Catching the Wind
What happened to Brigitte Berthold?That question has haunted Daniel Knight since he was thirteen, when he and ten-year-old Brigitte escaped the Gestapo agents who arrested both their parents. They survived a harrowing journey from Germany to England, only to be separated upon their arrival. Daniel vowed to find Brigitte after the war, a promise he has fought to fulfill for more than seventy years.Now a wealthy old man, Daniel's final hope in finding Brigitte rests with Quenby Vaughn, an American journalist working in London. He believes Quenby's tenacity to find missing people and her personal investment in a related WWII espionage story will help her succeed where previous investigators have failed. Though Quenby is wrestling her own demons--and wary at the idea of teaming up with Daniel's lawyer, Lucas Hough--the lure of Brigitte's story is too much to resist. Together, Quenby and Lucas delve deep into the past, following a trail of deception, sacrifice, and healing that could change all of their futures.

Catching the Wind Details

TitleCatching the Wind
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherTyndale House Publishers
ISBN1496424786
ISBN-139781496424785
Rating
GenreHistorical, Christian Fiction, Fiction, Contemporary, War, World War II, Mystery

Catching the Wind Review

  • Olivia
    April 11, 2017
    Two timelines meet in an intriguing tale of love and searching.This was such a sweet story! I've seen this author's name around, but this is the first book I've read by her. I'm impresed with how she connected the two storylines and brought to life each character. Quenby's name made me smile. I love unique names! And then there's Lucas and Daniel Knight. *sigh* This was such a wonderful journey!I felt the last fourth of the book had a lot more telling than showing, and it took me a few minutes t Two timelines meet in an intriguing tale of love and searching.This was such a sweet story! I've seen this author's name around, but this is the first book I've read by her. I'm impresed with how she connected the two storylines and brought to life each character. Quenby's name made me smile. I love unique names! And then there's Lucas and Daniel Knight. *sigh* This was such a wonderful journey!I felt the last fourth of the book had a lot more telling than showing, and it took me a few minutes to figure out the connections of everyone. So many names and double names :) But the ending was satisfying and everything came together well.What I didn't like:-There are a few casual drinking scenes. I don't agree with Christians drinking, so this was a disappointment, but thankfully it was only brief mentions.-One married character was having an affair with a woman. There was two scenes that were a little awkward with them (nothing more than kissing and not detailed).Besides the above mention, the romance was great! There are a couple brief kisses at the end, but I felt in general the story was not focused on the couple getting together so much as the characters learning and understanding through their journey.Definitely a book to look out for when it's published! I'm interested in possibly reading more by this author :)*I received this from Netgalley and Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Beth
    May 15, 2017
    "But the stories kept them both pressing forward."I always begin a Melanie Dobson novel with a sense of eager anticipation. While I haven’t read all of her novels, I have read her more recent ones, which includes a couple of dual-time novels In Catching the Wind, past and present meet in a most compelling, beautiful way. I’ve read my fair share of dual-time novels, but Dobson brings a freshness to it that kept me equally invested in both times.Typically, in a novel that has both contemporary and "But the stories kept them both pressing forward."I always begin a Melanie Dobson novel with a sense of eager anticipation. While I haven’t read all of her novels, I have read her more recent ones, which includes a couple of dual-time novels In Catching the Wind, past and present meet in a most compelling, beautiful way. I’ve read my fair share of dual-time novels, but Dobson brings a freshness to it that kept me equally invested in both times.Typically, in a novel that has both contemporary and historical components, I find the contemporary lacking in some way. Whether it’s the lack of high stakes in the present day in comparison to the past, or the fact that I just like find the past more interesting than the present, it’s not every book that I like both sets of characters and both storylines equally. Though the stakes were more life-and-death in the historical narrative, they were just as poignant and intriguing in the present day, albeit in a much different way.In the present-day, Quenby is an easy character to like. She finds her purpose in her career, but despite her success as an investigative journalist, she always feels like that big break story is just out of reach. When Daniel Knight requests her help specifically to look for a person he lost contact with years ago during World War II, she accepts the challenge, though she doesn’t fully believe that she will be successful. Adding to her insecurity is the instant clash with Lucas Hough, Mr. Knight’s prickly lawyer, as well as her own emotional baggage as the search for Brigitte Berthold becomes more and more personal and precious to her.In the past, Dietmar and his friend Brigitte are literally running for their lives. In order to do the right thing, Dietmar purposely separates himself from Brigitte, hoping that separated she will be safe, but not expecting that she would disappear from his reach for good. I didn’t expect to follow the story from both Dietmar and Brigitte’s perspective, but I was pleasantly surprised to follow both of them for a short time. While part of that was a device in order to promote the mystery, it also works to propel the plot, each piece overlapping one another in both past and present to keep readers intrigued from one time period to the next. With the past being filled with harrowing and tragic circumstances, the present day sections provide the reader with a moment to catch their breath, but they are no less compelling.The themes touched on in this novel include dealing with feelings of abandonment, letting go of bitterness and forgiving yourself for past choices. Quenby, Daniel, and even Brigitte, all must deal with the consequences of choices they made, as well as choices made by others that affected them profoundly. I was moved by the forgiveness and reconciliation that these characters experienced throughout the story. Though it’s not the primary focus at all, there is a sweet romantic thread, and I was glad that it stayed more in the periphery, rather than central to the plot.With powerful emotion and lyrical writing, this story satisfied me completely. While some instances may have felt a bit spectacular, strange things do happen in life, especially during dangerous and tumultuous times, to those who matter the least to those around them, like a little German girl at the mercy of pro-Nazi conspirators in England. Catching the Wind is now my favorite Dobson novel to date and one of my favorite novels of 2017.
