Wrecked
Wrecked is the new standalone novel of deliciously dark, deeply emotional contemporary romance from J.B. Salsbury, the New York Times bestselling author of Split and The Fighting Series.When you can’t trust yourself, how can you ask anyone else to?It’s been months since Aden Colt left the Army, and still the memories haunt him. When he moved into a boat off the California coast, he thought he’d found the perfect place to escape life. Then Sawyer shows up, and turns his simple life upside down. Beautiful and sophisticated, she seems out of place in this laidback beach town. Something is pushing her to experience everything she can—including Aden. But as much as he wants her, starting a relationship with Sawyer puts them both at risk. For Aden, the past doesn’t stay there; it shows up unexpectedly, uncontrollably, and doesn’t care whose life it wrecks.

Wrecked Details

TitleWrecked
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherForever
ISBN1455596361
ISBN-139781455596362
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreWar, Military, Contemporary, Romance, Contemporary Romance, Fiction, New Adult

Wrecked Review

  • AJ
    June 5, 2017
    “Life is beautiful and terrifying … And we deserve to feel it down to our bones.”5 stars!!!LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS BOOK! Raw, dramatic and emotional yet sweet, fun and sexy with a beautifully romantic love story, this book captivated me from start to finish and I could not put it down. The writing is fantastic, the characters are wonderfully developed and the story made my heart race, made me laugh, made me cry, it made me so proud of the characters and their journeys, and it had me melting into a “Life is beautiful and terrifying … And we deserve to feel it down to our bones.”5 stars!!!LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS BOOK! Raw, dramatic and emotional yet sweet, fun and sexy with a beautifully romantic love story, this book captivated me from start to finish and I could not put it down. The writing is fantastic, the characters are wonderfully developed and the story made my heart race, made me laugh, made me cry, it made me so proud of the characters and their journeys, and it had me melting into a puddle of goo on the floor. I loved every moment and it’s definitely going down as a favourite for 2017. Aden Colt was a proud and dedicated soldier on deployment in Afghanistan, but his world was shattered when a devastating betrayal resulted in the deaths of almost his entire unit. He’s back home now, but the horror, guilt and grief have followed him, and he struggles to control his anger, paranoia and the night terrors that continue to haunt him. I know what it feels like to have something living inside that eats away at your sanity. They call it trauma, a deeply distressing experience, but God…it’s so much more. It’s alive and breathing, it eats and rarely sleeps, it’s a monster that demands attention and never ever gives in. Sawyer Forrester is serious, uptight and highly strung. She lives her life according to a series of lists, and struggles to be social and step outside of her rigid boundaries. Her twin sister is terminally ill, and she makes her final request that Sawyer travel to her home in San Diego and pack up her belongings – but she needs to step outside of her own life and pretend to be her wild, vivacious sister while she is there. To take chances and truly experience all that life can be. Powerless to refuse her dying sister, Sawyer accepts. I can’t change who I am, no matter how much I want to. The guilt and the self-hatred is frustrating and I’m so lost in who I am and who I wish I could be that somewhere along the way, I’ve lost my way. It’s on her first day in San Diego that Sawyer meets Aden. She is attracted to him right from the beginning, but she knows that he is way out of her league. He is a gruff and surly fisherman who seems to live his life free and without rules, the kind of man that her sister should be with, not her. He feels similarly about her – there is an immediate attraction but she seems too uptight for him, yet there is something about her that intrigues him, leaving him with a sense of edginess that just won’t go away. Neither of them can stop thinking about each other, and when they see each other again, that spark starts to become something so much more. I don’t want to say too much more about the story because you just need to experience this one. But OMG, I love these two together!!! The romance develops beautifully – it’s well paced, full of chemistry, and feels completely natural. It flows, and I could feel every moment between Aden and Sawyer as they openly admit their attraction to each other and act on it – even though they know that there is a limit on their time together. “I should let you go.” My fingers dig into the soft flesh of her hips going against the words that tumble from my lips.“Or maybe you should hold on.” There are gorgeously sweet moments as they get to know each other, and their passion for each other is sizzling, and I fell in love right alongside them as, against all odds, they fall for each other. “I don’t want to forget you.”He pulls his shirt off over his head, his wide muscular chest on display and tensing with anticipation. “I’ll make sure you never will … I’ll mark your fucking soul … The way you’ve marked mine.” And as beautiful as their romance is, there is so much more to their story. Aden and Sawyer are both damaged by their past experiences, and this book is a journey for both of them as they bring significant change to each other’s lives. Aden encourages Sawyer to step outside of the rigid confines of her life and truly live… He makes me forget all I’m not and all I’m pretending to be. With him I’m someone different, not Celia or Sawyer, but just…me. …and Sawyer provides Aden with the peace that he so desperately craves, making him want to move on from the past and find himself again. I’m drowning in her.In her touch, her effect, the way she looks at me as if she sees past the darkness in my soul to the man I was meant to be. The honorable man I was before. God, how I want to be that man again. But the circumstances of their lives are difficult, and as functional as they are together, there are parts of their lives that make it impossible for them to have a future together. It’s a dramatic, emotional and heartbreaking journey for them both to find their way forward, and I felt every. single. moment. “Nothing about us makes sense except for what I feel when I’m with you.” It’s truly heartwrenching stuff, and I spent the whole book knowing that certain things were going to have to happen, and thinking I was prepared for it. Nope. Not even a little bit. The feels are intense, and I was completely lost in the story as it all unfolded, and God, I loved it!!! It hurt, but it’s so perfect for the story, and I couldn’t have seen it happening any other way. And THEN, there is the most perfect epilogue set years into the future and finishing off the story perfectly, leaving me with a huge grin on my face and tears in my eyes. I can’t gush enough about this book. It’s a truly special read that is wonderfully written, and one that I happily lost myself in. 5 massive stars! Advanced Review Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sabrina
