Invictus
Time flies when you're plundering history.Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The son of a time-traveling Recorder from 2354 AD and a gladiator living in Rome in 95 AD, Far's birth defies the laws of nature. Exploring history himself is all he's ever wanted, and after failing his final time-traveling exam, Far takes a position commanding a ship with a crew of his friends as part of a black market operation to steal valuables from the past. But during a heist on the sinking Titanic, Far meets a mysterious girl who always seems to be one step ahead of him. Armed with knowledge that will bring Far's very existence into question, she will lead Far and his team on a race through time to discover a frightening truth: History is not as steady as it seems.In this heart-stopping adventure, Ryan Graudin has created a fast-paced world that defies time and space.

Invictus Details

TitleInvictus
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 26th, 2017
PublisherLittle, Brown Books for Young Readers
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Science Fiction, Time Travel, Historical

Invictus Review

  • Lola Reviewer
    July 17, 2017
    I am a happy reader.You see, time travel and I do not have much in common. I much rather focus on the future than the past and time travel would be nothing without the past. So how come I managed to finish this 450-page book and enjoy it in the process?Two words: Ryan GraudinI knew I should try this book, despite the time-traveling, having been surprised by historical fiction/fantasy series WOLF BY WOLF. You just never know what kind of creature-book you’re faced with when it comes to this autho I am a happy reader.You see, time travel and I do not have much in common. I much rather focus on the future than the past and time travel would be nothing without the past. So how come I managed to finish this 450-page book and enjoy it in the process?Two words: Ryan GraudinI knew I should try this book, despite the time-traveling, having been surprised by historical fiction/fantasy series WOLF BY WOLF. You just never know what kind of creature-book you’re faced with when it comes to this author. And I love that. INVICTUS is for those who need action and camaraderie in their reads. The title stands for the name of the ship which is occupied by four—soon five—crew members actively breaking the law.The world is curious. Those who have the skill to jump through time record events for the government. But there are also those who can jump through universes. That’s when things get interesting.I’ve said too much already. If you’re familiar with this author, you know what to expect: betrayal, heart-pounding adventure and plot twists. My only complaint is in regards to the romance. We do not see Far and Priya fall in love—they are already in love—which I find unfortunate and cheap. Development is very important. But I liked everything else. Blog | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Bloglovin’
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    April 1, 2017
    Major cover crush *grabby hands* *gimmie gimmie*
  • rin (lorenzo)
    November 29, 2016
    upd idk about the cover but the first chapter looks intriguing “I could go back and kill Hitler,” Far joked. “Isn’t that every time traveler’s dream?” i couldn't stop myself~~~Time. Traveling. Thieves.also: "Dr. Who meets Firefly meets Looper."aLSO: "Dr. Who meets Guardians of the Galaxy"NATURALLY, I HAVE TO READ THIS
    more
  • Roshani Chokshi
    May 14, 2017
    I got to read this in draft, and it was PHENOMENAL. This ensemble cast will capture your heart. It's an emotionally urgent, vivid, and inspiring read. Three cheers for all the Firefly/Dr. Who references <3
  • Alexa
    July 17, 2017
    HOLY SHAZM, WHAT A FUN RIDE! I was really looking forward to Invictus after hearing what it was about and the comps for it. And I'm so happy that I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed it! It's a fun adventure, for one thing, and a solid story that kept me hooked. It also has really great characters who I absolutely adored (especially Imogen). Definitely another addition to my faves shelf for sure!
    more
  • Rachel Strolle
    May 20, 2017
    INVICTUS is the story of a time travel crew, a boy with no birthday, and a Marie Antoinette that ruins everythingI am a history buff so time travel books and shows are so interesting to me. What is great about INVICTUS is that while the stakes are super high, it never loses it's fun. One of the few books where I actually agree with both of the things used as comps (doctor who and guardians). Both Doctor Who and Guardians of the Galaxy have worlds at stake all the time, and yet they are still fun INVICTUS is the story of a time travel crew, a boy with no birthday, and a Marie Antoinette that ruins everythingI am a history buff so time travel books and shows are so interesting to me. What is great about INVICTUS is that while the stakes are super high, it never loses it's fun. One of the few books where I actually agree with both of the things used as comps (doctor who and guardians). Both Doctor Who and Guardians of the Galaxy have worlds at stake all the time, and yet they are still fun (most of the time)! That's INVICTUS.
    more
  • Taylor Robinson
    April 23, 2017
    Time travelling thieves?! SIGN ME UP.
