My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness
The heart-rending autobiographical manga that's taken the internet by storm!My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness is an honest and heartfelt look at one young woman's exploration of her sexuality, mental well-being, and growing up in our modern age. Told using expressive artwork that invokes both laughter and tears, this moving and highly entertaining single volume depicts not only the artist's burgeoning sexuality, but many other personal aspects of her life that will resonate with readers.

My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness Details

TitleMy Lesbian Experience with Loneliness
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 1st, 2017
PublisherSeven Seas
ISBN1626926034
ISBN-139781626926035
Number of pages152 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Glbt, Manga, Graphic Novels, Health, Mental Health, Nonfiction, Lesbian, Lesbian Fiction, Queer

My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness Review

  • Jenette
    June 5, 2017
    This isn't exactly the kind of thing I'd normally read. I mean, where's the paranormal? What about the fantasy or sci fi? And I'll admit when my friend Toby handed it to me with a glowing recommendation I asked when I'd ever been the kind of person to read a book about self-discovery that touches on mental health (in case you missed the memo, I don't do real, I read to escape reality!) but I'm really glad I took a chance.This was awkward and funny and just so brutally honest that is was wonderfu This isn't exactly the kind of thing I'd normally read. I mean, where's the paranormal? What about the fantasy or sci fi? And I'll admit when my friend Toby handed it to me with a glowing recommendation I asked when I'd ever been the kind of person to read a book about self-discovery that touches on mental health (in case you missed the memo, I don't do real, I read to escape reality!) but I'm really glad I took a chance.This was awkward and funny and just so brutally honest that is was wonderful. It shows just how heartbreaking feeling different and isolated can be and it didn't sugar coat the reality of eating disorders, self harm and sexual discovery.I would honestly recommend this to anyone.
    more
  • Fenriz Angelo
    June 7, 2017
    Touching autobiographical story about a broken person learning to mend herself in order to start a fulfilling life.
  • Stevie T
    April 8, 2017
    so many little things in this manga hit way close to home. read if you're up for being in the headspace of confronting uncomfortable, not-commonly-voiced truths about yourself.
  • QuillRain49
    May 17, 2017
    My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness es un historia intensamente personal y cruda. Ya desde el principio se tratan temas como la depresión, las autolesiones, los problemas alimenticios y los pensamientos suicidas. La protagonista está hundida en un pozo del que no puede salir, intentando encontrar un lugar a donde pertenecer y sentir que sus padres y demás están orgullosos de ella. No obstante, por más que se esfuerza, más termina fallando. Se ve incapaz de levantarse por las mañanas, de social My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness es un historia intensamente personal y cruda. Ya desde el principio se tratan temas como la depresión, las autolesiones, los problemas alimenticios y los pensamientos suicidas. La protagonista está hundida en un pozo del que no puede salir, intentando encontrar un lugar a donde pertenecer y sentir que sus padres y demás están orgullosos de ella. No obstante, por más que se esfuerza, más termina fallando. Se ve incapaz de levantarse por las mañanas, de socializar con otras personas o incluso de ducharse y cuidar de sí misma. Quien haya tenido depresión sabe lo que es eso, y lo difícil que se ve alcanzar cualquier meta. Ni siquiera te gusta ya nada, has perdido el interés por las cosas y actividades que antes disfrutabas ya no te hacen sentir bien. A pesar de todo esto, este manga no es triste. No diría que la historia está contada con humor, porque no es eso, pero tampoco quiere hacerte llorar. Simplemente te presenta los hechos tal cual son, tal cual los vivió. Hay algunas escenas que son oro, tan naturales y bien presentadas, sin romantizar ningún aspecto. El estilo también es muy fluido y algo que me ha gustado especialmente son las expresiones faciales y las posturas, a veces algo exageradas, pero al mismo tiempo haciéndolas mucho más reales. Algo que también me ha gustado es el final: hay esperanza, se puede salir, poco a poco confiando en ti misma y haciendo lo que verdaderamente te gusta, sin importarte lo que los demás opinen.
