himself and find out who he really is and to enjoy a city where everything is black and white and he hoped to work in the light as a social worker. Unfortunately, it turns out not to be all that simple. As his boss is a former supervillainess and Blüdhaven has become a refuge for ex-minor villains seeking to turn over a new leaf who go by the name the Run Offs. In addition to that, there’s a series of murders that the Run Offs are being framed for. Overall, this story’s got solid characters, a good mystery, and also some nice character work for Dick.Issue 15 features a new romance for Dick and focuses on its development . It’s counting down to the present and setitng up the next big storyline. I like the story and the way it just does focus on the relationship and insight into the characters without having to have those as elements jammed into an action story, even though its clearly set up for the next storyline. Given that there were already six issues in this trade, it’s probably reasonable to wonder if this shouldn’t have been included in the next trade, but that’s nitpicky.Overall, Nightwing continues to be an enjoyable character driven series. This book manages to mine some good moments from what would normally be lesser characters including a battle with the infamous villain Orca. A solid installment.***Disclosure: I Received a free digital copy from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • JenLovesBooks
    June 9, 2017
    This was one of those that I thought would be way out there and I wouldn't find as entertaining as many other comics with Nightwing, but I was surprised to find I very much enjoyed this comic and getting to see all the characters that filled its pages. There was so much going on in Blüdhaven and fun characters like Mouse, Giz, Stallion, and so many more. Their is Nightwing trying to find out the truth about deaths that seem not to have been caused by the accused. It wasn't always eye-catching or This was one of those that I thought would be way out there and I wouldn't find as entertaining as many other comics with Nightwing, but I was surprised to find I very much enjoyed this comic and getting to see all the characters that filled its pages. There was so much going on in Blüdhaven and fun characters like Mouse, Giz, Stallion, and so many more. Their is Nightwing trying to find out the truth about deaths that seem not to have been caused by the accused. It wasn't always eye-catching or the most unique story, but it was a fast paced read that worked really well with this issue. I couldn't get enough of the special guests which including Superman, Batman, Robin, Batgirl... and the list goes on. The rest kept filling the pages as I kept reading and never stopped. And when it feels like the good guys, trying to get everything back to order, are going to end up victims and culprits in all of this things get shifted around and keeps me reading along.I also liked how everything was wrapped up, when it seemed it was going too perfect, too happily scripted, another twist is thrown into the mix and makes it even better. I'm left wanting to read more of it and really liking most of the illustrations that made up this novel. It's one I will definitely be picking up for my collection. ***I received this copy from DC Comics via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.***
    more
  • Eric Pecile
    June 26, 2017
    In this volume, Nightwing attempts to deal with personal struggles he was unable to grapple with at the start of his Rebirth saga. Hoping to find a black and white world in Bludhaven, he takes it upon himself to solve some high-level municipal crime. However, he finds himself confronted with former enemies who are no longer who he thought they were, forcing him to question once again if his desire for moral simplicity is in fact possible. If you enjoyed the first instalment of Nightwing Rebirth, In this volume, Nightwing attempts to deal with personal struggles he was unable to grapple with at the start of his Rebirth saga. Hoping to find a black and white world in Bludhaven, he takes it upon himself to solve some high-level municipal crime. However, he finds himself confronted with former enemies who are no longer who he thought they were, forcing him to question once again if his desire for moral simplicity is in fact possible. If you enjoyed the first instalment of Nightwing Rebirth, then this is definitely the well narrated and well-drawn sequel you would have been waiting for.
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    June 23, 2017
    Gack! I just don't like this Nightwing as much as I loved the "New 52" Nightwing. His look is different; He's only average looking rather than gorgeous, so he doesn't fulfil my fangirling. After the weird dream sequence of the first issue, the story was pretty good and had a lot of interesting new super-villain characters. I just adored The Orca, a killer whale woman with a muscular and thick, yet feminine body shape. The ending is pretty intense and does have me very intrigued with what will ha Gack! I just don't like this Nightwing as much as I loved the "New 52" Nightwing. His look is different; He's only average looking rather than gorgeous, so he doesn't fulfil my fangirling. After the weird dream sequence of the first issue, the story was pretty good and had a lot of interesting new super-villain characters. I just adored The Orca, a killer whale woman with a muscular and thick, yet feminine body shape. The ending is pretty intense and does have me very intrigued with what will happen next volume.
    more
  • John Yelverton
    June 13, 2017
    Well, the day has finally arrived where I don't like the premise, but the story was really good. It was actually a detective story. The kind that has been missing from "Detective Comics" for decades. Unfortunately, Nightwing going to Bludhaven and the people he encounters there leaves much to be desired.
