The End of Temperance Dare
Haunting and atmospheric, The End of Temperance Dare is another thrilling page-turner from the author reviewers are calling the Queen of the Northern Gothic.When Eleanor Harper becomes the director of a renowned artists’ retreat, she knows nothing of Cliffside Manor’s dark past as a tuberculosis sanatorium, a “waiting room for death.” After years of covering murder and violence as a crime reporter, Eleanor hopes that being around artists and writers in this new job will be a peaceful retreat for her as much as for them.But from her first fog-filled moments on the manor’s grounds, Eleanor is seized by a sense of impending doom and realizes there’s more to the institution than its reputation of being a haven for creativity. After the arrival of the new fellows―including the intriguing, handsome photographer Richard Banks―she begins to suspect that her predecessor chose the group with a dangerous purpose in mind. As the chilling mysteries of Cliffside Manor unravel and the eerie sins of the past are exposed, Eleanor must fight to save the fellows—and herself—from sinister forces.

The End of Temperance Dare Details

TitleThe End of Temperance Dare
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherLake Union Publishing
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Gothic, Fiction

The End of Temperance Dare Review

  • Diane S ☔
    June 18, 2017
    Many of us as readers have our guilty reading pleasure. For some it is lighter reads than we normally read, maybe bodice rippers, but or me it is ghost stories. Not so much cheaper horror but ghost stories set in spooky settings. This one fit the bill nicely. Set on the shores of Lake Superior in a building that at one time was a TB sanitarium, it is now an artist's retreat. In the past though it was a place where many died or were waiting to die. It was owned by the Dare family and in this book Many of us as readers have our guilty reading pleasure. For some it is lighter reads than we normally read, maybe bodice rippers, but or me it is ghost stories. Not so much cheaper horror but ghost stories set in spooky settings. This one fit the bill nicely. Set on the shores of Lake Superior in a building that at one time was a TB sanitarium, it is now an artist's retreat. In the past though it was a place where many died or were waiting to die. It was owned by the Dare family​ and in this book the first director not carrying the Dare name will find her hands full when a group of artists are in situ, all having ties to the past of this home, and will read involve a happening from 1952.Chilling and creepy in parts, obvious and corny in others, but I did enjoy this though of course one must disband their beliefs if one is to enjoy this genre. I try to be honest in my reviews and some of the dialogue, especially near the end was over the top, both dramatic and corny, so I rated this a three. Since it is the type of escapist fiction I do enjoy, for my own satisfaction I am secretly rating this a four.
    more
  • Andreia Fernandes
    June 21, 2017
    A cozy ghost story filled with mystery, interesting characters and a surprising ending makes the fourth book I have read by one of my favorite authors, Wendy Webb. Another winner!Curl up with a cup of coffee or tea in a quiet night and follow the former crime reporter - Eleanor - becoming the new director of an isolated artist's retreat for writers, poets, painters and wildlife photographers in search of solitude.Be aware that the same place was a sanatorium for children and people who were very A cozy ghost story filled with mystery, interesting characters and a surprising ending makes the fourth book I have read by one of my favorite authors, Wendy Webb. Another winner!Curl up with a cup of coffee or tea in a quiet night and follow the former crime reporter - Eleanor - becoming the new director of an isolated artist's retreat for writers, poets, painters and wildlife photographers in search of solitude.Be aware that the same place was a sanatorium for children and people who were very sick and dying in the past!You will get to know the Dare sisters and read their tale in a suspenseful gripping story!I have read the three previous novels by Wendy Webb and this one, the fourth, is her best book so far, in my opinion. She is my favorite ghost stories writer besides Stephen King and Sophie Hannah.I hope you enjoy the book! Happy reading!
    more
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    March 28, 2017
    **Now available via NetGalley!!**
  • Sarah Joint
    June 4, 2017
    A creepy and atmospheric tale. This is one to curl up with on a stormy night. You might want to keep a light on, though. You never know what's lurking about... Eleanor Harper is ready for a change. She's spent most of her life as a crime reporter, but it's finally getting to her. She just doesn't have the heart for it anymore. When she learns of a tempting job opening, she's excited. A long-time director of a retreat for artists is finally retiring. It's quite a departure from her journalism, bu A creepy and atmospheric tale. This is one to curl up with on a stormy night. You might want to keep a light on, though. You never know what's lurking about... Eleanor Harper is ready for a change. She's spent most of her life as a crime reporter, but it's finally getting to her. She just doesn't have the heart for it anymore. When she learns of a tempting job opening, she's excited. A long-time director of a retreat for artists is finally retiring. It's quite a departure from her journalism, but someone has to keep the gorgeous old place on Lake Superior running... why not Eleanor? She feels such a pull to the place, and hopes meeting the current director, daughter of the man who started the place, will give her an edge on the competition. Soon, she's headed off to start a new life. She thinks she knows the director a bit, but she doesn't know Cliffside Manor. Now it's an exclusive retreat for artists, people that come to stay for a few weeks to work on their craft without being bothered. The history of Cliffside Manor is not so glamorous. It was once a sanatorium for patients with tuberculosis. Some recovered, but many died there, wasting away from the terrible disease. Can a house store memories? Soon after Eleanor arrives, she feels a sense of foreboding. Though the manor and grounds are beautiful, she fears them. She can't wait until the next group of artists arrives for their stay and brightens up the place with chatter. But after they arrive, she begins to think the old lady chose this final group for a reason... Some light romance, lots of chills, and a very absorbing story. My first Wendy Webb read, but it won't be my last. I received an ARC of this book from Net Galley and Lake Union Publishing, thank you! My review is honest and unbiased.
