The Light We Lost
He was the first person to inspire her, to move her, to truly understand her. Was he meant to be the last?Lucy is faced with a life-altering choice. But before she can make her decision, she must start her story—their story—at the very beginning. Lucy and Gabe meet as seniors at Columbia University on a day that changes both of their lives forever. Together, they decide they want their lives to mean something, to matter. When they meet again a year later, it seems fated—perhaps they’ll find life’s meaning in each other. But then Gabe becomes a photojournalist assigned to the Middle East and Lucy pursues a career in New York. What follows is a thirteen-year journey of dreams, desires, jealousies, betrayals, and, ultimately, of love. Was it fate that brought them together? Is it choice that has kept them away? Their journey takes Lucy and Gabe continents apart, but never out of each other’s hearts.

The Light We Lost Details

TitleThe Light We Lost
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherG.P. Putnam's Sons
ISBN-139780735212756
Rating
GenreRomance, Fiction, Contemporary, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

The Light We Lost Review

  • Melissa
    January 1, 1970
    If you’re anything like me—a lover of love, believer in fate or a sentimental dreamer—drop everything and read this book . . . now. I had an inkling this was going to be something special when I picked it up, but I had no idea just how hard this story would tug on my heart or how emotionally invested I would become.What lends this story a unique feel, in my opinion, is the way Jill Santopolo tells it. Through the eyes of Lucy, a woman living in New York, we’re given a front row seat to an all-co If you’re anything like me—a lover of love, believer in fate or a sentimental dreamer—drop everything and read this book . . . now. I had an inkling this was going to be something special when I picked it up, but I had no idea just how hard this story would tug on my heart or how emotionally invested I would become.What lends this story a unique feel, in my opinion, is the way Jill Santopolo tells it. Through the eyes of Lucy, a woman living in New York, we’re given a front row seat to an all-consuming, passion-filled, crazy-intense love—the kind that you experience once in a lifetime, if you’re lucky.Each chapter serves as a vignette of sorts—a combination of Lucy and Gabe over their 14-month relationship and Lucy over a ten-year span, post-Gabe. The interesting thing is, it’s written as if Lucy is talking directly to the one man that will always own a piece of her soul. The man her mind and heart always seem to gravitate towards. She’s reminiscing in a way—pouring her heart out to her first love Gabe, sharing her thoughts about what was so right and in hindsight what should have given her pause—were the choices they made way back when the right ones? Naturally, you have to wonder, why now? How has Lucy landed herself in this moment after so much time has gone by and they’ve both essentially moved on with their lives? Or have they?This story delves deep and through Lucy examines how our decisions—the compromises or lack thereof, the burning desire to chase our dreams or willingness to set them aside and the acceptance or rejection of another’s perceived flaws—ultimately shape the lives we lead and the relationships that remain a constant. Is being together a twist of fate at all or is it more of a conscious choice? “A woman filled with light makes everything she touches brighter.” Not everyone, myself included, will fully understand every decision Lucy makes along the way, or avoid clinging on to the fact that she was incredibly selfish in some instances, given she was living the life she chose, but at the end of the day, I felt like who was I to judge. We all know, the heart wants what it wants and sometimes that doesn't always equate to rational choices. The only other thing I’m going to say about this story, prepare yourself. Not only for a book that’s impossible to put down, one that will own you for the entire time it takes to read and most likely days, if not weeks after, but for a story that will leave you emotionally gutted. Lucy and Gabe's journey is incredibly heartbreaking and what made it even a touch more powerful was reading the author’s acknowledgements—her candid admission that she started writing this book after going through a breakup of her own.This is an astonishingly beautiful and raw look at what drives most of us—finding that one person who leaves a permanent mark on our soul and the desire to always keep them close.
    more
  • emma
    January 1, 1970
    I don't know if this is going to be funny. Gasp! is your reaction, I presume. I know. Without fail, no matter what, I’m funny. That’s the Emma Guarantee: Five stars or one, hilarity ensues™. But not this time, maybe.https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...(Update from later: I ended up writing the majority of this review at a later date from this initial bit (had to let the injustice simmer into humor, you know how it is) (yeah, I just hit you with double parentheses, what are you gonna do about I don't know if this is going to be funny. Gasp! is your reaction, I presume. I know. Without fail, no matter what, I’m funny. That’s the Emma Guarantee: Five stars or one, hilarity ensues™. But not this time, maybe.https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...(Update from later: I ended up writing the majority of this review at a later date from this initial bit (had to let the injustice simmer into humor, you know how it is) (yeah, I just hit you with double parentheses, what are you gonna do about it?). Anyway, sometimes while writing this I got too mad to be funny but honestly, my amusing-ness comes naturally. So it worked out.)I feel a really massive mix of emotions right now. And not in a fun way. I will try to list some feelings that are currently warring within me: sadness, irritation, anger, confusion, disappointment. Hm! All negative. Not looking good for you, three stars, four stars, and five stars. Look! Progress on the rating front already.This is the synopsis I read of this book (you know, the bananas misleading one that made me make the mistake of picking it up): “For your friend who ugly cried while watching ‘One Day’....‘The Light We Lost’ will bring you back. This read’s about two people who meet in strange circumstances who keep running into each other over the years. Get it, then grab the Kleenex.”Um, no. I goddamn wish. But no.(To clarify, I didn’t ugly cry at One Day. Uh, duh. That would destroy my whole thing. My carefully cultivated brand. I just really like stories in which people meet coincidentally over time.)Instead of that synopsis, we get a metric f*ck ton of characters who fully suck treating each other terribly. The crown jewel in this treasure trove of horrible is our eye roll-inducing protagonist, Lucy. On 9/11 - yes, 9/11 - Lucy meets Gabe, and they instantly fall in love and make out while 3,000 people are dying blocks away. Yes, those are the “strange circumstances.”That’s, like, ten pages in. The worst bit is you can tell the author knows it’s offensive. She inserts excuses about how hundreds of people were doing it, and tries to make it profound by the use of truisms about how massive loss of life makes the living want to live. So, like, if you knew it was awful, PICK ANY OTHER DAY IN THE TWENTY-FIRST CENTURY. But beginning your ~life-changing romance~ during one of the greatest tragedies in American history?God. I’d like to clarify that my “mix of emotions” has changed. Now it’s exclusively fury. THIS BOOK JUST MAKES ME SO ANGRY. Lucy is so self-centered and immature and inconsiderate and emotionally stunted, and so is Gabe. They totally are perfect for each other! We follow them for 13 years, while they consistently throw the people in their lives to the side in favor of making steamy eye contact with one another whenever possible.They don’t “keep running into each other over the years.” It’s all orchestrated and intentional, BECAUSE THEY’RE OBSESSED WITH EACH OTHER. They never talk about anything else, and they see each other at every opportunity. It doesn’t matter if Lucy is dating, or engaged, or married, or married with children. Whenever Gabe shows up, she drops EVERYTHING. She brings her young daughter with her to see him when he gets the news that his mom died, so that toddler gets the fun childhood memory of seeing an adult stranger uncontrollably crying alongside an early confrontation of the reality and pervasiveness of death!She also dates, gets engaged to, marries, and has children with this guy Darren, I think, who adores her, despite never really being totally sold on the dude. He turns out to be a total piece of sh*t, but that’s just so Gabe looks better in comparison.Gabe really needs that. Because he’s just as self-obsessed and inconsiderate as Lucy, and also utterly pretentious, totally egocentric and BORING. (Lucy is also the latter.) This isn’t so much an incredible love story as “Wow, those two people are truly horrible. They should end up together.”The worst thing that happens in this book - besides the 9/11 incorporation - is a massive spoiler, so don’t read this if you’re at all feeling like you may pick up the book. (view spoiler)[Lucy thinks Darren, her adoring and terrible husband, is cheating on her, so she f*cks Gabe. And gets pregnant. But she only finds out that last bit after Gabe is brain dead and she has to pull the plug. Oh, and also? Darren wasn’t cheating on her. He was buying her a house. She’s just psychotic. (hide spoiler)] And now, my thoughts on that, which are also spoilery: (view spoiler)[WHAT THE FUCK? ARE YOU KIDDING ME? That’s so f*cking manipulative to the reader, but on top of that, what the fuck is wrong with the characters in this book? Gabe f*cked a married woman, Lucy betrayed her whole family, and Darren’s just a bag of garbage that missed trash pickup day personified. I hate this book so much, my God. (hide spoiler)]This whole thing just felt like emotional manipulation. Darren existed to make Gabe seem okay, and every twist of the plot was calculated to be the most emotional rollercoaster-y it could be, and everything turned out the way it did in the hopes it would seem like a Meaningful Story. But it doesn’t. It’s just awful. 9/11 was used as a motif, for God’s sake! It was just trying to score Emotional And Profound points all the way. Which is so f*cked.Lucy also talks down constantly about stay at home moms, and it drives me crazy. Just f*cking let women do what they want, for the love of all that is good and Reese’s-branded. (My version of good and holy.) A career woman is no better than a full-time mom. That’s, like, the entire point of feminism. Is it antifeminist to say I wanna punch Lucy in her stupid face? Keep in mind that I’ll face-punch the male characters of this book, too. #EqualityI really have no clue what the message of this book is, either. A lot of really horrible stuff happens, and it gets worse and worse, and then it just...ends. There’s no moral or hint at what happens next. Again, just trying to emotionally manipulate the reader without actual, you know, purpose. It’s no Me Before You, guys.But even if this book didn’t suffer from all the stuff I mentioned - and God, did it suffer - I still wouldn’t like it. Because this whole book focuses on a love that consumes, that dims all other loves and joys and small happinesses in life, that prevents one from focusing on everything else. And who the f*ck would want that? Lucy is a broken record through this whole book because she loves a boring asshole and is a boring asshole. Her children and friendships and marriage suffer for it. There’s nothing that’s worth that, and this book sure did a sh*tty job of trying to convince me otherwise.Bottom line: I’m angry all over again. NOOOOOOO, I scream from the rooftops. A big ol’ nope for this one.
