I Know a Secret (Rizzoli & Isles, #12)
In the twelfth gripping novel featuring Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles, the crime-solving duo—featured in the smash-hit TNT series Rizzoli & Isles—are faced with the gruesomely staged murder of a horror film producer.The crime scene is unlike any that Detective Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles have ever before encountered. The woman lies in apparently peaceful repose on her bed, and Maura finds no apparent cause of death, but there is no doubt the woman is indeed dead. The victim’s eyes have been removed and placed in the palm of her hand, a gesture that echoes the terrifying films she produces. Is a crazed movie fan reenacting scenes from those disturbing films?When another victim is found, again with no apparent cause of death, again with a grotesquely staged crime scene, Jane and Maura realize the killer has widened his circle of targets. He’s chosen one particular woman for his next victim, and she knows he’s coming for her next. She’s the only one who can help Jane and Maura catch the killer.But she knows a secret. And it’s a secret she’ll never tell.

I Know a Secret (Rizzoli & Isles, #12) Details

TitleI Know a Secret (Rizzoli & Isles, #12)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseAug 22nd, 2017
PublisherBallantine Books
ISBN0345543882
ISBN-139780345543882
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Crime

I Know a Secret (Rizzoli & Isles, #12) Review

  • Mary Beth
    June 10, 2017
    This is the twelfth book in the Rizzoli & Isles Series. This is one of my favorite series. I have read every book in this series and Tess Gerritsen does not disappoint. I loved every book in this series and I was so ecstatic when I received this copy of the book. This book was the bomb! It just rocked. I just loved it. This book is filled with suspense and rich in character development for characters we have come to know and love over the course of the Rizzoli and Isles series, this book is This is the twelfth book in the Rizzoli & Isles Series. This is one of my favorite series. I have read every book in this series and Tess Gerritsen does not disappoint. I loved every book in this series and I was so ecstatic when I received this copy of the book. This book was the bomb! It just rocked. I just loved it. This book is filled with suspense and rich in character development for characters we have come to know and love over the course of the Rizzoli and Isles series, this book is a true page turner with dark and disturbing plots. and one that should not be missed. The book starts out with a girl found dead in her apartment, her eyes gouged out and placed in her hands. As the cause of death goes unanswered, another body is found, this one with arrows through his chest. I loved the back story of Maura and her evil serial killer birth mother Almathea, definitely keeps things interesting. This centers on a twenty year old case involving children abused at a day care center known as the Apple Tree Nursery. "The Apple Tree" mystery was very intriguing and had me quickly turning the pages. A female character has a secret! The book goes back and forth between this character and Rizzoli and Isles.I highly recommend this book for those that love a dark thriller and suggest that you read them in order.I want to thank NetGalley, the publisher and Tess Gerritsen for the copy of this book in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Kaceey
    May 24, 2017
    Fantastic addition to the series!Detective Jane Rizzoli and colleague, Medical Examiner Maura Isles are once again called into action. This being the 12th installment of the highly successful series. So successful in fact, it’s become a long running TV series. (Might be cancelled now?) Though I must confess I’ve never watched it. I much prefer reading the books.So away we go! The first victim is found in her own bedroom with her eyeballs in her hand (ewww!). The second victim has 3 arrows straig Fantastic addition to the series!Detective Jane Rizzoli and colleague, Medical Examiner Maura Isles are once again called into action. This being the 12th installment of the highly successful series. So successful in fact, it’s become a long running TV series. (Might be cancelled now?) Though I must confess I’ve never watched it. I much prefer reading the books.So away we go! The first victim is found in her own bedroom with her eyeballs in her hand (ewww!). The second victim has 3 arrows straight to the heart. Finding the cause of death or a connection between the killings is not as easy as it may have first appeared. But someone out there knows how and why these murders are happening. The past may have finally caught up to her. She’s also aware she may be next on the list!Rizzoli and Isles chase down the leads, attempting to piece the clues together before the killer strikes again. Valuable personal time is spent away from the hunt, addressing the drama in Jane's family, and Maura's troubled personal life. Equally important to the series as the murders themselves…in my opinion!I really thought I had this one figured out half way through. Not even close! Best in the series in a long time and finished it in 2 sittings. (OK, reclining by the pool!) 4.5* highly recommend for fans of the series.Thank you to NetGalley, Tess Gerritsen and Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine.
    more
  • Maureen
    July 4, 2017
    Before you take a peek inside the book, take time to savour that beautiful cover ( I absolutely love it ) and whilst a cover does not indicate a great read, fear not, because the storyline certainly lives up to this alluring work of art. Homicide Detective Jane Rizzoli, and Medical Examiner Maura Isles are back for the twelfth instalment of this ever popular series from Tess Gerritsen. The opening chapter takes us straight to the crime scene of a horror film producer found dead in her apartment. Before you take a peek inside the book, take time to savour that beautiful cover ( I absolutely love it ) and whilst a cover does not indicate a great read, fear not, because the storyline certainly lives up to this alluring work of art. Homicide Detective Jane Rizzoli, and Medical Examiner Maura Isles are back for the twelfth instalment of this ever popular series from Tess Gerritsen. The opening chapter takes us straight to the crime scene of a horror film producer found dead in her apartment. Though there are no obvious signs of the cause of death, the victim's eyes have been removed and placed in her hand. Another murder soon follows and again the body is displayed in a grotesque manner, and so the race is on to discover a link between these murders in order to prevent further victims. However, this proves to be an extraordinarily difficult case to crack.Eventually clues lead to a 20 year old investigation of ritual child abuse at the Apple Tree Nursery and the case of a missing 9 year old girl whose whereabouts still remain a mystery.Interestingly, Maura's biological mother features initially in this particular storyline, and she certainly adds plenty of interest in quite a sinister way! Jane's personal life too interrupts proceedings, but of course it all adds to an already gripping read.Rizzoli and Isles give this case everything they've got, and it's both gripping and disturbing. I actually thought I had this one figured out about half way through, but I was SO wrong - wasn't even close, so what do I know? ( not so clever eh? )Avid fans of this series,( and newbies alike ) will find this an utterly compelling read*I was offered an advance copy by the publisher Penguin Random House UK, Transworld and have given an honest review in exchange*
    more
  • Emma
    June 16, 2017
    Despite some thrillingly gory deaths inventively used, this book felt formulaic and lacked any real tension. The family drama was all stuff we'd seen before and the main plot, while having a solid foundation in the mix of child abuse scandals, moral panic, and psychological testing, failed to live up to its promise thanks to the hugely unsurprising and unsatisfying ending.It's good enough to fill a few hours, but it's not her best, and I wouldn't rush out to get it.ARC via Netgalley
    more
  • Gary
    July 9, 2017
