Summer on Firefly Lake (Firefly Lake, #2)
A Firefly Lake NovelSometimes love is better the second time around . . . Mia Gibbs spent her marriage putting her husband's needs before her own. And now, after a painful divorce, she's building a new life for herself and her two daughters back home at Firefly Lake. The last thing she needs is a man to complicate things. But former bad boy turned friend Nick McGuire-and the one kiss they've shared-has turned everything upside down . . . Attorney Nick McGuire wasn't meant to be a family man. His career has always been his focus and after taking time out to help his mother, he's ready to get back to the city . . . until Mia and her daughters arrive at Firefly Lake. Mia is beautiful and intriguing, and it doesn't take long to realize being "just friends" will never be enough. As the summer nights turn colder, Nick will have to choose between the life he's always wanted . . . and the woman he can't live without.

Summer on Firefly Lake (Firefly Lake, #2) Details

TitleSummer on Firefly Lake (Firefly Lake, #2)
Author
FormatMass Market Paperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherForever
ISBN1455569607
ISBN-139781455569601
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreRomance

Summer on Firefly Lake (Firefly Lake, #2) Review

  • DJ Sakata
    July 4, 2017
    My Rating:4.5Favorite Quotes:…the name Mia had answered to for almost seventeen years was all of a sudden wrong. Like the pair of pointy black shoes that pinched, but she’d kept anyway…Luc Simard is so hot he might as well have steam coming out of his ears.“I reminded her, when I mentioned I knew all the beds her shoes have been under.” “Great-aunt Bernice?” Nick’s mouth fell open. Bernice was over eighty, favored fussy floral prints and sensible shoes, and had been widowed as long as he could r My Rating:4.5Favorite Quotes:…the name Mia had answered to for almost seventeen years was all of a sudden wrong. Like the pair of pointy black shoes that pinched, but she’d kept anyway…Luc Simard is so hot he might as well have steam coming out of his ears.“I reminded her, when I mentioned I knew all the beds her shoes have been under.” “Great-aunt Bernice?” Nick’s mouth fell open. Bernice was over eighty, favored fussy floral prints and sensible shoes, and had been widowed as long as he could remember. “You think she’s too old?” Liz poked Nick’s chin with a forefinger and closed his mouth. “We women have needs, and there are lots of lonely and able widowers in this town.”I’ve also heard enough about babies from Sean. Lexie’s great, but you and I don’t have to have one. I like sleep too much.My Review:Ms. Gilroy’s Firefly Lake series had already nestled into my heart with her debut novel of Cottage at Firefly Lake, however, she continues to hone her skills and perfect her craft with her second book, Summer On Firefly Lake. Mia had seemed like an enigma to me in the first book and I wasn’t sure she was trustworthy. My concerns were for naught as while reading Mia’s story, I feared possible rib fracture from the compressions her issues created in my chest. I relished Mia’s transformation as well as her blossoming non-relationship with her “friend” Nick. The storyline was emotive, and busy and eventful across many characters and households, with a smooth storytelling narrative and polished details that produced sharp visuals while also setting the emotional tone. Ms. Gilroy has mad skills and I am an avid fan, eagerly awaiting book three in this series, which I see listed on Goodreads for a December release. The holidays are already looking up.
