Nothing Stays Buried (Monkeewrench, #8)
The Monkeewrench crew returns to face the city of Minneapolis s worst nightmare a rampant serial killer on the loose in the electrifying new thriller. When Minneapolis homicide detectives Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth are called to a crime scene in a heavily wooded city park, everything about the setting is all too familiar. And when they discover a playing card on the victim's body, their worst fears are confirmed there s a serial killer operating in the city for the first time in years. Across town, Grace MacBride and her unconventional partners at Monkeewrench Software find themselves at both personal and career crossroads. Weary of the darker side of their computer work for law enforcement, they agree to take on a private missing-persons case in a small farming community in southwestern Minnesota. As the violence accelerates in Minneapolis, Magozzi and Gino soon realize their killer is planning to complete the deck, and they enlist Monkeewrench to help stop the rampage. As a baffling tangle of evidence accumulates, the cops and Monkeewrench make the unlikely connections among a farmer s missing daughter, a serial killer, and a decades-old stabbing that brings them face-to-face with pure evil."

Nothing Stays Buried (Monkeewrench, #8) Details

TitleNothing Stays Buried (Monkeewrench, #8)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 1st, 2017
PublisherG.P. Putnam's Sons
ISBN0735212457
ISBN-139780735212459
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Mystery, Crime

Nothing Stays Buried (Monkeewrench, #8) Review

  • Maureen Carden
    March 26, 2017
    I've been riding with this here Monkeewrench gang since they left their hideout, oh wait, wrong genre. How about I've been a devotee of the Monkeewrench gang since they burst up on the literary scene in ...wait that is not quite right either. Okay final try. This is the eighth and very welcomed book in the Monkeewrench series. The Monkeewrench gang are four brilliant, damaged, and extremely tight computer mavens who have developed a software that is proving invaluable to law enforcement agencies I've been riding with this here Monkeewrench gang since they left their hideout, oh wait, wrong genre. How about I've been a devotee of the Monkeewrench gang since they burst up on the literary scene in ...wait that is not quite right either. Okay final try. This is the eighth and very welcomed book in the Monkeewrench series. The Monkeewrench gang are four brilliant, damaged, and extremely tight computer mavens who have developed a software that is proving invaluable to law enforcement agencies.There are two story lines, a search for a missing girl and a search for a serial killer, the first headed by the Monkeewrench Gang and the second headed by their Minneapolis homicide detective friends/lovers. These two hunts become intertwined to the surprise of everyone since one hunt is in the Minnesota cornfields and the other in the Twin Cities.This might seem an odd complaint, but this book was mostly story. I would have liked to have spent more time with just the characters. A minor complaint as the stories are really intriguing. As are all of the Monkeewrench series, this is well-written and fast paced. The murders are not too graphic, but still disturbing. Especially when a bit unexpected. So close..... This book can absolutely stand on its own, but just for the pleasure of meeting these characters I would suggest some of the earlier books.I have to say Minnesota is producing some of my favorite mystery writers and settings, right after LA.The Tracy team is spot on with their cartel information. Oops, I had to go back and change the rating to five stars because one of the characters talks about making French toast by dipping it in melted vanilla ice cream.There is a lion. Did I mention there is a lion living in the cornfields?Thank you NetGalley for a chance to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Melanie Johnson
    February 19, 2017
    I really enjoyed this latest segment of the Monkeewrench series, especially knowing that the mother of the mother/daughter writing team passed away shortly after finishing this book. If you haven't read this series, it's a really good suspense series with a little bit of romance thrown in. If you like Debra Webb's Faces of Evil series or Mary Higgins Clark I think you would like these. They are great stories with not a lot of gruesome details and a nice storyline where you are rooting for the ma I really enjoyed this latest segment of the Monkeewrench series, especially knowing that the mother of the mother/daughter writing team passed away shortly after finishing this book. If you haven't read this series, it's a really good suspense series with a little bit of romance thrown in. If you like Debra Webb's Faces of Evil series or Mary Higgins Clark I think you would like these. They are great stories with not a lot of gruesome details and a nice storyline where you are rooting for the main characters to live happily ever after. Thanks so much for my ARC, NetGalley!
