The Dark Beneath the Ice
Something is wrong with Marianne. It's not just that her parents have split up, or that life hasn't been the same since she quit dancing. Or even that her mother has checked herself into the hospital. She's losing time. Doing things she would never do. And objects around her seem to break whenever she comes close. Something is after her. But a first attempt at an exorcism calls down the full force of the thing's rage. It demands Marianne give back what she stole. And Marianne must uncover the truth that lies beneath it all before the nightmare can take what it think it's owed, leaving Marianne trapped in the darkness of the other side.

The Dark Beneath the Ice Details

TitleThe Dark Beneath the Ice
Author
ReleaseAug 7th, 2018
PublisherSourcebooks Fire
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Horror, Fantasy, Paranormal

The Dark Beneath the Ice Review

  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    3 1/2 stars. I read this so quickly what the fuck. I was literally at dinner with my eyes popping out of my skull and my parents, presumably, were feeling completely disappointed in everything about my being.The Dark Beneath the Ice is blurbed as Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity, and honestly, I think that’s about accurate. This a completely-impossible-to-put-down YA thriller about the day being saved by a combination of self care and lesbian love. Okay, main promo for this book: it’s really 3 1/2 stars. I read this so quickly what the fuck. I was literally at dinner with my eyes popping out of my skull and my parents, presumably, were feeling completely disappointed in everything about my being.The Dark Beneath the Ice is blurbed as Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity, and honestly, I think that’s about accurate. This a completely-impossible-to-put-down YA thriller about the day being saved by a combination of self care and lesbian love. Okay, main promo for this book: it’s really scary. Writing truly horrifying scenes takes a a lot of talent, and this book did a wonderful job at scaring me shitless. The paranormal aspects are brilliantly frightening and written with just enough restraint that it’s hard not to feel deeply, deeply scared. Tension builds up slowly and perfectly. One of my favorite horror movie conflicts is the man vs. self conflict - when we see a character struggling with their inner demons above all else. Here, I adored the main character, Marianne. her arc around self-hatred is very compelling and intriguing. Though the divorced parents storyline at first came off a bit cliche, her complex and somewhat-codependent relationship with her mother soon adds a super intriguing angle to The Dark Beneath the Ice’s paranormal elements.And I really loved the way the romance was written! It’s sapphic, and though it’s not a huge element of the book, it has a good slow burn - it’s hard not to get invested in the relatively slow build. Marianne and Rhiannon [who both have weirdly long names] make for a really sweet couple in a book that is otherwise pretty damn dark. Blog | Goodreads | Twitter | Youtube
    more
  • Dannii Elle
    January 1, 1970
    My original thoughts were: "Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity". Um, YES FUCKING PLEASE!My final thoughts were: In theory the synopsis was entirely correct in pitching this book as an amalgamation of the two, but it was a far tamer combination than I had been ecpecting and this spoiled my overall enjoyment. No major flaws here, and a solid character and twisted story progression was to be found, this was purely a case of expectations too highly placed and this particular story being not exactl My original thoughts were: "Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity". Um, YES FUCKING PLEASE!My final thoughts were: In theory the synopsis was entirely correct in pitching this book as an amalgamation of the two, but it was a far tamer combination than I had been ecpecting and this spoiled my overall enjoyment. No major flaws here, and a solid character and twisted story progression was to be found, this was purely a case of expectations too highly placed and this particular story being not exactly suited for my tastes. I can see this one garnering much high praise from others in the future, however, due to the poetic writing style and intense emotions it exuded.I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the author, Amelinda Bérubé, and the publisher, Sourcebooks Fire, for this opportunity.
    more
  • Helen Power
    January 1, 1970
    Marianne's life is falling apart. It isn't because her parents are getting divorced, because her mother had a psychotic break, or even because her best friend moved away. It's because strange and terrifying things keep happening whenever she's around. Light bulbs burst. Mirrors crack. Furniture moves. Convinced she's possessed, Marianne tries to communicate with the demon inside of her. This turns out to be a horrible mistake...A major strength of The Dark Beneath the Ice is the language Bérubé Marianne's life is falling apart. It isn't because her parents are getting divorced, because her mother had a psychotic break, or even because her best friend moved away. It's because strange and terrifying things keep happening whenever she's around. Light bulbs burst. Mirrors crack. Furniture moves. Convinced she's possessed, Marianne tries to communicate with the demon inside of her. This turns out to be a horrible mistake...A major strength of The Dark Beneath the Ice is the language Bérubé uses as she describes the horrors that Marianne is experiencing.  She describes the world she's created through lyrical prose.  The frequent use of water and ice imagery—which ties back to the title perfectly--is haunting, yet beautiful.I do have a few criticisms of the story.  The paranormal events escalate too quickly. This novel is marketed as “Paranormal Activity” meets “Black Swan”, but in both of these movies, the mysterious occurrences are subtle at the beginning. So subtle you could almost miss them, and you could easily explain them away as being caused by something based in this reality.  My major issue with this book is that Marianne always suspects she’s possessed.  She does question her sanity for a brief moment at the beginning, but the reader cannot experience this uncertainty with her, because of how quickly the events escalate. In one of the first chapters, Marianne walks down the street and the streetlights blow out.  Immediately the reader is tuned into the fact that this can't be a figment of her imagination and that there is definitely something paranormal going on.  The movie "Black Swan" is beautiful in its simplicity.  Natalie Portman’s character might be going mad. I wanted Bérubé to explore this possibility, if only for the first portion of the book. Instead, we discover right away that it can’t just be in her head.  Something supernatural is definitely taking over Marianne.I love the exploration of Marianne's relationship with Rhiannon, or “Ron”, an outcast at school. Their interactions and the development of their relationship is definitely one of the highlights of the book.  