Gotham Academy
GOTHAM ACADEMY is back for its second semester!When you're Gotham Academy student Olive Silverlock, winter holidays can be a drag. Luckily, when a new student shows up at Gotham Academy to keep her company while the other students are away, Olive finds what could be a brand new friend...or a whole lot of trouble. And when Maps, Kyle, Colton, Pomeline and the rest of the students of Gotham's #1 prep school return for a new semester, the adventures are twice as mysterious and twice as dangerous!Collects GOTHAM ACADEMY: SECOND SEMESTER #1-3, 5-8.

Gotham Academy Details

TitleGotham Academy
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherDC Comics
ISBN1401271197
ISBN-139781401271190
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Young Adult, Superheroes, Dc Comics, Mystery

Gotham Academy Review

  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
    June 17, 2017
    Gotham Academy is a fabulous series that can be read both by kids and grown-ups. This is the second volume I've read in this series and I totally loved it. Honestly, I could sit down and re-read it, both for the stories and for the wonderful art.For those of you that don't know anything about Gotham Academy will I tell you this: It's a school with strange teachers, secret passengers, kids with abilities (not all of them, but some) and now and then a guy called Bruce Wayne shows up.My favorite ch Gotham Academy is a fabulous series that can be read both by kids and grown-ups. This is the second volume I've read in this series and I totally loved it. Honestly, I could sit down and re-read it, both for the stories and for the wonderful art.For those of you that don't know anything about Gotham Academy will I tell you this: It's a school with strange teachers, secret passengers, kids with abilities (not all of them, but some) and now and then a guy called Bruce Wayne shows up.My favorite character is Maps, she is a young Asian girl that reminds me of Jubilee from Marvel and she loves adventures and mysteries. Of course, I like the rest of the characters to Silverlock, Kyle, etc. But, it's just something about this spunky kid that makes me truly love this series.The art is marvelous, this is the kind of art that I really, really love and I've added some screen caps for you all to see: I want to thank the publisher for providing me with a free copy for an honest review!
    more
  • Chris Lemmerman
    July 16, 2017
    [Read as single issues]I love Gotham Academy. It's one of those Bat-Books that carves out a little niche that no other book manages to find and really goes for it, roping in continuity and characters from all over the place (like the 60s Batman show and the 90s Animated Series) so that fans of Batman in general will get something fun out of everything involved. But it's also got a huge amount of heart and fun characters - which is why it's so sad to see them going through the wringer in this vol [Read as single issues]I love Gotham Academy. It's one of those Bat-Books that carves out a little niche that no other book manages to find and really goes for it, roping in continuity and characters from all over the place (like the 60s Batman show and the 90s Animated Series) so that fans of Batman in general will get something fun out of everything involved. But it's also got a huge amount of heart and fun characters - which is why it's so sad to see them going through the wringer in this volume.Olive's been left alone at Gotham Academy, and makes a new friend who seems to want to get her into trouble at every turn. Factor in a potential expulsion for Colton, trouble in paradise for Maps, and the usual Gotham Academy mysteries tying back into the history of Gotham itself - plus the reveal of the true culprit behind Calamity - and you've got some great storytelling.The artwork is another part of this book that I love. We've lost Karl Kerschl on pencils, but Adam Archer steps in ably to continue. His style is a little more muted than Kerschl's, but colourist/background painter Mssyk keeps the gothic atmosphere and the very individual character designs front and centre. Gotham Academy has a very distinct tone, and the artwork is great at helping to sell that.With one final arc of Gotham Academy to go, this one sets the stage for the ultimate resolution of all of the plot threads that we've seen so far, and it does it with style (and while kicking you in the feels too).