    more
  • Marcus
    June 20, 2017
    I like where Nightwing finds himself and his search of who he wants to be, away from Gotham. But the story is very conventional, you know what's about to happen, and there's nothing that hooked me. Most of the characters are bland, the action seemed rushed and many of the jokes didn't land for me.
    more
  • Nathaniel Darkish
    June 3, 2017
    This was a very enjoyable Nightwing story-- I really enjoy the idea of seeing former villains trying to reform themselves. The characters were largely enjoyable, the mystery fun (though not overly surprising). All and all one of the better DC Rebirth books I've read.
    more
  • Diego López Ocón
    May 14, 2017
    Don't get confused about those three stars, this was good If you want to skip all those ties from the New 52 resolved in the first volume, you can just go and pick up this one instead.
  • Marcela
    June 3, 2017
    The art continues to suffer from the heavy linework that's been plaguing so many Rebirth books, and the colors are overly simplistic. But the writing is really solid and I am enjoying the story Seeley is telling enough to bump this up to four stars.
  • Lestat
    May 27, 2017
    Review to follow publishing date - June 20
  • Anne Armacost
    June 25, 2017
    Getting 4 stars because stupid cliffhangers. When is trade 3 coming out?
  • Brian Cambra
    June 25, 2017
    Overall this was a pretty good read. It didn't knock my socks off, but I enjoyed it. However, it feels like it ends setting up a pretty intense story. So I am very eager for volume 3
  • Tim
    June 20, 2017
    I miss Javier Fernandez's art from the first volume, but Seeley has a great handle on Nightwing and has really captured his voice.
  • Veronica
    June 22, 2017
    How could it end there??
  • Luis Reséndiz
    February 24, 2017
    situar la historia en blüdhaven, la vieja confiable de los guionistas de nightwing, demuestra una vez más su efectividad. acá está padre ver a nightwing hacerla un poco más de detective en un whodunnit bastante predecible, pero no por eso menos efectivo. el dibujo de marcus to, una especie de amerimanga sobrio, parece quedarle a la perfección a dick grayson y el resto del elenco, y blüdhaven está lo suficientemente bien ambientada como para que nos creamos que es una ciudad distinta a gotham. re situar la historia en blüdhaven, la vieja confiable de los guionistas de nightwing, demuestra una vez más su efectividad. acá está padre ver a nightwing hacerla un poco más de detective en un whodunnit bastante predecible, pero no por eso menos efectivo. el dibujo de marcus to, una especie de amerimanga sobrio, parece quedarle a la perfección a dick grayson y el resto del elenco, y blüdhaven está lo suficientemente bien ambientada como para que nos creamos que es una ciudad distinta a gotham. rebirth va por buen camino.
    more
  • Kelsey
    January 23, 2017
    Read in singles. Dick is in Bludhaven to reflect on his trust issues, to reflect on how all the mishaps over recent years have lead to an error in judgement that got people killed. And the previous villain played a huge part in that.This is classic Dick, classic giving people the benefit of the doubt because optimism is the better way to live. Just wish we had the classic finger stripes to go with.
    more
  • Luke Sims-Jenkins
    February 15, 2017
    The first volume of Nightwing was just.... okay, but I stuck with it, because I thought it had potential and even though I don't know much about Nightwing, there's something about him I've always liked.Unlike Batman which I thought got worse, Nightwing got better. I never read any of his old tales in Bludhaven, but this one was a lot of fun. Dick is looking to find himself again and comes to Bludhaven to sought out his life. This really worked for me, I feel like I know him a lot better now and The first volume of Nightwing was just.... okay, but I stuck with it, because I thought it had potential and even though I don't know much about Nightwing, there's something about him I've always liked.Unlike Batman which I thought got worse, Nightwing got better. I never read any of his old tales in Bludhaven, but this one was a lot of fun. Dick is looking to find himself again and comes to Bludhaven to sought out his life. This really worked for me, I feel like I know him a lot better now and by the end I was rooting for him to save the day. The artwork was really good and told the story well.Tim Seeley I think is only going to get better on Nightwing and I for one am glad to have stayed on for the ride.
    more
  • Ffcharade
    April 16, 2017
    Nightwing settles down in Bludhaven. It deviates from the high-tension globetrotting action from the first arc for a more grounded and colorful story. The plot itself is a bit lackluster, and one particular reveal is very predictable. That said, there's a very human character arc about a young man trying to escape the stresses from his work, a cast of interesting characters, and a realistically written romance subplot.
    more
Write a review