The Evaporation of Sofi Snow
Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi's dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth's corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth's Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi's the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she's convinced he's been taken to the ice-planet.Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.For Miguel, Earth's charming young playboy, the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight's bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he's a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow Details

TitleThe Evaporation of Sofi Snow
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherThomas Nelson
ISBN0718080904
ISBN-139780718080907
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Science Fiction Fantasy, Adventure, Fiction, Romance, Space

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow Review

  • Mary Weber
    March 8, 2017
    :)Since some have asked... Topics this book explores beneath the surface (& if you know me you won't be surprised) - human trafficking, politics & elitism, strong women, identity, sibling relationships, parent/child relationships, how our words & actions impact others, the role the past plays in a person's choices, how we retain our humanity.
    more
  • Wendy Higgins
    January 24, 2017
    YA (definitely suitable for upper MG/lower YA readers, too)Science FictionFuturisticGamer Girl MCDashing (seemingly Playboy) love interestIntergalactic politicsFamily complications (LOVED the sibling relationship)Loyalty and betrayalSecrets and twistsThis one has it all. Mary Weber rocks! <3
    more
  • Lauren
    March 17, 2017
    This is a fast book set in a futuristic world ruled by corporations and filled with gamers, gadgets and aliens. The excitement and twists kept coming, and I couldn't stop reading once I started! But under the surface of this high action story are layers and themes of loss and family bonds and identity, as well as what it means to be human, value life and have true relationships, all of which turned up the emotional intensity. I'm dying for the next one now. Full review to come <3
    more
  • Zac
    September 16, 2015
    Any book written by Mary Weber is a book that I will read.
  • Alyssa
    September 15, 2015
    I cannot wait for this book to release! I also love that Sofi Snow is Native American. Being Choctaw & Powhatan myself I am always looking for books with characters of similar or same heritage as me.I'm pretty much already in love with this.Look at that cover!!!
    more
  • Cassie James
    March 2, 2016
    Thanks to the publisher for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review, This doesn't in any way influence my thoughts and opinion on it. The Evaporation of Sofi Snow has been on my wish list every since it was announced, Mary Weber is one of my very favorite authors. I have always loved her books and that trend continued with this book. It was everything I hoped for and more. The book is a marvelous SciFi treat, It has just about everything that I love in a SciFi novel. I don't read much Thanks to the publisher for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review, This doesn't in any way influence my thoughts and opinion on it. The Evaporation of Sofi Snow has been on my wish list every since it was announced, Mary Weber is one of my very favorite authors. I have always loved her books and that trend continued with this book. It was everything I hoped for and more. The book is a marvelous SciFi treat, It has just about everything that I love in a SciFi novel. I don't read much SciFi, I'm more of a fantasy gal but this book is one that is not to be missed at all. With such a captivating storyline and interesting cast of diverse characters, it was bound to be phenomenal. Sofi is an awesome badass character who literally defines the word amazing. From the first moment, I knew I'd love her. She's intelligent, loyal, funny, witty, strong and crazy if need be. I fell in love with her the moment she knocked out a guard with an IV drip till the end of the book. Her loyalty to her brother is inspiring and the author superbly portrayed that aspect. Miguel is a complicated and unique character who piqued my interest from the beginning. There are many sides he has and that's part of the things that make him entertaining. The Evaporation of Sofi Snow has a huge world that though it takes a little time to get used to the huge scope, is quite astounding. It shows that careful planning and great writing was what made the worldbuilding so lush and vivid. It sometimes felt like watching a really cool movie. The book began with a bang or rather a virtual battle where Sofi's junior brother Shilo is a participant. Sofi and her team are the brains behind the whole operation. Everything was going well before an attack left the whole event and arena in ruins. This left everything in chaos and lead to Shilo being captured by Delonese medics(The Delonese are aliens who orbited near Earth looking for other life forms on other planets and supposedly want to coexist and help Earth). Due to a conspiracy coming from the top echelons, Sofi had to go on a boyhunt to find her brother and save him from harm. BTW, Earth is now being ruled by 30 Corporations not politicians. It's a dystopian system formed out of necessity and survival. While it's a little bit hard to recognize which is which at times, it gives room to some great storytelling. Miguel is the other main character and he is one of the ambassadors to the Delonese. He is also an ex of Sofi who broke her heart regrettably. At the beginning of the book, He is blackmailed by an anonymous entity to manipulate the perception of the attackers of the arena. Learning about him was fascinating because there are so many layers to him that I really loved, He is complicated in a way that makes you want to crack his shell and see what's underneath that facade. His subsequent actions was an absolute delight to read about especially him helping Sofi despite their past dalliance and their interactions together after. The relationship between the both of them is