    more
  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
    June 5, 2017
    As a BIG fan of haunted houses did The End of Temperance Dare really appeal to me. I mean an artist retreat that used to be a tuberculosis sanatorium? Count me in! Now, this book isn't particularly scary, but it's interesting, atmospheric and well-written. I like that one really gets to know Eleanor Harper and that not everything happens too fast. It's not like the story is boring, the pacing is even, and we get to follow Eleanor as she learns the ropes of being the new director. She has hardly As a BIG fan of haunted houses did The End of Temperance Dare really appeal to me. I mean an artist retreat that used to be a tuberculosis sanatorium? Count me in! Now, this book isn't particularly scary, but it's interesting, atmospheric and well-written. I like that one really gets to know Eleanor Harper and that not everything happens too fast. It's not like the story is boring, the pacing is even, and we get to follow Eleanor as she learns the ropes of being the new director. She has hardly settled in before something unexpected happens that will change everything for her and the retreat and after that, well strange things keep happening. But, is the place really haunted? The End of Temperance Dare is the first book I have read by Wendy Webb and was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed the book. Not that I did not expect to like it, rather I hoped that the writing style would work for me since the story seemed so interesting. I think Webb did an excellent job with the descriptions of the retreat and its surroundings. Also, I came to like Eleanor Harper and I didn't even mind the kind off triangle drama that she got caught up with, even though I personally found the "impossible" romance more interesting than her flirtation with the photographer. But, that's me, a sucker for the doomed or unusual romances.I want to thank the publisher for providing me with a free copy through NetGalley for an honest review!
    more
  • Karen
    June 19, 2017
    I received this ARC from netgalley.com in exchange for a review. Eleanor Harper is ready for a change; in her job and in her life. When she takes the job as the director of a renowned artists’ retreat, she knows nothing of Cliffside Manor’s dark past as a tuberculosis sanatorium, a “waiting room for death.” A pretty good ghost story full of creative story twists without bloody grotesque language. It's all about your imagination and I can imagine myself sitting around a campfire in the great nort I received this ARC from netgalley.com in exchange for a review. Eleanor Harper is ready for a change; in her job and in her life. When she takes the job as the director of a renowned artists’ retreat, she knows nothing of Cliffside Manor’s dark past as a tuberculosis sanatorium, a “waiting room for death.” A pretty good ghost story full of creative story twists without bloody grotesque language. It's all about your imagination and I can imagine myself sitting around a campfire in the great northern woods of Lake Superior with Ms Webb as she crafts her eerie tales. I would definitely recommend this book. 3.5 ☆ rounded up to 4☆
    more
  • Morgannah
    March 28, 2017
    03-28-2017$3.99 Kindle pre order price!I have read all her books and absolutely love them!
  • Sara
    June 16, 2017
    5/5 Stars!This may be my favorite Wendy Webb novel to date. It definitely had the most fleshed out plot and characters of her four books, and this one was WAY creepy. It was like Rose Red with possession. Eleanor was a fantastic narrator, and I loved figuring out the mystery of the Dare family and Cliffside Manor right there with her. I had a feeling about the story the whole time, but I had no idea such a crazy twist was coming! I recommend all of Webb's books, they really are fantastic, but th 5/5 Stars!This may be my favorite Wendy Webb novel to date. It definitely had the most fleshed out plot and characters of her four books, and this one was WAY creepy. It was like Rose Red with possession. Eleanor was a fantastic narrator, and I loved figuring out the mystery of the Dare family and Cliffside Manor right there with her. I had a feeling about the story the whole time, but I had no idea such a crazy twist was coming! I recommend all of Webb's books, they really are fantastic, but this one is especially good.
    more
  • Alisi ☆ wants to read too many books ☆
    June 9, 2017
    I feel like my life has sunk to a new low. This is one of those books that makes you question all your life choices. I feel like I was on a tall bridge, threatening suicide, and then someone said 'yes, kill yourself.' So I did and now I'm in the Hell of having read this POS.I can't even think of one good thing to say. In this book, we get a stupid woman, insta love, triangle love, and everyone complimenting the stupid woman. She's 40 something and she's chasing after these two guys, who she spen I feel like my life has sunk to a new low. This is one of those books that makes you question all your life choices. I feel like I was on a tall bridge, threatening suicide, and then someone said 'yes, kill yourself.' So I did and now I'm in the Hell of having read this POS.I can't even think of one good thing to say. In this book, we get a stupid woman, insta love, triangle love, and everyone complimenting the stupid woman. She's 40 something and she's chasing after these two guys, who she spent MAYBE 30 minutes total alone time with, determined they're her true LOVE. We even get fucking electric sparks when she touches them. She's basically acting like a smitten 16 year old.Wait, I thought this was the adult horror genre I was reading!The mystery was ridiculous and very simple. You see through the mysteries instantly. It took her the whole fucking book to realize Nate's story didn't add up -- all it took me was a minute and basic arithmetic. Then we finally get to the mystery (after she's chased the two guys around like a horny teen) and the "evil" is laughable. It's like the most cliche version of evil, complete with evil laughter and telling the girl all the details.JFC. The saddest part is is that, no, I didn't die when I jumped off that bridge and now I get to live with the memory of this festering shit pile. This is one of the very few books I'll go through the trouble of returning.
