Misconduct (Birmingham Rebels, #4)
The Birmingham Rebels play both sides of the field, proving that the hottest action isn’t always in the arena.Rookie running back Tom Kelly loves the perks of football stardom. Men, women—there’s no shortage of companionship for a pro athlete who’s hot, young, and willing, and Tom is definitely willing. But deep down he wants a committed three-way relationship, especially if the female in the middle is Carmina de la Cruz. The undeniably sexy Army veteran may not say much, but her body speaks loud and clear.After a traumatic tour in Afghanistan, Carmina is struggling to regain her speech and rebuild her life. More than anything, she wants to feel like a woman again. Tom may be a wholesome All-American, but he knows just how she needs to be touched—and he’s not the only Rebel who arouses her interest. With his scorching intensity, Tom’s best friend leaves her wondering if two players might be better than one.Danny Smith is no stranger to his team’s kinky reputation. He gave in to temptation once, but he’s not going down that road again. Sure, Carmina’s curves promise pleasure, but her eyes guarantee it comes with baggage—and Danny has enough of his own. Still, giving up control can feel so good. And when it comes to everything Danny craves, Carmina and Tom make the perfect team.

Misconduct (Birmingham Rebels, #4) Details

TitleMisconduct (Birmingham Rebels, #4)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherLoveswept
Number of pages288 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Sports and Games, Sports, Erotica, Menage, Football, Contemporary, Adult Fiction, Did Not Finish, Contemporary Romance, M M F, M M Romance

Misconduct (Birmingham Rebels, #4) Review

  • Carol [Goodreads Addict]
    May 14, 2017
    Misconduct: Birmingham Rebels is book four in the Birmingham Rebels series by Samantha Kane. First, I want to say that I’ve loved this series from the start. I have gotten attached to this crazy football team and their sexual escapades. I’m so glad that Danny, Tom, and Carmina got their chance for their own story. We met Danny in the first book. He is Coach Marion’s best friend and is carrying some pretty deep scars on the inside from something that happened to both of them years before they eve Misconduct: Birmingham Rebels is book four in the Birmingham Rebels series by Samantha Kane. First, I want to say that I’ve loved this series from the start. I have gotten attached to this crazy football team and their sexual escapades. I’m so glad that Danny, Tom, and Carmina got their chance for their own story. We met Danny in the first book. He is Coach Marion’s best friend and is carrying some pretty deep scars on the inside from something that happened to both of them years before they ever came to Birmingham. Now, he is Tom’s roommate and they are also best friends. He knows Tom is interested in more than just friendship but he’s not going there. He let down his guard once and never again. And then there is the way he feels about Carmina. Carmina has her own issues, she doesn’t need someone like him who is dealing with all kinds of baggage. So he keeps his feelings to himself. Carmina de la Cruz has been home from Afghanistan for a long time. She moved to Birmingham to be near her closest friend, Sam who is also a member of the Birmingham Rebels. He was also with her when everything went bad in Afghanistan. She has physically healed from the explosion that they drove over, but her head is still messed up. She has trouble with her words, and she gets overwhelmed easily. But Carmina is ready to live a normal life, get a job, be with a man, or two. She can’t help but to notice Tom and all his country boy charm. But so has every other woman, and man for that matter, since Tom doesn’t turn down an offer from either sex. And then there is Danny. He is completely the opposite of Tom, all serious and brooding. But there is a chemistry there, and she has caught him watching her. Is she really attracted to them both?Ever since Tom finally realized he liked being with both men and women, he has been going crazy. But he knows this isn’t really what he wants. He wants a committed relationship. He has fallen hard for his roommate, Danny. But he keeps it to himself. And he is also strongly attracted to the sexy Carmina. He’s caught Danny looking at her as well. Both Danny and Carmina are dealing with serious issues. Who would have ever thought that Tom was the one who could help them. The Tom I first met in the first book is so different than this Tom. He’s all grown up. He genuinely cares for Carmina and wants to help her. And his feelings for Danny are deep. He somehow just knows how to help these two. It’s like he’s their missing puzzle piece. And wow did he ever find his inner Dom! The Rebels are playing their best season ever. But the game against Las Vegas is the last game of the regular season. And a member of that team, a person that has a history with Danny and Marion, has the potential to ruin everything. Can Danny let go of his anger and just play football? Or will he choose to exact his revenge? First, this book is crazy hot as all the books in this series are. But it’s so much more than that. It’s about letting go, allowing yourself to live, and love. Both Danny and Carmina have guilt and anger they have to let go of in order to move on. And it seems Tom knows just how to help them do that. I’m not sure how many books are going to be in this series but I hope Samantha Kane keeps going. It’s so much fun and I’ve come to love this crazy bunch. So turn down the A/C, ladies, and come and meet the Birmingham Rebels. There is enough testosterone here to fuel your fantasies for a long, long time.
    more
  • Dia
    May 23, 2017
    4,5 stars rounded up because I really enjoyed the writing This was my first book by Samantha Kane and it was a very nice surprise. I enjoyed her writing more than I expected. I laughed out loud SO many times. I never thought an MFM book could keep me up ALL night. But this one really worked for me. I asked for an ARC on Net Galley because I was hooked by the cover. I mean, look at that body! *droll* I adore MM books but I thought about trying an MFM too. When I dived in I really didn't know wh 4,5 stars rounded up because I really enjoyed the writing This was my first book by Samantha Kane and it was a very nice surprise. I enjoyed her writing more than I expected. I laughed out loud SO many times. I never thought an MFM book could keep me up ALL night. But this one really worked for me. I asked for an ARC on Net Galley because I was hooked by the cover. I mean, look at that body! *droll* I adore MM books but I thought about trying an MFM too. When I dived in I really didn't know what I was going to get. I won't lie, at first I wasn't really fond of Tom. He was pretty full of himself and the way he saw the world and especially sex was not to my liking. But he was a football star, a handsome and free young man, super confident and he enjoyed experiencing lots of sex with men and women who threw themselves at him. Nothing new, right? This being said, I also must admit I didn't know what to think of Danny, his introverted room-mate and colleague in their football team. There was some tension between him and Tim and he was also attracted to Carmina. But his past prevented him for giving into temptation. Or so he thought. Carmina seemed to be having a lot of problems of her own. After being injured in Afghanistan, she had trouble speaking and couldn't find her O anymore, no matter what she tried. You think this would be funny and to be honest, the writing made it all super funny and also HOT. So HOT!! I thought I knew what's going to happen next, but this story surprised me. I had a book hangover. I wasn't able to put it down, but I went to sleep wearing a huge smile on my face the next morning.I really loved the writing AND the jokes! My most favorite thing, well besides Danny and Tom together, of course. Tom was SO sweet!! He ended up being unexpectedly funny and the way he made Danny submit made me love him even more. I would have wanted more action on the page between the three of them, but overall I really enjoyed this story. It might not be the most surprising MFM book, but for me it was exactly what I needed. Light, hot AND funny. ARC kindly provided to me by the Random House Publishing Group - Loveswept, via Net Galley, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.
