Just Look Up
After tirelessly climbing the ranks of her Chicago-based interior design firm, Lane Kelley is about to land her dream promotion when devastating news about her brother draws her back home--a quaint tourist town full of memories she'd just as soon forget. With her cell phone and laptop always within reach, Lane aims to check on her brother while staying focused on work--something her eclectic family doesn't understand.Ryan Brooks never expected to settle down in Harbor Pointe, Michigan, but after his final tour of duty, it was the only place that felt like home. Now knee-deep in a renovation project that could boost tourism for the struggling town, he is thrilled to see Lane, the girl he secretly once loved, even if the circumstances of her homecoming aren't ideal.Their reunion gets off to a rocky start, however, when Ryan can't find a trace of the girl he once knew in the woman she is today. As he slowly chips away at the walls Lane has built, secrets from his past collide with a terrible truth even he is reluctant to believe. Facing a crossroads that could define his future with Lane and jeopardize his relationship with the surrogate family he's found in the Kelleys, Ryan hopes Lane can see that maybe what really matters has been right in front of her all along--if only she'd just look up.

Just Look Up Details

TitleJust Look Up
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherTyndale House Publishers
ISBN1496421485
ISBN-139781496421487
Rating
GenreChristian Fiction, Contemporary, Fiction, Christian

Just Look Up Review

  • Toni Shiloh
    June 16, 2017
    Y'all, Just Look Up maybe my favorite Courtney Walsh book. I know that's hard to believe because Paper Hearts is phenomenal (not to mention her others), but I'm picking Just Look Up because I literally devoured it.From the moment I read the opening line I was hook. Ms. Walsh effectively created tension on the very first page. I knew something was coming, but what? Side note: I don't read blurbs, unless I have to.Every part in the story created more tension, more intrigue. Lane seemed to have a h Y'all, Just Look Up maybe my favorite Courtney Walsh book. I know that's hard to believe because Paper Hearts is phenomenal (not to mention her others), but I'm picking Just Look Up because I literally devoured it.From the moment I read the opening line I was hook. Ms. Walsh effectively created tension on the very first page. I knew something was coming, but what? Side note: I don't read blurbs, unless I have to.Every part in the story created more tension, more intrigue. Lane seemed to have a heartbreaking background. I empathized with her and wanted to give her a hug. :) And Ryan was the perfect hero for Lane! Perfect, I say!! His wit, charm, and loyalty was refreshing. Even more interesting, her family loved him like their own.Y'all, there is so much more to this book than just the romantic feels. Although, Ms. Walsh wrote them in spade! Ryan and Lane both have a past to overcome and a God who can put it all into perspective. You'll love Just Look Up.*I received an ARC copy via NetGalley. This is my own, honest opinion.
    more
  • Michelle
    June 28, 2017
    This is the first book by Courtney I have read and while I enjoyed this overall story line this simply wasn't the book for me. The whole concept of "just looking up" and realizing what is important is wonderful. Especially now with all of the crazy things that have our constant attention, look up from your phone, pay attention to someone, acknowledge your surrounds, etc. So I loved that part of the story! I had a difficult time connecting with Lane and really struggled with being captivated by t This is the first book by Courtney I have read and while I enjoyed this overall story line this simply wasn't the book for me. The whole concept of "just looking up" and realizing what is important is wonderful. Especially now with all of the crazy things that have our constant attention, look up from your phone, pay attention to someone, acknowledge your surrounds, etc. So I loved that part of the story! I had a difficult time connecting with Lane and really struggled with being captivated by the entire plot. The first part of the book had me hooked and then it just got a bit slow for me. That being said, I am curious to read other books by Courtney so I need to check those out. Three and a half stars. "I received this book from Tyndale Publishing for free. All opinions are my own."
    more
  • Holly
    June 16, 2017
    Very, very good! I was pleasantly surprised by this one!
  • Amy
    February 14, 2017
    When I first saw the title of this book, my mind immediately got to thinking this was going to be about the need to 'Look Up' and see ourselves the way God see's us. This isn't the direction that Courtney takes us, however I cannot tell you how strongly this subliminal message resonated with me. One thing I absolutely must do at the end of a book, is read the Author notes. Here I found this phrase '"Just look up!...Look around at everything you are missing!"' How often do we live our lives, buri When I first saw the title of this book, my mind immediately got to thinking this was going to be about the need to 'Look Up' and see ourselves the way God see's us. This isn't the direction that Courtney takes us, however I cannot tell you how strongly this subliminal message resonated with me. One thing I absolutely must do at the end of a book, is read the Author notes. Here I found this phrase '"Just look up!...Look around at everything you are missing!"' How often do we live our lives, buried deep in our work, our phones, our laptops & computers? Do we miss the beauty that surrounds us, the daily interactions within our homes? We need to stop focusing on what doesn't ultimately matter, and cherish what does. Life will pass us by while we focus on the unnecessary. This message feeds all the way through this story, even including some of the minor characters. While the general message is one of career & technology holding us down, we also can recognize that Ryan's Dad has missed his entire life due to Alcoholism. Lindsay lost a fragile relationship with her only sister over a bad choice. Lane, wonderful Lane, lost many years due to a focus on a unforgiveable (to her) hurt and pain, mingled in with a slew of unpleasant childhood experiences. Of course, with God, we are able to do the things we don't feel capable of on our own. His grace can help us make changes in our lives to let go and look up. He can help us move past the hurts & sorrows. He can help us overcome addiction. I am so very grateful for every single message I took away from this beautiful story. Lane Kelley, is a skillful Interior Designer based out of Chicago. She lives her life with one goal in mind. Success. She will do anything to retain it. That includes sacrificing nights, weekends, vacations, sleep & social life. She has one friend, her loyal assistant Chloe. Her loft apartment is her sanctity. She has the control she craved for so long. However, she is entangled into a corporate world that is so competitive even those within her team after using underhanded means in order to oust her. Lane has had her eye on the Creative Director position, and believes this next pitch will be the one that secures it. The call comes to notify Lane that her brother, Nate, the one member of her family who has been loyal to her, has been seriously injured and is in a coma. Will she drop everything and travel the 3 hours home to Harbor Pointe? A place she so desperately never wants to return to, she hasn't been home in years. This could not have happened at a worse time. Ryan Brooks, raised on the wrong side of the tracks and despite the abuse of an alcoholic father and abandoned by his mother, was rescued by Lane's family as a teenager. Employed by her father to work in the family store in exchange for food and money for Ryan and his sister Hailey, Ryan slowly became a part of the Kelley Family. Escaping to enlist in the Army, he is now home and putting everything he has into a development of 12 vacation cottages. His hope is that by providing more lodging options to tourists he can give back to the town that has given him so much. When the motorcycle accident throws him and his best friend Nate Kelley into hospital, he encounters the one person that he has loved since the moment he first saw her. Never imaging that he would see Lane again, he is taken right back. Back to those years when his sole focus was to ease those little snippets of her personality that made her shine, and that she rarely showed anyone. I loved getting to know these characters. They are so complex, with every raw emotion jumping right out of the pages. Courtney Walsh writes with such a depth of insight into each and every single one of her main characters. She masters this skill so well. Nothing is hurried. Everything is just right from the scene descriptions to the thoughts going through the characters minds. I love the shore of Lake Michigan, and Harbor Pointe is the perfect sleepy in winter, crazy busy in summer tourist town. The contrast of Chicago, which is a fun energetic city, was perfect. Two sharply differing worlds set against each other, for me there is only one winner - and that would be Harbor Pointe!Utterly unpredictable, I could not put this book down. This was the best story to complete on Valentine's Day, and has inspired me to make this day great. To put down the devices, and truly treasure every single moment. Thank you so much to Tyndale & Netgalley for this complimentary advanced reader copy. Here is my honest review.
