Mighty Jack and the Goblin King (Mighty Jack, #2)

Mighty Jack and the Goblin King (Mighty Jack, #2) Details

TitleMighty Jack and the Goblin King (Mighty Jack, #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 5th, 2017
PublisherFirst Second
ISBN1626722668
ISBN-139781626722668
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Fantasy, Childrens, Comics, Middle Grade

Readers also enjoyed


Mighty Jack and the Goblin King (Mighty Jack, #2) Review

  • Ellie
    March 17, 2017
    I really like how this series is for kids just on the cusp of becoming teens. It's a tricky time to accurately portray, but these books feel authentic, despite all of the fantasy. This one was a bit more formulaic or less fantastical in some way, so it felt a little less exciting than the first volume. The epilogue has me so excited to see what's next, though, and I will definitely recommend this volume along with the first to tweens on up!This review is based on NetGalley ARC provided in exchan I really like how this series is for kids just on the cusp of becoming teens. It's a tricky time to accurately portray, but these books feel authentic, despite all of the fantasy. This one was a bit more formulaic or less fantastical in some way, so it felt a little less exciting than the first volume. The epilogue has me so excited to see what's next, though, and I will definitely recommend this volume along with the first to tweens on up!This review is based on NetGalley ARC provided in exchange for an honest, unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    February 15, 2017
    Those last few pages!!!
  • Rose
    December 23, 2016
    Sometimes Hatke is almost too brilliant. It's a tough call, but this might be even better than the first one. He plays off of classic fairy tales and makes them totally his own in a wonderful new way.
  • Allison
    March 5, 2017
    What a wonderful reimagining of the folktale Jack and the Beanstalk. It was a fast-paced adventure that I didn't put down from start to finish. I'm looking forward to anything else Ben Hatke writes. The only minor downside, at the ending, is a cross-over between what I'm assuming to be his other series, Zita the Spacegirl. I've been meaning to read that series but haven't gotten around to it yet. I had no idea who the people were at the ending until I put two-and-two together. I think, for audie What a wonderful reimagining of the folktale Jack and the Beanstalk. It was a fast-paced adventure that I didn't put down from start to finish. I'm looking forward to anything else Ben Hatke writes. The only minor downside, at the ending, is a cross-over between what I'm assuming to be his other series, Zita the Spacegirl. I've been meaning to read that series but haven't gotten around to it yet. I had no idea who the people were at the ending until I put two-and-two together. I think, for audiences that have read Zita before, they'll totally get it. For us that haven't, it was a slightly confusing ending to an otherwise great book.
    more
  • Cassie Thomas
    March 15, 2017
    Received ARC from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review. Hatke knows how to take you on an action packed adventure with Jack and Lilly through every single page. The Mighty Jack series are graphic novels that can be used in so many ways in the classroom. The twist with Jack's sister, Maddie, makes the plot fit in with modern day, and then the ability to leave you wanting more on every page makes for an amazing storyline. Absolutely read in order, but don't disregard The Mighty Jack series fo Received ARC from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review. Hatke knows how to take you on an action packed adventure with Jack and Lilly through every single page. The Mighty Jack series are graphic novels that can be used in so many ways in the classroom. The twist with Jack's sister, Maddie, makes the plot fit in with modern day, and then the ability to leave you wanting more on every page makes for an amazing storyline. Absolutely read in order, but don't disregard The Mighty Jack series for your middle grade classroom. All of your students will enjoy.
    more
  • Rebekah Crain
    March 4, 2017
    3.5 starsWhen I requested this book from NetGalley for review I thought it was going to be some modern retelling of my favorite, Labyrinth. The synopsis coupled with the title made it sound like it could have easily been one such story, but it wasn't. Instead it was a new take on the Jack & the Beanstalk classic fairytale. What I also didn't know was that it was the 2nd book in a series. So, with all of that out there, let me just say that I still enjoyed this graphic novel.The artwork was s 3.5 starsWhen I requested this book from NetGalley for review I thought it was going to be some modern retelling of my favorite, Labyrinth. The synopsis coupled with the title made it sound like it could have easily been one such story, but it wasn't. Instead it was a new take on the Jack & the Beanstalk classic fairytale. What I also didn't know was that it was the 2nd book in a series. So, with all of that out there, let me just say that I still enjoyed this graphic novel.The artwork was superbly bright and colorful. Every image on every page popped. The story concept was fairly easy to follow; although I didn't buy in to all of the plot lines. Some were just a little unbelievable- even for a comic. There were a few aspects of the story, specifically how the characters came to be where they were and their background stories, that I felt a little lost on due to not having read the original book in the series. With that in mind, I'd definitely recommend others not begin here but rather with book one. Thanks to the author, publisher, and NetGalley for providing me this ARC and review opportunity.