    more
  • Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
    July 24, 2017
    5 starsI loved this book and I love this series. On the believability scale, I’m giving it a two. I can’t see these situations happening in real life or playing out the way the author depicts. I can’t see people making such life altering decisions so quickly and making peace with them so easily. In my opinion, not realistic in the least.That being said, if I wanted believable, I’d read non-fiction. This was over-the-top, kinky sexy, melt-in-your mouth men engaging in all kinds of naughty play wi 5 starsI loved this book and I love this series. On the believability scale, I’m giving it a two. I can’t see these situations happening in real life or playing out the way the author depicts. I can’t see people making such life altering decisions so quickly and making peace with them so easily. In my opinion, not realistic in the least.That being said, if I wanted believable, I’d read non-fiction. This was over-the-top, kinky sexy, melt-in-your mouth men engaging in all kinds of naughty play with the women they fall for. The sex, the athletes, the brotherhood, I just can’t get enough of it.Danny, Carmina and Tom are no exception. We’ve met all of these people before and know their issues. For Carmina, it’s recovering from a traumatic brain injury and fighting to have people see her as the able person she is, not a recovering patient. For Danny, it’s struggling with past actions and past guilt that he needs to let himself release, and for Tom, the realization that he wants more than just a good time with a lot of nameless, faceless different people. It was sweet to see them all come together emotionally, as individual couples and a threesome, and it was smolderingly hot to read about the details! I especially found the pseudo-BDSM aspect to be very interesting. It was not flat out physical bondage and domination. Rather, it was seeing Tom realize his dominant side and his desire to care for those he loved. He watched, he analyzed and he acted upon what he felt his lovers needed most, and he gained the most pleasures out of giving them what they needed. It seems odd to describe it in this manner, but I found his evolution, especially in the youngest of this threesome, to be touching and…well…sweet.While all of the Birmingham Rebel’s stories are stand alone, I believe they are better if read in order. It gives a better picture of what is going on and all of the past characters are brought back in some manner, so it’s nice to see how they’re doing. If you’re looking for a deep, realistic story, you may want to keep walking. But if you’re looking for a dirty, kinky, stay up late story, look no further.4.5 starsI wasn't sure where the author was going with this book. These three characters are so very different- a wounded Veteran, an all american player, and a guy looking for revenge. While reading I constantly thought they are never going to get there HEA. Tom is a player looking for fun and not interested in settling down. He's been stifled in his early youth but now he's free an loving every minute of it. He's been waiting for his best friend Danny to admit they could be more but has finally captures Carmina's attention. I was happy to see our wounded Veteran Carmina getting her own happy ending. This woman has been through a lot but she is determined not to give up. I liked reading her thought, what she overcame and want she still needs to overcome. She's tough and sexy rolled into one. She's at an impasse when she wants both Tom and Danny. At one point I wasn't sure she liked either one. Danny is an angry guy. He's got hang ups from his youth that continue to haunt him . He's determined to settle the score before he can build a relationship. He wants Carmina but can admit he wants Tom too. Can they give him what he needs? The answer is YES!!!!! When these three finally came together it was epic. I loved how Tom took the dominant position. This worked with both Caramina and Danny. They all seemed to click. The relationships between the pair didn't seem forced bit a nature progression of their relationship. Past characters are also in the book but it only enhanced the story. I liked reconnecting with Sam and his brotherly relationship with Carmina. I found this to be a great addition to the series.Review copy provided for a voluntary review.
    more
  • The_Book_Queen
    May 9, 2017
    NOPE! DNFing at 27%. Not even 1/3 in and I have enough "fuck no!" reactions to comments and thoughts in this one that I'm seeing red.The start of Misconduct sounded like it could be good. Heroine was injured during her tour in Afghanistan and in the 3 years since then, she has not been able to orgasm (alone – she hasn’t had sex since the attack). She’s in her room, trying, once again, to masturbate to orgasm. I’m here for the very real struggle many have of trying to overcome the many layers o NOPE! DNFing at 27%. Not even 1/3 in and I have enough "fuck no!" reactions to comments and thoughts in this one that I'm seeing red.The start of Misconduct sounded like it could be good. Heroine was injured during her tour in Afghanistan and in the 3 years since then, she has not been able to orgasm (alone – she hasn’t had sex since the attack). She’s in her room, trying, once again, to masturbate to orgasm. I’m here for the very real struggle many have of trying to overcome the many layers of emotional and mental roadblocks between a person (usually a woman) and orgasm, so I had hopes for this. But not even 2% in and we get this piece of garbage line:She’d read up on how to do this right, even watched some how-to videos. She’d felt like a total pervert watching women get themselves off, but she’d studied those videos like she was taking the masturbating SAT tomorrow.REPEAT AFTER ME:HER WATCHING OTHER WOMEN MASTURBATE DOES NOT MAKE HER A PERVERT. FFS.This throwaway line came across as “Ew, I shouldn’t be watching women because I don’t swing that way!” and I am not here for this bullshit. And even if, best case scenario, she just means watching ANYONE masturbate makes her a pervert, I’m still not here for this bullshit because that’s throwing the sex industry, porn in particular, under the bus.But it’s only 2% in and surely it’s going to get better, so I keep going. Oh, how I wish I hadn’t because then we get some equally fucked up thoughts from the hero (or one of the heroes). This at the 3% mark, btw:Fucking pussy was sweet and he still loved it, but fucking a guy in the ass was a forbidden thrill he didn’t think he’d ever get over.NO NO NO NO NO. So pussy was sweet and fine but fucking A GUY in the ass – note: not just ANAL SEX IN GENERAL, BUT ANAL WITH A GUY – is “a forbidden thrill”? Fuck that shit. That’s code for “I don’t like that I like guys because ew, I shouldn’t” BS and again, I AM NOT HERE FOR THAT SHIT.Apparently, I love to torture myself because again I raged on Twitter . . . and then kept going. At this point, I didn’t think it would get better, didn’t care about any of the characters, but I was . . . interested, I suppose, in how much worse it could possibly get.Then we get to some covert (not really) slut shaming comment about her dress. That is, her modest, perfectly innocent dress that is NOT slutty and oh, what a relief that is! NO NO NO NOThe dress wasn’t cheap looking or slutty. It was high-class, a deep burgundy-red color, sleeveless, with a round neck that didn’t show anything below her collarbones. And it came to the middle of her thighs, so not too short.CAN. WE. STOP. WITH. THIS. SHIT? I don’t care if she was wearing a dress that barely covered her vagina – it’s still not okay to call the outfit OR the person slutty because of it.Again, I kept going. I was truly just rage-reading and tweeting at this point.We then get this oh-so-casual mention in the middle of her kissing the hero:She’d never done that [slow, playful kisses, etc.] with a guy. They were all so intense when it came to sex, like they wanted to get it done before a woman had a chance to think about it or change her mind.So what you’re telling me is her previous partners were all rapists, or will be on a rapist list soon? Because no one should ever be trying to “get it done before a woman had a chance to think about it or change her mind”. Tell me, how did no one – author, editor, etc – see a problem with that statement?! And like I said, it’s even worse because that doozy of a fucked up line is just dropped into the middle of a scene and then it’s on to kissing and screwing. NO NO NO NOAnd the sex . . . Oh hell, there were issues there, too. Like this, when the hero first sees her:“Now that is what a woman’s pussy should look like.”COMPARED TO WHAT? There’s no mention of anything “different” or “unusual” about her pussy, so what the hell is he even talking about and why does he think that her pussy looks more “right” than any other he’s seen? I’m both confused and pissed off by this line. And again, he says that, nothing more is expanded on or talked about, and then it’s right on to him eating her out in the next line.But wait, remember how she can’t orgasm? Yeah, then there’s this: She just needed a real dick inside her. Then she’d come.BECAUSE OF COURSE, I FORGOT THE MAGICAL CURE TO ORGASM PROBLEMS IS A MAGICAL DICK. SURPRISE! A few pages of thrusting, etc, later and she has to finally admit that his “magical dick” isn’t going to give her an orgasm that night, either.REALLY? COLOR ME SHOCKED! IT’S ALMOST LIKE THE PROBLEM ISN’T TIED TO WHETHER OR NOT YOU HAVE A “REAL” [ugh ugh ugh] DICK IN YOUR VAGINA!I somehow still managed to go another 2 chapters and I don’t have any damn clue how. Then I hit this scene and I was out. It was the final straw on a pile of shit:“Exclusively?” Danny asked. “You going to give up the guys?” Tom stopped halfway to the table with his plate in hand. “I didn’t think about that,” he said slowly. “She knows I like guys, too.” He sat down opposite Danny and began to eat. “Knowing you like guys and letting you screw them while you’re supposed to be with her is another thing entirely,” Danny told him. “Be careful, man. You’re entering dangerous territory.” Tom sat back with a disgruntled sigh and ran his hands through his hair. “I don’t want to give up guys or girls,” he said."THAT IS NOT HOW BISEXUALITY WORKS AND THIS FUCKED UP IDEA THAT BI = CHEATER WHO CAN’T STICK TO ONE PERSON NEEDS TO DIE A FIERY DEATH.Oh, and the two believe that the answer to this problem (of not being able to be exclusive) is to find a female partner who is “okay” with having a third (a guy – or maybe more than one guy, like a rotation?) in their relationship.Can we stop with this idea that bisexuality AUTMATICALLY equals polyamory? Yes, some bi/pan (and other sexual identities, obviously) ARE also poly and want a poly relationship (be it committed, casual hookups, open, closed, etc etc etc). BUT BEING BI IS NOT THE SAME AS BEING POLY. Yet that’s how this is treated here.How many times can I scream NOPE, do you think?That was it. That was the last thing I could take. The fact that he’s already planning how he can’t be monogamous with her (or anyone) because he can’t give up the guys had me noping out so fast I got whiplash. Notice it’s phrased that way too – not that he couldn’t give up the women either if he tried dating a guy seriously, but that he can’t give up the guys. The forbidden thrill from earlier, remember? Fuck. That. Shit. Fuck it with an old, rusty spoon because I literally threw down my Kindle after that. [Luckily onto my bed, not against the wall.]I don’t know if she ever orgasms. I don’t know how this menage works out – if it ends up being all three or just the two with some brief play with the third, if the other hero is actually attracted to men or just no-homo-let’s-share-a-woman – and I don’t give a single fuck. I’m not sticking around to find out any of that. They can stay in their shitty world where bi = compulsive cheater, anything less than a nun’s outfit is slutty and cheap, and a woman thinks that a real dick will cure her lack of orgasms. The thing is, I read one previous M/M title from Kane (Cherry Bomb) and really loved that one. But now I’m squinting back at it and wondering if I missed some of these things in there, too. Because if an author thinks some of these things for one set of characters, it’s going to come up with others, too. I’m honestly not sure that I’ll be trying any more from Kane. This one pissed me off too much and left such a bad taste in my mouth that even if her other books were clear of any and all problems, I just wouldn’t trust her anymore.
