Do Not Become Alarmed
The sun is shining, the sea is blue, the children have disappeared.When Liv and Nora decide to take their husbands and children on a holiday cruise, everyone is thrilled. The adults are lulled by the ship’s comfort and ease. The four children—ages six to eleven—love the nonstop buffet and their newfound independence. But when they all go ashore for an adventure in Central America, a series of minor misfortunes and miscalculations leads the families farther from the safety of the ship. One minute the children are there, and the next they’re gone. The disintegration of the world the families knew—told from the perspectives of both the adults and the children—is both riveting and revealing. The parents, accustomed to security and control, turn on each other and blame themselves, while the seemingly helpless children discover resources they never knew they possessed. Do Not Become Alarmed is a story about the protective force of innocence and the limits of parental power, and an insightful look at privileged illusions of safety. Celebrated for her spare and moving fiction, Maile Meloy has written a gripping novel about how quickly what we count on can fall away, and the way a crisis shifts our perceptions of what matters most.

Do Not Become Alarmed Details

TitleDo Not Become Alarmed
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherRiverhead Books
ISBN0735216525
ISBN-139780735216525
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Thriller, Mystery, Adult, Mystery Thriller, Adult Fiction, Family, Contemporary, Suspense, Novels

Do Not Become Alarmed Review

  • Diane S ☔
    May 23, 2017
    Two couples, Liv and Nora, their spouses and four children between the ages of six and eleven, decide to take a two week cruise to South America. On the ship they meet an Argentinian couple vwith two children of their own and become friends. At first at the various ports they stay on the ship but eventually decide to go ashore and take the children zip lining. The men decide to play golf instead, leaving the women and the children with their excursion guide. Things will go horribly awry, and due Two couples, Liv and Nora, their spouses and four children between the ages of six and eleven, decide to take a two week cruise to South America. On the ship they meet an Argentinian couple vwith two children of their own and become friends. At first at the various ports they stay on the ship but eventually decide to go ashore and take the children zip lining. The men decide to play golf instead, leaving the women and the children with their excursion guide. Things will go horribly awry, and due to a few different circumstances the children will become separated from their mothers.A strange country, a terrifying loss, this book was so very suspenseful. In alternating chapter we hear from the adults and also some of the children. That one of the youngest children has a medical condition makes this even more terrifying. As we follow the attempts to find the whereabouts of those lost we watch as the parents blame each other, blame themselves. A parents worst nightmare, in a county ruled by various drug factions, crooked police and violence, they with the aid of a few must try to connect the pieces and follow the flow of happenings. Things do keep happening, new pieces uncovered consistently, creating a very fast paced story full of tension.Well plotted, culturally aware, this story is very frightening in its reality. Motto: Do not ever, but especially in a foreign country, take your eyes off your children.ARC from Riverhead publishers.Release date, June 6th.
    more
  • Kay
    April 20, 2017
    Two families on a cruise ship vacation - the mothers are cousins. Four parents - four kids. They meet another family from Argentina who have two teenagers. All the families decide to try some shore excursions in a Central American country and then the worst happens. Through a series of misadventures, all the children are gone. Told from the viewpoints of the parents and the missing children, the reader follows along and the pace of the story quickens. Lots and lots of things happen and, yes, som Two families on a cruise ship vacation - the mothers are cousins. Four parents - four kids. They meet another family from Argentina who have two teenagers. All the families decide to try some shore excursions in a Central American country and then the worst happens. Through a series of misadventures, all the children are gone. Told from the viewpoints of the parents and the missing children, the reader follows along and the pace of the story quickens. Lots and lots of things happen and, yes, some are a bit improbable or hard to believe. However, this is fiction and I found it very, very difficult to put the book down. Along with the chills, the tale made me consider so many thought-provoking topics. Safety or lack of, race, gender, privilege, poverty, what happens to children in the world as a whole, families, justice...I was thinking about all of these as I was also trying to find out the 'rest of the story'. An author I haven't read before, but one I will seek out in the future. I'll be interested to see what others think of this book.
    more
  • Andrea
    March 29, 2017
    Won this book on goodreads,took me ages to get into this book.its a okay read maybe just not my type of book.