    more
  • Jill Jemmett
    July 26, 2017
    Olive Silverlock stayed at Gotham Academy for the winter break. Before school started, a girl showed up in her room, claiming to be her new roommate. Amy convinces Olive to do bad things. They throw a rock through a window. They break into a house on the school property and then torment Eric. Then, a new club starts up, competing with Maps’s detective club. The new club is filled with witches who plan on burning the library books. Maps’s friends have to rescue her after she is brainwashed to joi Olive Silverlock stayed at Gotham Academy for the winter break. Before school started, a girl showed up in her room, claiming to be her new roommate. Amy convinces Olive to do bad things. They throw a rock through a window. They break into a house on the school property and then torment Eric. Then, a new club starts up, competing with Maps’s detective club. The new club is filled with witches who plan on burning the library books. Maps’s friends have to rescue her after she is brainwashed to join their club. But after saving her, Colton gets caught breaking into a classroom. The headmaster wants to expel him but he gets a trial first. He disappears during his hearing, so the rest of the gang set out to find evidence that he should remain at school and Olive has to face her past yet again. This is my favourite book in the Gotham Academy series. It was cohesive from the first comic to the last. It followed one major storyline throughout. Some of the other graphic novels have started with one plot and then drifted off into something else. This one was very consistent. The new characters also had a purpose in the story. In past graphic novels, some characters have been introduced but then they disappear. The new character, Amy, shows up for a reason which is revealed at the end of the story. I loved this new volume of Gotham Academy. It’s the best one so far!
    more
  • Joanne Myers
    July 13, 2017
    I have had the Gotham Academy series saved in my wishlist for a long while but wasn't 100% sure whether it was for me or not.When I got the chance on Netgalley (Thanks for the ARC copy) to read this one, I jumped at it. Yes, I jumped into a series that has already been established without reading anything prior so I knew nothing about it but I loved it. I had no issues with the characters or figuring out the basics.The illustrations are fantastic in this book.An excellent read, thanks again Netg I have had the Gotham Academy series saved in my wishlist for a long while but wasn't 100% sure whether it was for me or not.When I got the chance on Netgalley (Thanks for the ARC copy) to read this one, I jumped at it. Yes, I jumped into a series that has already been established without reading anything prior so I knew nothing about it but I loved it. I had no issues with the characters or figuring out the basics.The illustrations are fantastic in this book.An excellent read, thanks again Netgalley.
    more
  • Megan
    July 1, 2017
    I'm going to need my parents to adopt Maps and Jesus Christ, Pomeline is the Slytherin schoolgirl of my dreams. Another excellent volume in the series! This one really starts to bring a lot of the past threads together and I can't help but think we're heading for some kind of conclusion. Still, hoping this runs for a long while from now, I love it so much!!!
    more
  • Sarah (Books Before Bandaids)
    July 26, 2017
    Gorgeous artwork and amazing storylines, make Gotham Academy one of my favorite series. This is what every school for kids with awesome abilities needs; lots of adventure, strange teachers, and kickass friends. Friendship and trust are woven throughout the narrative, with many scenes packing a heavy emotional punch. A beautiful read. Note: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Lujane
    February 22, 2017
    *3.5
  • Samantha
    July 25, 2017
    YAAAAAAS! This one was much better!