    more
  • ~Mandi~
    June 26, 2017
    MisconductBirmingham Rebels #4Samantha Kane 4 ⭐⭐⭐⭐I am really getting into these sport romance books. I'm not a big sports fan but I love the team camaraderie. Players are always watching each other's backs and are like family with each other. I also love books like these where you get to know other characters and then get the chance to read about them in another story. This is the fourth Birmingham Revels book. Each book so far is a polyamorous relationship. This seems to becoming a theme with MisconductBirmingham Rebels #4Samantha Kane 4 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️I am really getting into these sport romance books. I'm not a big sports fan but I love the team camaraderie. Players are always watching each other's backs and are like family with each other. I also love books like these where you get to know other characters and then get the chance to read about them in another story. This is the fourth Birmingham Revels book. Each book so far is a polyamorous relationship. This seems to becoming a theme with romance books. It doesn't bother me to read about a bisexual couple, but it's not for everyone. I can't wait for the next book in this series to come out for me to read. Hopefully it will be soon. Thanks NetGalley and Loveswept for the arc in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Ginny Lurcock
    June 14, 2017
    I only made it as far as chapter two before I hit this gem:Okay... lemme break this down:Gay sex isn't forbidden and titillating. It's not a fetish for you to exploit for bored white women who want to read scandalous fictionI am married to a straight cisgendered allosexual man. We're monogamous. And yet, this is a bi relationship because I am bisexual. That's what makes a bi relationship. That's it. I also do bi grocery shopping and do bi laundry and have bi sex because I'm bisexual... (pansexua I only made it as far as chapter two before I hit this gem:Okay... lemme break this down:Gay sex isn't forbidden and titillating. It's not a fetish for you to exploit for bored white women who want to read scandalous fictionI am married to a straight cisgendered allosexual man. We're monogamous. And yet, this is a bi relationship because I am bisexual. That's what makes a bi relationship. That's it. I also do bi grocery shopping and do bi laundry and have bi sex because I'm bisexual... (pansexual, actually, but still...)What this character is looking for is a relationship with two partners who are also involved with each other. A form of polyamory I refer to as a triad, though it's probably wrong. (See previous: monogamist.)But this character specifically wants a man and a woman so he can continue fucking pussy and ass. Making the most important characteristic in potential life partners their genitals. Something that is not only gross (I am more than my vagina, thank you) but transphobic as fuck.So I won't be reading anymore of this book. To do so would not only be a colossal waste of my time but risk further bouts of having to swallow down rage.
    more
  • Cam (abookeater)
    June 1, 2017
    I couldn't get through half of this book because its literally a white woman's fetishized wet dream. Bisexual folks who MUST be poly amorous by default and a fetishized portrayal of Afro-Puerto Rican Women. Its just queer people used as sexual objects. No thanks.Received a copy from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Kristie
    July 25, 2017
    Reviewed for Just LoveReview contains some spoilers. I'd click the hide thing, but I think the spoilers aren't that bad and seriously, people should know what they're getting when/if they read this book.I have so many issues with this book. Too many to actually talk about, mostly because the more I try to unpack all that is wrong with this story, the angrier I become. I’m not sure how I read the whole book, but I did. I think I pushed on to finish because I was hoping that the author would someh Reviewed for Just LoveReview contains some spoilers. I'd click the hide thing, but I think the spoilers aren't that bad and seriously, people should know what they're getting when/if they read this book.I have so many issues with this book. Too many to actually talk about, mostly because the more I try to unpack all that is wrong with this story, the angrier I become. I’m not sure how I read the whole book, but I did. I think I pushed on to finish because I was hoping that the author would somehow, miraculously, find a way to write herself out of the mess that she started. While some things did work themselves out, sort of, other things still rang true through the whole book and it made me so very angry.Misconduct is part of a series that I have not read. While this book can be read as a standalone, it would probably be a good idea to read the previous books. There are clearly things that have happened in prior stories that impact these current characters. Still, because I did read the whole book, it seems like I was able to piece together what I may have missed. The big thing is that this is a pro football team full of players who are, apparently, very into poly relationships. But that’s where the rub starts. It’s totally unbelievable to me to have that many team members into the same things, the same types of relationships, having the same sexual desires. Why? Bad story telling for one.Then there are the characters and their personalities… Ugh. Take Carmina. She’s a war vet, suffers from PTSD, has had some serious head injury, and is trying to deal with things back as a civilian. She’s likable enough, a tough cookie, and really spunky. I liked her for about a minute before I learned that she’s having difficulties reaching an orgasm. There are reasons… all related to her PTSD and issues she’s not ready to deal with, but oh no, all she needed was a guy with just the right amount of forcefulness… or something. Please… please tell me why the way to “fix” her involves two men who take control of her pleasure and that’s what does it. Please tell me why it’s not because, oh maybe, she has some other issues steaming from the war and her being injured and duh, the dude she had a thing for while in the war. Dick(s) do(es) not fix things!Then there is Tom. OMG Tom. Tom wants a long term bi-relationship, whatever the fuck that means. A bi-relationship. Really? Perhaps the author want’s Tom to come off completely and totally clueless? Perhaps the author wants readers to believe that Tom doesn’t know the difference between being bisexual, and what participating in a polyamorous relationship means. Perhaps this is where I should have stopped reading… why didn’t I stop reading? So Tom comes off to me as a guy who is bisexual, doesn’t really know what that is, and really just wants to have sex with men and women because having both is like some sort of fun game to him. Because “fucking a guy in the ass was a forbidden thrill he didn’t think he’d ever get over.” Seriously, again, why didn’t I stop reading?But then there was Danny. Danny is in denial, does not want to act on his feelings towards Tom, nor Carmina. So what changes? Tom feels like he just knows that if he pushes, he’ll get what he wants from Danny. And because Carmina is also attracted to Danny, she’ll get her happy too. There is a moment of ‘he said no but his dick said yes’. Hell no! What even is that? I’ll tell you what it is. It’s gross. Dubious consent isn’t the way to win a dude over. But it doesn’t stop there. We also get dubious consent threeway sex just so one guy could have his cake and eat it too.Oh, and there’s more…This book is filled with men who think they have to protect a woman who was the victim of assault and was almost raped, only because it’s like their duty or something. Meanwhile, the woman in question wants to get past shit and she’s bad ass enough to handle her own problems. These are not the problems of the men she’s involved with, or her friends. Most of them didn’t even know her when it happened! Ugh. Like, the entitlement these men have is disgusting. Plus, there are a lot of problems on how the actual football play is handled on the field. As a huge football fan, this book offends me. As a woman, this book offends me.I can’t with this. It’s totally offensive to me on so many levels and I wish I’d never picked it up, but you decide.