    more
  • ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰Janeane ✰
    July 17, 2017
    ARC received via Netgalley for an honest reviewFirstly, I want to find myself a hammock by a lake, take my kindle and a cup of tea and just relax after looking at this cover.This is the second book in the Firefly series, and whilst it could be read as a standalone, there are some things that won't make much sense.It took me a while to warm up to Mia in the first book The Cottage at Firefly Lake, however once I did I needed to know more of her story.Newly divorced, single mum, trying to make a go ARC received via Netgalley for an honest reviewFirstly, I want to find myself a hammock by a lake, take my kindle and a cup of tea and just relax after looking at this cover.This is the second book in the Firefly series, and whilst it could be read as a standalone, there are some things that won't make much sense.It took me a while to warm up to Mia in the first book The Cottage at Firefly Lake, however once I did I needed to know more of her story.Newly divorced, single mum, trying to make a go at life on her own for the first time in a long time, I had a lot of respect for her.Nick is the boy she liked as a teen, now the man she knows she shouldn't want, but can't help herself.I love the push/pull between them, the blossoming of their "just friends' non-relationship - that everyone could see was more than just that. They bounced off each other so well. They give each other the kick in the pants they both need to restart their lives.There is quite a bit going on in this book, however none of it seemed over the top. It is full of emotion, fun, laughs and family dramas that we can all relate to in some way.It is winter here, and whilst I was reading this, tucked under a nice warm blanket, I was imagining myself by Firefly Lake.Can't wait for book 3
    more
  • Laura
    July 24, 2017
    ***ARC Provided by Forever via NetGalley***3.5 StarsI enjoyed this book overall. I liked Mia and Nick and I mostly believed their attraction to one another. I definitely bought into the motivation for both of them, and I liked the idea that this was initially a summer romance, with Nick always planning to return to the city.I thought the writing was easy to relate to and flowed well, and the characters were realistic. Unfortunately, I thought the plot of this one was a little uneven. I think the ***ARC Provided by Forever via NetGalley***3.5 StarsI enjoyed this book overall. I liked Mia and Nick and I mostly believed their attraction to one another. I definitely bought into the motivation for both of them, and I liked the idea that this was initially a summer romance, with Nick always planning to return to the city.I thought the writing was easy to relate to and flowed well, and the characters were realistic. Unfortunately, I thought the plot of this one was a little uneven. I think the challenge of a small town romance is the balance of the romance with the other characters in the small town. You have to have the other characters, or it is not a small town romance...but too much time with them and the main story is diluted, which I thought it was a little here. Mia and Nick had a lot going on, a lot to deal with, and a lot to handle. I thought there was not quite enough time in the narrative with them and the resolution to some of the things felt a little fast and I was hoping for a little more depth with some of the story.I do recommend this book, and I enjoyed the writing. I will read other titles by this author.
    more
  • Angy Potter - Collector of Book Boyfriends
    July 12, 2017
    Summer on Firefly Lake is a beautiful story full of romance, family and friends. Just like The Cottage at Firefly Lake, this book is a second chance romance but with a much more beautiful and complex story. This is Mia and Nick’s story, how they get their chance to be together after 20 years. They both are divorced, Mia has two daughters, Nick doesn’t have children and both their partners were unfaithful, so now they are guarded and very hesitant about starting a new relationship. But they are s Summer on Firefly Lake is a beautiful story full of romance, family and friends. Just like The Cottage at Firefly Lake, this book is a second chance romance but with a much more beautiful and complex story. This is Mia and Nick’s story, how they get their chance to be together after 20 years. They both are divorced, Mia has two daughters, Nick doesn’t have children and both their partners were unfaithful, so now they are guarded and very hesitant about starting a new relationship. But they are so attracted to each other, and they are single and Why the heck no? Right? With the mix of Nick’s mother, an amazing old lady who found love at the age of 60, a little girl who wants a family desperately, the birth of Lexie, Charlie and Sean’s baby, this book had me crying and laughing and sighing. I loved every single word of it, every single moment Mia and Nick spent together, and how they found love after 20 years of bad decisions, but what matters is that they found each other and their HEA. I can’t wait for the next book of the series, and despite there’s no information about who will be the main characters, I guess it’ll be about Nick’s sister. Book 1 The Cottage at Firefly LakeBook 3 Back Home at Firefly Lake