    more
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    I'm really struggling with where to begin with this book. Sometimes I wonder if its worse if a book is offensive or if its just totally forgettable. At least when something is offensive its inspiring some sort of emotional reaction out of me. Its asking me to think about what it is I'm finding offensive. Forgettable is just a waste of my time.I'm gonna go with offensively forgettable and call it even.Lucy and Gabe meet on September 11th. While not inherently offensive itself this is, perhaps, no I'm really struggling with where to begin with this book. Sometimes I wonder if its worse if a book is offensive or if its just totally forgettable. At least when something is offensive its inspiring some sort of emotional reaction out of me. Its asking me to think about what it is I'm finding offensive. Forgettable is just a waste of my time.I'm gonna go with offensively forgettable and call it even.Lucy and Gabe meet on September 11th. While not inherently offensive itself this is, perhaps, not the ideal way to start a sweeping romantic epic that I was informed by multiple advertisements was going to be part Me Before You and part One Day. All that says to me is someone's gonna be dead before this is over.So right, 9/11 is happening, the sky is on fire, people are throwing themselves off buildings, the world is literally shifting on its axis, and Gabe wants to take Lucy to the roof of his dorm because "its the most incredible view of New York City you'll ever see."Riiiiggghhhhtttt.That was page nine and it never got any better. I don't even want to waste time on a review for this because it doesn't deserve one. Its such a thoughtless, sorry excuse for a meaningful contribution to women's fiction I honestly don't even want to bother.Yeah, yeah I know who am I kidding?But for real there is nothing to care about here. Lucy and Gabe have no personalities beyond this very teenage yearning to "change the world" and "make a difference" but they have all the depth of characters in a tooth paste ad. For Gabe making a difference is becoming a war photographer which he becomes with literally no effort. For Lucy its becoming a producer of children's television where having gotten a job no problem she does groundbreaking work developing a show that sounds just like every other show ever made. Everything they "accomplish" is treated like they're the very first people to ever take war photographs or produce TV shows. They both become incredibly famous and amazing and everyone loves them but somehow it all still sucks for reasons that aren't so much unclear as they are really boring and stupid.These people aren't real people. They're like sitcom versions of real people. Their deep and amazing relationship boils down to really liking to have sex because honestly? That's all they do. For the five months their initial relationship lasts they have lots and lots of mind blowing sex interrupted only by the elaborate staging of insanely romantic dates that sound like they're out of a 12 year old girls fantasies about what a grown up relationship is. You get to have SEX when you're a grown up! GASP! The so called conflict arises because Gabe wants to take pictures of war things after being inspired by, you guessed it, the 'Afghan Girl.' The guy who took the picture TOTALLY sets him up with a job at the AP (that's the ASSOCIATED PRESS you guys! It's a super big, huge deal!!!) and even though they've agreed that "your dreams are not disposable" (whatever the hell that means in actual human talk) Lucy is grief stricken that Gabe has taken the job without checking with her first and they break up? I don't know. For some reason his having a job that means he'll be away sometimes is a deal breaker for both of them. So they break up and their lives continue to be amazing and successful but they're not happy because they just love each other so much.I seriously kept kind of picturing a preteen girl lying on her bed writing out her "dream boyfriend" list; he's an artist! he has curly hair! his eyes are "deep"! he's super hawwtt! all the things she thinks of when she imagines her perfect, amazing life when she grows up that have no foundation in reality because she has no idea what actually goes into doing things like getting a job or having a relationship.There's a scene in the beginning where they're in Shakespeare class together and Lucy's bowled over by Gabe's otherworldly ability to "see the beauty in Shakespeare's language and imagery." I'm being serious. This is presented as if no one in the history of the universe has ever expressed the idea that Shakespeare's language use was beautiful. Lucy isn't any better. She eventually marries a really nice guy who has the audacity to not be Gabe and do things like plan a surprise trip to Paris for her because he knows its on her bucket list but how dare he not know she wanted to book the tickets herself. Gabe understood her. She could bounce her brilliant script ideas off Gabe! Like should she change the gender of the character who wants to be an astronaut? Cause girls can be astronauts too! Gabe would think that was revolutionary! Gender swapping!!! Hand her an Emmy! (which someone does because that's what we're dealing with here).Turns out Jill Santopolo is the editorial director of an imprint of Penguin Putnam, the publisher of this book, so I don't think its insane to suggest this book was not published entirely based on literary merits and honestly? If I was in her position I can't say I wouldn't do the same thing. I'm sure she's worked very hard to get where she is and if you have the opportunity to publish your book, if that's your dream, who am I to say its "disposable." (Again, whatever that means).