    more
  • Mirjana ***Let's Sound It Out - - - Mary-On-A***
    July 18, 2017
    Horrible bi-rep (can we just stop with the whole "cheaters" bullshit), homophobic comments from MC's, slut-shaming, and more. Here's TBQ's review that sums up what you'll get in just the first 25%. https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
  • Optimist ♰King's Wench♰ & MANTIES Champion
    July 21, 2017
    WWWWWWWHHHHHHHHHHHHYYYYYYYYYYYYYY?????????Why can I not find a MMF that makes me dance a Cajun rhythm? It seems like I used to be able to but lately it's been one dud after another. Maybe MM has ruined MMF for me? I wish I knew what the deal was but I don't like it.I really didn't hate this book but I can't condone some of the sentiments perpetuated by it, thus the 1 heart rating. So let's get those out of the way first.I've heard about Samantha Kane and her MMF books for years but this was my f WWWWWWWHHHHHHHHHHHHYYYYYYYYYYYYYY?????????Why can I not find a MMF that makes me dance a Cajun rhythm? It seems like I used to be able to but lately it's been one dud after another. Maybe MM has ruined MMF for me? I wish I knew what the deal was but I don't like it.I really didn't hate this book but I can't condone some of the sentiments perpetuated by it, thus the 1 heart rating. So let's get those out of the way first.I've heard about Samantha Kane and her MMF books for years but this was my first experience reading one. I thought for sure it'd be good and was SO excited to read it. I mean, I knew I was going to have to suspend reality since approximately a fourth of this NFL team in the deep South is bisexual and in polyamorous relationships and they all work together, but I was prepared with my goggles and glitter. Because girl scout. However, what I wasn't prepared for was the misrepresentation of bisexuality, or more specifically, erasing the line between bisexuality and polyamory and making them synonymous. Tom stopped halfway to the table with his plate in hand. "I didn't think about that," he said slowly. "She knows I like guys, too." [...] "Knowing you like guys and letting you screw them while you're supposed to be with her is another thing entirely," Danny told him. "Be careful, man. You're entering dangerous territory." Tom sat back with a disgruntled sigh and ran his hands through his hair. "I don't want to give up guys or girls," he said. "What am I supposed to do?" I know it's supposed to be a ménage romance but is it necessary to depict bisexuals as greedy? There were some things that Carmina said and did that were in this same vein or in the vein of being lesbian phobic that rubbed me the wrong way too.As if that wasn't shocking enough from an experienced MMF writer, I was ill prepared for the sanctioning of rape. "...You were into it. I wasn't holding you down that hard, Danny. You could have gotten away. If you had said no and meant it, I would have stopped. Hell, you were begging for it.""His mouth said no, his dick said yes," Tom said with a shrug. "I listened to his dick." In 2017? Seriously? I literally cannot believe this is still a thing. If Danny had been Daniela in this scenario this would never have happened. Then Tom took it one step further and brought out the big manipulative guns and Danny eventually tows the I was into it line. Again, I get that this is a ménage storyline but this could've been handled waaaaaaaaayyyy differently.My last major grievance was Danny's depiction as an angry black man when his actions didn't match that depiction. He's distant and maybe not warm and fuzzy but angry? I didn't see that. I *think* the objective was to contrast "the angry player" in and out of the locker room whose submissive in the bedroom. The idea though trite is solid but the carpet needs to match the drapes otherwise it looks hella racist.As far as these characters are concerned, I just couldn't with them. I have a tendency to look at behaviors as a conduit for connecting with characters. If I can understand or identify with their actions, things sync up like they're supposed to but this conduit felt more like shock treatment.See the rest on the blog then later here. An ARC was provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • Rejane
    July 18, 2017
    Say no more:https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
  • Jeanny
    June 6, 2017
    eARC for Misconduct provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This is a story about a MMF polyamorist relationship & everything that entails. I should start this review by disclosing I've not read all the books in this series. Therefore some instances discussed in this book are explained more in detail in book 1 or 2 of the series. That said I was able to follow along & never felt like I was missing essential information. Although I was familiar with Carmina's eARC for Misconduct provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This is a story about a MMF polyamorist relationship & everything that entails. I should start this review by disclosing I've not read all the books in this series. Therefore some instances discussed in this book are explained more in detail in book 1 or 2 of the series. That said I was able to follow along & never felt like I was missing essential information. Although I was familiar with Carmina's history it was a pleasure to get inside Car's head. She's a strong woman & I really loved her & Tom as a couple. I wasn't as fond of Danny & truth be told never warmed up to him. However that didn't detour from my enjoying the story. 3.5 stars
    more
  • namericanwordcat
    July 28, 2017
    3.5 Stars. Contemporary Polygamous Romance are hard for me. I have a lot of trouble suspending my disbelief. A whole series with poly relationships on a Southern Pro Football team just crashes it all to the ground. And that is okay. While I perfer my Poly Romance to be built in a world where I believe in a happily ever after for the lead, I am happy to try to sink into this contemporary built work that pushes the boundaries of socially recognized romantic unions and root for the happy ending. It 3.5 Stars. Contemporary Polygamous Romance are hard for me. I have a lot of trouble suspending my disbelief. A whole series with poly relationships on a Southern Pro Football team just crashes it all to the ground. And that is okay. While I perfer my Poly Romance to be built in a world where I believe in a happily ever after for the lead, I am happy to try to sink into this contemporary built work that pushes the boundaries of socially recognized romantic unions and root for the happy ending. It is hard for a writer to develop fully three romantic leads but Kane does a good job. We get Carmina the injured vet the most clearly, followed by the sweet but in charge Tom and then his best friend Daniel gets the most plot but the least deep character development. I like all of them. I like the plot and journey of each of them. Through there is a lot of drama that I would have liked to seen poured in relationship time instead. It would have made a better book for me without the references to past books and room for more love story and less drama from the past. I haven't read the other books in this series but I will.This is an erotic romance and it burns up the pages. The sex scenes are character based so they are super hot and advance the plot and growth of the character. Again, more relationship time after they committed would have led to a richer book and less of a feeling checking off menage (MMF Style) sex boxes but there is some really compelling sexy times here. So, yeah. Crazy sauce not believable but a sweet don't read in public hot romance with dark touches.I was given this book for my honest review. So. there you have it!