    more
  • Nora St Laurent
    April 24, 2017
    Readers are transported back to July 1940 Moselkern, Germany and introduced to a young boy named Dietmar Roth; a young warrior in charge of knights sworn to protect ten-year-old “pretend” princess named Brigitte Berthold. Their kingdom was a treehouse that had an amazing view of the forest and the back sides of their homes. From the treehouse, they could clearly see the outside world banging down the doors of their homes. They watched in horror as their parents were interrogated. Dietmar Roth gr Readers are transported back to July 1940 Moselkern, Germany and introduced to a young boy named Dietmar Roth; a young warrior in charge of knights sworn to protect ten-year-old “pretend” princess named Brigitte Berthold. Their kingdom was a treehouse that had an amazing view of the forest and the back sides of their homes. From the treehouse, they could clearly see the outside world banging down the doors of their homes. They watched in horror as their parents were interrogated. Dietmar Roth grabbed Brigitte by the hand and ran. He’d seen enough to know they were in danger. With only the clothes on their backs, they ran for their lives, just as Dietmar's parents had trained him to do.Just when readers are emotionally invested in the flight of these two little ones; the author seamlessly switches to the current time, where they meet Quenby Vaughn. She’s an American journalist working in London who has a particular way of finding missing people. She has a private and emotional investment in a related WWII espionage story. This is why Mr. Knight wants to hire her. It’s the reason the reader cares for her.Daniel (aka Dietmar) will do what ever it takes to find Brigitte. He would make good on his childhood promise. He believed Quenby would succeed when others had failed. He’d studied her, followed her career and knew her well.This author masterfully weaves current time with past events. I liked the fact that in current time when they discovered something related to the past she would switch to the past and have that event play out first hand; so that the reader and Quenby Vaughn would find out about that situation at the same time. I liked the author's use of humor and thought-provoking ideas to defuse some intense situations. Here’s an example.Mr. Knight says this about life, “…Our lives are like the jigsaw puzzles you like to put together Quenby. All the pieces are out there, but we have to frame it before we complete the inside.”Quenby was driven to dig for the truth.…”working on someone else’s story kept her from having to reflect on her own.” Quincy’s mission – it was about a girl lost long ago. A girl who’d never seemed to find her way home.” “Quenby knew what it was like to be left alone.” Be that girl.This novel would work well for book clubs as there are 13 discussion questions and in author notes, there is valuable information that would also help create lively conversations in your group.The author says in her notes, “the power of story has transformed my own life, and I’m incredibly grateful to Jesus Christ, the author, and finisher of faith, for enduring pain and humiliation and ultimately conquering the evil in this world, redeeming and healing because of his boundless love for his kids.”This author masterfully connects past and present events to create a powerful, heart-rending story. It was a fascinating and beautifully written novel of two unspeakable tragedies, of love and loss and learning to love again. As I read, I kept thinking about the characters, their situation and all the other WWII stories out there. This moving novel told through the eyes of children; stayed on my mind and close to my heart long after I shut the book.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale Publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”Nora St. LaurentTBCN Where Book Fun Begins! www.bookfun.orgThe Book Club Network blog www.psalm516.blogspot.comBook Fun MagazineSVP Promotions
    more
  • Susan Snodgrass
    April 20, 2017
    That question has haunted Daniel Knight since he was thirteen, when he and ten-year-old Brigitte escaped the Gestapo agents who arrested both their parents. Where is Brigitte Bertholde? They survived a harrowing journey from Germany to England, only to be separated upon their arrival. Daniel vowed to find Brigitte after the war, a promise he has fought to fulfill for more than seventy years.Now a wealthy old man, Daniel's final hope in finding Brigitte rests with Quenby Vaughn, an American journ That question has haunted Daniel Knight since he was thirteen, when he and ten-year-old Brigitte escaped the Gestapo agents who arrested both their parents. Where is Brigitte Bertholde? They survived a harrowing journey from Germany to England, only to be separated upon their arrival. Daniel vowed to find Brigitte after the war, a promise he has fought to fulfill for more than seventy years.Now a wealthy old man, Daniel's final hope in finding Brigitte rests with Quenby Vaughn, an American journalist working in London. He believes Quenby's tenacity to find missing people and her personal investment in a related WWII espionage story will help her succeed where previous investigators have failed. Though Quenby is wrestling her own demons--and wary at the idea of teaming up with Daniel's lawyer, Lucas Hough--the lure of Brigitte's story is too much to resist. Together, Quenby and Lucas delve deep into the past, following a trail of deception, sacrifice, and healing that could change all of their futures.This book was absolutely exquisite! In every way. Simply outstanding. Dobson engages the readers right away with her writing which is so full of depth and emotion. I could barely put this book down to do life. I read it in one day! Quenby Vaughn is a young woman struggling with her past, and has shielded herself from much in life, living in fear of one event in her past. The reader connects with her right away, as they do Lucas and even the secondary characters in this book. I was mesmerized the entire time. I love history and the author has done her homework with accuracy. This is one of the best books I've read this year. I completely did nothing one day but read. I loved every moment. There was so much to take in and then the author throws a curve ball near the end that had me gasping in surprise. God cares about His children and sometimes it takes a while, but His purposes will be revealed in time. I thoroughly enjoyed every sentence in this book and I highly recommend it!*I was given a preview copy of this book by the publisher via Net Galley. I was not pressured to leave a positive review and all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Amy
    March 7, 2017
    Catching the Wind may my favorite book written by Melanie Dobson yet. It starts off during World War II Germany with Brigitte Berthold and Daniel Knight escaping the Gestapo, who had already their parents. Their journey takes them to England where they are separated. These two go to a place in history they never thought possible.I love this story! Melanie Dobson has weaved quite a tale. To be honest, I was not sure what I thought of Quenby in the beginning. I quickly began to like her more and m Catching the Wind may my favorite book written by Melanie Dobson yet. It starts off during World War II Germany with Brigitte Berthold and Daniel Knight escaping the Gestapo, who had already their parents. Their journey takes them to England where they are separated. These two go to a place in history they never thought possible.I love this story! Melanie Dobson has weaved quite a tale. To be honest, I was not sure what I thought of Quenby in the beginning. I quickly began to like her more and more as I continued to read. The mystery of what happened to Brigitte kept me guessing where she was. Is she alive? Did she die during the war? Where was she? I could not have predicted how it all unfolded. One of the best books I have read in a very long time. This book is a keeper!An excellent novel that I highly recommend. I would most definitely give this story 100 stars if I could.I received this book from the author, but was not required to write a review. This review is of my own honest opinion.
    more
  • Carrie Schmidt (Reading is My SuperPower)
    March 21, 2017
    4 1/2 stars TOP PICK
  • Jamie
    May 25, 2017
    “Better that one heart be broken a thousand times in the retelling…if it means that a thousand other hearts need not be broken at all.”Robert McAfee Brown in the Preface to Night by Elie WieselI’ll start by saying I really enjoyed a majority of this novel. I was completely intrigued by the history. From the two children, to the people they encountered during the war years. While the story wasn’t based specifically on people who really lived, it was based on people like them. I enjoyed the journa “Better that one heart be broken a thousand times in the retelling…if it means that a thousand other hearts need not be broken at all.”Robert McAfee Brown in the Preface to Night by Elie WieselI’ll start by saying I really enjoyed a majority of this novel. I was completely intrigued by the history. From the two children, to the people they encountered during the war years. While the story wasn’t based specifically on people who really lived, it was based on people like them. I enjoyed the journalist angle as well, like this quote:“In her mind, journalism was a science that educated society about both past and present in hopes of bettering it, keeping people accountable for their actions and informing them about the past so they wouldn’t repeat mistakes.”It was the last quarter-ish of the novel that wasn’t my favorite. While Dobson did an excellent job being honest about the messy (people’s choices, betrayals, etc), it was toward the end that the story lost some of its authenticity. Without revealing any of the plot, there were some pieces I didn’t think fit with the previous tone of the story and some bits felt rushed.While it didn’t finish as strong as I was hoping, I still enjoyed all the bits of history and if you enjoy interesting WWII history, this might be one for you.What’s the last WWII novel you read?(Thank you to Tyndale for a copy of the book. All views expressed are my own.)Originally posted at http://booksandbeverages.org/2017/05/...