  • Thebooktrail
    March 8, 2017
    Full review to come of course but some early thoughts: You might not want to read this is you're about to go on a cruise! Jeepers what happens when they stop at a beach to escape the ship for a while....Seen through the eyes of the parents and the children who disappear, this is a novel of family dynamics, the will to survive and some lessons of what not to do anywhere never mind in the middle of a jungle in the middle of Central America.The writing ranges from insightful paragraphs to clippy an Full review to come of course but some early thoughts: You might not want to read this is you're about to go on a cruise! Jeepers what happens when they stop at a beach to escape the ship for a while....Seen through the eyes of the parents and the children who disappear, this is a novel of family dynamics, the will to survive and some lessons of what not to do anywhere never mind in the middle of a jungle in the middle of Central America.The writing ranges from insightful paragraphs to clippy and abrupt sentences mirroring the action in the book very well.And that title? Well I am. Too late. ;)
    more
  • Vikki VanSickle
    January 26, 2017
    Two American families escape the madness of Christmas to go on a cruise only to face their worst nightmares when the children go missing in South America. The premise of this book will appeal to the readers who can't get enough of griplit like The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go, and The Couple Next Door, but Meloy's deft prose and incising perception into humanity sets Do Not Become Alarmed apart from the crowd. Privilege, expectation, naivete, ego, love, humiliation, betrayal and chance are al Two American families escape the madness of Christmas to go on a cruise only to face their worst nightmares when the children go missing in South America. The premise of this book will appeal to the readers who can't get enough of griplit like The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go, and The Couple Next Door, but Meloy's deft prose and incising perception into humanity sets Do Not Become Alarmed apart from the crowd. Privilege, expectation, naivete, ego, love, humiliation, betrayal and chance are all mixed up in a heady read about how our worst nightmares tear us apart but can also bring us together. The narration allows simultaneous glimpses into what's happening to the missing children and their distraught parents, ratcheting up the tension and making it almost impossible to stop reading. Incidents of sex and violence are casual and shocking, effectively knocking the reader off their axis in what is a compelling, at times uncomfortable, read. Great for fans of Siracusa, Meg Wolitzer, and Emma Straub.
    more
  • Val
    March 27, 2017
    I received this book free from Good Reads.It is about two cousins Liv (plus husband Benjamin & 2 children Sebastian 8yrs old & Penny 11yrs old) & Nora (plus husband Raymond & 2 children Marcus 11yrs old & June 6yrs old).They have decided to take a 2 week cruise down the coast of Mexico & Central America over Christmas & the new year. Things do not turn out as they expected.I really enjoyed reading it, it is a page turner & with something happening on every page &a I received this book free from Good Reads.It is about two cousins Liv (plus husband Benjamin & 2 children Sebastian 8yrs old & Penny 11yrs old) & Nora (plus husband Raymond & 2 children Marcus 11yrs old & June 6yrs old).They have decided to take a 2 week cruise down the coast of Mexico & Central America over Christmas & the new year. Things do not turn out as they expected.I really enjoyed reading it, it is a page turner & with something happening on every page & I could not wait to see how it all ended.My only criticism would be that I do not think that the introduction of Noemi & her uncle Chuky added much to the plot.
    more
  • Jean Brown
    February 28, 2017
    4.25...