    more
  • Amy ~ Love At 1st Read
    May 20, 2017
    Misconduct, #4 in the Birmingham Rebel series, has all the passion and excitement that I’ve come to love in this series. There’s a healthy balance of romance and plot, and there’s lots of action on and off the field. Tom’s ready for some full touch contact with Danny and Carmina. Danny, hesitant about his feelings, causes a little delay of game. And Carmina, determined to feel like a desirable woman again, is hoping she won’t make an incomplete pass. What you get is another score by author Sama Misconduct, #4 in the Birmingham Rebel series, has all the passion and excitement that I’ve come to love in this series. There’s a healthy balance of romance and plot, and there’s lots of action on and off the field. Tom’s ready for some full touch contact with Danny and Carmina. Danny, hesitant about his feelings, causes a little delay of game. And Carmina, determined to feel like a desirable woman again, is hoping she won’t make an incomplete pass. What you get is another score by author Samantha Kane. Tom Kelly has a wild man reputation on and off the field. He’s pretty carefree about his sexual lifestyle and has tried it all. But he’s tired of the sexual merry go round he’s been on and wants something more, like so many of his teammates have. Especially if it involves sexy Carmina de la Cruz and his best friend Danny Smith. Danny Smith has been known to be as kinky as the rest of the team. He’s Tom’s roommate but they’re best friends too. Tom’s seen him at his worst and knows his deepest secrets. Danny knows Tom is attracted to him but he gave into that kind of temptation once and has no plans to go there again. He’s confused and guilty over what he did and enjoyed. Danny has been attracted to Carmina since the day he met her. But Danny is dealing with a lot of anger and bitterness resulting from his past. He’s not ready to take on a relationship and someone else’s baggage when he has enough of his own. Carmina de la Cruz is an Army veteran suffering from traumatic brain injury sustained during her last tour in Afghanistan. She’s avoided going out and being around people. What guy would want a girl who couldn’t manage a simple sentence without breaking out in a sweat? But she’s tired of the “dry spell” she’s been on for the last 3 years. She’s ready to face her fears and make some changes. When she does think about ending that dry spell, she imagines doing so with Tom Kelly and Danny Smith. Tom seemed so natural when it came to sex. Not awkward at all. And she was the queen of awkward. She’d noticed Danny looking at her with an intensity that unnerved her, but she wasn’t sure if those looks were always directed at her or at Tom. And that thought turned her on. She’d be the luckiest girl ever to have one of these guys. What was she doing thinking of two? It was all so complicated. How could she and Tom work if Tom wanted Danny? And how could they work if she wanted Danny too? A perfect addition to the Birmingham Rebels series. One thing I love about this series is that I get each character’s individual story before I watch them make that journey together to discover that they are just what the other’s need. Carmina was tired of being treated like she was fragile or an invalid. She needed to know how strong she was and she needed someone else to see it. Danny had a hard time accepting his feelings and attraction. It was easier to live in denial than to accept what he wanted. Plus, he was carrying so much anger. He needed to let go of his anger and embrace who he was. Tom was perfect for them both. With Tom, Carmina didn’t have to think through everything she said or did. She could just trust in Tom and give up control. It was like that for Danny too. He’d never felt as vulnerable as he did with Tom and Carmina, but he found a freedom in it he’d never experienced before. Together they learned to trust and let each other in. When love filled their hearts, there was no room for worry and bitterness. I can’t wait to see whose story is next in this series. There are so many possibilities. A Book Obsessed Chicks Review Team Selection
    more
  • Heather
    July 5, 2017
    I enjoyed this book far more than I expected to! I love the depth that the author gave all the characters which is something not always done in these types of books. I felt the attraction Carmina had with both Tom and Danny as well as the closeness that Tom and Danny had for each other. There were a couple sticking points that prevented me from giving this book 5 stars. First, there was no real reaction from anyone on the relationship these three had. No one reacts or even blinks an eye. I wante I enjoyed this book far more than I expected to! I love the depth that the author gave all the characters which is something not always done in these types of books. I felt the attraction Carmina had with both Tom and Danny as well as the closeness that Tom and Danny had for each other. There were a couple sticking points that prevented me from giving this book 5 stars. First, there was no real reaction from anyone on the relationship these three had. No one reacts or even blinks an eye. I wanted Sam's reaction especially given how picky he was about who from the team she should get involved with. But it was as if he disappeared from the story except for a random phone call. Second, there were far too many triad relationships on one football team. I mean, the probably of there being one triad relationship on a football team is rare enough but to have 3? Plus several team members engaging in group sex with members of the same sex? It just seemed unrealistic.That said, I enjoyed reading this story. I appreciated Carmina's back story and the struggles she had as it related to not just TBI but also PTSD. I appreciated the struggle each felt with the attraction they felt for each other especially as it went beyond society's norms.** ARC received from Netgalley **
    more
  • Adrianne
    May 12, 2017
    This book is officially my favourite in the series. It combined plots from all previous storylines, yet still managed to create a standalone story concentrating on the three main characters.This series is a perfect choice for all fans of some good old bookish kinkiness. Even if you are not crazy about ménage, you’ll find yourself rooting for Tom, Danny and Carmina, as right from the start they seem perfect for each other. Each of them has got a past they need to deal with, and desires, which the This book is officially my favourite in the series. It combined plots from all previous storylines, yet still managed to create a standalone story concentrating on the three main characters.This series is a perfect choice for all fans of some good old bookish kinkiness. Even if you are not crazy about ménage, you’ll find yourself rooting for Tom, Danny and Carmina, as right from the start they seem perfect for each other. Each of them has got a past they need to deal with, and desires, which they never knew existed before they met each other. Their friendship quickly evolves into something more, even if not all three of them are ready to face it.You know when you just groan in frustration, cos all you want to do is beat some sense into the main characters and tell them to open their eyes! That’s how I felt at some point. Thank god for Tom and his easy-going nature, cos without him, this book would be twice as long. All I can suggest, is hang in there. It will take a lot of convincing, some hot kinky love-making and even more drama to get these three to work together, but once they do... oh boy.It was great to find out what other characters have been up to, and how their unconventional relationships changed their lives.
    more
  • Lenore Kosinski
    July 23, 2017
    https://celebrityreaders.wordpress.co...3.5 stars -- I received a free copy through NetGalley in exchange for an honest and unbiased review/opinion.*heavy sigh*  So, I enjoyed this book.  I enjoyed it more than the previous book in the series (and I've only read books 3 and 4, not the first 2).  I came out at the end of it entertained, I thought the character development was pretty good, and I thought the steamy scenes were deliciously...well...steamy.  I even initially pegged this one as a 4 st https://celebrityreaders.wordpress.co...3.5 stars -- I received a free copy through NetGalley in exchange for an honest and unbiased review/opinion.*heavy sigh*  So, I enjoyed this book.  I enjoyed it more than the previous book in the series (and I've only read books 3 and 4, not the first 2).  I came out at the end of it entertained, I thought the character development was pretty good, and I thought the steamy scenes were deliciously...well...steamy.  I even initially pegged this one as a 4 star for me.  And I'm going to round up, b/c I'm trying to keep true to *my* personal feelings at the end of it.I thought all the characters had something to offer, and I particularly liked the goofiness and just, well, like-ability of Tom.  Like seriously, I really loved him, and his humour, and he was just so adorable.  And I loved the way he pushed both Danny and Carmina, recognizing what he wanted was a relationship with both of them (all three of them together), and after recognizing interest from both of them, I enjoyed how he pushed them out of their comfort zones to get them to that place together.I thought Carmina's storyline was interesting, particularly since I didn't see her past with Richie coming.  I had been looking forward to learning more about her brain injury, b/c she fascinated me in the previous book, and I was a bit bummed that besides putting herself down about it, we didn't really get as much out of that as I'd wanted.  But I did like seeing her grow more confident, and I appreciated a glimpse into some of the challenges that she faces (particularly in trying to reenter the workforce, and dealing with well-meaning friends/family).I thought Danny was probably the one I learned the least about, and probably had a few reservations about.  He came across kind of homophobic (even though he ended up being bisexual), and while I understood his hangups about his sexual preferences in light of his past with Marian, I still had a hard time with it...I always have a hard time reading about characters that feel ashamed of what they like, even though I think it's a valid storyline b/c I'm sure many people go through this.  I'm not sure how much I liked the scene between Tom and Danny in the hotel room, particularly consent-wise, but I let it pass...and I'm not sure what that says about me.And here's where the sigh comes in.  I decided to glance at other reviews of the book.  And I realized that, as a white woman, I didn't see a lot of things surrounding the race of Danny and Carmina that others might.  I subscribe to the philosophy that everyone's a little bit racist, and I was bummed that I had yet again failed to see the far reaching consequences of some of the elements in the story.  Also, while I am trying to be more conscious of slut-shaming, consent, and all the other little sexual tidbits that crop up in books, I tend to forget about them in eroticas sometimes...is it suspension of disbelief?  I don't know.  So I guess what I'm trying to say is that while reading other critical reviews, I could see some of the points that they were making, but they hadn't bothered me while reading, and so I'm going to maintain my rating, b/c it's how I felt and I'm reviewing my personal experience.  But if you are sensitive to these issues, then you might want to read some other reviews to help you make a better decision.  And hopefully you won't judge me too much.Anyways, I do want to say that I did enjoy how the football game against the Rough Riders went at the end there.  I was proud of all the boys for growing and learning and eventually helping each other to do the right thing in such a hard situation.So yeah.  There you go.  I enjoyed the book.  *shrugs*  I guess I just don't think as hard as other readers, especially when it comes to eroticas.  And here I was excited that we got so much diversity in this story.  Whatcha gonna do?  Learn and grow I suppose.