  • Dawn Abron
    June 30, 2017
    It's the year 2371 and we've discovered time travel and it's so prevalent that it's the best job on earth.  It's not the fun kind of time travel though; travelers are only allowed to record history and not interact with anyone but Farway's mom broke that rule and whoopsie-all hell has broken loose.Farway McCarthy is the best cadet in the academy, obviously, and he's on his way to be tops in his class and the pick of any time travel job but whoopsie, he failed his test and now he's been kicked ou It's the year 2371 and we've discovered time travel and it's so prevalent that it's the best job on earth.  It's not the fun kind of time travel though; travelers are only allowed to record history and not interact with anyone but Farway's mom broke that rule and whoopsie-all hell has broken loose.Farway McCarthy is the best cadet in the academy, obviously, and he's on his way to be tops in his class and the pick of any time travel job but whoopsie, he failed his test and now he's been kicked out of school. So far, we've all heard this story before.  He's wallowing in his misery when his spunky and best character in the book, Imogen, cheers him up with gelato because Invictus is set in Italy.  While they're eating their gelato, Far gets a mysterious letter from this mysterious guy with the chance to captain his own ship to travel time to steal valuable artifacts. Of course Far is reckless so of course he says yes and assembles his crew-Imogen, his best friend Gram, and his girlfriend Priya.  And yes this is a very diverse crew because Gram is Black and Priya, well you can figure it out. The Invictus crew is minding their business trying to find a book before the Titanic sinks when some strange girl steals it first then happens to get on their ship.  She tells them that she'll return the book to their boss if she can be a member of their crew.  They have no choice but to accept her or their boss with will kill them all.I'm a Whovian so of course I've read my share of time travel books and this is by far the best I've read. Graudin's writing is a breath of fresh air that doesn't include sappy romances, predictable plots, or convoluted story lines. I'm sure people are going to find holes in her time travel rules but I don't go into this genre looking for holes.  I just want a book that's not confusing as hell and enjoyable to read.  My only issue, and it pains me to say this, is that it was too wordy.  I don't like it when the majority of the words on the page aren't driving the plot and I felt Invictus did this.  I ended skipping through the last 150 pages-YIKES.Overall, if you are looking for a great adventure through some pretty interesting historic locations with some pretty good writing, check out Invictus. 
    more
  • alice (arctic books)
    July 21, 2017
    I'm not a huge time-traveling person despite loving science-fiction, but this one intrigued me. However, INVICTUS, my first Ryan Graudin novel, was frankly a bit underwhelming.I did like Far - he was a fantastic main character and had such great dynamics with the other characters on his team. I loved the time-traveling aspect to the different events in time - when I was younger, I was obsessed with the Titanic, and I would read tens of books on the disaster at the library. Traveling with the Inv I'm not a huge time-traveling person despite loving science-fiction, but this one intrigued me. However, INVICTUS, my first Ryan Graudin novel, was frankly a bit underwhelming.I did like Far - he was a fantastic main character and had such great dynamics with the other characters on his team. I loved the time-traveling aspect to the different events in time - when I was younger, I was obsessed with the Titanic, and I would read tens of books on the disaster at the library. Traveling with the Invictus crew back to this time and other times in history was incredibly fun. I really liked reading about the different characters, especially Eliot, but I felt as if many of the characters, like Imogen and Gram were put to the side rather than the formidable team that I was expecting. Additionally, Graudin's prose is rather lengthy and superfluous, which made it somewhat tedious for me to read. Overall, if you like Doctor Who and time-travel and can stand tedious writing, do check this one out. Unfortunately, this one didn't meet my expectations as much as I had hoped though it did have some redeemable aspects. Thank you to Little, Brown and Netgalley for a copy for a review.