    This is the 12th full length novel in the popular Rizzoli and Isles series by author Tess Gerritsen. I enjoy both the novels and the TV series but although there are a lot of similarities the books in my opinion are so much better. Like most series the more you read the more familiar you get with the characters and 'Rizzoli and Isles books are no different, each character is so much more interesting once you get used to their manerisms.In this novel a young woman's body is found in a house decor This is the 12th full length novel in the popular Rizzoli and Isles series by author Tess Gerritsen. I enjoy both the novels and the TV series but although there are a lot of similarities the books in my opinion are so much better. Like most series the more you read the more familiar you get with the characters and 'Rizzoli and Isles books are no different, each character is so much more interesting once you get used to their manerisms.In this novel a young woman's body is found in a house decorated with horror movie poster. She lies on her bed, two bloodied objects clutched in her palm. Detective Jane Rizzoli and Forensic Pathologist Maura Isles are called to the murder scene, but even faced with this gruesome sight they are unable to identify the immediate cause of death.Their investigation leads them to a high-profile murder case that was seemingly solved years before. But when another body is found in horrific circumstances, the link between the two victims is clear. Was the wrong person sent to prison? Is the real killer out there right now, picking off new targets?One woman knows the killer is coming for her next. She’s the only one who can help Rizzoli and Isles catch him. But she has a secret that she has to keep.A very good read that is well paced,full of twists and away from the plot has a good balance of family issues. Another success and probably the best book in this very good series for a while.I would like to thank Net Galley and Random House UK, Transworld Publishers for supplying a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Monnie
    April 26, 2017
    This book won't be released till Aug. 15, but I was way too excited about the opportunity to read an advance review copy that I just couldn't wait to read it. That's because the author's "Rizzoli & Isles" series has been a favorite from the start (for the record, this is the 12th). While this one somehow seems a bit darker than most of the others I've read, it's no less well written.The "darkness," I suppose, comes in part because medical examiner Maura Isles must come to terms with issues t This book won't be released till Aug. 15, but I was way too excited about the opportunity to read an advance review copy that I just couldn't wait to read it. That's because the author's "Rizzoli & Isles" series has been a favorite from the start (for the record, this is the 12th). While this one somehow seems a bit darker than most of the others I've read, it's no less well written.The "darkness," I suppose, comes in part because medical examiner Maura Isles must come to terms with issues that haunt her past, such as her seriously disturbed (and long estranged) birth mother, who's in jail for life after being convicted of multiple murders. Still other characters, including police detective Jane Rizzoli, her uber-Italian mother and her police partner deal with issues of their own. Only Jane's hunky FBI special Agent husband, Gabriel Dean, seems to be home free in the issues department, and perhaps that's why he doesn't get much play here (drat).At the beginning, Maura reluctantly has a meeting with her birth mother, whose parting words are cryptic as Maura gets a call from Jane that she's needed at the scene of a gruesome new case. A dead woman - a producer of indie horror films - has been found with her eyes removed and placed in her hand. But the eyes don't have it - the cause of death, that is. In fact, it isn't even clear even after Maura's initial autopsy. Could it be simply a case of life impersonating art? Jane and Maura hold that thought - that is, until a second victim turns up amid a similar scenario. Solving those two crimes moves ahead slowly even after Maura finally determines the very unusual COD; the police can find no connection between the two victims, no motive and no clues as to who the killer might be. But wait, there's more. Another female character is intently watching the goings-on; she's got a big secret from her past, and it's one that just may put her life in jeopardy as well. Chapters shift from the investigation to her point of view and back, all adding layers to the story that build up to a pretty scary conclusion (and non-conclusion, but I won't get into that here except to say it could provide interesting fodder for another book).My conclusion? Loved this one as expected. Now please, Ms. Gerritsen, don't keep me waiting so long for the next installment!
    more
  • Charlotte Miller
    May 23, 2017
    I Know a Secret is the 12th book in the Rizzoli and Isles series by the internationally bestselling Tess Gerritsen, and it is perhaps the best to date. Detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles are called out to a gruesomely staged murder scene that is unlike anything they have seen before. The cause of death is not immediately apparent, but one thing is impossible to miss—the victim’s eyes have been removed and placed in her open palm. Other gruesome murders follow, each staged in I Know a Secret is the 12th book in the Rizzoli and Isles series by the internationally bestselling Tess Gerritsen, and it is perhaps the best to date. Detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles are called out to a gruesomely staged murder scene that is unlike anything they have seen before. The cause of death is not immediately apparent, but one thing is impossible to miss—the victim’s eyes have been removed and placed in her open palm. Other gruesome murders follow, each staged in the manner of a murdered Catholic saint, and Jane races to find the killer before he—or she—can strike again. Filled with suspense and rich in character development for characters we have come to know and love over the course of the Rizzoli and Isles series, this book is a true page turner, and one that should not be missed. Highly recommended. (Advance Reading Copy obtained by request from NetGalley.)
    more
  • The Book Review Café
    July 6, 2017
    All my reviews can be found at http://thebookreviewcafe.com. I’ve been a huge fan of Tess Gerritsen since I read her first medical crime thriller Harvest way back in 1996. As far as I’m concerned the authors writing is gritty, gruesome and authentic and makes for a highly thrilling read. In this latest offering I Know A Secret we meet up with the crime solving duo Detective Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles a forensic pathologist, both characters I feel are very original protagonist’s in the world of All my reviews can be found at http://thebookreviewcafe.com. I’ve been a huge fan of Tess Gerritsen since I read her first medical crime thriller Harvest way back in 1996. As far as I’m concerned the authors writing is gritty, gruesome and authentic and makes for a highly thrilling read. In this latest offering I Know A Secret we meet up with the crime solving duo Detective Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles a forensic pathologist, both characters I feel are very original protagonist’s in the world of crime thrillers. By combining the two the author delves deftly into the criminal mind and forensic sciences, which make for a fascinating and throughly gripping read. Although this is the twelfth book in the series it can easily be read as a standalone.No plot spoilers here as all you need to know is pretty much in the book description, I always find Tess Gerritsen has the ability to grab my attention from the first intriguing chapter and keep me in her grips until the final heart stopping chapter. As you would expect from this author the murders are pretty grotesque I’m not sure where Tess Gerritsen gets her ideas from, but this is a lady with an incredible vivid and twisted imagination. There are numerous threads running through the tale and I did find myself wondering how they could all possibly connect, but the author does a magnificent job in bringing everything together in the most shocking way.Fraught with tension the authors impeccable attention to detail make you feel like your involved in the investigation, and very much like Rizzoli and Isles you find yourself trying to unravel the clues before the killer strikes again. With red herrings a plenty the author always manages to keep one step a head of the reader, I Know A Secret definitely sent my mind into overdrive as I tried to piece the clues together. The author has a real talent for telling a story and keeping the reader guessing right to the very last moment, and once again Tess Gerritsen proves that she is still one of the leading female authors in crime fiction and rightly so.