  • Bonnie Brody
    April 25, 2017
    I've always loved Maile Meloy's writing, especially her short stories, but this novel proved disappointing. The premise is that two couples go on a cruise together and their children disappear somewhere in South America. One would think that there would be a lot of adventure, heart ache, complexity of emotions, and mystery. While these things were partially present, the novel lacked good characterization. Without good character development, the rest of the book lost its focus.The two wives on th I've always loved Maile Meloy's writing, especially her short stories, but this novel proved disappointing. The premise is that two couples go on a cruise together and their children disappear somewhere in South America. One would think that there would be a lot of adventure, heart ache, complexity of emotions, and mystery. While these things were partially present, the novel lacked good characterization. Without good character development, the rest of the book lost its focus.The two wives on the cruise are cousins who have been very close since childhood. Each of the couples have two children. The two couples meet up with an Argentine couple who also have two children. One day, when the boat docks on shore, the guys decide to golf and the wives decide to take their children zip lining. The zip lining shore excursion is supposed to be sanctioned by the cruise line. The guide, Pedro, experiences a flat tire and the car gets into an accident. Instead of zip lining, the group decides to go to a beach that Pedro says is safe. Two of the mothers fall asleep on shore, one wanders off in the jungle, and the next thing they know is that the children have disappeared.As the families try to coalesce in order to find their children, enmity strikes. There is blaming, character attacks, and hidden agendas coming to the surface. They try working with the police but soon realize that the police department is inefficient at best and corrupt at worst. Each of the characters felt like a different Barbie Doll version. There was no uniqueness to them and each could have been pulled from any ubiquitous romance series. As I read the novel, I saw the characters as outlines for people that might have had depth if the author had further developed them. Unfortunately she didn't, and the book lacks most of the redeeming qualities found in the author's earlier works.
    more
  • Michelle
    April 19, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book, definitely a page turner to see what happened next. But what happened next did at times stray into the improbable, the chaos escalates and it does get a little far fetched. I suppose it could happen in that one bad decision leads to another but it does require a bit of suspension of disbelief. But hey, I read books about talking ships, dragons and vampires so perhaps these events are more probable than I would credit.I don't think it spoils the enjoyment of the book, I really enjoyed this book, definitely a page turner to see what happened next. But what happened next did at times stray into the improbable, the chaos escalates and it does get a little far fetched. I suppose it could happen in that one bad decision leads to another but it does require a bit of suspension of disbelief. But hey, I read books about talking ships, dragons and vampires so perhaps these events are more probable than I would credit.I don't think it spoils the enjoyment of the book, by the time I thought it was getting too much, I was completely hooked and wanted to know what happened. And it is definitely a page turner and has the elements of a good thriller to keep you hooked. I have recommended it to people and would say it's definitely worth a read for thriller enthusiasts, the premise is interesting and different from the usual crime investigation/psychological thriller. I think I read it in a day as I needed to know what happened next despite what happened next raising an incredulous eyebrow or two. It is well written and engaging, told from several perspectives and how events affected individual and different people was really well done. The writing is crisp and sharp. I think it deserves a 4.5 star rating and i hope others will read it as it is different from all the books that promise to be the next Gone Girl and don't deliver. I received a copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway.
    more
  • michelle
    May 10, 2017
    Thank you Netgalley and Penguin books for a copy of this book for an honest review.Cousins Liv and Nora decided to take their husbands and young children on a cruise over Christmas down the coast of Mexico and Central America . Everyone is happy. They meet a family from Argentina who have teenage children.One day on the cruise the husbands decide to go on a golf trip and Liv and Nora decide to go on a excursion to look out for Monkeys. They have a guide called Pedro. They end up on a beach and s Thank you Netgalley and Penguin books for a copy of this book for an honest review.Cousins Liv and Nora decided to take their husbands and young children on a cruise over Christmas down the coast of Mexico and Central America . Everyone is happy. They meet a family from Argentina who have teenage children.One day on the cruise the husbands decide to go on a golf trip and Liv and Nora decide to go on a excursion to look out for Monkeys. They have a guide called Pedro. They end up on a beach and suddenly the children go missing.The story then centres around the parents, the horror of their children goes missing, the relationships and the communication barriers between the countries authorities and the breakdown of the parents relationships and coming to terms with everything when the children were found.This book I'm afraid wasnt for me. Although it was an Ok read. I struggled through this. There was no likeable characters and there was too many of them. If you don't understand spanish. There was a few conversations in it you may get a bit lost. I was waiting for a big ending but It didn't deliver for me.