Marianne has recently lost her best friend, who moved out of the country.  Ron fits perfectly into this gaping hole in her life, and whenever they interact, we get to see parts of Marianne that we wouldn't otherwise.  It isn't quite insta-love, and it's a touch of sweetness in an otherwise dark story line.For a book about possession, I expected the main character to have more introspection. She’s going through a lot. Her parents are getting divorced, her best friend moved away, her mother just might be insane.  Yet she doesn’t ruminate over it, and while this could be a defense mechanism, she doesn’t even think about not thinking about it. There are some flashbacks in the story, but not enough to fill in the blanks of her past. Whether this is intentional or not is beside the point—if she was intentionally ignoring the pains of her past—then she should have thought about it occasionally to let the reader know why she doesn’t like remembering.Marianne’s relationship with her mother is fascinating. It’s clearly an unhealthy relationship, which unfortunately doesn’t get explored much, as Marianne spends the majority of the book living with her Aunt Jennifer.  Unhealthy family relationships are often at the centre of a good horror story, with the supernatural plot line mirroring or accentuating distorted relationships and emotions.This book is beautifully written and very fast-paced, but it doesn’t spend enough time developing the characters. I felt like I understood the love interest, Rhiannon, better than I understood the main character.  I wanted to see more growth and revelations about Marianne’s motivations, fears, and desires as the story unfolded, but unfortunately the plot didn’t turn this way.The Dark Beneath the Ice is a deliciously atmospheric read set in Ottawa (hometown represent!).  I recommend this book to anyone who’s looking for a light supernatural horror that puts an emphasis on setting, but if you’re looking for a darker take on psychological issues, psychological abuse in family relationships, or other themes that are often explored in possession or haunting books, you might be better off picking up a different book.*I received a copy of this ARC from Sourcebooks Fire through NetGalley.*
    more
  • Katie
    January 1, 1970
    *the publisher was kind enough to send me a copy of this book for review**3.5 stars*(yay for lgbtq+ rep!)I'm a huge fan of horror, unreliable narrators, ghost stories, and spooky stuff. So I was more than a little excited to pick up this book, and overall, it was a great read! I loved the build up at the beginning and there were some great moments in there; however, it had a few issues that dropped my rating down a few stars.The story had great potential. Our main character Marianne was super in *the publisher was kind enough to send me a copy of this book for review**3.5 stars*(yay for lgbtq+ rep!)I'm a huge fan of horror, unreliable narrators, ghost stories, and spooky stuff. So I was more than a little excited to pick up this book, and overall, it was a great read! I loved the build up at the beginning and there were some great moments in there; however, it had a few issues that dropped my rating down a few stars.The story had great potential. Our main character Marianne was super interesting, and I loved her background in dance and the details surrounding that part of her life. However, there were several aspects of her character and backstory that never got fleshed out as much as I was hoping.The main issue with this book was the reveal at the end and the lack of satisfaction I got when I reached the last page. It wasn't terrible - but it wasn't what I was hoping for. Once we figured out what the "mysterious force" was, the story lost pretty much all tension for me, and just came across as cheesy, especially in the dialogue. Looking past that, I still really enjoyed the book. I thought it was well-written and paced super well, and I'd definitely try out this author's future work. Good debut. Hoping her next book is even better!
    more
  • K.A.
    January 1, 1970
    I picked this book up and didn't want to put it down for a hot second, because IT WAS SO DARK AND CREEPY AND UTTERLY BEAUTIFUL AND TERRIFYING! I might have growled at my children when they walked in on me reading. The prose was so lovely and visceral--I felt the ice in my bones, the water rising, the slow unhinging of the dark. I felt everything. The world building was careful and purposeful. The word choices, perfect. It was a masterwork of setting and tone. The characters were wonderful, the p I picked this book up and didn't want to put it down for a hot second, because IT WAS SO DARK AND CREEPY AND UTTERLY BEAUTIFUL AND TERRIFYING! I might have growled at my children when they walked in on me reading. The prose was so lovely and visceral--I felt the ice in my bones, the water rising, the slow unhinging of the dark. I felt everything. The world building was careful and purposeful. The word choices, perfect. It was a masterwork of setting and tone. The characters were wonderful, the plot kept me guessing until the very end. I also *might* have been scared to death and come back as a ghost. Maybe. Either way, if you're a fan of creepy, scary, ghost stories and beautiful dark writing, you have to read THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE. God, it was so good.
    more
  • Teresa
    January 1, 1970
    This book was a scary, gorgeous, terrifying gem of an novel that had me reading it with the lights on throughout the night!! I can't even put into words how I felt about this book because I am still processing it...Thanks to Sourcebooks for the ARC!!
    more
  • Amelinda Bérubé
    January 1, 1970
    [UPDATE: July 9, 2018] Another trade review from the School Library Journal![UPDATE: June 15, 2018] Check out what Booklist and Kirkus had to say about THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE! Full reviews are up on their websites...[April 6, 2018] Lovely readers! We're only a few months out from August, when I get to share my spooky book with all of you! To hear the latest about THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE and future projects - and for book recs, thoughts on tarot, and answers to your questions - you can sign up [UPDATE: July 9, 2018] Another trade review from the School Library Journal![UPDATE: June 15, 2018] Check out what Booklist and Kirkus had to say about THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE! Full reviews are up on their websites...[April 6, 2018] Lovely readers! We're only a few months out from August, when I get to share my spooky book with all of you! To hear the latest about THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE and future projects - and for book recs, thoughts on tarot, and answers to your questions - you can sign up for my (very occasional) newsletter at http://www.metuiteme.com/contact.html. I'll be giving away goodies to subscribers every Wednesday in April!