    more
  • Carla
    June 18, 2017
    WOW! Just 100% knocked my socks off WOW!!! I am really at a loss to explain how amazing this book was. Wendy Webb is a true magician weaving creepy ghost stories together. I've read all of her books and while I loved each and every one of them....this one by far is my favorite.One of the best books I've ever read!
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 22, 2017
    If you frighten easily at all, do not make my mistake and read this book in the dark in an unfamiliar house. Wendy Webb's latest Gothic style mystery is set in a repurposed tuberculosis sanitarium in the North Woods, where Eleanor Harper has just begun her new position as the director of Cliffside's artist retreat program. Very quickly, she finds herself out of her league as the new challenges of the position compete with a sense that something is very much so not-right at the house. The tension If you frighten easily at all, do not make my mistake and read this book in the dark in an unfamiliar house. Wendy Webb's latest Gothic style mystery is set in a repurposed tuberculosis sanitarium in the North Woods, where Eleanor Harper has just begun her new position as the director of Cliffside's artist retreat program. Very quickly, she finds herself out of her league as the new challenges of the position compete with a sense that something is very much so not-right at the house. The tension in this book builds slowly, letting the reader experience growing discomfort and distrust along with Eleanor, until the dramatic conclusion. The influence of stories like Rebecca and The Haunting of Hill House is clearly evident, but Wendy Webb continues to show that she is one of the modern masters of the style. Seasonal style readers, take note of this one and save for the fall! It is a satisfyingly eerie read.Advance e-galley provided by Netgalley and the publisher for an honest review.
    more
  • Lolly K Dandeneau
    April 3, 2017
    via my blog https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/“Death lived within these walls; she could feel it hanging in the air, as tangible as the fog outside.”Eleanor Harper, as fate would have it, has become the director of an artist’s retreat at Cliffside Manor. That the place and it’s grounds were once ‘a waiting room for death’ (a sanatorium housing adults and children infected with tuberculosis) may well be the reason this ‘peaceful manor’ is anything but. Is it possible suffering clings to the s via my blog https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/“Death lived within these walls; she could feel it hanging in the air, as tangible as the fog outside.”Eleanor Harper, as fate would have it, has become the director of an artist’s retreat at Cliffside Manor. That the place and it’s grounds were once ‘a waiting room for death’ (a sanatorium housing adults and children infected with tuberculosis) may well be the reason this ‘peaceful manor’ is anything but. Is it possible suffering clings to the surfaces or is it something more malevolent? Nervous about her inexperience, this change in career is what she needs, as is the escape from her former life as a crime reporter, dealing with the most heinous, viciously murderous crimes. She is beyond burned out and run down, could that be the reason she feels uneasy? Maybe her mind is playing tricks on her?Nothing could prepare her for what happens to the woman that hired her, nor is she in command when the artists arrive. Eleanor isn’t sure what’s solid, her imagination must be running rampant, seeing things differently than they are, as they would be in the past, an uneasy feeling consuming her from the moment she stepped through the doors of Cliffside Manor. It’s on her now, and she cannot fail. There is an instant attraction to one of the men, a photographer named Richard, but something about the manor’s resident doctor whom she meets prior to the arrivals has her mystified. A wicked force begins to torment the group immediately. As she learns more, she soon realizes everyone chosen, including herself wasn’t random, but just what was Penelope Dare up to? Did she set them up, have nefarious intentions? Why did Penelope have faith in her and leave so much to her, a veritable stranger really? The author plays with a fascinating subject of tuberculosis and sanatoriums then sprinkled in a bit of horror and romance for good measure creating this strange concoction of a thriller. While I enjoyed it, I really wanted more focus on the tuberculosis patients as a haunting and while they have a part in the story, I just didn’t like the evil seed so to speak. I was sold on the terrible heavy sorrows of a place people went to die, all of that would be foreboding and haunting enough but the child… well… that’s my one sore spot here.Now, the romantic interests… it was creative but the reactions any living person would have would be less ho hum. The revelations were passed over much too fast for my tastes and accepted a bit too easily. But I don’t want to give away the story-line. It’s strange because it’s a thriller, romance, horror, supernatural story and yet not fully any of those things. Any fan of ghost stories and investigative haunting knows hospitals, sanatoriums, and mental asylums have such breathtakingly heavy stories that it seems if there were a place to house tormented ghosts this would be prime real estate. Such abandoned places stand as foreboding shells of their former lives, and what scarier setting for activity and terror? The author picked the perfect atmospheric setting and for whatever reason, throw a lake in and it’s raises the spook factor. Water and ghosts just go together. Creepy children always raise of few hairs on the arms don’t they?It’s a good little story, while I wasn’t horrified, it was fun. It takes a lot to scare me though and I nitpick horror stories. I think when you have seen too many horror films and know too many ghost legends you scoff at everything. There was just enough to keep me reading to find out what the heck was going on.Publication Date: June 6, 2017Lake Union Publishing