    more
  • Geneviève
    May 28, 2017
    Great novel, I couldn’t stop reading it! I am glad I discovered Maile Meloy.Do Not Become Alarmed is the story of two really close cousins who go on a holiday cruise with their family. On a zipline adventure ashore, the mothers are distracted and their children disappear. This is not your typical thriller where you’re asking yourself all along, where are the children? What happened to them? Because you do know. This is genius! This book is unique in the sense that you live the parent’s roller co Great novel, I couldn’t stop reading it! I am glad I discovered Maile Meloy.Do Not Become Alarmed is the story of two really close cousins who go on a holiday cruise with their family. On a zipline adventure ashore, the mothers are distracted and their children disappear. This is not your typical thriller where you’re asking yourself all along, where are the children? What happened to them? Because you do know. This is genius! This book is unique in the sense that you live the parent’s roller coaster of emotions as well as the children incomprehensiveness and a bit of their naivety. I loved the characters of the mothers, Liv and Nora, whose relationship changed because of guilt, blame and fear. I surely recommend this book and I thank Riverhead Books for the ARC. G-
    more
  • Carol Peace
    April 9, 2017
    This was a win with Goodreads first reads and I am so pleased I won. The book was a revelation of what could happen in just a moment by taking your eye off your children. Liv, Nora and their families go on a holiday cruise they want to give the christmas festivities a miss this year and on board the ship they will not have to worry. The children will love the nonstop buffet and the grown ups can relax. The problem starts when they decide to go ashore for a Zip line excursion,they break down and This was a win with Goodreads first reads and I am so pleased I won. The book was a revelation of what could happen in just a moment by taking your eye off your children. Liv, Nora and their families go on a holiday cruise they want to give the christmas festivities a miss this year and on board the ship they will not have to worry. The children will love the nonstop buffet and the grown ups can relax. The problem starts when they decide to go ashore for a Zip line excursion,they break down and take their eyes off the children for minutes only but they disappear and the nightmare begins. It is a story told not just from the parents perspective but that of the children also and it makes you want to hold your children just a little bit more tightly and even though you really don't want to read more you can't help but race to the finish to find the ending. I really loved the book and I will look out for Maile Meloy books in future.
    more
  • Jeanette
    April 6, 2017
    I was thrilled when i discovered that I had won this novel in a recent Goodreads First Reads giveaway. Mainly because I do love to cruise and do cruise once a year. Having a story based around a cruise was more than welcome.From the moment I started to read this novel, I felt as if I had boarded the ship too. Signing the papers to confirm you have not been ill recently, to having credit size cards being given for spending on board! This was quite a page turner and whilst I rarely write what a st I was thrilled when i discovered that I had won this novel in a recent Goodreads First Reads giveaway. Mainly because I do love to cruise and do cruise once a year. Having a story based around a cruise was more than welcome.From the moment I started to read this novel, I felt as if I had boarded the ship too. Signing the papers to confirm you have not been ill recently, to having credit size cards being given for spending on board! This was quite a page turner and whilst I rarely write what a story is about for fear of spoiling for others, I do recommend.