    February 9, 2017
    Brand new book coming from this amazing author!! *squee***PRE ORDER:Amazon: http://amzn.to/2rVQBNdB&N: http://bit.ly/2ke62fyiBooks: http://apple.co/2kzV3OsKobo: http://bit.ly/2kzUoMP
  • Terrie's Just Another Book B*tch
    May 31, 2017
    Just Another Book Bitch's SPOILER FREE Review*Arc provided for honest review I must admit that lately some romance and/ or erotica novels have had me rolling my eyes and skimming pages. The relationships seem forced. The love scene seem cheesy and drawn out. (More for word count and to "out do" something or someone else) .... well. Salsbury has restored my faith!! A true artist when it comes to romance! I'm not a "sweet tooth typical romance girl." (Not that I'm saying this is typical by any Just Another Book Bitch's SPOILER FREE Review*Arc provided for honest review I must admit that lately some romance and/ or erotica novels have had me rolling my eyes and skimming pages. The relationships seem forced. The love scene seem cheesy and drawn out. (More for word count and to "out do" something or someone else) .... well. Salsbury has restored my faith!! A true artist when it comes to romance! I'm not a "sweet tooth typical romance girl." (Not that I'm saying this is typical by any means but you hopefully get what I'm saying) I usually need large crazy twists, some darkness, death!! (Okay maybe not death....all the time *shrugs*) But I will admit. There are a few authors (very few!) that were born to write and their romances melt my black heart! Well, I've officially added Salsbury to that list! She had me swooning like a southern belle on Tara (#PointsForGoneWithTheWindReference).I started this novel just before I left for vacation. I had so much to do and I found myself wondering. What are Sawyer and Aden doing? And how fast can I get back to reading!! (Adulting is hard!) This novel touches on some very serious subjects and make no mistake it did make me cry, but it was SO MUCH MORE than that. J.B. Salsbury hooked me from the first page and if she didn't have me tearing up, I was swooning, and if I wasn't falling deeply in love with these amazing characters I was giggling at how sweet funny and cute they are. Aden and Swayer came to life on the pages and will forever have a place in my heart. Sawyer and her sister, are day and night. While Sawyer is a planner... a list maker... a worrier... her sister is an adventurer, a spitfire...a fly by the seat of your pants kind of person. Everything changes when Sawyer's sister asks for a favor. A huge favor. "In a world where I live in black and white and absolutes, my sister lives in tie-dye and liberations. All answers are right answers and even negative consequences serve a bigger purpose. It's insane. Anarchy. Chaos. Everything that makes my pulse race and my palms sweat."Aden Colt is a marine just trying to stay in the shadows and leave the past as far away from him as his tormented soul will allow. "The call it trauma, a deeply distressing experience, but God... it's so much more. it's alive and breathing, it eats and rarely sleeps, it's a monster that demands attention and never ever gives in. I understand hurting in a way that feels incurable, and no matter how many times people offer to hear it out, to take some of the burden, the idea that anyone would ever really understand the pain is laughable.This is a beautiful standalone novel I would highly recommend. Pre-order is now available and the book goes live July 18th. I suggest pre-ordering for your instant reading pleasure! US Amazon Paperback for beach and poolside bliss!US Amazon eBookUK Amazon Paperback for beach and poolside bliss!UK Amazon eBookCA Amazon Paperback for beach and poolside bliss!CA Amazon eBookFind me Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    May 23, 2017
    ❤❤❤❤    
  • Kelli C ~ Jack Sawyer's Heart
    June 11, 2017
    ARC provided via Net galley! This was my Fave Salsbury work to date! FULL REVIEW soon!
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    June 10, 2017
  • Torie
    June 17, 2017
    Aden is a solider who has PTSD after being in the war. He lost most of his until in a betrayal that haunts him. He is left with survivor's guilt, night terrors and anger issues.Sawyer is always serious and socially awkward. Her twin sister is dying and ask her to travel to San Diego to pick up her belongings. Her sister's goal is to get her step outside of her comfort zone.Sawyer and Aden meet. They are instantly attracted to each other. They both come up with reasons why it won't work but they Aden is a solider who has PTSD after being in the war. He lost most of his until in a betrayal that haunts him. He is left with survivor's guilt, night terrors and anger issues.Sawyer is always serious and socially awkward. Her twin sister is dying and ask her to travel to San Diego to pick up her belongings. Her sister's goal is to get her step outside of her comfort zone.Sawyer and Aden meet. They are instantly attracted to each other. They both come up with reasons why it won't work but they can't stop thinking about each other. Will they get past their issues enough to be together? Could it work with two broken people?This book makes you feel so much. Crying one moment and smiling the next. It has been a long time since a book has made me feel so much.
    more
  • Carol***BeautyandtheBeastlyBooks
    June 27, 2017
    3.5 stars***ARC received in exchange of an honest opinion***This is the first book of J.B. Salsbury I read that isn't part of her Fighting Series and I enjoyed it.I liked the plotline and it was different than other books I've read before. But I feel like something is still missing. There were a couple of things left that I would have liked to see mote of.This story is the kind that is supoosed to move you. But I couldn't relate completely to the characters, at least not as much as I think I was 3.5 stars***ARC received in exchange of an honest opinion***This is the first book of J.B. Salsbury I read that isn't part of her Fighting Series and I enjoyed it.I liked the plotline and it was different than other books I've read before. But I feel like something is still missing. There were a couple of things left that I would have liked to see mote of.This story is the kind that is supoosed to move you. But I couldn't relate completely to the characters, at least not as much as I think I was supposed to. There's no denying you will feel something while you read it, Celia's part in the story is heartbreaking, but I didn't feel the connction between the main characters.I liked reading it though, it's a different side of J.B. Salsbury and I want to see more of it!!