    more
  • Linda Zagon
    May 30, 2017
    I would like to thank Lake Union Publishing, NetGalley and Wendy Webb for the ARC of "The End of Temperance Dare" by Wendy Webb for my honest review.The genres of this novel are General Fiction (Adult), Women's Fiction, Para Normal, Mystery and Suspense.I like the way that Wendy Webb describes the setting at Cliffside Manor, a former Tuberculosis Sanatorium, now a place for Artists and Writers to retreat to. Between the beauty of the grounds, and the dark and weird descriptions of the large mans I would like to thank Lake Union Publishing, NetGalley and Wendy Webb for the ARC of "The End of Temperance Dare" by Wendy Webb for my honest review.The genres of this novel are General Fiction (Adult), Women's Fiction, Para Normal, Mystery and Suspense.I like the way that Wendy Webb describes the setting at Cliffside Manor, a former Tuberculosis Sanatorium, now a place for Artists and Writers to retreat to. Between the beauty of the grounds, and the dark and weird descriptions of the large mansion, I get a feeling of good and evil. The Tuberculosis Sanatorium used to have the reputation as a "waiting room for death" The characters can be described as complex, complicated, strange, quirky, good and evil. The story takes place mostly in the present with references to the past. Eleanor Harper,is a former crime reporter and has come to "Cliffside Manor" to be the director of the Artist's Retreat. This retreat was set up by the Dare family. Despite the dark past of Cliffside Manor, Eleanor has a strange and haunting feeling that something is not what it should be. The former Director is found dead, and things seem more sinister and evil. There are accidents and strange incidents, that Eleanor finds herself dealing with. This is a unique and unusual read, and I appreciate that the author has used so many genres. I like the way the author weaves this dark story. There are twists and turns, and surprises.I would highly recommend this intriguing story.
    more
  • Kim
    June 17, 2017
    Agatha Christie meets Linda Blair in this book of things that go bump in the night. The story has the makings of a good mystery but it is derailed by so many things. Eleanor, A recently fired crime reporter accepts a job for which she has absolutely no qualifications. How does that happen? She arrives at Cliffside Manor, a previous TB Sanitarium, which is now an artist retreat. Again, a previous crime reporter is now the Director of an Artist’s Retreat. Really? If you dispense with the increduli Agatha Christie meets Linda Blair in this book of things that go bump in the night. The story has the makings of a good mystery but it is derailed by so many things. Eleanor, A recently fired crime reporter accepts a job for which she has absolutely no qualifications. How does that happen? She arrives at Cliffside Manor, a previous TB Sanitarium, which is now an artist retreat. Again, a previous crime reporter is now the Director of an Artist’s Retreat. Really? If you dispense with the incredulity you may experience as a result of the lack of a more informative background the story actually moves along with a few interesting characters and twists and turns.If you enjoy mysteries, a little romance, characters that run the gamut from sympathetic to puzzling, and wicked ghost stories with a strong propensity to the paranormal this might be the book for you. It was a very quick read. My final reaction was that even when you suspend all rational belief not everything should be tied up in a neat package.Thank you NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for providing an ARC.
    more
  • Jennifer
    May 1, 2017
    I absolutely loved The Tale of Halcyon Crane and The Fate of Mercy Alban, so when I saw there was a new book out I was very excited to read it. This book did not disappoint, there was the right amount of mystery, throw in some ghosts, a spooky house that was once a TB sanatorium and always seems to be foggy and a creepy girl who could kill people and you get a great read.Eleanor is now the director of Cliffside, a retreat for Artists and Writers. On the same day she arrives, Penelope Dare, whom I absolutely loved The Tale of Halcyon Crane and The Fate of Mercy Alban, so when I saw there was a new book out I was very excited to read it. This book did not disappoint, there was the right amount of mystery, throw in some ghosts, a spooky house that was once a TB sanatorium and always seems to be foggy and a creepy girl who could kill people and you get a great read.Eleanor is now the director of Cliffside, a retreat for Artists and Writers. On the same day she arrives, Penelope Dare, whom Eleanor is taking over for, commits suicide. Naturally people will be arriving shortly for their retreat. Of course strange things start happening. People are found in catatonic states with garish makeup on their face, ghosts are seen through camera lenses, dolls are found in rooms and children can be heard.I loved the ending when you got to find out what really happened to Temperance, Penelope and Chamomile. I definitely recommend this book and Wendy Webb's previous books. Thanks to NetGalley, Lake Union Publishing and the author, Wendy Webb, for a free electronic ARC of this novel.