    more
  • Melissa
    April 28, 2017
    https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...Walsh's latest is an intriguing look at the busyness of modern life and the need to slow down and appreciate things. Lane's character gets tied up in the past for too long and the pace slows because of it. Her family and friends' rudeness to Lane and their inability to try to understand her hurts is grating and seems over-the-top unrealistic. The romance between Lane and Ryan is beautifully developed and more than makes up for the book's shortcomings. Read https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...Walsh's latest is an intriguing look at the busyness of modern life and the need to slow down and appreciate things. Lane's character gets tied up in the past for too long and the pace slows because of it. Her family and friends' rudeness to Lane and their inability to try to understand her hurts is grating and seems over-the-top unrealistic. The romance between Lane and Ryan is beautifully developed and more than makes up for the book's shortcomings. Readers will be captivated by their relationship and root for them to end up together.After forging a life for herself as an interior designer in Chicago, Lane Kelley receives news that her brother was involved in a serious accident and Lane needs to return to her hometown right away. Many issues from the past have kept Lane away from her large family, but she reluctantly agrees to travel home. Even though it has been years, nothing seems to have changed in Harbor Point, Michigan, and Lane tries to balance family responsibilities with her high-pressure job, doing neither very well. She reconnects with childhood friend Ryan Brooks, and the two reforge their friendship, which might develop into something stronger if the two allow it to happen.
    more
  • Susan Snodgrass
    June 9, 2017
    I thoroughly enjoyed every part of this book. Courtney Walsh has does an absolutely excellent job here. The characters are so well developed that they seem real even from the first page and the emotions that she has placed in them just felt so incredibly real. Not like people on the pages of a book. Lane Kelley left her hometown after graduation and hasn't been back in 7 years when she receives horrible news about her brother that compels her to return back home to the quaint tourist town that's I thoroughly enjoyed every part of this book. Courtney Walsh has does an absolutely excellent job here. The characters are so well developed that they seem real even from the first page and the emotions that she has placed in them just felt so incredibly real. Not like people on the pages of a book. Lane Kelley left her hometown after graduation and hasn't been back in 7 years when she receives horrible news about her brother that compels her to return back home to the quaint tourist town that's full of memories she would rather never revisit. She intends to keep focused on her work while in her hometown, check on her brother and leave. After all, she's in line for a huge promotion at her Chicago interior design firm.Ryan Brooks has settled in Harbor Pointe, Michigan after being discharged from the military because it's the only place that felt like home. He is deep into a renovation project that will hopefully boost tourism for his town and he is thrilled to see Lane again, the girl he has secretly loved for years. Ryan can't find that girl in Lane anymore. She is driven, independent and completely closed off. He begins to chip away at he walls Lane has built when secrets from his past collide with a terrible truth even he is reluctant to believe. Ryan, however, hopes that Lane will see what's been right in front of her all along and just look up.This is a novel that will beg to be read again and again. It's so good! Lane has carried so much hurt around with her for so many years, and she has decided that she will be just fine without anyone around her to love. The reader can feel the pain that Lane carries inside her heart. She refuses to believe that she can possibly matter to anyone. Ryan Brooks has always felt that Lane was worth loving, but he just can't get her to believe it. All she wants to do is check on her brother and leave town, getting back to her high powered and never ending job. Courtney Walsh plumbs the depth of emotions in these two characters, weaving a story that is both heart wrenching and joyful. The themes here include grace, forgiveness and mercy, sometimes when none is expected or even thought should be given. It is a powerful story of family and friendship and what just a simple act of forgiveness can accomplish. I loved every moment and am still thinking about it after closing that last page.*I was given a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher via Net Galley. My opinions are my own and honest.
    more
  • Rachael
    June 13, 2017
    I really enjoyed this read...it was much different than Paper Hearts. However, it was just as good a read. Lots of family issues and dynamics play into this one. I can relate on family issues as I have four siblings.The best message I came away with was not focus on yourself, but look around you and be thankful for the people God has placed in our lives. Life doesn't always go as we hope, but sometime God has better plans. I really enjoyed the characters in this story and the realism of difficul I really enjoyed this read...it was much different than Paper Hearts. However, it was just as good a read. Lots of family issues and dynamics play into this one. I can relate on family issues as I have four siblings.The best message I came away with was not focus on yourself, but look around you and be thankful for the people God has placed in our lives. Life doesn't always go as we hope, but sometime God has better plans. I really enjoyed the characters in this story and the realism of difficulties families face with all the different personalities and circumstances that come along. The plot wasn't exactly original, but I did enjoy it.Life is many times what we decide to make of it. This book does such a great job of pointing that out...sort of a coming of age story, only with an older heroine. Great read!"She forgave her like it was nothing-like Lane had never hurt her feelings in the first place. She forgave her like it was something she'd been wanting to do for years...No one had ever shown her that kind of grace before.""God had shown her, through Brook's unconditional love, that it wasn't what she did that made her important, special, or worthy. It was simply who she was."I received this book from the publisher. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Amy
    June 5, 2017
    While the description appealed to me, the writing did not. I found it much too shallow and telling, and was unable to relate to or care about the characters enough to keep reading.