    more
  • Erica Chilson
    June 16, 2017
    I received a copy of this title to read and review for Wicked Reads 4 Steamy stars. I haven't read Samantha Kane for the better part of a decade, only having read the first in the Brothers In Arms series. I decided to read this on a whim, even knowing it's the 4th in a series. While I did struggle during the first few chapters, due to name-dropping and rehashing previous plot points, once I got a feel for the characters, I was able to read Misconduct as a standalone. However, I will be going bac I received a copy of this title to read and review for Wicked Reads 4 Steamy stars. I haven't read Samantha Kane for the better part of a decade, only having read the first in the Brothers In Arms series. I decided to read this on a whim, even knowing it's the 4th in a series. While I did struggle during the first few chapters, due to name-dropping and rehashing previous plot points, once I got a feel for the characters, I was able to read Misconduct as a standalone. However, I will be going back to the first of the series and reading onward, and I suggest doing the same. While it wasn't difficult as a standalone, I do believe the emotional punch would be stronger if read as a series instead. Carmina, I related with the woman. She is a very deep character, suffering from trauma via IED, with only Sam and her surviving the attack. She's grieving the loss of her fellow soldiers, making strides during therapy, all the while silently mourning the loss of a potential partner. The insecurity, the feeling of her body not functioning as it should, leaves her feeling less than sexy, to the point it's impossible to climax. Carmina is sweet, strong, and caring, a good friend and a giving lover/partner. Tom is the boy-next-door, who I assume in previous books looks a bit like a player/cad/tomcat. The bisexual man from the Midwest is exploring his newfound nature with great zeal. He's a sweetie, caring and giving, exactly the softer nature Carmina needs at first. But he's young, just now coming into his confidence. Danny has issues, which I assume were explored in previous titles in the series. This book hits on the highlights, so it was without confusion, however it made for less of an emotional punch. More of a retelling, vs an in-the-now emotional response. He's a strong character, just like Carmina, but he gets in his own way. Without giving away plot points, the three of them come together, while unconventional, it works for all of them, drawing out what was always beneath the surface. Tom gains a rush of confidence, finally developing into the strong man he was always meant to become. He's the rock, the connector of the triad. The solid, stable one whose worth is tied to giving, taking care of those he loves, and being in control. Tom is the partner, best friend, and lover both Danny and Carmina need. Misconduct was the perfect escape from everyday life, giving a few stolen hours of steaminess, while opening the eyes of the reader to new experiences and ways of life. Nothing felt forced or instantaneous (other than lust), the evolution fluid, humorous, and sensual. While this is most certainly erotic material, there is definitely a lot of emotions and character development on the pages. After struggling in the beginning, I'm glad I continued on, and I look forward to starting the series from the beginning, seeing the evolution and journey of these characters and those who were name-dropped. Highly recommend for fans of menage.
    more
  • Sheila Melo
    July 25, 2017
    FINAL DECISION:  This was an enjoyable story and one that was well balanced in the relationship between the three characters.  Both the connection between them in pairs and as a menage worked here.THE STORY:  Running back Tom Kelly wants a committed three way relationship (and there are several in the Birmingham Rebels organization). Carmina de la Cruz is the woman Tom would like to have as part of the relationship.  Carmina is an Army vet trying to recover from a tour in Afghanistan that result FINAL DECISION:  This was an enjoyable story and one that was well balanced in the relationship between the three characters.  Both the connection between them in pairs and as a menage worked here.THE STORY:  Running back Tom Kelly wants a committed three way relationship (and there are several in the Birmingham Rebels organization). Carmina de la Cruz is the woman Tom would like to have as part of the relationship.  Carmina is an Army vet trying to recover from a tour in Afghanistan that resulted in a traumatic brain injury. Tom's interest helps Carmina feel desired again, but she also has an interest in Tom's teammate and friend Danny Smith.  Danny knows that the Rebels have a certain reputation, but he has no interest in pursuing a threesome relationship after being burned before.  But Tom and Carmina are awfully tempting.OPINION:  This was an interesting story and not just an erotic sex fest.  Tom, Carmina and Danny are three different people -- each with a different issue to work out.  Of the three, Tom is the one who is the most well adjusted and is the hinge that makes the relationship work.  He is the youngest of the three and has just discovered his bisexuality and has been enjoying exploring his sexuality.Danny is a man who has been haunted by his actions in relation to his friend and allowing his own career to take precedence over an attempted sexual assault upon her. He believes himself unworthy of happiness and thinks about revenge instead. He is also a man who is struggling against his potential bisexuality.  He has a darker past and struggles more against the menage relationship.Carmina is a strong woman who is struggling against both her physical and emotional injuries. Her inability to find sexual satisfaction after her accident is part of the catalyst for the relationship.I liked how these three work through their issues and also need to figure out if and how a relationship can work between them. It's nice that they don't take it for granted that things will work out between them.  There are also issues of jealousy and uncertainty that are raised which seem natural.I also really enjoyed that this book came full circle from the first in the series by resolving the lingering issues and helping close Danny's issues surrounding the events. I'm not sure whether there will be other books in the series, but this book could be a nice concluding story.WORTH MENTIONING:  This is a menage story featuring three people working toward a long term relationship.CONNECTED BOOKS:  MISCONDUCT is the fourth book in the Birmingham Rebels series.  This book can be read as a standalone but it is connected with BROKEN PLAY and tells a connecting story to the heroine's past there.STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.NOTE:  I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review.  I was not required to write a review or write a positive review.  All opinions contained herein are my own.This review was originally posted on Top10RomanceBooks.com
    more
  • Stephanie
    May 23, 2017
    So I know I say this with nearly every Samantha Kane book but it is because they are all soooo good, and absolutely delicious. So I am going to continue with the trend, this is one of my favorite books by this author. I absolutely loved how many "broken" people came together in this story and how they helped each other to realize that just because they may be different from others it does not mean that they are broken to the world. Carmina De La Cruz has TBI because of a bomb that blew up her sq So I know I say this with nearly every Samantha Kane book but it is because they are all soooo good, and absolutely delicious. So I am going to continue with the trend, this is one of my favorite books by this author. I absolutely loved how many "broken" people came together in this story and how they helped each other to realize that just because they may be different from others it does not mean that they are broken to the world. Carmina De La Cruz has TBI because of a bomb that blew up her squad while she was in the army. Carmina and Sam have relied on each other for so long after the explosion that rocked them both emotionally and physically and now that Sam has a relationship with King and Jane Carmina is a little jealous. Okay a lot jealous, after all a girl has needs and after not having an orgasm in 3 years she is getting a bit desperate and seeing them have so much..... fun... she is left wanting. She is ready to get back out there and her friend Tom may just be the one to do it, after all he does not deal in anything past a one night stand and that is all she wants. Tom Kelly has been a major play boy now that he knows he is Bi, he is making up for all those loss years where he was only with one women. To bad now that he is getting tired of the game. He thinks he may have found the one when his crush Carmina is paying attention to him as more than a friend to bad she doesn't want a relationship she just wants an orgasm. But Tom will not give up when it comes to making her see that he can make them work. Even after finding out what happened between Carmina and Danny. Danny Smith ( my personal favorite out of the book) is a bit broken himself. Although he may not be diagnosed like Carmina he knows he is more messed up. Danny is filled with rage and he knows he will not be good enough for Carmina unless he can get rid of the rage. Even if he was ready to take her on there is no way he is ready for Tom after all Danny is completely straight. Except for that one summer, but he doesn't talk about that. This was a phenomenal read that I could not put down. I ended up staying up until 4 in the morning reading it. There was some bondage play, but it was mainly just being held down and there was some alpha play going on. These characters switched up drastically when it came time for bedroom play and I think that is why I ended up loving them so much. The books in this series can be read as standalones but I think that the series as a whole is better when you read them in order to because you are able to see the characters come together and how they grow throughout the series past the books that they stared in. I can not wait for the next book in the series and I can not wait to read what Ms Kane has in store for us next. ~A Book Obsessed Chicks Review Team Selection
    more
  • Deborah Perry
    July 21, 2017
    Misconduct is book four in the Birmingham Rebels saga by Samantha Kane.  I have read this series from the beginning and loved every book! These guys are a wild bunch of football madness and their sexcapades are just as crazy! Danny was first introduced in book one as Coach Marion's best friends. Deep scars run from something that happened in his youth. Now he is rooming with Tom, who's also a fellow Rebel football player, and best friend. He knows Tom would like more than friendship but he keeps Misconduct is book four in the Birmingham Rebels saga by Samantha Kane.  I have read this series from the beginning and loved every book! These guys are a wild bunch of football madness and their sexcapades are just as crazy! Danny was first introduced in book one as Coach Marion's best friends. Deep scars run from something that happened in his youth. Now he is rooming with Tom, who's also a fellow Rebel football player, and best friend. He knows Tom would like more than friendship but he keeps his guard up. Plus he's sweet on Carmina, but he chooses to leave that alone too. Carmina has her own problems to conquer and she doesn't need to deal with his baggage as well as her own.Carmina suffered a head injury while serving in Afghanistan.  She moved to Birmingham to be close to her best friend, Sam, who served with her and plays ball for the Rebels. Though no real physical wounds to see, she suffers from PTSD, gets overwhelmed easily, and frequently mixes up her words.  She noticed Danny and Tom and she sees an attraction.  Can she really be attracted to both men? Tom is bisexual and is having a bit of a hard time.  He really just wants to settle down in a relationship.  He's fallen for Danny, but doesn't broach the subject with him. He's also drawn to Carmina, He's also seen Danny looking at her too?  Maybe he could somehow bring them all together?? I really liked Tom.  Both Danny and Carmina have some serious issues to work through.  It seems Tom was the one that could help heal them.  He truly cares for them and just somehow is the right one there to help. He's a super guy, and seems to be very patient too.This book is one that is much more in depth than others in terms of working through tough issues. They are real and palatable.  I felt so bad that these two had endured the kinds of pain they did. Then they are still carrying around their version of it ever since. Plus we get the pressure of playing football and some drama that could have serious impact on what they have started.Above all, Tom ended up being the beacon that both Danny and Carmina needs to move on.  They needed to confront their guilt and anger and allow themselves to actually live. Tom guides them through the fog.  Plus the threesomes are sizzling!!  Talk about melt your kindle! Woo hoo!  Have fun with this one! Let's see which Rebel Samantha Kane writes about next!!4 Stars/4 FlamesThis book was gifted to me for an honest review.  The ratings and review are solely my opinions.