    more
  • Debbie Krenzer
    May 31, 2017
    3.5 Stars There are a lot of strange happenings going on at Cliffside Manor when Eleanor Harper arrives there to take over the director's position. She notices strange things and feelings of impending doom and this is even before things start happening.First off, the outgoing director commits suicide the night after Eleanor takes the reins. Her note, while strange leaves no doubt it was her decision. Then, other strange notes start appearing. There are noises, things moving - all the ghostly phe 3.5 Stars There are a lot of strange happenings going on at Cliffside Manor when Eleanor Harper arrives there to take over the director's position. She notices strange things and feelings of impending doom and this is even before things start happening.First off, the outgoing director commits suicide the night after Eleanor takes the reins. Her note, while strange leaves no doubt it was her decision. Then, other strange notes start appearing. There are noises, things moving - all the ghostly phenomenons. The upstairs bedroom (the former director's rooms) and its adjoining rooms are really creepy. One looks like a playroom and it has a rather large dollhouse that looks just like Cliffside Manor. Are you getting goose pimples yet? I am.An entertaining, creepy, haunting, very strange ghost story that I wish to thank Lake Union Publishing and Net Galley for the opportunity to read. This review is my honest, unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Susan
    June 1, 2017
    The end of temperence dare by Wendy Webb.Eleanor is of to a new job at cliffside manor. She will be the new director fierce Penelope retires. It is a getaway for artists to get away from it all. Cliffside is known all over the world. Penelope father built it in 1925 originally for Tuberculosis patients. This was a very eerie and spooky read. I just had to continue reading to see if my suspicions were true. I loved Eleanor and Richard. They were my favourite characters. OMG shocking or what. I de The end of temperence dare by Wendy Webb.Eleanor is of to a new job at cliffside manor. She will be the new director fierce Penelope retires. It is a getaway for artists to get away from it all. Cliffside is known all over the world. Penelope father built it in 1925 originally for Tuberculosis patients. This was a very eerie and spooky read. I just had to continue reading to see if my suspicions were true. I loved Eleanor and Richard. They were my favourite characters. OMG shocking or what. I definitely didn't see that coming. My mouth dropped to the floor. Definitely worth more than 5*. Netgalley and lake union publishing.
    more
  • Christine Moore
    May 25, 2017
    I usually don't read scary books so this was a change for me. I really enjoyed it. I will be checking out Wendy Webb's other books. Eleanor Harper becomes the director of an artist's retreat that used to be a tuberculosis sanitarium in the 1950's. From the moment she starts working there she has a lot of bad feelings. When the artist's show up for their session, the secrets of the house are exposed and Eleanor needs to save herself and the artists. Thank you to NetGalley and Lake Union Publishin I usually don't read scary books so this was a change for me. I really enjoyed it. I will be checking out Wendy Webb's other books. Eleanor Harper becomes the director of an artist's retreat that used to be a tuberculosis sanitarium in the 1950's. From the moment she starts working there she has a lot of bad feelings. When the artist's show up for their session, the secrets of the house are exposed and Eleanor needs to save herself and the artists. Thank you to NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kathleen Gray
    June 7, 2017
    This Is a well written and carefully plotted gothic (yes!) with creepy atmospherics and a good character in Eleanor. It kind of follows the classic lines of the genre= the old sanitarium, the earlier murder, the intrepid newly with a history - and it does it well. I liked the way the story spooled out slowly (I mean that positively) rather than hitting you over the head. It never gets too out there with the paranormal or the incredible. I'd not read Webb before so thanks to Netgalley for the ARC This Is a well written and carefully plotted gothic (yes!) with creepy atmospherics and a good character in Eleanor. It kind of follows the classic lines of the genre= the old sanitarium, the earlier murder, the intrepid newly with a history - and it does it well. I liked the way the story spooled out slowly (I mean that positively) rather than hitting you over the head. It never gets too out there with the paranormal or the incredible. I'd not read Webb before so thanks to Netgalley for the ARC which introduced us. You'll like this if you enjoy old fashioned good story telling.