    more
  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    February 8, 2017
  • Lori
    April 3, 2017
    First I would like to thank Netgalley and Penguin Group Putnam for this advanced copy to read and review. I have loved the books of P.J. Tracy since Monkeewrench came out, and I have bought all the hard copy books from this series. I think the characters are well developed and I have enjoyed watching them interact over the years. I love how they can take several threads of story and sew them together with apparent ease to make a delightful finished product. I can't even describe how overjoyed I First I would like to thank Netgalley and Penguin Group Putnam for this advanced copy to read and review. I have loved the books of P.J. Tracy since Monkeewrench came out, and I have bought all the hard copy books from this series. I think the characters are well developed and I have enjoyed watching them interact over the years. I love how they can take several threads of story and sew them together with apparent ease to make a delightful finished product. I can't even describe how overjoyed I was to get this book. In this story while the Monkeewrench crew decide to help with a missing persons case and get out of the city. In the meantime Leo and Gino get a case that appears to be a serial. As the stories develop and then start to collide, the simple missing persons case is not so simple. It all comes together in a whirlwind conclusion. I can't wait for this book to come out in August, I'm going to get the hardcover and read it again!!
    more
  • Bonnye Reed
    March 1, 2017
    I received a free electronic copy of this novel from Netgalley, P. J. Tracy and Traci Lambrecht, and Penguin Group Putnam in exchange for an honest review. Thank you all, for sharing your hard work with me. I am excited to have 'found'- thank you Netgalley! - this Monkeewrench Series of novels. This was an excellent read, fast and exciting, and one I will have to find at library or Amazon. The protagonists are just quirky enough to endear them to you, and the mystery remains unsolved until late I received a free electronic copy of this novel from Netgalley, P. J. Tracy and Traci Lambrecht, and Penguin Group Putnam in exchange for an honest review. Thank you all, for sharing your hard work with me. I am excited to have 'found'- thank you Netgalley! - this Monkeewrench Series of novels. This was an excellent read, fast and exciting, and one I will have to find at library or Amazon. The protagonists are just quirky enough to endear them to you, and the mystery remains unsolved until late in the book. The mystery is convoluted but doable, and I enjoyed that the solution was as far reaching as it was, and the tools of the good guys were up to the minute. It's nice to see the good guys with modern tools. I can't wait for the next one - want to be involved with that baby!And the setting - Minnesota, etc. are all cold, icy places I dream of in mid-summer - I have several authors I save back to read when the garden is high and demanding and the thermometer touches 100 every day. Yes, it's a dry heat, but one hundred degrees is HOT. So is this book....Pub date Aug 1, 2017
    more
  • Kay
    March 4, 2017
    Nothing Stays Buried by P. J. Tracy is the 8th book in the Monkeewrench mystery series. It will be published at the beginning of August, but I couldn't wait that long to read my advance copy. Set in Minnesota, mostly in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area, this series has wonderful characters - the Monkeewrench software gang and the Minneapolis Police Department detectives that we've come to know and love. The previous book, The Sixth Idea, was a bit different and some, including me, were not quite as Nothing Stays Buried by P. J. Tracy is the 8th book in the Monkeewrench mystery series. It will be published at the beginning of August, but I couldn't wait that long to read my advance copy. Set in Minnesota, mostly in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area, this series has wonderful characters - the Monkeewrench software gang and the Minneapolis Police Department detectives that we've come to know and love. The previous book, The Sixth Idea, was a bit different and some, including me, were not quite as fond of it. However, Nothing Stays Buried finds our beloved Grace, Harley, Roadrunner and Annie, Magozzi and Gino, back into the swing of things. The MPD is trying to find a serial killer who leaves playing cards on the bodies and Monkeewrench is trying to help a small town sheriff solve the disappearance of a local woman. Even Charlie the dog is included in the hunt. Did I say that I love this series? I think all Monkeewrench lovers will be delighted with this new book.
    more
  • Kristen
    March 9, 2017
    This was barely okay; probably my least favorite of the Monkeewrench series. Annie seems to have gone from "sassy Southern gal" to "complaining brat/shrew" in this one. She bitches about EVERYTHING. And aside from that there wasn't much character development. The killer was almost totally one-dimensional and the end gave almost no insight into motivation etc.
    more
  • Lynn Fisher
    March 16, 2017
    I love this series and have read quite a few off them. The storylines and great with a twist on the typical detective story. This book was really good and certainly didn't disappoint. Would highly recommend this which can be read as a standalone
  • Jan
    March 21, 2017
    I love the Monkeewrench Gang, always enjoy their stories. So sorry to hear that P.J. of PJ Tracy recently passed away and hoping Tracy continues on. I also hope the Monkeewrench Gang gets back to more of the sassy humor they had in their earlier books. I like the story line of Grace and Leo's pending parenthood, looking forward to read more. Looking forward to the new series/stand alone coming out at Christmas time.