    more
  • Anna's Herding Cats
    June 28, 2017
    Reviewed for herding cats & burning soup. (live 7/18)Amazon: http://amzn.to/2tlIUn9Oh. My. Word. So about 2 pages into Wrecked I was like oh hell. This one is going to make me sob. And...it did. But it also made me laugh so hard it hurt. Swoon a little. And fall completely for Sawyer and Aden. And, okay, maybe Salsbury, too. Wrecked was one heck of a yummy read.The Gist: Sawyer's on a mission. She's gone to pack up a cottage for someone and has been ordered to let loose a little and take som Reviewed for herding cats & burning soup. (live 7/18)Amazon: http://amzn.to/2tlIUn9Oh. My. Word. So about 2 pages into Wrecked I was like oh hell. This one is going to make me sob. And...it did. But it also made me laugh so hard it hurt. Swoon a little. And fall completely for Sawyer and Aden. And, okay, maybe Salsbury, too. Wrecked was one heck of a yummy read.The Gist: Sawyer's on a mission. She's gone to pack up a cottage for someone and has been ordered to let loose a little and take some risks. Something that is not in her wheelhouse. The hunky troubled former soldier who manages the place? Yeah...he lickably tempting even though everything about him screams danger.These two were very interesting. Life has taken them on different paths but they've both found themselves lonely, isolated and uncertain when it comes to their attraction to each other. Sawyer's got some quirks. Her go to mode is 'predictable and safe'. Plan everything, organize compulsively, avoid nature and risk. She's got a good heart, is braver than she knows and I loved seeing her come alive a bit.And Aden. He's a strong man tormented by his past in the military. Plagued with PTSD and guilt he's closed himself away from everyone. He's growly and grumbles yet cares for his elderly neighbor, indulges demanding sea lions and is a protector. They had fantastic chemistry, steamed up the sheets, made me smile and laugh as they pulled each other out of their comfort zones.They mess things up, they get things right, they change each other and give each other a safe place to escape the boxes they've put themselves into. There are hilarious moments and others that left me sobbing as they deal with loss, grief, guilt, and PTSD.Overall, Salsbury impressed me. Emotional, empowering and completely engaging. Wrecked was a fantastic read that kept me up into the wee hours of the night because I *needed* to see these two figure things out and find their forever together.*ex-marine. That was my only issue. They aren't aquatic life. Always capitalize that sucker. Also, ex implies dishonorable discharge.
    more
  • Cindy ~ SnS Reviews
    May 25, 2017
    Two people who are very badly damaged by tragic circumstances meet and their quirks and flaws end up creating a healing bond between them. Sawyer Elizabeth Forrester is a twin. She and her sister Celia may look identical but they couldnt be more different. Sawyer has always lived a safe and conservative life and suffers from a bit of OCD. Celia on the other hand has always been a free spirit – she left home at 18 to see the world and experience all that she could. When the book starts Celia is d Two people who are very badly damaged by tragic circumstances meet and their quirks and flaws end up creating a healing bond between them. Sawyer Elizabeth Forrester is a twin. She and her sister Celia may look identical but they couldnt be more different. Sawyer has always lived a safe and conservative life and suffers from a bit of OCD. Celia on the other hand has always been a free spirit – she left home at 18 to see the world and experience all that she could. When the book starts Celia is dying from brain cancer. On her death bed she asks Sawyer to go San Diego to pretend to be her and collect her things along with make her friend believe she is ok. As Sawyer is of the tightly wound personality this is a huge struggle for her. When she gets to her sister beach cottage and has to seek out the owner for the key she meets a hard drinking surly man who is as far from her type but yet she cant stop thinking about him. Aden Colt is a Marine who led his team on a mission where they were betrayed and everyone but him was killed. He suffers not only from PTSD but also from devastating grief on the loss of his team and friends. He came back to the states and took over running his Uncle's cottages. He lives on his uncles boat and spends most of his days fishing, drunk and having meaningless sex. He had heard about and seen pictures of Celia from his uncle but when he meets Celia (Sawyer) she is nothing like what he's heard about. Even though Sawyer and Aden's have a clash of personalities when they meet they are strangely attracted to each other and spend 2 weeks together until tragedy tears them apart again. This was a story of is love strong enough to heal two people so immersed in their own grief that they weren't really living until they found each other.
    more
  • Maria
    June 26, 2017
    "Received an Advance Reader Copy in exchange for a fair review"2.5. starsThis book was not for me, even with its tortured hero suffering from severe PTSD and other serious issues.I had a hard time accepting the heroine’s reasons for the deceit and I didn’t connect to her as a character, I thought she was a bit spineless.I usually don’t like dual first person POV and I really didn’t like it here, with all that being in and out of the scene simultaneously, the subject of action and the narrator of "Received an Advance Reader Copy in exchange for a fair review"2.5. starsThis book was not for me, even with its tortured hero suffering from severe PTSD and other serious issues.I had a hard time accepting the heroine’s reasons for the deceit and I didn’t connect to her as a character, I thought she was a bit spineless.I usually don’t like dual first person POV and I really didn’t like it here, with all that being in and out of the scene simultaneously, the subject of action and the narrator of it (My lips twitch, I flex my hips…).We were told rather than shown about the hero’s severe traumatic issues. There were allusions to prolonged therapy in the end but there were also suggestions that he might heal with a loving woman.There was a lot of melodrama, clichés and unnecessary dialogue.I didn’t understand why the hero would go watch fireworks in a crowd on the Fourth of July – would it be therapeutical to expose yourself to the trauma triggers?I respect patriotism, but the self-righteous America that we often find in military romance is not my favorite America and it just grates on my nerves.In the end of the book, I found it interesting that the majority of the staff in the hero’s fishing company are ex-military who suffer from the long-term effects of war – I wonder if some of them will have their own stories in the future.I'm grateful to the publisher, Forever (Grand Central Publishing), and NetGalley for providing a free copy
    more
  • The Romance Rebels ~ Julia
    June 12, 2017
    "I'm drowning in her. In her touch, her effect, the way she looks as if she sees past the darkness in my soul to the man I was meant to be." This book..... This damn book..... I don't think I ever gushed over a book as hard as I did for Wrecked. My heart feels like it's bursting out of my chest. From start to finish I was hooked, line and sinker. Wrecked is not an easy read, I was teary eyed for almost the entire length of the book. It was beautifully written, a tragic story of two people wh "I'm drowning in her. In her touch, her effect, the way she looks as if she sees past the darkness in my soul to the man I was meant to be." This book..... This damn book..... I don't think I ever gushed over a book as hard as I did for Wrecked. My heart feels like it's bursting out of my chest. From start to finish I was hooked, line and sinker. Wrecked is not an easy read, I was teary eyed for almost the entire length of the book. It was beautifully written, a tragic story of two people who are lost but not broken, bent but not bowed, find a way to live again. Through each-other. It only takes one second before Aden Colt's life is turned upside down. He was a proud soldier, protecting his country he loves. Now he is back home, living with the guilt, regret, and old memories.Sawyer Forrestor is an outcast. Always in the background, compared to her terminally ill sister. When her sister asks her to pack up her belongings in San Diego, how can she say no? So what does Sawyer do.... pretend to be her adventurous, outgoing sister of course. Live life and have fun no regrets! These two were just perfect for each-other. Aden shows her a whole new world, that allows Sawyer to come out of her shell. He see's the real her, see's that they both are scarred from their past, and they find a way with each-other to make the pain go away.Wrecked was such a tear-jerker, but the ending was bittersweet. This is a story about Love, loss, death, and gut-wrenching. Definitely my new favorite by J.B. Salsbury!