    more
  • Caidyn (BW Reviews; he/him/his)
    January 1, 1970
    This review can also be found here! Thank you to Netgalley for providing an ARC! Publishing August 7th, 2018. TW: mental illnessI went through a requesting spree on Netgalley a few weeks back and this is one of the books I requested. The reason why I requested it is because it sounded interesting to me.Marianne has something going on with her. Something wrong. Her parents are divorcing. Her mother checked herself into a hospital. Her father’s MIA. Her best friend has abandoned her. She’s alone.A This review can also be found here! Thank you to Netgalley for providing an ARC! Publishing August 7th, 2018. TW: mental illnessI went through a requesting spree on Netgalley a few weeks back and this is one of the books I requested. The reason why I requested it is because it sounded interesting to me.Marianne has something going on with her. Something wrong. Her parents are divorcing. Her mother checked herself into a hospital. Her father’s MIA. Her best friend has abandoned her. She’s alone.And, to top it all off, there’s something wrong with her. Things are breaking around her. She hears things. There’s a dark presence there.Now, I love horror. I love a good possession story. One of the first horror movies I watched was The Exorcism of Emily Rose. Still one of my favorite movies of all time. When I requested this book, I knew that since it was YA, it wasn’t going to be as scary or hard-hitting as most horror stories are.But, this one really fell flat for me.I loved the characters and how unambiguously queer they were. Marianne’s sexuality was never stated, but it didn’t need to be. It only mattered that she was into women. There was no need to label it. Then, her new friend, Rhiannon, was also queer and her sexuality was never stated. I kind of wish there had been more prelude to their relationship, but it was sweet and I loved how it went from friends to something more.What really did me in was the plot. There were tense moments, but I wasn’t scared by it. I didn’t think I would be, but it really petered out. The pacing was really off for me. It felt drawn out. It needed more going on in it because it felt like things were just being repeated over and over again without anything new being presented to the story.I also wasn’t a fan of the ending. My reaction was “seriously??” It just didn’t work for me, although I’m sure it would work for others. The message of it was good, but I wanted a full-on ghost/possession/demon exorcism rather than this introspective message.This is a very good debut — I mean, I liked the characters and writing, even if I wasn’t crazy for the plot — and I will definitely read Bérubé’s next novel, but the bulk of the book didn’t work for me.
    more
  • Lili Marcus
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars..review a little later..
  • Jessi ♡
    January 1, 1970
    this was actually pretty cool and gay
  • Derek Milman
    January 1, 1970
    In the tradition of Henry James and Sarah Waters, and for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a spookily elegant YA horror debut that's not to be missed. Whatever terrifying entity that's haunting Marianne seems both insidious and unexpectedly vulnerable, an original concept for a ghost story. The family conflict Marianne is experiencing is tremendously immediate, and the characters--and their relationships--are beautifully rendered. The writing is exquisite, and the book cele In the tradition of Henry James and Sarah Waters, and for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a spookily elegant YA horror debut that's not to be missed. Whatever terrifying entity that's haunting Marianne seems both insidious and unexpectedly vulnerable, an original concept for a ghost story. The family conflict Marianne is experiencing is tremendously immediate, and the characters--and their relationships--are beautifully rendered. The writing is exquisite, and the book celebrates strong women, and their friendships, without resorting to tropes; the story isn't afraid to put them in danger either, and I adored how smoothly and sensitively the LGBTQ themes coursed through the action.At the core of young adulthood is an innate wrestling with one's self, and one's identity. Kudos to Amelinda Bérubé for exploring those ideas in the context of a mysterious, pernicious haunting. A riveting read.
    more
  • Emma Berquist
    January 1, 1970
    Creeping dread, lush writing, and a clever take on a ghost story! Loved it.
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    ARC provided by Sourcebooks Fire via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Oh gosh, this review is not going to be pretty. I’m sorry! I think I am getting pickier when it comes to the horror genre. Throw in an unreliable narrator, and I’m probably going to knock one star off automatically. I’m really sad I did not love this book. It just wasn’t for me. But I really do think that it would be the perfect read for Halloween time.The Dark Beneath the Ice follows Marianne, a high schooler whose ARC provided by Sourcebooks Fire via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Oh gosh, this review is not going to be pretty. I’m sorry! I think I am getting pickier when it comes to the horror genre. Throw in an unreliable narrator, and I’m probably going to knock one star off automatically. I’m really sad I did not love this book. It just wasn’t for me. But I really do think that it would be the perfect read for Halloween time.The Dark Beneath the Ice follows Marianne, a high schooler whose parents are separating. Once her mother commits herself to a hospital, Marianne temporarily goes to live with her aunt. While with her aunt, Marianne begins to see and hear horrific things. Of course, no one believes her, and Marianne also questions her own sanity.The things I liked were short lived: The creep-factor really slowed down for me once I got to the last 20% of the book, and by that point I was forcing myself to finish. I really liked Rhiannon (Ron), but her character started to annoy me by the end as well. I also didn’t understand the purpose of Ron’s psychic mother at all. She was so pointless. And while mental health is a huge theme, I felt like it was only touched in the beginning (doctor visits). There wasn’t a clear explanation about what was triggering Marianne’s visions/hauntings.Then there’s the ending, which just felt so rushed, lackluster, and confusing. I don’t really understand the point of anything that happened.The Dark Beneath the Ice is being marketed as Black Swan meets The Exorcist meets Paranormal Activity. The overall concept sounds like my jam, but in truth, I cannot get past a dull, whiny, unreliable narrator. I’ve read enough of those and wish it was a trope that would die.I’m sorry, I know this review is harsh and I really don’t like writing negative reviews because I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings. But I was left feeling very let down after finishing this book. I think I’m partly to blame. I shouldn’t have requested this ARC because I’m starting to lose interest in YA horror. But I so appreciate Sourcebooks Fire for approving this copy for me, and I always look forward to writing reviews for them!Overall I think that if you’re a fan of YA psychological/paranormal horror with an unreliable narrator, then you may like this one! And it would be perfect to read in October!Blog | Instagram | Twitter
