Race Against Time
Sometimes fate brings you together...only to tear you apart Growing up in the foster system, Quinn O'Meara made a point of never getting involved. But when she discovers a crying baby amid a fiery crime scene, she knows she has no choice. Suddenly in way over her head, Quinn turns to the police, unintentionally positioning herself in the crosshairs of a deadly human-trafficking ring.The last time homicide detective Nick Saldano saw Quinn, she was still the young girl he'd shared a foster home with. The girl who'd loved and cared for him when no one else had. Now here she was, gorgeously all grown-up--and in terrible danger.Unwilling to lose her again, Nick insists on keeping Quinn close, especially when the bond they once shared heatedly slides into desire. Quinn finally has someone worth holding on to, but what kind of future can they have when she might not live to see tomorrow?

Race Against Time Details

TitleRace Against Time
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherMira Books
ISBN0778319970
ISBN-139780778319979
Rating
GenreSuspense, Romance, Romantic Suspense, Fiction, Contemporary

Race Against Time Review

  • Betul
    April 1, 2017
    **ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review**"Finding you again feels like an apology from the Universe for separating us the first time."This book started out really strong, I was really excited for all the action and suspense. I enjoyed the first half of the book more than I did the second. I was looking forward to seeing how two kids who shared a foster home would reconnect again. I liked Nick and Quinn's personalities a lot, I especially loved when they realized they knew ea **ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review**"Finding you again feels like an apology from the Universe for separating us the first time."This book started out really strong, I was really excited for all the action and suspense. I enjoyed the first half of the book more than I did the second. I was looking forward to seeing how two kids who shared a foster home would reconnect again. I liked Nick and Quinn's personalities a lot, I especially loved when they realized they knew each other. Nick is protective and sweet. Quinn is independent and always been on her own. Nobody but Nick had her back, and when they were reunited she finally had someone who cared about her again. This book is told from multiple POVs and it worked pretty well in my opinion. There were a couple of subplots that were important to the story, and it flowed well with the main plot. The suspense was done really well, and it was unpredictable so that was a huge plus for me. I really loved the ladies in this book, they were very strong and brave and took action in very difficult times. However there were a couple of things that didn't add up:At 29% the main character Nicks mentions that his aunt and uncle who adopted him have four kids including him (so that is three kids). At 85% there are only two kids left. The same goes for the grandkids, at 29% there are four of them and at 85% NONE. As for Quinn, something very traumatic happened to her which still affects her to this day, however the thing that freaked her out (BIG TIME), doesn't really bother her a day or two later. As a reader these things stand out, and makes it harder for us to fully connect with the characters. I am not a nitpicky reader at all, especially with ARCs, however I assume authors to have gone through their books a couple of times when they are writing it. I hope these things will be corrected before the book is released. Also Nick and Quinn's relationship developed very fast, and came across as a bit unbelievable.
    more
  • Lisa Richards
    May 22, 2017
    I thought this book started out with a bang but the last half of it seemed to drag some. There were a couple of inconsistencies that kind of bothered me but the whole human trafficking aspect of it was heart breaking and so sad that it almost had me in tears. I'm generally not a fan of a book that is from different POVs but it definitely worked here. There is a lot of suspense and I found myself gripping my Kindle for dear life on numerous occasions. I loved the romance between Quinn and Nick an I thought this book started out with a bang but the last half of it seemed to drag some. There were a couple of inconsistencies that kind of bothered me but the whole human trafficking aspect of it was heart breaking and so sad that it almost had me in tears. I'm generally not a fan of a book that is from different POVs but it definitely worked here. There is a lot of suspense and I found myself gripping my Kindle for dear life on numerous occasions. I loved the romance between Quinn and Nick and thought the mixture of romance and suspense to be a great balance. Quinn was the kick-ass person every woman wants to be.