  • Kimberly Laursen
    June 16, 2017
    I absolutely loved this book. The characters, setting and storyline simply enveloped me in every way. This book is titled brilliantly from the idea of heads always down in our tech-saturated, always-busy-on-the-go and must be "connected" world, right down to the shy, lacking in confidence heroine. "Just Look Up" says it all. We enter the story in a hectic paced business world in Chicago, right into a family emergency that pulls Lane right back to a quaint tourist town in Michigan, a place she ha I absolutely loved this book. The characters, setting and storyline simply enveloped me in every way. This book is titled brilliantly from the idea of heads always down in our tech-saturated, always-busy-on-the-go and must be "connected" world, right down to the shy, lacking in confidence heroine. "Just Look Up" says it all. We enter the story in a hectic paced business world in Chicago, right into a family emergency that pulls Lane right back to a quaint tourist town in Michigan, a place she has been trying to forget. So much hurt, perceived and genuine, lays in the place and people Lane returns to due to her brother's accident. In her attempt to overcome and prove herself Lane has a distorted picture of the life she grew up with and the life she currently lives. Through unconditional love, that Lane is reluctant to accept, her perspective is shifted and in so doing she realizes that not everything is always as it seems. She must be willing to look up and take in the full picture. I appreciate stories full of growth, grace and overcoming. This story has so many hit you in the gut moments, it will defiantly stay with me and cause me to take in my surroundings and reflect more openly on my past. Courtney Walsh has a way with words, creating characters, settings and situations that are realistic, meaningful and a delight to journey through.
    more
  • Lisa
    June 17, 2017
    Sometimes I'm afraid that if I keep reading books by the same author, I'm going to stumble onto one I don't care for. So far, so good with Courtney Walsh, and her newest release, Just Look Up, is a soul-satisfying read.Featuring two characters with childhood baggage, Just Look Up illustrates how isolating the pain of rejection can be and how persistent love can lead to healing. Lane and Ryan are likable and adorable childhood friends who haven't seen each other in a while. A family emergency bri Sometimes I'm afraid that if I keep reading books by the same author, I'm going to stumble onto one I don't care for. So far, so good with Courtney Walsh, and her newest release, Just Look Up, is a soul-satisfying read.Featuring two characters with childhood baggage, Just Look Up illustrates how isolating the pain of rejection can be and how persistent love can lead to healing. Lane and Ryan are likable and adorable childhood friends who haven't seen each other in a while. A family emergency brings them back in contact, and their emotional wounds threaten to keep them apart.It's page-turning and far from predictable. (Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the book from the publisher. Opinion reflected in this review is my honest one.) Courtney is one of my favorite writers because she includes the right amount of detail: enough to paint a picture but not too much to stall the story. Her settings feel like real places and the situations her characters face are never easy and always relatable.Any book by Courtney should be on your to-read list. Add this one to your summer reading plans this year. It'll make you squirm a little, crave belonging, and sigh with satisfaction.
    more
  • Pam
    May 30, 2017
    Courtney Walsh does it again! I believe this is Courtney's best book yet!When I first read the title I expected the book to be about looking up to God for help. While that certainly is a part of it, for the most part it's a reminder to look up from our electronics and unplug a bit.How many times have you looked around a room full of people or a restaurant and seen so many with their faces buried in their cell phones. As we all go through the crazy busy of life Just Look Up is a wonderful reminde Courtney Walsh does it again! I believe this is Courtney's best book yet!When I first read the title I expected the book to be about looking up to God for help. While that certainly is a part of it, for the most part it's a reminder to look up from our electronics and unplug a bit.How many times have you looked around a room full of people or a restaurant and seen so many with their faces buried in their cell phones. As we all go through the crazy busy of life Just Look Up is a wonderful reminder that we have one life, need to slow down sometimes and enjoy that life. I believe many readers will be able to relate to the main character Lane as she struggles as an adult to face (or try to hide) from the challenges and what she perceived as being bullied growing up in a small town. After leaving her home town her one goal is to be the most successful she can. Lane returns to her hometown after a family member has a serious accident. Lane has a high pressure, very successful job in Chicago and she reluctantly takes emergency leave to go back home so she can be there for her brother. Her work is not very supportive of her leaving and a promotion that she has worked hard for is on the line. While back home in Harbor Pointe she's faced with many of the issues that she ran away from. She still holds onto what she considered an unforgivable act by a family member causing her to have such bitterness and hardness in her heart. She meets another old friend who tries to remind her there's more to life than having your nose in a cell phone and forgiveness will set you free.The romance that develops between Lane and Brook is predictable but enjoyable. There are other romances and also a look into some relationships that aren't what they appear to be. Overall I loved this story and highly recommend it!Thanks and gratitude to the publishers for allowing me an advanced copy through NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Becky
    June 6, 2017
    You can never go wrong reading a Courtney Walsh novel, and Just Look Up is a clear reminder of this. The story was wonderfully entertaining and heart warming. Lane is an amazingly well written character with a personality and struggles that are easy to relate to. Ryan is the epitome of peace and patience and as the story develops those qualities grow stronger and more endearing. Walsh addresses real issues many of us face and shows them in an entertaining way and begs the question, how can our l You can never go wrong reading a Courtney Walsh novel, and Just Look Up is a clear reminder of this. The story was wonderfully entertaining and heart warming. Lane is an amazingly well written character with a personality and struggles that are easy to relate to. Ryan is the epitome of peace and patience and as the story develops those qualities grow stronger and more endearing. Walsh addresses real issues many of us face and shows them in an entertaining way and begs the question, how can our lives change if we Just Look Up?I was given a complementary copy of this novel.
    more
  • Shannon Graupman
    June 8, 2017
    Such a great read!! I felt like I was right there with the characters and loved their stories. Many surprises along the way!! Love Courtney's book, definitely a must read!!