    more
  • Beth
    July 12, 2017
    Love this cover, I wanna hang out in that hammock for a while, Such a great read. I will be checking out #1 soon enough, I am new to this series and new to this author. Loved the well developed character, the plot, I wanna move to Firefly Lake, that is what dreams are made of ... such a light hearted quick read for me. Made me wish to know more about this author and her style. I am such a new fan. I guess I should have noted I read it through NetGalley, most important, almost forgot to say that. Love this cover, I wanna hang out in that hammock for a while, Such a great read. I will be checking out #1 soon enough, I am new to this series and new to this author. Loved the well developed character, the plot, I wanna move to Firefly Lake, that is what dreams are made of ... such a light hearted quick read for me. Made me wish to know more about this author and her style. I am such a new fan. I guess I should have noted I read it through NetGalley, most important, almost forgot to say that. thank you to them as well for allowing me the chance to read it. Loved this read!! Well done! ( ;
    more
  • Marlene
    July 28, 2017
    Originally published at Reading RealityFirefly Lake is clearly a lovely place to live. It also seems to be just down the road from Mary McNear’s Butternut Lake, in spirit if not in miles. And both of these little towns seem to be perfect places to find a second chance at love, and a second chance at being sisters.The first book in this series, The Cottage at Firefly Lake, focused on Charlie Gibbs, her teetering relationship with her sister Mia, and her rekindled romance with local resident Sean Originally published at Reading RealityFirefly Lake is clearly a lovely place to live. It also seems to be just down the road from Mary McNear’s Butternut Lake, in spirit if not in miles. And both of these little towns seem to be perfect places to find a second chance at love, and a second chance at being sisters.The first book in this series, The Cottage at Firefly Lake, focused on Charlie Gibbs, her teetering relationship with her sister Mia, and her rekindled romance with local resident Sean Carmichael It was a lovely story, with happy endings almost all around at the end. It also feels like it leads directly into this second book in the series.In this Summer on Firefly Lake the focus shifts from Charlie to her older sister Mia, and Mia’s long-ago crush on Sean’s best friend, the former town bad boy Nick McGuire. Except that Nick has changed from the town rebel to a workaholic lawyer with a failed marriage behind him and a strong desire to leave Firefly Lake again as fast as he can.He just needs to get his mother settled first. And that’s where Mia comes in.Nick is absolutely certain about what his mother should do. Gabrielle McGuire is widowed, 62, and has just survived a bout of cancer. Nick is sure that her big rambling house is just too much for her. And while he may be right, it’s not what Gabrielle wants and moving to a retirement bungalow is not what she’s ready for. It’s also not the only possible solution – it’s just the only that Nick can see in his rather desperate tunnel vision.Nick needs someone to help his mother clean out all the old closets and attics and storage rooms and cabinets and cubby holes at Harbor House that are filled with over a century of family junk. Mia, recently divorced and looking for work, is happy to step in and help. Her daughters will be spending the summer with their dad, her house is currently under renovation, and she needs both a place to stay and the money the job will bring her.And Mia loves Gabrielle almost as much as Nick does. She’d help Gabrielle anyway, so it’s nice to get paid much more than the job is worth for something that would be a labor of love.It also provides a reason for Nick and Mia to spend time together. They are friends now, but once upon a time she was the town princess and he was the local bad boy, and of course they had the teenage hots for each other. Nothing ever came of it, but those feelings are still there, down deep. But at the moment, each of them is convinced that their friendship is too important to risk, that neither of them has the time or inclination for a relationship, and that the other is only interested in being “just friends”. And they’re both certain that they are too damaged to be capable or worthy of being loved.But as the summer goes on, many, many issues, not just between Nick and Mia, but also Gabrielle’s health, Sean and Charlie’s impending baby, and most especially Mia’s relationship with her pre-teen and teenage daughters and the mess that her ex has already made of their lives and wants to make again, change the dynamic.Nick and Mia both agree that all they want is friendship “with benefits”. But the closer they get, the harder it is to keep their hearts behind that line. Even if only one of them is able to admit it.Escape Rating B: At heart, this feels like a story about lessons. And not just lessons in love.Nick needs to learn to let go, which may