    more
  • Charlotte Annelise
    April 7, 2017
    This book is very gripping and I was very invested in the plot. I was constantly wanting to know what would happen to the characters and what the outcome would be. I enjoyed how entertaining it was. That being said, this book, I felt, was all over the place. There were so many unnecessary characters that confused me and did not need to be included. There were also times were I was questioning who a certain character was. There are six kids, the captors, the parents, the detectives, and some othe This book is very gripping and I was very invested in the plot. I was constantly wanting to know what would happen to the characters and what the outcome would be. I enjoyed how entertaining it was. That being said, this book, I felt, was all over the place. There were so many unnecessary characters that confused me and did not need to be included. There were also times were I was questioning who a certain character was. There are six kids, the captors, the parents, the detectives, and some other minor characters, which seemed slightly excessive. The fate of the characters is fairly predictable. It was easy for me to guess what would happen to Hector, who is one of the missing children. Therefore, the mystery did not greatly shock me. Something I did like about the narrative was that it was told in the perspectives of many characters. One negative to writing a book like this is that it is hard to give each character a different voice, but when I was reading this book, I could easily tell whose perspective I was reading from. It was also cool to show what the victims were going through at the same time the parents were wondering where they are, as you do not read this often in thriller/mystery books. Thank you to Penguin Books for the advanced reader copy that I received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Alex
    March 30, 2017
    Make sure you put this on your summer reading list. It's so engrossing it's easy to miss how much is packed in here, but it's a great look at family and marriage while being thrilling and having a point of view on travel, race, class, and more. G
  • Mandy Laferriere
    May 4, 2017
    This is one of those “it could happen to anyone,” worst nightmare kind of stories. As a parent, one poor decision could change your life forever. No one likes to think about it, but we all know the possibility is out there, and this story examines that in excruciating detail. Two cousins and their families decide to take a cruise together. They befriend an Argentinian couple and their children. On a shore day, the dads decide to go play golf, and the moms take the kids on an excursion. After a f This is one of those “it could happen to anyone,” worst nightmare kind of stories. As a parent, one poor decision could change your life forever. No one likes to think about it, but we all know the possibility is out there, and this story examines that in excruciating detail. Two cousins and their families decide to take a cruise together. They befriend an Argentinian couple and their children. On a shore day, the dads decide to go play golf, and the moms take the kids on an excursion. After a few questionable decisions on the part of the moms, the kids are gone. The story jumps back and forth between the perspective of the kids, being held hostage in a foreign country, and the grieving parents who are desperately trying to get their children home. There is definitely some skill in building tension here. One of the children is diabetic, which adds an additional level of urgency. I had a hard time connecting with any of these characters, though. The moms, even though they were supposed to be very different people, just didn’t have different voices, and all of the kids were sort of interchangeable in my mind. Even the teen Argentinian wasn’t differentiated from the little American girl very well. I found myself struggling to figure out who was talking during the entire novel. It wasn’t 100% necessary to know who was talking to enjoy the story, though. Will the parents find the kids, or will the worst happen? That’s the driving force that makes you keep reading.***Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an ARC of this title.***
    more
  • Jo
    May 18, 2017
    Liv arranges a cruise over the holidays as her cousin Nora has just suffered a bereavement.Their husbands and children go along too and what develops on a shore trip is a parents worse nightmare. The children are there one minute and then gone the next.What transpires is a journey through parenthood and the test of marriages and friendships. Liv and Noras close relationship is stretched to the limit and may be one that they cannot return to.This is a brave journey exploring what people think,how Liv arranges a cruise over the holidays as her cousin Nora has just suffered a bereavement.Their husbands and children go along too and what develops on a shore trip is a parents worse nightmare. The children are there one minute and then gone the next.What transpires is a journey through parenthood and the test of marriages and friendships. Liv and Noras close relationship is stretched to the limit and may be one that they cannot return to.This is a brave journey exploring what people think,how they act and the persona they adopt during times of tragedy. It looks introspectively from the parents angles and explores how life ticks along until something occurs to help you reevaluate life.The term heartbreak locker associated with being a parent with resonate with many and the honesty of Liv at the end makes you think about how much we all bargain with fate on a daily basis and the effects it has on us.Beautifully written. Isabel's ordeal is described but thankfully not too graphically. The interplay between children is interesting and Nora's feelings towards Penny are insightful and will sit wistfully with some.A real page turner.Thank you to the author,publisher and NetGalley for the opportunity to review.