    more
  • Jess Schira
    July 1, 2017
    It’s been a few years since I’ve read anything by Sharon Sala, but I remember loving them. I’m particularly fond of Shades of Desperado. So, Race Against Tim popped up on one of Amazon’s recommended upcoming release lists, I decided to give it a whirl.The good news is that the tight plot and engaging characters kept me turning pages and I finished the book in just a little over 12 hours. The down side was that while the author is clearly trying to find the balance between both romance and suspen It’s been a few years since I’ve read anything by Sharon Sala, but I remember loving them. I’m particularly fond of Shades of Desperado. So, Race Against Tim popped up on one of Amazon’s recommended upcoming release lists, I decided to give it a whirl.The good news is that the tight plot and engaging characters kept me turning pages and I finished the book in just a little over 12 hours. The down side was that while the author is clearly trying to find the balance between both romance and suspense, she didn’t quite hit the mark in either case, at least not for me. There wasn’t quite enough relationship growth to sell the romance and the suspense involved a bit too much of the Feds tripping over themselves.An interesting read, perfect for a long, rainy afternoon, but not one that will land on my keeper shelf. Still, I must remember to check out some of Sala’s recent work and see if those hit a better note with me.
    more
  • Bec
    May 28, 2017
    Quinn O'Meara finds it hard to trust people after experiencing tough times while growing up in the foster system. However, the moment she comes upon a fiery car crash, and finds a crying baby, she's determined to get the baby to safety. Except she never imagined she'd find herself hunted by a bad man involved in human trafficking. Luckily, her long-lost friend, Detective Nick Saldano, is determined to protect her at all costs. Will Nick be able to win Quinn over, so they can have a second chance Quinn O'Meara finds it hard to trust people after experiencing tough times while growing up in the foster system. However, the moment she comes upon a fiery car crash, and finds a crying baby, she's determined to get the baby to safety. Except she never imagined she'd find herself hunted by a bad man involved in human trafficking. Luckily, her long-lost friend, Detective Nick Saldano, is determined to protect her at all costs. Will Nick be able to win Quinn over, so they can have a second chance at happy ever after?What a wild ride Ms. Sala takes readers on this story, which encompasses several characters points-of-view in both the good guys and the bad guys, the second chance romance trope, plot twists that will leave readers determined to discover what else happens and a prologue that will have readers hooked from the very beginning. The way this story started had me feeling sorry for the victims of the human trafficking ring, as the treatment was rough and horrible. How can people be so cruel?As for the dialogue, it was powerful, emotional and takes readers on a thrilling journey into the devastation human trafficking rings create for loved ones of kidnapped victims, the hope that a family will be reunited with said loved ones, how far the bad guys are willing to go to escape capture and what the cops are willing to do to protect witnesses and take down the bad guys. Moreover, the dialogue was also intense due to the main characters back stories, especially that of the heroine. She had it rough growing up, and I could understand why she finds it hard to trust people. Although, Nick is completely different, because of the tight bond they shared years ago. I also liked how strong and brave she was, as it shows she's a fighter who has managed to survive all she's suffered during her time in the foster system.While Nick, I loved him. He's strong, smart, protective and I liked how determined he was to win the heroine over to make her realize that she doesn't have to keep running from her past. I also liked the tight bond he shared with his relatives, as it showed he had a good life; a life filled with love and laughter after he and the heroine were separated when they were younger. Luckily, there's a lot of love to go around and that Nick's family was so accepting of Quinn.Overall, Ms. Sala has penned a really good read in this romantic suspense where the chemistry was strong and palpable and revealed how right these two are for each other. The way this story ended had me on the edge-of-my-seat due to the danger the main characters face. Will they get the head bad guy that is determined to rob Quinn of her life? Will Nick be able to protect Quinn? Moreover, I liked how Quinn handles herself, as it proves she's determined to see justice served. However, it was the epilogue that wrapped everything up nicely, as we discover how far Nick and Quinn have come in their relationship and what happened to the bad guy. I would recommend Race Against Time by Sharon Sala, if you enjoy romantic suspense, second chance romances, the sexy protector trope or books by authors Alison Brennan, Karen Rose, Melinda Leigh or Pamela Clare.
