The Shark Club
A warm and wonderfully vivid novel about taking second chances—in life and in the seaOne summer day on the beach in Florida, two extraordinary things happen to Maeve Donnelly. First, she is kissed by Daniel, the boy of her dreams. Then, she is bitten by a blacktip shark.Eighteen years later, Maeve has thrown herself into her work as a world-traveling marine biologist discovering more about the minds of misunderstood sharks. But when Maeve returns home to the legendarily charming and eccentric Hotel of the Muses where she was raised by her grandmother, she finds more than just the blood orange sunsets and key lime pies she’s missed waiting for her.While Maeve has always been fearless in the water, on land she is indecisive. A chance meeting on the beach with a plucky, irresistible little girl who is just as fascinated by the ocean as Maeve was growing up leaves her at a crossroads: Should she re-kindle her romance with Daniel, the first love she left behind when she dove into her work? Or indulge in a new romance with her colleague, Nicholas, who turns up in her hometown to investigate an illegal shark-finning operation? Set against the intoxicating backdrop of palm trees, calypso bands, and perfect ocean views, The Shark Club is a story of the mysterious passions of one woman’s life: her first love and new love; the sea and sharks that inhabit it.

The Shark Club Details

TitleThe Shark Club
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherViking
ISBN0735221472
ISBN-139780735221475
Number of pages288 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Mystery, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Romance, Adult, Contemporary

The Shark Club Review

  • Rebecca Foster
    May 12, 2017
    (3.5) Dr. Maeve Donnelly loves sharks even though she was bitten by one as a child. Instead of giving in to fear and hatred, she sought to understand sharks and now is a leading researcher with a Florida conservancy and travels around the world to gather data. Her professional life goes from strength to strength, but her personal life is another matter. At age 30, she’s still smarting from a broken engagement to her childhood sweetheart, Daniel, and isn’t sure she’s ready to open her heart to N (3.5) Dr. Maeve Donnelly loves sharks even though she was bitten by one as a child. Instead of giving in to fear and hatred, she sought to understand sharks and now is a leading researcher with a Florida conservancy and travels around the world to gather data. Her professional life goes from strength to strength, but her personal life is another matter. At age 30, she’s still smarting from a broken engagement to her childhood sweetheart, Daniel, and isn’t sure she’s ready to open her heart to Nicholas, a British colleague who’s going through a divorce.Things get complicated when Daniel returns to their southwest Florida island to work as the chef at her grandmother’s Hotel des Muses – with his six-year-old daughter in tow. Maeve is soon taken with the precocious Hazel, who founds the title club (pledge: “With this fin, I do swear. To love sharks even when they bite. When they lose their teeth, I will find them. When I catch one, I will let it go”), but doubts whether she can pick up where she left off with Daniel. Meanwhile, she has larger concerns on her mind: evidence has been found of a major shark finning operation in the area, and she’s determined to get to the bottom of it.This is a little bit romance and a little bit mystery, and Taylor brings the Florida Keys setting to vibrant life. It took me a while to suspend my disbelief about Maeve’s far-fetched background – can she really be an orphan whose parents died in a plane crash and a twin and a shark bite survivor and a kid brought up in a kooky author-themed hotel? – but once I did I settled into her voice and enjoyed the sweet yet unpredictable story line. This reminded me most of The City Baker’s Guide to Country Living and Mermaids in Paradise. It’s nothing earth-shattering, but it’ll be great light reading for a summer day at the beach. Releases June 6th.A shortened version of this review was originally published on my blog, Bookish Beck.
    more
  • Michelegg
    May 12, 2017
    I love when I finish the final page of a book with a big smile on my face and a huge sigh of goodness on my lips. This book did that for me. From the first pages when I met Maeve and discovered what led to her fascination with sharks to the final moments when I discovered what life choices she would make and why, I was simply riveted to the page and cheering her on. I found myself greatly admiring her for her ability to make difficult life choices and discovering what truly mattered to her, rath I love when I finish the final page of a book with a big smile on my face and a huge sigh of goodness on my lips. This book did that for me. From the first pages when I met Maeve and discovered what led to her fascination with sharks to the final moments when I discovered what life choices she would make and why, I was simply riveted to the page and cheering her on. I found myself greatly admiring her for her ability to make difficult life choices and discovering what truly mattered to her, rather than letting life just lead her along. I loved her dedication to the thing she loved, even though that thing, a shark, had injured her many years before.The setting in the book, The Hotel of the Muses, was a bit of a character in itself and of course it's affiliation with all things bookish was fabulously delicious, as was the beautiful ocean. I loved the moments spent on the beach and in the ocean with the sea creatures, those moments came alive for me and had me wishing I was there.The whole cast of characters just felt like family to me, and I loved so many of them. There were some very tender moments and the emotion that ran through the whole book made me so very happy.I highly recommend this book to lovers of family drama, mixed with a little mystery, and topped off with a fabulous heroine who makes the whole book worth reading. She's divine. And I loved everything about this glorious book.