    more
  • Laura
    June 10, 2017
    THIS REVIEW GIVES A LOT OF SPOILERS SO READ AT YOUR PERILI've read four of this authors books in her 'fighting' series and gave mostly 4 stars to them, so I had high hopes for this book but it didn't even seem like the same writer to me.I had problems with the plot device of Sawyer pretending to be her dying twin sister, Celia. It went on too long and it just seemed ridiculous to me that Aden didn't even know the real Celia, so I don't see why she pretended to him for so long that she was her. A THIS REVIEW GIVES A LOT OF SPOILERS SO READ AT YOUR PERILI've read four of this authors books in her 'fighting' series and gave mostly 4 stars to them, so I had high hopes for this book but it didn't even seem like the same writer to me.I had problems with the plot device of Sawyer pretending to be her dying twin sister, Celia. It went on too long and it just seemed ridiculous to me that Aden didn't even know the real Celia, so I don't see why she pretended to him for so long that she was her. Also, Aden's nickname for Sawyer 'freckles' irritated me but I presume the author was using it so he didn't have to keep calling her Celia.I liked the prologue but even though Aden is suffering from PTSD we didn't see him 'getting better' we were told about it, not shown. Also, I wanted Aden to tell Sawyer himself about what had happened to him, not his Uncle. I hate it in stories when a third person tells the secret.I was bored reading this. Celia the twin sister is dying from a brain tumour but she didn't come across as a nice person so I felt no emotion when she eventually died. I couldn't believe Sawyer listened to Aden's Uncle Cal and decided to leave and not tell him who she was. Then it's months later and Cal finds out that Celia is dying so tries to track her down only to find out she's died without him ever having told her he loves her. He goes to her grave and this scene is also unemotional considering he believes his love to be dead.Even the epilogue annoyed me when it's 7 years later. I can never understand it in romance novels when the heroine has known she is pregnant but not told the hero...in this instance, she must have known a long time as she knows she's having twins. It made me roll my eyes.A disappointing read.ARC provided by Netgalley
    more
  • Books and Boys Book Blog
    June 17, 2017
    ***ARC provided by Author in exchange for an honest review ***  Wrecked by J.B. Salsbury  is an emotional standalone of learning to forgive, let go, love and be loved romance!  Two damaged people that feel they are trapped in their own head and close themselves off to the world, but when a dying sister makes a request/demand... who are you to say no? Aden, also known as: Sergeant Psycho, by the locals has been to hell and back.  Trying to adjust to the civilian world again is not an easy task. C ***ARC provided by Author in exchange for an honest review ***  Wrecked by J.B. Salsbury  is an emotional standalone of learning to forgive, let go, love and be loved romance!  Two damaged people that feel they are trapped in their own head and close themselves off to the world, but when a dying sister makes a request/demand... who are you to say no? Aden, also known as: Sergeant Psycho, by the locals has been to hell and back.  Trying to adjust to the civilian world again is not an easy task. Closing himself off and staying away from people is his only hope of peace. Until he runs into a woman who can upend his peace. Sawyer has no choice but to take her dying sisters request and follow through.  So off to California  Sawyer goes to pack up her sisters apartment and pretend to be Cecilia.....live life to the fullest, not worry about every little thing and to step out of her comfort zone. But once there, fate interferes were things get messy. Lies are told, love blooms and secrets are kept.Raw, emotional and sexy! Powerful and entertaining read that I absolutely enjoyed. 4.5 Stars for Wrecked
    more
  • Rebecca
    July 1, 2017
    Oh my goodness, this book was unbelievably incredible. There was so much intensity, so much emotion, I felt it on every page. Sawyer heads to San Diego to pack up her sister's house, when she meets Aden. After losing most of his team in a mission gone bad, Aden keeps to himself on his boat. As the fill-in manager/repairman for his uncle's townhouses, Aden and Sawyer cross paths. They have an instant connection that grows stronger every day they're together. Wrecked had me on the edge of my seat, Oh my goodness, this book was unbelievably incredible. There was so much intensity, so much emotion, I felt it on every page. Sawyer heads to San Diego to pack up her sister's house, when she meets Aden. After losing most of his team in a mission gone bad, Aden keeps to himself on his boat. As the fill-in manager/repairman for his uncle's townhouses, Aden and Sawyer cross paths. They have an instant connection that grows stronger every day they're together. Wrecked had me on the edge of my seat, and also shedding tears. It's definitely a five-star read, and highly recommended.
    more
  • Heather andrews
    June 28, 2017
    Aden is a take charge kind of man, “eff yeah I do.” He kicks the door closed behind me, then presses me back against it. He buries his face into my neck and nips at the sensitive skin. “And you like taking my orders.” I loved how Aden was always teasing Sawyer, “I’m a man, freckles. You say ‘eat meat,’ my head goes to the best possible translation. Don’t blame me, blame my DNA.” I really loved this book, although it had some emotional scenes overall it was so fun to read.
    more
  • Danielle from Short and Sassy
    June 19, 2017
    4.75 starsThis has to be one of the best books I have read in a really long time. I went into it knowing nothing and am so glad I did. I loved every second of it!
