The Light We Lost
Me Before You meets One Day in this devastatingly romantic debut novel about the enduring power of first love with a shocking, unforgettable ending. A Love Story for a new generation.He was the first person to inspire her, to move her, to truly understand her. Was he meant to be the last?Lucy is faced with a life-altering choice. But before she can make her decision, she must start her story—their story—at the very beginning.Lucy and Gabe meet as seniors at Columbia University on a day that changes both of their lives forever. Together, they decide they want their lives to mean something, to matter. When they meet again a year later, it seems fated—perhaps they’ll find life’s meaning in each other. But then Gabe becomes a photojournalist assigned to the Middle East and Lucy pursues a career in New York. What follows is a thirteen-year journey of dreams, desires, jealousies, betrayals, and, ultimately, of love. Was it fate that brought them together? Is it choice that has kept them away? Their journey takes Lucy and Gabe continents apart, but never out of each other’s hearts.

The Light We Lost Details

TitleThe Light We Lost
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherG.P. Putnam's Sons
ISBN0735212759
ISBN-139780735212756
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Romance, Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Adult, Contemporary Romance, New York

The Light We Lost Review

  • Me_LissaH
    March 9, 2017
    Copy received from netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewOn the one hand this was a romantic heart-wrenching beautiful story and I really enjoyed watching Lucy’s and Gabe’s journey, but on the other hand it left me in such a sad mood. That ending was so heartbreaking. This is the kind of story that will stay with you long after you’ve read it.
    more
  • Lisa Aiello
    March 29, 2017
    I received an ARC of this through NetGalley for an honest review.And honestly, I am still trying to gather up the pieces of my heart. You know those books that break your heart and then mend it back together? Well, this one forgot about the mending part!! This is a story about chances and choices, karma and fate, the decisions we make when we come to a fork in the road. It is about trying to be okay with what we did choose, hoping we don't have to live with regrets. It is about being brave and s I received an ARC of this through NetGalley for an honest review.And honestly, I am still trying to gather up the pieces of my heart. You know those books that break your heart and then mend it back together? Well, this one forgot about the mending part!! This is a story about chances and choices, karma and fate, the decisions we make when we come to a fork in the road. It is about trying to be okay with what we did choose, hoping we don't have to live with regrets. It is about being brave and staying true to yourself. It was a sad story, but life often is. It was beautifully done!
    more
  • Liz Fenwick
    March 24, 2017
    Stunning.
  • Hanife
    January 11, 2017
    We come to this world to make mistakes, choices, to love, live, be. Those are the things that shaped us today. Own your mistakes and choices. It is okay to make one. It is okay to live the life despite all highs and lows. More then anything, know this, it is okay to be you. Lucy and Gabe's story touched a part of me that wasn't healing. It taught me that I was still holding on to it. That it is ok I am holding on to memories. But not with desperation. You have to cherish it. You have to seize th We come to this world to make mistakes, choices, to love, live, be. Those are the things that shaped us today. Own your mistakes and choices. It is okay to make one. It is okay to live the life despite all highs and lows. More then anything, know this, it is okay to be you. Lucy and Gabe's story touched a part of me that wasn't healing. It taught me that I was still holding on to it. That it is ok I am holding on to memories. But not with desperation. You have to cherish it. You have to seize the day at best. You have to live your life at fullest capacity. More then anything let your heart to be open for others. Because you will never know, when your heart or the heart you love so much stop beating for you and for that person. Old me wouldn't go for this kinda book in million years. Looks like when you grow up, your choice change in everyway. I know I look at this story with a different kinda perspective. My goal was to live through it with author. Because it has such plain but non less effective way of telling the story to you. Once again I learned well; reading a book is indeed living countless life. It is for you to take lessons from each one of them. This is more like my emotions for the book then a review but I couldn't let myself not write few words over it. I am sure there are way more emotional books for other people in literature, books has different effects on every person. Looks like this one was what I needed the most.