  • Chamara Janssen
    May 16, 2017
    I always enjoy Courtney Walsh's books, so I jumped at the chance to read her latest, "Just Look Up". Honestly, I didn't even read the back, just jumped right in and started to enjoy. I always love her characters and this book was no different. The character of Lane is easy to relate to: she is driven, yet anxious and leads a life trying to prove herself better than her past self. On some level, we've all been there. Then there is Brooks: easy-going, funny, a guy who's good looking and knows it. I always enjoy Courtney Walsh's books, so I jumped at the chance to read her latest, "Just Look Up". Honestly, I didn't even read the back, just jumped right in and started to enjoy. I always love her characters and this book was no different. The character of Lane is easy to relate to: she is driven, yet anxious and leads a life trying to prove herself better than her past self. On some level, we've all been there. Then there is Brooks: easy-going, funny, a guy who's good looking and knows it. Confidence oozes out of him, but he's fighting insecurities on the inside. What I loved about this book is that you're hooked straight away, a single crisis draws you in and it's told from both points of view! Courtney teases you with each chapter, revealing a little of the mystery, giving clues to Lane's and Brooks' pasts. In a way, she writes it so that the reader feels what Lane feels for Brooks and vice versa: knowing something happened but not the whole story. Overall, it is a special romance: these characters become your friends, the town Walsh writes about makes you want to visit, the atmosphere she creates invites you to "Just Look Up".
    more
  • Janna Wilson
    March 28, 2017
    3.24I started Just Look Up earlier this week and read nearly halfway through before I could put it down! My experience with Courtney's stories is there's a common thread we can all usually relate easily to - fairly complex storylines, likable characters with Christian values and that bit of romance that has me cheering for true love! Lane Kelley is carrying some heavy baggage and has some deep wounds that she's been nursing for some time. A time of crisis can be God's way of healing the broken a 3.24I started Just Look Up earlier this week and read nearly halfway through before I could put it down! My experience with Courtney's stories is there's a common thread we can all usually relate easily to - fairly complex storylines, likable characters with Christian values and that bit of romance that has me cheering for true love! Lane Kelley is carrying some heavy baggage and has some deep wounds that she's been nursing for some time. A time of crisis can be God's way of healing the broken and giving us a new perspective on what He intends our lives to focus on. This story was a perfect example of this truth. And also never to give up on anyone! I enjoyed it so much - the light moments, the love of a strong family and community and the reassurance that these valleys of life bring us through with deeper roots and wider eyes to look up and just be grateful for the paths he's put us on.
    more
  • Nicole
    June 21, 2017
    Just Look Up (2017) is a novel by Courtney Walsh. This book will release on July 4, 2017, and will come in all forms including eBook. The book is 416 pages in length. With a full-time job and a five-year old at home, this book took me two days to read. I received a copy of the eBook from Tyndale Publishing through NetGalley; all opinions expressed in this review are my own. I give this AMAZING novel 5+ STARS. This is a Contemporary Christian Romance.This novel is AMAZING. In some ways, this was Just Look Up (2017) is a novel by Courtney Walsh. This book will release on July 4, 2017, and will come in all forms including eBook. The book is 416 pages in length. With a full-time job and a five-year old at home, this book took me two days to read. I received a copy of the eBook from Tyndale Publishing through NetGalley; all opinions expressed in this review are my own. I give this AMAZING novel 5+ STARS. This is a Contemporary Christian Romance.This novel is AMAZING. In some ways, this was one of the hardest books I have read in a long time. This novel is told via the points of view of two uniquely damaged narrators: Lane and Ryan. Lane, is a tortured woman. Her past has hurt her so deeply she has done everything to keep ALL people at arm's length including her family...especially her family. This novel was hard to read because it was like looking into a mirror. I know what it is like to do everything in my power to keep people out. I was born an introvert, so keeping people away is kind of part of my DNA, but because of a few truly awful bullies in my life and some excruciatingly rough moments, I learned to LOVE every corner away from the crowd where I could escape with a good book. I am the person who is so afraid of people I always have a ready excuse at hand just in case I need to escape. Lane escapes life through her work; if it's not work related, she too always has ready excuses for avoiding everything. What I loved so much about Lane's character is how realistic she is: her fears, her pain, the way she hides, the way she runs away, how she slowly, through God's help, eases herself back into life -- oh my goodness, so realistic.Ryan Brooks is a phenomenal character. He is a good man. He is a God-fearing man. He acts his faith. Ryan had a tough life as a kid. His mother ran off when he was little, and he took it upon himself to protect his little sister from their abusive, alcoholic father. When he is a little boy, he has an encounter with Lane's dad that changes his life forever. What I love about Ryan the most is that of all the characters in this book he should totally be the closed off character. His life growing up was hard: hunger, abuse, having to be the adult well before his time, etc. BUT, he doesn't let these circumstances make him bitter and negative. He channels his experiences to make him a better man. I respect his character so much. Ms. Walsh did an excellent job with Ryan; he is beautifully and realistically written.This novel also make a great point about disconnecting. The title is perfect: Just Look Up. That is part of Lane's problem: she has become so "connected" to her social medias, to her cell phone notifications, to her emails, to her projects, that she never looks up anymore. Once she has been disconnected and weaned off of her phone for a month, she realizes all she has lost and all she has missed out on, and realizes she must make change. Such an excellent reminder. We are all connected these days, and in some ways it is really cool to be in touch with people around the world, but are these the right connections? Are people sitting next to us that we don't really see anymore because we are too busy being "connected"? Do we need to look up? What are we missing out on?Just Look Up is the first Courtney Walsh novel I have read...it will not be the last. Ms. Walsh is an amazing writer. This story is fast-paced, poignant, and genuine. Some of the moments in this book are so well written, I had to put the book down, take a step back, and gather my emotions before I could continue reading. Ms. Walsh's ability to extract emotions from her readers is incredible. I truly felt things reading this novel that I hadn't felt in a long time. It made me stop and remember the girl I used to be. It made me thank God for how far I have come. It made me laugh out loud. It made me cry several times. My heart broke for all Lane and Ryan had gone through. I had a visceral, emotional reaction to this novel. It was cathartic and a blessing. I cannot recommend this novel enough. When it comes out on July 4th, run to the book store and get a copy of this beautiful novel. You will not be sorry that you did.