  • Amy
    May 31, 2017
    4.5 Damaged Stars!Full review to come.
  • Liz F
    June 17, 2017
    Review copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley.I've not read any of this author before but after seeing this book on NetGalley, and reading the description, I knew I had to give it a shot. I'm so happy I did!I really liked Sawyer, the heroine, and I found her to be super relatable. Throughout the book, she's sort of shown to be meek...or scared of living life? It's tough to explain but I thought she seemed totally reasonable. Hopefully that doesn't say something about ME! LOL! But she doesn Review copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley.I've not read any of this author before but after seeing this book on NetGalley, and reading the description, I knew I had to give it a shot. I'm so happy I did!I really liked Sawyer, the heroine, and I found her to be super relatable. Throughout the book, she's sort of shown to be meek...or scared of living life? It's tough to explain but I thought she seemed totally reasonable. Hopefully that doesn't say something about ME! LOL! But she doesn't have any desire to go skydiving, she uses hand sanitizer, sees no need to eat raw fish, etc. Obviously, I loved her! But Sawyer's twin sister is sick (cancer? brain tumor?) and she has one request for Sawyer: live a little. She asks Sawyer to pretend to be her and wrap up her affairs at her old home in southern California. This has bad idea written all over it but Sawyer will do anything for her sister... and that's how her adventure begins.Aden was an awesome hero. And wow, he's had it rough. He's a former Marine and did his time in Afghanistan. It didn't end well for him as he lost most or all of his squad when they were betrayed by someone who was supposed to be a friend. It was an ugly, brutal battle and he's still having a difficult time dealing with it. Nightmares, paranoia, and some unpredictable mood swings make Aden feel like he isn't fit to deal with people anymore. So he lives on a houseboat and goes fishing to support himself. It kind of sounds like a pretty sweet deal and Aden is thankful that he's able to do it. Like Sawyer, I felt like Aden could have been a real person and he really pulled me into the story.The Sexy Time was pretty hot and fairly plentiful but it wasn't over the top. I loved the relationship between Sawyer and her sister (the description says she's dead at the start of the book but that is not correct). They definitely acted like sisters and it was fun to read Sawyer's sister egging Sawyer on, trying to get her to cut loose a little. I also liked that Sawyer and Aden didn't really like each other at first. Aden was a little abrupt with Sawyer but is was really cute that he liked getting under her skin right off the bat. I love when the hero and heroine pick on each other and this book had plenty of that!I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I would say that I'm a fan of this author now. The book was very well written and perfectly paced. The characters were believable and, at least for me, completely likable. Even though Sawyer pissed me off a couple of times (and so did Aden), I was rooting for them the whole time. I don't recall any mystery or intrigue but there were plenty of laughs. As you may have guessed, there were a lot of tears as well. I cried at least twice while reading this book. So it might not be a bad idea to have a couple tissues on hand... ;). I would recommend this book to any reader who likes a hero and heroine who are very different, where the path to romance is neither straight nor easy.
    more
  • K.
    June 7, 2017
    Heads or Tails....Chance or FateWrecked by J.B. Salsbury was a beautiful story about two damaged souls coming together as one. I laughed, I cried and I swooned. So many emotions while reading this! Sawyer is the shy, stable girl who lives her life in a box. She's got OCD issues and feels that so many things since she was little has been her fault. She takes the easy safe route with everything. Her job, her clothes, her love life...everything. Celia is her identical twin sister who can't seem to Heads or Tails....Chance or FateWrecked by J.B. Salsbury was a beautiful story about two damaged souls coming together as one. I laughed, I cried and I swooned. So many emotions while reading this! Sawyer is the shy, stable girl who lives her life in a box. She's got OCD issues and feels that so many things since she was little has been her fault. She takes the easy safe route with everything. Her job, her clothes, her love life...everything. Celia is her identical twin sister who can't seem to settle down and slow down. She pushes limits, and lives her life too the fullest, a free spirit, until she's saddle with a brain tumor. Celia wants Sawyer to break free from her life and just live. With a request she asks Sawyer to go to San Diego and pack her stuff. To get a taste of something different. Sawyer is hesitant, but agrees to follow her sisters wishes. When Sawyer meets the caretaker/manager of her sisters cottage she's pulled into different directions. He's rude, but strikingly handsome. She sees something in him and wants to know more, but she knows she should stay away. Will Sawyer break free from her chains? Or will she drown in heartbreak? Aden is a former Marine who loves his country and fought to protect them. After a mission goes horribly wrong Aden loses himself to the tragic torment that invades his mind. He screwed up and now he lives with the consequences of that mission. Suffering from PTSD, Aden is scared to be around his family, he flees to help is uncle. Surrounded by the ocean and little contact with people Aden is surviving, but barely. He's drunk and engaging in meaningless sex, but it's better than hurting someone else. When Aden meets Celia, the gorgeous girl his uncle spoke highly of, he's entranced by her. She's different and he wants to know more. Is he dangerous? Will she just be another person in his line of destruction? I'm drowning in her. In her touch, her effect, the way she looks as if she sees past the darkness in my soul to the man I was meant to beI loved how these two seem to be the calm the other needed. Aden was able to help Sawyer break out of her shell. She threw caution away and went with it. Sawyer was the perfect mix for Aden. She calmed his storm, made the nightmares let up. She was an anchor for him. I loved the moments between them, they each had so many scars, but balance each other. I knew that in order to move along in their lives they would need to shed those demons or at least learn to cope. He walks me back a step. "Nothing exists but you.""I don't want to forget you.""I'll make sure you never will. I'll mark your fucking soul. His lips touch the shell of my ear and he whispers, "The way you've marked mine"Their stories are heartbreaking and I found myself crying numerous times. J.B. Salsbury wove a beautiful story that felt real. The characters were so developed and The heartbreak, the loss, the love, the romance....sigh! This is definitely a book you need to read. It will give you the feels and you won't want to put it down. 5 Stars! ARC received for honest review for Books Need TLC
    more
  • Jacqui Norris
    June 11, 2017