    more
  • Marla
    April 8, 2017
    When I first started reading this book, I wasn't sure if I was going to like it. I didn't like the way Lucy was telling Gabe about their relationship. It felt weird to me. But then I got used to it and was pulled into Lucy's life. She and Gabe meet in college and it seems like their love is meant to last forever. But Gabe is unfulfilled. He wants to head to the Middle East and do more with his photography. Lucy loves her job and loves Gabe so how can she hold him back and possibly make him resen When I first started reading this book, I wasn't sure if I was going to like it. I didn't like the way Lucy was telling Gabe about their relationship. It felt weird to me. But then I got used to it and was pulled into Lucy's life. She and Gabe meet in college and it seems like their love is meant to last forever. But Gabe is unfulfilled. He wants to head to the Middle East and do more with his photography. Lucy loves her job and loves Gabe so how can she hold him back and possibly make him resent her. So he goes and they move on in their separate lives. But things keep pulling them back together. I think there is a kind of love where you can completely love someone but want them to succeed at the thing they love because if you don't have passion in your work, you don't have happiness in your life. So sometimes you have to sacrifice. I liked Lucy's husband Darren but there were points when I wanted to smack him. I LOVED their daughter Violet. This book made me smile but it also made me cry and it broke my heart in so many different ways. This was such a good book. If you are thinking about reading this, pick up because you won't be disappointed.I received an advanced copy from Penguin Random House's First to Read program.
    more
  • Grace {Rebel Mommy Book Blog}
    April 22, 2017
    This review was originally posted on Rebel Mommy Book Blog
  • Sophie
    March 11, 2017
    Netgalley copy in exchange for an honest review. It was such a beautifully rendered and heartbreaking book, I feel like this is going to stay with me for a long time. Beautiful.
  • Julie Cohen
    March 25, 2017
    An affecting and beautifully-written story about love and missed chances, and how global events can change the course of a single person's life.
  • Autumn
    January 24, 2017
    It left me completely gutted and emotionally raw and yet still I wanted to savor all of its lush poetic beauty for just a little bit longer.This is one that you are going to have to experience for yourself. Trust me. It's really THAT good... *Full Review Closer To Release Date*
    more
  • Jeannette
    April 12, 2017
    I should qualify this by saying that this style of novel isn't mine. I'm not incredibly big on contemporary romance. However, that doesn't mean that there is a lot to enjoy in this story. There's a lot of emotion in Lucy's story, and the intensity which she pours into her love for Gabe is real. The way in which Gabe returns it to her is also almost tangible. And as Lucy tells her story, the writing really feels like floating along on memories. There's a light aspect to it that, along with the sh I should qualify this by saying that this style of novel isn't mine. I'm not incredibly big on contemporary romance. However, that doesn't mean that there is a lot to enjoy in this story. There's a lot of emotion in Lucy's story, and the intensity which she pours into her love for Gabe is real. The way in which Gabe returns it to her is also almost tangible. And as Lucy tells her story, the writing really feels like floating along on memories. There's a light aspect to it that, along with the short chapters, really makes it feel like the reader is reflecting along with her. To be honest, I probably would have cried while reading this if it weren't for one little thing, which is what reminded me to begin with that I don't like contemporary romance. I didn't like either of the main characters. I really empathized with many of the things Lucy was going through (in fact, her life was once something I'd aspired to), but I didn't like how she handled them. The entire story was of course told from her perspective, so I agreed with her that Gabe was selfish. And I really liked Darren for the most part, but this wasn't about him; not to mention, I felt like Lucy treated him and her children really badly by the end. I understood where all these things were coming from, and Santopolo made them feel so very real. But their realness was not very likable at times, just like real people are not very likable at times.What was most interesting about this book to me, actually, was the way in many ways it actually parallels with my own previous life plan and that of people I know. This is almost a what-could-have-happened story for me. In that sense, it really made me think hard about my life and the choices that people make, and why we make them. So while it wasn't really my type of book, I can see it being something that would be for others, and I definitely found it thought-provoking.