    more
  • Rosa Sharon (iScream Books Blog)
    July 22, 2017
    "You couldn't have room for love when bitterness filled your heart." Misconduct was my first read by author Samantha Kane. I was intrigued by the synopsis, and the cover, and decided to give it a try. I really enjoyed the author's writing style. The story pulled me in and I found myself drawn to the characters. I can't resist a broken character, and this story has two. It's always inspiring to read about situations where life kicks you in the ass and you find your way back to happiness in spite "You couldn't have room for love when bitterness filled your heart." Misconduct was my first read by author Samantha Kane. I was intrigued by the synopsis, and the cover, and decided to give it a try. I really enjoyed the author's writing style. The story pulled me in and I found myself drawn to the characters. I can't resist a broken character, and this story has two. It's always inspiring to read about situations where life kicks you in the ass and you find your way back to happiness in spite of it.Carmina is struggling to work her way back to health and happiness after a traumatic experience in Afghanistan. She's finally feeling more comfortable with her progress and decides to venture outside again. She'd been closing herself off, trying to heal and feel comfortable talking again. Nobody knows about her secret fantasies featuring a couple of the players on her best friend's football team. She sees them when she goes to the stadium to see her friend, but she tends to keep quiet. Not wanting to risk getting tongue tied in front of them. But she can't help drooling over them.Tom noticed Carmina immediately. She's got everything that he finds attractive in a woman, and he wants to get to know her. But he can tell she's shy. And, he doesn't want to push since she's like his team mate's sister. She and Sam were in Afghanistan together and they have a special connection that makes him very protective of her. He might not have ever reached out to her if he hadn't seen her heading for another man on the team. Nope, if she was ready for that, then it should be him. His jealousy surprised him because he had been playing both sides of the field and had never felt a desire for more than fun. Well, at least not that he admitted to. There was someone he had feelings for, but that was a dead end. At least he thought so. Until he saw that Danny was interested in Carmina too. Tom and Danny were best friends and roommates. When they realized they were both interested in Carmina, things got interesting. Would they both fight for her, or would they both let her go? Was there a way for them all to get what they wanted?Danny is running from his past. He's got anger issues and has no interest in a relationship with anyone. Tom is his best friend and he doesn't want to do anything to risk that. If he had ever thought of him in a sexual way, he doesn't admit it to himself or anyone else. And when he thinks of Carmina, he wants her. But he knows that he's not relationship material. He encourages Tom to pursue her. Again, he denies what he wants. He wants both of them. I read Misconduct as a standalone, but I don't feel like it detracted from my enjoyment of the story. I did meet lots of other characters and team members that I'm sure had very interesting stories too. I wouldn't mind going back to read those to get some further detail about how they ended up where they are now. I'm not sure if this is the final book in the series or not, but if not, I'd for sure be up for more. The line forms here...
    more
  • Ruthie Taylor
    July 23, 2017
    ~~I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads ~~4.5*s of sinful sexiness!This is the fourth book in the series, and I would highly recommend that you read them in order. This installment has a number of references to previous events which have an impact on the story line. That said this is a cracking read in its own right. The Rebels are a team where non-standard relationships are the norm. This makes for some loosening of the usual boundaries, but doesn't mean that n ~~I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads ~~4.5*s of sinful sexiness!This is the fourth book in the series, and I would highly recommend that you read them in order. This installment has a number of references to previous events which have an impact on the story line. That said this is a cracking read in its own right. The Rebels are a team where non-standard relationships are the norm. This makes for some loosening of the usual boundaries, but doesn't mean that normal is frowned upon either. Danny is a man who kept quiet about something and has felt guilty ever since. He is also a man who discovered that he liked being held down by another man whilst with a woman. Neither of these things sit right with him, and for me, the resolution of these issues were a huge part of the story. Sure Carmen is fighting to regain herself after her brain injury, but she is much more attuned with herself, and her desires than Danny is. Tom, on the other hand is very clear about what he wants and will do anything to achieve it ... I loved every bit of this book - it had a really good element of sport in it and the issues that the players face in one game in particular. It reminds us of previous relationships and how they continue to thrive, and it gives us three individuals who together can be more for each other than apart. Thank you Ms Kane.
    more
  • Amazeballs Book Addicts
    July 7, 2017
    Misconduct is book four in the Birmingham Rebels series. It can be read as a standalone. Each book focuses on a different group. This one is Tom, Danny, and Carmina story. Danny and Tom are football players. Carmina is best friend's with Sam (who is also a football player). Carmina is struggling after a traumatic tour in Afghanistan. She's suffered a brain injury. She has her struggles but she's rebuilding her life. She's a really likable character. Tom is a sexy football player. He has no probl Misconduct is book four in the Birmingham Rebels series. It can be read as a standalone. Each book focuses on a different group. This one is Tom, Danny, and Carmina story. Danny and Tom are football players. Carmina is best friend's with Sam (who is also a football player). Carmina is struggling after a traumatic tour in Afghanistan. She's suffered a brain injury. She has her struggles but she's rebuilding her life. She's a really likable character. Tom is a sexy football player. He has no problem finding men or women to hook up with. He likes Carmina. He's nice and sweet with her. Danny struggles with what he wants sexually. He also struggles with his past too. Danny did some things that surprised me a bit. I wasn't sure where his head was at sometimes. I was rooting for all of them to get on the same page. I really liked this one.