    more
  • Mary
    June 11, 2017
    3.5 stars - Race Against Time is a stand-alone romantic suspense novel that kept me on the edge of my seat as the story progressed. It started out very fast and kept that pace for most of the book.The seedy underbelly of Las Vegas is explored in the world of Anton Baba, a casino kingpin with his hand in assorted related ventures (not the least being human trafficking). When Baba decides to make some changes his world begins to collapse in ways he’d never imagined. He won’t rest until he takes do 3.5 stars - Race Against Time is a stand-alone romantic suspense novel that kept me on the edge of my seat as the story progressed. It started out very fast and kept that pace for most of the book.The seedy underbelly of Las Vegas is explored in the world of Anton Baba, a casino kingpin with his hand in assorted related ventures (not the least being human trafficking). When Baba decides to make some changes his world begins to collapse in ways he’d never imagined. He won’t rest until he takes down the people responsible.Race Against Time is a story of good vs. evil. It was easy to cheer on Nick and Quinn as they courageously stood up against Anton Baba. They knew it would be worth any chance to bring down that evil man instead of having to run and hide for the rest of their lives. They have a past and are brought back together in a wild coincidence – one that I decided just to go along with and enjoy wherever Sharon Sala’s story took me. It’s a very fast read and one I’d recommend to fans of romantic suspense and the author. *I received a copy from the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for my unbiased review.
    more
  • Anita
    April 4, 2017
    Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) provided by the Author and Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an fair and honest review.First off I want to say that I do not like romantic-suspense books centered around human trafficking, it is nothing less than slavery and unless and until everyone views it that way it will continue to exist unimpeded. I chose this book from NetGalley because I really like the author, Sharon Sala. I especially like her books featuring the Appalachian part of the county. This se Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) provided by the Author and Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an fair and honest review.First off I want to say that I do not like romantic-suspense books centered around human trafficking, it is nothing less than slavery and unless and until everyone views it that way it will continue to exist unimpeded. I chose this book from NetGalley because I really like the author, Sharon Sala. I especially like her books featuring the Appalachian part of the county. This setting in Las Vegas, NV seems a bit off for her. She can write a location so it almost seems like another character. That aspect isn't present here. In this story we really have four main characters but the plot doesn't start on the night their lives all intersect in a fiery crash in the desert outside Las Vegas, NV. It starts seven years earlier when a 17 year old girl meets up with a man she met on the internet. If Starla Davis could have that decision back she would, in a heartbeat. For the next seven years she is a slave to a very powerful, nasty piece of work, Anton Baba. When the chance presents itself she takes FBI protection and flees with her two year old son, Sammy. That ends with the fiery crash in the desert. She and her son survive but she is recaptured by Anton's goons. She has hidden Sammy and he is rescued by Good Samaritan Quinn O'Meara who is shot but saves Sammy.Quinn is a complex character who has not had a lot of good breaks in her life. It would almost seen that this is just business as usual for her, but this is actually the day that the universe is making something right for her. Quinn is reunited with Nick Saldano, her Knight in Shining Armor from a foster care home. Nick is a Las Vegas cop and it is his arms she passes out in. Nick is a born protector and had always protected Quinn in the home, until he wasn't there any longer. He can't believe she is back in his life.The first half of the book is fantastic and gripping. When the plot moves to the cat and mouse, time to get the baddie part, it bogs a bit. Starla and Quinn are both strong, resourceful, determined women. When the red-headed Quinn finally reaches her limit, watch out as she is determined to bring Anton Baba to justice.
    more
  • Flora
    April 5, 2017
    3 and a half stars.Human trafficking is very much a tragic and horrifying fact of life. That’s why I found Sharon Sala’s description of how Starla was abducted and sold into sex slavery so hard to read because she made it sound so real! I had to check the book summary to make sure that I was not reading a non-fiction.Race against Time is very fast-moving and very well written. I could not put my Kindle down till I reached about 60 percent! Then, surprisingly, I couldn’t get into the slow and rom 3 and a half stars.Human trafficking is very much a tragic and horrifying fact of life. That’s why I found Sharon Sala’s description of how Starla was abducted and sold into sex slavery so hard to read because she made it sound so real! I had to check the book summary to make sure that I was not reading a non-fiction.Race against Time is very fast-moving and very well written. I could not put my Kindle down till I reached about 60 percent! Then, surprisingly, I couldn’t get into the slow and romantic part. When it picked up speed again towards the last part, I was hooked again.I wish all trafficking cases had such happy endings. For those who want to avoid explicit sex scenes, there are two brief ones in this book as far as I can remember, and there is a bit of cursing.Thankful for an ARC from Netgalley and Harlequin, and I wrote this review because I enjoyed a large part of it!