    more
  • Karen
    April 28, 2017
    An investigative journalist is hired by a reclusive millionaire to find a dear friend he was separated from during World War Two. While digging deeply for clues, she may just solve a personal mystery of her own.Wow, what a fabulous read, one that kept me up late just to see how it ended! A perfect illustration of how we are not abandoned by God, how the Good Shepherd searches for His lost sheep, and even in the darkest places, His hope shines through.It was a tragic story in many ways, yet fille An investigative journalist is hired by a reclusive millionaire to find a dear friend he was separated from during World War Two. While digging deeply for clues, she may just solve a personal mystery of her own.Wow, what a fabulous read, one that kept me up late just to see how it ended! A perfect illustration of how we are not abandoned by God, how the Good Shepherd searches for His lost sheep, and even in the darkest places, His hope shines through.It was a tragic story in many ways, yet filled with hope. I like how the author parallels Quenby's personal struggles with the mystery she is trying to solve, adding a lot of spiritual and emotional insight to her own story. An expertly woven tale with interesting little known true history of intrigue in England during WW2. Highly recommend for readers who enjoy WW2 stories with faith elements. (Some mature subject matter included.)(An e-book was provided by NetGalley and the publisher. all opinions are my own.)
    more
  • Michelle
    April 23, 2017
    Melanie Dobson has yet to write a book I didn't love. I have read my fair share of WWII novels but somehow Dobson has a way of making each story its own, completely different. This novel has two different time periods that go back and forth, which are written so well you won't even be confused! I loved all the characters in this book, but I think Brigitte will always have a special place in my heart. The history is fascinating and once again I learned a ton that I will have to do more research o Melanie Dobson has yet to write a book I didn't love. I have read my fair share of WWII novels but somehow Dobson has a way of making each story its own, completely different. This novel has two different time periods that go back and forth, which are written so well you won't even be confused! I loved all the characters in this book, but I think Brigitte will always have a special place in my heart. The history is fascinating and once again I learned a ton that I will have to do more research on. Wonderful side romance story and real life heart issues when it comes to abandonment. There is a pretty big twist near the end that I have mixed feelings about but you must read for yourself on that note.There were a couple of things (small little insignificant things) that I thought were perhaps a little far fetched or over the top for this particular story. Otherwise this is one of the best books I have read so far this year! Five stars. "I received this book from Tyndale Publishing for free. All opinions are my own."
    more
  • MH
    April 19, 2017
    I loved Beneath the Golden Veil, but this book totally blew me away! What a work of art. The beautiful, poetic, melodic, soulful writing sucked me right in at page one. The intricate plot that spans multiple generations and countries/cultures gave depth and layers to create a story that all clicks in the end. Intrigue, suspense, and a bit of romance were so well combined and thoroughly stirred that I couldn't put the book down. History was also stitched into the fabric of the book by having half I loved Beneath the Golden Veil, but this book totally blew me away! What a work of art. The beautiful, poetic, melodic, soulful writing sucked me right in at page one. The intricate plot that spans multiple generations and countries/cultures gave depth and layers to create a story that all clicks in the end. Intrigue, suspense, and a bit of romance were so well combined and thoroughly stirred that I couldn't put the book down. History was also stitched into the fabric of the book by having half of the story take place during WWII, while modern day pursuit ensues to find the girl who was lost during wartime. If you're a fan of historical fiction and contemporary romantic suspense, this book is a must read. Faith is a prominent factor throughout the novel. It was really interesting to see parallel faiths blossom even in the midst of a great tragedy like WWII in the past and through a tough life and circumstances in the present. Through it all, Deitmar/Daniel and Lucas are great sources of wisdom and faith. And the characters.....Quenby is hurt, angry, afraid of people and letting them into her life. Yet she so hungers for love and wants a family to call her own. Lucas is.....a quintessential hero. A knight in shining armor. I would have liked a bit more on his past though - like details on his rebellious years, how he met and ended up working for Daniel, what shaped him into such a loyal, compassionate, loving man. Daniel and Bridget play a huge part in the book since the premise of the entire story is Daniel wanting to find Bridget after seventy-something years. Their friendship, commitment to each other, and love that remained pure and true through all those years is heart-warming. The resilience of the human spirit, taken in God's hands and molded by Him (as seen in Daniel and Bridget), is amazingly incomprehensible. I was given ARC by Tyndale via NetGalley. I was not required to give a review or a favorable review. All comments and opinions are solely my own.
    more
  • Lori Parrish
    April 26, 2017
    I thought this book rather different. I enjoyed it very much and I must say blending past with present day certainly keeps it interesting!It's a story searching for truth and wanting to know what happens to certain people. I like it because its like a puzzle piece waiting to be put together again to make life whole.It's amazing what people can do to one another in times of war or whether they be doing illegal activity. It is hard to believe that they do those kinds of things even during war time I thought this book rather different. I enjoyed it very much and I must say blending past with present day certainly keeps it interesting!It's a story searching for truth and wanting to know what happens to certain people. I like it because its like a puzzle piece waiting to be put together again to make life whole.It's amazing what people can do to one another in times of war or whether they be doing illegal activity. It is hard to believe that they do those kinds of things even during war time.I love it too when stories come out ok. It's uncanny how friends still want to find each other or when new friends are found. This is a must read because I just adore history. History is our past and it is who makes us who we are today. I sometimes wonder what our forefathers would think of today? They'd probably turn over in their graves now.I think Lucas has to be my favorite character with Quenby falling in 2nd. They are the two people I most admired. Quenby because she's had a lot to overcome and with Lucas guiding her and helping her. He becomes an automatic friend to Quenby. Folks friends at very hard to come by. if you find one you'd better keep them!!I just want to say again how much I enjoyed this story!I received a complimentary copy of this book and was in no way required to review this book.Thanks Melanie Dobson for another so wonderful story!!!!