    more
  • Madison
    May 4, 2017
    4.5 starsJust Look Up is an enthralling contemporary novel, with a very relatable message of discovering one's self worth and beauty. I was wonderfully content to settle within the pages of this story and surround myself with the vibrant characters.Lane Kelley left her home town of Harbor Pointe and never looked back. She surrounds herself with work and is content to let that dictate her life - work can't hurt her like a relationship or family could. But a family accident drags Lane back home, r 4.5 starsJust Look Up is an enthralling contemporary novel, with a very relatable message of discovering one's self worth and beauty. I was wonderfully content to settle within the pages of this story and surround myself with the vibrant characters.Lane Kelley left her home town of Harbor Pointe and never looked back. She surrounds herself with work and is content to let that dictate her life - work can't hurt her like a relationship or family could. But a family accident drags Lane back home, risking a promotion and subjecting her to the shame of the past that she was so eager to escape. Ryan Brooks found solace in Harbor Pointe. To him, it is a refuge away from the trauma of war and his childhood. But the accident that nearly claims both his and his friend's life brings up his past, as does Lane retuning home. He hopes that he can show Lane that she is worth far more than her work life and that in taking the time to slow down she might find contentment and be willing to risk her heart again.I am so glad I read this novel. I didn't overly enjoy Paper Hearts, the only other book I have previously read by this author, and I was a little reluctant to take the risk on this, her latest release. But I am so glad I did read it because it was so worth it. Just Look Up was simply wonderful. The characters and settings, both Lane's busy work of Chicago and the small-town Harbor Pointe, leapt off the page. Lane Kelley was a character to whom it was so easy to relate. As was her constant struggle with self image and valuing herself. My heart went out to Lane. The way her family and the people of Harbor Pointe treated her, both as a child and an adult, was absolutely terrible. Where's the common decency? You just don't say those kind of things to people! I wanted to shake them or yell at them. You call yourself a loving family? But Lane's family are human and they naturally made a few mistakes, and it was Lane who carried the emotional brunt of those mistakes. But Lane made a few mistakes herself (totally understandable, given the circumstances) by wrapping that hurt around her and letting it isolate her from her family, friends, and the world. She buried herself in work and tried to define her worth in success and achievements. Returning to Harbor Pointe and reconnecting with Ryan brings all her old feelings to the surface once again.Ryan Brooks is a darling. I loved him! His dogged determination to reach out to Lane is wonderful. He has always loved her, but was never brave enough to act on his feelings. Until now. He knows it will take perseverance to show Lane how much he values her, as well as giving her space to figure some things out on her own. Ryan hides his insecurities underneath a facade of humour, charm, and flirting. Lane is one of the few people to ever see beyond that facade. But hidden behind that surface is a man who cares deeply, worries about his responsibilities, and wants so desperately to do the right thing and somehow give back to all the people who have supported him.There are additional romances in this story which are just begging to be shared in their own books. I would especially love it if Ryan's sister Hailey got her own story. Faith is gently woven into Just Look Up and is the perfect underpinning factor to this story. Just Look up has a lovely balance between self discovery, faith, family, and romance.This whole book has a golden glow to it, much like the long shadows and fading sunlight on a beautiful afternoon. This tone resonated through the story, making it a delightful book to read. I was surprised and enchanted by this story. I connected deeply with the characters, especially Lane, and I fell in love with this story of finding the time to slow down, look up and appreciate everything going on around. The publishers provided an advanced readers copy of this book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.Find more reviews, reading age guides, content advisory, and recommendations on my blog Madison's Library.
    more
  • Kathleen (Kat) Smith
    June 20, 2017
    For some busy, just trying to cross off all the items off their daily "to do" list would make them feel accomplished, but not for Lane Kelley. To say that she lives for her job would simply be an understatement. She lives and breathes her job as a potential promotion as creative director looms before her based on the success of her presentation. She knows her ability to tap into exactly what the client needs and aside from the nervousness residing within her, she knows she shouldn't be at all wo For some busy, just trying to cross off all the items off their daily "to do" list would make them feel accomplished, but not for Lane Kelley. To say that she lives for her job would simply be an understatement. She lives and breathes her job as a potential promotion as creative director looms before her based on the success of her presentation. She knows her ability to tap into exactly what the client needs and aside from the nervousness residing within her, she knows she shouldn't be at all worried. I mean everything in her career has lead up to this one pivotal moment in her life, so the fact she spent every waking moment practicing her speech and presentation should count for something. It has all lead up to this moment to sell her idea to a tech saavy company known as Solar.Just as she is about to face her fears, she is interrupted by a phone call from her assistant conveying to her, she has to take this call. Even the company head is looking her way wondering if she will pass this up for a phone call. However when Chloe tells her its from her family and she NEEDS to take that call, she wonders what could be so important that it couldn't wait for a couple of hours. Her brother Nate has been in a serious motorcycle accident and it doesn't look good. Despite her well-meaning intentions, she is told not to wait and get home right away. It is a home she walked away from years ago and despite all their attempts to lure her home and away from her job, she had never looked back. Now it seems with the only choice but to head home, she might just be giving up her promotion. Her company will give her a couple of days but they expect her back by Monday.Lane knew one day that motorcycle would lead Nate into an accident and that is exactly what has happened. He had been out riding with his best friend Ryan Brooks, who also crashed, but he was the lucky one. Her brother remained in a coma. Lane and Brooks had grown up together and it should be no surprise that he is one of the first people to greet her at the hospital. He always seemed to be the one to protect her even when people and friends teased her about being fat, nicknaming her Pudge, but now that person no longer exists even shedding all those pounds in an effort to leave her past behind. But for Ryan, Lane has always been the one person who knew him the best and even despite their rough childhood, they shared something more than what meets the eye. Now all he has to do is convince himself that he can't share his feelings with Lane since it is only a matter of time before she heads back to her busy job in the city and once again walks out of all their lives.I received Just Look Up by Courtney Walsh compliments of Tyndale House Publishers. This is such a coming of age in reverse story as Lane has to deal with her lack of self esteem and bullying when she was in school, not only from those in her class but those in her family as well. Even her heart's desire in hoping to land a husband was taken away from her and now she must do what she can to get back to work as quickly as she can or else her entire identity will be lost again, but was it ever her true self anyway? I can understand so many things from Lane's point of view from becoming so consumed by work that it fills up every ounce of time and you don't see it happening. You trade off one success to make up for past failures and I love that Ryan has never lost hope in her and teaches her that life awaits outside of work once again and that family is what you make of it. 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.
    more
  • Pam Graber
    May 23, 2017
    If I could have given this book seven or eight stars, I would have! It's been a while since I read a story that tugged every heartstring - from awwww to outrage to wow! This is my first Courtney Walsh book but I will be actively searching out her others.Lane Kelley is driven. There's no other word for her. Her drive has her career at the top of her game, ready for the promotion she's been almost guaranteed. News that her brother has been in an accident and lies comatose, could not come at a wors If I could have given this book seven or eight stars, I would have! It's been a while since I read a story that tugged every heartstring - from awwww to outrage to wow! This is my first Courtney Walsh book but I will be actively searching out her others.Lane Kelley is driven. There's no other word for her. Her drive has her career at the top of her game, ready for the promotion she's been almost guaranteed. News that her brother has been in an accident and lies comatose, could not come at a worse time. Pressure from her family to come home - something she hasn't done in years - collides with the design presentation she's set to give. Will her conscience send her on a guilt trip home and if she goes, how can she possibly keep from going under at work?Ryan Brooks came home from the war and settled back into Harbor Pointe and into the heart of the Kelley family, the only place he ever felt at home. A contractor, he's bought a community of summer cottages hoping to fix them up and draw tourists to Harbor Pointe. He knows how to open up the spaces in the cottages but decorate them? Not a chance. When the decorator he hires quits to move to California, he is frantic. Where can he find someone good at interior design who can get these done in a short amount of time?Ryan was Lane 's best, and sometimes only, friend growing up. While nearly every kid in town, including most of her siblings, tormented her about her weight, Ryan remained her friend. Her nickname, Pudge, follows her around making her question at one point, "How much weight do I have to lose before everyone in this town stops calling me Pudge?" Memories of being bullied have crowded out any good memories she ever had of Harbor Pointe. Every person she meets, every place she goes has a memory attached and she has to dig deep to find any good ones. Since she's reinvented herself in Chicago, why would she EVER consider staying, even for Brooks?For every girl who has ever struggled with her weight, every child who's ever been bullied, every person who's ever felt tied to their electronic devices, every wallflower who ever wished to just once be the belle, Just Look Up could be your story. The hero is one of the best I've read recently. He's steadfast, funny, tender, tough, sweet - in short, pretty much perfect for the heroine. He just needs her to look up from her phone long enough to see that she's had his heart almost forever.If you couldn't tell yet from my review, I absolutely, 100%, without a doubt in my mind, loved this book. Romance readers will especially want to pick this one up. I kind of hope Ms. Walsh is working on a sequel! What a joy this was to read!