    more
  • Jamie-Lee
    March 12, 2017
    Fast paced adventure with good humour and characters. Can;t wait to see where they head next!
  • Nancy
    February 21, 2017
    The first book was a big hit at my library, and there are quite a few middle-graders anxiously awaiting this follow up. They will not be disappointed. The action is exciting, the plot well paced, the artwork evocative, and the characters fully developed. Jack continues to be a determined hero, and Lilly is as "feisty" as ever. And, oh, I think I am just as in love with these books as my young patrons! Ben Hatke has truly created a vivid and brilliant retelling of the classic Jack tale, and it is The first book was a big hit at my library, and there are quite a few middle-graders anxiously awaiting this follow up. They will not be disappointed. The action is exciting, the plot well paced, the artwork evocative, and the characters fully developed. Jack continues to be a determined hero, and Lilly is as "feisty" as ever. And, oh, I think I am just as in love with these books as my young patrons! Ben Hatke has truly created a vivid and brilliant retelling of the classic Jack tale, and it is more than worthy of shelf space in any library.(PS-I absolutely adore all of the Hatke's creatures. Special shout out to those dude's in the pipes!)ARC provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • Jenni
    February 27, 2017
    Oh, that ending!!
  • Kate
    February 22, 2017
    I was able to read an advanced copy thanks to NetGalley. I loved the art in both this book and the first book. It's a great retelling of Jack and the Beanstalk in graphic novel form. I will definitely be ordering this and all the future volumes for the library.
    more
  • Yoomi
    February 15, 2017
    Ahhhhhhh!!!! *happy dance*Ben Hatke delivers, as always. There's plenty of action and I really didn't want it to end. But there's a great surprise at the end! If you know of anyone who reads middle grade books, young and old, I highly recommend it.I received a digital ARC from Netgalley.
    more
  • Eric
    February 15, 2017
    Of course it's amazing. The double page spread at the end might be the most exciting thing I've ever seen!
  • Melissa
    March 28, 2017
    I was devastated yesterday when my break time was up and I had to stop reading - and I counted down the time until I could read again today! Finishing up the story started in "Mighty Jack" we see just what the beanstalk had in store for Jack, Lilly and Maddy - mostly danger around every turn! How will they team up to escape?My only complaint was that Maddy was simply the damsel in distress for much of the story - while she was much more instrumental in the first installment. I even considered gi I was devastated yesterday when my break time was up and I had to stop reading - and I counted down the time until I could read again today! Finishing up the story started in "Mighty Jack" we see just what the beanstalk had in store for Jack, Lilly and Maddy - mostly danger around every turn! How will they team up to escape?My only complaint was that Maddy was simply the damsel in distress for much of the story - while she was much more instrumental in the first installment. I even considered giving this just 4 stars instead of 5 but...O.M.G. that epilogue!I can't say more here because Spoilers! so you'll all just have to read it yourselves. But if you've been a fan of Ben Hatke, I'm sure you'll fangirl squee at the ending just as I did :-)
    more
  • Kellee
    March 22, 2017
    *Mighty Jack and the Goblin King by Ben Hatke is just as good as the first one, and I love the world that Hatke has created for Jack, Maddy, and Lilly. The creatures are so creative and interesting, the adventures are heart stopping, and the characters are so well developed. And GUYS! There is an epic cliffhanger ending! I cannot wait!
    more
  • Jessica
    March 21, 2017
    An exciting conclusion to this modern day version of Jack and the Bean Stalk. In this volume we find Jack and Lily in the land of Giants trying to rescue Jack's little sister. Jack and Lily are separated for most of the story. Jack's story is heavy on action and sword fighting. Lily's story also has plenty of action, as well as her introduction to Goblin society and a battle against their King. There's also a setup for a future Zeta The Spacegirl crossover. Lighthearted, swashbuckling, graphic n An exciting conclusion to this modern day version of Jack and the Bean Stalk. In this volume we find Jack and Lily in the land of Giants trying to rescue Jack's little sister. Jack and Lily are separated for most of the story. Jack's story is heavy on action and sword fighting. Lily's story also has plenty of action, as well as her introduction to Goblin society and a battle against their King. There's also a setup for a future Zeta The Spacegirl crossover. Lighthearted, swashbuckling, graphic novel fun, with a hint of heart and darkness. A good recommendation for older elementary and middle school graphic novel and action fans.
    more
Write a review