  • Meghannf
    July 25, 2017
    Gotham Academy was a great comic and I don’t even know where to begin… I was happy to read the new adventures of these lovely Gotham pupils! The volume begins with the introduction of a new character. She is not the kind of girl you want to cross path with when you are entering your room. Not an engaging character. Olive’s new roommate represents everything I hate in a character, the fake rebel and insufferable persona of « I don’t care of everything and anything ». It pisses me off. Well, at le Gotham Academy was a great comic and I don’t even know where to begin… I was happy to read the new adventures of these lovely Gotham pupils! The volume begins with the introduction of a new character. She is not the kind of girl you want to cross path with when you are entering your room. Not an engaging character. Olive’s new roommate represents everything I hate in a character, the fake rebel and insufferable persona of « I don’t care of everything and anything ». It pisses me off. Well, at least if it was the point of the creators they hit the right spot! Hopefully, she is the only character like that, Pomeline, Olive, Maps, and cie are engaging. They make the reading experience enjoyable with their own motivations and drive for mystery (Biggest award for Maps! She was quite absent in this one, because she has some Witch problem… I expected to ask myself a lot of questions along the development of the story, which I did and I still don’t have all the answers so I’m excited to read the next volume! The plot is heavy as it explores different themes: trust, the danger of curiosity, selfishness, friendship and so on… The narrative is based on a solid artistic set design. It is gorgeous and stands out right away! The colors are vibrant and go perfectly with each character’s personality. The light colors for the most optimistic Gotham pupils but one problem and we are swooned with shadows and cold colors. There is a true effort there, appreciated and well thought. I must point out every art aspect around Olive conveys the right mood, pace and style. It is conscientious and helpful for the reader, for example, the captions for her interior monologues help situated which aspect of her personality we are dealing with at the moment. The lettering provides a creepy atmosphere to accentuate the vibe or the page layout. It crept me out to find that out about Olive! She is so cute but the girl has claws!!! In every sense of the term! Aesthetically, it results in beautiful scenes. One grid particularly comes to my mind, it stands out because the whole passage has a Beauty and the Beast feeling and atmosphere. It’s bright and catches your eyes, it’s detailed. The narrative is entertaining all along, with a heavy focus on emotions. A couple of scenes provoke an emotional response in Olive (again and again, she is fragile girl that one), Pomeline, Kyle, Eric… I loved that in every Gotham Academy the idea of friendship is highlighted in various situations. It results in clicking moments rich in emotions and strong reactions. In other words, I could relate to these characters. The creators install new perspectives for supporting characters, that’s refreshing because it takes some distance from the main characters. They are part of the same plot but they have their own issues to deal with. The creators have a smart panel composition as they play a lot with light design. When Olive and her gang are investigating in a new room, or when they discover something it is dark; but the light is stronger when everything makes sense. It is a choice that I love to find in comics, it adds something deeper to the story. Likes : The art is gorgeous!!! This Beauty and the Beast effect went straight to my heart!The balance in colors and character’s mood: perfect!I looooooved the end! Sweet characters with their own and properly defined personalities. It is clear. Dislikes : Bruce Wayne’s representation, he provides nothing useful to the story. The art makes him even more aloof, almost forgettable. He doesn’t fit. The pencil work doesn’t even make him looks like Batman/ Bruce Wayne, he looks skinny... And lost. The Bat-signal in the set design, I have one question: why? I have mixed feelings on that one because well it looks good in the background, but let’s be honest, what purpose it serves? None. Pomeline’s attitude. It’s getting tiresome to always have her with a selfish state of mind, we get it, you are selfish, you are driven by your own motivation, we know…! Not enough Maps!!! She was too absent and I looove her character! Sometimes it is hard to really access the world of Gotham Academy.
    more
  • Online Eccentric Librarian
    July 11, 2017
    More reviews (and no fluff) on the blog http://surrealtalvi.wordpress.com/ Gothan Academy Second Semester, Volume 2, is a frustrating book: all the elements are there for something that should be really great but just never seems to coalesce. Choppy storytelling, odd characterizations, and maguffins that baffle rather than tease make it hard to find any credible belief in the 'twist' at the end. But then again, the art is quite beautiful and one has to appreciate the 'Buffy meets Scooby Doo' ap More reviews (and no fluff) on the blog http://surrealtalvi.wordpress.com/ Gothan Academy Second Semester, Volume 2, is a frustrating book: all the elements are there for something that should be really great but just never seems to coalesce. Choppy storytelling, odd characterizations, and maguffins that baffle rather than tease make it hard to find any credible belief in the 'twist' at the end. But then again, the art is quite beautiful and one has to appreciate the 'Buffy meets Scooby Doo' approach.Synopsis: Olive gets a new roommate but she's quite a handful. And when students go missing, including Maps, her brother forms a posse to find his missing sister. Pom, meanwhile, is getting close the source of her family's power and history - but she's not the only person searching and things are going to get very complicated soon. Pom and Olive are more closely related in history than either supposed.The interesting thing about Gotham Academy is that the characters are incredibly selfish and often very hard to really like. Each seems to be pursuing their own ends, often at the expense of their friends. I had a hard time liking any of the characters even though I do want them to find the 'secrets' each houses. In all honesty, there's some really nasty and reprehensible actions by our heroes, some voluntary and some not. It's hard to believe people accept it and don't question what's going on. I'm not sure I want to read a story about friends not helping each other and insulting those who do.The art, as always, is brilliant. Stylized but friendly, the color schemes of varying warm and then cool tones is quite stunning. If I liked the characters or the story better, I think I would absolutely love Gotham Academy. But the whole "Harry Potter" homage (read: rip off) got old fast, as if the writer was alternately dismissing yet also capitalizing on that fan base. The ugly message in the pretty picture was disingenuous.Those interested in Olive's past will finally get some closure as we learn a lot more about her. The story ends on a cliffhanger to set up Volume 2. Reviewed from an advance reader copy provided by the publisher.