    more
  • ☘Tara Sheehan☘
    April 9, 2017
    Wendy Webb sets her story in a sanitarium which was a medical facility used to treat tuberculosis before technology gave us medicine. Back then people died at an alarming rate and were often kept quarantined in these ‘hospitals’ so it was easy to believe the tormented spirits of these people haunted those buildings as they fell out of fashion to be left abandoned to ruin. Webb obviously put some time into researching this stuff because her work is detailed and authentic which heightens that chil Wendy Webb sets her story in a sanitarium which was a medical facility used to treat tuberculosis before technology gave us medicine. Back then people died at an alarming rate and were often kept quarantined in these ‘hospitals’ so it was easy to believe the tormented spirits of these people haunted those buildings as they fell out of fashion to be left abandoned to ruin. Webb obviously put some time into researching this stuff because her work is detailed and authentic which heightens that chilling sense of horror at what happened here.Webb starts off strong so you become hooked early on, the excitement builds, her characters make it easy to follow their story, and the setting is everything a horror fan could want then it hits a small bump. It’s almost as if Webb lost some of her own excitement at writing such a cool and intriguing story. I definitely had a love/hate relationship going with around the middle or so because her writing is very descriptive so you can see her world unfolding before your eyes, you feel like you get to know her characters on a personal level. I think it was more my expectations because I wanted to know all about the spooky stuff, the sinister things that keep you up at night, the mysteries that keep you puzzling so life doesn’t get boring. It reminded me a bit of the second movie in a trilogy; the first sets up the story to get your interest hooked, the second is just there to provide the bigger picture then comes the third with all the action and payoff.Even if it feels like the story drags a bit and you want to give up you must push through because the payoff will happen. The chilling plot will come and it gets good so the wait be awarded as the page turning supernatural mystery you were hoping for comes to pass.
    more
  • Louise Morris
    June 18, 2017
    Very interesting tale! Couldn't leave the book alone!
  • Cori
    May 21, 2017
    First line: They gave her the bed by the window, the one closest to the toy box.Summary: Former reporter Eleanor Harper becomes the director of a famous artists’ retreat near Lake Superior, Cliffside Manor. Not long after Eleanor’s arrival, she finds the kindly old woman who is the daughter of the founder and who has been director of the retreat dead in her room. Lots of wonderful spookiness ensues. Strange things happen to the artists in residence, and Eleanor herself finds that she has experie First line: They gave her the bed by the window, the one closest to the toy box.Summary: Former reporter Eleanor Harper becomes the director of a famous artists’ retreat near Lake Superior, Cliffside Manor. Not long after Eleanor’s arrival, she finds the kindly old woman who is the daughter of the founder and who has been director of the retreat dead in her room. Lots of wonderful spookiness ensues. Strange things happen to the artists in residence, and Eleanor herself finds that she has experiences that she can’t explain. Not all those who live at the retreat are as they seem as this story unfolds. Highlights: Wendy Webb is a master at setting a scene, and creating a wonderful Gothic atmosphere, and she is as good at doing so for Cliffside Manor as in any of her other novels. I love the way she develops her characters in this book, making it difficult to discern a person’s true character. As I was reading I thought I knew exactly what was happening, then she would reveal some small nugget of information and I would begins to second-guess myself. A few or a few dozen pages later the story would take a new twist that would leave me guessing again. I really enjoyed the suspense and the mystery of the characters in this book.Lowlights (or what could have been better): To be honest, I pretty much never read a book looking for holes, problems or other weaknesses, and I didn’t find any in this book. My greatest critique would be in the setting in the actual building. I could clearly see in my mind the grounds around the building, and the outside of the building, but I had a difficult time imagining what the interior of the building looked like.FYI: I don’t think there’s anything significant to be aware of about this book. It’s a slightly different feel than Webb’s other books, but I found it satisfying. It has a classic Gothic ghost story feel, but doesn’t cross the line to horror (at least by my definition).
    more
  • Tish de la Mora
    May 28, 2017
    Once again Wendy Webb delivers a tale that will keep you on the edge of your seat, guessing, and so deep in that you feel you like you are one of the characters in the story. The only bad point of the book is that it ends and I now have to wait patiently til she writes another!
    more
  • JoAnn
    May 7, 2017
    I received an arc via Netgalley and this is my unbiased review.A well written ghost story set in a former TB sanitarium. Great plot!
  • Tara Lewis
    May 2, 2017
    I received an advanced copy of this title via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks!This is a true ghost story in the vein of the Victorian style- think Wilkie Collins and the modern Susan Hill series. Atmospheric and engaging, I could not put it down. I loved how it reminded me of Clue and even The Westing Game: a group of individuals invited to a spooky place to figure out 'the game.' How are they linked? Will the mystery be solved? This was a fun read. I was all up for a 5-s I received an advanced copy of this title via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks!This is a true ghost story in the vein of the Victorian style- think Wilkie Collins and the modern Susan Hill series. Atmospheric and engaging, I could not put it down. I loved how it reminded me of Clue and even The Westing Game: a group of individuals invited to a spooky place to figure out 'the game.' How are they linked? Will the mystery be solved? This was a fun read. I was all up for a 5-star review until the end which dissolved into silliness that was accepted fully by all of the characters, which, I felt, was out of character for many of them. It almost felt like the author had an image in her head of what she wanted the ending to be and almost worked backwards. It was a shame because it was a truly fantastic horror yarn. I would still recommend it for the story, even if the ending was lacklustre.
    more
  • Jen
    March 31, 2017
    The setting in a TB sanitarium that was turned into an artist's retreat was suitably spooky. I remembered The Pines TB Sanitarium outside of Shreveport that had a pretty eery atmosphere, and I became curious about the "white plague" of tuberculosis that killed so many people prior to the discovery of streptomycin. I had no idea how many people died of TB before 1952.Although the plot had promise, it deteriorated into silliness and the too long conclusion dragged.