    more
  • Fred
    February 12, 2017
    Tess Gerritsen Fans Group LinkSummer 2017 Reading Challenge
  • Christine
    May 26, 2017
    This is the 12th book in the rizzoli and isles series. Jane and Maura are called to a scene where the victims eyes have been removed and put in her hands. What is creepy is that it mimics the movie she is producing. Shortly after another victim is found staged with arrows to his heart. Maura believes the two cases are connected. It becomes apparent that the killer is staging the deaths in the manor in which the saints that are honored on the date of the victims birth were marytered. Through inve This is the 12th book in the rizzoli and isles series. Jane and Maura are called to a scene where the victims eyes have been removed and put in her hands. What is creepy is that it mimics the movie she is producing. Shortly after another victim is found staged with arrows to his heart. Maura believes the two cases are connected. It becomes apparent that the killer is staging the deaths in the manor in which the saints that are honored on the date of the victims birth were marytered. Through investigating Jane and Maura find a connection to an abuse case from years before. I have to say this is Tess Gerritsen's best book to date. I thought I had the case figured out about half way through the book. Boy was I wrong. I absolultly loved it. I loved how she switched seemlessly between characters points of view. The conclusion or non conclusion was extremely well done and makes me anxious to read the next book. I highly recommend this book.I recieved this book from netgalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Jean
    June 23, 2017
    I've read and enjoyed all of the books in the Rizzoli & Isles series. This is one of my favorite series and I was excited to read this book. Just like the others in the series, I Know A Secret did not disappoint. It was both gripping and disturbing with twists and turns that keeps you guessing. There was also closure to the characters that we have known and loved throughout the series: Maura and Daniel, Maura and Almathea, Angela and Frank, Angela and Vince, Frost and Alice. Definitely read I've read and enjoyed all of the books in the Rizzoli & Isles series. This is one of my favorite series and I was excited to read this book. Just like the others in the series, I Know A Secret did not disappoint. It was both gripping and disturbing with twists and turns that keeps you guessing. There was also closure to the characters that we have known and loved throughout the series: Maura and Daniel, Maura and Almathea, Angela and Frank, Angela and Vince, Frost and Alice. Definitely read this book but I highly recommend reading the previous books first.I would like to thank NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine for supplying a copy of Tess Gerritsen's "I Know a Secret" in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kelby (Toes In the Sand)
    May 25, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. My actual rating was a 4.5/5 stars.Wow! The latest book in the Rizzoli & Isles series absolutely did not disappoint! It starts with a girl found dead in her apartment, her eyes gouged out and placed in her hands. As the cause of death goes unanswered, another body is found, this one with arrows through his chest. The more digging they do, the more sick and twisted the story becomes. “Two can keep a secret if one I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. My actual rating was a 4.5/5 stars.Wow! The latest book in the Rizzoli & Isles series absolutely did not disappoint! It starts with a girl found dead in her apartment, her eyes gouged out and placed in her hands. As the cause of death goes unanswered, another body is found, this one with arrows through his chest. The more digging they do, the more sick and twisted the story becomes. “Two can keep a secret if one of them is dead.”, and that is exactly what this killer is out to do, make sure the secret stays buried. One other person besides the killer knows the secret and knows why the bodies keep piling up….but she will never tell. Now, fearing she may be next, she needs to help the police find and stop the killer. Every time I thought I had it all figured out, here came Gerritsen with a twist and I was back at the beginning again. The ending though, was enough to give me chills and thoroughly creep me out!
    more
  • KC
    April 29, 2017
    I would like to thank NetGalley, Ballantine Books, and Tess Gerritsen for the advanced digital copy in exchange for an honest review. This is the 12th installment by Gerritsen featuring Boston Detective Jane Rizzoli and Medical Examiner Dr. Maura Isles. With two people turning up dead, Jane and Maura try to piece together how they are connected. Each murder, more gruesome than the next, appear to have an uncanny similarity to certain Catholic martyrs. While gathering evidence, they discover that I would like to thank NetGalley, Ballantine Books, and Tess Gerritsen for the advanced digital copy in exchange for an honest review. This is the 12th installment by Gerritsen featuring Boston Detective Jane Rizzoli and Medical Examiner Dr. Maura Isles. With two people turning up dead, Jane and Maura try to piece together how they are connected. Each murder, more gruesome than the next, appear to have an uncanny similarity to certain Catholic martyrs. While gathering evidence, they discover that their current case has a connection to a solved 20 year old after-school care molestation case. A third victim turns up missing and another does her best to avoid the police. Jane and her partner Frost are racing against the clock in hopes to stop the killer from taking any more lives. This is a fast paced thriller with an ending that will not disappoint readers.
    more
  • Angie
    July 10, 2017
    It's a Rizzoli and Isles book by Tess Gerritsen, need I even say anymore? It is amazing, in true Tess form. Once I picked it up, I could barely put it down until I finished it! This series is one I can read over and over, and still love as much each time. Both Rizzoli and Isles each feature prominently and have their own personal storylines in addition to the main "murder" plot. Jane is trying to help her mother come to terms with a failing marriage and Maura's own birth mother is dying of cance It's a Rizzoli and Isles book by Tess Gerritsen, need I even say anymore? It is amazing, in true Tess form. Once I picked it up, I could barely put it down until I finished it! This series is one I can read over and over, and still love as much each time. Both Rizzoli and Isles each feature prominently and have their own personal storylines in addition to the main "murder" plot. Jane is trying to help her mother come to terms with a failing marriage and Maura's own birth mother is dying of cancer in prison. They have to balance their personal struggles while they investigate a series unusually brutal murders with distinct death methods. A tenuous link to an old murder/abuse case at the Apple Tree daycare center seems to hold keys, but things are not always what they seem. Could Maura's mother be involved in spite of her recent death? There are so many twists and turns and questions about what you think you know. Brilliantly written, you'll be turning pages until you (sadly) reach the end. I hope Tess Gerritsen doesn't make us wait too long before the next book! **Many many thanks to NetGalley, Ballantine books, and Tess Gerritsen for an ARC to read and honestly reveiw!!**
    more
  • Cathy Thompson
    May 1, 2017
    Rizzoli and Isles series has always been a favorite of mine . This one does not disappoint. Book is very well written. Medical Examiner Maura Isles is reluctantly meeting with her birth mother who is in prison for multiple murders , when she gets a call from Rizzoli that she is needed at a crime scene. A woman that is a producer of horror films and has just written a true story that she is producing, is found dead holding her eyeballs. Isles can't find the cause of death . Soon several more vict Rizzoli and Isles series has always been a favorite of mine . This one does not disappoint. Book is very well written. Medical Examiner Maura Isles is reluctantly meeting with her birth mother who is in prison for multiple murders , when she gets a call from Rizzoli that she is needed at a crime scene. A woman that is a producer of horror films and has just written a true story that she is producing, is found dead holding her eyeballs. Isles can't find the cause of death . Soon several more victims are found with no visible cause of death . A female character has a BIG secret ! The book goes back and forth between this character and Rizzoli and Isles. Very good book with dark and disturbing plots. I loved this book and read in one setting because I couldn't put it down. I highly recommend this book if you like a good thriller. Thank you to Netgalley and Random House for the ARC in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Shannon
    April 28, 2017
    Full review to come closer to publication.I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
  • İlkim
    November 12, 2016
    Ağustosa kim öle kim kala...
  • Julie Garner
    May 13, 2017
    I received an Advanced Reading Copy of this book.It has been a while since I have had the pleasure of reading Rizzoli & Isles. Whilst waiting I have watched and loved the TV series that developed from these books. Now, my images of both characters are coloured by the actors who play them. This just helps me love them more.I Know a Secret is about a killer who is methodically working their way through a group of people who were a part of something as children. They are a serial killer. We are I received an Advanced Reading Copy of this book.It has been a while since I have had the pleasure of reading Rizzoli & Isles. Whilst waiting I have watched and loved the TV series that developed from these books. Now, my images of both characters are coloured by the actors who play them. This just helps me love them more.I Know a Secret is about a killer who is methodically working their way through a group of people who were a part of something as children. They are a serial killer. We are led to believe one thing and that is that the killer is trying to make sure their secret can never be told. As you can imagine, with Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles on the case things are never quite what they seem. Even when everyone around Jane believes that she is a hero and the case is closed, she questions what she sees. Is she right to question? Of course, she wouldn't be Jane otherwise!I love the character development we have had through this series. Especially seeing into the home life not just of our two main characters but their family. Watching Angela come to a realisation about her happiness brought joy to my heart and the speed with which she chases that happiness just increases the joy tenfold.