    more
  • Bibliophile Book Club
    April 4, 2017
    Regular readers of my blog will know that The Light We Lost is a major departure from my usual reads. Normally, if there isn’t at least one murder between the pages, I don’t tend to read the book so imagine my surprise when this book turned up. I’m going through a spate of books that aren’t doing anything for me, so I picked this one up in the hope that the difference in genre would be the change I needed.Following Lucy and Gabe from their first meeting on September 11th 2001 through the next th Regular readers of my blog will know that The Light We Lost is a major departure from my usual reads. Normally, if there isn’t at least one murder between the pages, I don’t tend to read the book so imagine my surprise when this book turned up. I’m going through a spate of books that aren’t doing anything for me, so I picked this one up in the hope that the difference in genre would be the change I needed.Following Lucy and Gabe from their first meeting on September 11th 2001 through the next thirteen years of their lives , The Light We Lost takes the reader on a compelling and emotional journey through the monumental life decisions and the subtle shifts in circumstance that these characters experience. I warmed to both of these characters immediately. I loved how when we met them, Lucy and Gabe were wide-eyed and impressionable students. Open to everything, and yet drawn together on the darkest days in America’s history, the relationship they develop is complicated and swathed in memories from the outset. Jill Santopolo has written their development beautifully and captured the raw emotion they experience.The Light We Lost is a really vivid love story and once I started reading it I couldn’t put it down. I loved how it chronicled the lives of Lucy and Gabe and the directions that their lives took as a result of their decisions. The emotional fallouts from their decisions, coupled with the beautiful writing from the author made this book special.I’m not going to lie, I definitely found myself getting caught up in their sweeping love story. I am not good with any sort of emotional books, and The Light We Lost is definitely one of them. It made me happy, it made me cross, it made me cry, but it made me feel. That’s the thing. That’s what got me. I became invested in Lucy and Gabe’s story, and ultimately, it got me in the end. The Light We Lost is a beautifully-written and compelling story with real heart.Highly recommended!
    more
  • Elizabeth (Liz)
    April 18, 2017
    Set aside. Making me incredibly sad, even just in the way it's written. Can't deal with that right now.
  • MichellemyBelle
    March 18, 2017
    ***ARC provided in exchange for an honest review***"The Light We Lost" an angst ridden heart wrenching love story that spans over a decade. The story is told in an pseudo diary form, which produces a very detailed discussion of the main protagonist Lucy's thoughts and feelings. Lucy meets Gabe in college. Their initial meeting the circumstances surrounding what bonded them was nicely done. That time in history is one of those defining moments where everyone who lived through it can instantly rem ***ARC provided in exchange for an honest review***"The Light We Lost" an angst ridden heart wrenching love story that spans over a decade. The story is told in an pseudo diary form, which produces a very detailed discussion of the main protagonist Lucy's thoughts and feelings. Lucy meets Gabe in college. Their initial meeting the circumstances surrounding what bonded them was nicely done. That time in history is one of those defining moments where everyone who lived through it can instantly remember who they were with and what they were doing. Had the Point of View been written in any other format, I would only imagine that the story would have lagged and stalled. Lucy only covers the noteworthy events of her life, energizing the pace and plot into a story I could not put down. None of the strategically placed foreshadowing slipped my notice. They were well place breadcrumbs as to what Gabe and Lucy's future held. A completely contemplative, melancholy read, with pockets of sweetness, hope, and love. 4.5 stars
    more
  • Bkwmlee
    March 14, 2017
    3.5 stars.Let me start off by saying that I have never been a fan of contemporary romance novels. Nothing against the genre per se, it’s just that I prefer stories with more depth to them and unfortunately, a lot of the books I’ve read that fall into this specific category are typically lacking in this area. While I would consider The Light We Lost as one of the better-written contemporary romance books I’ve read, it still didn’t quite hit the mark for me, especially from an emotional perspectiv 3.5 stars.Let me start off by saying that I have never been a fan of contemporary romance novels. Nothing against the genre per se, it’s just that I prefer stories with more depth to them and unfortunately, a lot of the books I’ve read that fall into this specific category are typically lacking in this area. While I would consider The Light We Lost as one of the better-written contemporary romance books I’ve read, it still didn’t quite hit the mark for me, especially from an emotional perspective. In reading the reviews, I know a lot of people loved this book and found it to be a heartbreakingly romantic and moving love story, which I guess it was to some extent depending on how you look at it, but to be honest, I didn’t really feel it. The story started off well and in the beginning, I truly was moved by the special bond and love that the central couple Lucy and Gabe shared, but as the story progressed, I found myself becoming increasingly frustrated with the direction things were going, especially with the main character Lucy. It was hard for me to understand Lucy’s thought process at times and some of the actions she took as well as reactions she had to things that happened actually frustrated me to no end. While I didn’t really like Lucy all that much, I do appreciate the author’s