    more
  • Megan
    June 1, 2017
    Review also posted at: http://underthebookcover.blogspot.com...3.5/5Thank you to Ashley Vanicek and Lake Union Publishing for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for review! All opinions are my own.The End of Temperance Dare opened strong, leaving a creepy and uneasy feeling with the reader, progressed at a mild pace with a few scares here and there, and ends on an alright note. This was definitely a book that gave me the creeps at a few points and I really enjoyed the writing styl Review also posted at: http://underthebookcover.blogspot.com...3.5/5Thank you to Ashley Vanicek and Lake Union Publishing for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for review! All opinions are my own.The End of Temperance Dare opened strong, leaving a creepy and uneasy feeling with the reader, progressed at a mild pace with a few scares here and there, and ends on an alright note. This was definitely a book that gave me the creeps at a few points and I really enjoyed the writing style that the author presented. All in all, this was a successful read that has piqued my interest in more of Wendy Webb's writing!Plot:Eleanor Harper has always been drawn to Cliffside Manor though she was never sure why. After years of being a crime reporter, Eleanor suddenly has the opportunity to become to director of an artists' retreat that is held at Cliffside and hopes that it will be a peaceful change from her previous job. But from the very first time she steps foot on the grounds, she feels an impending sense of dread and realizes that there is more to the manor than meets the eye. As the fellows begin to arrive, Eleanor realizes that her predecessor may have chosen the new group with a dangerous purpose in mind. As the mysteries of the manor begin to unravel, Eleanor must fight to save not only the fellows but herself as well from more than just things that go bump in the night.I really enjoyed the atmosphere that this book had! It left me feeling uneasy and constantly looking over my shoulder and that was a feeling I actually enjoyed. While I do feel that the middle portion of the book unfolded somewhat slowly, I think that it worked for the direction that the story went. The ending wasn't something I was expecting, and it felt like it all happened really fast, but overall I did enjoy this book more than I thought I was going to. It starts off with a creepy opening that really sets the tone for the entire book and it only goes up from there. I enjoyed following Eleanor as she tries to solve the mystery of the group of fellows and why they're all there as well as uncovering the secrets that Cliffside Manor holds. There were so many moments in this book that got me spooked and I just think that the author did a fantastic job setting up the creepy things that happened throughout the story. The End of Temperance Dare flows really well, despite my feeling that the middle slowed down a bit, and gives you a very well rounded story. There were several twists that I honestly did not see coming and I loved finding out everything at the same pace that Eleanor did. I did have a few reservations about some things that were addressed in the story, one being the literal instant attraction she has to one of the fellows and another involving how things were explained towards the end, but I did enjoy the story overall. Characters:There was certainly a large cast of characters in this book, but each character felt very unique and well written. I liked Eleanor and how her previous job as a crime reporter aided her in her new job at Cliffside, allowing her to use her investigative skills to help her solve the mystery behind what was happening at the manor. What I liked most about her was her unnatural connection to the manor and I was almost as eager as she was to find out why she felt so connected to this place. I also really enjoyed the manor as a character. It seems odd to say that a building was a character, but I personally felt that it had so much history that it was able to stand on its own as a character. As for the fellows and other manor residents, they were all written very well and stood out amongst each other quite easily, but I wasn't as crazy about them as I was about Eleanor and the manor. Again, each of the characters was enjoyable to read about and I liked them all well enough, but Eleanor really stood out to me the most (I mean, she is the main character) and then the manor just had this thing about it that I was really drawn to. Writing:I know I've mentioned it before, but this book had such a creepy feeling all throughout. This was my first experience with Wendy Webb and I was really satisfied with her writing. It draws you in slowly but keeps you hooked with the way she's able to create a feeling of dread and unease that makes you wonder why you're feeling that way. I won't say I was scared, but rather had a constant "someone is standing over your shoulder watching you" feeling as I read. It kept me going, kept me wondering about all of the things that were happening at the manor and to Eleanor. This was a book that I hadn't intended to finish so quickly, but found myself unable to put it down once it was in my hands. If you're looking for a story to send chills slowly up your spine, pick up a Wendy Webb book.All in all, this was just the book I needed when I didn't know I needed it. It was creepy and held my interest until I was completely finished with the story. The End of Temperance Dare has grabbed me and pulled me into the writing of Wendy Webb and I can't wait to see what other creepy tales she has to tell. Thank you again to Lake Union Publishing for sending me a copy of this book and be sure to pick it up when it releases on 06 June 2017!