    more
  • Amalia Gavea
    January 1, 1970
    ‘’The world felt like it was cracking in pieces, like we’d gone through a shattered mirror into the fractured place inside, where nothing made sense, where our shields were down, our walls broken. In that place, there wasn't any reason to say no.’’ This book was quite a departure from what I usually choose to read. It was all in the cover, to be honest. I saw the lovely couple’s silhouettes and I said ‘’yeah, okay. Bye!’’ Because romance, people. Not my style at all. But, then my brain processe ‘’The world felt like it was cracking in pieces, like we’d gone through a shattered mirror into the fractured place inside, where nothing made sense, where our shields were down, our walls broken. In that place, there wasn't any reason to say no.’’ This book was quite a departure from what I usually choose to read. It was all in the cover, to be honest. I saw the lovely couple’s silhouettes and I said ‘’yeah, okay. Bye!’’ Because romance, people. Not my style at all. But, then my brain processed the New York scenery in the blue background and the title that sounded bittersweet, sad and I said to myself I would pretend this wasn’t a romance, but good old Contemporary Fiction. And I was right, thankfully. Yes, at the heart of the story lies the love and unbreakable bond between two people, but it was more complex than that. Family, choices, priorities, worries over an uncertain future are issues that are very prominent in this book, and reading it was a delight. And I confess, there were two-three times when I was really moved. And a little pissed-off at the characters’ choices…Many have claimed there’s no plot in this book. I disagree. Not every novel can have mind-blowing moments, twists and turns. What about a story that touches upon daily, universal subjects and has a quiet beauty and characters one could actually meet in actual life? Sometimes, these are elements that are enough to satisfy a reader.So, we follow Lucy and Gabe’s relationship through the years, starting in that nightmarish day of 2001 when terror struck New York and the world changed forever. Lucy and Gabe make some bad choices and their lives turn quite differently that they had planned. Still, the love they share is strong and so beautifully written that you cannot help feeling both touched and concerned over what the future has in store for them.Do I believe in love at first sight? Definitely. I guarantee you it exists, and I am the least romantic person you’ll ever find. In this novel, we witness a kind of love that starts as an obsession (and we all know how that feels when we are 20 years old) and becomes so strong that haunts the characters’ lives and the lives of those who struggle to approach them. Now, such a bond is unique, almost rare and it must be hard for a writer to communicate it to the reader without resorting to clichés. Jill Santopolo succeeds in creating a kind of language that is both contemporary and beautiful, lyrical and raw where needed. As we witness life unfolding through Lucy’s eyes, we are given a sense of her longing for Gabe, remembering their life together, and the way this pining is depicted is powerful, sincere, realistic, devoid of any drama.I really, really liked Lucy. She has the strength to admit her own faults and stands for her choices, she has her head screwed together and her doubts are understandable. She isn’t in the least bit selfish, to the point when I know I would have chosen differently. (But this is my personal opinion…)Gabe is complementing her perfectly, although they are two very different personalities. He had the power to make me really angry at times (often…) I mean, the guy was so wishy-washy and couldn’t see further than the end of his own nose. His choices can be a matter of endless debate, but he is so well-written that he makes us look upon him as if he is that troubled friend or relative who always gets on our nerves -especially at family gatherings- but you cannot help loving him and caring for him. However, Darren...Bliah!!! Yikes!! I do hate him and I cannot lie. You can find me a dozen reasons that are supposed to make me sympathise with him and I’d still want to punch him. The man is a human soup - I hate soup, sorry:) - and I hate him. Truly! The way he constantly doubts Lucy and tries to patronize her is outrageous…The theme in focus isn’t love, in my opinion, but choices and priorities. The great ‘’what ifs’’’ that shape our lives. What do we want from life when we find ourselves at a point where we need to sacrifice something we love for something we feel equally strongly about? Do we wait? Do we compromise? Do we wonder what could have gone differently? Of course, we do. And these questions do not refer only to romantic feelings, but to anything related to future plans and human relationships. You see? This book is far from a simple romance…I cannot recommend it enough. Read it for the descriptions of New York during terrifying times and times of prosperity and hope. Read it for a beautiful reference to a kind of love that is firmly rooted in the souls of two people. Read it to reflect or reminisce of the past. Perhaps a similar feeling once came your way. Read it because it is a very good book, not light, not heavy. Just realistic and attainable.……...and did I mention I hate Darren?
    more
  • Pouting Always
    January 1, 1970
    The first day she spent with Gabe has stayed with Lucy ever after, even though they didn't really see one another again afterwards. She is inexplicably drawn to Gabe and so when years later they meet in a bar the two start dating. Gabe isn't happy though, he wants to do more with his life and is afraid of ending up like his own father, resentful and unsuccessful. As he pursues his photography he realizes he wants to go abroad and capture the struggles and political turmoil which means leaving Lu The first day she spent with Gabe has stayed with Lucy ever after, even though they didn't really see one another again afterwards. She is inexplicably drawn to Gabe and so when years later they meet in a bar the two start dating. Gabe isn't happy though, he wants to do more with his life and is afraid of ending up like his own father, resentful and unsuccessful. As he pursues his photography he realizes he wants to go abroad and capture the struggles and political turmoil which means leaving Lucy behind. The two break up but Lucy can't stop thinking about Gabe even after she eventually gets married and has kids she keeps coming back to him. I really liked the writing and the pacing of the book and though I'm not a big fan of pining I still enjoyed the book. The plot has been done before, especially the ending and I know I read a similar book at some point this year but the execution was good so it wasn't a big deal. I think I mostly feel annoyed at Lucy for her fixation with Gabe and this idea that there's something romantic about intensity and heartache. Doesn't mean I didn't cry there at the end because it was still really sad but I just think that it's impractical to think about relationships the way she did. I mean she didn't ever date Gabe long enough to know how it would actually be once there was more pressure from life and problems on them. Also when you spend years thinking about someone you tend to build it up in your head and make it into something it may actually not be. I don't think Lucy's love for Gabe was love but really obsession with what she thinks they had and what she wants and can't have. I really did enjoy the book though and even though at times the romance felt cheesy, as it does when it's not yourself, it was sweet and addressed the idea of loving more than one person at a time pretty well. The complexities of relationships were captured really well and I really liked Lucy acknowledging the strengths and weaknesses of both her relationships rather than making it seem like with Gabe it was always perfect.
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    "Love does that. It makes you feel infinite and invincible, like the whole world is open to you, anything is achievable, and each day will be filled with wonder. Maybe it's the act of opening yourself up, letting someone else in—or maybe it's the act of caring so deeply about another person that it expands your heart. I've heard so many people say some version of I never knew how much I could love another human being until...I never knew how much I could love another human being until I met you "Love does that. It makes you feel infinite and invincible, like the whole world is open to you, anything is achievable, and each day will be filled with wonder. Maybe it's the act of opening yourself up, letting someone else in—or maybe it's the act of caring so deeply about another person that it expands your heart. I've heard so many people say some version of I never knew how much I could love another human being until...I never knew how much I could love another human being until I met you, Gabe."Lucy and Gabe meet in their senior year at Columbia University, in a Shakespeare seminar, on September 11, 2001. Being in each other's presence when they learn how the world has changed so radically draws them together in a way they never imagined. As they look out on the destruction of the city, they both vow to live a life that has meaning, instead of pursuing a path that only brings them fortune or fame.It takes a year for the two of them to meet again, but when they do, their relationship immediately intensifies. They are almost inseparable, each pushing the other to pursue their dreams—Lucy pursues a career in children's television, while Gabe wants to become a photojournalist. Their love burns hot, and they cannot imagine being apart. Yet when the next step in Gabe's career is moving to Iraq to take pictures, he doesn't hesitate, leaving Lucy behind to mourn what might have been, and wonder why she wasn't enough to keep him home."You were my comfort and my pain all at once."Lucy does all she can to pull her life back together, even though she longs for no one but Gabe. But eventually she realizes that although they will always be connected, she needs to move on, and some time later she meets Darren. Darren is a few years older than she is, and offers Lucy more stability than Gabe, although without some of the dynamism. As she grows to love Darren, she knows their relationship will never be the same as her and Gabe's, but is a life of steady love better or worse than a life of brief bouts of burning passion?While both of their lives move on without the other, Gabe and Lucy still find themselves orbiting around each other from time to time, encounters which provoke passion, pain, betrayal, jealousy, grief and, of course, love. Although Lucy and Darren have a wonderful life and she has a successful career, she cannot help but wonder what might have been. And when she makes a snap decision one day, she has no idea where that will lead—and what it will bring for both of their lives.The Light We Lost, as you can tell from the image I used at the top of my review, is definitely a tearjerker. But beyond the emotions it provokes, it's an interesting and compelling look at the power of first love, and how it can radically change the course of your life. Sure, it's a little melodramatic, and I don't know if we're given enough evidence of just how intense the bond between Lucy and Gabe is to provoke all that occurs in the story, but you still need to know what happens.Jill Santopolo knows how to draw you into a story and unravel just enough plot to keep you utterly immersed. The book is told with a lot of foreshadowing, but she never gives away everything. This would be a good movie, and it's definitely a good beach read if you don't mind crying in your lounge chair.They say you never forget a first love. The Light We Lost surely proves that adage!See all of my reviews at http://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blo....