    more
  • Kristy
    May 31, 2017
    I chose five stars for this one because Goodreads says five stars means "It was Amazing,' and it was. This book freaking knocked my socks off. I had it on my kindle for a while, and I can't believe I didn't read it sooner! From the first chapter, I was completely hooked and seriously did little else until I finished it. Two families go on a cruise at Christmas time to South America. They get off for an excursion in an unnamed South American country and, after a few unexpected events/plan changes I chose five stars for this one because Goodreads says five stars means "It was Amazing,' and it was. This book freaking knocked my socks off. I had it on my kindle for a while, and I can't believe I didn't read it sooner! From the first chapter, I was completely hooked and seriously did little else until I finished it. Two families go on a cruise at Christmas time to South America. They get off for an excursion in an unnamed South American country and, after a few unexpected events/plan changes, accidentally get separated from their children. The novel then splits into alternating stories: the story of the parents freaking out and the story of the what's happening with the kids. It's harrowing, at times really upsetting, completely absorbing and unexpected. And Meloy's writing is gorgeous. Her characterization is stellar. I was worried that there would be stereotyping or unfair portrayals of the Latin American characters, but she did a great job of portraying a thoughtful array of personality types, smoothly taking us in an out of different characters' lives and motivations. Great read. I think it's going to be huge this summer too.
    more
  • Alicia
    May 6, 2017
    http://wordnerdy.blogspot.com/2017/05...I always eagerly await a new Maile Meloy book, because I think she is such an interesting and compelling author, but oof, this one was a little much for me. It centers on an extended family going on a cruise, and you can tell something is going to go wrong, but it was so much worse than I had anticipated. And Meloy is trying to tell a story about privilege and parenthood in these modern times, but it was so hard to read ("hard to read" is another way of sa http://wordnerdy.blogspot.com/2017/05...I always eagerly await a new Maile Meloy book, because I think she is such an interesting and compelling author, but oof, this one was a little much for me. It centers on an extended family going on a cruise, and you can tell something is going to go wrong, but it was so much worse than I had anticipated. And Meloy is trying to tell a story about privilege and parenthood in these modern times, but it was so hard to read ("hard to read" is another way of saying "content warning for rape and violence!!!!!!"). I mean, I was so invested in and worried about the characters, but a lot of the plot felt contrived and I just felt relieved when it was over. I never know how to rate books that make me feel so bad about the world. B?__A review copy was provided by the publisher. This book will be released on June 6th.
    more
  • Kim McGee
    March 23, 2017
    Two families take a well deserved cruise to Central America together. The adult women are cousins and their husbands and children all get along with each other. Sounds perfect right? Just don't get off the ship. Along with another family they meet on board, the women and children take a zip-line tour in the jungle. What happens next is frightening and their dream vacation quickly turns into their worst nightmare - the kids are lost and in a foreign country. The writing is brisk and matches the f Two families take a well deserved cruise to Central America together. The adult women are cousins and their husbands and children all get along with each other. Sounds perfect right? Just don't get off the ship. Along with another family they meet on board, the women and children take a zip-line tour in the jungle. What happens next is frightening and their dream vacation quickly turns into their worst nightmare - the kids are lost and in a foreign country. The writing is brisk and matches the fast pace of the unraveling of each family and marriages, emotions and friendship. Your heart goes out to the parents, the kids and the people with a good heart that get mixed up in the middle of it. The scariest part of the story is knowing how easily it could happen and how powerless they all were. My thanks to the publisher for the advance copy.
    more
  • Barbara Rohde
    May 18, 2017
    Liv and Nora are cousins and the two families decide to go on a cruise to South America. Their children are mostly primary school age and on the cruise they meet an Argentinian family with a son and daughter. All seems to be going well until the ship docks and the men decide to go golfing and the women and children go on a zip lining excursion. This does not go to plan and all the children go missing. The remainder of the story revolves around what happens to the children while they are missing Liv and Nora are cousins and the two families decide to go on a cruise to South America. Their children are mostly primary school age and on the cruise they meet an Argentinian family with a son and daughter. All seems to be going well until the ship docks and the men decide to go golfing and the women and children go on a zip lining excursion. This does not go to plan and all the children go missing. The remainder of the story revolves around what happens to the children while they are missing and the agony their parents go through. It's engaging enough to keep the reader wondering if the children will manage to be found and how the parents will each deal with this nightmare. The experiences of all involved are quite harrowing but are depicted on quite a superficial level which prevents this book from being truly powerful as the trauma is minimised instead of exploited.
