30 Second Death (A Tobi Tobias Mystery #2)
To help an old friend, Tobi Tobias gets a third-rate thespian a part in a commercial, and learns that in the advertising business, bad acting can lead to murder . . .When Tobi Tobias opened her own advertising agency, Carter McDade was there for her every step of the way. A brilliant hairdresser, Carter has just landed his dream project: doing hair and makeup for a theatrical production of Rapunzel. But the dream turns into a nightmare when he runs into Fiona Renoir, a cruel, talentless starlet who won’t let Carter touch a hair on her head.To get Fiona out of Carter’s hair, Tobi hires the difficult actress for a bit part in her latest commercial. But true to character, Fiona is a terror on set, and Tobi is starting to think she’s made the biggest mistake of her life. But things get even worse when Fiona drops dead in the hairdresser’s chair, and the only suspect is the man left holding the tainted hair dye, Carter McDade. And unless Tobi can prove his innocence, he’ll never do hair in this town again.

30 Second Death (A Tobi Tobias Mystery #2) Details

Title30 Second Death (A Tobi Tobias Mystery #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherLyrical Underground
Rating
GenreMystery, Cozy Mystery

30 Second Death (A Tobi Tobias Mystery #2) Review

  • Lisa Morin
    May 19, 2017
    Writing catchy ads by day and working in the pet store as needed leaves Tobi Tobias some time for fun with new beau Andy.For those of you who read the first in this series by Laura Bradford, Andy was a client Tobi worked with.Picking up on the cliffhanger of Andy's ex entering the story, Tobi feels sad and confused and isn't sure what Andy wants.Working with two new clients has her feeling a bit better, but when her bff finds himself accused of murder, Tobi has no choice but to get involved.Reve Writing catchy ads by day and working in the pet store as needed leaves Tobi Tobias some time for fun with new beau Andy.For those of you who read the first in this series by Laura Bradford, Andy was a client Tobi worked with.Picking up on the cliffhanger of Andy's ex entering the story, Tobi feels sad and confused and isn't sure what Andy wants.Working with two new clients has her feeling a bit better, but when her bff finds himself accused of murder, Tobi has no choice but to get involved.Revenge, secrets and greed will keep you turning the pages in this exciting book. Once again we are left with a cliffhanger and I can't wait to read the next book.I voluntarily read an ARC of this book provided by the publisher and NetGalley.
    more
  • Peggy R
    June 5, 2017
    If you enjoyed the first book in this series then do yourself a favor and make sure to add this one to the TBR list. The second installment in the Tobi Tobais Mystery is another page turning read filled with great characters and what I thought was a terrific mystery. Tobi is such a great character. For only the second book in the series she is complex, multi-dimensional and layered. I find her to be an independent spirit who loves her family and friends and has a terrific wit and sense of humor If you enjoyed the first book in this series then do yourself a favor and make sure to add this one to the TBR list. The second installment in the Tobi Tobais Mystery is another page turning read filled with great characters and what I thought was a terrific mystery. Tobi is such a great character. For only the second book in the series she is complex, multi-dimensional and layered. I find her to be an independent spirit who loves her family and friends and has a terrific wit and sense of humor that will make you chuckle several times throughout the book (at least I did). The rest of the cast is back and ready to go as they have to help clear Carter of suspicion of murder. The mystery is well plotted, fast paced and had a twist that I just did not expect.This is quickly becoming a series that I really look forward to reading and can't wait to see what is in stall for the group in the next book.I voluntarily read an advanced review copy of this book which was provided to me by the publisher through Netgalley.
    more
  • RO G'ma
    May 28, 2017
    30 Second Death is the second book in Laura Bradford’s fabulous Tobi Tobias Mystery series. This whodunit has a great storyline, well-developed and engaging characters, lots of humor, and touches of romance. Ms. Bradford has a witty writing style and I’m looking forward to reading more of her books. There are lots of twists and turns and no shortage of suspects This steadily paced story held my attention throughout the entire book and kept me guessing whodunit. I highly recommend this book to an 30 Second Death is the second book in Laura Bradford’s fabulous Tobi Tobias Mystery series. This whodunit has a great storyline, well-developed and engaging characters, lots of humor, and touches of romance. Ms. Bradford has a witty writing style and I’m looking forward to reading more of her books. There are lots of twists and turns and no shortage of suspects This steadily paced story held my attention throughout the entire book and kept me guessing whodunit. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a well-crafted cozy mystery.Tobi Tobias is a chocoholic and the owner of the Tobias Ad Agency. Her business is taking off and with two new clients, Salonquility and Pizza Adventure, and Tobi is excited about the potential of buying a car but is still feeling sad and insecure ever since Andy’s ex-girlfriend showed up at the restaurant during a recent date. Carter McDade, one of Tobi’s best friends, upstairs neighbor, and talented hairdresser has been hired by a local theater to do the hair and makeup for the actors in the production of Rapunzel. Frank Martindale is Carter’s boss and he hired his niece, Fiona Renoir (who is Carter’s nemesis), to play the lead. Carter can’t take Fiona’s constant complaints and demands any longer and verbally attacks Fiona. Frank overhears Carter and now he’s concerned Frank will fire him. Tobi steps in to help save Carter’s job by hiring Fiona to appear in the commercial she is having filmed for Salonquility. When Fiona dies during the filming, it’s determined she was murdered and Carter may be the prime suspect. Tobi’s Grandpa Stu shows up to help her clear Carter’s name and, much to her displeasure, continues to pursue a relationship with her annoying neighbor, Martha Rapple.I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book from NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed it.