    more
  • Jackie
    January 1, 1970
    This one was a bit disappointing. Marketed as a Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity set the tone for an exciting paranormal meets psychological thriller and I couldn’t have been more excited to read this book and the cover itself is gorgeous but once I got into it I found myself questioning the point of the entire story. Our lead character Marianne just had her life turned upside down and immediately after getting dropped off at her aunt’s house strange things start to happen making her questio This one was a bit disappointing. Marketed as a Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity set the tone for an exciting paranormal meets psychological thriller and I couldn’t have been more excited to read this book and the cover itself is gorgeous but once I got into it I found myself questioning the point of the entire story. Our lead character Marianne just had her life turned upside down and immediately after getting dropped off at her aunt’s house strange things start to happen making her question whether or not she’s possessed and with no one except the goth girl Ron to talk to she sets off to try and figure out the cause of her haunting and end it once and for all. For me the entire paranormal aspect didn’t work to the point that I started to think that was on purpose in order to add weight to the psychological aspect of the book but then the more I read the more I sat there wondering what the heck was going on and each new incident did nothing to further the story other than suggest the decline in Marianne’s own psyche and the side characters didn’t believe anything strange was happening but by the end we where supposed to believe not only did they sit and listen but accepted it all when a chapter ago they had someone committed for the same claims. I get where they were trying to allude to plot elements in the Black Swan but where one managed to show the decline with a personification of another character as a result of years of self loathing and a strive for perfection, this book tries to do it in a way that offers you no real insight as to why so the big moment flops. Everything with the family dynamic was problematic yes, but not to the point that what happened to create the events that are plaguing Marianne now made sense or a foreshadowing of when this big moment that would come back to haunt her actually happened. I don’t know this book might work for some people but for me it was a huge miss, I think it’s just a matter of trying to do too much at once or trying to pull off something deep and not quite achieving it. **thanks to the publishers and netgalley for providing an arc in exchange for a fair and honest review**
    more
  • A Lib Tech Reads
    January 1, 1970
    The Dark Beneath the IceRating: 1.5/5Note: Special thanks to Raincoast Books for providing an ARC for review.When something promises to give me a story that's as messed up as "Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity" along with a dose of exorcism, I fully expect it to deliver. This was a case where it did not.The Dark Beneath the Ice was a lazy attempt at YA horror with no substance and bland characters. My biggest issue was having to read in the point of view of Marianne, who was devoid of any per The Dark Beneath the IceRating: 1.5/5Note: Special thanks to Raincoast Books for providing an ARC for review.When something promises to give me a story that's as messed up as "Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity" along with a dose of exorcism, I fully expect it to deliver. This was a case where it did not.The Dark Beneath the Ice was a lazy attempt at YA horror with no substance and bland characters. My biggest issue was having to read in the point of view of Marianne, who was devoid of any personality and charisma. You are basically forced to read in the voice of someone who's very uninteresting and forgettable; forgettable being the keyword here. If you ask me a few days from now what I had read recently, I would not be able to recall a single thing from this book.I found the writing choppy and it really distracted me as I began to pay more attention to the short sentences rather than what was actually happening. It was disruptive and I couldn't get pulled into the story regardless of whatever was happening.Here are some examples:"I nod. There's nothing else I can do. The sun is gone again" (5)."My family wasn't perfect. I knew that. But I thought it was working. It worked for me" (11)."I walk faster to outpace it. I refuse to freak myself out. Am I afraid of the dark now? I have to calm down...My feet aren't mine. They drag me forward. Fighting them, I slip and shamble, kicking sand. It was a dream, that dark, silent beach" (38)."They're not looking at me. They're not. I'm invisible. I'm underwater" (51). "Whatever's happening to me, I've made it real, somehow, by talking about it. Like it's pulling me forward, more implacable than any current. Out of control" (57)."I jerk away and almost lose my balance, then grip the bench with both hands to steady myself. The bench. Where I'm sitting. I stare at the keys, my head thick and fuzzy, trying to force this to make sense" (89).Thankfully, this didn't continue to happen throughout the rest of the book. In fact, much to my great relief, it became less noticeable as I continued to read; however, it did not change the way I felt about the book. I did attempt to give it as many chances as I could because I wanted to see how the entity would be introduced. If it weren't for the interesting summary, I would have DNF the booked after chapter 1.This is an extremely dialogue driven plot. If you've read my reviews before, you'll know this is not something I prefer. There would have to be something extremely captivating about the story to keep me reading, but the opposite happened in this case. Instead of abandoning this book, I was intrigued to see if the story would get any better, or if there was anything interesting to warrant the highly rated reviews I've seen on Goodreads. Sadly, there just was not. I do commend the author for including LGBTQ+ characters, but even that couldn't make me enjoy this more. Every single character, other than the cliched goth with a medium mother, were insipid; particularly the adults in Marianne's life. Her mom, dad, and Aunt Jen all sounded like the same character when they spoke, and the constant babying of Marianne was frustrating to read. Their conversations and actions were so melodramatic that it felt less like a campy horror, and more like a soap opera.I simply did not have a good time reading this book. I wish I had saved myself the trouble of finishing it, but at the same time, I wanted to see if anything could save this story from being the uninteresting trainwreck that it is.