    more
  • Elizabeth
    June 24, 2017
    I really am not a fan of the “bitter female” protagonist because so often it is completely overdone. It’s hard to get readers to sympathize with someone whom they feel is overreacting and/or being irrational. Luckily, Courtney Walsh manages to avoid most of the pitfalls in Just Look Up, although the longer I read, the sicker I got of Lane’s angst and bitterness (it’s a long book, so by the end Lane continually feeling sorry for herself wears thin). Lane has some legitimate reasons for being so c I really am not a fan of the “bitter female” protagonist because so often it is completely overdone. It’s hard to get readers to sympathize with someone whom they feel is overreacting and/or being irrational. Luckily, Courtney Walsh manages to avoid most of the pitfalls in Just Look Up, although the longer I read, the sicker I got of Lane’s angst and bitterness (it’s a long book, so by the end Lane continually feeling sorry for herself wears thin). Lane has some legitimate reasons for being so closed-off, though some of them I thought were expressed a little melodramatically by Walsh, and at least her behavior makes sense in light of her past and emotions.Ryan, unfortunately, falls into every pitfall and cliché of a love interest and of a character with his particular background. My kingdom for a love interest who doesn’t have “muscles rippling under his shirt” that the female protagonist admires and then pretends she doesn’t feel attracted to him. Nothing of Ryan’s story surprised me and he was about as interesting as a paper bag.I do think Walsh overexaggerated the extent that people rely on their cellphones, although I don’t doubt there are workaholics like Lane in the world and that people are too attached to their screens. I also am upset that there was never a scene in the novel where Lane talks with her family about her work, her stress, and the physical effects it had on her. There’s actually never really a scene where Lane gets her thoughts out, at all, or any sense of resolution or fulfillment besides a short chat with her sister. The Lane the story ends with is virtually the same Lane the story begins with, which seems counterproductive to the point Walsh is making.Just Look Up starts off well with a character type that is usually annoying, then falls flat when the length of the novel means that Lane’s bitterness starts to grate after 300+ pages with almost no progress. Maybe I’m just not very sympathetic to a character’s seemingly (and actually) irrational thoughts and behavior, especially when it’s dwelt on for the entire book and never truly resolved. I was also not a fan of Ryan, who breaks out of no “male love interest” boxes and whose story is check-box predictable, right down to his rippling muscles. I think a lot of the book is good and/or has potential, but I think a shorter book with a better sense of resolution would have made it better.Disclaimer: I received a free copy from the publisher. No review, positive or otherwise, was required—all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Becky Van Daniker
    June 23, 2017
    Can we please get this turned into a movie?! Please?! It’s that good!Courtney Walsh just keeps getting better and better with every book she releases. Just Look Up is a beautifully mind-blowing experience that everyone needs to read. This is also one of my absolute favorites of this year so far.Lane lives a busy life in Chicago and has no time time to relaxor have fun. She is so focused on her phone that she struggles communicating with those right in front of her. She’s a shy introvert who is b Can we please get this turned into a movie?! Please?! It’s that good!Courtney Walsh just keeps getting better and better with every book she releases. Just Look Up is a beautifully mind-blowing experience that everyone needs to read. This is also one of my absolute favorites of this year so far.Lane lives a busy life in Chicago and has no time time to relaxor have fun. She is so focused on her phone that she struggles communicating with those right in front of her. She’s a shy introvert who is broken, self-conscious, hurt, and struggles with trusting people so she’s built walls all around herself to shut people out. I found her relatable since I can be very shy with people, especially cute guys.Brooks is dreamy and is one of my favorite swoon-worthy male leads. I found myself crushing on him big time. He is Lane’s opposite. He comes from a broken home but found refuge from her’s growing up. She also happens to be the girl he fell in love with when they were kids. He’s selfless, dependable and is trying to get a major construction project that is meant to be a big success to Harbor Pointe.I loved every aspect of this novel. This is a fast-paced read filled with swoon-worthy romance, but isn’t a light read. In fact, this was an emotional rollercoaster. I found myself swept off my feet due to the romance, laughing at their wit and sense of humor, crying for many reasons, and cheering when something good came along. I’m the kind of person that will cry during those scenes during a movie or a book, but this had me full out bawling at times. This story is convicting and made me question my phone and social media habits. Sometimes it’s so easy to just get caught up in other things instead of the life that’s happening right in front of you. The author also points the readers and her characters back towards Jesus Christ which was beautifully done. We need more books like this.And there’s Harbor Pointe. A quiet little lake town along Lake Michigan. It has it small town problems, but most of the people are so fun and caring. They’re like family and it’s home. I wish it were real because I’ve totally visit. In fact, if I were to make a list of favorite fictional small towns, this would make it.Highly recommended!Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • maryreads
    May 12, 2017
    This was my first novel by Courtney Walsh and will not be my last!This is a real, relatable and refreshing story!Lane Kelley has made a wonderful career for herself in Chicago. Her clients love her work, she has received many awards to prove her accomplishments and her boss is ready to give her the deal of a lifetime and promote her. Lane's story is engrossing and heart-breaking. It shows how inconsiderate people can be towards one another and what a tole a comment we want to label as "simple" c This was my first novel by Courtney Walsh and will not be my last!This is a real, relatable and refreshing story!Lane Kelley has made a wonderful career for herself in Chicago. Her clients love her work, she has received many awards to prove her accomplishments and her boss is ready to give her the deal of a lifetime and promote her. Lane's story is engrossing and heart-breaking. It shows how inconsiderate people can be towards one another and what a tole a comment we want to label as "simple" can take on a person.Long ago, tired of people making her feel like an outcast, Lane embarked to college without ever looking back, thinking she could write a new story for herself. One in which she would finally be enough.But a wrenching incident makes Lane think that her past will always follow her, and eventually anyone who tries to get close will see the truth that she is not worth something special.Consequently, she closes herself from everyone and focus her life on the only thing that cannot hurt her and that can give her value, her job.It's easy to judge Lane and call her selfish and standoffish. And this is exactly the treatment she receives when a tragedy forces her to go back home. Here, the importance of Ryan Brook's friendship shines out.He has his own regrets and pain but he has never let it define who he wants to be. He's let his past teach him to pour himself on other people's life to do good and help wherever he can.Lane and Brook's interactions where heartwarming and breath taking. I loved how he took care where she was concerned to not spook her away but at the same time didn't let her distant attitude towards people keep him far.This book had me cheering and crying and sighing. It ripped my heart into pieces then put it back together.This book challenged me to "just look up" to what is right in front of me, to find out what is truly important and truly defines a person. To find love, hope and forgiveness. To always believe in possibilities and in grace.**Many thanks to the publisher for providing me a copy through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review