    more
  • Andrea
    April 18, 2017
    Maeve, bitten by a shark at age 12, has dedicated her life to them ever since. Home from a research trip she must reckon with past loves, family, and the impact of her shark obsession on others. This novel does what I want all fiction to do - it felt true-to-life, but also more interesting and funnier than real life.
    more
  • Theresa
    February 20, 2017
    The sharks in this book were way more interesting than the humans. More Shark Club, less love triangle!
  • Jackie Taylor
    May 15, 2017
    Firstly, I received an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Penguin Random House for selecting me as a reviewer. The Shark Club is (or is trying to be) a little bit more than your average, predictable beach read. It is definitely predictable, and the description alone promotes it as a beach read, but it also has some "feel good" elements and moments of self-reflection. I devoured it in a day; mainly because I was curious to see the progression of some of the cha Firstly, I received an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Penguin Random House for selecting me as a reviewer. The Shark Club is (or is trying to be) a little bit more than your average, predictable beach read. It is definitely predictable, and the description alone promotes it as a beach read, but it also has some "feel good" elements and moments of self-reflection. I devoured it in a day; mainly because I was curious to see the progression of some of the characters, but the only one who truly ever evolved was the protagonist. The author's use of imagery and similes are very vivid. It makes the book flow nicely and assists the reader's imaginative film reel. There is some dry humor tossed in among the dialogue, witty puns interlaced throughout the text that play upon the nautical theme, and it does make for a quick fun read, but parts were lacking. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars (truly a 3.5) because some of the ideas in the novel were pretty cool i.e. The Hotel of the Muses and its rooms dedicated to various authors. I'm not sure if the author was going for a beach read or wanted it to be a bit more serious, but that extra glue was missing. For one, except for the protagonist who happens to be the narrator of the story (and maybe that's why I am missing the point), is the only fully developed character. Everyone else is one-dimensional and float in and out of the text. You would think a twin brother who is mentioned so frequently would have more to do with the story when he is such a huge part of the turbulence in her life. Also, the mystery/troubling aspect was mentioned once in the first 100 pages and not touched again until the end. The book could have been that much better if that storyline was unraveled a bit more. Maybe it is supposed to be a love story and the author did not want readers to take away the mystery as a main point, but it seemed pretty flat. They could have completely edited it out and it would have made little difference, but needing another plot device to move the story forward. For someone who flipped out so wildly on a cop for her true passion and someone so dedicated to her career, it seemed off that she merely was upset for a day about the damage done by a family member. I am purposely being vague otherwise it gives away too much. If it was supposed to be only a love story, her love interests, Daniel and Nicholaus, are not very strong. Daniel can at least be filled-in by comparing him to a past lover a reader may have had, but Nicholaus is barely there and his backstory is about three sentences. I think there were too many ideas going on and it needed to be better focused. Either this is a story about Maeve's passions: sharks/her career, those two men, and family, or it's some disjointed, pro-environment, thriller/romance beach read that never quite came together as one specific thing. While that compost sometimes works, it does not in this case. Overall, I would still give it a read because it is enticing purely as story-telling goes and it's a tiny bit deeper than your average beach read (no pun intended). On a final note and as a personal preference, I enjoy when a writer reveals what the title means within the novel, and that happens several times here.