    more
  • Cassandra {semi-hiatus}
    January 1, 1970
    *Thank you to Edelweiss and Sourcebooks for the ARC in exchange for an honest review!*"There’s no time when you’re drowning. Ten seconds could be a year. Two years. A thousand. Clawing for the surface. Pounding on the underside of the ice. Without thought, without sound, without breath, without anything but the purest terror."This was fantastic. Creepy and unsettling, with lots of ghastly, ghostly stuff. The world needs more of this. I need more of this. Basically, I need more YA horror novels. *Thank you to Edelweiss and Sourcebooks for the ARC in exchange for an honest review!*"There’s no time when you’re drowning. Ten seconds could be a year. Two years. A thousand. Clawing for the surface. Pounding on the underside of the ice. Without thought, without sound, without breath, without anything but the purest terror."This was fantastic. Creepy and unsettling, with lots of ghastly, ghostly stuff. The world needs more of this. I need more of this. Basically, I need more YA horror novels. I have always been obsessed with the paranormal, (I almost said supernatural, but that would have led to rants over my obsession with Supernatural and that's a whole other can of worms...) from vampires to werewolves to warlocks to the fae and of course, to ghosts and spirits and things. I love everything and everything that falls under those tags. This was one of the first YA novels where the ghostly stuff was meant to be scary and not just cute and romantic. (That seems to be a YA fad right now...)On top of being unsettling start to finish, this book had some epic diversity. Our main lady has a lady love interest and that just made this book so much better in my eyes. Honestly, this book was the equivalent of going to a horror movie, (shocking, I know) leaving you with some extra adrenaline and lots of goosebumps. It's a tad predictable, like everything in the horror genre of the arts, but I loved it regardless. Highly recommend for those looking for something to read on a Friday the 13th, Halloween, or whenever you're craving something that will unsettle and disturb you.
    more
  • Katherine Moore
    January 1, 1970
    *Review to come! Read this during the weekend’s #24in48 readathon with no time to write a proper review.
  • Vicky Who Reads
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsThis was surprisingly really great! I wasn't really sure what I was expecting, but I love how atmospheric it was as well as that subtle subtext of Marianne's own personal struggles. Plus, the main character is queer & there's a fxf romance and I don't know why people aren't hyping this up way more? LIKE HELLO THIS IS A BOOK IT EXISTS IT HAS SAPPHIC GIRLS.I wish that some of the past was a little clearer, but it was deliciously ghostly and spooky! Definitely recommend, full review to 4.5 starsThis was surprisingly really great! I wasn't really sure what I was expecting, but I love how atmospheric it was as well as that subtle subtext of Marianne's own personal struggles. Plus, the main character is queer & there's a fxf romance and I don't know why people aren't hyping this up way more? LIKE HELLO THIS IS A BOOK IT EXISTS IT HAS SAPPHIC GIRLS.I wish that some of the past was a little clearer, but it was deliciously ghostly and spooky! Definitely recommend, full review to come!
    more
  • Sionna
    January 1, 1970
    *I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*I can't remember the last time I gave a book a 1 star review, but I feel so close to doing it for this book. And I actually got all the way through it, so I feel like that should count for something. Let's start with the good first: -> There are parts of this book that feel creepy, especially once we know there is something "possessing" Marianne. Ghost stories and possession just creep me out, but in a good way *I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*I can't remember the last time I gave a book a 1 star review, but I feel so close to doing it for this book. And I actually got all the way through it, so I feel like that should count for something. Let's start with the good first: -> There are parts of this book that feel creepy, especially once we know there is something "possessing" Marianne. Ghost stories and possession just creep me out, but in a good way when I'm looking for them! So, there parts that really interested me. -> We have some lesbian rep... kinda. It is there, but I have complicated feelings about it which I will bring up later. -> It is a quick, easy read that I sped through in just a few hours. -> Ron is AMAZING. She is the saving grace of this book. I disliked when Marianne referred to her as Emo Ron (just rubbed me wrong), but Ron totally puts people in their place when they deserve it. LOVE. -> I will admit that I wanted to know what it was that was following Marianne around-- it is seriously the reason why I continued the book to the end. So, I think it is decently suspenseful/mysterious.Now, for the parts that disappointed me: -> First up, there was a point when I almost dropped the book. It 8% in there is a part where Marianne is talking about how since she is invisible, people talk around her without worry-- but there is a point where I can't tell anymore if she is repeating what people have said or sharing her own thoughts. It is about a gay classmate that this line comes up:"And guys like that, what they were into? That was just gross. No offense or anything."??????????????Not okay and then we find out later Marianne is a lesbian, so wtf? So, not cool. Then comes the part when we are introduced fully to Ron who dresses emo, which I'm cool with, but Marianne judges her for. There is sooooo much judgement in the first 10%. -> This one feels like a slow start. In the beginning Marianne doesn't know what is going on, therefore we don't know, so the beginning when she isn't sure if she is possessed or haunted or whatever isn't thrilling, just felt like waiting. Then again, I might have just been too eager. -> I'm so disappointed with the ending. It is better than what I thought it was going to be, but still just *shrug*. I really really want to talk about my thoughts so I'll be putting it under the spoiler AND YES IT WILL SPOIL THE ENDING AND EXPLAIN WHAT WAS WRONG. (view spoiler)[ I had guessed that the dark entity was a part of Marianne, but I was worried that it was her romantic feels only that she was locking up-- that is what it felt like was going on which irritated me. And this whole thing seems to have started because she was being over the top stupidly emotional and then reigned it back to appease her father, who then left her. I just don't see how your emotions could become a separate entity that could do all that it did. And Ron's mom didn't realize it wasn't technically a ghost??? So, weird... (hide spoiler)] If I have misunderstood the ending please comment and let me know!! ->There is a slight romance angle to this book. I did say I liked the lesbian angle AND I STILL DO, but I really dislike how it got involved in the ending and helped push the ending. It felt like a cop out. In the end, I think the book is worth 2 stars-- perhaps 2.5 or 3 if that whole gay-bashing part wasn't included. Will I recommend this to people? Perhaps to friends so I can find out what they think about it and we can talk about it. Depending on what they say, then maybe???
