So Much I Want to Tell You
From Internet sensation Anna Akana comes a candid and poignant collection of essays about love, loss, and chasing adulthood.In 2007, Anna Akana lost her teen sister, Kristina, to suicide. In the months that followed, she realized that the one thing helping her process her grief and begin to heal was comedy. So she began making YouTube videos as a form of creative expression and as a way to connect with others. Ten years later, Anna has more than a million subscribers who watch her smart, honest vlogs on her YouTube channel. Her most popular videos, including "How to Put On Your Face" and "Why Girls Should Ask Guys Out," are comical and provocative, but they all share a deeper message: Your worth is determined by you and you alone. You must learn to love yourself.In So Much I Want to Tell You, Anna opens up about her own struggles with poor self-esteem and reveals both the highs and lows of coming-of-age. She offers fresh, funny, hard-won advice for young women on everything from self-care to money to sex, and she is refreshingly straightforward about the realities of dating, female friendship, and the hustle required to make your dreams come true. This is Anna's story, but, as she says, it belongs just as much to Kristina and to every other girl who must learn that growing up can be hard to do. Witty and real, Anna breaks things down in a way only a big sister can.Advance praise for So Much I Want to Tell You"This book is filled with the kind of honesty, vulnerability, and determination that makes Anna such a captivating person. One warning: You'll want to hug her a lot while reading this."--Natalie Tran, actress and comedian"As a woman working in entertainment, Anna Akana is accustomed to feeling vulnerable. Which means that she's used to being brave. This book is a tribute to the duality of bravery and fear as told through Anna's experiences to date."--Hannah Hart, New York Times bestselling author of Buffering: Unshared Tales of a Life Fully Loaded"Frank advice on how to live a productive, happy life . . . written in tribute to a 'fearless, talented, and bold' sister."--Kirkus Reviews

So Much I Want to Tell You Details

TitleSo Much I Want to Tell You
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherBallantine Books
ISBN0399594930
ISBN-139780399594939
Number of pages208 pages
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Autobiography, Memoir, Biography

So Much I Want to Tell You Review

  • TL
    June 21, 2017
    I received this via Goodreads Giveaways in an exchange for an honest review. All my opinions are my own:).----Confession: I didn't know anything about Anna before winning and reading this. YouTube I don't really use that much (movie trailers, occasional interviews with my favorite actors, and watching Lizzie Bennet Diaries mostly ) and I've never hears of most of the major YouTubers.. aside from when I see reviews of said persons' books on my feed occasionally. The description of the book caught I received this via Goodreads Giveaways in an exchange for an honest review. All my opinions are my own:).----Confession: I didn't know anything about Anna before winning and reading this. YouTube I don't really use that much (movie trailers, occasional interviews with my favorite actors, and watching Lizzie Bennet Diaries mostly ) and I've never hears of most of the major YouTubers.. aside from when I see reviews of said persons' books on my feed occasionally. The description of the book caught me right away and I really wanted to give it a try.---I loved Anna's voice and spirit throughout. She's honest, funny, and comes across as a genuine person. Each essay is well done and there wasn't any I didn't finish.I felt proud of her for forging her own way, learning as much as possible and not giving up. Many times I wanted to give her a big hug.The rating? Despite the enjoying the book very much, I wasn't in love with it (not that the book is bad, its a me thing). Would still recommend, you may feel differently.I will be checking out her YouTube channel one day soon:).A quick but good read:)
    more
  • Sadia
    June 19, 2017
