Divinity III
Earth has a new god. The world you know is gone. Welcome to the Stalinverse, comrade.Welcome to the year 2017 where the Soviet Union has spent decades as the world's reigning superpower and the Iron Curtain now encircles a planet riddled with war, strife, and oppression. Freedom is a thing of the past in the Stalinverse So why can't Russian intelligence officer Colin King shake the feeling that something has gone terribly wrong? He'll put his freedom and life on the line to uncover the truth Even if that means finding out whatever happened to the long-missing cosmonaut Abram Adams the one man who just might hold the key to unraveling the dystopian world of today.New York Times best-selling writer Matt Kindt (4001 A.D.) and blockbuster artist Trevor Hairsine (DIVINITY II) bring you the Valiant Universe like you've never seen it before!Collecting: Divinity III: Stalinverse 1-4

Divinity III Details

TitleDivinity III
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 16th, 2017
PublisherValiant Entertainment, LLC
ISBN1682151913
ISBN-139781682151914
Number of pages112 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction

Readers also enjoyed


Divinity III Review

  • FanboyBen
    May 23, 2017
    Mini-review: 3.5 starsDarn it, Valiant–you were THIS close.For the first three issues of “Divinity III: Stalinverse”s four-issue run, I was convinced that I was reading not only the best event series/crossovers/mega-series/whatever-you-want-to-call-these-BIG-series that Valiant had produced since their 2012 reinvigoration, but also potentially their best story, PERIOD. The fact that this was the closing act of a trilogy only made the whole feel that much more epic and impressive.And then we got Mini-review: 3.5 starsDarn it, Valiant–you were THIS close.For the first three issues of “Divinity III: Stalinverse”s four-issue run, I was convinced that I was reading not only the best event series/crossovers/mega-series/whatever-you-want-to-call-these-BIG-series that Valiant had produced since their 2012 reinvigoration, but also potentially their best story, PERIOD. The fact that this was the closing act of a trilogy only made the whole feel that much more epic and impressive.And then we got to that last issue. And the whole boat capsized.I won’t give anything away, but the way that writer Matt Kindt “wraps up” his story here is…ugh. I’ve used this analogy in other reviews before, but it’s just too fitting to not use again here: what Kindt essentially does over the course of “Divinity III: Stalinverse” is thus:a.) He sets up a chess board,b.) he proceeds to play the best, most thrilling game of chess that you’ve ever witnessed, and thenc.) he decides, upon reaching the game's conclusion–instead of going for "Checkmate" and delivering the big payoffs you've been waiting for– to instead tip the board over, say “Whatevs,” and walk away. It’s unsatisfying at best and semi-insulting at worst, especially when one has devoted their time and money not only to all four issues of the series, but also the prior two series in the trilogy. I won’t go as far to say that readers “deserve” a satisfying conclusion, because every artist has the right to create their art the way that they see fit…but I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t feel just a bit slighted by the whole thing.And yet, I’m still giving “Divinity III: Stalinverse” 3.5 stars, based primarily on the strength of Trevor Hairsine’s art–this guy might just be my favorite Valiant artist right now–and the narrative promise that the first three issues display, despite the fourth’s ultimate failing to fulfill it. Overall, “Divinity III: Stalinverse” is worth a read, but take my advice: write your own ending. Whatever it is, it’s bound to be more satisfying than the one that Kindt delivers.
    more
  • Wayne McCoy
    June 1, 2017
    'Divinity III: Stalinverse' by Matt Kindt with art by Trevor Hairsine is a cool take on an alternate history and what some are willing to do to set things right.If you're new to this series, this isn't the best place to start. A powerful godlike being has messed up history. What has now happened is that during World War II, Russia took over Europe. It's now 2017 and the Americas have been Soviet colonies since 1995. A man named Colin King suspects that this is not the way things are supposed to 'Divinity III: Stalinverse' by Matt Kindt with art by Trevor Hairsine is a cool take on an alternate history and what some are willing to do to set things right.If you're new to this series, this isn't the best place to start. A powerful godlike being has messed up history. What has now happened is that during World War II, Russia took over Europe. It's now 2017 and the Americas have been Soviet colonies since 1995. A man named Colin King suspects that this is not the way things are supposed to be. He visits a man named Abram Adams who may be able to help set things right. The only problem is that Abram is in a psychiatric hospital.The art is just great. I loved the way this book looked. The covers are some of the best I've seen. This is a 4 issue story arc, and it builds really nicely, but the ending felt like a bit of a let down. I am giving this 4 stars for a mostly good story and all good art.I received a review copy of this graphic novel from Valiant Entertainment, Diamond Book Distributors, and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for allowing me to review this graphic novel.