    more
  • maryreads
    April 13, 2017
    I have no hesitation in giving this book 5 stars. No hesitation at all!!I applaud the author for being brave enough to link an atrocity that happened years ago with an equally wrenching reality in the present that we need to open our eyes to. I enjoyed how the author took upon a new approach to the events surrounding WWII that I was not aware of.I thoroughly enjoyed both the present story of Quenby and Brigitte and Dietmar's story during WWII and I think the author brilliantly linked both time s I have no hesitation in giving this book 5 stars. No hesitation at all!!I applaud the author for being brave enough to link an atrocity that happened years ago with an equally wrenching reality in the present that we need to open our eyes to. I enjoyed how the author took upon a new approach to the events surrounding WWII that I was not aware of.I thoroughly enjoyed both the present story of Quenby and Brigitte and Dietmar's story during WWII and I think the author brilliantly linked both time sets. This book is about the cruelties that happen as consequence to a human being's selfishness. It is about, loss, betrayal and disappointments. But it is also about hope. About how you can believe in a new beginning without thinking you need to reinvent yourself in the process. Throughout the journey that both Quenby and Brigitte are put through, they learn that when an awful event is linked to your story you do not have to let it define you and you can be an overcomer. It is okay to feel hurt and to cry for all the brokenness and cruelty caused, but you can move on and chose to be a part of a different story related to forgiveness, redemption and love.Each person has a personal history and it is powerful. But we can decide how we will dictate this power. Will we let it harden our hearts and make us isolate ourselves? Or will we use it to sow compassion and reconciliation and restoration?This book was refreshing, poignant, thought provoking and heartwarming.Definitely a book to keep an eye on!**Many thanks to the publisher for providing me a copy in exchange for my honest review
    more
  • Michelle
    May 17, 2017
    Lately it seems I rarely finish a book because I tend to get bored with the story. I finished this one, so that tells me something. I wasn't bored. Nor was I on the edge of my seat. The author wasn't trying to create anxiety, but it was more like a tender longing and a deep need to understand the past and find healing in it. She did a great job showing the fear of abandonment and the wariness when it came to trusting anyone. I was intrigued with the story. It gave me a warm feeling in my heart r Lately it seems I rarely finish a book because I tend to get bored with the story. I finished this one, so that tells me something. I wasn't bored. Nor was I on the edge of my seat. The author wasn't trying to create anxiety, but it was more like a tender longing and a deep need to understand the past and find healing in it. She did a great job showing the fear of abandonment and the wariness when it came to trusting anyone. I was intrigued with the story. It gave me a warm feeling in my heart rather than an anxious one. While nothing scary happened, it captured my heart anyway. There is just something about Melanie's writing and characters that pulls me in. I have yet to come across a pathetic or annoying character in any of her books, and I have read plenty of them. Eleven so far (to be exact) and I have enjoyed them all. They are often quite different. It's not so much the subject matter that captures me (though I love WWII era fiction) but the author's voice that compels me to keep reading. The first book I have ever read by Melanie was "Together for Good" and from that point forward I have been hooked. She never has tension in a story or a plot that feels contrived. Regardless of how far from my own experience the characters' experience tends to be, they always manage to speak to me and make me think about my life and my decisions. And like the author, her books have a sweet and calming tone to them despite how deep the story goes. None of her novels are fluffy and fake. All of them will pull you in. At least for me, that's how it is.This book slips between the past and the present day. Both eras intrigued me and while a bit more was in the present day, at least a third of the book contained historical chapters. I tend to prefer the historical chapters but in this book I liked them the same. I felt some of the angst and fear that Brigitte had when she couldn't find her friend and was taken in by a man and woman who didn't like her and only used her for her knowledge of the German language. It was interesting how the twists and turns through her life caused her to develop a strong desire to help abandoned children feel loved. I also loved how the main character resisted feeling anything for the man in the story because she didn't want to get close to anyone lest they hurt her again. Well done! I give this story five stars because of it's pull on me and my desire to finish it. I don't want to give any spoilers, which is why some of this review is a bit vague. Discovering things is half the fun of reading a good book so it ruins it for me if someone tells me the plot in the review.
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 4, 2017
    "I shall make a wish on this tree, . . . . . . I want you to capture the wind." . . . . . .says the princess to her knight. Childhood friends, Dietmore Roth and Brigitte Berthold, saw their lives torn apart before their very eyes, when Gestapo agents violently raided their homes and disposed of their parents . Outside playing in Dietmore's tree house, the two frightened children literally ran for their lives, crossing borders and nearly starving, before Dietmore made a painful decision that haun "I shall make a wish on this tree, . . . . . . I want you to capture the wind." . . . . . .says the princess to her knight. Childhood friends, Dietmore Roth and Brigitte Berthold, saw their lives torn apart before their very eyes, when Gestapo agents violently raided their homes and disposed of their parents . Outside playing in Dietmore's tree house, the two frightened children literally ran for their lives, crossing borders and nearly starving, before Dietmore made a painful decision that haunted him the rest of his life.Journalist Quenby Vaughn has been researching the possibility that the prominent wife of a British Lord consorted with German officials during WWII, using her vast estate as a safe house. Frustrated that Lady Ricker's descendants refuse to talk to her, Quenby is nominally curious when she is approached by a prominent young London solicitor, Lucas Hough, on behalf of his client, who is diligently search for a woman that he lost contact with nearly seventy five years earlier; convinced that Quenby can find his "Princess Adler". A feeble man's request takes Quenby and Lucas down a path riddled with multi-layers of hidden secrets that will ultimately either break hearts of mend them, for "I tried and tried" he said, "but I never caught the wind". . . . . . "I caught it, (she said) . . . and it blew me back to you". Melanie Dobson has written an absolutely beautiful story. I am grateful to the author and publisher for a copy; the opinions stated above are entirely my own.
    more
  • Maureen Timerman
    May 18, 2017
    This book is so good that once you turn the final page there is a whole sense of loss, a dear friend I wanted to spend more time with is now gone.The story begins in Germany and the world is at war, and we see a normal situation, children playing, but alas a split second later they are on the run for their lives, and then we span decades before the story is concluded.Right from the beginning I found myself wishing for a romance between journalist Quenby and Lucas, and there is a bit, but then th This book is so good that once you turn the final page there is a whole sense of loss, a dear friend I wanted to spend more time with is now gone.The story begins in Germany and the world is at war, and we see a normal situation, children playing, but alas a split second later they are on the run for their lives, and then we span decades before the story is concluded.Right from the beginning I found myself wishing for a romance between journalist Quenby and Lucas, and there is a bit, but then that is not the main theme of this story. In fact we do have a big of everything, including espionage, and when we circle part of the world looking for clues, we soon find the world is not that large.Come and root for Dietmar and Brigitte and the journey of their lives and survival.I received this book through Net Galley and Tyndale House Publishers and was not required to give a positive review.