    more
  • Tori
    June 12, 2017
    I love how blunt, honest, and real Nagata Kabi had the bravery to be in this book. It feels wrong to give a Review to someone's real life experiences, so it's hard to put my thoughts into appropriate words. I loved how she spoke about her experiences with depression and other mental illness, and I wish that had been fleshed out more. With regards to the depiction of sex and her own idea of sex, it felt like Kabi set up the character of herself to l make some self-discoveries that weren't really I love how blunt, honest, and real Nagata Kabi had the bravery to be in this book. It feels wrong to give a Review to someone's real life experiences, so it's hard to put my thoughts into appropriate words. I loved how she spoke about her experiences with depression and other mental illness, and I wish that had been fleshed out more. With regards to the depiction of sex and her own idea of sex, it felt like Kabi set up the character of herself to l make some self-discoveries that weren't really seen through. I'd like to note before I say this that this isn't a criticism of the book or the author, just a statement about my experience as a reader: I was hoping to find this more relatable than I did. As someone who has and does struggle with major depression, I found the depiction of mental illness far more relatable than the depiction of sexuality, which is what I was expecting to relate to in this book. I understand the value of writing an autobiographical work that doesn't have a real "resolution", but putting down a book that didn't really have a conclusion is a strange feeling. I guess I'd hoped that after learning about her experiences, as the reader I'd also be able to learn about what she took away from the experiences and how they've shaped her; I wanted to know what, as a reader, she hoped I would take away from her story.
    more
  • Tilde Clark
    June 7, 2017
    It's not often I find an autobiography where depression and anxiety aren't framed in a short term, "then I got over it" way. The naked honesty of Kabi Nagata's thoughts and experiences are really refreshing (and more than one time made me tear up with recognition) -- it's a story of bravery and healing as well, but it's so encouraging to to read her aknowledgements that no, even when you try to change your life around there are obstacles, and the struggles might always be there. But that doesn't It's not often I find an autobiography where depression and anxiety aren't framed in a short term, "then I got over it" way. The naked honesty of Kabi Nagata's thoughts and experiences are really refreshing (and more than one time made me tear up with recognition) -- it's a story of bravery and healing as well, but it's so encouraging to to read her aknowledgements that no, even when you try to change your life around there are obstacles, and the struggles might always be there. But that doesn't mean it's useless to try.A cute straightforward art style, and a matter-of-factly attitiude to being lesbian also makes this a great read.
    more
  • Sarah Schanze
    June 12, 2017
    A fantastic comic that's more serious than the cover and title might suggest. I actually teared up a couple of times, and some of the feelings of the author cut pretty close to home.
  • Gloria
    June 1, 2017
    Muestra de forma muy real la confusión y la presión que muchas veces se sufre por parte de las expectativas de esta sociedad. Y de como ese cúmulo de cosas nos hace perder quienes somos o no saber qué somos, desarrollar problemas mentales y no sentirnos parte de este mundo.Pero como dice la protagonista: expectativas de los demás>yo acabará siendo... yo>expectativas de los demás
    more
  • Elisa
    June 9, 2017
    This is soooooooooooo good!!! Its very unique and honest in a way that's hard to find, especially considering the subject. Also, the drawings are simple yet very beautiful. This is soooooooooooo good!!! It´s very unique and honest in a way that's hard to find, especially considering the subject. Also, the drawings are simple yet very beautiful.
    more
  • Kate
    May 25, 2017
    it good
  • Abbie
    June 12, 2017
    A very interesting look into a person's journey from being hopelessly lost, unsure, and borderline nonfunctional, to slowly finding out what exactly she was looking for. Spoiler alert: It wasn't actually just lesbian sex (disregard the cover). Despite not sharing any of the author's exact experiences (never been really depressed (at least not to a clinical degree), never really had parental pressure to be a certain way, I'm straight and never felt particularly asexual at any point), I really con A very interesting look into a person's journey from being hopelessly lost, unsure, and borderline nonfunctional, to slowly finding out what exactly she was looking for. Spoiler alert: It wasn't actually just lesbian sex (disregard the cover). Despite not sharing any of the author's exact experiences (never been really depressed (at least not to a clinical degree), never really had parental pressure to be a certain way, I'm straight and never felt particularly asexual at any point), I really connected to the author and her struggles. Even if I couldn't come at it from a point of experience (like going, "Oh my gosh, that's me"), I still felt like I could empathize with everything. Everyone at one time or another has felt lost, like they don't belong, like they're unsure who exactly they are (or at least, I've experienced those things). The author draws on these more common feelings as a meeting ground where these feelings can be further explored as she's experienced them.This manga is very personal and does not aim to paint broad strokes of society. It doesn't try lay blame on anything or anyone that might have contributed to the author's struggles. It just explains the author's experiences in an intimate, freeing way. It's not some grand adventure; it's not full of twists and dramatic ups and downs. It's a small overview of someone's struggles and how a strange event helped her finally find herself.It's a very nice, uplifting read. I'd recommend it for anyone who likes to read about humans.