    more
  • Warda
    January 1, 1970
    My heart is broken. I am blown away and broken. I don't know how to review this, so I'm going to ramble for a bit. Firstly, I want to thank Putnam Books for sending me a review copy. I'm so appreciative!Secondly, if there's one thing that I took away from this story is to follow your heart. To fully trust and go with your gut. This book had me so irritated with the nature and fragility of human beings, which we obviously can't control at times, because we fall into the trap of following that whi My heart is broken. I am blown away and broken. I don't know how to review this, so I'm going to ramble for a bit. Firstly, I want to thank Putnam Books for sending me a review copy. I'm so appreciative!Secondly, if there's one thing that I took away from this story is to follow your heart. To fully trust and go with your gut. This book had me so irritated with the nature and fragility of human beings, which we obviously can't control at times, because we fall into the trap of following that which is safe and stable, rather than stepping into fear, the unknown and that which might possibly break us, but will make us feel the most alive and accomplished. This story was written like a love letter. Told from the perspective of Lucy, our main character, she narrates the time when she met Gabe and developed an intense, once-in-a-lifetime type relationship, which didn't work out, but since then has affected every aspect of her life. It was deeply evocative, brutally honest and a raw account on love. Tragic to know that we as humans often settle. The writing was simple, gorgeous. The emotions are portrayed so vividly through it. I was captivated from the beginning!Gosh, this needs to be made into a movie or something. And everyone has to read it.
    more
  • *TANYA*
    January 1, 1970
    Why is 5 stars the limit??!! OMG!!! I LOVED, loved this freaking book!!! The entire time I was reading, I had a sense of foreboding. The style in which it is told felt like a confession and immediately I was apprehensive. Sigh. Lovely. My poor tear-ducts. Lol"Love does that. It makes you feel infinite and invincible, like the whole world is open to you, anything is achievable."
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4 Stars.Lucy & Gabe met on September 11, 2001. After the events of that day, both felt a connection to each other that neither could explain. One that connected them forever and no other relationship compared. It didn't matter that on that day when they were both in College, they shared a few intimate moments which Lucy thought were the beginning of a relationship and then Gabe decided to go back to his ex-girlfriend that same day. It didn't matter that over a year later, after they met agai 4 Stars.Lucy & Gabe met on September 11, 2001. After the events of that day, both felt a connection to each other that neither could explain. One that connected them forever and no other relationship compared. It didn't matter that on that day when they were both in College, they shared a few intimate moments which Lucy thought were the beginning of a relationship and then Gabe decided to go back to his ex-girlfriend that same day. It didn't matter that over a year later, after they met again on her birthday (which happened to be the same night he broke up with said ex-girlfriend) and then started dating Lucy, that Gabe never once put Lucy first thereafter. Somehow, it was enough for her. Lucy felt that pull towards him. That need. They fell in love. Insanely. Deeply. That crazy love that you think will only ever happen once in a lifetime. He got her like no one else. He understood her. Her work, her drive... the important things in her life. And they shared everything - or so Lucy thought. Yet Gabe was unfulfilled. His life's passion was photography. And then he got a job offer with the AP overseas - which he accepted without even talking it over with her. And that was it - Fairytale Over. Enter Darren. A kind, sweet, romantic guy who was looking for someone just. like. Lucy. And he found her. Though hesitant at first, Lucy enjoyed spending time with him. Darren was the first person who made her laugh after her breakup with Gabe. He took things slow and went out of his way for her. Though he pretty much always made decisions for her, like buying a puppy without consulting her or planning weekends away, she got used to it. He was after all, the sweetest guy ever. So, he didn't take her job seriously, or always think that the things she wanted were all that important, she couldn't have everything. In the end, though he wasn't Gabe and never would be, she loved him. In a different way, is all. And then it happened. Darren proposed. And she said yes. On the day of the wedding however, after not having heard from Gabe in years, he called her. Because she was his Pegasus. And although she had her doubts, Lucy married Darren. Their life together was magical, and she loved her husband desperately.. yet something was missing. Thus she wonders, each and every day, if the decision she made was the right one. As her heart, her mind and her soul, missed a man who would never fully be hers. And she knows that she will wonder for the rest of her life, if the life she is living is the life that was meant for her; if she was supposed to be with Gabe, her soulmate, instead.“The Light We Lost” by Jill Santopolo is a beautifully written novel about the complexities of love, soulmates and the possibility of fate. It is a book that catches you on a wave at low tide from the very first page and keeps you swimming out to sea until the very last page, when the tide finally comes in. I will admit however, that I had a bit of a hard time with the story of Gabe and Lucy at the start of this novel. I didn’t feel that their relationship was well established enough for me to be that invested in their love story or for me to believe that their connection was real or true. It may have in part been due to Gabe and his actions and/or reactions or the fact that most of the novel was spent focusing on Lucy and Darren (who, naturally, I didn't like), thus it was not until late into the novel that I “felt” something shift in their direction. The shift however, took place.. and when it did, I had to give kudos to the author, Jill Santopolo, because she knows how to rip that frakking heart out of your chest, so hard that you aren’t sure that you are able to breathe without it. The breath leaves you. The TEARS fill your eyes, BIG Huge FAT Tears. And they runneth over. And you are left gasping. Enough said.Published on Goodreads and Amazon on 8.6.17.
    more
  • ❄️Nani❄️
    January 1, 1970
    What’s a person gotta do to get some hearts broken here? I’ve been in search of an emotionally damaging read that tugs at my heartstrings for far too long with no luck whatsoever.A reputable source tells me this might be it... be it.This is what I said prior to starting this book... the depressed me who was sat staring at blank space for hours, just wasting the day away could go back and punch the yesterday me with the big mouth. 🤦♀I'm dead inside. I feel so fucking empty and melancholic. I have What’s a person gotta do to get some hearts broken here? I’ve been in search of an emotionally damaging read that tugs at my heartstrings for far too long with no luck whatsoever.A reputable source tells me this might be it... be it.This is what I said prior to starting this book... the depressed me who was sat staring at blank space for hours, just wasting the day away could go back and punch the yesterday me with the big mouth. 🤦‍♀️I'm dead inside. I feel so fucking empty and melancholic. I haven’t felt this depressed by a book in such a long time that I must've forgotten the sharp sting of an emotionally stirring read since I kept going on and on about "needing to read some depressing book." I knew it was going to be a hard hitting read but never did I imagine it to hit me this hard. 🤦‍♀️One of my mottos in life is ’be careful what you wish for'–with good reason because I've had some wishes come true only to completely backfired on on my face- so, I’ve learned, over time, to weigh all options before I open my mouth. Evidently, all logic and common sense goes out the window the moment books enter the picture. ✨ The plot:Plot-wise, there's really not much I can say because the blurb literally explains word for word what the book’s all about. It's about ‘that one great love’ that spans decades since its start on September 11, 2001, a day when Lucy and Gabe met at Columbia University and nothing was the same again. Over a course of a decade, Lucy recounts her turbulent relationship with Gabe and their whirlwind romance as young love unfolds and life (stupid life) gets in the way. Their romance gets interrupted as both want to make a difference and seek a meaning in life so he leaves to become a photo-journalist in war-torn lands and she stays in NY and becomes a children's TV producer.✨ The narrative:The narrative is written in the second person as a kind of one-sided conversation/monologue as lucy is addressing Gabe as ‘you’, much like the novel, YOU by Caroline Kepness. The story flows easily across the years with a study pace that captivates the reader as Lucy evaluates her life and scrutinises over some of life's unanswered questions: Are our lives shaped by our own choices or by forces outside our control? Are first loves forever? And is it worth risking stability and comfort for a love that is unpredictable and explosive? This is a devastating novel about decisions made, roads not taken, opportunities created and lost and ultimately about love and loss.The heartbreak is real, guys. It is real and it is savage.