    more
  • Christie
    June 11, 2017
    4 1/2 starsWalsh's Just Look Up touched the hopeful romantic in me. I found Lane Kelley to be a relatable protagonist. She had a painful past marked by bullying and betrayal. She has escaped by moving away from home and her painful memories. She has built a new life for herself in Chicago- a successful career, a healthier lifestyle but she hides away in her work. Circumstances bring her back to her hometown and she has to face some things head on, including her strained relationships with family 4 1/2 starsWalsh's Just Look Up touched the hopeful romantic in me. I found Lane Kelley to be a relatable protagonist. She had a painful past marked by bullying and betrayal. She has escaped by moving away from home and her painful memories. She has built a new life for herself in Chicago- a successful career, a healthier lifestyle but she hides away in her work. Circumstances bring her back to her hometown and she has to face some things head on, including her strained relationships with family and friends.Ryan Brooks has been a family friend of the Kelley family for a long time. He was welcomed by Mr. Kelley who saw a hungry lost boy and offered him love, compassion and family. Ryan has always carried a torch for Lane. Seeing her again has brought all those feelings back and he will persevere in hopes of winning her love. He is steady when she wants to flee; supportive when she wants to run away; understanding and sympathetic in facing her fears. Walsh has created a true catch in Ryan; I can't help wishing for a man like that to love me so strongly. He loved her when Lane didn't love herself. I only wish that Ms. Walsh had also focused on God's love that had been waiting for Lane to turn to as well. For a Christian fiction novel it was pretty light on faith. Overall a riveting story of coming home again and finding what you are missing right where you left it; of unrequited love and love found. We all would do well to disconnect and "look up" and see the beauty around us. Reconnect with the ones you love and revel in your friendships; spend less time face down and focused on your virtual life and get out and live your real life to the fullest! The only reason this is not a 5 star read to me is that it isn't one that I feel drawn to re-read.Thank you Tyndale House and NetGalley for this eARC.
    more
  • Sherri Smith
    June 20, 2017
    Courtney Walsh is a new author for me, having never read any of her books, I was looking forward to diving into this one. I'm glad to say, she didn't disappoint. Instead, she soared in expectations and I've found a new author to seek out.Just Look Up is about Lane Kelley who is an interior designer for a design firm in Chicago. Leaving behind her home in a small town, she has been determined to have nothing to do with her family and the memories left behind. But tragedy strikes, and she must ret Courtney Walsh is a new author for me, having never read any of her books, I was looking forward to diving into this one. I'm glad to say, she didn't disappoint. Instead, she soared in expectations and I've found a new author to seek out.Just Look Up is about Lane Kelley who is an interior designer for a design firm in Chicago. Leaving behind her home in a small town, she has been determined to have nothing to do with her family and the memories left behind. But tragedy strikes, and she must return home. While home, she comes across an old friend, who is determined to bring out the Lane he knows must reside within her rigid walls. If only he can get her to relinquish hold of the phone and laptop. This story kept me intrigued and curious as to how it would all play out. When a turning point came in the book, I was nowhere near the end, so I knew that there was even more to the story. I was glad. I wasn't quite ready for the book to end where it did. Once, again, new author to me whom I relish reading more from in the future. There are little things that were brought up, such as Ryan and his duty overseas, but I admit, that I didn't focus much on it, knowing that I was focusing on the Lane story. However, that part of his life also explained his plans for the grand opening.What I took from the book, was my own addiction to the digital devices, and my own decision to spend more time "just looking up".I did receive this book complimentary from the publisher, but all thoughts and opinions are my own within this review.
    more
  • K P
    June 27, 2017
    Just Look Up is the latest book by Courtney Walsh. This tale begins with Lane Kelley preparing to give the biggest presentation of her career at the interior design firm she works for in Chicago. As Lane is trying to settle her nerves to begin her talk, she is interrupted by a phone call that she cannot ignore. Her brother, Nate, has been in a motorcycle accident and is in a coma. Her presence is needed at the hospital. Lane has no choice but to immediately leave!As Lane drives into Harbor Point Just Look Up is the latest book by Courtney Walsh. This tale begins with Lane Kelley preparing to give the biggest presentation of her career at the interior design firm she works for in Chicago. As Lane is trying to settle her nerves to begin her talk, she is interrupted by a phone call that she cannot ignore. Her brother, Nate, has been in a motorcycle accident and is in a coma. Her presence is needed at the hospital. Lane has no choice but to immediately leave!As Lane drives into Harbor Pointe, Michigan, all her memories of her hometown come flooding back. She had not been home in years to avoid thinking about all she left behind: the unkind words about being overweight; her sister stealing her boyfriend; her family taking sides in the situation and it was not hers! Her years away was sending her back a new woman. Lane is returning, from her years at Northwestern, a slim and fit woman, with a career that is about to skyrocket!Lane does not quite know how to balance between remaining by Nate's bedside and returning to Chicago, to give an important presentation that may bring her a big promotion. Ryan Brooks, a man from her past, who her family had befriended as a young boy, is suddenly by her side. He had returned to Harbor Pointe, after several rough years away serving in Afghanistan. It appears that Ryan may be the one to help her wade through the tension she is facing, between family and work!This is a interesting tale to follow. See how God is at work in the messiness we make of life!