    more
  • Emily
    June 12, 2017
    (cw references to depression, self harm, eating disorders, sex work. nsfw obviously (there's a nip on the cover, so that shouldn't be difficult to divine), but isn't particularly explicit or sexy.)reader, I cried and then I laughed and then I cried again. autobio comic toned in light pink, shaky scribbled uncertain faces that occasionally transition to delicately rendered bodies. minimalist and effective — reminds me of the way Takako Shimura uses sparse and emotive panel layouts. very text-heav (cw references to depression, self harm, eating disorders, sex work. nsfw obviously (there's a nip on the cover, so that shouldn't be difficult to divine), but isn't particularly explicit or sexy.)reader, I cried and then I laughed and then I cried again. autobio comic toned in light pink, shaky scribbled uncertain faces that occasionally transition to delicately rendered bodies. minimalist and effective — reminds me of the way Takako Shimura uses sparse and emotive panel layouts. very text-heavy but not to a degree that feels overdone, because of the author's incredibly honest and deeply relatable voice.cleanly executed localization by Seven Seas into a slim paperback. (the best localizations are effectively invisible while reading. I think they did a good job.) apparently this was first published on pixiv before getting picked up for book publication? that's so neat. it really hits home that sometimes, the best thing you can do for yourself and your art is to cater to yourself instead of to some imagined gauge, audience, or publication.(I really want to find Nagata's earlier non-autobio work now but the internet is not yet proving to be very fruitful here)recommended if autobio comics about being depressed and gay sound at all like anything you might enjoy reading.
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 11, 2017
    If you've ever wondered if you were the only one who felt like a child watching all the adults succeed at life, read this book. Kabi Nagata's ongoing journey as she copes with anxiety, depression, cutting, and being LBGTQ is honest in way that we don't always see, particularly in manga, and that helps her deal with the subject matter in a way that really reaches the reader. Nagata's attempts to understand her sexuality, why she can't live for herself and not her parents (and her work to be able If you've ever wondered if you were the only one who felt like a child watching all the adults succeed at life, read this book. Kabi Nagata's ongoing journey as she copes with anxiety, depression, cutting, and being LBGTQ is honest in way that we don't always see, particularly in manga, and that helps her deal with the subject matter in a way that really reaches the reader. Nagata's attempts to understand her sexuality, why she can't live for herself and not her parents (and her work to be able to do so), and her family's lack of understanding are presented unflinchingly.It's worth mentioning that at one point Nagata says that she doesn't like to be identified as a woman, but it's clear that she lacks the vocabulary (or perhaps the Japanese language does?) to say that she's non-binary and possibly asexual. (She seems to mistake a craving for human contact for sexual urges, but is uncomfortable and unmoved by sex.) This book could be an excellent addition to a sex ed class on both of these fronts, as well as for the fact that she laments that all of her understanding about sex and her own body came from fiction.
    more
  • Erica
    June 8, 2017
    Hit a little close to home. Realizing no matter how hard you strive to meet your parents expectations it won't make you happy? Amen. Lots of emotionally and mentally unhealthy stuff unpacked in a funny and honest way-with a loose and emotive style to match. Doesn't feel preachy and doesn't get aggressively saccharine about their "success" like some books I've read with depression. How she's coming to terms with her sexuality in particular was really refreshing, struggling through a lot of head s Hit a little close to home. Realizing no matter how hard you strive to meet your parents expectations it won't make you happy? Amen. Lots of emotionally and mentally unhealthy stuff unpacked in a funny and honest way-with a loose and emotive style to match. Doesn't feel preachy and doesn't get aggressively saccharine about their "success" like some books I've read with depression. How she's coming to terms with her sexuality in particular was really refreshing, struggling through a lot of head scratching contemplation instead of just one lightning strike "a-ha" moment. And how her first lesbian encounter didn't answer all her questions. Real life can be a lot messier than the cookie cutter narratives we're fed-one kiss isn't going to change your whole life. A quick read unfortunately-hopefully she does release more work and it makes it stateside as well.
    more
  • Kara Jorgensen
    June 6, 2017
    My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness follows Kabi Nagata as she deals with eating disorders, depression, anxiety, and her sexuality.This autobiographical graphic novel is not only adorable but deals with issues very close to my heart. Nagata artfully delves into complex topics regarding psychology, and she does not hold back. We're given the nitty-gritty of dealing with soul-killing depression.Ultimately, Nagata presents her readers with a work-in-progress. Being well is a daily struggle even d My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness follows Kabi Nagata as she deals with eating disorders, depression, anxiety, and her sexuality.This autobiographical graphic novel is not only adorable but deals with issues very close to my heart. Nagata artfully delves into complex topics regarding psychology, and she does not hold back. We're given the nitty-gritty of dealing with soul-killing depression.Ultimately, Nagata presents her readers with a work-in-progress. Being well is a daily struggle even during the best of times, and Nagata doesn't shy away from showing her real, vulnerable self even if that wouldn't be possible in real life.This book is about so much more than being a lesbian. It's about overcoming depression and mental illness enough to become your true self.