    more
  • Kandace
    May 29, 2017
    Maile Meloy captured my attention from the beginning. I read this book in a single day, engrossed in the fast-paced story of [SPOILER ALERTS] kids gone missing on an excursion during a holiday cruise with their parents. The structure of alternating between the point of view of the parents and children, and that of a few other pivotal characters later in the plot, proved to be interesting and a useful tool in keeping the action moving. It wasn't all tied up in a pretty bow, though Meloy did come Maile Meloy captured my attention from the beginning. I read this book in a single day, engrossed in the fast-paced story of [SPOILER ALERTS] kids gone missing on an excursion during a holiday cruise with their parents. The structure of alternating between the point of view of the parents and children, and that of a few other pivotal characters later in the plot, proved to be interesting and a useful tool in keeping the action moving. It wasn't all tied up in a pretty bow, though Meloy did come pretty close to it. Drama, real and raw emotion, some issues regarding nationality and class. This book had it all. A great vacation read -- though maybe not if you're taking a cruise with kids.
    more
  • Rebecca Hock
    May 26, 2017
    I got a copy of this book through Goodreads. I was looking forward to reading it as it was about a family going on a cruise and \i love cruising. The story was okay. It kept my interest. The story involved two families, each with two young children. I found one of the children, Penny, incredibly annoying. The author seemed to always be making excuses for the girl. In fact, she just came across as a really annoying, bratty, spoiled, little girl. Another young girl, Noemi was introduced to the sto I got a copy of this book through Goodreads. I was looking forward to reading it as it was about a family going on a cruise and \i love cruising. The story was okay. It kept my interest. The story involved two families, each with two young children. I found one of the children, Penny, incredibly annoying. The author seemed to always be making excuses for the girl. In fact, she just came across as a really annoying, bratty, spoiled, little girl. Another young girl, Noemi was introduced to the story and I am not really sure why she was there. She did not seem to add much to the book at all. It was an okay book. I enjoyed parts of it, and other parts, not so much.
    more
  • Angela Oatham
    May 8, 2017
    There's something about children going missing in a foreign country that sends shivers down my spine. The total helplessness, the communication problems and the lack of local knowledge make an already horrendous situation so much worse. In this instance six children are missing in a South American jungle and three sets of parents are left to battle to get their families reunited.This was a thrilling read, at times slightly chaotic but ultimately a great page turner. Meloy doesn't shy away from l There's something about children going missing in a foreign country that sends shivers down my spine. The total helplessness, the communication problems and the lack of local knowledge make an already horrendous situation so much worse. In this instance six children are missing in a South American jungle and three sets of parents are left to battle to get their families reunited.This was a thrilling read, at times slightly chaotic but ultimately a great page turner. Meloy doesn't shy away from letting bad things happen although I did feel she picked on one family a bit. A great beach read (maybe not on a cruise though!)
    more
  • Lauren
    May 27, 2017
    I wouldn't say I enjoy reading books of this subject matter. I can think of nothing worse or more terrifying then losing one of your children let along two, and on top of that it is in a foreign country. I mean, what a downer of a book. But I think Maile Meloy's book is deeper than the surface story. It is also a reflection of American security and deniability/delusion that the real world outside our borders isn't rough and hard to live in. There is a definite pointed look at immigrant struggles I wouldn't say I enjoy reading books of this subject matter. I can think of nothing worse or more terrifying then losing one of your children let along two, and on top of that it is in a foreign country. I mean, what a downer of a book. But I think Maile Meloy's book is deeper than the surface story. It is also a reflection of American security and deniability/delusion that the real world outside our borders isn't rough and hard to live in. There is a definite pointed look at immigrant struggles and the state of South America. Meloy's story is very gripping and emotional without being overly dramatic.