seem a bit contradictory for the hero of a romance, but really isn’t in his case. Nick is holding onto a whole lot of things that he shouldn’t, as well as trying to hold onto something that he simply can’t.His mother’s health scare reminded him just how fragile life is. He’s not ready to lose her, so he’s trying his level best to wrap her in cotton wool and protect her however he can. But life happens, and bad things happen in it, and there’s no way to protect someone you love from cancer. It takes Nick a lot of the book, along with a lot of help from Mia, to stop arguing with his mother over what he thinks is best and listen to what she really wants.He also needs to let go of his resentment at and anger with his father. Not because the man doesn’t deserve every scrap of opprobrium Nick has in his heart, but because the negativity is hurting Nick way, way more than it could ever hurt his old man. Mia, on the other hand, needs to learn to stand on her own two feet and advocate for what she wants and what she needs, instead of placating the strongest voice in the room – usually her ex-husband.Speaking of Jay, he’s a douchecanoe. And saying that is actually kind of an insult to douchecanoes. He’s not evil, he’s just awful. It’s also ironic but so often true that women see their father’s big flaws (and did her late, unlamented father ever have a ton of them) and say that they won’t marry a man like dad. Then they end up marrying a man just like dad, and he’s just as awful and in just the same ways.Mia couldn’t stand up to her father, and she didn’t stand up to Jay as he cut her down at every turn, tried to erase her personality, was a constant cheater who in the end got one of his many, many side-pieces pregnant and finally divorced Mia to marry her. As I said, Jay is a douchecanoe. And Mia was his doormat, but she isn’t any longer.Mia is way better off without him, and she knows it. But when he threatens her custody of their daughters, both covertly and overtly, Mia has to steel herself for the challenge. Not just because she can never be with the asshat again, but because seeing her cave in to him when they all know he’s a lying, cheating, selfish scumbag is bad for her daughters.It’s terrific watching Mia take charge of her life, even if she does dither a bit about the past at times. She finally learns to go after what she wants. And if Nick is too stuck in the past to see what’s right in front of him, she’ll manage. It will hurt, a lot, but she’ll manage. And that’s just the example he needs to kick him where it hurts enough for him to finally see the light.
    more
  • books are love
    July 25, 2017
    This series keeps getting better. My heart was torn for Nick. He went through so much and was such a great guy. What his dad and ex did to this man’s heart was heartbreaking. Nick was a strong sweet guy. In the past he was rebellious and had guilt hanging over him for it. He still harbored anger over his dad as well. But his mom he loved like the fire of a thousand suns. He only wanted to make sure she was taken care of and sometimes he didn’t always listen. Mia helped him with this. She forced This series keeps getting better. My heart was torn for Nick. He went through so much and was such a great guy. What his dad and ex did to this man’s heart was heartbreaking. Nick was a strong sweet guy. In the past he was rebellious and had guilt hanging over him for it. He still harbored anger over his dad as well. But his mom he loved like the fire of a thousand suns. He only wanted to make sure she was taken care of and sometimes he didn’t always listen. Mia helped him with this. She forced him to see what he was doing. So to see him and his mom mend this part of their relationship was precious for she is a gem of a lady. I also think Kylie helped him see he could be a family guy. And Mia helped him see he could love and be in a relationship. although theirs didn’t start out as one. What made me love him? He was there for his friends and family no matter what. He didn’t judge and was supportive especially with Mia. He grew in this story and learned to be the best of himself he could. Mia had so much going on. She needed to learn who she was and what she wanted. With Nick’s help she grew stronger and learned to stand on her own two feet. He didn’t treat her like a barbie doll but as a strong, capable woman. He also loved her even when he denied it you could tell she hung the moon for him. And he did for her too she was just afraid. Both were of losing their friendship and themselves. Nick didn’t think he was meant to be in a relationship. His wife did a number on him man oh man. Mia though had him starting to see himself as more than he did. He gained insight and confidence. He found himself just as she did with him. they were supportive of each other and helped each other gain footing and perspective. Especially when Mia’s ex flew into the picture they helped each other with friendship and understanding. Watching these two fall in love and all they go through together is a treat.A wonderful story of finding yourself and who you are. Of friendship, family and starting over. Of love and the beauty of letting go and beginning again.