intense, raw, passionate and HOT. I could feel the tense chemistry oozing between the both of them. Their feelings for each other definitely made me love the book more because while it's a total SciFi novel, it's still a romance novel at heart. Speaking of SciFi, This book is literally a treat for lovers of the genre. There are so many futuristic amazing tech, terminology and theories that they're gonna have a field day with. The adventures of Sofi and Miguel unravelling the secrets and lies surrounding their lives and trying to survive with their different (or not so different) agendas in mind is one every reader absolutely has to partake in. With a terrific ending that will make you crave the next book, amazing diverse cast of characters that are just too fascinating, well crafted plot, superb writing, beautiful cover and SciFi awesomeness, The Evaporation of Sofi Snow is a must read that will leave you amazed and pleased. I wait with bated breath for the next chapter in this phenomena tale. Mary Weber has once again cemented her foothold as an extremely talented author in the industry. P.S: Be prepared for drama, twists and turns you won't see coming, mystery, betrayal, romance and SciFi goodness.P.P.S: Don't worry, The SciFi stuff is written in a way that's totally understandable and not mind wrecking.
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    November 18, 2016
    Not sure why I haven't heard of this one before, but who cares. I am so game for this!
  • Gabriela Paige
    November 11, 2016
    THERE IS A COVER. OH MY WORD. I LOVE IT!
  • Jill Hart
    March 27, 2017
    I love Mary Weber's new series! This first book in the series is so fast-paced, it grabs you from the first page and doesn't let go. The end is a cliffhanger, which is somewhat of a bummer, but being that this is the opening book of a new series, I sort-of figured that this would be the case. I loved the characters - they are deeply written - flawed, but loveable. And best of all, the book is full of twists, turns and betrayals that you won't expect!Sofi and her brother, Shilo, are part of the E I love Mary Weber's new series! This first book in the series is so fast-paced, it grabs you from the first page and doesn't let go. The end is a cliffhanger, which is somewhat of a bummer, but being that this is the opening book of a new series, I sort-of figured that this would be the case. I loved the characters - they are deeply written - flawed, but loveable. And best of all, the book is full of twists, turns and betrayals that you won't expect!Sofi and her brother, Shilo, are part of the Earth's UW gaming circuit. The worldwide games were started after the Fourth War to help unite the world under the Corporations that now rule. However, during the most recent game, a bomb explodes and Shilo is presumed dead in the aftermath. Sofi is certain her brother isn't dead. And she's determined to go after him ... even if that mean facing down the aliens on the planet that has appeared near the moon.
    more
  • Marylin
    March 19, 2017
    Wow! This book would be fantastic as a SyFy channel movie or series!Mary Weber has done it again!This book will leave you wanting more and more. There are so many questions as to what will happen next. I was so drawn into the world of hacking and gaming; a world I've never fully understood and still don't. Yet Mary Weber presents this world in such a way it's easy to imagine. Along with this futuristic world is a world containing aliens.What would it be like if we were took over by beings of ano Wow! This book would be fantastic as a SyFy channel movie or series!Mary Weber has done it again!This book will leave you wanting more and more. There are so many questions as to what will happen next. I was so drawn into the world of hacking and gaming; a world I've never fully understood and still don't. Yet Mary Weber presents this world in such a way it's easy to imagine. Along with this futuristic world is a world containing aliens.What would it be like if we were took over by beings of another world? Who could we trust and what is real?I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series to finding out what will happen with Sofi and Miguel. I enjoyed the suspense, the unstoppable action, the futuristic adventures and the bits of drama with human emotions. The author illuminated a part of the story that touches on events which are happening even now in our world and does so in a powerful way. Hopefully one day in our time we will be able to make a change for the better.I highly recommend picking this book up.I received this book from the publisher to read. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • kerrycat
    March 23, 2017
    (RTBR review to come)CLIFFHANGER WTH
  • Cameron
    March 13, 2017
    *Updated*Holy moly, Jesus, Mary and Joseph. This was so good and just plot twists all over the place! The characters were so well thought out and were mostly all POC. The main character Sofi Snow is such a good example of a strong woman. She may use her charms to seduce people but she has so much actual strength, intelligence and physical wise. And then Miguel was a Mexican with rainbow colored hair. RAINBOW! There was virtual reality, aliens, and intrigue. This first installment of this duology *Updated*Holy moly, Jesus, Mary and Joseph. This was so good and just plot twists all over the place! The characters were so well thought out and were mostly all POC. The main character Sofi Snow is such a good example of a strong woman. She may use her charms to seduce people but she has so much actual strength, intelligence and physical wise. And then Miguel was a Mexican with rainbow colored hair. RAINBOW! There was virtual reality, aliens, and intrigue. This first installment of this duology is a combination of the movie Taken, Ender's Game and The Hunger Games. I would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good young adult book with some good ol' aliens.
    more
  • Kara
    March 14, 2017
    rating is 3.5 starsGood book, great message, will post this review closer to release day :)
  • Emileigh Latham
    November 17, 2016
    A MARY WEBER BOOK!!! IT'S GOING TO BE AMAZING!!!!
Write a review