    more
  • Patricia Romero
    June 17, 2017
    Tobi is a character! I love this group of friends and family that all love and support Tobi.Tobi is determined to find out who killed the nasty Fiona. And clear her BFF at the same time. With so many suspects, Grandpa Stu comes to visit and help her out. Or did he come to hook up with Tobi's nasty neighbor? Lots of mysteries here!The characters are well developed and  this not your typical cosy mystery. Ms. Bradford has several mystery series out, so check out her Amazon page and see if you find Tobi is a character! I love this group of friends and family that all love and support Tobi.Tobi is determined to find out who killed the nasty Fiona. And clear her BFF at the same time. With so many suspects, Grandpa Stu comes to visit and help her out. Or did he come to hook up with Tobi's nasty neighbor? Lots of mysteries here!The characters are well developed and  this not your typical cosy mystery. Ms. Bradford has several mystery series out, so check out her Amazon page and see if you find something you like!Lyrical Underground/Kensingto July 11, 2017
    more
  • Leith Devine
    May 14, 2017
    Thanks to Kensington Books/Lyrical Underground and NetGalley for the ARC of this book.I really enjoyed this book. It's a great cozy mystery read, and Laura Bradford does a wonderful job bringing her characters to life. It's got some very funny episodes which I really appreciated.30 Second Death is the second book in Tobi Tobias mystery series, and can be read without reading the first book in the series. Tobi owns an advertising agency, and in the first book, she got her first big client and sta Thanks to Kensington Books/Lyrical Underground and NetGalley for the ARC of this book.I really enjoyed this book. It's a great cozy mystery read, and Laura Bradford does a wonderful job bringing her characters to life. It's got some very funny episodes which I really appreciated.30 Second Death is the second book in Tobi Tobias mystery series, and can be read without reading the first book in the series. Tobi owns an advertising agency, and in the first book, she got her first big client and starting dating one of the owners, Andy. In this book, she is working a new ad for a day spa at Starwood Studios, a standalone studio with a crew and custom sets. Her close friend and neighbor Carter has been working on a new play, but after he chewed out his boss's niece Fiona, a real diva, he may have lost his job.Tobi tries to save the day by hiring Fiona to appear in her spa commercial. Unfortunately, after a difficult day of shooting, Fiona is found dead. There are suspects galore. Carter was on the set, and the crew had many reasons to dislike Fiona. Tobi has to find the murderer to clear Carter's name. At the same time, her best friend Mary Fran, who owns a pet store, is facing complaints about her loud parrots, who imitate sounds to people's amusement or annoyance. Mary Fran is also worried about her upcoming high school reunion. Tobi is pulled in all different directions, between Andy, Carter and Mary Fran.The characters in the book were all entertaining, and made the book more interesting. Tobi's Grandpa Stu makes an appearance, and Tobi's other clients are well described and fun to read about. I didn't guess the identity of the murderer, which is a plus for me in a cozy mystery.I highly recommend this book and the first one in the series, Death in Advertising.
    more
  • Brenda
    June 11, 2017
    I am not as happy with book 2 as I was with book 1 in this series.The success of Tobi Tobias' ad agency brings her opportunities to realize life goals - like owning a car. Actress Fiona is causing grief for Tobi's hairdresser BFF Carter so Tobi casts Fiona in her next commercial. This idea causes a lot of problems for everyone and when Fiona drops dead at Carter's feet he's the prime suspect.Tobi has to come to grips with a lot of areas in her personal life and proving Carter innocent of murder I am not as happy with book 2 as I was with book 1 in this series.The success of Tobi Tobias' ad agency brings her opportunities to realize life goals - like owning a car. Actress Fiona is causing grief for Tobi's hairdresser BFF Carter so Tobi casts Fiona in her next commercial. This idea causes a lot of problems for everyone and when Fiona drops dead at Carter's feet he's the prime suspect.Tobi has to come to grips with a lot of areas in her personal life and proving Carter innocent of murder gets tossed into her emotional load.I found repetition of background and situational details frustrating. Book 1 was a better read, which isn't the norm in a series. Looking forward to book 3.
    more
  • Karen
    May 28, 2017
    Solid characters and an interesting premise, but the whodunit wasn't a 5 star for me. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
Write a review