    ARC provided by NetGalley for reviewThis book doesn’t deserve 5 stars, it deserves 10! My eyes are puffy and red from crying and I wouldn’t change that. Every once in awhile you will come across a book that will leave you speechless. This is that book. A story that will stay with you. A story of love, sacrifices, and healing. A story of loyalty to the one you love.Aden Colt has some heavy demons to battle. His last tour resulted in his unit being ambushed because of someone he trusted. He lives ARC provided by NetGalley for reviewThis book doesn’t deserve 5 stars, it deserves 10! My eyes are puffy and red from crying and I wouldn’t change that. Every once in awhile you will come across a book that will leave you speechless. This is that book. A story that will stay with you. A story of love, sacrifices, and healing. A story of loyalty to the one you love.Aden Colt has some heavy demons to battle. His last tour resulted in his unit being ambushed because of someone he trusted. He lives with the guilt of his men dying for trusting him. He finds solace in fishing and booze. He thought he was wrecked. His closest friends are a sea lion named Morpheus and Jenkins, a burly and salty sea captain who believes in Aden. Taking over duties of property manager for his uncle’s beach cottages, his life is about to be shaken up by a tenant in the cottages. Someone who will bring him back from the brink and remind him he is important and “loved by a beautifully loyal woman, one who would sacrifice her own happiness to grant a wish to her dying sister”. Sawyer Forrester lives a very controlled, list organizing, hand sanitizer using life. Convinced she killed her grandmother by giving her the flu, she turns inward to make sure she can’t harm anyone else. Everything is in order just like she likes. Except her twin sister Celia. Celia doesn’t have much time left and her last wish is for Sawyer to go back to San Diego, pack up her cottage, and not tell anyone who she is. In other words, Sawyer agrees to become her free spirit twin. To live the life her sister wants her to. To take chances with the flip of a coin. What she finds is a man who makes her do things she would never do. Pushing her boundaries all the while thinking she is someone else. Making her see she is only harming herself. Making her feel completely alive. But will her deception once again harm someone she loves? When the inevitable happens, she must now face what she has lost and may lose.I couldn’t get enough of this story. The emotional energy between these two characters is off the charts. JB Salsbury knows how to write a story that will draw you in and make you feel what each character is feeling. She mixes in threads of humor (I’m married to a slight germaphobe, I know the struggle), strong sexual chemistry, and can bring a reader to the edge before letting them fall. Yes, I may have cried but I wouldn’t change anything about the story of Aden and Sawyer. I don’t know how many times I can thank you JB. But I will once again thank you for writing what I think is one of your best (Fighting to Forget and Rex still hold the top spot for me). You’ve done it again. (End of fangirling)
    more
  • Misty (Red's Romance Review's)
    June 28, 2017
    Aden Colt walked away from the Army after a devastating accident took the lives of soldiers in his unit and with each step he took the survivors guilt was right there alongside of him, constantly rattling him, and taunting him. He needs something to quiet the beast raging inside of him, so he moves onto his uncle's boat, and spends his days numbing his pain with alcohol, fishing, and his nights sharing a bed with nameless, faceless women. Drowning himself in booze numbs the pain, but the beast i Aden Colt walked away from the Army after a devastating accident took the lives of soldiers in his unit and with each step he took the survivors guilt was right there alongside of him, constantly rattling him, and taunting him. He needs something to quiet the beast raging inside of him, so he moves onto his uncle's boat, and spends his days numbing his pain with alcohol, fishing, and his nights sharing a bed with nameless, faceless women. Drowning himself in booze numbs the pain, but the beast is still there lingering, reeking havoc on his soul, and it's turned him into a surly man. But then a beautiful breath of fresh air wanders into his life, and turns things upside down... and suddenly he feels like he has something to look forward to!To say that Sawyer Forrester is wound a little tight is a complete understatement, everything in her life is planned down to the letter on her schedule, and she doesn't do it if it isn't on the list. But then her terminally ill sister throws her for a loop when she asks to her to make an unplanned trip to San Diego to gather her belongings, and while she is there his sister wants her to throw caution to the wind and do something that isn't planned for once. So, Sawyer reluctantly heads to San Diego, and unexpectedly meets a man that rattles her carefully world, in the best possible way!After reading the first paragraph of this book I knew I had discovered something really special, it struck a cord with me right off, and started stirring the emotions. The touching story line grabbed a hold of me & my heart broke a little for these two characters, but little by little they gave me hope that they would be able to overcome their issues and find a little well deserved happiness. And without giving too much away I will say I was really pleased with how the story turned out, but it wasn't without lots of hard fought hurdles along the way. Once again I am left completely in awe of the writing talents of Ms. Salsbury, she completely blew me away with this one, her beautiful story tugged on my heartstrings and left me inspired!! Highly recommend this one, it's definitely one of the best reads I have settled down with this year!!I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • Deanna (A Novel Glimpse)
    June 27, 2017
    Original review: A Novel Glimpse/a>Note: I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.3.5 StarsSawyer's sister is on her death-bed in Phoenix. She requests that Sawyer go to San Diego to pack up her stuff and bring it home. Celia asks that Sawyer pretend to be her so that none of her friends know she's dying. She can't bear them thinking of her wasting away. It's not something that will be hard to do because Sawyer and Celia are identical twins.In Celi Original review: A Novel Glimpse/a>Note: I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.3.5 StarsSawyer's sister is on her death-bed in Phoenix. She requests that Sawyer go to San Diego to pack up her stuff and bring it home. Celia asks that Sawyer pretend to be her so that none of her friends know she's dying. She can't bear them thinking of her wasting away. It's not something that will be hard to do because Sawyer and Celia are identical twins.In Celia's world, Sawyer has to be someone she's not. She has to be more carefree, less rigid. She uses the flip of a coin Celia gave her to help her make decisions. Most of those decisions revolve around a troubled ex-Army soldier she meets. Both Aden and Sawyer have troubles they're trying to escape in each other's arms. Sawyer quickly falls for Aden, but he has no idea who she really is. He doesn't even know her real name.This was my first experience reading a J.B. Salsbury novel. I liked her writing style. It included both Sawyer and Aden's first person perspectives, which was very helpful in understanding what each character was going through.Another thing I liked was the plot. I thought it was fun that Sawyer had to be Celia and let go. I don't think I could have held onto that secret as long as she did, but I understood why she did it. I also liked the PTSD part of the story. Aden's struggles with it were very real and disturbing. I wanted help for him so badly.Which leads to my major problem with Wrecked. I thought the PTSD was a great topic to tackle, but I was disappointed in how it was dealt with at times. I liked how Sawyer "helped" Aden feel comfortable and get through some of his attacks. I did not like how Aden was not pushed to seek treatment. It especially disturbed me after one scene. Sawyer quickly dismissed the problem and ignored what happened. That bothered me. Even in the end, I didn't feel like I got enough resolution when it came to Aden's PTSD. It was severe and I wanted more explanation to how he was able to deal with it.Overall, I enjoyed reading Wrecked, and I'm looking forward to reading more from J.B. Salsbury.