    more
  • Lauren
    July 1, 2017
    I liked so much about this book. Love the idea of a crew of time travelers going back in time to steal treasures that had been lost in time. Getting a first hand look at history past is always a favorite, and I enjoyed following Farway, Priya, Imogen and Gram on their trips. The way the story jumps, Farway and Priya are already dating during the majority of the tale. And while we don't get the swoons buildup of their romance, I loved the settled-ness of it and how their relationship was importan I liked so much about this book. Love the idea of a crew of time travelers going back in time to steal treasures that had been lost in time. Getting a first hand look at history past is always a favorite, and I enjoyed following Farway, Priya, Imogen and Gram on their trips. The way the story jumps, Farway and Priya are already dating during the majority of the tale. And while we don't get the swoons buildup of their romance, I loved the settled-ness of it and how their relationship was important to both of them. It also allowed the drama and action to focus on other things, which makes sense for a story that's less character driven and more focused on plot and (view spoiler)[saving the world (hide spoiler)]. I did not like Eliot at all when we first meet her, and I didn't know what to think of her for a long time. But her role in this story definitely surprised me a lot and she upped the intensity factor - and changed the direction of the plot - a lot. Things slowed down for me in the middle a bit, but the end was fast paced and exciting with very high stakes. This is a standalone with a strong ending. More review to come. Love Triangle Factor: NoneCliffhanger Scale: Standalone
    more
  • Trin
    May 16, 2017
    The Wolf by Wolf duology, though it had its flaws, was consistently exciting and creative. This book was...neither of those things.Anyone who knows me at all will tell you: I LOVE time travel. Yet I was utterly bored by this book. The actual stakes -- the plot -- is not introduced for 300 pages. This wouldn't matter so much if the characters -- the crew of the rogue time travel vessel Invictus -- were engaging, but even though Graudin visits every one of their POVs (and several other characters' The Wolf by Wolf duology, though it had its flaws, was consistently exciting and creative. This book was...neither of those things.Anyone who knows me at all will tell you: I LOVE time travel. Yet I was utterly bored by this book. The actual stakes -- the plot -- is not introduced for 300 pages. This wouldn't matter so much if the characters -- the crew of the rogue time travel vessel Invictus -- were engaging, but even though Graudin visits every one of their POVs (and several other characters' besides) I felt like I could barely distinguish one from another aside from their most superficial traits.Imogen: Dyes her hair a lot. Crushing on Gram.Gram: Likes order and TETRIS. Priya: Doctor. Supposedly in love with Farway.Farway: Supposedly in love with Priya. The MAIN CHARACTER.Yeah so...Far's our main dude, but he has no discernible personality? Imogen calls him arrogant a few times, but this characteristic never makes it to the page; it's not a conclusion I would have drawn from his dialogue or actions. The dialogue itself is flat flat flat -- the crew supposedly engages in witty banter, but there's no spark to it. Along with time travel, one of my great loves is TEAMFIC: I love a group of disparate characters bonded together by circumstance and a shared mission. The back cover copy compares this to Guardians of the Galaxy, but not only is each member of the Guardians distinct, they each have diverse and memorable relationships between each other. A conversation between Peter and Drax will be very different from a conversation between Peter and Rocket, or Rocket and Groot, or Groot and Gamora, or ANY COMBINATION YOU COULD THINK OF. And this variety of dynamics has very little to do with who's crushing on whom. In comparison, Graudin falls back on her two tensionless romances again and again, but there's nothing there. To me there was nothing much between any of these characters worth exploring. And the time travel was almost an afterthought.Aside from some of Graudin's more flowery excesses of prose, I'm not sure I would have guessed that this book was written by the same author as Wolf by Wolf. Those books were pulpy and fun and did feature characters I cared about, so I was really excited when I heard the same writer was doing a time travel book. But Invictus left me incredibly disappointed.
    more
  • Diana Braxton
    March 16, 2017
    A new book by the amazing Ryan Graudin - author of Wolf by Wolf?About time travel featuring the son of a gladiator? Um, hello? YES!!!!!!!!