    more
  • Elizabeth Neal
    June 30, 2017
    Starla, as a lot of seventeen-year-olds do, felt guilty about lying to her parents regarding where she was going, but she did it anyway. Instead of hanging out with her friend as believed, she was meeting a guy she'd met online. Seven years later, Star as she is now called, has outlived her "usefulness" to her owner, Anton, and he is trying to find a new buyer for her. However, their two-year-old son, Sammy, will not be going anywhere. Star, overhearing Anton's plans, knows she needs to escape, Starla, as a lot of seventeen-year-olds do, felt guilty about lying to her parents regarding where she was going, but she did it anyway. Instead of hanging out with her friend as believed, she was meeting a guy she'd met online. Seven years later, Star as she is now called, has outlived her "usefulness" to her owner, Anton, and he is trying to find a new buyer for her. However, their two-year-old son, Sammy, will not be going anywhere. Star, overhearing Anton's plans, knows she needs to escape, her obedience for the sake of her family's survival has been overtaken by the need to protect Sammy at all costs. Unfortunately, it doesn't go well and the two people helping Star getaway, with the promise to testify, perish in a car accident and she herself is injured, both from the crash and Anton's men, as they were responsible for causing it. Thankfully, she was able to hide Sammy first. She refused to let Anton get his hands on her son.Quinn, a wanderer, is out riding, having just finished a favor for a friend, when she comes upon a fiery crash, and shockingly a toddler by himself. Knowing she needs to ensure the boy's safety, especially as she's now being shot at, she takes off, heading for the nearest police station. Upon arriving, a few detectives, including one named Nick who swears the woman looks familiar, sees her, the child, and the blood covering her. Quinn is able to share a scant amount of information before passing out from her injury. At the hospital, before she's taken into surgery, Nick is able to get a few more details from the woman, Quinn as she was able to tell the nurse her name. Nick also realizes that Quinn is a witness, one that's probably in danger of being silenced for good.Nick learns from his boss that the Feds are involved and why, plus, that the witness will more than likely not be protected, leaving her vulnerable, as she wasn't able to supply "helpful" information. Nick, guaranteed guards in the form of fellow cops, at least short-term, informs his boss he plans on watching her overnight. As he waits, Nick is still struggling to remember why she looks familiar. All it takes is one name from Quinn, mumbled in her sleep, one he hasn't heard in almost twenty years. He knows who she is now, the background check only confirms it, and he can't help, after witnessing her tears while she's asking for him, the child version that is, while asleep, wondering what she endured after he was taken away from the foster home they shared, reunited with family he didn't know existed. "Where is he? Where's my Nicks?" - Quinn"Oh, my God, my little Queenie! What happened to you after they took me away?" - NickNick and Quinn shared a strong bond as children, him filling the role of something like a  big brother, always her protector, her safe place. After he left, Quinn's situation wasn't as pleasant, and she eventually lived with the devil incarnate until she ran away. As adults, Nick and Quinn's childhood bond is still there, yet it's obvious to both a different sort of a bond, one potentially even stronger, is growing between them."I'm not afraid of the dark. Besides, you're light enough for me." - QuinnAs Nick watches over Quinn, he loves seeing her in his home, feeling the rightness of having her there, while they share what's happened since they were separated, the loving family Nick was blessed to have and the terrifying reality of Quinn's life. They also start falling for one another, for the people they've become over the years. However, when it's discovered that Quinn's eyewitness account will help, they both know their situation is suddenly more dangerous. Anton will stop at nothing to take out anyone that could implicate him, and that includes the redhead that rescued his son, as well as Star.Can Nick keep Quinn safe? Is Star finally free? Will she and Sammy be reunited? Will her parents and brother finally get their loved one back? Will Nick and Quinn explore the intense feelings rapidly growing between them? Will Anton get what he deserves? Is there a HEA for everyone? One-click now and follow along as one young woman's attempt to escape the tragedy her life has become, desperate to save the only bright spot in it, her son, has her crossing paths with and reuniting the lives of two people separated as kids. This journey will not only reconnect a family who thought they lost a beloved member, and in fact end up gaining another one, but also will result in a new one beginning as childhood confidants discover their love for one another is merging into so much more than they ever expected.I really liked this book. My intention was to start it, reading a few chapters before going to bed (that's what we all say, right? LOL), however, that did not happen. I had to know and continued reading until I did so. There were some dark moments in regards to what Star lived through, and knowing others in real life are forced into this horrible existence, as well as Quinn's childhood in the foster care system. Yes, there are wonderful people helping to care for the children facing this situation, and some, thankfully, find loving homes, but we also know the alternative is sadly true and that's the side we see through Quinn's memories. I enjoyed watching the love grow between Nick and Quinn, and Star finding freedom, starting a new and safer life for her and Sammy. I highly recommend it. I do wish we could see Star find happiness in the future as well. I'd love to see her have her own book, even if it's a novella. *hint hint* ;-)**I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.**