    more
  • Book Lover
    July 30, 2017
    This is the second book in the series. It is set in a small town and is a second chance at finding true love. Mia Gibbs spent her marriage putting her husband's needs before her own and lost sight of who she was and what she wanted from life. Now, after a painful divorce from her cheating, she's building a new life for herself and her two daughters back home at Firefly Lake. She’s near her very pregnant sister, who she’s recently become close to again. She’s gotten a temporary job teaching music This is the second book in the series. It is set in a small town and is a second chance at finding true love. Mia Gibbs spent her marriage putting her husband's needs before her own and lost sight of who she was and what she wanted from life. Now, after a painful divorce from her cheating, she's building a new life for herself and her two daughters back home at Firefly Lake. She’s near her very pregnant sister, who she’s recently become close to again. She’s gotten a temporary job teaching music, her passion, and helping a friend’s mom sort through many generations of clutter. She’s becoming someone she likes and respects again. Nick McGuire is an attorney and friend. He’s divorced from his cheating wife and not looking for a relationship or to remarry. He was a wild child growing up, and then spent his adulthood proving he’s nothing like his dad. Nick knows Mia needs an income now that she’s divorced, so he hires her to help his mom declutter her house as he tries to convince her to sell it and move to a retirement community. Once he accomplishes this, he’s blazing a trail back to his life in New York. The more time they spend together, the harder it is to deny their attraction to each other. One kiss changes everything. They can be friends with benefits while he’s in town and return to friends when he leaves, right?Dual POV is given. Nick did an awful lot of whining and waffling in this story. It got old in a hurry. It took awhile for Mia to admit what she really wanted and to go after it. The story dragged for me in parts and took me a little longer to finish than usual because of it.It’s very obvious to me who the next book is about and the secret that will be exposed. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC provided by the publisher and NetGalley.
    more
  • Lovey Dovey Books
    July 14, 2017
    Originally published on Lovey Dovey BooksReaders are welcomed back to the lively small town of Firefly Lake where the residents find that there's nothing greater than love and family.Mia is rebuilding her life after spending years in a loveless marriage. She's finally gaining true independence for herself, and her darling little girls who are spending the summer with their father and his new family. Nick McGuire is helping her gain some of that independence by hiring her to help his mother organ Originally published on Lovey Dovey BooksReaders are welcomed back to the lively small town of Firefly Lake where the residents find that there's nothing greater than love and family.Mia is rebuilding her life after spending years in a loveless marriage. She's finally gaining true independence for herself, and her darling little girls who are spending the summer with their father and his new family. Nick McGuire is helping her gain some of that independence by hiring her to help his mother organize his childhood home. Never one to mix business with pleasure, Nick tries in vain to keep Mia at arm's length. However, their past and Mia's nurturing disposition entices him to take their friendship to a new level and possibly pave the way for a future together.Summer on Firefly Lake is a small town romance with layers that readers will love digging into. From the drama that Mia's ex-husband brings to town to Mia and Nick's whirlwind relationship, Jen Gilroy fashions this story into the romance to read this summer! It's one of those stories that gives all its special characters a chance at happiness and leaves readers tingling in the aftermath, ready for more.There's no doubt the Firefly Lake series will continue with the small town's sense of nostalgia and romance in the next installment, Back Home at Firefly Lake.*ARC provided in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Myst
    July 21, 2017
    Enjoyed it, I like second chance romances!This is a voluntary review and I do not get paid for this review! My thoughts are my own.