    more
  • Mattie
    July 20, 2017
    Maura Isles and Jane Rizzoli are among my favorite crime solving duos. Pick any book from the series and you will understand why. In the 12th installment of the series, Isles & Rizzoli come face to face with a horrific murder scene. The victim is a horror film producer. Her body position appears to be staged. Her eyes have been removed and placed in her hand. There is a significance to this, but no spoilers in this review. It doesn't end here... The Detective, Jane Rizzoli and the Medica Maura Isles and Jane Rizzoli are among my favorite crime solving duos. Pick any book from the series and you will understand why. In the 12th installment of the series, Isles & Rizzoli come face to face with a horrific murder scene. The victim is a horror film producer. Her body position appears to be staged. Her eyes have been removed and placed in her hand. There is a significance to this, but no spoilers in this review. It doesn't end here... The Detective, Jane Rizzoli and the Medical Examiner, Maura Isles are friends and colleagues. They make a great team. The killer has another victim chosen. The twist is that the next one knows what Maura & Jane are looking for, but it's a secret she does not want to share. Have I piqued your interest? Tess Gerritsen is one of my favorite authors. She did an exceptional job writing this novel. " I Know A Secret," is a page turner with more twists than a pretzel. Thank you to Netgalley for a digital copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Lisa Cleveland
    July 13, 2017
    Tess Gerritsin is one of those authors who have never failed to impress me. Whether it's a stand-alone or Rizzoli and Isles. I must confess that I stopped reading her books back around R&Z #7. Only because I loved the show so much that I decided I needed to pick either books or t.v., the show won because I do love me some Angie Harmon. Then I quit watching television altogether, and Tess fell by the wayside. I'm back! This story left me guessing whodunit. I usually pick up on it, but not thi Tess Gerritsin is one of those authors who have never failed to impress me. Whether it's a stand-alone or Rizzoli and Isles. I must confess that I stopped reading her books back around R&Z #7. Only because I loved the show so much that I decided I needed to pick either books or t.v., the show won because I do love me some Angie Harmon. Then I quit watching television altogether, and Tess fell by the wayside. I'm back! This story left me guessing whodunit. I usually pick up on it, but not this time, and that's just another reason to love this series. I love the characters, although Isles is an odd one at times, and I'd love to give Frank and Jr. a swift kick in the old sack. They are sooooooooooooo completely oblivious! All in all, this story left me feeling a bit blue. It's a sad tale of injustice, but that doesn't take away from how well this story was told. It's a book I'd recommend. You can't get a bad read from anything from this author. My thanks to Netgalley and Ballantine/Random House.
    more
  • Sharon May
    July 17, 2017
    Many thanks to NetGalley, Ballantine Books and Tess Gerritsen for the opportunity to read and review her latest thriller - it's wonderful!I'm a huge fan of Gerritsen's writing - whether it's her Rizzoli and Isles series or her stand-alones. They are gripping thrillers and you won't be able to do a thing until you finish the book! This latest is no exception.Rizzoli and Isles are again on the case, investigating a murder of a young woman who is found with her eyes removed and placed in her hands. Many thanks to NetGalley, Ballantine Books and Tess Gerritsen for the opportunity to read and review her latest thriller - it's wonderful!I'm a huge fan of Gerritsen's writing - whether it's her Rizzoli and Isles series or her stand-alones. They are gripping thrillers and you won't be able to do a thing until you finish the book! This latest is no exception.Rizzoli and Isles are again on the case, investigating a murder of a young woman who is found with her eyes removed and placed in her hands. However, Maura Isles can't find the cause of death. Then another victim shows up, this time with arrows in his chest, and again no cause of death. There are many suspects and plotlines - from memories of ritual abuse to martyrs. Plus, all the old Rizzoli/Isles relationships come back into play.I'm sure this would be a great stand alone but it's even better as the next in an amazing series. Highly recommended!
    more
  • SuperWendy
    May 28, 2017
    This is a good, solid book in the series but it's not in the white-knuckle vein of Die Again or Ice Cold. Still, the suspense is good and Gerritsen throws in a couple of interesting twists to keep the plot humming along.One thing I really enjoy about this series is that Gerritsen touches on the personal lives of her characters and it's not all about the suspense, all the time. That said, this one felt regressive to me when it came to The Personal Stuff. Poor Jane. She's such a black or white, no This is a good, solid book in the series but it's not in the white-knuckle vein of Die Again or Ice Cold. Still, the suspense is good and Gerritsen throws in a couple of interesting twists to keep the plot humming along.One thing I really enjoy about this series is that Gerritsen touches on the personal lives of her characters and it's not all about the suspense, all the time. That said, this one felt regressive to me when it came to The Personal Stuff. Poor Jane. She's such a black or white, no shades of gray, kind of person. You really get the feeling that she wanted to smack everyone in this book into next Tuesday. Gerritsen finally brings the stuff with Jane's parents to a head, although it's far from over and will likely play out over a couple more titles. And le sigh - Maura and Daniel. I was SO HAPPY to have that cluster wrap up in Ice Cold - but it's creeping back into play with this book. Ugh, ugh, ugh. Still, a good solid book in the series and fans should be pleased.
    more
  • Paris (kerbytejas)
    July 23, 2017
    I Know A Secret (Rizzoli & Isles, #12) by Tess Gerritsen, reunites series readers with familiar characters, they have known for many years. The book felt formulaic and lacked any real tension, despite some well written murder descriptions, supportive to the storyline. Interwoven throughout the story, and offsetting the murders, are the day to day family events of the Rizzoli clan, and the emotional situations that effect Maura.The book was enjoyable and I was glad to be reunited with charact I Know A Secret (Rizzoli & Isles, #12) by Tess Gerritsen, reunites series readers with familiar characters, they have known for many years. The book felt formulaic and lacked any real tension, despite some well written murder descriptions, supportive to the storyline. Interwoven throughout the story, and offsetting the murders, are the day to day family events of the Rizzoli clan, and the emotional situations that effect Maura.The book was enjoyable and I was glad to be reunited with characters I’ve come to love. The plot of the story would allow the book to be read as a standalone, but the back story of the primary characters would not be known by the reader, if this is OK with you, jump on in and enjoy the book.I wish to say thank you to the author, Ballantine Books, and NetGalley for the advanced readers copy.The expected publication date is August 22nd 2017For me this was a 3 star read
    more
  • Rachel Stansel
    June 17, 2017
    Although I've watched the show, this was my first book in the Rizzoli and Isles series. What a riveting mystery! I figured out some key pieces pretty early, but I still was fascinated by how well the author built up to the great reveal. A great summer read for a road trip, at the beach or just relaxing by the pool.Full disclosure - I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mainlinebooker
    July 24, 2017
    Tess just knows how to pull it off. There are few Rizzoli and Isles that haven't sucked me into its vortex and this one is no exception. This medical crime thriller begins with the finding of a horror film producer found dead on her bed, with her eyeballs neatly placed in her palms. If that isn't enough, a serial killing unfolds but with a particular religious point of view. Further peeling the onion reveals a connection to a 20 year old molestation charge at an after care school program attende Tess just knows how to pull it off. There are few Rizzoli and Isles that haven't sucked me into its vortex and this one is no exception. This medical crime thriller begins with the finding of a horror film producer found dead on her bed, with her eyeballs neatly placed in her palms. If that isn't enough, a serial killing unfolds but with a particular religious point of view. Further peeling the onion reveals a connection to a 20 year old molestation charge at an after care school program attended by the victims. Time is of the essence as Detective Jane Rizzoli and her partner struggle to solve the crime spree before another person is involved. What can I say? This fast paced blood and guts pulled me in, hook, line and sinker..
    more
  • Krystle
    July 22, 2017
    Another great book in an amazing series. This book like the others in this series keeps you turning the pages and wanting more. Bravo!