    more
  • Cat
    May 28, 2017
    Thanks to the author and publisher for the ARC in exchange for an honest review. I received this book months ago and have been holding off on my review tillCloser to publication. My cousin is married to Ann Kidd Taylor so I feel I know the author slightly even tho we don't see each other since they live away. Anyway, Taylor, in her first foray into fiction, is definitely looking to step out of her mothers shadow (sue monk Kidd) and does this in a very enjoyable way. Her love of the Florida coast Thanks to the author and publisher for the ARC in exchange for an honest review. I received this book months ago and have been holding off on my review tillCloser to publication. My cousin is married to Ann Kidd Taylor so I feel I know the author slightly even tho we don't see each other since they live away. Anyway, Taylor, in her first foray into fiction, is definitely looking to step out of her mothers shadow (sue monk Kidd) and does this in a very enjoyable way. Her love of the Florida coast (where she lives with her family) is evident in her writing. Her research in sharks and everything you wanted to know about them was complete. You can read the synopsis anywhere so I'll just tell you that despite all the shark talk this novelIs about love and relationships. I loved Maeve and Hazel's talks and their growing relationship. It was also good to see Maeve reconnect with Daniel ("the boy of her dreams") in a more adult manner. The subplots of killing sharks for their fins and Maeve's twin's midlife crisis were moot to me. It wasn't a big twist but I was surprised at the ending. It was good to see a protagonist who stayed true to who she was. Pack it in your bag for the beach. I easily finished in one afternoon.
    more
  • Lauren
    May 6, 2017
    I enjoyed this. It is a nice little novel about change, and letting go, second chances, answering the what ifs? and sharks. The shark parts were really interesting and what I loved most about this book. The main character's romantic relationships were a little less likable. But the happy ending makes up a little for that. In the end, Maeve, our shark researching heroine, makes the right choice. As a young girl, Maeve was bitten by a shark, and instead of growing to fear them, grows to love them, I enjoyed this. It is a nice little novel about change, and letting go, second chances, answering the what ifs? and sharks. The shark parts were really interesting and what I loved most about this book. The main character's romantic relationships were a little less likable. But the happy ending makes up a little for that. In the end, Maeve, our shark researching heroine, makes the right choice. As a young girl, Maeve was bitten by a shark, and instead of growing to fear them, grows to love them, becoming a researcher and shark conservationist. I really liked the positive, sympathetic light the author portrayed the shark plight in. In a way, without trivializing them, she humanizes the sharks. Outside of Maeve's shark research, she also navigates new relationships and ghosts from her past, when she returns home to Florida after a shark diving trip away in the Bahamas. It's a good little story. But for a second, after establishing itself as a book about relationships (with people and sharks), forgiveness, family, etc. it seemed as if it might move into some suspense and mystery, but then that fizzled out. That said, I enjoyed it and found myself wanting to know what happened next. I received a free digital galley of this book from Penguin's First to Read program.
    more
  • Joey P
    May 16, 2017
    It is a perfect, light, enjoyable read for the summer. I was glad to have the chance to read this book in a similar setting, Florida. Surprisingly, shark fishing was an actual activity choice when we were there. Even though they are not shark-fin fishing, it still made me feel bad for the sharks. So no fishing, just reading on the beach.Forgiveness and pretend nothing has happened are two different things. If I were Maeve, I would have done the same thing. I like how the story develops and comes It is a perfect, light, enjoyable read for the summer. I was glad to have the chance to read this book in a similar setting, Florida. Surprisingly, shark fishing was an actual activity choice when we were there. Even though they are not shark-fin fishing, it still made me feel bad for the sharks. So no fishing, just reading on the beach.Forgiveness and pretend nothing has happened are two different things. If I were Maeve, I would have done the same thing. I like how the story develops and comes together. All the characters are likable. The Hotel of Muses, Perri, and Hazel are as cute as they are can be.Oh, how I love classic love triangle stories. Should she choose her first love/childhood best friend, or the man with a similar passion. I had no idea whose is Maeve going to choose until the last 2 or 3 chapters, love it. However, the actual ending feels a little rush. If you are looking for a light read, I would recommend this book.4 out of 5 starsReceived a free temporary e-copy from First to Read in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Beth
    May 26, 2017
    A nice, relatively light summer read. Maeve, Perri and Hazel were all great characters - funny, independent, and full of personality. I found all of the shark and ocean details interesting, as I never knew much about either. It was refreshing to read a romance plot that was more realistic - Maeve actually had logic and backbone! I'm glad she didn't give up what made her happy, and recognized (view spoiler)[that what she and Daniel had was more wishful thinking than reality (hide spoiler)]. The i A nice, relatively light summer read. Maeve, Perri and Hazel were all great characters - funny, independent, and full of personality. I found all of the shark and ocean details interesting, as I never knew much about either. It was refreshing to read a romance plot that was more realistic - Maeve actually had logic and backbone! I'm glad she didn't give up what made her happy, and recognized (view spoiler)[that what she and Daniel had was more wishful thinking than reality (hide spoiler)]. The illegal finning mystery seemed a bit like an afterthought, as if the author didn't think there was enough "going on" in the book so she added something. It wasn't really necessary, and it was wrapped up a bit too quickly and neatly.