  • Misty (Red's Romance Review's)
    June 29, 2017
    Mia Gibbs is looking at her return to Firefly Lake as a chance for a brand new start, after a devastating divorce her life is in need of a serious reboot, and also some much needed peace. But the moment she is back in town she runs into an old friend, a sexy old friend and he has a favor to ask. A favor that leads to some serious unexpected sparks, and the possibility of a new love life that she hadn't expected to have again.When Mia and her daughters wander into Nick McGuire's solitary life he Mia Gibbs is looking at her return to Firefly Lake as a chance for a brand new start, after a devastating divorce her life is in need of a serious reboot, and also some much needed peace. But the moment she is back in town she runs into an old friend, a sexy old friend and he has a favor to ask. A favor that leads to some serious unexpected sparks, and the possibility of a new love life that she hadn't expected to have again.When Mia and her daughters wander into Nick McGuire's solitary life he starts to think about a life he's never wanted before, a life that involves a family. He's always done well on his own, never thought a wife, children would suit him, so he made the choice to stay unattached. But then Mia comes along, and the sparks start flying, and he finds something he has never had before... love! Question is... will the newly divorced mother be ready for round two?Sweet and touching addition to the Firefly Lake series, it warmed my heart, stirred my emotions and put a smile on my face! This wonderfully crafted story of second chances captured my attention from the first page, and kept me enthralled until the last. These two weren't really looking for love, but fate stepped in and put them right on the path to discovering it, and once they did they weren't so willing to let it go. It was unexpected for them both, and it came with lots of complications, but it also gave them something they both needed, a partner to share their lives with. The chemistry between them was slow developing, kind of like a slow burning fire, which made for a very even paced read, and natural progression. Both characters were well developed, and had very relatable issues to overcome, which I think helped me really connect with them and give them a normal feel. Thoroughly enjoyed this one!If you enjoy small town romance stories with lots of heart than I suggest you make a trip to Firefly Lake, the folks there are sure to treat you to a truly enjoyable literary escape!I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • Meaghan
    July 5, 2017
    Nick and Mia were an interesting pair, and played well off each other. Mia was very relatable and Nick was both hot and understanding, which is quite the sexy pairing. I love Firefly Lake.
  • Angela Amman
    July 31, 2017
    (I received a copy of this novel for consideration for review. All opinions, as always, are my own.) Jen Gilroy's Summer on Firefly Lake is a sometimes sweet and sometimes sultry summer read, and summer reading lends itself to romance, no matter how many dark and stormy titles I add to my pile.Summer on Firefly Lake is the second part of an interwoven, three-part series, but the story functions well as a stand-alone. I never felt lost or unsure about who people were or the role they played in Mi (I received a copy of this novel for consideration for review. All opinions, as always, are my own.) Jen Gilroy's Summer on Firefly Lake is a sometimes sweet and sometimes sultry summer read, and summer reading lends itself to romance, no matter how many dark and stormy titles I add to my pile.Summer on Firefly Lake is the second part of an interwoven, three-part series, but the story functions well as a stand-alone. I never felt lost or unsure about who people were or the role they played in Mia and Nick's lives. Mia Gibbs returns to Firefly Lake after her divorce, a place she visited — but never really loved — as a child. The desire for stability for her children draws Mia there, because her sister Charlie made a life there, and Charlie's the only family Mia has left. Reconnecting with Nick McGuire, a bad boy turned respectable attorney, provides her with a solid friendship as she navigates a potentially lonely summer with her girls visiting their father.Nick McGuire grew up in the small town, but he's only back to help his mother move out of her family home after a health scare. His back-to-New-York countdown ticks loudly in the back of his head, even as he finds himself thinking of Mia as much more than a friend.The attraction between Mia and Nick sizzles, and their mutual hesitation about getting into a relationship feel real. Their dance around their chemistry works without feeling forced, even as you wish they'd communicate some of their hidden worries a little bit more. Watching each of them come to terms with their own worries ups the tension as the reader wonders if they would, indeed, be better off as just friends.Life, as life does, throws complications between them. Nick's mother isn't as eager to move as he might have helped, and a twelve-year old foster child comes into Nick's life when he's least likely to take on any additional responsibilities.Nick, Mia, and the other residents of Firefly Lake embody the kind of people we encounter each day: mostly kind, a little stubborn, and just a touch unsure about where they want to go, even when their hearts are pointing them in the right direction.I'm glad I took a chance on Firefly Lake, and I plan on visiting the other novels in the series (Back Home at Firefly Lake will be available in December, 2017.)