  • ☕ Kimberly
    July 23, 2017
    RTC.
  • Stephanie
    March 18, 2017
    Boston Homicide Detective Jane Rizzoli and Doctor Maura Isles, Boston’s medical examiner and forensic pathologist are back in I Know a Secret, which is book 12 in Tess Gerritsen’s highly successful and thrilling novels in the Rizzoli & Isles series. This is one of my very favorite book series, and I must say even though I've been reading Gerritsen's books for twenty years now she has never disappointed me with her amazing storytelling skills!I was thrilled to receive an ARC of I Know a Secre Boston Homicide Detective Jane Rizzoli and Doctor Maura Isles, Boston’s medical examiner and forensic pathologist are back in I Know a Secret, which is book 12 in Tess Gerritsen’s highly successful and thrilling novels in the Rizzoli & Isles series. This is one of my very favorite book series, and I must say even though I've been reading Gerritsen's books for twenty years now she has never disappointed me with her amazing storytelling skills!I was thrilled to receive an ARC of I Know a Secret prior to publication since Gerritsen is an incredible crime fiction writer, which is one of my all-time favorite genres. Reading her books is like watching an especially macabre, gruesome, twisted, and grisly episode of Law and Order (or fill in the blank with your favorite crime drama) only 1000% better since it is a book, and you get to use your imagination for all the gore and disturbing details! And wow, does Gerritsen have one crazy, twisted, and sick, but glorious imagination at times! And that is meant as a compliment in the best possible way—Tess Gerritsen you are a genius! For example, the synopsis for I Know a Secret tells the reader there are multiple, gruesome murders in the novel—in my opinion, the more the merrier for the sake of fiction! It also tells how the first victim is found dead, lying peacefully with her eyeballs literally scooped out from under her eyelids and placed within the palms of her hands with no other sign as to how she had been murdered. Just thinking about that scene again makes me shiver, slightly freak out, and want to close my eyes as tightly as I can—and go make sure my front door is locked and no one is lurking in my living room as I write this sitting alone while everyone is in bed! What a stroke of brilliant but twisted imagery right in the first chapter that just pulls you in because who doesn’t want to know more about a murder this shocking and chilling! It’s terrifying, powerful, and captivating at the same time. I could not put this book down until I was done with it and read it from start to finish in about 3 hours. Just That Good!!The investigation into the murder of the first victim, Cassandra Coyle, a young woman who produces horror movies, at first seems like the work of a deranged horror movie fan until another murder victim, Timothy McDougal, is also found terribly mutilated after death, his body riddled with arrows. Again, there is no obvious cause of death. But it doesn’t take long until Maura finds the cause of both their deaths (which I found such an intriguing and ingenious way to kill someone and not leave any signs), and she and links the two victim’s deaths together. Jane is now on the hunt for one murderer.But it is Maura who sees the pattern in victim’s mutilations—the eyeballs in the girl’s hands, the man pierced with arrows are not just random acts of violence. They are specific attacks and the victims are staged to represent the deaths of Catholic Saints whose birthday’s they share. Maura’s eye for details opens the case wide open and leads Jane on a manhunt that goes back 20 years to a missing 9-year-old girl and a case of child sexual abuse that both of the murder victims were victims of. Is someone now killing all the children who were victims of the daycare child abuse case? Jane’s investigation leads to more questions, more victims, and a witness who is in hiding because she knows not only what happened 20 years ago at the daycare but who the killer is today. But is there more to Holly than meets the eye? This was such a cleverly plotted book with different storylines that all come together in a very disturbing and stunning ending! I admit that I was completely wrong about who the real killer was or and was only partially correct about what happened 20 years ago with the day care abuse. I love it when I can’t figure out the whodunit! That means Gerritsen did an outstanding job writing her story and keeping her readers in the dark until she chose to make her big reveal! Brava! Not only was the ending compelling, but Gerritsen has given Jane, and the readers, a new antagonist to play with in upcoming books! I’m really looking forward to more of encounters between Holly Devine and Jane in upcoming books.If you are a huge fan of Tess Gerritsen’s books like I am, then I highly recommend you read I know a Secret! If you are new to Gerritsen and love disturbing, clever suspense novels, then I still recommend I Know a Secret! Either way, you won’t be disappointed! Oh, and it may be book 12 in the series, and I do recommend you read them all since there are many parts of Jane and Maura’s personal lives and personal growth that occur in books 1-11, but book 12 can be read as a standalone without any problems!***Thank you. NetGalley, Ballantine Books, and Tess Gerritsen for an ARC copy of I Know a Secret in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.*
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    July 31, 2017
    I can’t believe there is any avid crime reader out there who has not yet dipped into the Rizzoli and Isles series from Tess Gerritsen but if that is you then you might want to take a look – I have yet to read one that disappointed me (and I’ve read them all sometimes more than once) right from way back when “The Surgeon” was published.The two main characters have such a fascinating story arc throughout the series (maintained and intriguingly expanded once again here) and in “I Know a Secret” the I can’t believe there is any avid crime reader out there who has not yet dipped into the Rizzoli and Isles series from Tess Gerritsen but if that is you then you might want to take a look – I have yet to read one that disappointed me (and I’ve read them all sometimes more than once) right from way back when “The Surgeon” was published.The two main characters have such a fascinating story arc throughout the series (maintained and intriguingly expanded once again here) and in “I Know a Secret” they have a strange and unpredictable case to deal with, a new possible nemesis for Jane Rizzoli that opens up the series beautifully and the usual brilliantly insightful medical detail layered into the cleverly plotted mystery element.The author has a medical background that makes that side of things oh so authentic (and often horrifyingly thought provoking) and the storytelling is simply divine – I read this, as all the others, in one sitting – starting it yesterday morning and finishing yesterday evening, emerging breathless from an ending that just made me desperate for the next novel. Waiting. I HATE waiting.Even the usually stoic and unshakable Maura Iles gets thrown a curveball or two in this instalment – I’ve always loved her for her tough outer shell hiding an inner emotional turmoil, her friendship with Jane is solidly reassuring and endlessly addictive – as a reader you can’t really ask for a better pair to head down into the darkness with.Darkness is right too – these two see the worst of human frailty and come in contact with some dangerous, erratic people – The secret being hidden here is classically engaging and I was very taken with the other voice, Holly, she was captivating and kept me on my toes. Overall a genuinely excellent addition to the Rizzoli and Iles hall of fame and one that has just confirmed my love for them.Top notch quality crime fiction always tells. Tess Gerritsen delivers every single time.Highly Recommended.