attempts to make her character realistic in that, like all human beings, Lucy is not perfect – she makes mistakes (big ones as well as minor) and bad choices that of course have devastating consequences and have the potential to ruin the good life that she had worked so hard to build. In this regard, even though I disagreed with a lot of Lucy’s actions, there were some parts where I was truly able to empathize with her.One of the things that I found disappointing with this book was the lack of character development outside of Lucy. She was pretty much the only character in the book who was fully developed – everyone else was essentially one-dimensional. I’m assuming this has to do with the way the story was structured in that the entire narrative was told from the first person point-of-view, with Lucy “talking”’ to Gabe and essentially recounting her perspective of their story from the day the two of them first met. This “spin” on the first-person narrative is indeed unique, but I also felt it kind of backfired in that I was basically able to guess the ending early on, barely a few chapters into the story. Perhaps this is one of the reasons why I was not able to relate to the story as much on an emotional level. The summary hints at similarities to Me Before You in terms of romantic, “tug at your heartstrings” love story, but to me, both books were at different levels. Me Before You had way more emotional depth – that book made me laugh but also made me cry, the ending especially. This one didn’t have the same emotional pull – or perhaps it was just lost on me. Overall, I would say that this was a good book, just not my type of book. It’s definitely well-written and as far as contemporary romances go, this one deserves to be near the top of the list in that genre. Some of the dialogue was meaningful and the message about the consequences of choice definitely rings loud and clear. Received advance reader’s copy from G.P. Putnam via Penguin First To Read program.
    more
  • Haley
    April 30, 2017
    *I received advance readers copy in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Edelweiss and G.P. Putnam's Sons*I don't think I even have words to explain how I felt about this book. The writing was all unique to me and it was just so emotional. This book starts at a horrific and tragic event (9/11). This story revolves around Luce and Gabe who go through everything to stay together while finding their life's meaning. Their goals end up affecting each other and it causes them to separate, but they *I received advance readers copy in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Edelweiss and G.P. Putnam's Sons*I don't think I even have words to explain how I felt about this book. The writing was all unique to me and it was just so emotional. This book starts at a horrific and tragic event (9/11). This story revolves around Luce and Gabe who go through everything to stay together while finding their life's meaning. Their goals end up affecting each other and it causes them to separate, but they are still together in their hearts. The writing of this book was different for me and I loved it because it just drew out the raw emotion even more. I absolutely will buy this book when it comes out. Overall, this book was just a story of never forgetting your first love and not only that, but trying to create a life around the person you thought you were supposed to be with. The ending absolutely killed me and I was just waiting for the bomb to drop and it did. I just didn't expect it to end like that....
    more
  • Rachel Burton
    April 29, 2017
    A stunningly beautiful, exquisitely written love story that, despite my reservations about both Darren and Gabe (both so selfish in their own unique ways), took my breath away & broke me into a million pieces. Best read slowly, relishing every word.
  • Angie Rhodes
    April 9, 2017
    OMG!!! This has been hailed as the new One Day and Me Before You. and rightly so. Gabe and Lucy meet on a day that will not only change their lives, but that of the World, September 11 2oo1 , It starts with a simple "Hi" and Lucy's heart will never be the same again, Once my Lovereading review is live, I will re post, Oh you will need tissues, lots of tissues
    more
  • Bobbi
    March 24, 2017
    Well, once again my opinion seems to be in the minority. According to a senior editor at Putnam, within six weeks the book was sold into twenty-seven different languages, and the ARC includes rave notes from some of the foreign publishers. I don't get it, but I'm from a different generation than those folks, who tend to be much younger.Anyway, it IS an interesting love story. It begins when Lucy and Gabe meet; they're seniors at Columbia, and they meet on September 11, 2001. Because of what happ Well, once again my opinion seems to be in the minority. According to a senior editor at Putnam, within six weeks the book was sold into twenty-seven different languages, and the ARC includes rave notes from some of the foreign publishers. I don't get it, but I'm from a different generation than those folks, who tend to be much younger.Anyway, it IS an interesting love story. It begins when Lucy and Gabe meet; they're seniors at Columbia, and they meet on September 11, 2001. Because of what happened on that day, the date would always be unforgettable, and I can understand how the emotion of sharing that day and watching that awful black cloud rise above Manhattan would bind them together. And I also understand how such a strong attraction could continue over the years, even when they haven't been in touch for quite a long time. But I had trouble accepting some of the choices each of them made, and it was really a sticking point for me. My resistence probably comes from unease with being reminded that none of us is perfect, and we all make dumb mistakes and bad decisions, some of which we have to live with for the rest of our lives. I'm beginning to sound like a grumpy old lady, so I'll stop now.My thanks to G. P. Putnam's Sons for the ARC. On sale May 2, 2017.