    more
  • Cyndi
    July 24, 2017
    Summer on Firefly Lake is a sweet and wonderful second chance love story. As the second book in Jen Gilroy's Firefly lake series, we met Mia and Nick in her January release of Cottage at Firefly lake. There was always something there between them and I was excited that we'd get their background and to explore a potential future for them. Once again, we get a heartrending story about love, family, and community.In Cottage at Firefly lake I was very intrigued with Mia and her daughters, and the an Summer on Firefly Lake is a sweet and wonderful second chance love story. As the second book in Jen Gilroy's Firefly lake series, we met Mia and Nick in her January release of Cottage at Firefly lake. There was always something there between them and I was excited that we'd get their background and to explore a potential future for them. Once again, we get a heartrending story about love, family, and community.In Cottage at Firefly lake I was very intrigued with Mia and her daughters, and the anguish the was experiencing from her marriage. Like her parents, she seems to have found herself in a marriage filled with deceit and he challenges of shielding her daughters from the hurt and betrayal she feels. There's also the challenge of Nick and the developing feelings between them. Nicks story has it's own set backs in heartache, both marital and from a tragedy far in the past. As he struggles to come to terms with his new reality helping Gabrielle, his mother, and his re-connection with Mia, he faces down his past and works towards self acceptance and forgiveness. Mia really comes out of her shell, she faces down adversity and works hard to move on and stand up for herself. The young woman who played it safe and let social and parental expectations drive her decisions Charlie and Sean now play secondary characters that move the plot forward with an well thought out twist and again, Mia's eldest daughter Naomi and Ty, Seans' son play a part in supporting Mia's new path forward. This is a very enjoyable read where characters spanning three generations all find themselves working on their second and sometimes third chances at love. With the slow burn and friends to lovers tropes added to the mix, Mia and Nick finally get to work towards their happy. 4 stars, and my recommendation for both the book and series.
    more
  • Mandie *Foxylutely Books!*
    July 24, 2017
    3.5 starsThis is the second book in the Firefly Lake series and I would suggest the series is read in order for the best reading experience. Mia Gibbs is recently divorced and has moved back to Firefly Lake where she used to spend her summers in her youth. She is now living near her sister, Charlie again, and feels this is the best environment for her two daughters. It also brings her back in close proximity to former bad boy now respectable attorney, Nick McGuire. Nick is also on the other side 3.5 starsThis is the second book in the Firefly Lake series and I would suggest the series is read in order for the best reading experience. Mia Gibbs is recently divorced and has moved back to Firefly Lake where she used to spend her summers in her youth. She is now living near her sister, Charlie again, and feels this is the best environment for her two daughters. It also brings her back in close proximity to former bad boy now respectable attorney, Nick McGuire. Nick is also on the other side of a divorce after he caught his ex-wife cheating with his boss and resolute not to get involved in a relationship ever again, feeling he has little to offer a woman. When he hires Mia as a house help for his mother, he starts to have yearnings for Mia in ways he had been determined to never give in to again. This was a sweet, gentle small town story. There was a little romance and a touch of hotness thrown in but it wasn’t overloaded. In fact I found it a little slow going looking at it from a romance angle, however from the goings on of a small town there were lots packed in the book. I do think this would be better read after the first book as I found it hard to pick up as a standalone. The history of Nick and Mia were added in mid chapters whereas up to points it was felt there was no history as such between them. At the start there were lots of characters brought in which I feel had I read the first book it would have flowed better for me. Overall though it was a pleasant enough read with a great small town feel. In fact the ambiance and the background were the winning elements of the book for me. I would have liked much more romance and for that to be brought in earlier in the read. Taking all that into consideration this was a 3.5 star read for me. *ARC kindly provided by the publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Paula Ratcliffe