    more
  • Darcia Helle
    July 24, 2017
    One of my favorite things about Tess Gerritsen's writing is her ability to create characters that feel like they could walk right off the pages. Even her minor characters have complex personalities and full lives. With Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles, we have two women who excel in their careers. They both have a firm sense of right and wrong, though they occasionally stumble in the gray areas. The family dynamics in both their lives ensure they don't feel like caricatures or superheroes, but more One of my favorite things about Tess Gerritsen's writing is her ability to create characters that feel like they could walk right off the pages. Even her minor characters have complex personalities and full lives. With Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles, we have two women who excel in their careers. They both have a firm sense of right and wrong, though they occasionally stumble in the gray areas. The family dynamics in both their lives ensure they don't feel like caricatures or superheroes, but more like real life working women.The plot ventures into some dark corners, though this is well balanced with the lighthearted banter and comical family moments. I had part of the later twist figured out, which is more a product of reading a whole lot within this genre rather than any fault of the author. Still, some aspects surprised me and I thoroughly enjoyed the story's execution. I also love the way Gerritsen tackles the controversy surrounding Maura's romance. I don't want to risk spoilers for those unfamiliar with this ongoing storyline, so I won't give specifics. But the turmoil of this forbidden love is handled beautifully and could be a topic of discussion all its own. While the 12th in a series, I think this book reads well as a stand-alone. Enough background on the characters is given for new readers to understand the history and relationships. If you're new to the books but had watched the TV series, you'll find the relationships are slightly different here. *I was provided with an advance ebook copy by the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.*
    more
  • 3 no 7
    April 19, 2017
    “I Know a Secret” by Tess Gerritsen is book twelve in the Rizzoli & Isles series. It is not necessary to have read the previous books to enjoy this one; new readers can jump right in without any problem. Contextual references throughout the book fill in relevant background without wasting pages rehashing old events. This is also not a formula book with continuing characters dropped into a random plot line. This book explores personal relationships among characters in detail, and as the book “I Know a Secret” by Tess Gerritsen is book twelve in the Rizzoli & Isles series. It is not necessary to have read the previous books to enjoy this one; new readers can jump right in without any problem. Contextual references throughout the book fill in relevant background without wasting pages rehashing old events. This is also not a formula book with continuing characters dropped into a random plot line. This book explores personal relationships among characters in detail, and as the book moves on, these connections become more complex and more developed. Relationships and family history play a big part in this book. Of course, murder takes center stage, a series of murders, in fact. Piece by piece the clues emerge, but some do not fit. Just when things are coming together, here comes another complication and another plot twist. The author’s characteristic attention to plot detail and extensive medical knowledge are well demonstrated throughout.I was given an advanced copy of “I Know a Secret” by NetGalley in exchange for my honest review, and I loved this book. I have read others in the series, and I admit that once I find a series or author that I like, I read everything from that author and eagerly anticipate the next in the series. This book was no exception.
    more
  • The Breakneck Bookworm
    April 17, 2017
    Wow from beginning to end! How i have missed Rizzoli and Isles!When keeping a secret can be deadly.. victims start mounting up without any indication of how they died. The obvious injuries occurring post mortem. The possible motive hits Rizzoli close to home with an incident that happened at decades previously at Apple Tree nursery. As the duo dig deeper more clues reveal itself leading to a suspect no one could imagine.This is the twelfth Rizzoli and Isles installment and it still feels as fres Wow from beginning to end! How i have missed Rizzoli and Isles!When keeping a secret can be deadly.. victims start mounting up without any indication of how they died. The obvious injuries occurring post mortem. The possible motive hits Rizzoli close to home with an incident that happened at decades previously at Apple Tree nursery. As the duo dig deeper more clues reveal itself leading to a suspect no one could imagine.This is the twelfth Rizzoli and Isles installment and it still feels as fresh as her first book. Gerritsens writing keeps you guessing who the culprit it and you can't help but love Rizzoli and Isles. This book is brilliant and I cannot wait to go out and add this book to my collection. Thank you to netgalley and Random House for an advanced copy of this book. I enjoyed every single moment !
    more
  • Candy Hart
    April 11, 2017
    Enjoyed the book. Keeps you guessing throughout. Having read all he books in this series, I always am happy when another one comes along. For people new to this series, it is helpful to know the back story of characters. And if you only know Rizzoli and Isles from TV, you will be very confused as the characters lives from TV and books are very different.
    more
  • Readnponder
    July 31, 2017
    I looked forward to this latest installment of the popular Rizzoli & Isles series, having read all the previous books. Detective Jane Rizzoli and Dr. Maura Isles are called to the scene of several murders involving strangely mutilated, 26-year-old victims. The torso of one young man is pierced with arrows, although that is not the cause of death. The body of a young woman suffered bilateral globe enucleation (look it up) … post-mortem. The bodies have high levels of ketamine, a date-rape dru I looked forward to this latest installment of the popular Rizzoli & Isles series, having read all the previous books. Detective Jane Rizzoli and Dr. Maura Isles are called to the scene of several murders involving strangely mutilated, 26-year-old victims. The torso of one young man is pierced with arrows, although that is not the cause of death. The body of a young woman suffered bilateral globe enucleation (look it up) … post-mortem. The bodies have high levels of ketamine, a date-rape drug. Is there a possible connection? Gerritsen weaves the theme of horror in and amongst the crimes. One of the victims, Cassandra Coyle, was a maker of horror films. The book examines horror in other contexts such as child abuse and early church martyrs. While I thought the intertwining motif of horror was creative, the overall plot was not as complex as some of Gerritsen’s earlier works. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the book, as well as catching up with the Rizzoli clan and Maura’s personal life. It felt like a class reunion.
    more
  • Mary
    July 31, 2017
    With thanks to the Ballantine Books and the author, Tess Gerritsen.I have not read previous titles in the Rizzoli and Isles series, but have recently begun watching reruns of the television adaptation, which I thoroughly enjoy. When offered and advanced reader's copy of this title it seemed like I should try the characters in the author's original presentation. Was it as enjoyable as the adaptation? Short answer: yes, a well crafted mystery with great characters and a convincing story line. Whil With thanks to the Ballantine Books and the author, Tess Gerritsen.I have not read previous titles in the Rizzoli and Isles series, but have recently begun watching reruns of the television adaptation, which I thoroughly enjoy. When offered and advanced reader's copy of this title it seemed like I should try the characters in the author's original presentation. Was it as enjoyable as the adaptation? Short answer: yes, a well crafted mystery with great characters and a convincing story line. While I did not need to have read the prior titles in the series to enjoy the most recent entry, I plan to add them to my reading list. Longer answer: Jane Rizzoli is a Boston PD detective assigned to investigate the death of a young filmmaker with some unique ritualistic circumstances. Throughout the storyline, chapters are interspersed with an alternate narrator who knew the victim, and some additional victims who turn up in the area. The cases all lead back to a case involving the victims in their childhood after-school center. Jane's friend and colleague, Dr. Laura Illes, determines the connections between the cases. Together (as is usually the case) they piece together the event of the past and the current crimes. Very enjoyable read, highly recommend for readers of thrillers, mysteries and well thought out crime novels.