    more
  • Sarah
    July 18, 2017
    4.5 stars - I was given a copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. Carmina’s story was everything I’d hoped for. After surviving a traumatic brain injury in Afghanistan, the Army vet is struggling with PTSD and slowly regaining her speech. In book three, she was Sam’s army friend but here she makes a fabulous leading lady. As with all the lucky ladies in this series, Carmina has two professional football players eager to help her get her confidence back. Danny and Tom aren’t quite 4.5 stars - I was given a copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. Carmina’s story was everything I’d hoped for. After surviving a traumatic brain injury in Afghanistan, the Army vet is struggling with PTSD and slowly regaining her speech. In book three, she was Sam’s army friend but here she makes a fabulous leading lady. As with all the lucky ladies in this series, Carmina has two professional football players eager to help her get her confidence back. Danny and Tom aren’t quite as interesting as Carmina. This series has a formula and by the fourth book it is pretty set. Danny and Tom are teammates and best friends but both would secretly like more. Danny is bi-curious but a bit nervous, Tom is more adventurous but afraid of scaring off his best friend. It may be a formula but it works and the chemistry between these three is very hot. This isn’t a complicated story but it is very sexy and the characters are engaging and likeable. These three add a little bit of kink into their play which is also fun. This story is probably more erotica than romance but it is well written and I did enjoy watching Carmina regain her confidence and Danny become comfortable with his sexuality.
    more
  • Tami
    June 10, 2017
    3.5Good ménage. Poly amorous relationships abound on this football team. Reading the past books in this series is encouraged, but I enjoyed this one the most.This review is based on the ARC provided by the author and/or the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Elizabeth
    July 21, 2017
    3.5 starsI think this may be my favorite of the Rebels series. Technically, this is a stand alone, but a lot of the character development takes place in the books that come before. If you are new to the Rebels books, this is an issue you should consider before diving in. Like the previous books in the series, Ms Kane packs Misconduct with plenty of racy sexy time, but it's not the core issue that it has been previously. The budding Tom-Danny-Carmina relationship definitely has more of an emotion 3.5 starsI think this may be my favorite of the Rebels series. Technically, this is a stand alone, but a lot of the character development takes place in the books that come before. If you are new to the Rebels books, this is an issue you should consider before diving in. Like the previous books in the series, Ms Kane packs Misconduct with plenty of racy sexy time, but it's not the core issue that it has been previously. The budding Tom-Danny-Carmina relationship definitely has more of an emotional component than we've seen in the series before. If you have been following the series from the beginning, you will get to see early friends make an appearance as this book seems to encompass at least a portion of all the couples we've met to date. This also touches on the difficulties that returning veterans can face, this is handled in a way that shows Carmina's strength, but also the vulnerability of her character. This is a must read for Rebels fans!
    more
  • Mary
    July 12, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. This book takes Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) and its associated issues and puts it front and center of this story. Don’t get me wrong, the romance is to die for, but the story within the story is what sets this book apart.Carmina just wants to be normal, or as normal as she can be. Her TBI affects her speech as well as emotions. Luckily she has a service dog that senses when she becomes overwhelmed. What she wants more than I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. This book takes Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) and its associated issues and puts it front and center of this story. Don’t get me wrong, the romance is to die for, but the story within the story is what sets this book apart.Carmina just wants to be normal, or as normal as she can be. Her TBI affects her speech as well as emotions. Luckily she has a service dog that senses when she becomes overwhelmed. What she wants more than anything is have someone, someone to lean on, to be a part of something larger than herself. Carmina likes Tom, he’s sweet and kind. Damian on the other hand, is strong and a bit aloof. Tom wants Carmina, she sees him for him not just the football player and current man about town. Tom also wants Damian but he knows that with Damian’s issues, that is one man he may never have.Damian is conflicted. How can he want something so much yet be repulsed at the same time? He wants the domination, the feeling of helplessness that being restrained would give him, but all he sees is the image of his best friend being assaulted.Carmina, Tom and Damian must trust each other to build a life that their issues can’t overcome.~~Wicked Reads Review Team~~
    more
  • Elaine
    June 10, 2017
    Title: MisconductAuthor: Samantha KaneSeries: Birmingham Rebels, #4Pages: 288Publisher: LovesweptDate: July 25, 2017Summary:Rookie running back Tom Kelly loves the perks of football stardom. Men, women—there’s no shortage of companionship for a pro athlete who’s hot, young, and willing, and Tom is definitely willing. But deep down he wants a committed three-way relationship, especially if the female in the middle is Carmina de la Cruz. The undeniably sexy Army veteran may not say much, but her b Title: MisconductAuthor: Samantha KaneSeries: Birmingham Rebels, #4Pages: 288Publisher: LovesweptDate: July 25, 2017Summary:Rookie running back Tom Kelly loves the perks of football stardom. Men, women—there’s no shortage of companionship for a pro athlete who’s hot, young, and willing, and Tom is definitely willing. But deep down he wants a committed three-way relationship, especially if the female in the middle is Carmina de la Cruz. The undeniably sexy Army veteran may not say much, but her body speaks loud and clear.After a traumatic tour in Afghanistan, Carmina is struggling to regain her speech and rebuild her life. More than anything, she wants to feel like a woman again. Tom may be a wholesome All-American, but he knows just how she needs to be touched—and he’s not the only Rebel who arouses her interest. With his scorching intensity, Tom’s best friend leaves her wondering if two players might be better than one.Danny Smith is no stranger to his team’s kinky reputation. He gave in to temptation once, but he’s not going down that road again. Sure, Carmina’s curves promise pleasure, but her eyes guarantee it comes with baggage—and Danny has enough of his own. Still, giving up control can feel so good. And when it comes to everything Danny craves, Carmina and Tom make the perfect team. Review:Although I am a big Samantha Kane fan (Brothers in Arms is the GREATEST!), I never expected to like the Birmingham Rebels series. I don’t like team sports, and I especially don’t like football, but these books are wonderful. And that says something . . . if I enjoy books that take place in a setting that I have no interest in, they must be good.This one, which is book four, is no exception. Samantha Kane’s books have a continuing storyline, but there are no cliffhangers. It’s just that situations from previous books come up again and the team members and their mates show up as well. This entire series is like a story of an extended family. Obviously, it would be best to read them in order.Anyway, Tom is the All-American-Boy who everybody loves. Carmina is recovering from injuries she received as a soldier in Afghanistan and is very self-conscious about the disability she is striving to overcome. Danny is angry. That is the best way to describe him. He has good reasons, but he has let his anger control everything in his life.And that’s why this is a four star and not a five star book. Tom is great, but Carmina and Danny are still too focussed on the past. Carmina considers herself broken and in need of fixing. Those are her words. She keeps poking herself in the head when she talks about her problems. Danny needs to get over the past. Yes, something terrible happened, but get over it and move on.Of course, most of this works out at the end, and a wonderful thing about Samantha Kane’s books is that everything isn’t tied up in a beautiful bow. Life is not perfect. However, her characters are willing to work to make things as good as they can be.This book was sent to me by NetGalley in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Tabatha
    June 9, 2017
    I always knew Carmina de la Cruz was going to be an emotional character for me to read just from her introduction in the previous book. And although I will say that it was emotional, Samantha Kane did a fantastic job seamlessly weaving her past in with her present. She also highlighted what it was like to be a combat veteran in a way that I haven't read before, and I applaud her for doing this so well without losing sight of the romance elements. That takes talent and it's something that I've co I always knew Carmina de la Cruz was going to be an emotional character for me to read just from her introduction in the previous book. And although I will say that it was emotional, Samantha Kane did a fantastic job seamlessly weaving her past in with her present. She also highlighted what it was like to be a combat veteran in a way that I haven't read before, and I applaud her for doing this so well without losing sight of the romance elements. That takes talent and it's something that I've come to love about Kane's writing.So I was surprised by some of the events in this book, but I was so proud of Carmina going after what she wanted after struggling for so long. And Tom...oh Tom is just such a sweetheart of a guy and I just wanted to hug that man for all of his sensitivity to not only Carmina, but also Danny as well. I will admit that I thought he and Carmina were a perfect couple, but I did feel that Danny was a bit forced into the situation and didn't quite fit in right after that shower scene. Thankfully that feeling quickly dissipated though towards the end of the book, and these three characters really worked well for me as a menage relationship because they balanced one another so well. This series from Kane has been exactly as I have expected from her writing. It has a perfect balance of emotion, action, romance, and steam that you just can't help but love it. I will caution that you should read the series in order and that this book is better read along with the others. Not that it detracts from the book to read it alone, but more so you will understand the characters a bit more. So with all that said, this is a definite read for all those football loving menage readers out there.*I received a review copy from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*For this and more of my reviews, check out my blog Blending Perspectives Book Reviews
    more
Write a review