    more
  • Books and Spoons
    June 28, 2017
    Race Against Time is inspiring, heartbreaking, hope springing story that kept me on my toes. It has a well-balanced mix of heartening human connections and deadly, savage suspense. The story is told from several different points of view, giving a panoramic, layered picture of the events and a portal to the evil, disturbing thoughts of the criminals. The story starts off with a point of the matter type of telling of the tragic tale of human trafficking. While it broke my heart, and the ease of it Race Against Time is inspiring, heartbreaking, hope springing story that kept me on my toes. It has a well-balanced mix of heartening human connections and deadly, savage suspense. The story is told from several different points of view, giving a panoramic, layered picture of the events and a portal to the evil, disturbing thoughts of the criminals. The story starts off with a point of the matter type of telling of the tragic tale of human trafficking. While it broke my heart, and the ease of it happening is as frustrating as it always is in these cases, the way it was told - and then, and then, and then - it took me by surprise. But after the scene is set, and the characters are introduced, the story started to flow, and the style of telling came smoother and enjoyable. While at times the story was a bit confusing (inconsistent) or moving on slowly, there are elements in this story that I enjoyed and found intriguing. One of them was the developing relationship between Quinn O'Meara and Nick Saldano. I loved the connection they had from their foster care years. Their memories from the time together were emotional, delightful and sweet. The spark that now was in between them was convincing. Their childhood years gave them a good foundation to get to know each other more, something that was easy for them to build upon. They both are strong, heroic characters who are able and willing to step up and take care of business. I loved it how tough Quinn was, truly a survivor and a heroine, she is the woman we all inspire to be. There are other survivors and champions in the story as well, but to point them out could give something away of the riveting, danger-filled, action packed plot.The empire of the crime lord and his power and reach was intriguing in the scary kind of way. The human trafficking and its consequences are interesting as we should know more about it, we should be more aware of it, and how easy it is for them to come and sweep the victim away. In the mix of all the life-threatening danger and death, the book tells inspiring stories of people who managed to turn around their circumstances, their destiny, and make a difference in their own lives. The stories of these survivors - heroes and heroines of their own lives - have uplifting, encourages messages of hope, love, and faith. Race Against Time is a story that made me think, it is a story that will stay with me because of the compelling characters it introduced. I do wish there would have been room to get a deeper look at all the different players of the story, yet the vulnerability of the survivors and the constant, deadly threat to them took the tale to an enthralling spin of peril and risk to their lives. Both the danger and the beauty of life took my breath away with this engaging tale~ Four Spoons with a teaspoon on the side
    more
  • Lisa Gibbs
    June 28, 2017
    This was quite a story and there were two very strong female characters, Quinn and Starla who battled they way from being victims to being warriors. Quinn saves a baby from the dessert when she stops at the scene of a firey car crash. Unbeknownst to her the baby's father is a wanted criminal with connections everywhere. He will stop at nothing to destroy Quinn and Starla, the baby's mother. Both need help and Quinn finds help when she rides away from the dessert with a bad guy on her tail, a 2 y This was quite a story and there were two very strong female characters, Quinn and Starla who battled they way from being victims to being warriors. Quinn saves a baby from the dessert when she stops at the scene of a firey car crash. Unbeknownst to her the baby's father is a wanted criminal with connections everywhere. He will stop at nothing to destroy Quinn and Starla, the baby's mother. Both need help and Quinn finds help when she rides away from the dessert with a bad guy on her tail, a 2 year old stuffed in her jacket and a bullet in her shoulder. She finds a police department and flees into the building just before fainting. The bad guys averted for now. She finds Nick, someone she knew from her time in a foster home. Nick was saved when family came to claim him but Quinn was not so lucky. Nick doesn't know who she is at first but when Quinn talks in her sleep in the hospital it is all Nick can do not to protect her. She had a horrible time in foster care and Nick's heart goes out to her a little more when she reveals her past a painful memory at a time. Nick is strong and fierce and determined to protect her and he does but ultimately she saves herself and finds an inner strength to give her the courage to stop being a victim and change her own fate. Meanwhile Starla survives the car wreck in the dessert and fights her own battle to get away from her own private hell. She is strong and does everything she can to get her son back and protect him from his father. She is given freedom and a second chance and it's due to her strength and courage that she forged her own destiny even when others tried and failed to protect her and her child. In the end it all comes down to the love of family for Starla and the love of one man and his family for Quinn. This book was very hard to put down. Ms. Sala writes well taught stories with heroic female characters that can often times save themselves. Her stories never disappoint and this book was no exception. I loved it.