    I've read books by other YouTubers, - and regretted buying their books. But I love Anna, her content is different to most Youtubers, so naturally, I had to give her book a shot! Plus the whole premise with her younger sister being the inspiration behind it made me feel like it would be different. So I preordered the book and received it a week before it was due to actually come out.So... was it different?-Well, it wasn't... and it was...?Anna's book follows the Youtuber suit of: I'll write out m I've read books by other YouTubers, - and regretted buying their books. But I love Anna, her content is different to most Youtubers, so naturally, I had to give her book a shot! Plus the whole premise with her younger sister being the inspiration behind it made me feel like it would be different. So I preordered the book and received it a week before it was due to actually come out.So... was it different?-Well, it wasn't... and it was...?Anna's book follows the Youtuber suit of: I'll write out my life and give little snippets of advice and morals that I've gained from that experience. Which was a little disappointing to me personally, I had hoped she would bring something different to the table. At the very least, I was hoping the book would be written in the form of actual letters to her sister. - it wasn't.That being said, it's pretty good book despite the predicable Youtuber format. She divided the book into sections: Creativity, Identity, Money and Relationships. The strongest of them, in my opinion, was 'Money', her in-depth advice based on her experiences actually in the film and social industry was very thorough and detailed. However, it is mainly centred around the 'film' industry and doesn't give much advice about business outside of that, so it has a limited audience. Her relationship section was also very entertaining as she doesn't censor herself when it comes to talking about her (un)romantic experiences. Other than that, not much else in the book was that memorable. Her introduction was the most well written and interesting part of the book, perhaps because of the way she wrote about her sister and how raw it was. And honestly, I wish there had been more of that, more emotional writing and raw depictions of her life, rather than small anecdotes followed by morals and advice. But for what it is, it's an 'okay' book.If you love Anna, want to make short films or just want an easy read - I'd recommend this book.
    more
  • Manon
    June 22, 2017
    First of all I want to say that Anna is my favorite youtuber out there. Every week, I look forward to her upcoming video. She is so genuine, and she always tries to tackle important matters while still being funny. So of course, I had to give her book a try.That being said, I found the book itself kind of okayish. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. It is a quick and easy read, but I didn't really click on her writing. I always appreciate it when I watch her videos, but I think it isn't w First of all I want to say that Anna is my favorite youtuber out there. Every week, I look forward to her upcoming video. She is so genuine, and she always tries to tackle important matters while still being funny. So of course, I had to give her book a try.That being said, I found the book itself kind of okayish. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. It is a quick and easy read, but I didn't really click on her writing. I always appreciate it when I watch her videos, but I think it isn't well suited for a book format. Nevertheless, it was interesting reading more about her life and her experiences. Anna is a mental health advocate, she encourages women to pursue their goals and dreams and to stand up for themselves without taking no shit from any man. And I think that's great. Some essays really resonated with me - especially the one about food, I'm so grateful for that - and others did not, as I am no American influencer-slash-entrepreneur. Overall, it was still an interesting reading experience.Despite all that, I still feel a little bit left down. I would have expected a more in-depth narrative in this book as it was labelled "letters to my little sister". First, there are no proper letters, only some essays about different topics that she would have wanted to discuss with her little sister. The introduction was the most well-written part of the book, it was raw and emotional and I wish there had been more of that in the rest of the book.Anyway, if you like Anna, or if you could use some advice about growing into adulthood, I'd still recommend this book - or her youtube channel.
    more
  • Emma Regan
    June 13, 2017
    *3.5 stars*It was extremely interesting reading about Anna's life after the death of her sister and the toxic relationships she's been in. Sad to read about Brad when they've broken up now ­čśó
  • Kitty
    February 1, 2017
    Anna Akana is a hilarious and awesome youtuber and I cannot wait for this book! It will be just as moving and thought provoking as her journal entries she published.