    more
  • Amber
    May 12, 2017
    A light, enjoyable read. The Gulf of Mexico setting was beautiful and easy to imagine. So many details to really put you there without bogging you down with paragraphs of description. It was really well done. I loved all the information about sharks and Maeve's connection with them. Relationships are explored: old loves, the connection between twins, and the bond you can form with a child. There was a little bit of a love triangle feel going on that I could have done without, but it was light. C A light, enjoyable read. The Gulf of Mexico setting was beautiful and easy to imagine. So many details to really put you there without bogging you down with paragraphs of description. It was really well done. I loved all the information about sharks and Maeve's connection with them. Relationships are explored: old loves, the connection between twins, and the bond you can form with a child. There was a little bit of a love triangle feel going on that I could have done without, but it was light. Considering how much of a part Daniel played I would have liked to get to know him more. This was a very Maeve-centric novel and he felt a bit 2D. Overall, add in a little mystery and suspense and this novel was a nice mix of things. A nice summer read.
    more
  • Adriana
    May 5, 2017
    Short and sweet tale about second chances and learning to let go. I admit to not liking Maeve at first, but she definitely grows as a character. Daniel, on the other hand, is part of the reason why I didn't rate this higher. I'm not going to spoil it for other readers, but let's just say that I'm really happy things end like they do.My one bone of contention (besides Daniel) is that Taylor went thru all the trouble of setting up some danger and intrigue only to settle things in the most vanilla Short and sweet tale about second chances and learning to let go. I admit to not liking Maeve at first, but she definitely grows as a character. Daniel, on the other hand, is part of the reason why I didn't rate this higher. I'm not going to spoil it for other readers, but let's just say that I'm really happy things end like they do.My one bone of contention (besides Daniel) is that Taylor went thru all the trouble of setting up some danger and intrigue only to settle things in the most vanilla way possible. I was expecting some action and it felt a bit of a let down.Overall, it's not Earth-shattering, or even much of a must-read, but the writing is solid and I enjoyed it.
    more
  • Susan
    May 23, 2017
    I liked a lot of things about this book. Maeve is a smart, introspective character who shows maturity in her feelings and her actions. Hazel was just adorable, and I wish the Hotel of Muses was a real place. The ending felt a bit incomplete and it certainly wasn't the one I was hoping for. Most of the characters were well-developed. The pace and plotting of the story is good and I think it will make great summer reading. I received an advance reading copy from Penguin's First to Read program in I liked a lot of things about this book. Maeve is a smart, introspective character who shows maturity in her feelings and her actions. Hazel was just adorable, and I wish the Hotel of Muses was a real place. The ending felt a bit incomplete and it certainly wasn't the one I was hoping for. Most of the characters were well-developed. The pace and plotting of the story is good and I think it will make great summer reading. I received an advance reading copy from Penguin's First to Read program in exchange for my review.
    more
  • Stacie Haden
    May 20, 2017
    I was lucky to win an ARC copy of this book. Thank you, Penguin Random House.I have a shark loving friend (David) and so I read the whole book speculating if he'd like it. I think he will. You certainly don't have to be a fan of sharks to enjoy "The Shark Club," but if you are, then it's the perfect beach read, or better yet in your hotel room, after spending the day snorkeling with tigers and hammerheads. Yes, there is the "relational" aspect of the book too, but without it we'd be reading a te I was lucky to win an ARC copy of this book. Thank you, Penguin Random House.I have a shark loving friend (David) and so I read the whole book speculating if he'd like it. I think he will. You certainly don't have to be a fan of sharks to enjoy "The Shark Club," but if you are, then it's the perfect beach read, or better yet in your hotel room, after spending the day snorkeling with tigers and hammerheads. Yes, there is the "relational" aspect of the book too, but without it we'd be reading a textbook. :)
    more
  • Mary
    May 30, 2017
    Received this book from First to Read for an honest review.I really enjoyed this story about a woman who has to confront her past so she can move on in life. Liked the characters a lot and the author's style of writing. My only wish is that this story was longer; enjoyed the plot but wish the story was fleshed out a bit more. Plot points were resolved very quickly, would have liked to have seen them delved into more. Great summer read!