    more
  • Hunter Brock
    May 20, 2017
    The novel Catching the Wind by Melanie Dobson is a historical fiction novel with strong themes that speak of the Christian romance genre. mainly addresses the heart-wrenching aches of abandonment, and seeks to satisfy the longing for redemption, reconciliation, and reunion.A couple of things that made this book enjoyable for me as a reader:The first thing is the plot structure. I really appreciated about the book was how the different threads woven throughout the story ended up being connected i The novel Catching the Wind by Melanie Dobson is a historical fiction novel with strong themes that speak of the Christian romance genre. mainly addresses the heart-wrenching aches of abandonment, and seeks to satisfy the longing for redemption, reconciliation, and reunion.A couple of things that made this book enjoyable for me as a reader:The first thing is the plot structure. I really appreciated about the book was how the different threads woven throughout the story ended up being connected in the end. While it seemed too neat of a connection at times, I still think it’s cool that there were no loose ends, every puzzle piece fit at the conclusion, even though the threads all seemed separate in the beginning.The second was that there was heartache, scandal, and pain. What I mean by this is that there is sometimes a stereotype of Christian fiction that it presents itself as unrealistic: the stories aren’t as messy as real life. And yet Dobson did a brilliant job of including broken marriages, affairs, unforgiveness, betrayal, and other difficult themes to give the story the depth of reality.The third thing was the history. The historic aspects of the story were really educational as well. I learned a ton about WWII, about the London Blitz, and about the tragedy faced by so many during the war. I was totally unaware of the existence of Hutchinson Camp, smack dab in the middle of Douglas, on the Isle of Man. Throughout my primary education, I hadn’t been really informed of all of England’s part in the war, and Dobson successfully piqued my interest in this part of world history.A couple of things that made this book difficult for me as a reader:The first thing was the writing. There was a lot of telling but not a lot of showing. I didn’t feel like I had to work to figure out the story because all of my questions were answered for me through Dobson’s exposition laid out in Quenby’s mind. I think that if Dobson put more of what Quenby was thinking into dialogue with the other characters, it would’ve been a more challenging read. As in, I would be having to figure out Quenby’s wounds and difficulties and values instead of her just telling me everything, and in the end, when Dobson would seek to expose big things about Quenby, I would’ve either enjoyed my success at “figuring out” Quenby, or I would’ve grown through my misinterpretation. There were also several times when the point of view shifted that were awkward and distracting because the shift was inconsistent.The second thing was Lucas and Quenby’s relationship. I don’t feel like two weeks together was enough time for them to bring in romantic love, at least not when it seemed like Quenby was meant to seem so averse to getting close to anyone…I feel like Lucas would’ve had to work a lot harder. Also, there were times when Quenby thought through how she didn’t care about Lucas’s opinion, or stated that he’d have to gain her trust, or mentioned that he was annoying and that there was nothing between them, and these thoughts came up really often, as if Quenby were convincing herself of them as well as trying to convince the reader, when, in reality, the very fact that convincing was needed suggested that the opposite was true: she likes Lucas from the beginning, she doesn’t find him annoying, she’s trusting and depending on him already and freely.The third thing was the presence of faith. I don’t feel like faith carried as much weight in the story as Dobson desired. While the gospel of Jesus Christ was brought in at both the most heart-wrenching and the most casual of moments in the book, faith didn’t really seem that important to any of the characters. Brigitte seemed to be the most faith-driven character in the book, and yet we’re not privy to her relationship with Jesus before she gets to England. I feel like for some characters the presence of faith in their lives could’ve been removed and nothing would have changed. If Dobson’s intention was to make faith central to the book, then I would’ve appreciated seeing more of the small ways Quenby and Lucas operated out of their relationship with Christ, and more of the big ways they sought to obey Him. I think I wanted their faith to be central to their lives, when it didn’t seem that way at all, but came off more as seeing Jesus as their Savior, but not necessarily as their Lord.Despite the criticisms, I would recommend this book if you’re looking for a wild journey through the history of friendship between two old souls, for a realistic look at the suffering of war victims, and through the transformation of being wounded and then finally, after so long, being healed.
    more
  • Anne
    May 11, 2017
    A beautifully written novel that left this reader in stunned silence, Catching the Wind holds within its pages a captivating story of an enduring love that lasted a lifetime. Brimming with intrigue, mystery, and drama, along with poignant moments of hope, this will be a story that lives on in my heart for a long time. I particularly found a few passages stood out to me, probably because of the deep grief I still feel as the fifth anniversary of my daughter’s passing approaches. He’d thought he A beautifully written novel that left this reader in stunned silence, Catching the Wind holds within its pages a captivating story of an enduring love that lasted a lifetime. Brimming with intrigue, mystery, and drama, along with poignant moments of hope, this will be a story that lives on in my heart for a long time. I particularly found a few passages stood out to me, probably because of the deep grief I still feel as the fifth anniversary of my daughter’s passing approaches. He’d thought he built a castle big enough for space to breathe, but on days like this, when the memories returned, even the windowed walls up here, with their sweeping views of the sea, seemed to close in on him. On these days, it felt as if he were being attacked from the inside. The tower of the castle—the keep—was the final refuge in an attack from the enemy, but no fortress of stone could protect from the enemy who crept up from memories, moving stealthily through the entire body, raiding the refuge of one’s mind. He needed to clear the adversary from his head before it took hold. (Daniel Knight, pg 94, 95)All I could think of when I read that passage was Yes! This is how I feel. And then I read this…He breathed in rain as he hobbled toward the front gate, the moisture coating his lungs. Rain clung to the cold wind and splashed his face. He loved the thrust of power to stir the sea. Shake trees. Carry the voice of a child crying for help. Here in the storm, tears could fall freely down his cheeks, mixing with the torrent of God’s grief falling from the sky. (Daniel Knight, pg 95/96)Oh boy, did the tears fall then?! I have stood at the edge of the ocean many times since my daughter’s step into Heaven, imagining I could hear her cry, and my tears overflow like a wave crashing to the shore.And even though not a direct correlation to my particular grief, this passage gripped my heart too. If she truly forgave her mother, would God take away her pain even if her memories remained? Perhaps that was the superpower she needed most. The power to let go. The power to love again. (Quenby Vaughn, pg 334)I highly recommend Catching the Wind to everyone! Seriously. This story has it all. It encompasses complicated relationships, crafty and cunning characters, and a gentle and beloved faith in God that will lead to forgiveness and reconciliation. And the mystery. Oh, the mystery is the best!Dobson has once again shown incredible ability to weave past and present fluidly while creating an exciting plot and memorable characters that stirred my emotions. By the second chapter, I was fully invested in their lives and didn’t want to put the book down. By far, this is the best yet in Melanie’s repertoire of historical-contemporary hybrid novels.I was gifted an advance reader copy of this book from the publisher and author for promotional purposes only, with no expectation of a review. No compensation has been received.