  • Claire
    December 1, 2016
    GIVE IT TO MEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
  • Olivia Farr
    July 14, 2017
    “Invictus” is a fantastic YA sci-fi adventure. I whole-heartedly agree with Revis’s review which says that it’s Firefly as teenagers with a tardis! Such an apt description. Here, we follow Farway (Far) as he fails to become what he has always desired to become- a Recorder, someone who travels through history to record key events (just as his mother was). Turned away from the Academy, he finds himself entering a life of crime, stealing key artifacts from history for wealthy buyers in the present. “Invictus” is a fantastic YA sci-fi adventure. I whole-heartedly agree with Revis’s review which says that it’s Firefly as teenagers with a tardis! Such an apt description. Here, we follow Farway (Far) as he fails to become what he has always desired to become- a Recorder, someone who travels through history to record key events (just as his mother was). Turned away from the Academy, he finds himself entering a life of crime, stealing key artifacts from history for wealthy buyers in the present. He gets to choose his crew (a fun cast of characters) and for each mission they complete, they also get to make one of their own. Things go awry when they are collecting something from the Titanic.Absolutely engaging and fascinating, we get to explore not just one realm of sci-fi but so many. I won’t say too much to avoid spoilers, but I felt like a kid at Christmas with this book- sci-fi lovers will absolutely rejoice! This book was absolutely an original and delves into how we define ourselves and our world as well as how the past shapes the future. The characters here were fantastic. I loved Far’s cousin, Imogen, whose personality is as colorful as her hair. Priya, Far’s love interest, was steady and solid- I wish we had gotten to explore their relationship more, but it broke the YA barriers for being relatively drama-free and a good dose of a pretty healthy relationship. Gram was a fun character as well and reminded me of Wash from Firefly quite a bit, in the best way!One of the really great things about the way the book is written is that we don’t focus exclusively on Far’s perspective but get to see things from different character’s perspectives, really giving each of them a life and deeper personality. I also loved that I couldn’t figure out all the twists and turns and the plot kept surprising me as I read- it’s wonderful to follow a story and continue to be surprised by where it takes you. This is a great journey! I could easily see this being made into a fantastic TV show- brilliant characters, fascinating premise, and just the perfect amount of adventure/mystery.This is a really excellent book which I hope will be followed up with more books featuring these characters. I think it’s a really great sci-fi read (not just YA) and I look forward to more from this talented author! Please note that I received an ARC through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Dayla
    June 7, 2017
    I...I need this.
  • Kathleen
    May 29, 2017
    First of all, toss out all expectations that Invictus is like Dr. Who meets Guardians of the Galaxy. The only similarity to Guardians is the non-verbal but personable red panda onboard the Invictus. Dr. Who? I can see that but as I read Ryan Graudin’s latest I could not stop thinking how much Invictus reminded me of an interstellar Harry Potter. So many comparable elements: The Boy Who Should Not Have Been is the The Boy Who Lived, the evil academy teacher who was in love with Harry, I mean, Far First of all, toss out all expectations that Invictus is like Dr. Who meets Guardians of the Galaxy. The only similarity to Guardians is the non-verbal but personable red panda onboard the Invictus. Dr. Who? I can see that but as I read Ryan Graudin’s latest I could not stop thinking how much Invictus reminded me of an interstellar Harry Potter. So many comparable elements: The Boy Who Should Not Have Been is the The Boy Who Lived, the evil academy teacher who was in love with Harry, I mean, Far’s mother, even Hermione’s bottomless purse is there.But that’s not a bad thing. Harry Potter is like the Holy Grail of fantasy; written for the younger reader but read and loved by everyone from ages 5 to 105. Graudin has only borrowed some details from Harry, mixed and stirred and seasoned them, and presents to us, the reader, her own concoction. And, despite some not quite fully cooked parts, it’s quite yummy.Farway Gaius McCarthy, AKA the dude with the funky name, really is the Boy Who Should Not Have Been. Far, as he prefers to be called, was born in a time machine frantically traveling full speed between the