    more
  • Reviews from the Heart (Kimberly Anne)
    June 30, 2017
    Wow!! Just, wow! I loved absolutely everything about this book. Wrecked completely wrecked me! It's heartbreaking, real and one of the most honest stories I can ever remember reading. Have you ever liked a book so much that you worry you won't do it justice in a review? Well, that's how much I loved this book. As I sit here weeks after finishing the book, tears come to my eyes just thinking about Sawyer and Aden's story.Aden is broken. He has witnessed the kind of tragedy and devastation that mo Wow!! Just, wow! I loved absolutely everything about this book. Wrecked completely wrecked me! It's heartbreaking, real and one of the most honest stories I can ever remember reading. Have you ever liked a book so much that you worry you won't do it justice in a review? Well, that's how much I loved this book. As I sit here weeks after finishing the book, tears come to my eyes just thinking about Sawyer and Aden's story.Aden is broken. He has witnessed the kind of tragedy and devastation that most of us only read about in the paper. He's struggling with the guilt that eats away at him everyday. Misplaced guilt that he can't seem to let go of. He's living a life of solitude filled with work, one night stands and alcohol. Every day is just like the last.Sawyer is a serious introvert. She doesn't socialize, she has a list for her lists. She plans, worries and keeps to herself. She also has a twin sister. A twin that is her exact opposite in every way. A twin that wants Sawyer to live and love. She wants her to see all the wonderful things she's missing in life by hiding. I loved Aden and Sawyer. But I really loved Celia, too. She has this never ending love for Sawyer that is beautiful. She is full of hope and believes you should live life to the fullest with no regrets. She is selfless to the end and because of her we get a wonderful story of love, loss, and forgiveness. We should all wish to have a Celia in our lives. I fell deeply in love with these characters in the first chapter and I never looked back. Their story wasn't always easy to read. It's tragic and emotional, but it's real. I loved watching Sawyer and Aden come to life in these pages. We get to see them grow and, in the process, learn to love and forgive. We learn about all the things that make them who they are. And even through pain and suffering we get a absolutely phenomenal, beautifully intense lesson on life and courage.I really can't say enough about this book. I hope that you take a chance and read it. There are tears but there's also laughter. Aden is patient, kind and all sorts of swoony. He's tender under all the tough and his affection for Sawyer shines bright in these pages. ~ Kimberly Anne
    more
  • Rosa Sharon (iScream Books)
    June 28, 2017
    It's all about the T's - twins, trouble, truth, tears and timing... Wrecked is an understatement regarding the state of Aden Colt. He's been to hell and he hasn't come back. Did I mention how much I love reading about broken bad boys? I can't resist them and Aden is one of my favorites. Being inside his head was a very dark place, but being inside his heart made it all better. He thought there was nothing left inside him, but he was wrong. He thought that numbness was the only answer to his pa It's all about the T's - twins, trouble, truth, tears and timing... Wrecked is an understatement regarding the state of Aden Colt. He's been to hell and he hasn't come back. Did I mention how much I love reading about broken bad boys? I can't resist them and Aden is one of my favorites. Being inside his head was a very dark place, but being inside his heart made it all better. He thought there was nothing left inside him, but he was wrong. He thought that numbness was the only answer to his pain, that the demons he fought in his mind could only be silenced by alcohol. But he was wrong. There was something else that brought him comfort and eased his mind. Her... Sawyer wasn't looking for love, she was there to do a job. She made a promise that she intended to keep, even if it killed her, and it just might. Being an OCD germaphobic with an unhealthy attachment to her stain stick made life a scary place for her. But she was determined to loosen up and take some risks. To have some fun in spite of herself getting in her own way most of the time. She would just keep reminding herself of her promise and force herself to live life to the fullest, even if only for a few weeks. It was a struggle at first, but then He happened. He took up so much of her head space that her own problems got pushed to the side. He made her feel things she'd only read about, never believing it was actually possible. He teased her and provoked her and made her try things that she was afraid of, and praised her when she succeeded. He made her wish she didn't have a job to do and that she wasn't leaving. But she was... That's all I'm giving you. The scene is set. Prepare to be Wrecked. J.B. Salsbury is a recently discovered author for me. This is the second book I've read, and now I'm convinced it wasn't just an accident. She is truly talented and knows exactly what her readers need to keep coming back. The line forms here...