    more
  • Magdalena
    January 1, 1970
    I don't even know how to review that book. It's one of the most emotionally engaging books I've read in a long time. My heart broke many a time reading it. It's gut-wrenching. But most of all it's just beautiful. It's a love story and it's a story about love and choices we make and all the what ifs we have to live with. Lucy and Gabe, two people who are meant to be together but when together their love is just too intense, too much, burns and breaks them. Their story is incredibly heart-breakin I don't even know how to review that book. It's one of the most emotionally engaging books I've read in a long time. My heart broke many a time reading it. It's gut-wrenching. But most of all it's just beautiful. It's a love story and it's a story about love and choices we make and all the what ifs we have to live with. Lucy and Gabe, two people who are meant to be together but when together their love is just too intense, too much, burns and breaks them. Their story is incredibly heart-breaking. Two people who love each other but aren't able to be happy being together. Their love is too all-consuming, too deep and yet not enough. Lucy isn't enough, Gabe is too much. Whatever the reasons they go their separate ways. Lucy finds love with somebody else, different love, quieter, not as passionate. But Gabe comes back. He can't be without her. And as much as Lucy tries she can't stop the pull she feels towards him, he'll always be the greatest love of her life. Lucy and Gabe are so well-crafted, well-developed as characters, flawed but relatable. I felt for both of them. I wanted them to have their fairy tale ending. What happens to them, how their story ends, well, make sure to have tissues ready because it will make you cry, it will break your heart. The Light We Lost is simply beautiful and compelling, it will stay with me for a very long time. Definitely one of my favourite reads of 2017. Highly recommended!
    more
  • Cheri
    January 1, 1970
    “We’ve known each other for almost half our lives.I’ve seen you smiling, confident, blissfully happy.I’ve seen you broken, wounded, lost.But I’ve never seen you like this.You’ve taught me to look for beauty. In darkness in destruction, you always found light.I don’t know what beauty I’ll find here, what light. But I’ll try. I’ll do it for you. Because I know you would do it for me.There was so much beauty in our life together.Maybe that’s where I should start.” On the day that Lucy and Gabriel “We’ve known each other for almost half our lives.I’ve seen you smiling, confident, blissfully happy.I’ve seen you broken, wounded, lost.But I’ve never seen you like this.You’ve taught me to look for beauty. In darkness in destruction, you always found light.I don’t know what beauty I’ll find here, what light. But I’ll try. I’ll do it for you. Because I know you would do it for me.There was so much beauty in our life together.Maybe that’s where I should start.” On the day that Lucy and Gabriel met, he was late for class, Professor Kramer’s Shakespeare seminar, and about to discuss what Brutus is saying about fate and free will in Julius Caesar when the TA walks in and announces that he was late because a plane has just hit one of the twin towers, but it was still believed to have been an accident with a prop plane. Class continues.They emerge from the class in that blissful ignorance of the reality of the news, that both towers had collapsed, hearing the news in snippets, and no one really knew what has really happened or what to do, where to go, what to think.So they go to Gabe’s room to check on the news, everyone still in a state of shock and disbelief. ” The world felt like it was cracking in pieces, like we’d gone through a shattered mirror into the fractured place inside, where nothing made sense, where our shields were down, our walls broken. In that place, there wasn’t any reason to say no.” A year passes during which they don’t see each other, but when they do it’s almost as if no time has passed. The what-ifs that had been running through their minds for all that time, a year of missing that feeling of an instant connection, unable to find it in anyone else. There’s a need, an immediacy to their love, hers and Gabe’s, born out of a recognition of the frailty of life, the knowledge that it really could be over any second so you have to grab hold of it right then, right now, and never, ever let go. Gabriel makes Lucy feel infinite. Lucy makes Gabriel feel invincible. What Lucy grabs hold of is Gabe, and the thing that Gabe grabs hold of is doing something with great magnitude, with principal, something that will share his vision with the world, so that the work he inevitably leaves behind will be invincible. ”Love does that. It makes you feel infinite and invincible, like the whole world is open to you anything is achievable, and each day will be filled with wonder.” Gabriel is a dreamer, a dreamer with a goal to use his photography to share his vision of the world. The people in the photographs – what he sees in these moments he finds and shares, the emotion he pulls his viewer into found within the image. He wants to make a difference. ”So you find yourself at this subwayWith your world in a bag by your sideAnd all at once it seemed like a good wayYou realize it's the end of the lineFor what it's worth“Here comes the train upon the trackAnd there goes the pain, it cuts to blackAre you ready for the last act?To take a step you can't take back?” A Step You Can’t Take Back – Kiera Knightley Written by: Gregg Alexander, Danielle Brisebois, John Carney Lucy is a planner, not a dreamer. She wants to know the plan, be part of deciding on the plan. She most definitely does not want anyone else deciding on anything without her. She has goals, yes, but she senses the balance in everything, how her goals can’t negate the goals of others, hers are not unimportant, but she understands when others choose their own needs over hers, even when it hurts, she allows them to choose. Lucy can’t stop wishing her marriage to Darren had as much passion and caring and equality as her relationship with Gabe had. Darren treats her like a child, a pat on the head and a “good girl” type comment to placate her, but all it does is infuriate her more. Makes her miss Gabe more, miss the life they could have had, should have had, together.Soulmates. Fate. First Love. The ideals we build upon in our lives, based upon a once upon a time kind of love. The writing is charmingly lovely, and if you enjoy love stories, this is a very good one. Think of Jo Jo Moyes “Me Before You” or one of Joshilyn Jackson’s novels, with a sprinkling of Gae Polisner’s “The Memory of Things.” Personally, I loved the way she told this story, there’s a vulnerability that felt very real as she shares it all. “Here comes the rain, so hold your hatAnd don't pray to God, 'cause He won't talk backAre you ready for the last act?To take a step you can't take back, back, back?You can't take back, back, back.“So you find yourself at this subwayWith your world in a bag by your side” A Step You Can’t Take Back – Kiera Knightley Written by: Gregg Alexander, Danielle Brisebois, John Carney Many thanks, once again, to the Public Library system for the loan of this book!