years 95 AD to 2354 AD. He can’t celebrate his birthday; he doesn’t truly have one, so Far celebrates his unbirthday. He wants to be a historical recorder like his mother but a glitch in his final exam gets him tossed out of the academy. Time travel is what he has wanted to do all his life and when he is offered a second chance as captain of a black market CTM (time machine), he jumps.Fast forward to one year later. Far and his crew are heading for the Titanic to steal a priceless book. With his cousin Imogen, who changes her hair color daily, Gram the boy genius with his collection of Rubik’s Cubes, and Far’s girlfriend Priya, incongruously both medic and mechanic, they have had a rather adventurous but profitable run. Then on the Titanic, Far meets his match; she’s faster and easily outwits him in the heist and leaves Far with little choice: he begrudgingly makes her part of the crew. The author gives all the characters a chance to share their own POV. It helps to expand upon each character but there were scenes when I would have preferred more dialogue or interaction to give us something tasty to chew on. Far is charming and bold and his ego gets him in trouble. But we are only told that, I would have loved to see more of this ego. Everything about the girl, Eliot, is mysterious and remains so for pretty much most of the book. My favorite is definitely Imogen, she’s quirky and impulsive, owns the red panda, and has a major crush on Gram who is her total opposite. The boy’s brain functions systematically and rationally (think Spock), loves Tetris and is totally baffled by females. Priya is, well, kinda not exciting. I really could not get into her relationship with Far. Apparently the two fell in love during the fast forward so any courting or tension is long gone and we have to take the relationship as established which, in my opinion, makes it rather flat.I like the story and really did enjoy the book. There are major scientific gobbledygook scenes concerning (insert spoiler here) that I just glazed over. I like that the author gets me to suspend any disbelief so that a shipload of teenagers trying to save the universe makes total sense. But there are some huge, face-in-palm, inconsistencies concerning the hard rules of time travel and butterfly effect and universal pivot points and how the characters break pretty much every one of them. And the ending…another move that probably broke yet another guidebook-full of time travel rules but, whatever, Graudin made it work. Invictus is silly and fun and goes fast. It’s a standalone so take what you get.
    more
  • Brittany
    July 20, 2017
    DNF @ 146 pagesI was so here for Invictus; Dr.Who meets Guardians of the Galaxy. Sounds like a super fun time-travelling adventure. Well, not so much. The prologue had me hooked, this kid born outside of time, where is Graudin going to go with this?! I quickly discovered the answer to that. Farway is obviously supposed to be like your lead male captain type. Think Starlord or my man Malcolm Reynolds. He is not. Far's character tries way too hard to be that type and I can certainly tell. So this DNF @ 146 pagesI was so here for Invictus; Dr.Who meets Guardians of the Galaxy. Sounds like a super fun time-travelling adventure. Well, not so much. The prologue had me hooked, this kid born outside of time, where is Graudin going to go with this?! I quickly discovered the answer to that. Farway is obviously supposed to be like your lead male captain type. Think Starlord or my man Malcolm Reynolds. He is not. Far's character tries way too hard to be that type and I can certainly tell. So this plot, a rag tag team of teens stealing artifacts from the past, that would intrigue like 90% of us. It caught my attention. But ultimately it didn't keep it for long. The story is not nearly as compelling as it sounds like it would be. The excitement levels barely peak at the Titanic scene. The characters(and we get quite a few different POV's) failed to add any fun banter. Invictus has a slow start, but I thought I would give it some time to get its footing. Here I am with just under a third read and I could care less. I'm bored and confused. The math, time travelling science bits and the world are so poorly explained that everything is going over my head. There's a small part of me that wants to stick this through in the hopes that something amazing is about to happen. But that's a very small part, which I don't trust to be right. I am going to shelf this as "set aside" for now since there are still a few more months until its release and maybe someone will come along and say "no, I promise you're at the part where it's all about to change." They'd have to be the most convincing person ever though...