    more
  • Nadinedabbagh
    March 18, 2017
    The Light We Lost by Jill SantopoloFirst love, Life choices and pages of ‘What ifs’…….Are there any coincidences in life? Is every decision mapped out? Is there such a thing as one love?“We’ve known each other for almost half our lives. I’ve seen you smiling, confident, blissfully happy. I’ve seen you broken, wounded, lost. But I have never seen you like this” Prologue from The Light We Lost. Lucy & Gabe.A love story with a twist. A page turner. A thought provoking, beautifully written story The Light We Lost by Jill SantopoloFirst love, Life choices and pages of ‘What ifs’…….Are there any coincidences in life? Is every decision mapped out? Is there such a thing as one love?“We’ve known each other for almost half our lives. I’ve seen you smiling, confident, blissfully happy. I’ve seen you broken, wounded, lost. But I have never seen you like this” Prologue from The Light We Lost. Lucy & Gabe.A love story with a twist. A page turner. A thought provoking, beautifully written story. The decisions we make and the road they take us down. Lucy and Gabe are not the perfect couple, but to them what they have is perfect. Young love. Excitement. The honeymoon period, when it is still cute and endearing to live with someone that leaves the presses open or the wet towel on the bed! Lucy and Gabe meet on the 11th of September 2001. A date that not many will ever forget. Gabe is a photojournalist in the middle east, who wants to make a difference, who wants his work to have meaning. Lucy is a producer/writer in New York, who wants to make a difference, who wants her work to have meaning. Unfolds is the thirteen-year journey from the day they met. A journey of decisions, growth, work, desires, love and betrayals. Santopolo writes expressively gently introducing the small cracks that settle in their relationship (in principle all relationships). Gabe references the relationship as similar to that of Bellerophon and Pegasus (If I recall my dusty mythical history Bellerophon masters Pegasus) not the ideal sentiments you want in a relationship.Not my usual read however I enjoyed the book, it was thought provoking, well written with beautiful references to English literature. I am a sucker for an attractive book and this book ticked the boxes, with a cover in turquoise with striking gold font and graphics. I loved the authors idea of a reading list at the end of the book. Original.Is there a happy ending? the onus is on you to find out.‘Never love anyone who treats you like you are ordinary’ Oscar Wilde1morepage.wordpress.com
    more
  • Lindsay♫Sings
    April 30, 2017
    Whatever you are doing right now, STOP. Go get this book (once it is officially released on May 9th) and read it. Seriously. Oh, and buy a box of tissues as well, because you are going to need them because....ALL. THE. FEELS.Lucy and Gabe are two binary stars rotating around each other in a love that is out of this world. Like, the kind of love that poems and sonnets are written about, and artists find inspiration in and musicians compose from. The book is all from Lucy's point of view as if she Whatever you are doing right now, STOP. Go get this book (once it is officially released on May 9th) and read it. Seriously. Oh, and buy a box of tissues as well, because you are going to need them because....ALL. THE. FEELS.Lucy and Gabe are two binary stars rotating around each other in a love that is out of this world. Like, the kind of love that poems and sonnets are written about, and artists find inspiration in and musicians compose from. The book is all from Lucy's point of view as if she is talking directly TO Gabe....but why? Very unique for an entire novel to be written from this perspective and it definitely takes a little getting used to. Eventually, Gabe wanders away, following his passion for photography to the Middle East, leaving Lucy shattered. She finds new love that isn't quite the same, but she settles down nevertheless and starts a family, still occasionally keeping in touch with Gabe. Without ruining the full story, we follow Lucy's journey for thirteen years and through it all, the author does an amazing job of keeping the characters and the story real and so beautiful.**Thank you, Netgalley, for providing me with this ARC in exchange for my review**
    more
  • Ashley Haley
    April 11, 2017
    The book begins with our main character Lucy telling the love story of her and Gabe. They met on September 11th while seniors at Columbia University on a day that changed the path of their world forever. This story was written in a way that took a little while for me to get used to, but it wasn't long before I was dying to know why Lucy was writing her story to Gabe. This was a journey of love, choices, passion, dreams and desires, and how each of them impact two souls that were bound together. The book begins with our main character Lucy telling the love story of her and Gabe. They met on September 11th while seniors at Columbia University on a day that changed the path of their world forever. This story was written in a way that took a little while for me to get used to, but it wasn't long before I was dying to know why Lucy was writing her story to Gabe. This was a journey of love, choices, passion, dreams and desires, and how each of them impact two souls that were bound together. Even though I had to wait until the last few chapters to learn why the book was written in this way, I ended up loving every step of Lucy's journey, and further appreciated Santopolo's writing. This was a quick read that I highly recommend for those that enjoy Contemporary Romance. Release date is May 9th. Thank you to Penguin Random House's First to Read program for an advanced copy of this book.