    more
  • Emer
    January 1, 1970
    Emotionally manipulative drivel. Akin to a poor man's Nicholas Sparks but with even less heart! Trite. Dull. Cliches at every turn and a laughably predictable ending which is supposed to be heart breaking and beautiful etc etc but my eyes bled rather than wept! (Figuratively speaking of course)I sent a message to my friend Gabby after reading the first few chapters of the book. It went as follows:"I am reading the most emotionally manipulative BS book and I'm just waiting for someone to be dead Emotionally manipulative drivel. Akin to a poor man's Nicholas Sparks but with even less heart! Trite. Dull. Cliches at every turn and a laughably predictable ending which is supposed to be heart breaking and beautiful etc etc but my eyes bled rather than wept! (Figuratively speaking of course)I sent a message to my friend Gabby after reading the first few chapters of the book. It went as follows:"I am reading the most emotionally manipulative BS book and I'm just waiting for someone to be dead at the end. It stinks of doomed romantic BS. I want to punch this f^*king MC and tell her to get the f^*k over herself and stop relying on a *broken* man to make you feel complete you f^*king doormat."My feelings had not changed upon completion of the book. Awful. Contender for one of my worst reads of the year one star
    more
  • Cian O hAnnrachainn
    January 1, 1970
    I can't do this anymore. I have given up at page 145.What do we have but yet another young New Yorker examining the lint in her navel and imagining that it is fascinating for us all. The problems of a woman who falls madly in lust and thinks it's love is so small, so petty, that I cannot generate enough enthusiasm to continue.As usual, the prose if lovely. The sentences are put together nicely, the voice comes through clearly.It's the fecking story. It isn't strong enough to support an entire no I can't do this anymore. I have given up at page 145.What do we have but yet another young New Yorker examining the lint in her navel and imagining that it is fascinating for us all. The problems of a woman who falls madly in lust and thinks it's love is so small, so petty, that I cannot generate enough enthusiasm to continue.As usual, the prose if lovely. The sentences are put together nicely, the voice comes through clearly.It's the fecking story. It isn't strong enough to support an entire novel.Sure there are those who enjoy a soap opera, or those who are twenty-something elitists in New York who believe their problems have deep relevance to the world. I am not one of them. This is not a book for me.Sorry, Penguin Random House. You gave me the book for a review, but I can't finish it. I wouldn't inflict this on anyone I know because they like good books with substance. If you're wondering why book sales are down, well, you can start here.
    more
  • Gabby
    January 1, 1970
    "There's something about death that makes people want to live."Book one for the Booktubeathon is complete! And I fucking loved it. I cried so much at the end of this book holy shit I was unprepared. This is a romance novel that spans decades and it follows the characters Lucy and Gabe. This story is told in this very interesting second person, and it's from Lucy's POV as she tells her story to Gabe from her perspective. And it almost reads like literary fiction because of the way it spans decade "There's something about death that makes people want to live."Book one for the Booktubeathon is complete! And I fucking loved it. I cried so much at the end of this book holy shit I was unprepared. This is a romance novel that spans decades and it follows the characters Lucy and Gabe. This story is told in this very interesting second person, and it's from Lucy's POV as she tells her story to Gabe from her perspective. And it almost reads like literary fiction because of the way it spans decades and it's written so gorgeously and aklsjdlkasjda. I loved it so much. I read this book to complete the Booktubeathon challenge of 'reading a book about something you want to do' and I have always wanted to live in New York, and this book not only takes place in New York, but the dedication literally says: "For New York." “Some relationships feel like a wildfire-they're powerful and compelling and majestic and dangerous and have the capability to burn you before you even realize you've been consumed.....some relationships feel like a hearth fire-they're solid and stable and cozy and nourishing.” This book reminded me a lot of One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid and Before We Were Strangers by Renee Carlino (two of my favorites!) The love triangle situation between Lucy and Gabe and Darren was totally reminding me of One True Loves and it's been a while since I've read a really good love triangle where I root for both sides. Also, the ending of this book made me the most emotional a book has made me in a LONG TIME. I was bitch crying, literally. You can see it in my vlog. I was a hot mess at the end of this book and I'll never forget about these characters. I think I was especially emotionally invested in this story because it involves 9/11 2001, and that was a brutal day in America and these characters have their first kiss on 9/11 and that day is always seared into their minds for more reasons than one, and it was just really powerful and emotional for me. (view spoiler)[So I normally absolutely loathe romances that involve cheating but god damn when Gabe and Lucy FINALLY got back together I was like YES. And then when she realized Darren hadn't actually been cheating on her but the woman was a realtor and he got them a house I was like SHIT. And then she found out she was pregnant and it was most likely Gabe's baby and I was like SHIT. And then when Gabe was unexpectedly involved in a bombing overseas, it fucking tore me apart and I wasn't expecting it at all. He went completely brain dead and she was the only person in his emergency contact. I was sobbing throughout the last two chapters of this book. The final chapter of Lucy's letter to her and Gabe's son talking about how she had to pull the plug, OH MY GOD. I could not have been crying harder ugh. My FUCKING HEART HURTS FOREVER NOW. (hide spoiler)]I just loved it so much more than I was expecting to. I highlighted a million passages because this author writes so beautifully and I wanted to remember all of it. This book completes the Booktubeathon challenges for 'let a coin toss decide your first read' and 'read a book about something you want to do' because it takes place in New York and I want to live in New York'
    more
  • Christine (Shh Moms Reading)
    January 1, 1970
    I had high hopes for this one. While I was totally engrossed in the story itself, I had A LOT of problems with the choices that the main characters made. When I finished the book, I was just sad 😕This is a new author to me that I would read again Full Review now posted 5/9The blurb for The Light We Lost captured my attention right away. For one, I am a HUGE fan of Me Before You and I love any romance story about first love.I had very high expectations for this book going in even though I knew th I had high hopes for this one. While I was totally engrossed in the story itself, I had A LOT of problems with the choices that the main characters made. When I finished the book, I was just sad 😕This is a new author to me that I would read again Full Review now posted 5/9The blurb for The Light We Lost captured my attention right away. For one, I am a HUGE fan of Me Before You and I love any romance story about first love.I had very high expectations for this book going in even though I knew that this was a debut novel. And sadly I felt a little let down. I will explain why.This book was told in Lucy's POV and it felt almost like a journal or daily diary entries of her life. Attending Columbia University and meeting and falling in love with Gabe. These two experience something horrific together, something that I was a part of as I was there working on Wall Street on September 11th. It is something in our history that no one will ever forget.I enjoyed their love story—how much they loved each other and supported each other though at times I often felt that Lucy took a backseat to Gabe's personality and later on his hopes and dreams for his career.The reader will journey with Lucy as she tries to get over her broken heart of losing her love and then when she tries to build a new future with Darren, the epitome of the perfect boyfriend. Darren was everything that Gabe was not and then some, but I often times felt sad for him and her constant comparisons between him and Gabe. He had very big shoes to fill.Darren puts Lucy back together and together they take on life's journey but there is always that certain someone lingering in the back of her mind, the what ifs, the memories.I don't want to ruin the story for those who intend on reading this but here are my thoughts... I felt that Lucy never really gave Darren a fair shot. She put Gabe on such a high pedestal that I don't think anyone would have been able to have her heart completely. There were times that I didn't love their choices because I knew in my heart that someone was going to get hurt. And when some mistakes were made because of some preconceived notions, I couldn't help but wish that there was more communication... more talking so that maybe some of these things could have been avoided.Here's the thing... no one is perfect. We all make mistakes. Like the book mentions—sometimes there is that fork in the road, the choices you make, the mistakes that sometimes happen is what life is all about. And I get that. I guess for me, I just couldn't stand behind the choices that the heroine made because I felt like they were selfish and one sided and yes they hurt my heart and made me angry and sad. I didn't love the ending and would have wished for a few more chapters so that we could have experience what happened when the truth came out—I felt like I was missing something and just wanted a bit more. Maybe an epilogue would have helped this more.Would I read this author again? Most definitely. Her writing style was interesting and unique and despite not loving the story, I was engrossed from page one and The Light We Lost was unputdownable.
    more
  • Nina
    January 1, 1970
    I won this through a Goodreads giveaway.Ever have a friend who cannot stop yammering about the love that got away? Imagine over 300 pages of that and you have the essentials of this book. The narrator is incredibly immature, as is the object of her enduring obsession, who has very little use for her, except on the rare occasions when his feelings have been hurt. A significant portion of this book is devoted to the narrator commenting on the fact that the second boyfriend does things that would n I won this through a Goodreads giveaway.Ever have a friend who cannot stop yammering about the love that got away? Imagine over 300 pages of that and you have the essentials of this book. The narrator is incredibly immature, as is the object of her enduring obsession, who has very little use for her, except on the rare occasions when his feelings have been hurt. A significant portion of this book is devoted to the narrator commenting on the fact that the second boyfriend does things that would never have occurred to the first and vice versa. Because different partners haveing different behaviors is apparently unexpected. The main characters are awful, self-absorbed, over-privileged people. It is appalling that it's mentioned in the same breath as "Me Before You", "One Day", or even "Love Story".
    more
  • Jeannie
    January 1, 1970
    This was hard to put down, I loved it!