  • Book.Berries
    June 22, 2017
    This wasn't at all what I was expecting from the title. This is Anna's memoir and she talks about her career, friendships, boyfriends and how she learned to deal with money.It's interesting and there's some good advice here for people who are starting on the film industry and things alike. But because the title is So Much "I Want to Tell You (letters to my little sister)" I went in thinking it would be things Anna would say to her sister if she had a chance to see her again.And I doubt it would This wasn't at all what I was expecting from the title. This is Anna's memoir and she talks about her career, friendships, boyfriends and how she learned to deal with money.It's interesting and there's some good advice here for people who are starting on the film industry and things alike. But because the title is So Much "I Want to Tell You (letters to my little sister)" I went in thinking it would be things Anna would say to her sister if she had a chance to see her again.And I doubt it would be how to crush numbers and not be fooled by Hollywood folks.It felt very distant to me, which is a shame because I love her YouTube channel and she's always so open and honest there.
    more
  • Siddhida Bargode
    June 19, 2017
    i love her youtube videos but somehow i found this book okayish.not bad but not that great.
  • Lizzy Seitz
    June 20, 2017
    4.5 out of 5 starsSo well written and full of emotions. Heartbreakingly beautiful is the best way I can describe this book
  • Abbie
    June 26, 2017
    I've been a fan of Anna's for quite some time now - watching her video's from my teens into early adulthood - and I've always enjoyed how her comedy manages to bring attention to serious subjects, making me laugh whilst sending a message. I ended up purchasing this as my first ever audiobook and was not disappointed. I already knew that I liked her humour and style so I thought it'd be a safe bet and was quickly reassured in my decision when Anna's delivery seemed to just flow effortlessly from I've been a fan of Anna's for quite some time now - watching her video's from my teens into early adulthood - and I've always enjoyed how her comedy manages to bring attention to serious subjects, making me laugh whilst sending a message. I ended up purchasing this as my first ever audiobook and was not disappointed. I already knew that I liked her humour and style so I thought it'd be a safe bet and was quickly reassured in my decision when Anna's delivery seemed to just flow effortlessly from one topic to the next.Anna has provided an insight into her life - from suicide, to relationships, to the film industry and dealing with prejudices. This book somehow manages to combine humour with mental health and helpful life lessons. Personally, I feel like I've come away benefiting from having listened, whether that's a little bit of extra motivation to pursue my passions regardless of my doubts or just gaining knowledge on the complexities of subject like mental health, I'm not sure, but I know that I'm grateful for it.Whether you're a fan of Anna's or you have no idea who she is, I think this book has the potential to hit a note with a lot of people - there were certain points that felt like she was describing me and my life. To sum up, a thought provoking listen that I would highly recommend.
    more
  • Sam Gor
    June 16, 2017
    This would be 5 stars if it was longer and was a more in-depth narrative on her life (but this was filed under TEEN LIFE so I guess it's not an autobiography per say though I did learn a lot more about her).This book is pretty much one of her vlogs but 176 pages long. If you're one of her fans, you'll enjoy this. If not, you might become a fan due to her blunt and honest narrative.Seriously, with this book, you get what you came for. This book is literally full of just advice Anna wanted to give This would be 5 stars if it was longer and was a more in-depth narrative on her life (but this was filed under TEEN LIFE so I guess it's not an autobiography per say though I did learn a lot more about her).This book is pretty much one of her vlogs but 176 pages long. If you're one of her fans, you'll enjoy this. If not, you might become a fan due to her blunt and honest narrative.Seriously, with this book, you get what you came for. This book is literally full of just advice Anna wanted to give to her sister. There are advice on a variety of topics. And as she gives you personal experience of how she dealt with things you get advice served. It's genuine and honest. I enjoyed how she woven her advice and stories together so well. Granted, it's not a self-help book. She is telling you things she would want to tell her sister and you're just there for the ride.There's nothing bad about this book. Sure, if you didn't know her voice prior to reading you could say its way too conversational and you could even say its written poorly (it isn't), if you knew her prior to reading, it's just Anna in words instead of on your screen. I enjoyed this book. I was empathetic about her lost but most of the book I connected wholeheartedly, especially about self-image and failure.
    more
  • Anne D.