    more
  • CL
    February 19, 2017
    In retrospect, she probably could have been more tactful, but that was another thing she considered a deplorable waste of time.ARC received from: NetgalleyRating: 5*One-Sentence Summary: The Monkeewrench crew Versus a Cartel serial killerReview: The Monkeewrench series is without a doubt my favourite crime series out there and P.J. Tracy never disappoints.This plot in this book revolves around Magozzi and Gino's hunt for a serial killer targeting female joggers and leaves a calling card next to In retrospect, she probably could have been more tactful, but that was another thing she considered a deplorable waste of time.ARC received from: NetgalleyRating: 5*One-Sentence Summary: The Monkeewrench crew Versus a Cartel serial killerReview: The Monkeewrench series is without a doubt my favourite crime series out there and P.J. Tracy never disappoints.This plot in this book revolves around Magozzi and Gino's hunt for a serial killer targeting female joggers and leaves a calling card next to the bodies. At the same time, the Monkeewrench crew are looking into a missing person's case as a favour to a sheriff out in the country. Needless to say, it soon becomes apparent that their cases are linked leading to a manhunt out in the middle of nowhere.In addition to the serial killer manhunt, Tracy throws in a tornado to amp up the action and I was riveted by the last quarter of the book which read like something out of Twister the film crossed with Criminal Minds the TV show.As ever though whilst the whodunnit element is interesting, what really makes this series the best is that the mother-and-daughter writing team have created such a fantastic family in Magozzi & Gino and the Monkeewrench gang that it is an absolute pleasure coming back to them time-after-time. There are also a number of secondary characters in this book, like Walt and Jacob, that you warm to and you're on tenterhooks hoping and praying that the serial killer's latest victim will be found alive.It saddens me to hear that P.J. has passed away. I only hope that Traci will continue writing this series in her memory."Lesson number one—don’t ever argue with a pregnant woman, or she’ll take a pound of flesh, and it’s not the flesh a man wants to lose.”Magozzi crawled out from under the crib. “That’s kind of a generous weight estimate, isn’t it?”Gino smirked. “Speak for yourself."Originally posted @ Love's A State Of Mind
    more
  • Jen
    March 1, 2017
    Nothing Stays Buried (Monkeewrench #8)For those unfamiliar with the series, Monkeewrench is a software company run by an unconventional group of geeks. The four partners, Grace, Harley, Annie, and Roadrunner, might seem completely mismatched, but have become more close-knit than many families. Frequently called on by police and others to use their software and computer skills to solve crimes, the four unusual partners often work in conjunction with Detectives Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth.In this Nothing Stays Buried (Monkeewrench #8)For those unfamiliar with the series, Monkeewrench is a software company run by an unconventional group of geeks. The four partners, Grace, Harley, Annie, and Roadrunner, might seem completely mismatched, but have become more close-knit than many families. Frequently called on by police and others to use their software and computer skills to solve crimes, the four unusual partners often work in conjunction with Detectives Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth.In this adventure, the Monkeewrench team searches for a missing woman in a small country town, while Leo and Gino work a serial killer case in Minneapolis. Entertaining characters, compelling plot-- Nothing Stays Buried was as entertaining and gripping as previous works.I've followed this series since the first book, and although each one functions perfectly well as a stand alone, the series benefits from being read from the beginning. The books are a great mixture of computer geeks and police procedural with quirky characters and intriguing plots. Read in Feb.NetGalley/Penguin GroupMystery/Police Procedural. Aug. 1, 2017. Print length: 320 pages.
    more
  • Joyce
    February 19, 2017
    4 starsDetectives Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth are called to the scene of a murder in the woods. The scene in the woods, remote and somewhat desolate, and a playing card found on the victim…is there a new serial killer working in the town. Meanwhile, Grace McBride (who is having Magozzi’s baby), and her team at Monkeewrench are looking into the case of a missing girl. Soon the two investigation dovetail and Magozzi and Rolseth are working again with Grace and her team. This book has it all: big 4 starsDetectives Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth are called to the scene of a murder in the woods. The scene in the woods, remote and somewhat desolate, and a playing card found on the victim…is there a new serial killer working in the town. Meanwhile, Grace McBride (who is having Magozzi’s baby), and her team at Monkeewrench are looking into the case of a missing girl. Soon the two investigation dovetail and Magozzi and Rolseth are working again with Grace and her team. This book has it all: big city politics, little town sheriffs, ordinary people, tough cops and computer nerds. This is a well written and plotted book. The suspense is just right and the story keeps moving along at a nice pace. The tension ratchets up as the book moves along. I would like to send my condolences to the writing team of P.J. Tracy on the death of one of their own.I am sending a thank you to Netgalley and Penguin Group Putnam/G.P. Putnam Sons for forwarding to me a copy of this most enjoyable book to read.