  • Megan Johnson
    January 1, 1970
    I had to take a couple days after I finished this book before I sat down to write this review and even now I'm not sure that I have the right words to put towards a review for this book - too many thoughts and I'm not sure how I feel about what I read. This book has been highly acclaimed as gut wrenching, heart breaking, beautiful, and raw. I can agree, it's all of those things. It's truly a FANTASTIC read and I want to give it credit where credit is due. It's been a while since I read something I had to take a couple days after I finished this book before I sat down to write this review and even now I'm not sure that I have the right words to put towards a review for this book - too many thoughts and I'm not sure how I feel about what I read. This book has been highly acclaimed as gut wrenching, heart breaking, beautiful, and raw. I can agree, it's all of those things. It's truly a FANTASTIC read and I want to give it credit where credit is due. It's been a while since I read something that made me feel so deeply for the characters, that made me want to reach through the pages and grab their hand and let them know that everything will eventually be okay. In that sense, it is in it's own category of well done. But, and maybe this is because of a personal preference or maybe because it was so talked up to me, but I just couldn't get over the "angsty" feel of the book. It could have been all the things I said before - gut wrenching, heart breaking, beautiful, and raw - without all the angst. Thankfully this wasn't the bulk of the book and it was still very, very enjoyable so please don't let this stop you from reading it if you're interested...just know going into it. Should you buy it?: As much as I hate jumping on bandwagons of BUY THIS NOW RUN DONT WALK TO THE BOOKSTORE, I'm going to go with yes. (But feel free to walk, you'll need that energy for reading.) If this is one that you think you'll like, my guess is that it's one you'd likely want to own and lend out to others so that they can enjoy it too. WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM
    more
  • Brandice
    January 1, 1970
    "What makes a life well spent?" I first heard about The Light We Lost through The Skimm and knew immediately that I wanted to read it, so I chose it for my book club's July read (Sidenote: Most of us really enjoyed it). Then, I saw reviews mentioning the book was a cross between One Day and Me Before You and thought "oh no" but also "oh yes" - 2 books that I really enjoyed but have tragic elements. As I read this book, I braced myself for the inevitable tragedy that I predicted to occur. The Li "What makes a life well spent?" I first heard about The Light We Lost through The Skimm and knew immediately that I wanted to read it, so I chose it for my book club's July read (Sidenote: Most of us really enjoyed it). Then, I saw reviews mentioning the book was a cross between One Day and Me Before You and thought "oh no" but also "oh yes" - 2 books that I really enjoyed but have tragic elements. As I read this book, I braced myself for the inevitable tragedy that I predicted to occur. The Light We Lost was outstanding. I loved this book. Lucy and Gabe met in college on September 11, 2001 and the day changes their lives, as it did for many, particularly because they are in New York. "There are so many moments that change a person's world. Some are because of a decision that's made. Others, I think might be because of the universe, fate, God, a higher power, whatever you want to call it. I don't know. I've been wrestling with this question for 13 years now."Lucy and Gabe's story captured many true feelings we often experience in our relationships. Timing is everything. I enjoyed and appreciated the realistic elements and the realistic progression of events - picking up where you left off, drifting apart, trying to move on, being drawn back in - directly or indirectly, etc. This book is one that struck a chord with me, in a good way and one that will stick with me for a long time. I would highly recommend it. "Thank you for filling a dark day with light."
    more
  • Nadia Awadi
    January 1, 1970
    Warning! this is going to be a huge RANT with lots of profanity. Kids stay in school. Where do I even start with this book? Oh! Maybe with some general thoughts like:I FUCKING HATED IT. So much. So so much. SO MUCH. The Plot Lucy and Gabriel met as collage students. Kissed at 9/11. Dated for a second. Broke up. Met a second time. Fucked around a lot. Started thinking they were unique and poetic. When in fact they are just regular morons. Hurt people. Stalked each other and thought they were 'f Warning! this is going to be a huge RANT with lots of profanity. Kids stay in school. Where do I even start with this book? Oh! Maybe with some general thoughts like:I FUCKING HATED IT. So much. So so much. SO MUCH. The Plot Lucy and Gabriel met as collage students. Kissed at 9/11. Dated for a second. Broke up. Met a second time. Fucked around a lot. Started thinking they were unique and poetic. When in fact they are just regular morons. Hurt people. Stalked each other and thought they were 'fated'. But were they actually fated?To answer that question: If fate wanted those two assholes happy. Then fate is a bitch and she can fight me. The Characters If you don't enjoy long discriptions here's a summary:Lucy: The selfish-who doesn't know what 'compromising' means-Bitch.Gabe: The interrupting cow.Darren: The guy who suffered from the stupidity of the selfish bitch and the interrupting cow. Why I hated this book: Our MC: Lucy, everytime I think about her, I want to break something. Or a lot of somethings. I swear, she couldn't be more selfish or stupid if she tried. The problem was, she knew the right thing to do. She just didn't fucking do it.So let's begin at the start, Lucy meets Gabe. And Boom! Clap! Love at first sight. We all know how G-R-E-A-T that trope is. *I'm saying these words through clenched teeth and balled fists*"“I’m going where?”“With me,” you said, and you ran your fingers absently along my braid. It was an intimate gesture," This is how the asshole and the bitch meet. So Romantic! OF-EFFING-COURSE, she said: YES. Wait a minute, I think I vomitted a little from how swoon-worthy and life shattering that was!Then They kiiiissss. Oh! It was so magical I wanted to kill myself. And guess when is the perfect time to kiss someone? At 9/11 when people are dying. The romance is so real people! Then they have half a date. And Gabe leaves her for his ex-girlfriend.Lucy feels a real connection with Gabe after five seconds of knowing each other. And it's a connection so strong that they brake up after said 5 seconds. And here are some of Lucy's thoughts:"I shouldn’t have been crushed, but I was."No you shouldn't have been crushed- periode. You just met the guy! After 3 years, she meets the interrupting cow once again. He's drunk and just broke up with his girlfriend sooo-of course, she goes back with him to a hotel.They date for 2 days. And this is what happens:“I love you, Luce,” you said.It was the first time you said that to me. The first time any man had. “I love you too,” I answered.Gabe: "I love you Luce"Me: "WTF!"Lucy: "I love you too."Me: "What have I done to deserve this shit? Seriously?"Then they break up because that wasn't actually love and Gabe is a selfish cow. *No offense to the cows* Gabe wants to go to Iraq and take important pictures. Because he wants to change the world.Until now, I thought I was going to give this book 1 star. But things changed. I got used to the writing and Lucy met Darren."He wasn’t you, he’d never be you, but he was sweet and kind and funny and smart and endearing. And there was something wonderful about that." So logically, she had to go and break his heart.Spoilers ahead!Lucy likes Darren. But she keeps thinking about Gabe. Even while they are dating. While they are married. And while she has 2 fucking kids. She just can't get over the five seconds she spent with Gabe.Lucy, here's a newsflash for you:Compromising isn't telling your husband that you need to keep talking to your ex.Compomising isn't telling your husband that you HAD to meet your ex.And it's not fucking going to Israel to your ex and leaving your children and loving family alone.That's not compromising. That's cheating and hurting the one person who cares about you. Lucy suspects Darren of cheating. Darren is by no means perfect. He has his problems. But he knows what COMPROMISING actually means. He did some wrong things. But you know what? He still loves you, cares about you. He could've changed.But NOOOOOO Lucy is certain that Darren is cheating. So she goes and has sex with Gabe.Soooo, what had happened waaas that Darren wasn't cheating. And he just wanted to surprise her with a house.How can someone hurt the one they love in such a way is just unbelievable!And it wasn't just Lucy's fault. Gabe is also such an interrupting cow, he's as guilty as Lucy. But even with his level of stupidity he tried to stop Lucy from cheating.I actually knew that something sad was going to happen soooo when Gabe died. I was....so happy! I started dancing. And we also find out that Lucy is pregnant with Gabe's kid. That just- warms my heart with the fuzzies. The ending was unsatisfying. But I'm glad Gabe is dead. The Writing The only good thing about this book besides the diversity and mentionning the Arabic Spring.I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BOOK espacially if you hate cheating and love at first sight. Hope you enjoyed reading this review and thank you! Ps: This was my first book of BOOKTUBE-A-THON soo yay!