    more
  • Eleanor Luhar
    July 16, 2017
    I absolutely love this comic series! My boyfriend introduced me to the first semester and I just adored it right away. The writing is fantastic - the dialogue between characters is so funny. And the art is always great and easy to follow. It's just so well written overall, I think. So much action and mysteries everywhere; nothing is ever what it seems at Gotham Academy.The characters are so well written, and I absolutely adore Olive, Pom and Colton. I'm not so keen on some of the others, but tha I absolutely love this comic series! My boyfriend introduced me to the first semester and I just adored it right away. The writing is fantastic - the dialogue between characters is so funny. And the art is always great and easy to follow. It's just so well written overall, I think. So much action and mysteries everywhere; nothing is ever what it seems at Gotham Academy.The characters are so well written, and I absolutely adore Olive, Pom and Colton. I'm not so keen on some of the others, but that was probably the intended reaction. Not all characters are made to be loved.This comic ties into others in the Rebirth universe - such as We Are Robin - and features famous characters like Batman, Damian, Clayface and Killer Croc (not all in this particular volume, though). So whether you're a big superhero comic fan or not, I think everyone can appreciate and enjoy this comic.The Detective Club is on their way to discovering the true past of Gotham - and Olive's real heritage. Unexpected allies and foes are found along the way, including Batman himself - Olive's least favourite hero of all.Another good aspect in this is the inclusion of homosexuality - which is brilliantly weaved in without defining the character or affecting the plot. I'm not going to give away who the character is, but I so think they could've chosen a better "crush". (Let's just say it's one of my favourite characters falling for one of my not-so-favourites.)This has definitely encouraged my new-found love of comics to grow, and I'm going to read on right away. 5 stars. A fantastic comic.
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    July 25, 2017
    Wow! This is an amazing, well-written story. I didn't manage to read the first semester series beyond the first book, but I will have to rectify that! Anyway, Semester Two starts off with a big bang. It's great for newbies as during the first issue we are introduced to all the main characters at the school but without all the detail that would annoy regular readers. There is a complete mystery during this volume which is solved while at the same time bringing forth a story arc which will run int Wow! This is an amazing, well-written story. I didn't manage to read the first semester series beyond the first book, but I will have to rectify that! Anyway, Semester Two starts off with a big bang. It's great for newbies as during the first issue we are introduced to all the main characters at the school but without all the detail that would annoy regular readers. There is a complete mystery during this volume which is solved while at the same time bringing forth a story arc which will run into the second volume. I loved all the characters; I can't even say who I liked best except maybe Katherine, the ghost girl. It's also a great mystery/thriller as from the beginning I knew something wasn't right with one of the characters but I was totally blown away with the reveal. The art is also fantastic. I wonder about its placement in canon though. Obviously, it is outside canon as the characters are all new to this series and have no connection to the DCU, except Batman who maintains continuity. But now the arc is going onto involve the whole of Gotham City and we'll just have to see how they handle that happening in the same Gotham where Rebirth is currently taking place. I can't wait for the next volume and will probably go back now and read the first semester as events were briefly mentioned piquing my interest.