    June 22, 2017
    Fun, entertaining and quick to read. I would not advise it for people older than 25-30, depending on how mature you are and especially "what you have seen/experienced of the world" (turns out I have not seen/experienced much).One the one hand, some parts of the book did not resonate with me - I am not an American entrepreneur/digital influencer - but they were still interesting to read. On the other hand, I was amazed by how some other parts sounded true to me (like the chapter on food: "because Fun, entertaining and quick to read. I would not advise it for people older than 25-30, depending on how mature you are and especially "what you have seen/experienced of the world" (turns out I have not seen/experienced much).One the one hand, some parts of the book did not resonate with me - I am not an American entrepreneur/digital influencer - but they were still interesting to read. On the other hand, I was amazed by how some other parts sounded true to me (like the chapter on food: "because who cares that a skinny person eats a lot?", thank you Anna for this chapter). Anna Akana has been through a lot and I find it admirable that she was able to draw lessons everytime, compile them in an entertaining piece and of course, move forward.
    more
  • Angie
    June 17, 2017
    Anna has always come off as genuine and caring. This book is no different. I enjoyed understanding more of her past that never made it into one of her videos. If you a huge fan of her YouTube channel, don't worry, she ends up repeating very little content in her videos. Her advice is coming from the heart and are suggestions rather than strict rules to live by. As usual, she's funny and self-deprecating, but it's charming nonetheless. This is a super quick read and there's the audio version that Anna has always come off as genuine and caring. This book is no different. I enjoyed understanding more of her past that never made it into one of her videos. If you a huge fan of her YouTube channel, don't worry, she ends up repeating very little content in her videos. Her advice is coming from the heart and are suggestions rather than strict rules to live by. As usual, she's funny and self-deprecating, but it's charming nonetheless. This is a super quick read and there's the audio version that she voices available as well. The book flows quite nicely and is shorter than I would like it. Hopefully she writes more in the future.
    more
  • Alison
    June 25, 2017
    So Much I Want to Tell You I first heard of Anna Akana when her video How to put on your face went viral. Since then I occasionally check out her channel. Having watched a few of her videos, it was very easy to read the book in her voice. She is very frank, and it was interesting to learn how she got into youtube and about her family history. I've never read another youtuber's book, but this felt very similar to reading a celebrity memoir.
    more
  • Jillian Daniels
    June 21, 2017
    I really loved the writing and the message of this book. It makes me really want to pick up writing. The only thing I was not a fan of was that I thought it was a bit misleading, I thought it was going to have a larger focus on mental health. Overall, I still really enjoyed it, but it just wasn't what I thought it was.
    more
  • Rachel Ellyn
    June 23, 2017
    Although the concepts are nothing new (too this old-timer), her story and her take on life is bold and fresh. I think this is an excellent book for every teenager and 20-something to read. I truly enjoyed reading her "coming of age" her way.
  • Kisty Mea
    June 22, 2017
    Raw, honest, insightful, and I need a sequel of her writingI enjoyed reading this book. I wish it was longer because I can't get enough of Anna Akana's wit and honesty.Hope she'll write more books!
  • Hope
    June 24, 2017
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I've been a fan of Anna for years and was excited when she said she wrote a book. It was interesting and the stories made me laugh, to the point I read it in one sitting. I did expect it to be written in letter form to her sister but I still enjoyed the book.
    more
  • Dovee
    June 13, 2017
    "Such an easy, effortless read. The pages are filled with casual advises intertwined with personal memoir style stories."
  • Lee Matibe
    June 15, 2017
    It's a book about the hard walks of life. I'm a big fan of life stories do A+ from me.
  • Marcus
    June 17, 2017
    Thoroughly enjoyed the deep and honest life lessons, yet presented in a light tone. Anna Akana narrated the book herself. Would recommend to my little sister!
  • Michael Ngo
    June 25, 2017
    This book was touching and funny, really wish that it was longer. I enjoyed the audiobook narration from Anna.
  • Anna
    June 24, 2017
    3.5/5 stars
Write a review