    more
  • Ashley
    July 3, 2017
    Liked:- Interesting characters.- The historical parts were really cool. Gladiators, titanic, etc.- I loved the time travelling, and that's actually coming from someone who can be a bit iffy about time travel books. It was a perfect balance of interesting time travel mind-fuckery, but still being easy to grasp. Sometimes time travel can be SO confusing that it's no longer even fun to read about because I'm so lost... that wasn't the case here. It was a cool idea but also easy to understand what w Liked:- Interesting characters.- The historical parts were really cool. Gladiators, titanic, etc.- I loved the time travelling, and that's actually coming from someone who can be a bit iffy about time travel books. It was a perfect balance of interesting time travel mind-fuckery, but still being easy to grasp. Sometimes time travel can be SO confusing that it's no longer even fun to read about because I'm so lost... that wasn't the case here. It was a cool idea but also easy to understand what was happening and how actions affected the future.---Ehh:- The main character, Far, is already in a relationship with one of the other crew members when the book started. The romance wasn't the total focus of the story but it still played a significant part. It was hard for me to be really invested in it though because it was already in full swing when the book started. I just wasn't hugely attached to it and that was kind of a bummer.- The technology was kind of weird/confusing. For example, there's a bunch of math that needs to be done to time travel and here's a quote:"The numbers weren't just changing this time. They were disappearing."That just made no sense to me. I didn't really get the whole numbers changing/disappearing thing. How does that even happen with math? I just really, really didn't get how that whole part worked.- There were a few slow parts - particularly in the middle. But it really sped up again at the end!
    more
  • Trisha Perry
    May 29, 2017
    Farway was born outside of time when his mother, Empra, failed to make it back in time to give birth in the correct year. She was trying to watch his fathers, a roman gladiator, final minutes before his death. You see Empra was a time recorder on the Ab Aeterno's crew and if anyone found out that Far's dad wasn't one of the crew, well that would be really bad for his mom, so the crew never said anything and classified the whole trip. However, alternate realities are being eaten up by a darkness Farway was born outside of time when his mother, Empra, failed to make it back in time to give birth in the correct year. She was trying to watch his fathers, a roman gladiator, final minutes before his death. You see Empra was a time recorder on the Ab Aeterno's crew and if anyone found out that Far's dad wasn't one of the crew, well that would be really bad for his mom, so the crew never said anything and classified the whole trip. However, alternate realities are being eaten up by a darkness that is seeking an aberration, one that is only known by a alternate reality doppelganger of Far named Eliot and she is here to kill the aberration and stop the darkness they called The Fade. Only Far and his friends showed Eliot that wouldn't stop The Fade, they had to change his whole birth, but that is a lot to change especially when time doesn't want to be changed, and their are a lot people against you. But can the five of them do it and what happens to their friendship in their new lives? So many timey whimey, spacey, wacey questions to ask and answer. But this author does it all so well, she has left no paradox open and hanging. The action and suspense is almost non-stop, they did take a very short break in Vegas but even that ended and action and suspense. The characters are put together so well you couldn't have a better bunch as a crew, they are so eclectic and awesome together, just fun, and the red panda is a hoot a bit more training and you might just have a guard panda. There were a few times I was waiting for someone to comment on Gram's bow ties or for Priya to say that the Invictus was bigger on the inside than on the outside. Yeah, I am a Dr. Who fan, but you can't help it with all the time travel.
    more
  • Sofia (Bookish Wanderess)
    July 14, 2017
    *4,2 stars*
  • Hala Salah
    July 20, 2017
    Amazing. addictive & very intense book.Review will be posted soon.
  • Lewis Szymanski
    June 4, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book through a Goodreads giveaway.A YA time travel adventure that becomes much more. I like the story and really did enjoy the book. It's an ensemble cast, with everyone taking turns at the POV. Everyone is likable and believable. The author succeeded in getting me to suspend any disbelief so that a shipload of teenagers trying to save the universe makes sense. Invictus is silly and fun and goes fast. The author claims it is a stand alone, but a sequel seems inevitable.