    more
  • Chad
    May 24, 2017
    One of the godlike cosmonauts from the previous Divinity series has changed time so that the Soviets take over the world after WWI. Now the only two people who remember the old universe must convince Abram Adams to help revert history.This was pretty great. I wish Valiant would abandon its 4 act structure for some of their event books. 6 issues would have given us more time to explore the Stalinverse. But overall a great series.Received an advance copy from Valiant and NetGalley in exchange for One of the godlike cosmonauts from the previous Divinity series has changed time so that the Soviets take over the world after WWI. Now the only two people who remember the old universe must convince Abram Adams to help revert history.This was pretty great. I wish Valiant would abandon its 4 act structure for some of their event books. 6 issues would have given us more time to explore the Stalinverse. But overall a great series.Received an advance copy from Valiant and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Paul Franco
    May 8, 2017
    This takes place in an alternate reality where the Soviet Union invaded and took over all of Europe in WW2. Funnily enough, they placed McCarthy as their puppet US president. Now there’s plenty of protests, so the Soviets send one mean-looking dude to put them down, while around the world other agents show how they fight against rebellions.There’s double agents, fantasy elements, humans on Mars. One of the bad squad is named Baba Yaga, so there’s some humor here. But the cliffhanger at the end o This takes place in an alternate reality where the Soviet Union invaded and took over all of Europe in WW2. Funnily enough, they placed McCarthy as their puppet US president. Now there’s plenty of protests, so the Soviets send one mean-looking dude to put them down, while around the world other agents show how they fight against rebellions.There’s double agents, fantasy elements, humans on Mars. One of the bad squad is named Baba Yaga, so there’s some humor here. But the cliffhanger at the end of issue #3. . .For what started out as a promising plot to have such a. . . pedestrian ending dropped my enjoyment a notch.
    more
  • Garrett
    May 19, 2017
    More brilliance from this excellent dystopian Valiant trilogy; this was really the perfect ending to this weird and mind-bendingly violent transition from series to series. The art, as always, was excellent, and the writing in this one almost deeper, in terms of characterization than the two previous chapters. Really good stuff, and poignantly relevant. "Stalinverse," indeed.
    more
  • Thomas Maluck
    March 30, 2017
    One of the best trilogies in comics, period.Some of my reasons can be found at Book Riot.
  • Josh
    March 29, 2017
    Alternate universe. Stylized art. Great story.
  • Phillip
    April 23, 2017
    Disclaimer: I received a free ecopy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.What would the world be like if the Soviet Union had won? Not just the Cold War, but if they were successful going back to the end of WWI, it might look something like this book. It reimagines the Valiant universe in a Soviet dominated Earth.To begin with, this isn't particularly friendly to new readers. It does give some background on the Divinity storyline, which has the most impact on this one of the other Vali Disclaimer: I received a free ecopy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.What would the world be like if the Soviet Union had won? Not just the Cold War, but if they were successful going back to the end of WWI, it might look something like this book. It reimagines the Valiant universe in a Soviet dominated Earth.To begin with, this isn't particularly friendly to new readers. It does give some background on the Divinity storyline, which has the most impact on this one of the other Valiant books. They fail to introduce most of the characters though. For someone already familiar with them, this book was perfectly fine. Others might find it off putting or hard to follow.I love what they do with the traditional Valiant heroes, both in terms of characterization and art. The groundwork for the conflict was laid out in the previous Divinity books, so it is satisfying to see what happened to the third cosmonaut. The art is great. It captures the setting perfectly. Divinity III is a blast to read.
    more
Write a review