    more
  • Zsófi
    May 17, 2017
    4.5 stars.When this manga popped up in my news feed, I knew immediately it was written for me.First, reflecting on the title: this work is extremely honest in dealing with LGBT theme while reflects on how harmful it is to learn sexual communication through yaoi, or through porn in general, and it's just the tip of the iceberg. The serious subjects of the book (depression, anxiety) are so realistic due to the memoir-setting and personal tone. The description of mental problems which pushes the au 4.5 stars.When this manga popped up in my news feed, I knew immediately it was written for me.First, reflecting on the title: this work is extremely honest in dealing with LGBT theme while reflects on how harmful it is to learn sexual communication through yaoi, or through porn in general, and it's just the tip of the iceberg. The serious subjects of the book (depression, anxiety) are so realistic due to the memoir-setting and personal tone. The description of mental problems which pushes the author / main character to the edge of self-destruction combined with cute graphic is just a big hit to the feels. The awkwardness of the sex scenes are just hilarious.
    more
  • D Scott
    June 9, 2017
    My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness is an autobiographical manga by Nagata Kabi. The book is a fast read and can be completed in < an hour. What makes this manga amazing is the subject matter. Nagata opens her anxiety closet wide open, and frankly discusses her her anxiety, depression, inferiority complexes, eating disorder, and lack of sexual experience in ways that are simultaneously heartbreaking and heartwarming. This manga also can not help but hold a mirror to the reader. In Nagata's My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness is an autobiographical manga by Nagata Kabi. The book is a fast read and can be completed in < an hour. What makes this manga amazing is the subject matter. Nagata opens her anxiety closet wide open, and frankly discusses her her anxiety, depression, inferiority complexes, eating disorder, and lack of sexual experience in ways that are simultaneously heartbreaking and heartwarming. This manga also can not help but hold a mirror to the reader. In Nagata's frankness, the reader has ample opportunity to reflect on parallel/divergent experiences from the author's own.The book is rated 16+ but I would recommend to high school age readers.
    more
  • Woowott
    June 4, 2017
    Good gods. I think this should be required reading for everyone, especially for Millennials. This is a manga-ka's frank illustrated memoir of her battle with anxiety, depression, parental pressure, sexual confusion, and parental angst. It was so good and so real. I was aghast that even a sex worker is confused about the hymen (everything history and literature tells us is wrong), but that too is realistic. EVERYONE READ THIS. It won't cure anything, but it will let you know that you are not alon Good gods. I think this should be required reading for everyone, especially for Millennials. This is a manga-ka's frank illustrated memoir of her battle with anxiety, depression, parental pressure, sexual confusion, and parental angst. It was so good and so real. I was aghast that even a sex worker is confused about the hymen (everything history and literature tells us is wrong), but that too is realistic. EVERYONE READ THIS. It won't cure anything, but it will let you know that you are not alone, someone understands, and you can do this thing called life.
    more
  • David Jr.
    June 6, 2017
    Phenomenal. It's painful and powerful. A very real, very visceral take on gender/sexuality based confusion, self-loathing, and trying to understand yourself. While it's ultimately a book specifically about the author's experience finding herself and exploring her lesbianism, it's really a great read for anyone with a difficult past, struggling with identity issues.
    more
  • Ally
    June 6, 2017
    Firstly, I'm so glad this book is acaiable in english. Bless Seven Seas for doing Sappho's good work.Secondly, with a title like that, how could I not check this out??The author's art style is super charming, and I admire her bravery in telling such a personal story. I hope she publishes more stuff that makes it over seas (and I hope it's super gay).
    more
  • John Worpenberg
    June 7, 2017
    Extraordinary, courageous
  • Kat Hulu
    May 31, 2017
    Reminded me a bit of "The Bell Jar." Totally frank, intimate account of a (curiously likeable) young woman's troubled life.
  • Elisa Hernandez
    June 11, 2017
    Es honesto, real e inspirador :)
  • c.
    June 7, 2017
    tw body dysmorphia, anxiety, self-hatred, self-harm, eating disorders, probably other stuff im missing
Write a review