    more
  • Sherri Smith
    May 24, 2017
    This story blew me away. Having stumbled upon a book prior that was a bit dry, I feared that maybe it wasn't the book that was the problem, but me. I was wrong. This story restored my faith in reading. This was a phenomenal book, well written that interweaved between the two time periods. Both stories were necessary as they weaved together to the end.Catching the Wind is about a quest to find Brigitte Berthold. At the age of thirteen, Daniel Knight (Dietmar) rescued his best friend in fleeing fo This story blew me away. Having stumbled upon a book prior that was a bit dry, I feared that maybe it wasn't the book that was the problem, but me. I was wrong. This story restored my faith in reading. This was a phenomenal book, well written that interweaved between the two time periods. Both stories were necessary as they weaved together to the end.Catching the Wind is about a quest to find Brigitte Berthold. At the age of thirteen, Daniel Knight (Dietmar) rescued his best friend in fleeing for their lives in Nazi Germany. Sadly, they were separated as they came into England, and for years afterward Daniel had been searching for his Brigette.Daniel had initiated numerous searches over the years, but no one returned with any type of information that was useful. Most of all, information about his beloved best friend. So he turns to Quenby Vaugh, who is an American journalist, to use her tenacity in finding out the story. With the help of Lucas, Daniel Knight's lawyer, they both go through the clues to find out what happened to Brigette, in turn, Quenby learns what happened to her mom so many years ago.Again, this story is remarkably wonderful. I loved every minute of it, wanting to dash forward through the pages, but knowing I couldn't, because I might miss a detail of importance. Would I recommend this book? Most definitely! Two thumbs up and a round of applause for the author (and her editors). This will be a book I will keep for many years to come, and will share with all to read.I received this book complimentary from the publisher via Netgalley.
    more
  • Lizzy Bueckert
    May 23, 2017
    What a beautiful story! So many characters and twists and turns that all fit together. I loved every minute!
  • Denise Talen
    April 15, 2017
    What happened to Brigitte Berthold?That question has haunted Daniel Knight since he was thirteen, when he and ten-year-old Brigitte escaped the Gestapo agents who arrested both their parents. They survived a harrowing journey from Germany to England, only to be separated upon their arrival. Daniel vowed to find Brigitte after the war, a promise he has fought to fulfill for more than seventy years.Now a wealthy old man, Daniel’s final hope in finding Brigitte rests with Quenby Vaughn, an American What happened to Brigitte Berthold?That question has haunted Daniel Knight since he was thirteen, when he and ten-year-old Brigitte escaped the Gestapo agents who arrested both their parents. They survived a harrowing journey from Germany to England, only to be separated upon their arrival. Daniel vowed to find Brigitte after the war, a promise he has fought to fulfill for more than seventy years.Now a wealthy old man, Daniel’s final hope in finding Brigitte rests with Quenby Vaughn, an American journalist working in London. He believes Quenby’s tenacity to find missing people and her personal investment in a related WWII espionage story will help her succeed where previous investigators have failed. Though Quenby is wrestling her own demons—and wary at the idea of teaming up with Daniel’s lawyer, Lucas Hough—the lure of Brigitte’s story is too much to resist. Together, Quenby and Lucas delve deep into the past, following a trail of deception, sacrifice, and healing that could change all of their futures.I read this book in one day, so no need to say, I loved it! It was well written, captivating characters and an engaging story. I just couldn't stop reading and I had to know how it ended. I enjoyed how the story switched narratives between the 1940's story of Daniel and Brigitte escaping and modern day Quenby working. While it was perhaps a bit too predictable and neat and tidy ending, I really wouldn't have wanted to end any other way, so I didn't mind too much. I also like how there was a bit of romance between Quenby and Lucas, but that wasn't the overall focus of the plot. I highly recommend this book. You won't be able to to put it down.I received a complimentary copy of the book from Tyndale House Publishers.
    more
  • Fran Soto
    April 18, 2017
    This book was absolutely amazing! It was fascinating! In every single way. I enjoyed it so much. I'm surprised how Dobson catches the attention of the readers inmideatly with her witty writing style that I think it could be described as deepful. I couldn't put this book down. Miss Vaughn is a young lady battling with her past, and has protected herself from much in life, living in dread of one occasion in her past. The readers can feel identified with her immediately, as Lucas and even the auxi This book was absolutely amazing! It was fascinating! In every single way. I enjoyed it so much. I'm surprised how Dobson catches the attention of the readers inmideatly with her witty writing style that I think it could be described as deepful. I couldn't put this book down. Miss Vaughn is a young lady battling with her past, and has protected herself from much in life, living in dread of one occasion in her past. The readers can feel identified with her immediately, as Lucas and even the auxiliary characters do in this book. I was hypnotized the whole time.I love history and the creator has gotten her work done with exactness. This is one of the best books I've read for the current year. I adored each minute. There was such a great amount to take in and afterward the creator startles ball close to the end that made them pant in amazement. I completely delighted in each sentence in this book.
    more
  • Susan
    March 22, 2017
    Great read !
  • Kathleen E.
    May 9, 2017
    Tuesday, May 9, 2017Catching the Wind by Melanie Dobson, © 2017Amazing historical fiction ~ lost in time for this generation.A river ran through town and lapped against the foundations of old shops now housing establishments like Subway and Starbucks. And an abandoned stone castle perched on a grassy hill, overlooking the town.--Catching the Wind, 105.I look at the old stately oaks reaching the sky behind our house on the ridge and wonder what it was like here in earlier times.This story will ca Tuesday, May 9, 2017Catching the Wind by Melanie Dobson, © 2017Amazing historical fiction ~ lost in time for this generation.A river ran through town and lapped against the foundations of old shops now housing establishments like Subway and Starbucks. And an abandoned stone castle perched on a grassy hill, overlooking the town.--Catching the Wind, 105.I look at the old stately oaks reaching the sky behind our house on the ridge and wonder what it was like here in earlier times.This story will catch you from the beginning ~ survival, stretching to become part of the life you have unfolding before you. Will you catch up to where you are to be? Certain you will arrive there if you will only believe. This is Brigitte's story. Only we haven't heard it yet or discovered her whereabouts. In the untangling, it becomes others' stories too.Quenby Vaughn is a successful rooter out detail journalist author unfolding clues needed to take the next step ~ until another story embarks on the one she is already on... Lucas Hough has set out to secure the heart of his employer and most trusted friend, Daniel Knight. Will he be able to secure his own, as well? Stepping out to enfold Quenby into the silent deception all around them, will truth prevail before it gobbles them up inside it?Daniel Knight has led a life of longing, for the past to become his present. Memories of Brigitte and his pledge to watch out for her and protect her have long since been lost to him. Because he didn't take a step when he could have? Believing he was doing the best thing for her in releasing her to another? Doubts and regrets surface as they have over the past seventy some years. A lostness continuing for him ~ and wonderings... Is she alive? Did she survive? Did he do his best really as he strove to bring her warmth and continuance beyond what he could provide at the time? These questions stalk him and he hopes beyond reason that Quenby can unfold the mystery others have been unable to obtain for him ~ and hopefully for her ~ Brigitte, his heart's desire of all things good.Step into 1940 Germany and a 2017 isle of hope, to meld them both into a now that is complete.Wordsmith Melanie Dobson has circled back to the beginning to unravel the crushing merits of war and deluge of men uncertain of who is right in what they are striving for among themselves. Is it for their past and their debilitating attempt to resurface what they have gained and lost? For truly, there is no merit of war that destroys the heart. The heart of the people trying to maintain a semblance of their every day among muddle that surfaces to destroy them and change their generational aim of peace and security for their families and their offsprings' holdings. Peace, joy and song to resonate in their souls, their very beings. Resounding in truth amid the birdsong and lack thereof.Catching the Wind will have you remembering and sorting long after the last page to grasp the simplicity of an unhampered longing ~ of a smile, so simple and joyful that all of life can be contained in it. Determination to keep searching until it is replaced in its rightful place, complete in joy and received with relief. To be home, joining heart and soul to the spirit within.