    more
  • Jenny (Bookbookowl)
    January 1, 1970
    Many thanks to Sourcebooks Fire for providing me with an E-ARC of this book to review via Netgalley.  Marianne's life hasn't quite been going to plan.  She quit dancing after succumbing to the pressure of not being good enough, her parents are getting a divorce and her mother has been hospitalised.  Sent to live with her aunt until things calm down, strange things start to happen around her.  She has tried to stay invisible at school, but when one too many odd occurrences happen, she seeks out t Many thanks to Sourcebooks Fire for providing me with an E-ARC of this book to review via Netgalley.  Marianne's life hasn't quite been going to plan.  She quit dancing after succumbing to the pressure of not being good enough, her parents are getting a divorce and her mother has been hospitalised.  Sent to live with her aunt until things calm down, strange things start to happen around her.  She has tried to stay invisible at school, but when one too many odd occurrences happen, she seeks out the outcast of a girl who's mother is a psychic.  Ron turns out to be just the type of friend Marianne needs, but when they decide to try and confront the entity head on, things go from bad to worse.  This mysterious entity wants something Marianne stole from it, but Marianne's sure she doesn't know what it is.  As the paranormal activity gets more and more violent, Ron and Marianne need to find out what is going on before it takes over Marianne's life.This book was scary.  I don't usually read scary books, especially paranormal type scary (axe murders and human killer books are fine though, go figure) but this one just sounded too interesting to pass up!  I was hooked right from the beginning.  It was so disconcerting that both Marianne and her mother didn't know if they could trust themselves, and everyone keeping their own secrets caused people to jump to the wrong conclusions all the time.  I find psychological horror to be the most frightening subject to read in books.  Having nowhere to turn for help, due to the thought that no-one will believe you and admitting anything that's going on could just earn you a one way trip to hospital is just terrifying.  I really enjoyed this book, but I kind of wanted the ending to be different somehow.  I wanted the explanation to be, well it's impossible to say without spoilers, but just something more I guess.  Overall though, I was thoroughly frightened and it took me longer than normal to read because I gave up reading it at night (so I could sleep with the lights off). :D
    more
  • Natalia
    January 1, 1970
    If you like scary movies or a book that is scary, then this is the book for you. I had to make sure I read this during the day or whenever there were people around, that's how much it gave me the creeps.  It reminded me of a movie me and my cousins are afraid to watch, The Exorcism Of Emily Rose. Despite the fact that it's extremely creepy, I enjoyed reading The Dark Beneath The Ice. It's one to produce a scary movie , everyone can actually see what your ideas. But it's another thing to write a If you like scary movies or a book that is scary, then this is the book for you. I had to make sure I read this during the day or whenever there were people around, that's how much it gave me the creeps.  It reminded me of a movie me and my cousins are afraid to watch, The Exorcism Of Emily Rose. Despite the fact that it's extremely creepy, I enjoyed reading The Dark Beneath The Ice. It's one to produce a scary movie , everyone can actually see what your ideas. But it's another thing to write a scary movie with so much detail about paranormal activity, and to have the reader actually visualize everything that's going on. This is what Amelinda Bérubé did, and she did an amazing job.Marianne is the main character. Her parents are in the beginning of a very nasty divorce. While her mother is learning to cope with everything, she drops Marianne off at her aunts house to live temporarily. While at her aunts house, weird/disturbing events start to happen. Objects begin to fly across the room and smash into the wall. She starts hearing loud thumping and screeching noises in her head. She also gets these nightmares where something or someone is holding her under water, trying to drown her. There's one incident where Marianne is in school, and her math teacher calls her up to calculate the problem on the board. While she's up there, she blanks out. When she comes to, the whole class is staring at her. Her teacher says to her "if you didn't want to solve the problem, you should've just said that". The incident catches the eye of one of her classmates the school's emo girl, Rhiannon, Ron for short. Rhiannon's mother is a psychic, and she also reads people. Marianne and Ron begin to talk, and build a relationship. Ron informs Marianne about what really happened that day she went up the board to solve the math problem. When she finds out, Marianne gets even more worried. Marianne ends up getting a reading from Ron's mom. The reading takes a turn for the worse, and that's when things start to unravel really fast.I gave this book 4 starts, due to the fact that in most parts I was confused. There was so much detail that I often thought something other than what I was reading. The author has a poetic style of writing and such intense emotion, you start to feel sorry for Marianne. I honestly felt the ending was a bit rushed, I felt like there were parts missing. I recommend this book if you're into paranormal activity and horror movies.This book is scheduled to be released August 1st 2018.
    more
  • Margo Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a terrific, creepy story that poses many questions, one of which is: can an inner demon cause paranormal activity?While the opening lyrical prose of this story was beautiful, it also left my mind swimming with confusion, but I trusted there was a purpose, which there was, thankfully.THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a fun-filled ghost story that covers all the possibilities - the occult, religion, psychological imbalance, inner demons, and yes, even ghosts. However, if you THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a terrific, creepy story that poses many questions, one of which is: can an inner demon cause paranormal activity?While the opening lyrical prose of this story was beautiful, it also left my mind swimming with confusion, but I trusted there was a purpose, which there was, thankfully.THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a fun-filled ghost story that covers all the possibilities - the occult, religion, psychological imbalance, inner demons, and yes, even ghosts. However, if you don't like scary stories, the f-word, or girl-loves-girl stories, this one might not be for you.If you like gasping aloud while reading, then dive into Amelinda Berube's fabulous debut novel.The scariest element of this story was the examination of inner demons, because as a fully invested reader, you can't help but ask, "What parts of me have I been burying and denying? What would I be capable of if I truly accepted and loved myself? And on the flip-side, what am I capable of if I deny myself the love and acceptance I deserve despite my perceived shortcomings and flaws?"We can't all be perfect ballerinas, but we can be the perfect individual we were created to be.Some of my favorite lines from the book:"It was quiet, but a comfortable quiet, a book-and-a-blanket quiet.""We spent the second night on the beach watching a meteor shower. It was cloudless, moonless, the sky alive and infinite. Looking up into it made gravity seem precarious, like you could lose your grip on the world and tumble into the air."[I received an early copy of this book for free from Sourcebooks Fire in exchange for an honest review. This is no way influenced my opinion of the book.]