    more
  • Leah
    July 25, 2017
    I haven't read any of the previous Gotham Academy books but I was excited when I got the chance to. The comic follows a group of friends as they solve mysteries in their unconventional school. The comic is about friendship (some of the friends have some powers?) and solving mysteries. This book gave me a Scooby Do like feel but with much better illustrations. I really enjoyed all the different character's personalities and the trouble they seemed to get in to (and somehow out of). The comic does I haven't read any of the previous Gotham Academy books but I was excited when I got the chance to. The comic follows a group of friends as they solve mysteries in their unconventional school. The comic is about friendship (some of the friends have some powers?) and solving mysteries. This book gave me a Scooby Do like feel but with much better illustrations. I really enjoyed all the different character's personalities and the trouble they seemed to get in to (and somehow out of). The comic does jump around a bit, but I think it adds to the fun of it all.I recieved a copy of this comic from Netgalley for an honest reivew.
    more
  • Kristine
    July 25, 2017
    Gotham Academy: Second Semester, Vol. 1 by Fletcher/Cloonan/Kerschl et. al. is a free NetGalley e-comicbook that I read in early July.Amy, Olive, Kyle, Colton, Mia, Katherine, Pom and Eric (ack, so many names and interactions) seek out pragmatic, teenybopper, pint-sized, G-rated mysteries (aside from an errant 'crap' I spotted) around the campus of Gotham Academy where the teachers/professors are not what they seem.
    more
  • Emma
    June 28, 2017
    Before reading this book the only Gotham Academy book I'd read was the Lumberjanes crossover which was fun, but not my favourite. However, I loved this book! The story was gripping and I can't wait to find out what happens next! The background art was beautiful and the characters were very engaging. There is also a very exciting plot twist part way through! I will definitely be reading more Gotham Academy comics in future![Free ARC from Net Galley]
    more
  • Zoe Elizabeth
    July 18, 2017
    I was so excited to get an opportunity to read Gotham Academy! I had heard a lot about the series, and it definitely not disappoint. In a lot of ways it is YA, but it also deals with some pretty heavy topics. If you're into the lore of Batman this is a great ready as it covers a lot of background in the series.Thanks to DC and Netgalley for a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Janelle
    July 20, 2017
    Full review to come
  • Renees Book Corner
    June 23, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book. I can't wait for the next one.
  • Jaime Leigh
    July 16, 2017
    3 1/2 Stars. Full Review Embargoed until release date.
  • Rummanah (Books in the Spotlight)
    July 9, 2017
    I am not sure if Gotham Academy Second Semester is a spin off series for Gotham Academy or a continuation of the overarching story. All of our main characters return to a new semester. I was a bit hesitant to read this one since I was really disappointed with Gotham Academy Vol. 3, but ended up really enjoying this one. The plot and tension of this volume is a slow burn. Olive has a new roommate that starts to have a negative effect on her. We also have a small mystery where students have been b I am not sure if Gotham Academy Second Semester is a spin off series for Gotham Academy or a continuation of the overarching story. All of our main characters return to a new semester. I was a bit hesitant to read this one since I was really disappointed with Gotham Academy Vol. 3, but ended up really enjoying this one. The plot and tension of this volume is a slow burn. Olive has a new roommate that starts to have a negative effect on her. We also have a small mystery where students have been brainwashed and kidnapped by a disgruntled teacher. At first glance I thought the graphic novel was pretty average since I figured the mystery early on but as I read on I was glad to discover a twist in the last half of the story. We get more background information on Olive's family history, what fuels her dark side, and there is a new romance development that I'm very curious to see where it goes. Luckily, the romance is not a love triangle. The volume does end on a cliffhanger so it might be a while to read what happens next. Gotham Academy Second Semester returns to the dark, gothic mystery setting that first grabbed my attention and made me curious about this series. I am glad that it is back on track.