***Thank you, author Melanie Dobson and to Tyndale House Publishers for sending an Advance Reader Copy of Catching the Wind. This review was written in my own words. No other compensation was received.***
    more
  • Barb Klein
    May 10, 2017
    “Catching the Wind” by Melanie Dobson is a very fascinating novel. Dietmar Roth and Brigitte Berthold were childhood friends back in Germany in 1940. Dietmar was three years older than Brigitte at the age of 13. Of course Germany was under Nazi rule at this time and everyone was tense and scared. One afternoon, the children were together playing when they heard screams and ran home. Just in time they hid as they saw the Gestapo taking away their parents. Dietmar ran to the window in his home and “Catching the Wind” by Melanie Dobson is a very fascinating novel. Dietmar Roth and Brigitte Berthold were childhood friends back in Germany in 1940. Dietmar was three years older than Brigitte at the age of 13. Of course Germany was under Nazi rule at this time and everyone was tense and scared. One afternoon, the children were together playing when they heard screams and ran home. Just in time they hid as they saw the Gestapo taking away their parents. Dietmar ran to the window in his home and saw his mother mouth the words “RUN!”. He grabbed Brigitte and they ran for all they were worth, finally making their way to Belgium. Although Belgium was also under German rule, they were able to escape to England where they were parted and sent to various locations. They were thought to be British children and were being evacuated to escape the Blitz. They were never reunited.Seventy years later, Quenby Vaughn is doing an article on English aristocratic families who collaborated with the Germans during the war. Some provided safe houses for German soldiers who were infiltrating the public and sending messages over wireless to Germany apprising them of troop locations and air fields. Sabotage was part of their plan. They thought Germany would win the war and they wanted to be ready to accept German rule as a friend to the invaders.Lucas Hough, a lawyer representing Daniel Knight, seeks Quenby and requests that she meet his employer for a job. Quenby is not interested until Daniel, alias Dietmar Roth, tells her of his past life. He is searching for Brigitte, not knowing if she is dead or alive, but to reassure himself that he finds out about her before he passes away.Little did Quenby know that along with searching for Brigitte, she will uncover information that her investigation into treason among the higher set also includes Brigitte’s past life. I was SO interested in the chapters dealing with the involvement of so many of British aristocratic members and their savagery. The years gone by have made searching for Brigitte a definitely difficult task, but I was pulled into the story by the intriguing manipulation of the story line by Ms. Dobson. What a great read! My only criticism is that the ending was not as satisfying as I’d hoped. In fact, I was a little disappointed because I did not think it altogether fit the story…a little too contrived, I think. However, I would highly recommend this book because my observations may be very different from another reader.Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. You can read this review on my blog at http://wp.me/p2pjIt-qR. Check out other book reviews at http://imhookedonbooks.wordpress.com.
    more
  • Meagan Myhren-bennett
    May 22, 2017
    Catching the Wind By Melanie DobsonCatching the Wind is a beautiful story about the power of keeping a promise. This promise was one made nearly 80 years before and for Daniel Knight, time is running out. He is determined to keep Brigette, his childhood friend, safe and to see her again as he promised all those years ago before circumstance and war separated them.This story takes the reader between the past and the present day as the search for Brigitte Berthold unfolds. Daniel and Brigitte esca Catching the Wind By Melanie DobsonCatching the Wind is a beautiful story about the power of keeping a promise. This promise was one made nearly 80 years before and for Daniel Knight, time is running out. He is determined to keep Brigette, his childhood friend, safe and to see her again as he promised all those years ago before circumstance and war separated them.This story takes the reader between the past and the present day as the search for Brigitte Berthold unfolds. Daniel and Brigitte escaped from the Gestapo who took their parents. But that is just the beginning of their journey as they make their way to England and safety. But the safety they hoped for was was not to be. And since the day Daniel last saw Brigitte he has wondered what became of her...Seventy-seven years have passed and all Daniel's efforts to find his childhood friend have hit dead ends. When Quenby Vaughn comes to Daniel's attention he is convinced that this young woman may be just who he needs. Quenby has a heart as her journalistic endeavors have shown and Daniel needs someone who will invest their heart in his search of a lifetime. But convincing Quenby to take the job may be a tad difficult. And unfortunately for Lucas Hough he has been tasked with trying to get Quenby to accept the challenge. But Brigitte's story has a powerful pull and Quenby can't help but find herself intrigued by the mystery. The mystery of Brigitte is about to coincide with a story that Quenby has been working on. A story that could very well expose a hidden secret, a secret that someone wants to keep hidden. And they are willing to do anything to stop Quenby and Lucas as they join forces in their search.I have never read Melanie Dobson's work before and was thrilled to discover her work. She brings her characters to life. The back and forth between the past and the present is not detracting and just adds to the story's pull. This book will appeal to those who love historical fiction with a very obvious thread of mystery that runs throughout. Also appealing is the gradual unveiling of Quenby's own story. I was provided a complimentary review copy of this book by Tyndale House Publishers with no expectations of a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own
    more
  • Crystal
    May 23, 2017
    Nazi Germany and modern day collide in Dobson’s poignant tale of the perils of war and tragedy experienced by loved ones separated during WWII. Catching the Wind follows the story of two childhood best friends- Daniel and Brigitte- fleeing their home in Nazi-controlled Germany at the ages of 13 and 10 respectively. After covertly traipsing through Germany, Belgium, and eventually England where they hope to find refuge, Daniel and Brigitte are separated when Daniel mistakenly believes Brigitte wo Nazi Germany and modern day collide in Dobson’s poignant tale of the perils of war and tragedy experienced by loved ones separated during WWII. Catching the Wind follows the story of two childhood best friends- Daniel and Brigitte- fleeing their home in Nazi-controlled Germany at the ages of 13 and 10 respectively. After covertly traipsing through Germany, Belgium, and eventually England where they hope to find refuge, Daniel and Brigitte are separated when Daniel mistakenly believes Brigitte would be safer if she went to live with a British family sheltering evacuee children from the war. Although believed to be temporary, the events that unfold after the separation lead to more tragedy for Brigitte and Daniel’s lifelong mission to find his lost friend. As such, Daniel hires journalist, Quinby Vaughan, to work with his lawyer, Lucas Hough, with a charge to complete the seemingly impossible task of tracking down Brigitte after 70 years of searching without success. Together, Quinby and Lucas piece together Brigitte’s destiny in a tale that is heart-wrenching, soul inspiring, and satisfying.I enjoyed the format Dobson used to unfurl Brigitte’s story. Chapters alternate between Brigitte’s experiences during WWII and Quenby and Lucas’s discovery of clues along the way. Dobson masterfully intertwines details from the past into the modern day quest for Brigitte adding just enough mystery to spur the reader’s curiosity and imagination. I couldn’t put this book down! Each page I turned fueled my drive to know what happened to Brigitte! A secondary plot line also emerged with a developing romance between Quinby and Lucas. Their story was well-paced with a natural progression to the relationship that did not deter the reader from the more mysterious story of Brigitte’s fate.This review contains my own thoughts and opinions. I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Becky