    more
  • Breakaway Reviewers
    July 24, 2017
    Another of my favourite authors continues to sparkleThe crime scene has the woman lying in apparently peaceful repose on her bed, and Maura finds no apparent cause of death. The victim’s eyes have been removed and placed in the palm of her hand - a gesture that echoes the terrifying films she produces. When another victim is found, again with no apparent cause of death, again with a grotesquely staged crime scene, Jane and Maura realise the killer has widened his circle of targets. He’s chosen o Another of my favourite authors continues to sparkleThe crime scene has the woman lying in apparently peaceful repose on her bed, and Maura finds no apparent cause of death. The victim’s eyes have been removed and placed in the palm of her hand - a gesture that echoes the terrifying films she produces. When another victim is found, again with no apparent cause of death, again with a grotesquely staged crime scene, Jane and Maura realise the killer has widened his circle of targets. He’s chosen one particular woman for his next victim, and she knows he’s coming for her next. She’s the only one who can help Jane and Maura catch the killer...In the twelfth gripping novel featuring Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles, the crime-solving duo —featured in the smash-hit TNT series Rizzoli & Isles — are faced with the gruesomely staged murder of a horror film producer. I have read all the previous novels in this series and they, like this one, are all of the high quality. Like most Gerritsen books I have read, I thought I had worked out the murderer and his/her reasons about half way through but again I was completely wrong and this is one of the main reasons I look out for this author's latest book. Rizzoli and Isles give this case everything they've got, and it's both gripping and disturbing in equal measure. The book is a very good read that is well-paced, full of twists and, away from the plot, has an interesting balance of family issues.As readers of Gerritsen would expect, the murders depicted throughout are pretty grotesque. I am not sure where Tess gets her ideas from for her characters' untimely demises, but this is a lady with an incredibly vivid and twisted imagination. There are numerous threads running through this tale and I did find myself wondering how they could all possibly connect, but, as always, the author does a magnificent job in bringing everything together in the most shocking way. “I Know A Secret” definitely sent my mind into overdrive as I tried to piece the clues together. The author retains a real ability for telling a story and keeping the reader guessing right to the very last moment, and, once again, she proves that she is still one of the leading female authors in crime fiction.Digger 95Breakaway Reviewers received a copy of the book to review.
    more
  • Kathy
    July 17, 2017
    Tess Gerritsen certainly comes through with this one. Another fantastic thriller. From the opening pages to the end, this book held my attention completely, and I could not read fast enough to find out what would happen next. At the latest crime scene, Detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles confront a weird scene: a dead woman with her eyes cut out of her head and held in the palm of her hand, bringing to mind the horror films she produces for a living. Then, shortly afterward, Tess Gerritsen certainly comes through with this one. Another fantastic thriller. From the opening pages to the end, this book held my attention completely, and I could not read fast enough to find out what would happen next. At the latest crime scene, Detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles confront a weird scene: a dead woman with her eyes cut out of her head and held in the palm of her hand, bringing to mind the horror films she produces for a living. Then, shortly afterward, they find another strange murder scene: a man found dead on a pier in town, with arrows in his torso. Neither can fully understand what is going on or if the cases are connected at first, nor do they have even a clue, until Maura connects these deaths with deaths depicted in colored stained-glass windows and stories in church martyr symbology, but is this possible? Jane and Maura ferret out clue after clue to determine what exactly happened to these two, and if there are other previous murders also connected to this fiendish murderer. The story moves along quickly, with a myriad of twists and turns that kept me glued to the story line, as I delved, along with Jane and Maura, into the strange, exotic criminal mind of this serial killer. By the ending, I was totally involved in the story and eagerly awaiting the solution to this strange puzzle.Tess Gerritsen has given us another fantastic book in the Rizzoli & Isles series. Both lead characters, Jane and Maura, are well done and manage to do their thing throughout the haphazard crime scenes, with the same due diligence and cleverness they always exhibit. In this book, we once again meet Maura’s deranged, criminal mother, on her deathbed, who provides Maura a clue—though Maura does not realize this immediately. In addition, the on-going saga of Jane’s family and especially her parents’ strained relationship returns in full force. However, neither of these takes over or away from the basic story, but only add to the realism and the fact that these two women are real humans with real lives and problems/situations, with which they must deal as they work through their careers. I thoroughly enjoyed all the characters and found them all well developed and meaningful to the story. The plot, as I said, was excellent. I am not sure, but this may become my favorite book in the series—though there are so many others I have also enjoyed so much. If you enjoy a good, solid mystery thriller and are familiar with the Rizzoli and Isles series, this book will definitely appeal to you (even if you are not familiar with the series but are looking for something good to read). I highly recommend it. I received this from NetGalley go read and review.
    more
  • Valerie
    July 12, 2017
    I Know a Secret, due for publication in August 2017, is the twelfth book in the Tess Gerritsen series featuring medical examiner Maura Isles and homicide detective Jane Rizzoli. I've read every book in this series and in my opinion the quality has remained consistent. Always a guaranteed can't-put-down read, the books tend to be part mystery/thriller and part quirky portrayal of the friendship that has slowly developed between the two colleagues. In the most recent addition to the series, severa I Know a Secret, due for publication in August 2017, is the twelfth book in the Tess Gerritsen series featuring medical examiner Maura Isles and homicide detective Jane Rizzoli. I've read every book in this series and in my opinion the quality has remained consistent. Always a guaranteed can't-put-down read, the books tend to be part mystery/thriller and part quirky portrayal of the friendship that has slowly developed between the two colleagues. In the most recent addition to the series, several homicide victims are discovered within weeks of each other, the bodies gruesomely staged postmortem. While at first the murders appear unconnected, once Rizzoli and Isles unlock the symbolism behind the creepy murder stagings, they are able to identify how the victims are connected and begin to try to solve the murders. I Know a Secret is a quick and fun read that takes a lot of twisty turns until the final reveal. There were a few times I thought I had it figured out and then changed my mind. This one really had me stumped until the end, which is of course, all part of the fun -- definitively Tess Gerritsen at her best.Thank you to Random House-Ballantine and NetGalley for providing me with an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kath
    June 19, 2017
    I always worry when I love a series as much as I love this one. I have read similar series that have gone above 8 or so books and then lost their way and left me disappointed, so much so that I have often given up on them. This is definitely not in that category. I have read and loved every book in this series and so I had no such worries going into this, the twelfth book of the fantastic Rizzoli and Isles series. As with all series books, it is best to start from book one and read in order. I u I always worry when I love a series as much as I love this one. I have read similar series that have gone above 8 or so books and then lost their way and left me disappointed, so much so that I have often given up on them. This is definitely not in that category. I have read and loved every book in this series and so I had no such worries going into this, the twelfth book of the fantastic Rizzoli and Isles series. As with all series books, it is best to start from book one and read in order. I understand that with this one, you'd have to read 11 books but, to be honest, they are all really good and, although the main crime in this book is self-contained, there is so much really good backstory and character development throughout the series, it would be a shame to miss out on it.In this book, we have Maura a little flummoxed at a cause of death. With no visible signs both externally or internally of exactly why the victim died, she is at a bit of a loss. What is a concern though is the post mortem mutilation that has been exacted upon the corpse. When the next corpse turns up, also with no apparent c.o.d. and also mutilated, Jane and Maura face a race against time to figure the connection and thus find the killer before they strike again. This was another book that pushed its way to the top of my tbr. In fact it did more than that. I actually ditched my current read for it - something I very rarely do but I've been so eagerly awaiting this book that I just had to do it.Aside from the main story, there is also quite a lot going on in the characters' own lives. Especially with Maura. Oh dear, Ms Gerritsen does put her through the emotional wringer at times! And Jane's mum Angela has a bit of a trial to overcome here too. But, that said, the personal stuff that is included in this series is complementary to the storyline, it adds to the characters rather than distracts from the storyline so its inclusion is always welcome. To be honest, in my opinion, this series is quite character driven which is something I do love and, as such, I crave to learn all about their backgrounds as they give colour and credence to what is going on in their professional lives with respect to the crimes being investigated. Talking about the crime well... it's a doozy in this book! As per usual it's extremely well plotted and had me on my toes, second guessing throughout the book. Although I did have a couple of inklings along the way, I was right with some, not quite there with others, and totally off with the rest - just where I like to be with a book. Especially given that the eventual reveal left me completely satisfied. With darned near perfect pacing, great characters and a gripping storyline, this book has screamed itself into my top five reads of this year so far and looks like it may stay there. Having read 127 books this year so far, that's no mean feat!Only down side of finishing this book is that I now have to wait for the next one - counting the days already.My thanks go to the Publisher and Netgalley for the chance to read this book.