    more
  • Sue Kelso
    February 26, 2017
    please don't be the last one. I love this series
  • Jeanne O'donnell
    February 14, 2017
    Ive been away from Monkeywrench much too long. This is another book in the series of bright, odd, creatively intelligent characters in remarkable situations. This author brings big city cops, small town sheriffs, citified techies and cartel involvement in the Midwest seamlessly. Not to mention the lion and tornado. The relationships and character development is spot on. The farm, chariot and even the mudslides were so well written I could see it all in my mind's eye. For me that's what makes a b Ive been away from Monkeywrench much too long. This is another book in the series of bright, odd, creatively intelligent characters in remarkable situations. This author brings big city cops, small town sheriffs, citified techies and cartel involvement in the Midwest seamlessly. Not to mention the lion and tornado. The relationships and character development is spot on. The farm, chariot and even the mudslides were so well written I could see it all in my mind's eye. For me that's what makes a book worth 2 hours of my life. The police work was as realistic as the farmhouse and storm cellar. The exhaustion and tenacity in an investigation and it didn't pull any punches with red herrings. The best book I've been lucky enough to read so far this year.
    more
  • Tracie Runge
    February 16, 2017
    What a great read!! I love this series and Nothing Stays Buried is another addition. This story is so well written thriller with twist and turn that kept me gripped from the very beginning.
  • Martina
    February 5, 2017
    Monkeewrench #8, publishes August 2017!!! Can't Wait! The first Monkeewrench book was a big hit with the Mystery Book Group. So glad they are writing more in the series.
  • Sonya Lange
    March 27, 2017
    The latest instalment of the. Monkeewrench series was an entertaining and satisfying read. I have felt a little ambivalent about the last couple of books in the series- not sure that I can really say why - but this one felt "right". The Monkeewrench gang do out into the field to held track down a missing girl, whilst their police detective compatriots are on the hunt for a vicious serial killer. As one coincidence after another piles up, they come to realise their investigations are linked. As t The latest instalment of the. Monkeewrench series was an entertaining and satisfying read. I have felt a little ambivalent about the last couple of books in the series- not sure that I can really say why - but this one felt "right". The Monkeewrench gang do out into the field to held track down a missing girl, whilst their police detective compatriots are on the hunt for a vicious serial killer. As one coincidence after another piles up, they come to realise their investigations are linked. As they close in on the killer, a wild storm bears down on them, carving a swath of destruction right through their search area. Can they apprehend a killer, find the missing girl, and survive a tornado? It's the Monkeewrench crew - of course they can!
    more
  • Julie
    April 20, 2017
    Rolseth and Magozzi are on the trail of a serial killer who finds his victims in parks around Minneapolis, leaving them with a playing card tucked inside their clothing. Meanwhile, Monkeewrench have been asked to look into the disappearance of a young woman to the north.I love this series and all the characters. The storytelling, as usual, sweeps you along. The one weakness is the authors' reliance on coincidence to progress the story.
    more
  • Vicky Clayton
    March 12, 2017
    I have been a fan of P.J Tracey ever since the first monkeewrench book, so I was so excited to be able to read an advance copy of this book. The book has a really great pace to it, I never felt like I was skimming over pages to get to the 'good' bits. I really rooted for the characters to get the ending I was hoping for, and the bad guy was truly menacing, you could really imagine the evil emanating from him. If you haven't read any of these books, then I'd really recommend going to the first on I have been a fan of P.J Tracey ever since the first monkeewrench book, so I was so excited to be able to read an advance copy of this book. The book has a really great pace to it, I never felt like I was skimming over pages to get to the 'good' bits. I really rooted for the characters to get the ending I was hoping for, and the bad guy was truly menacing, you could really imagine the evil emanating from him. If you haven't read any of these books, then I'd really recommend going to the first one: Want to play? and reading the series in order, they're as good as this!
    more
  • Sarah
    March 18, 2017
    When I started to read this book, I did not know that it was part of a series of books and I had missed the first seven of the books in the series. I was a bit confused at times as a result, but overall, Lambrecht did a good job of bringing a new reader into a series with all the information necessary to start in the middle and enjoy the mystery, and the characters within. On one side you have the detectives who work from the police department and the other (but connected) group is Monkeewrench, When I started to read this book, I did not know that it was part of a series of books and I had missed the first seven of the books in the series. I was a bit confused at times as a result, but overall, Lambrecht did a good job of bringing a new reader into a series with all the information necessary to start in the middle and enjoy the mystery, and the characters within. On one side you have the detectives who work from the police department and the other (but connected) group is Monkeewrench, a group of techies who have created software that can help solve crimes from within a very nice RV, with their extremely useful computers. In this book they are called to help find a missing person. The detectives (Leo Magozzi and Gino Rolseth) are also involved, but in the beginning, it is not clear that there is a link. They are looking for a serial killer....and then the two groups come together, it becomes very interesting indeed. The characters were built well, and it was hard not to like them and root for them to solve the crime and for them to all be safe through to the end. Now I will need to go back and start from the beginning so I can understand some of the nuance that I did not get when I read the 8th book!
    more
Write a review