    more
  • 2OCC Reviews
    June 22, 2017
    I liked the plot of this. Both characters are having to deal with their past and while one of them has to over come more and the other has to be honest with. It only her self, but with Aden, I was drawn in to that.Aden Colt is Ex military and while he has a horrible past, he slowly overcomes things and with the help of the heroine, you can see how hard he works. The man thing I could feel from him was his struggle when he was in an episode. I liked his playful side too. Sawyer has her own set of I liked the plot of this. Both characters are having to deal with their past and while one of them has to over come more and the other has to be honest with. It only her self, but with Aden, I was drawn in to that.Aden Colt is Ex military and while he has a horrible past, he slowly overcomes things and with the help of the heroine, you can see how hard he works. The man thing I could feel from him was his struggle when he was in an episode. I liked his playful side too. Sawyer has her own set of issues, but I liked seeing her open up and try new things. My favorite was her being on the fishing boat! She had such pride when she was able to do something. Seeing her go from uptight to letting her hair down, was an experience.I liked the plot well enough. There was humor and steam; but there was also deeper underlining too it. It's so hard to describe. Aden has survivors guilt and PTSD, and while his anger shows, that's the one thing you can see and feel deep. I felt this book lacked this author's normal feels, if that makes sense. I wasn't able to connect with the characters like with Split, or fighting for flight and all the other books in that series. It was well written, it just was hard for me, personally, to connect with. So while I liked the plot, the not being able to connect was a big struggle for me.Overall. I did like it. It was a good story, awesome writing skills, and decent characters. It took me the first half to really get into the story but once I did, it was because I really needed to know how it ended so I pushed through. I'm only giving it 3.5 stars because I couldn't connect with the characters and I found some parts lacking. This is all my personal option and maybe I am in a book funk. #2OCCJD
    more
  • Erica
    June 20, 2017
    Whew! I’m Wrecked because I know a book hangover is fast approaching. <3Wrecked by JB Salsbury is a stand-alone contemporary/military romance not part of a series.Thank you NetGalley for the advance copy.Sawyer Forrester’s identical free spirit twin sister Celia has one wish for her before she dies and that is for Sawyer to take a trip to San Diego, pack up her cottage, and while there wants Sawyer to pull the stick out of her ass and the burdens she places on herself and live a little. While Whew! I’m Wrecked because I know a book hangover is fast approaching. <3Wrecked by JB Salsbury is a stand-alone contemporary/military romance not part of a series.Thank you NetGalley for the advance copy.Sawyer Forrester’s identical free spirit twin sister Celia has one wish for her before she dies and that is for Sawyer to take a trip to San Diego, pack up her cottage, and while there wants Sawyer to pull the stick out of her ass and the burdens she places on herself and live a little. While packing up Celia’s things Sawyer runs into Aden Colt, a damaged ex-marine suffering from PTSD. Aden is paranoid, hallucinates, drinks, is bad tempered, and parties far too much. He knows he’s got heavy baggage and the last thing he needs is to drag Sawyer down with him but as much as the both of them try to repel each other the closer they get.I really enjoyed this story. It’s the first book by J.B Salsbury I have read and I am definitely reading more from her. I don’t know how I haven’t discovered her sooner! The plot has lots of drama, angst, emotion, sexy and sweetness that it kept me turning the pages. The characters are deep and likeable which includes the stories fringe characters. Sawyer and Aden both have different types of baggage that weighs them down but they also have wonderful chemistry that is totally natural and not so off the wall like some romance stories have. Reading the description you might already have the plot mostly figured out but believe me it wasn’t as predicable as you might think especially the end. Great book. Sexy as hell cover. Now go read!
    more
  • Pam
    June 28, 2017
    This is the first book written by JB but it will not be my last. The ones on my TBR are getting moved forward.Sawyer finds herself in San Diego pretending to be her dying twin sister. We know Sawyer to be the quiet over thinker who is super cautious and worries about everything. Where Celia is an impulsive risk taker. Not sure she can do it but determined to give her sister her last wish. She was not expecting Aden and the adventures waiting for her. Can she enjoy them and leave with her heart i This is the first book written by JB but it will not be my last. The ones on my TBR are getting moved forward.Sawyer finds herself in San Diego pretending to be her dying twin sister. We know Sawyer to be the quiet over thinker who is super cautious and worries about everything. Where Celia is an impulsive risk taker. Not sure she can do it but determined to give her sister her last wish. She was not expecting Aden and the adventures waiting for her. Can she enjoy them and leave with her heart in tact?Aden is a surviving Special Forces officer who is trying to cope and live in the free world. Not very successful thanks to the demons he carries with him. Keeping to his fishing boat and superintendent duties is enough for him. When he meets Celia something is woken inside him. But is it worth the pain?Will this be the best few weeks of her life or will her fears hold her back? Can this beauty silence the beast within him?This is a very emotional story and JB does a wonderful job of expressing everyone's emotions. Making you feel as you read, pulling you in and needing more. Before you know it you have to stop to dry the tears to read on.*** Advanced copy provided in exchange for an honest review.***
    more
  • LisaMarie
    June 23, 2017
    I am utterly "wrecked"...almost speechless.JB Salsbury throws words in to a page that seem to effortlessly come together to form a story that touches the soul.A unique, dark, disturbing, beautiful, funny, heart-rending story.I laughed and I absolutely cried.I felt in love with these characters...I felt their sadness and their joy.Sawyer feels cursed from a young age and that she will never live up to the standards of living or the life that her identical twin, Celia, has. She's a planner and get I am utterly "wrecked"...almost speechless.JB Salsbury throws words in to a page that seem to effortlessly come together to form a story that touches the soul.A unique, dark, disturbing, beautiful, funny, heart-rending story.I laughed and I absolutely cried.I felt in love with these characters...I felt their sadness and their joy.Sawyer feels cursed from a young age and that she will never live up to the standards of living or the life that her identical twin, Celia, has. She's a planner and gets to play it safe. Aden is anything but safe. He's damaged material; suffers from extreme PTSD. But, he has a good heart.From the moment they meet, they're drawn to each other. Love blooms but threatens to work and die.Sawyer doesn't know if Aden can cope with the secret she keeps from him...This REALLY is such a win and profound story! A definite must read!Thank you Netgalley!
    more
  • CA Borgford
    June 27, 2017
    Wrecked grabbed hold of my heart with its Prologue and never let go. A stunning page turner.Aden Colt and Sawyer Forrester are being crushed from loss. Overcome with guilt. Challenged by those who love them. Each is uncertain of who they are if they aren't solely defined by the choices that have left them feeling wreckedWrecked is powerful. The storyline pulls you in and holds you captive with its beautiful setting and cast of characters. Characters that add a layer of richness not often found i Wrecked grabbed hold of my heart with its Prologue and never let go. A stunning page turner.Aden Colt and Sawyer Forrester are being crushed from loss. Overcome with guilt. Challenged by those who love them. Each is uncertain of who they are if they aren't solely defined by the choices that have left them feeling wreckedWrecked is powerful. The storyline pulls you in and holds you captive with its beautiful setting and cast of characters. Characters that add a layer of richness not often found in fiction. I couldn't help but feel a tidal wave of deep emotions throughout this journey. Sadness and defeat when grief swallowed them whole. Then impassioned and exhilarated in times when duty and obligation we not at the forefront and the waves of love crashed in and washed away the fear.Wrecked delivers everything I want, need, and love in an epic story. Salsbury reaches far above my expectations with this tale of love, loss and being left behind. 6 stars, absolutely recommend.
    more
Write a review