    more
  • Noelle
    May 11, 2017
    This book will leave you will some warm fuzzy feeling and a better understanding of sharks (which I think everyone needs). I really liked, and rooted, for the main character as she tries to figure out her feelings and how to handle some tense situations. The imagery made me want to get on a plane to Florida pronto. If you are looking for a good beach read for this summer I would recommend this book.
    more
  • Kristen Grennan
    May 7, 2017
    This book is a PERFECT summer read. The author has a really nice attention to detail (in terms of language)-- and is definitely a Floridian, I comes through very well in her book. There are definitely some superficial aspects of the book, but to be honest, that was what I was looking for right now. It had just the right amount of realism, romanticism, and suspense. I could relate to the characters, but they were also quirky and interesting. It's a great beach read!
    more
  • LeeAnn
    May 22, 2017
    Beach reading is here, and there is no better way to kick it off then with this book! I slowed down there for a second when things started to go awry... BUT I jumped back in (pun intended) and it was worth it. Easy to digest book, with characters that you can relate to. And MAN those last couple pages completed my soul! 🤘🏻💗
    more
  • Bin
    May 28, 2017
    I received this book from First to Read. A nice romance, in a nice setting, with a hotel I'd love to visit. I mostly enjoyed reading this, but the details about sharks wasn't really my cup of coffee.
  • RaeBookAddict
    May 24, 2017
    A fun, light hearted book about second chances and letting go. I really enjoyed this book and I have a greater appreciation for sharks! I was hooked from the beginning and ended it with a huge smile on my face.
  • Lisa Welch
    May 24, 2017
    I think this book had tons of potential, but it fell a bit short in the end. I do think this would make for a decent light summer read, but I don't think it will be your favorite read of the summer.
  • Bridget
    March 25, 2017
    I really enjoyed this. Cute beach read, I learned so much about sharks! Also wished that I was reading this on a beach! :-)
  • Danielle
    March 14, 2017
    As a twelve year old girl Maeve was kissed for the first time by her best friend Daniel and attacked by a shark. The shark attack engendered a life long fascination with the creatures and a career studying them. After finishing an assignment tracking sharks abroad she is returning to the gulf coast of Florida to the hotel where she and her brother were raised by their aunt after their parents' death. She discovers that her ex-fiance Daniel has returned and has in tow his adorable six year old da As a twelve year old girl Maeve was kissed for the first time by her best friend Daniel and attacked by a shark. The shark attack engendered a life long fascination with the creatures and a career studying them. After finishing an assignment tracking sharks abroad she is returning to the gulf coast of Florida to the hotel where she and her brother were raised by their aunt after their parents' death. She discovers that her ex-fiance Daniel has returned and has in tow his adorable six year old daughter, who befriends Maeve and starts a shark club with her. Will Maeve be able to reconcile her past with Daniel and perhaps give him a second chance? Will she regret becoming involved in hunting down whoever has been finning sharks off the coast of her Florida town? This was a very enjoyable read. It's not a straight up romance, but it has a lot of romance and love triangle elements to it. The non-romance part of the story is equally important. It's a well balanced novel with likable characters.
    more
  • Ann
    May 6, 2017
    The Shark Club is a fun and original summer read. Given heavy involvement of actual sharks it might not be beach reading but it is very enjoyable. Taylor has crafted a modern heroine in Maeve. She's a career girl (marine biologist with a PhD) in the sciences no less. She'd like a personal relationship but the sharks come first. Maeve and her twin brother becomes orphans at the age of 6 and are subsequently raised by their grandmother, whom they call Perri, thus setting up this eclectic story. Th The Shark Club is a fun and original summer read. Given heavy involvement of actual sharks it might not be beach reading but it is very enjoyable. Taylor has crafted a modern heroine in Maeve. She's a career girl (marine biologist with a PhD) in the sciences no less. She'd like a personal relationship but the sharks come first. Maeve and her twin brother becomes orphans at the age of 6 and are subsequently raised by their grandmother, whom they call Perri, thus setting up this eclectic story. There are some compelling twists and turns in the story which were fun. I think this will be on a lot of must read summer lists. I was given this book in Penguins first to read program.
    more
  • Patricia Baker
    March 19, 2017
    received advance uncorrected proof to read and review.easy to read story. completed this book in one day. likeable characters especially Hazel and Nicholas.wanted less of the shark fin part of the story and more of the book written by Robin. loved the hotel and the books, author parties, and the eventual wedding. glad that Maeve made the best decision at the end of the day.great beach read.