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    This is the BEST kind of horror, you guys. In the same way that GET OUT took cultural appropriation and insidious racism and ran with it, this rich novel explores the ways in which women and girls often swallow their own desires and emotions in order to appease those around them. It's both a stunning metaphor and a legitimately terrifying ghost story full of rich prose and striking imagery. The tension builds slowly and realistically, in a way that sucks you in until, all of a sudden, you don't This is the BEST kind of horror, you guys. In the same way that GET OUT took cultural appropriation and insidious racism and ran with it, this rich novel explores the ways in which women and girls often swallow their own desires and emotions in order to appease those around them. It's both a stunning metaphor and a legitimately terrifying ghost story full of rich prose and striking imagery. The tension builds slowly and realistically, in a way that sucks you in until, all of a sudden, you don't know which way is up. Amelinda Berube is a literary talent to be reckoned with.
    more
  • Jess (◕‿◕✿)
    January 1, 1970
    This was so good! RTC
  • Katya Becerra
    January 1, 1970
    31 March: Wow. What a ride. This is how psychological horror should be done. Excellent. Just excellent.Update:I'm so lucky I get to read the ARC of this! This is one of my most anticipated books this year!
  • kar
    January 1, 1970
    e-arc via netgalleycontent warnings: horror, obviously, anxiety, discussions of hallucinationoh wow, okay. this book. the star of this book is marianne. not the horror plot, not the romance, not the ghost in the story. it is marianne, her character development, and how she interacts with the world around her. the horror is interesting and feels like a subtle commentary to so many different in the world around us, but if you're looking for a horror novel that is akin to a horror movie that will k e-arc via netgalleycontent warnings: horror, obviously, anxiety, discussions of hallucinationoh wow, okay. this book. the star of this book is marianne. not the horror plot, not the romance, not the ghost in the story. it is marianne, her character development, and how she interacts with the world around her. the horror is interesting and feels like a subtle commentary to so many different in the world around us, but if you're looking for a horror novel that is akin to a horror movie that will keep you up at nights and give you nightmares, then maybe this book isn't for you. that being said, it WAS undeniably creepy, and honestly, if you put yourself in marianne's shoes.....yeah. you wouldn't want to be experiencing what she did.i know this is pitched as black swan meets paranormal activity, and i'm not sure how i feel about that. yes, there are elements of dance and psychological horrors, and yes, there is a ghost 'villain', but i'm not entire sure if the comp works perfectly. i feel like this is a story that stands on its own without the comp, which i mean, is a good thing. but if you're a hardcore fan of either of those movies and you're looking for something super similar to them, this might not be it. anyways! onto the good stuff! my god, i am in love with marianne. she is such an interesting main character and i love how there are "light" and "dark" sides to her without making her an antagonist as well as a protagonist. i mean, in a way, i suppose you can say she is, but i'd argue that the antagonist in this story is the environment around her. there's just....so much to read between the lines with this story and personally, those are my favourite horror stories. horror is so often done for the sake of being scary, but at its core, horror to me is a genre that serves as a commentary about the things that we fear around us in our society. as in, mundane things but morphed into something else in horror stories as metaphors. and i feel like the dark beneath the ice did exactly that, which i loved.and while marianne is the star of the story, her relationships with other characters were done so beautifully. my heart ached for her as she experiences the constant anxiety of how to act around the people that she loves. as someone who is mentally ill, i can relate to constantly checking myself to not be "too much" for the people around me.and oh my god! the romance! it was such a cute f/f romance thrown into a horror story, which WORKS. the romance doesn't overshadow the story, but it also doesn't feel like a random subplot. it's a subplot that adds a lot to the story, and it was such a cute and healthy relationship that i really enjoyed.overall, this was a worthy read, and despite its horror theme, it felt sort of like a light read to me in the sense that it won't take you long at all to finish it.