    more
  • Vanessa
    January 1, 1970
    This is a love story albeit a flawed one, that’s not really a bad thing, I don’t believe in perfect love. Love is complicated, love is giving and taking and plenty of goddamn heartbreak. What this book offers through the narrative is an intimacy from the viewpoint of Lucy. You know immediately that something significant is going to happen. You wait and you wait...with bated breath not really knowing if you want it to come. However having so much build up kinda left me feeling a little deflated. This is a love story albeit a flawed one, that’s not really a bad thing, I don’t believe in perfect love. Love is complicated, love is giving and taking and plenty of goddamn heartbreak. What this book offers through the narrative is an intimacy from the viewpoint of Lucy. You know immediately that something significant is going to happen. You wait and you wait...with bated breath not really knowing if you want it to come. However having so much build up kinda left me feeling a little deflated. I’m afraid to admit it didn’t move me as much as it should have. No tears from this black heart. I did still enjoy this.. some moments were real AHA moments that I got and felt in my bones, that inexplicable connection you have with someone, but just like love this book has plenty of flaws. It’s not perfect but who says it has to be...4 imperfect stars.
    more
  • Me_LissaH
    January 1, 1970
    Copy received from netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewOn the one hand this was a romantic heart-wrenching beautiful story and I really enjoyed watching Lucy’s and Gabe’s journey, but on the other hand it left me in such a sad mood. That ending was so heartbreaking. This is the kind of story that will stay with you long after you’ve read it.
    more
  • Jamie Rosenblit
    January 1, 1970
    this book absolutely gutted me...and yet, i can't stop thinking about it or wanting to talk about it...
  • Myrna
    January 1, 1970
    The Light We Lost is a story of love, marriage and family from Lucy’s point of view. I soooooo wanted to love this book like so many of my Goodreads friends. ): I think it was Santopolo’s writing style that bothered me a bit. It reminded me of A Small Indiscretion, which was also a three star read. I didn’t hate it or think it was just ok. It was a light and quick read that I did want to read to the end.
    more
  • Caryn
    January 1, 1970
    So I started this book at 9 pm last night and just finished. 20 hours total, which might be a new record. You know how there's those books that you can't put down? I didn't want to put this down. It was so easy to read and was such an amazing story. The short chapters meant I could keep going even when my lids were drooping last night. I loved how these characters met on September 11, 2001, at the age I was on September 11, 2001. Their life events happened in time with mine which made for such a So I started this book at 9 pm last night and just finished. 20 hours total, which might be a new record. You know how there's those books that you can't put down? I didn't want to put this down. It was so easy to read and was such an amazing story. The short chapters meant I could keep going even when my lids were drooping last night. I loved how these characters met on September 11, 2001, at the age I was on September 11, 2001. Their life events happened in time with mine which made for such a strong connection. It was amazing to follow their story as I had similar life experiences.This would be a perfect book for you if you loved Me Before You. It will be one I will remember for a long time.
    more
  • Jill Croce-McGill
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo is a beautifully written and realistic novel that I couldn't put down. A definite page-turner with great character development and a storyline that will stay with me for awhile! I loved Santopolo's writing style and the way she captures the emotions of the characters - flawless! A beautiful story that will pull you in - highly recommend!
    more
  • Ms. Brandon
    January 1, 1970
    4,5* "Es lo que tiene el amor. Que nos hace sentir infinitos e invencibles".
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    The Light We Lost is a story about choices. Based on my personal reading experience, it's not about 9/11, the terrorists group(s) behind it, or the war that ensued. I know these were all in the book for tone-setting maybe, but I believe this would have been the same story without these sensitive events. The Light We Lost shows a girl: Lucy who moves her life along by making choices...as we all do. However, sometimes we regret our choices. Sometimes we think "What if?". Sometimes we suck it up an The Light We Lost is a story about choices. Based on my personal reading experience, it's not about 9/11, the terrorists group(s) behind it, or the war that ensued. I know these were all in the book for tone-setting maybe, but I believe this would have been the same story without these sensitive events. The Light We Lost shows a girl: Lucy who moves her life along by making choices...as we all do. However, sometimes we regret our choices. Sometimes we think "What if?". Sometimes we suck it up and move forward with our life but sometimes we turn our head and play into the fantasy of a do-over. Lucy is very human, and humans are flawed and self-oriented. We watch Lucy as she continues to choose and processes the outcomes. I truly get why so many readers are head over hills with this book. I can acknowledge the emotions that likely accompanied many readers' experiences. It was not as palpable for me as it was for others obviously, maybe because I was too objective in my reading or maybe because the writing felt a bit YA despite the adult content (the audiobook narrator may have contributed to this too). For me, it was sorely over-hyped but you may be the next reader that experiences all the feels. The odds push for the latter which makes it worth checking out.My favorite quote:“Her belief and her quiet strength, they helped. There is an element of peace in believing that we’re only players on a stage, acting out stories directed by someone else.”
    more
  • Jasprit
    January 1, 1970
    Post- reading thoughts: this book left me totally broken, such a beautiful story. “And if you do find that love, embrace it. Hold on to it. When you give yourself over to love like that, your heart will get bruised. It will get battered. But you will also feel invincible and infinite.”The Light we Lost was a poignant story of a beautiful romance, a one of a kind romance, that consumes you, that’s crazy and has you double checking yourself, but you know is one that you’d never give up. Gabe and L Post- reading thoughts: this book left me totally broken, such a beautiful story. “And if you do find that love, embrace it. Hold on to it. When you give yourself over to love like that, your heart will get bruised. It will get battered. But you will also feel invincible and infinite.”The Light we Lost was a poignant story of a beautiful romance, a one of a kind romance, that consumes you, that’s crazy and has you double checking yourself, but you know is one that you’d never give up. Gabe and Lucy’s first meet up came about on September 11th 2001, with the atrocities taking place, they were able to find comfort in each other and it was something that had a big impact on both of them. But although events got in the way and took away what could have been from their grasps, it was apparent that this first meeting of Gabe and Lucy would not be the last.We’re told of Gabe and Lucy’s story over increments, in months spent together, years apart and chance meetings that brings their paths together once more. The Light we Lost was truly a difficult read for me at times, because it was clearly apparent that despite what had gone on between Gabe and Lucy, they were meant to be together and that is what I wanted the most. I hated that things would take them away from each other, or wrong decisions were made and secrets were kept, and although at times things had been turbulent and heart breaking for them both, the fact that all these years their paths kept aligning gave hope that deep down, they still had feelings for each other and that there would be a right moment for them to be together.I don’t really want to give anything away and reveal how things end up for Gabe and Lucy, but it really is a story that all readers should read. It’s a story which broke me, stitched me back up and gave me the hope that everything would be right in the world. It made me fall hard and fast for Gabe and Lucy’s characters and wish that I never had to let their story go. Santopolo wrote a majestically beautiful story in The Light we Lost; it’s one that I won’t be forgetting for a very long time.
    more
Write a review