    more
  • Nina
    May 1, 2017
    I won this through a Goodreads giveaway.Ever have a friend who cannot stop yammering about the love that got away? Imagine over 300 pages of that and you have the essentials of this book. The narrator is incredibly immature, as is the object of her enduring obsession, who has very little use for her, except on the rare occasions when his feelings have been hurt. A significant portion of this book is devoted to the narrator commenting on the fact that the second boyfriend does things that would n I won this through a Goodreads giveaway.Ever have a friend who cannot stop yammering about the love that got away? Imagine over 300 pages of that and you have the essentials of this book. The narrator is incredibly immature, as is the object of her enduring obsession, who has very little use for her, except on the rare occasions when his feelings have been hurt. A significant portion of this book is devoted to the narrator commenting on the fact that the second boyfriend does things that would never have occurred to the first and vice versa. Because different partners haveing different behaviors is apparently unexpected. The main characters are awful, self-absorbed, over-privileged people. It is appalling that it's mentioned in the same breath as "Me Before You", "One Day", or even "Love Story".
    more
  • Christine (Shh Moms Reading)
    April 28, 2017
    I had high hopes for this one. While I was totally engrossed in the story itself, I had A LOT of problems with the choices that the main characters made. When I finished the book, I was just sad 😕This is a new author to me that I would read again Full review to come
    more
  • Piepie Beuttel
    April 27, 2017
    Wow! I read this book in a single day -- I can't come up with words to describe what I'm feeling. This story between starcrossed lovers Gabe and Lucy - which begins on September 11 - is beautiful and sad and magical. If you loved "Me Before You," you will love this book!! Thank you, Netgalley, for this arc.
    more
  • Stephanie Lambert-varrin
    April 20, 2017
    Heartbreakingly beautiful.
  • Kayla
    March 9, 2017
    Absolutely incredible. This is one of those books that makes you question every moment in your own life and leaves you short of breath as you digest everything that happened. I can't even express how I'm feeling right now -- numb but alive; sad but hopeful. This is the best romance/women's fiction novel I have ever read.
    more
  • Jamie
    March 5, 2017
    this book absolutely gutted me...and yet, i can't stop thinking about it or wanting to talk about it...