    more
  • Susan K
    June 24, 2017
    Romance, contemporary, Christian faith elementsThis was such a magical read for me as a reader. Lane's past hurts that piled on her like a weight, Ryan's hope for building a better future for the town, for himself, and for them together was a beautiful lyrical read. They both had hurts, both did things to ease them. Ryan's gift for helping just love and cherish, and care for Lane, was just so tender and beautiful. As I finished this, while I had some criticisms with the story line, I just loved Romance, contemporary, Christian faith elementsThis was such a magical read for me as a reader. Lane's past hurts that piled on her like a weight, Ryan's hope for building a better future for the town, for himself, and for them together was a beautiful lyrical read. They both had hurts, both did things to ease them. Ryan's gift for helping just love and cherish, and care for Lane, was just so tender and beautiful. As I finished this, while I had some criticisms with the story line, I just loved Lane and Ryan as characters. The true friends that they both had were beautiful. This was a novel of love and romance, but also about healing from past hurts and learning to be confident in who we really are, making sure who you really are is the best for you as a person. Lane's journey and struggles were so hard. I was so grateful that her hope came not only in someone to care for her and love her, but in her personal growth and understanding of herself, who she was, and in the confidence she had in herself to chase her dream in the best possible way. While everything wasn't resolved, it was hopeful, and joyous and good. I received a copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. That in no way influenced my opinions and thoughts as a reader.
    more
  • Carolyn
    June 26, 2017
    I don't recall where I first hear the reminder that largely sums up the theme of Just Look Up: We are human beings, not human doings.Lane Kelley, who I didn't much care for in the first third of the book, could be the poster child for a "human doing." Hiding years of hurt that have all but obliterated any happy memories of her childhood, Lane has immersed herself in her career to the exclusion of everything else, including her family.When a tragedy forces her to leave work and head home, her awk I don't recall where I first hear the reminder that largely sums up the theme of Just Look Up: We are human beings, not human doings.Lane Kelley, who I didn't much care for in the first third of the book, could be the poster child for a "human doing." Hiding years of hurt that have all but obliterated any happy memories of her childhood, Lane has immersed herself in her career to the exclusion of everything else, including her family.When a tragedy forces her to leave work and head home, her awkward reunion with friends and family has her hiding behind her phone and her work, reinforcing her skewed belief that she doesn't fit in.It'll take the handsome, flirtatious childhood/family friend Ryan Brooks to draw her away from her phone and her 24/7 work habits so that she can see all that she's been missing in her former home, her family, and her friends, including him.Ryan's shameful past has brought him "home" to the same place Lane has fled. Watching the two of them piece together a tentative future the satisfies their hearts and fulfill their dreams is tantalizing fun.Just Look Up is the reminder we all need to slow down a little, live in the present, and be, not do. A fun romance with heart and soul.
    more
  • Heidi
    June 17, 2017
    Such a great novel! I thought the heroine, Lane, was a very well-crafted character. She struggled to outrun her own backstory, yet the frantic pace of her work life impacted her health and she was forced to confront her unresolved issues. Her social anxiety juxtaposed against her intense drive and successful design skills made her a plausible, yet flawed character. Ryan is a delightful hero, humorous and easy to like, yet saddled with a painful childhood and living in constant fear that his own Such a great novel! I thought the heroine, Lane, was a very well-crafted character. She struggled to outrun her own backstory, yet the frantic pace of her work life impacted her health and she was forced to confront her unresolved issues. Her social anxiety juxtaposed against her intense drive and successful design skills made her a plausible, yet flawed character. Ryan is a delightful hero, humorous and easy to like, yet saddled with a painful childhood and living in constant fear that his own father might have carelessly harmed a family Ryan truly cares about. My favorite aspect of Ryan's character was how he loved Lane well. Selflessly. Their second-chance-at-love will make fans of inspirational romance very pleased. The overall theme of Just Look Up resonated with me, as well. Lane grew to learn that the best stuff of life is NOT the stuff or the achievements, rather we are made in the image of God to love others well, and not to earn His affection or praise through our striving. Many thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for an advance copy of this novel.
    more
  • Suzie
    June 15, 2017
    This was one of those books that once I started, I could not put down. In fact, I started reading it one evening after work and finished in the wee hours of the next day.In part because I could empathize in a way with Lane Kelley. While I’m not estranged from my family, I do live 2500 miles away and often feel out of the loop when I get together with them. And none of them betrayed me the way a member of Lane’s family did hers. There’s so much pain and hurt to Lane’s story, I couldn’t help but f This was one of those books that once I started, I could not put down. In fact, I started reading it one evening after work and finished in the wee hours of the next day.In part because I could empathize in a way with Lane Kelley. While I’m not estranged from my family, I do live 2500 miles away and often feel out of the loop when I get together with them. And none of them betrayed me the way a member of Lane’s family did hers. There’s so much pain and hurt to Lane’s story, I couldn’t help but feel for her. And then there’s Ryan Brooks. AKA Brooks. Oh, this man! He was the icing on top of this story. His steadfastness. His determination. His desire to become more than what his past dictated. I admit it. I fell a little in love with Brooks.On the other side of disappointment, fear, and heartache lie healing, forgiveness, and the possibility of love. Courtney Walsh carriers readers through Lane’s journey of busyness masking her loneliness to a quieter, more fulfilled existence. A summer read with depth and heart that will stick with you after the final words, Just Look Up is a must-read for lovers of story that immerses you in the characters’ world.Disclosure statement:I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
    more
  • Laura
    May 29, 2017
    I LOVED this book! I loved the main characters and the themes that were covered in the book. I loved the setting because it is so similar to the town I live in. I enjoyed the struggles that both Lane and Ryan had from their past, and how it was affecting who they are now -- and the pull it gave them toward each other. The story lines that played out in the book reminded me how important it is to offer people grace, and reminded me to be in the moment and not rushing through with 24/7 attachment I LOVED this book! I loved the main characters and the themes that were covered in the book. I loved the setting because it is so similar to the town I live in. I enjoyed the struggles that both Lane and Ryan had from their past, and how it was affecting who they are now -- and the pull it gave them toward each other. The story lines that played out in the book reminded me how important it is to offer people grace, and reminded me to be in the moment and not rushing through with 24/7 attachment to things that aren't as important as people.This is the type of book that halfway through I didn't want to put it down, but I already knew I would miss the characters when I was done. I miss them enough that I might just have to read it again very soon. Definitely another hit from Courtney Walsh!!**Many thanks to the publisher for providing me a copy through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
Write a review