    more
  • Tonya Lucas
    July 2, 2017
    When I pick up a Sharon Sala book I always know my love for reading will be satisfied, tenfold. Her books are so intriguing and her characters become so real, that I believe I'm reading a true life story, not fiction. Sharon Sala has a talent that few authors conquer, the ability to draw you in immediately and keep you in suspense until the end. Race Against Time is definitely one of those type of books. Nail biting until the shocking conclusion.Abducted as a teenager, in a deadly human- traffic When I pick up a Sharon Sala book I always know my love for reading will be satisfied, tenfold. Her books are so intriguing and her characters become so real, that I believe I'm reading a true life story, not fiction. Sharon Sala has a talent that few authors conquer, the ability to draw you in immediately and keep you in suspense until the end. Race Against Time is definitely one of those type of books. Nail biting until the shocking conclusion.Abducted as a teenager, in a deadly human- trafficking ring, Star is on the run, finally escaping her abductor, after seven years of being his captive. Will Star find safety after her long captivity or is she destined to remain hunted?On her Harley, Quinn is heading to Vegas, when she rides upon a car engulfed in flames in the desert. She finds only one survivor in the wreck, a toddler. What happens next is spellbinding. As two unsuspecting worlds collide, all chaos erupts. Will Quinn survive what she witnessed in the desert or is her life about to become a game of survival? Phenomenal book, Sharon Sala has an undeniable talent for writing romantic-suspense.
    more
  • Cheryl
    May 29, 2017
    Fate will find a way. - VirgilStarla Davis was a young, virgin 17 year-old girl who made a bad choice and she's ending up having to live with the consequences of that mistake for the rest of her life. She finds herself put on an auction block and sold to the highest bidder - a Las Vegas crime boss. And for the next seven years she lives at his bidding.But she finds she does have reasons to want to stay alive, and with help, escapes his clutches.Because of her escape, others get pulled into the n Fate will find a way. - VirgilStarla Davis was a young, virgin 17 year-old girl who made a bad choice and she's ending up having to live with the consequences of that mistake for the rest of her life. She finds herself put on an auction block and sold to the highest bidder - a Las Vegas crime boss. And for the next seven years she lives at his bidding.But she finds she does have reasons to want to stay alive, and with help, escapes his clutches.Because of her escape, others get pulled into the nightmare of her life and she's not the only one on the run.The Feds are involved, the Las Vegas police, two former foster children who are all grown up now, family, friends, and enemies.I enjoyed this story very much. There are two strong female protagonists and a whole cast of interesting characters. I have been reading author Sharon Sala's books for years and the books she writes under the name of Dinah McCall too. She has been a favorite of mine for a long time.This is an excitement packed thriller and I recommend it highly.I received this book from MIRA Books through Net Galley in exchange for my unbiased review.