  • Laura
    May 4, 2017
    Book reviews on www.snazzybooks.com I wasn’t sure what to expect from The Light We Lost – it’s a real change from the many thrillers and crime novels I often read (but not exclusively), focusing on the relationship – and lack thereof - of Lucy and Gabe, the main characters. It’s important to note, though, that other characters play a key part in the novel too, without giving anything away.The fact that the novel is described as “Me Before You meets One Day”, which are two novels I absolutely lov Book reviews on www.snazzybooks.com I wasn’t sure what to expect from The Light We Lost – it’s a real change from the many thrillers and crime novels I often read (but not exclusively), focusing on the relationship – and lack thereof - of Lucy and Gabe, the main characters. It’s important to note, though, that other characters play a key part in the novel too, without giving anything away.The fact that the novel is described as “Me Before You meets One Day”, which are two novels I absolutely love, means I knew I had to read this!At the beginning I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it; there were parts which felt a bit over the top, but you soon come to realise that this is just Lucy and Gabe’s relationship. They are hugely passionate and they love each other so much that every feeling, every sticking point, is amplified. For this reason – and various others that you’ll see as you read The Light We Lost – I struggled to really gel with the characters. As I continued reading, though, I saw that actually there are reasons for some characters behaving the way they do - and I always enjoy stories that don’t paint one person as perfect. When Lucy is considering various people she can imagine ending up with, she admits that there may not be one person who’d be perfect in every way – because people aren’t perfect! I liked that Lucy was self-aware of the fact that she perhaps expected too much at times.The story itself absorbed me more and more as it went on. I absolutely loved the way it mapped history from 2001 onwards, with key events that I remember taking place, some like it was only yesterday even though I was quite young, for example, when the Twin Towers went down. It felt very poignant and emotional to read about these events and, with many, remember them, as you see how Lucy, Gabe, and other people experienced it and what they meant to their lives. These events alter the course of history but also Lucy and Gabe’s, and every ‘what if’ that both characters think about is like a pierce through the heart because if one thing or the other hadn’t happen, everything could have been different.I really enjoyed this novel, and anyone who loves an emotional read is likely to as well. There are parts which are a little cheesy, but hey – this IS, after all, romantic fiction, and I raced through it to the end, where it stayed with me for quite a while after I’d finished it!Many thanks to HQ and Netgalley for providing a copy of this novel on which I chose to write an honest and unbiased review.
    more
  • Tifany
    March 17, 2017
    -Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with this book-This book was a whirlwind.. I'm surprised I picked it up, but it really did give me a new perspective on life. There truly are pivotal moments in your life that will affect you forever. In Lucy's case, how would her relation with Darren be? Would it have been as conflicted as it had been? Would Lucy have viewed her own career differently? Her life was forever changed from the moment 9/11 occured and met Gabe. I will admit that I still don't -Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with this book-This book was a whirlwind.. I'm surprised I picked it up, but it really did give me a new perspective on life. There truly are pivotal moments in your life that will affect you forever. In Lucy's case, how would her relation with Darren be? Would it have been as conflicted as it had been? Would Lucy have viewed her own career differently? Her life was forever changed from the moment 9/11 occured and met Gabe. I will admit that I still don't understand the connection Lucy and Gabe had. I don't entirely get why they always gravitated to each other. It demonstrates to me the complexity of human emotions. They are hard to understand! Although I did not like Lucy's decisions at time, I did generally like Lucy. She was caring and driven. She deeply loved her children and the people she cared about, but she also would not sacrifice her goals and aspirations. However, I also wished she would express her concerns with Darren and her friends rather than letting it fester. Things may have been far different if they confided in each other rather than hiding behind them. I also wished that Lucy wouldn't just ignore her bad feelings. She constantly brushes over them. Then, the event eventually blows out of proportions. Lucy was by no means a perfect character, but she was still an interesting and layered character. While Lucy was interesting, Darren did feel like a flat character. We never see him change at all. All in all, I enjoyed this book. It was interesting. It demonstrates how you can't go back in time to fix your problems. You only get your opportunities once, maybe twice if you are lucky. It showed me the difficulties of balancing your selfish wants and considering other people. However, I wished I learned more about Gabe and his thoughts. He's still a mystery to me although I know him fron Lucy's view.
    more
  • Tammy
    March 25, 2017
    Gabe and Lucy meet in class at college on September 11 in New York City. The tragedy of the events that take place that day with the collapse of the twin towers while Gabe and Lucy observe the skyline from the rooftop of a dorm connect together their personal history for the rest of their lives. Lucy tells this story as if she's telling Gabe about their lives together, apart and how they reconnect throughout the thirteen year time span of this book. I read this story as if I was sitting with a f Gabe and Lucy meet in class at college on September 11 in New York City. The tragedy of the events that take place that day with the collapse of the twin towers while Gabe and Lucy observe the skyline from the rooftop of a dorm connect together their personal history for the rest of their lives. Lucy tells this story as if she's telling Gabe about their lives together, apart and how they reconnect throughout the thirteen year time span of this book. I read this story as if I was sitting with a friend listening to her relate to me what has happened to her over the last thirteen years, the highs, the lows and everything in between. The mistakes that are made, the chances that were not taken, the outcome that could have been different. The characters had me from the beginning. I didn't want to put the book down until I knew the ending. I would pick this book up in a heartbeat and reread it again.
    more
Write a review