    more
  • Kelly
    May 8, 2017
    Okay so Ryan Graudin is officially one of my favorite authors because I have loved every one of her books that I have picked up. Not to fangirl too much, but she is such a master at combining historical fiction and fantasy and her writing brings me so much joy.Invictus was just EPIC.I felt all the feels like when I was reading Marissa Meyer's The Lunar Chronicles for the first time. Don't get me wrong, though--this story is totally different from TLC aside from them both sharing futuristic setti Okay so Ryan Graudin is officially one of my favorite authors because I have loved every one of her books that I have picked up. Not to fangirl too much, but she is such a master at combining historical fiction and fantasy and her writing brings me so much joy.Invictus was just EPIC.I felt all the feels like when I was reading Marissa Meyer's The Lunar Chronicles for the first time. Don't get me wrong, though--this story is totally different from TLC aside from them both sharing futuristic settings, being sci-fi, and containing a kickass crew of main characters.In case you couldn't tell, I really loved this book a lot. It was such a well-crafted story and it makes me so happy that it's a standalone. While I love the characters and would probably be happy to read their grocery lists, this story just has such a satisfying arc, like I get legitimate chills just from thinking about it.I haven't had much luck with time travel books lately, but I just think this one was so well done. It really felt real, like the time travel could actually happen. That's probably because the characters were hella intelligent and some of the things they'd casually toss around as conversation topics were like Illuminae/Gemina levels of complicated, but boy oh boy did I love it.So, yes. Please read. Loved it <3Current Publication Date: September 26, 2017***I received a free ARC from the publisher at BookCon 2017***This review is also posted on my blog
    more
  • Ella
    November 29, 2016
    That high pitched sound you can hear? THAT'S ME SCREAMING.SCREAMMMMMMMMMMMMINNNNGGGGG. And crying.2017 HURRY UPPPP.
  • TammyJo Eckhart
    June 18, 2017
    Ryan Graudin has crafted a unique time travel story that not only combines science fiction and historical genres but also brings in horror elements. Her writing is engaging and her four main viewpoint characters are given enough time and detail to be interesting. However that there are four them is a bit too much. Three make sense given the convoluted challenges of time travel - Empra, Far, and Elliot are all blood related and the horror created Empra's decisions are innately connected to their Ryan Graudin has crafted a unique time travel story that not only combines science fiction and historical genres but also brings in horror elements. Her writing is engaging and her four main viewpoint characters are given enough time and detail to be interesting. However that there are four them is a bit too much. Three make sense given the convoluted challenges of time travel - Empra, Far, and Elliot are all blood related and the horror created Empra's decisions are innately connected to their lives. While Imogen is also blood related she is not directly connected to the horror and thus I found the couple of chapters from her point of view unnecessary. Even less important is a single chapter from the viewpoint of Ackerman who works for the time travel institution.These few chapters where we are seeing the world from both Imogen's and Ackerman's views really should have cut by editors.The novel has four "part" titles but it is really split into five parts. The first is the shortest and tells Empra's story about how she oversteps her bounds as a historical observer and recorder. The second is short as well and follows Far's great promise as a recorder and how that falls apart and requires him to make an illegal deal. The third part is the longest, well over triple any other section of the book and it looks at the journey of Far and his crew aboard the Invictus, their time traveling ship. The fourth part is the second longest and takes us along the mad attempt to correct the error Empra made. Finally the fifth part is a short retelling of the second part of the book but as it might have been had Empra's foolishness been corrected.I'm glad that Alvina Ling from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers gave this story a change. It is a mind-bending story that could be used to create discussions about history, personal choices, and morality but simply enjoyed as an engaging work of fiction.
    more
  • Crystal
    July 18, 2017
    Disclaimer: I received this book free from Netgalley in return for an un-biased review.The right book at the right time can be such a gift. I really needed a book just like this just now. After my recent looong journey through a very deep and emotional fantasy series, I felt like I needed something bright and shiny to chase the shadows out of my brain. This book was perfect.A young man, Far Gaius McCarthy, is a promising time travel cadet whose final exam is derailed by a rogue Marie Antoinette. Disclaimer: I received this book free from Netgalley in return for an un-biased review.The right book at the right time can be such a gift. I really needed a book just like this just now. After my recent looong journey through a very deep and emotional fantasy series, I felt like I needed something bright and shiny to chase the shadows out of my brain. This book was perfect.A young man, Far Gaius McCarthy, is a promising time travel cadet whose final exam is derailed by a rogue Marie Antoinette. Things only get more complicated from there.How to describe this book? Would you like a book about time traveling bff’s skipping through history heisting rare artifacts? Heck yes you would! This book is as fun as it sounds. It grabs you right from the get go and you’re swept along until the very last page.Thankfully, the time travel aspect is well handled. Books about time travel can quickly get bogged down in complex paradoxes if an author is not careful. Ms. Graudin does a terrific job maneuvering the terrain without losing her sense of fun and adventure.Far McCarthy, is an excellent character. Cocky and headstrong as he should be in this role, but with a wonderful group of friends keeping him safe and facilitating both his work in the black market, and the search for his missing mother. The ensemble cast of this book is really endearing. They are a terrific group of friends who are genuinely fond of each other and quirky as all get out. I’d love about 4 more books please. If we could have one focusing on each character that would be just great! The author has said this is a standalone book, so I guess I’m not going to get my wish, but hey YOU still have a chance to read this book for the first time! Get to Netgalley quick my book blogging friends, they still have review copies. If you’re reading this review after the book releases, then what are you waiting for, buy it. You won’t be sorry. A fantastic journey awaits!