    more
  • Sparkymom
    June 28, 2017
    I have enjoyed many of Sharon Sala's books, and I was excited about trying this one. Quinn was a foster child who never ended up anywhere good. Her luck hasn't changed. She is riding along minding her own business when she encounters a scene which will change her life, maybe for the better, maybe not. One thing it does is reunite Quinn with the only person in her life who ever protected her, Nick. Quinn is stronger now and can protect herself though Nick is not going to leave her to fight alone. I have enjoyed many of Sharon Sala's books, and I was excited about trying this one. Quinn was a foster child who never ended up anywhere good. Her luck hasn't changed. She is riding along minding her own business when she encounters a scene which will change her life, maybe for the better, maybe not. One thing it does is reunite Quinn with the only person in her life who ever protected her, Nick. Quinn is stronger now and can protect herself though Nick is not going to leave her to fight alone. This story had two strong women determined to overcome the odds and take back their lives. The relationship between Nick and Quinn was sweet, and Nick had a great sense of humor and a positive outlook. An ARC was provided by Net Galley for honest review.
    more
  • Ann
    May 21, 2017
    I've been reading Sharon Sala for a long time and this book, Race Against Time is a very suspenseful story. Ms. Sala always has strong woman leads and this book has two. Quinn O'Meara is a loner who makes it a point to ignore the world around her until she hears a baby crying and steps into the middle of a child trafficking ring. When she goes to the police, Nick Saldano recognizes her, they were in foster care together. Starla will do whatever it takes to save her son Sammy and when her life in I've been reading Sharon Sala for a long time and this book, Race Against Time is a very suspenseful story. Ms. Sala always has strong woman leads and this book has two. Quinn O'Meara is a loner who makes it a point to ignore the world around her until she hears a baby crying and steps into the middle of a child trafficking ring. When she goes to the police, Nick Saldano recognizes her, they were in foster care together. Starla will do whatever it takes to save her son Sammy and when her life intersects with Quinn and Nick the world tilts. Great story with insight into an area of crime that isn't in the daily news but still prevalent.
    more
  • Diane Saul
    May 16, 2017
    This story starts out with a bang and grabbed my interest right away. A young girl is kidnapped and sold into slavery. Fast forward and she has had a child with her captor who is thinking about selling her and keeping the child. She decides to run. There is plenty of action in this book that will keep you interested but there were a few discrepancies with the history of some characters that should have been caught when the book was proof read. This took a away from the enjoyment of the book. I d This story starts out with a bang and grabbed my interest right away. A young girl is kidnapped and sold into slavery. Fast forward and she has had a child with her captor who is thinking about selling her and keeping the child. She decides to run. There is plenty of action in this book that will keep you interested but there were a few discrepancies with the history of some characters that should have been caught when the book was proof read. This took a away from the enjoyment of the book. I did still enjoy it but I hope these issues will be corrected before the book is published. Thank you to net galley for an advanced readers copy. I would give this book 3 1/2 stars.
    more
  • natalie karns
    July 1, 2017
    As always, my thanks to Goodreads for having all these great book giveaways. Race Against Time was very good.I've never read anything by Sharon Sala before, and this book was really sad. I like suspense books, but do not like human trafficking stories. That said, the writing was excellent and the book was well-written - the story told very well. To my mind, a good versus evil - Nick and Quinn versus the evil dealings of the men involved in the human trafficking. All in all, an exciting thriller.
    more
  • Sara Gerhold
    June 29, 2017
    Kudos to the author!Ms. Sala's latest, Race Against Time, grabs you on page one, and through twists and turns, keeps you entertained until the end. Starla has misbehaved, lied to her parents, and now finds herself in more trouble than she has bargained for. And so it starts.
    more
  • Janice
    June 30, 2017
    I don't know who wrote this but it doesn't feel like a Sharon Sala book; there was coincidence after coincidence after coincidence after coincidence. And villians that were so inept it would be a miracle if they could walk and chew gum at the same time.
    more
  • charmaine White
    June 28, 2017
    WonderfulI don't know how many times I can say this.Sharon Salas never fails to amaze,astonish and please.I'm going to be waiting for her next book.
  • Angela
    June 28, 2017
    Liked the story and Nick and Quinn made a good couple.
  • Pat
    June 4, 2017
    Two women, totally unknown to each other, get caught up in a race for the lives from the same man. Amazing action and suspense ......full review to follow on http://www.tbqsbookpalace.com
  • Michelle
    July 1, 2017
    i liked this book, the characters were interesting and they were great together. Two stories with happy endings is the best you can get in one book.
Write a review