    more
  • Patricia
    July 6, 2017
          This was the first book in the series that I have read .  I thought that diving into the second book in the series was going to leave me with a bunch of questions . It didn't though  I started reading and it was just like I knew what was going on . Its going to back to high school but with a big twist . Meet the super naturals and their prep school .      These are well written stories that actually have some parts of what happens in a real high school . We have the cliques the feeling of       This was the first book in the series that I have read .  I thought that diving into the second book in the series was going to leave me with a bunch of questions . It didn't though  I started reading and it was just like I knew what was going on . Its going to back to high school but with a big twist . Meet the super naturals and their prep school .      These are well written stories that actually have some parts of what happens in a real high school . We have the cliques the feeling of not belonging and there is an introduction to homosexuality through out the book . Well written I must say . You start to feel for the characters and actually fall for a few of them .     The characters are well written and you can't help but fall in love with a few of them like Pom and Olive .  Then there are other characters that you will not like and there are reasons behind them . I mean you can't love all the characters all the time . You always pick and choose the characters you love .      The graphics in the novel are great , the colour alone jump out at you when you start to read . The story lines were good the action never stops and the dialogue between characters is funny . Nothing is as it seems at Gotham Academy and the writers prove that on every page . This is a great addition to the rebirth universe and ties into the other stories . So if you are wanting a good comic for you and your kids this summer check it out . You will not be disappointed . 
    more
  • Christy
    March 4, 2017
    Mehhhhh. This storyline is no where near as engaging as the previous books were.
  • Alex Sarll
    July 26, 2017
    This starts off pretty well; one wonders why Olive is putting up with her awful new room-mate, while being quietly confident that it'll make sense in the end, which it does. Meanwhile, the general creepiness of the enormous old school, with its gothic architecture and secret passages, its odd teachers and mysteries and off-limits areas, continues to make a wonderful counterpoint to the adorable teen leads. But then the conclusion leans a little too apocalyptic, with one character suddenly lapsin This starts off pretty well; one wonders why Olive is putting up with her awful new room-mate, while being quietly confident that it'll make sense in the end, which it does. Meanwhile, the general creepiness of the enormous old school, with its gothic architecture and secret passages, its odd teachers and mysteries and off-limits areas, continues to make a wonderful counterpoint to the adorable teen leads. But then the conclusion leans a little too apocalyptic, with one character suddenly lapsing into an outright villainy that doesn't seem congruent with what's gone before, while another plot thread is resolved by a twist which I'm alread starting to find overused in stand-alone works but definitely feels like cheating in an ongoing series. And the set-up for the next (and, I believe, final?) volume doesn't massively entice me. But still, compared to the grim New 52 and the tediously meat-and-potatoes Rebirth, the brief interstitial period which produced books like this should be celebrated as a brief renaissance for DC.(Netgalley ARC)
    more
  • Bunny
    June 28, 2017
    Received via Netgalley in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.The next volume is not published until December, and that is gross. And mean. And desperately unfair. I love this series more than I ever thought I would, which is so funny to me. I'm not a big DCU fan, comics or movies. I've just seemingly developed into a Marvel girl. But the characters in this series are so fantastic, and so loveable. This volume is absolutely jam packed with action, including action you don't even realize is h Received via Netgalley in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.The next volume is not published until December, and that is gross. And mean. And desperately unfair. I love this series more than I ever thought I would, which is so funny to me. I'm not a big DCU fan, comics or movies. I've just seemingly developed into a Marvel girl. But the characters in this series are so fantastic, and so loveable. This volume is absolutely jam packed with action, including action you don't even realize is happening until you get to the end. The Detective Club is alive and kicking, but Olive is distracted making new friends and wondering if her mind is slipping. The internal battle Olive goes through can best be summed up as Nature vs Nurture. Which, after you read this volume, you will appreciate that. Maybe. You start the volume thinking we're dealing with a specific type of villain, but it goes so much deeper than that, and the reveal of what is actually going on was a fantastic jolt of surprise. We even get some delicious flashbacks, which I would love to read more about that history. Yes please in the next volume. There's a recurring theme through this series, especially around Olive, of friendship, and friends who are family, and how important that relationship is. It's tripled here, and it's used in the most amazing way. These kids are family. With Bruce Wayne as the absentee dad. Seriously, he is such a douche. Lastly? The Symbolist. Snort.
    more
Write a review