    May 7, 2017
    Catching the Wind is the best book I've read so far this year. When the Gestapo come to Dietmar's and Brigitte's homes and arrests their parents, Dietmar and Brigitte (ages 13 and 10) run away from Germany. Dietmar and Brigitte are best friends and stay together through all kinds of trials and obstacles. Dietmar is also Brigitte's knight, and he carved a little princess for Brigitte. Fast forward seventy years later, and Dietmar is now known as Daniel and he wants to find Brigitte. He hires Quen Catching the Wind is the best book I've read so far this year. When the Gestapo come to Dietmar's and Brigitte's homes and arrests their parents, Dietmar and Brigitte (ages 13 and 10) run away from Germany. Dietmar and Brigitte are best friends and stay together through all kinds of trials and obstacles. Dietmar is also Brigitte's knight, and he carved a little princess for Brigitte. Fast forward seventy years later, and Dietmar is now known as Daniel and he wants to find Brigitte. He hires Quenby Vaughn to investigate and find her. Melanie Dobson has written the book with a look at World War II as it was lived in England and a look at the present day investigative journalism. Even though World War II ended over seventy years ago, there are still people who still stand with Germany's Fascism of the era. Melanie has also included parts of the war most people were unaware of or refused to acknowledge--microphotography, Fascist sympathetic neighbors who were working as double agents, and refugees who were picked up to be used as slaves.There were times I laughed (but not many) and even more times I cried. The troubles that Dietmar and Brigitte experienced are beyond my reckoning, but Melanie's skill with a pen brought them to life in a way that makes the reader feel as if he or she is in the middle of the plot. I wish I could give this more than five stars, but that's all I am allowed, but I'll add my usual two thumbs up, and a carved princess to see you through the trials.My thanks to Tyndale House Publishers for allowing me to read and review this book.
    more
  • Pam Ecrement
    May 10, 2017
    Quenby Vaughn, an American journalist, loved her job working in London for the World News Syndicate. Investigative reporting suited her perfectly. She had recently written a series of articles about the influx of refugees in England. Her current assignment to discover the truth about an American citizen who had married into a wealthy, upper class British family during World War II intrigued her. Few people knew of how ordinary British citizens and even those of the upper class had supported Nazi Quenby Vaughn, an American journalist, loved her job working in London for the World News Syndicate. Investigative reporting suited her perfectly. She had recently written a series of articles about the influx of refugees in England. Her current assignment to discover the truth about an American citizen who had married into a wealthy, upper class British family during World War II intrigued her. Few people knew of how ordinary British citizens and even those of the upper class had supported Nazi Germany during World War II.Quenby’s story’s focus was Lady Ricker, who was suspected by the British government of assisting the Nazis during World War II. Sorting through stacks of documents had not given her any solid proof that Lady Ricker had operated as a spy despite more than a few coincidences and hints that she had. Melanie Dobson, author of Catching the Wind, writes a powerful and captivating novel with many twists and turns that include a collision of both of Quenby’s assignments. What Quenby doesn’t expect is coming face-to-face with her own story that she has tried to avoid for her entire life. I love a good story and this surely is one! The backdrop Melanie Dobson paints of true information about what was happening in the heart of Britain during World War II was of special interest to me as a lover of history. I look forward to reading more of her stories and couldn’t put this one down.
    more
  • Cyndi Beane-Henry
    May 8, 2017
    Dobson is a master story teller! She breathes life into her characters like none other! They are old friends, best friends, and worst enemies.Dobson tells a tale as old as time. She brings you to the brink of disaster, rescues you, drops you, and then lifts you higher than you ever dreamed! All between the front and back cover of this marvelous work! She tells a tale of hope for the future by revisiting the past.The author has a masterpiece here. And I highly recommend it for your summer reading Dobson is a master story teller! She breathes life into her characters like none other! They are old friends, best friends, and worst enemies.Dobson tells a tale as old as time. She brings you to the brink of disaster, rescues you, drops you, and then lifts you higher than you ever dreamed! All between the front and back cover of this marvelous work! She tells a tale of hope for the future by revisiting the past.The author has a masterpiece here. And I highly recommend it for your summer reading list! But be forewarned, you will need a lazy summer day, with nothing else to do but relax and read, because once you open the first page, you won't want to put it down until you have devoured the whole thing.I give this book five stars,a big thumbs up,and my personal recommendation.You can purchase the book from Amazon. It retails for $15.31 for the hardcover, $8.56 for the paperback (both of these be sure to add shipping and handling) or $8.13 for the Kindle version.****DISCLAIMER: The above book was provided by Tyndale Publishers in exchange for a fair and impartial review. The opinions above are solely those of this reviewer, and may not reflect those of other reviewers.
    more
  • Kelly Bridgewater
    May 15, 2017
    Catching the Wind by Melanie Dobson is written in the widely popular time-slip model, which basically means the novel is told from two time periods in order for the reader to understand the story. Even though the story takes place in two different time periods, Dobson labeled every single chapter with the time period, so I was never once lost in what time period I was in. Dobson does a great job at keeping the setting in my mind by drawing me in with her descriptive language. Mixing World War I Catching the Wind by Melanie Dobson is written in the widely popular time-slip model, which basically means the novel is told from two time periods in order for the reader to understand the story. Even though the story takes place in two different time periods, Dobson labeled every single chapter with the time period, so I was never once lost in what time period I was in. Dobson does a great job at keeping the setting in my mind by drawing me in with her descriptive language. Mixing World War II and London together in a novel is a huge plus for me. Filled with an interesting cast of characters and a plot that doesn't stop, I had a hard time putting Catching the Wind down. I really enjoyed watching Quenby as she searches for meaning and the ability to forgive and let go of the past. Following Brigitte and Dietmar's story kept me riveted to the pages. I couldn't wait to see if Mr. Knight would find Brigitte. Fans of Dobson's other writings, Secrets She Kept by Cathy Gohkle, or Kristy Cambron should pick this pick up.I received a complimentary copy of Catching the Wind by Melanie Dobson from Tyndale Publishing, and the opinions stated are all my own.
    more
Write a review