    more
  • Janita Finley
    May 5, 2017
    I won this book from Goodreads! Thank-you! I really enjoyed it. At first it was hard to keep everyone straight and who belonged to who, but about 1/4 way into the book, I got everyone straight, and it was very good, and scary if you have children, and love to travel. I am in the travel industry and I could see how easily something like this could happen. You always think you are so safe, but impossible in this day and age of travel.....This book kept my interest, and I couldn't wait to find out I won this book from Goodreads! Thank-you! I really enjoyed it. At first it was hard to keep everyone straight and who belonged to who, but about 1/4 way into the book, I got everyone straight, and it was very good, and scary if you have children, and love to travel. I am in the travel industry and I could see how easily something like this could happen. You always think you are so safe, but impossible in this day and age of travel.....This book kept my interest, and I couldn't wait to find out the ending. I would definitely read more by this author. I would recommend this book definitely, and I plan on passing it along to my friend and sister to read next!
    more
  • Wendy Jensen
    May 17, 2017
    Liv and Nora with their husbands and two children each embark on a cruise for Christmas. They meet another couple, who also have children but a little older than theirs and the men go for a round of golf while the wives and children head off on a zip-line tour. Everything starts going bad from this point on. It ends up that the children go missing. This was a book I could not put down until I finished it to find out how it ended. Definitely a page turner.I received this book for free through Goo Liv and Nora with their husbands and two children each embark on a cruise for Christmas. They meet another couple, who also have children but a little older than theirs and the men go for a round of golf while the wives and children head off on a zip-line tour. Everything starts going bad from this point on. It ends up that the children go missing. This was a book I could not put down until I finished it to find out how it ended. Definitely a page turner.I received this book for free through Goodreads First Reads.
    more
  • Lea
    May 9, 2017
    Thank you Maile Meloy and Netgalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.Two families go on a cruise for the Christmas break. All is well until they go ashore and the children go missing from a secluded beach. What happens next is straight off the news. I enjoyed this story, it felt like a holiday read (haha) and was easy to get straight back into if you had to put it down, which I hardly did. As an avid reader I feel at times like I have read a similar storyline but I certainly haven't h Thank you Maile Meloy and Netgalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.Two families go on a cruise for the Christmas break. All is well until they go ashore and the children go missing from a secluded beach. What happens next is straight off the news. I enjoyed this story, it felt like a holiday read (haha) and was easy to get straight back into if you had to put it down, which I hardly did. As an avid reader I feel at times like I have read a similar storyline but I certainly haven't had that here. A good solid read for me, I highly recommend it.
    more
  • Jo
    May 19, 2017
    Thank you goodreads for sending me an ARC of this book. Three families on a cruise ship vacation lose their children. These kids have the worst luck ever. As the story unfolds we see the tension loss creates in the family dynamics. The kids each deal with their misadventures in their own unique way. The writing seemed a little on the superficial end. I would have liked to have seen more depth for the characters. It would make a good beach read though- as long as you weren't supposed to be watchi Thank you goodreads for sending me an ARC of this book. Three families on a cruise ship vacation lose their children. These kids have the worst luck ever. As the story unfolds we see the tension loss creates in the family dynamics. The kids each deal with their misadventures in their own unique way. The writing seemed a little on the superficial end. I would have liked to have seen more depth for the characters. It would make a good beach read though- as long as you weren't supposed to be watching your kids.
    more
  • Lori
    May 4, 2017
    It’s been a long time since I had to stay up until 2:30 AM to finish a book, but I couldn’t put down Do Not Become Alarmed. It was every parent’s worst nightmare, and yet it was a fabulous read. The author captured cruise life, and although the book is a thriller, it brought up ethical issues about Americans in foreign countries, marital relationships and friendships. I found it much more substantial than the typical beach read, and I highly recommend it.
    more
Write a review