    more
  • Susan Ashton
    May 25, 2017
    I was lucky to receive this, the twelfth novel in the Rizzoli and Isles series, as a review copy and although I am already a fan of Gerritsen’s duo I approached this title with an open mind. The story opens with a seemingly innocuous scene at a funeral but of course it is the precursor to a series of gruesome murders which at first seem to have no connection with each other. I have read all of the previous books in this series but the author still manages to keep her plots fresh and although thi I was lucky to receive this, the twelfth novel in the Rizzoli and Isles series, as a review copy and although I am already a fan of Gerritsen’s duo I approached this title with an open mind. The story opens with a seemingly innocuous scene at a funeral but of course it is the precursor to a series of gruesome murders which at first seem to have no connection with each other. I have read all of the previous books in this series but the author still manages to keep her plots fresh and although this is somewhat darker underpinned by Isle’s relationship with her dying mother, a serial killer, it is no less of a cracker of a story. The back story of both Isles and Rizzoli is obviously built up through previous books in the series and although it is useful to have knowledge of them it is not altogether necessary for enjoying the plot although it helps in understanding the relationships each character has with those they work or interact with. As the bodies pile up the author intersperses their crime scenes with the personal journeys of Isles and Rizzoli as we learn more about their relationship with each other and their own personal struggles. Maura’s feelings for her mother are tested even more as she discovers a link between her and some elements of the crime spree. Alongside this her relationship with Daniel a priest she has known and loved for a long time is further tested as she finds herself overwhelmed with conflicting feelings for both. The writing is clean and slick and the tension kept taut all the way to the end. I really enjoyed the book and found it was difficult to put down. So much so I almost read it in one sitting. I would certainly recommend it and also suggest if you haven’t read any of the series before to perhaps try a few of the earlier ones to get a flavour of the characters.
    more
  • Ellie
    June 18, 2017
    A real page turner and good to check in with Rizzoli and Isles after a long wait. Full review to follow closer to publication date.
  • Patricia Romero
    May 24, 2017
    I was so excited to see a new Rizzoli and Isles book from Gerritsen! They make such a great team, the Detective and the Medical Examiner.Maura is visiting her dying biological mother in prison where she is dying from cancer and doesn't have long to live. She is in there because she has killed a lot of people. It's a family business and she is skilled at pushing Maura's buttons. Maura would just like her to die and get on with it. When she gets the call from Jane that they have a body, she is hap I was so excited to see a new Rizzoli and Isles book from Gerritsen! They make such a great team, the Detective and the Medical Examiner.Maura is visiting her dying biological mother in prison where she is dying from cancer and doesn't have long to live. She is in there because she has killed a lot of people. It's a family business and she is skilled at pushing Maura's buttons. Maura would just like her to die and get on with it. When she gets the call from Jane that they have a body, she is happy to leave.With body after body piling up with no visible cause of death, they finally catch a break and a story that links all of the victims finally comes to light. And it is truly unbelievable.This time Jane may not get her man after all. And Maura may get hers back!All of our favorite characters are here. Angela and Frankie and even Vince and of course Gabe. It is always a fun ride with Tess and her Rizzoli and Isles characters, whether in a book or on the screen!
    more
  • Maryellen
    May 5, 2017
    I've read most, if not all the Rizzoli and Isles books, as well as seen all episodes of the TV series and enjoyed it all. It's been awhile since I've read a new book and it reminded me of how different the two genres all. This latest book in the series brings most of the family characters into the story line, including Maura's biological mother Almathea. Almathea is in a prison hospital where she's receiving treatment and hospice care for advanced pancreatic cancer. Cryptic comments leave Maura I've read most, if not all the Rizzoli and Isles books, as well as seen all episodes of the TV series and enjoyed it all. It's been awhile since I've read a new book and it reminded me of how different the two genres all. This latest book in the series brings most of the family characters into the story line, including Maura's biological mother Almathea. Almathea is in a prison hospital where she's receiving treatment and hospice care for advanced pancreatic cancer. Cryptic comments leave Maura uneasy and dredges up unsettled thoughts and emotions. Jane and Frost are working on a murder case, seeking clues when another occurs. They find a link but that returns them to a 20 year old case involving abused children at a well know day care center. The owners and their son went to prison with the son only recently being release. How do all these pieces fit together? Where will Maura find the strength to deal with her mother's machinations? And what about the Rizzoli family? Father Frank wants back into Angela's good graces, but how does Angela feel about that. Is it too late for her and Korean? And people keep dying, somehow tied in method to Catholic martyrs. It's a great plot line with red herrings not coming clear until close to the end. It's a bit dark with some odd characters, but that's what keeps it interesting. If you've followed this series and it enjoyed it, this one will keep you on the edge of your seat.
    more
  • Tony Nielsen
    June 18, 2017
    Tess Gerritsen is a formidable and polished thriller writer. Again in I know a Secret she brings us the well established duo of Rizzoli and Isles. Doctor Maura Isles, the forensic pathologist and her friend and colleague detective Jane Rizzoli. When an unusual murder is discovered, with the victim's eyes removed and left in her hand, they are initially at a loss to ascertain the relevance of this modus operandi. Soon though their investigations take them to another high profile case from the pas Tess Gerritsen is a formidable and polished thriller writer. Again in I know a Secret she brings us the well established duo of Rizzoli and Isles. Doctor Maura Isles, the forensic pathologist and her friend and colleague detective Jane Rizzoli. When an unusual murder is discovered, with the victim's eyes removed and left in her hand, they are initially at a loss to ascertain the relevance of this modus operandi. Soon though their investigations take them to another high profile case from the past, and things start adding up. But then another body is discovered and they are again at a crossroads, especially as a supposed murderer has spent years in prison for the earlier murder.I Know a Secret is, as you would expect, from a writer of Gerritsen's calibre and experience, an easy read. The secret is in the plot, and it's unexpected twists and turns. There's also a side issue for Maura Isles who has to deal with the illness of her birth mother, herself a murderer, and now fatally ill in hospital. Is there a link between her and the killings ?? That's just one of the threads of the story.
    more
  • Lori Lamothe
    July 28, 2017
    Excellent Mystery This was the first Jane Rizzoli & Maura Isles novel I’ve read but it won’t be the last. A series of gruesome murders lead the women to investigate events that happened two decades earlier, when a girl went missing and her hat turned up on a bus driven by a daycare employee. Not only did Gerritsen keep me guessing but she also left me wanting to learn more about the main characters. I grew up in New England and her depiction of Rizzoli’s family dynamic was spot on, as was he Excellent Mystery This was the first Jane Rizzoli & Maura Isles novel I’ve read but it won’t be the last. A series of gruesome murders lead the women to investigate events that happened two decades earlier, when a girl went missing and her hat turned up on a bus driven by a daycare employee. Not only did Gerritsen keep me guessing but she also left me wanting to learn more about the main characters. I grew up in New England and her depiction of Rizzoli’s family dynamic was spot on, as was her portrayal of the Boston area in the middle of winter. The mystery itself was engaging and by the end I couldn’t put the book down. It even sent me in search of details about a notorious case that happened outside of Boston years ago, one which may have served as a basis for a key part of the plot in I Know a Secret. Highly recommended.I received a digital copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review