    more
  • Jillian
    January 1, 1970
    This was creepy. It was eerie. And it home harder that I thought it could.Things are starting to happen around Marianne. Strange things. Scary things. Things that shouldn’t be possible. She swears it’s not her, but with her blackouts, how can she be sure?The pacing of this book was fantastic. At any point where I felt like Marianne might be able to slow down and catch a break, something else happens to terrorize her. It kept me on my toes and kept me reading. The writing was really well done (I This was creepy. It was eerie. And it home harder that I thought it could.Things are starting to happen around Marianne. Strange things. Scary things. Things that shouldn’t be possible. She swears it’s not her, but with her blackouts, how can she be sure?The pacing of this book was fantastic. At any point where I felt like Marianne might be able to slow down and catch a break, something else happens to terrorize her. It kept me on my toes and kept me reading. The writing was really well done (I got chills!). It was eerie and compelling, some parts dreamlike even. The characters, the relationships, and the writing all had me hooked reading this. I liked the main characters and found it really easy to follow them throughout all the paranormal occurrences. I’ve never understood why characters in thriller/suspense books don’t just tell someone (literally anyone. Parents, friends, teachers, police) what’s happening or try to get help, especially when things are turning deadly and they are clearly out of their depth. But Marianne handles things as rationally as anyone could in this situation; she tries to talk about what is happening to her, gets medical assistance and treatment, and reaches out for help from family and friends. When things seem to be getting worse, she enlists the help of Ron, a classmate who grew up in a psychic household, to figure out what’s going on once and for all. The paranormal occurrences were mixed with psychological tension, bringing the characters and readers to some soul searching. While I thought both paranormal and psychological aspects were great individually and the potential was there to have worked well together, ultimately I didn’t think end meshed as well it could have. Because of that, it made me question the rest of the story and I felt like it fell a bit short.Despite that though, I enjoyed the writing up until the end and I definitely felt it was worth the read. I don’t think I’ve yet read a YA quite like this, and for that I have to recommend it.TL;DR: I flew through this eerie and psychological story, and it kept me guessing until the end. The writing and pacing were so well done and I liked the characters (LGBT rep, ya'll) and the relationships formed, so while I wasn’t completely sold on the ending, the I definitely think storytelling is worth the overall read!**I received this via NetGalley for an honest review.**
    more
  • Heather
    January 1, 1970
    Dark Beneath The Ice follows Marianne after she’s just quit ballet which has taken up her entire life and caused a tremendous amount of stress for her and her family. She starts experiencing strange things, first some objects being moved, and eventually a voice. And she wonders who, or what could be haunting her.I was really excited to start reading this as soon as I got it. It’s described as The Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity and as a former ballerina dancer, and someone who also quite en Dark Beneath The Ice follows Marianne after she’s just quit ballet which has taken up her entire life and caused a tremendous amount of stress for her and her family. She starts experiencing strange things, first some objects being moved, and eventually a voice. And she wonders who, or what could be haunting her.I was really excited to start reading this as soon as I got it. It’s described as The Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity and as a former ballerina dancer, and someone who also quite enjoys horror movies, I thought this would fit me to a T. But, the book just didn’t follow through. Dark Beneath The Ice really is The Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity when you really think about it, but with less thrills and suspense. And I think that’s the reason the book fell flat. It needed a few more jump scares, and also the writing was too “pretty” at times and not creepy enough. Something I really enjoyed was the family dynamic, and the main character. Marianne is a former dancer, but she’s also struggling to share with her friends that she’s into girls. In addition, she’s also dealing with the divorce of her parents, her mom dealing with a potential disorder of some kind, and learning to live with a relative she’s not super close with thanks to her parents’ divorce. I really liked that even in a thriller/horror novel, the main character had real-life issues. Overall, I’m giving this one three stars, mostly because it just wasn’t creepy enough. Also, I wish the author had come back to the psychic reading at the end. *i received this book from the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kaleena ★ Reader Voracious
    January 1, 1970
    My initial thoughts when seeing this blurb was "Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity? Don't mind if I do!" Despite being a paranormal skeptic, I cannot get enough of ghost stories; however, The Dark Beneath the Ice missed the mark for me. Drawn in by the premise of missing time and paranormal activity, these elements are very much there but to me that wasn't the main focus of the story. It is as much of a family drama about the breakdown of a family and the struggles of divorce on a family as it My initial thoughts when seeing this blurb was "Black Swan meets Paranormal Activity? Don't mind if I do!" Despite being a paranormal skeptic, I cannot get enough of ghost stories; however, The Dark Beneath the Ice missed the mark for me. Drawn in by the premise of missing time and paranormal activity, these elements are very much there but to me that wasn't the main focus of the story. It is as much of a family drama about the breakdown of a family and the struggles of divorce on a family as it is a supernatural story. The silence still clings to me. If I close my eyes it's there waiting for me, filling my mouth, heavy as water. Ready to swallow me again. The opening lines captivated me straight away, and it is clear that Bérubé is a talented writer who has a poetic way with words. Unfortunately the initial hook of the book loosened its grip on me and I found the prose almost distracting at times. I found the narrative stilted in a way and slow to get started, full of a lot of back history that I honestly didn't care about.There is something about the writing style that didn't work for me that I am not able to put my finger on. Typically I love a first-person narrative in thrillers/paranormal books, but it just didn't work for me here. Perhaps because of the family drama? Or the fact that the spooky bits I was looking forward to didn't really get started until much later in the book? I think the blurb had me expecting more of a psychological thriller than a family drama with spooky elements. The ending left me a bit unfulfilled, but I did appreciate the LGBT+ rep present in this book. This book just wasn't for me but I think that those who enjoy family centered drama with supernatural elements could enjoy this book.Electronic ARC provided by Sourcebooks Fire via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • LittleDeadRedGoddess
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Netgalley for the copy of this book to read & reviewI loved this novel! It was so well written and it really held my interest. This was marketed as a cross between Paranormal Activity & Black Swan and in my opinion that is a perfect description. Something is terribly wrong with Marianne or perhaps there is something very wrong that is following Marianne and is out to get her.. All Marianne knows is that he is in danger and her life is falling apart. She seems to be losing ti Thank you to Netgalley for the copy of this book to read & reviewI loved this novel! It was so well written and it really held my interest. This was marketed as a cross between Paranormal Activity & Black Swan and in my opinion that is a perfect description. Something is terribly wrong with Marianne or perhaps there is something very wrong that is following Marianne and is out to get her.. All Marianne knows is that he is in danger and her life is falling apart. She seems to be losing time and odd things happen while she is out. I wouldn't say that this was extremely scary but then I did have a few moments where I was creeped out. I feel that Amelinda Bérubé did a fantastic job describing everything that was happening. I could picture the scenes completely. I could picture Aunt Jen's house as well as Marianne's home.I feel like that novel did a wonderful job straddling the line between straight up horror and psychological horror. You could feel how scared Marianne was which is often something that I find is lacking with main characters in horror books. Often there will be ghosts or whatever and the main character is like "Hey, a ghost, will it hurt me or what?" It's like Duh! Yes!!! It is trying to hurt you girl!! Another thing I really loved about this novel was the LBGT representation in this book. There is a very sweet romance between two characters that I really enjoyed.
    more
Write a review