    more
  • Scherry at The Novel Lady
    June 8, 2017
    This book was hard to put down. From the very beginning, I knew that Wendy Webb had me hooked. What could be more intriguing? This is about an upscale writing retreat, or rather, a retreat for artists, poets and authors. The description sounds like the most peaceful, relaxing, beautiful place you can imagine... but it's anything but peaceful. It turns out that Cliffside Manor is actually the former Cliffside Tuberculosis Sanatorium.The story starts out in 1952 describing how a father had his lit This book was hard to put down. From the very beginning, I knew that Wendy Webb had me hooked. What could be more intriguing? This is about an upscale writing retreat, or rather, a retreat for artists, poets and authors. The description sounds like the most peaceful, relaxing, beautiful place you can imagine... but it's anything but peaceful. It turns out that Cliffside Manor is actually the former Cliffside Tuberculosis Sanatorium.The story starts out in 1952 describing how a father had his little girl committed to this sanatorium and how she reacted. We then skip ahead to today where the Director of Cliffside Manor invites select authors and artists to spend a few weeks at a time living there. As it turns out, the Director, Penelope Dare, daughter of the establishment's founder, has decided to retire, and surprisingly hands the reins over to Eleanor Harper who recently had lost her job as a crime reporter for a newspaper. Eleanor is excited about her new position, but has a nagging fear that she can't quite explain.Eleanor's new job starts off with a totally unexpected event. Her predecessor is found dead, apparently from suicide. Trying to keep her nerves together and continue on at Cliffside, she decides she must continue to save the jobs of the household staff. She allows the expected group of artists and authors to come as planned.Upon meeting the group and talking to them individually, Eleanor realizes a connection between them, and when more strange things start happening, her fear intensifies.This may not have been the most frightening book I've ever read, but there were absolutely no lulls in the story. And the reader will certainly get a solid sense of the creepiness! There wasn't a single chapter when I wanted to put this book down. Wendy Webb drew me in and made me feel like I was right there. Each character had distinct personalities that were described so beautifully that I could easily imagine them in my head. From the ramrod straight posture of Miss Penelope Drew to the easy casual nature of Richard, I had a movie playing through my mind that was so vivid I could have been sitting in an IMAX movie theater!I actually read this on a stormy, rainy night. I still have goosebumps.Disclosure: A complimentary ARC was provided by NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts, opinions and ratings are my own.
    more
  • Jill Jemmett
    June 11, 2017
    When Eleanor Harper is fired from her job as a crime reporter, she applies to be the director at Cliffside Manor. Cliffside was originally a Tuberculosis sanitarium but the owner, Chester Dare, turned it into a retreat for artists. His daughter, Penelope now runs it but she has decided to retire and pass the reins off to Eleanor. However, the day Eleanor arrives, after learning the basics of how the building is run, Penelope Dare is found dead in her room with an apparent suicide note on her che When Eleanor Harper is fired from her job as a crime reporter, she applies to be the director at Cliffside Manor. Cliffside was originally a Tuberculosis sanitarium but the owner, Chester Dare, turned it into a retreat for artists. His daughter, Penelope now runs it but she has decided to retire and pass the reins off to Eleanor. However, the day Eleanor arrives, after learning the basics of how the building is run, Penelope Dare is found dead in her room with an apparent suicide note on her chest. After the initial shock, Eleanor finds a letter from Penelope that says she has left a puzzle for her to solve. Once the writers and artists arrive for the four week retreat, Eleanor soon finds out that all of the fellows have prior connections to Cliffside which led Penelope to choose them to come. Eleanor is left with the mystery of why all those fellows were chosen to come to this haunted manor.I loved this book! It was so spooky. It reminded me of The Shining, because a new person has come to run this old building, but they discover it is somehow haunted.I really liked how everything was explained at the end. I figured out some of the twists just before they happened. But they were still exciting.This story is also a little mysterious because you have to figure out the connection between the people at the manor right along with Eleanor.This is a really good story, but I don't recommend reading it at night!
    more
  • Cheryl
    May 24, 2017
    Cliffside Tuberculosis Sanatorium - waiting room for death. "When Death takes hold, he seeps into the very foundations.”Eleanor Harper used to be an investigative journalist until she was overcome by an overwhelming sense of dread and doom and ended up getting fired. So when she sees that Cliffside Manor, an artist's retreat that used to be a TB sanatorium, is advertising for a new director, she feels immediately drawn to apply for the job. She had been at Cliffside Manor 23 years ago investigat Cliffside Tuberculosis Sanatorium - waiting room for death. "When Death takes hold, he seeps into the very foundations.”Eleanor Harper used to be an investigative journalist until she was overcome by an overwhelming sense of dread and doom and ended up getting fired. So when she sees that Cliffside Manor, an artist's retreat that used to be a TB sanatorium, is advertising for a new director, she feels immediately drawn to apply for the job. She had been at Cliffside Manor 23 years ago investigating the deaths of the current director's father and sister. The current director, Penelope Dare, remembers Eleanor from 23 years ago and hires her to fill the position she is retiring from.This book brought back memories of younger years to me. I used to read a lot of gothic romances and mysteries many, many years ago and this is definitely a gothic mystery.Creepy things start happening almost immediately upon Eleanor's arrival at Cliffside. Not long after she arrives, the five recipients of the fellowship endowment for the current session - artists and writers - get to the Manor and events start spiraling out of control.Ghosts and mysteries abound in this atmospheric chiller. It was a nice change of pace and the characters were detailed and believable and the story was well done, scary without melodrama.I received this book from Lake Union Publishing through Net Galley in exchange for my unbiased review.
    more
Write a review