    more
  • Francie
    May 14, 2017
    Ann Kidd Taylor's "The Shark Club" is a good beach read. The Hotel of the Muses, the setting for much of the book, is a place where any reader would love to spend time while on vacation. While the characters are fairly predictable in their actions, the author has peopled her novel with folk the reader can care about. An added bonus is the fascinating details about sharks, their habits, the dangers they cause and the dangers caused to them by humans. I'm glad that Penguin's First to Read program Ann Kidd Taylor's "The Shark Club" is a good beach read. The Hotel of the Muses, the setting for much of the book, is a place where any reader would love to spend time while on vacation. While the characters are fairly predictable in their actions, the author has peopled her novel with folk the reader can care about. An added bonus is the fascinating details about sharks, their habits, the dangers they cause and the dangers caused to them by humans. I'm glad that Penguin's First to Read program gave me an opportunity to read this ARC.
    more
  • Shirley Freeman
    February 27, 2017
    I enjoyed this story of Maeve the shark whisperer. Maeve has just returned from another exotic shark tagging expedition to her grandmother's Florida hotel she and twin brother Robin have called home ever since they became orphans at age six. Part mystery (who is illegally killing sharks by finning them and leaving them to die), part environmental story (various sharks and other ocean life are championed) and part love story (should Maeve get back together with her former fiance, Daniel, or is fe I enjoyed this story of Maeve the shark whisperer. Maeve has just returned from another exotic shark tagging expedition to her grandmother's Florida hotel she and twin brother Robin have called home ever since they became orphans at age six. Part mystery (who is illegally killing sharks by finning them and leaving them to die), part environmental story (various sharks and other ocean life are championed) and part love story (should Maeve get back together with her former fiance, Daniel, or is fellow diver Nicholas the guy for her?), all is resolved by the end. I especially liked the grandmother character with her book themed hotel.
    more
  • Kathy
    February 4, 2017
    Thank you to the publisher for providing a digital ARC in exchange for an honest review.Four and a half stars.I had previously read Ann Kidd Taylor's memoir, Traveling with Pomegranates, written jointly with her mother, Sue Monk Kidd, and was eager to read her debut fiction book. The book description for The Shark Club will unfortunately leave some readers leary - a shark bite, a romance, a character writing a novel - it seems to have all the trappings of a book that is contrived and trite. Howe Thank you to the publisher for providing a digital ARC in exchange for an honest review.Four and a half stars.I had previously read Ann Kidd Taylor's memoir, Traveling with Pomegranates, written jointly with her mother, Sue Monk Kidd, and was eager to read her debut fiction book. The book description for The Shark Club will unfortunately leave some readers leary - a shark bite, a romance, a character writing a novel - it seems to have all the trappings of a book that is contrived and trite. However, this novel was meticulously researched and is full of the idiosyncratic details that make a story come to life. Taylor seamlessly weaves in fascinating details about sharks and marine life which help to bring her marine biologist protagonist, Maeve, to life. It is also clear that Taylor spent time on the Florida coast and was inspired by the environs. All of the characters have complete lives (a grandmother who owns a charming book-inspired hotel, for example) and interesting quirks that make this book a joy to read. Moreover, the book is not solely focused on romance or the love triangle; the synopsis fails to mention Maeve's quest to discover who is cruelly finning her beloved sharks for profit. All of these qualities combine to create a charming and enjoyable novel that should not be overlooked, and leave me excited to read more books by Taylor in the future.
    more
  • Emily B
    February 9, 2017
    Three and a half stars
  • Julie
    February 2, 2017
    This book was very descriptive with the beach and ocean. This seemed to be a story about regrets and love. She comes back home , and runs into her 1st love Daniel. She has started something with Nicholas . Her brother has written a story about her romance with Daniel. Great romance and finding oneself. I liked that she figured out what she wanted to do , and never changed her mind when it came to the love of animals.
    more
  • Jillian Doherty
    January 17, 2017
    I love this book! I was initially worried I'd experience this kind of story before from his classic setting and familiar feel~ luckily I'm always glad to be wrong. The richness of the characters and their interactions are as consumable as its landscape and the refreshing ending. I wish I was on her familiar sandy beach, so I could sit back and read it again.
    more
Write a review