    more
  • Julia Rivas
    July 17, 2017
    WOWWWWW!!!!!! That was the most fun I'd had with a book in awhile. I felt like the book had a nice balance of character development and fast paced action. There was no dull moment whether it be a conversation on the ship or world building. I feel like I fell in love with the characters and their banter from page 1. I was surprised to find out the this is only a standalone and while I believe that Graudin wrapped up the story nicely, I just want more adventures with Farway and his crew. When an a WOWWWWW!!!!!! That was the most fun I'd had with a book in awhile. I felt like the book had a nice balance of character development and fast paced action. There was no dull moment whether it be a conversation on the ship or world building. I feel like I fell in love with the characters and their banter from page 1. I was surprised to find out the this is only a standalone and while I believe that Graudin wrapped up the story nicely, I just want more adventures with Farway and his crew. When an author makes me want more from their characters, I consider it a success. I've only read the Wolf by Wolf duology (which was just as awesome), but I can already tell that Ryan Graudin is an author whose books I will look forward to in the future.
    more
  • Cambear
    July 9, 2017
    Complex, absorbing and wholly originalIt's an epic story about a world where time travel is normal and a way to steal luxury food items. There's a fascinating world here with so many ideas and a lot of comment on our world today. It's smart and interesting and a mash up of so many things. There's a bit of romance (not the focus), history, science fiction, adventure and even a look at fashion and cursing through the years. A book to escape into.Thanks to the publisher for providing a copy of the Complex, absorbing and wholly originalIt's an epic story about a world where time travel is normal and a way to steal luxury food items. There's a fascinating world here with so many ideas and a lot of comment on our world today. It's smart and interesting and a mash up of so many things. There's a bit of romance (not the focus), history, science fiction, adventure and even a look at fashion and cursing through the years. A book to escape into.Thanks to the publisher for providing a copy of the book for review.
    more
  • Kalie
    June 5, 2017
    This might be more of a 3.5 in retrospect, but I rounded up because of the overall satisfaction I had after finishing. At its best, it's great fun. I mean, time traveling thieves pilfering through history! A red panda companion named Saffron! Gelato! FOUND FAMILIES. I still wish I had more of an emotional attachment to the characters than I did - and I think the story could have benefited in that regard by being a duology (there is plenty of material, both character and story-wise to warrant it) This might be more of a 3.5 in retrospect, but I rounded up because of the overall satisfaction I had after finishing. At its best, it's great fun. I mean, time traveling thieves pilfering through history! A red panda companion named Saffron! Gelato! FOUND FAMILIES. I still wish I had more of an emotional attachment to the characters than I did - and I think the story could have benefited in that regard by being a duology (there is plenty of material, both character and story-wise to warrant it), but it's a solid, fun story that I would easily re-read again.
    more
  • Yall Girl May
    May 11, 2017
    I loved Wolf by Wolf. I hated Blood for Blood (boring, flat, and empty of substance). I went into this book with managed expectations and hoped this would live up to the masterpiece that was Wolf by Wolf. While Invictus is nothing like Wolf by Wolf, I enjoyed it almost as much. Invictus is fun, gorgeous, and fast paced. I dearly love the characters and the story was gripping. Thank you LBYR for the arc! All opinions are mine.
    more
Write a review