    July 27, 2017
    In this book we follow Mia Gibbs whose recently divorced and is helping Gabrielle McGuire clean out her house getting ready to move atleast that's what Nick and his sisters want when Mia first begins but she learns quickly that Gabrielle isn't about to give up her house. The last thing Mia counted on was Mia falling for Nick. She had one date with Nick when she was a teen, but the date got cut short when Mia walked out on him. Nick never knew why, but he finds out why in this book.Nick McGuire t In this book we follow Mia Gibbs whose recently divorced and is helping Gabrielle McGuire clean out her house getting ready to move atleast that's what Nick and his sisters want when Mia first begins but she learns quickly that Gabrielle isn't about to give up her house. The last thing Mia counted on was Mia falling for Nick. She had one date with Nick when she was a teen, but the date got cut short when Mia walked out on him. Nick never knew why, but he finds out why in this book.Nick McGuire thought he had it all figured out. Being a lawyer not getting attached to any women after his failed marriage to Isobel. What he didn't count on was Mia and the sparks that fire between each other. Nick has convinced himself he's not worth alot when it comes to Mia or anyone else? Also in this book is Kylie a foster kid who has had such a hard time floating from foster care to foster care unless of course she ran away. She ends up at Camp Rainbow but it's not having a great affect on Kylie until she meets Mia and Nick. Kylie connects with Nick on a level deeper than just a stranger. He does what he can to help Kylie but can't help the bond he feels for her and the bond Kylie has for Mia and Mia's kids.This book was fun reading it brough you in and wouldn't let you go no matter how hard you tried. You felt like you were right along with everyone else in Firefly Lake. Seeing Charlie's new baby, watching the characters you met in the first book continue in this book. Definitely a great book up there with Sherryl Woods, and many others. I can't wait for the next one to come out this one definitely had me hooked. I'll be looking for other books by this author!
    more
  • Corrie
    July 27, 2017
    This was a fun, lighthearted read and I truly enjoyed every minute.  Almost like a second chance romance but the second chance is with someone who can really give you the love that you want and need.This novel had some great characters, primary and secondary.  The town is full of history for these two families...roots some would say and that really adds to a story and gives it depth, which I really appreciate.Nick has his flaws but I think that is what makes him perfect.  He just can't quite get This was a fun, lighthearted read and I truly enjoyed every minute.  Almost like a second chance romance but the second chance is with someone who can really give you the love that you want and need.This novel had some great characters, primary and secondary.  The town is full of history for these two families...roots some would say and that really adds to a story and gives it depth, which I really appreciate.Nick has his flaws but I think that is what makes him perfect.  He just can't quite get past all of his heartbreak and the past that has scarred him, making him not recognize what he has to offer and Mia is the perfect woman to pull it out of him.The one thing I appreciated about Mia is that she is an adult woman and she knows what she wants and doesn't act like a typical romance woman who runs from what she wants.  Her honesty and straight-forwardness were fantastic qualities.  Not once was I frustrated with her wondering why she wouldn't just tell Nick how she felt.Another thing I loved about Summer on Firefly Lake were all the kids!  I giggled a little bit about the Facebook picture and all the grief Emma gives Nick, typical kids!  Most endearing was the developing relationship between Kylie and the entire crew!  Summer on Firefly Lake is book two in the Firefly Lake Series.  Even though it is a series, each book is a standalone, but does have characters from book one.  I will definitely be going back for book one now!  Reading time for this was a little over 4 hours, perfect for a quiet afternoon of reading!
    more
  • Tara
    July 24, 2017
    4.5 stars.Like eating stew and dumplings on a cold day in winter, reading the second book in Jen Gilroy's Firefly Lake series left me feeling happy, warm and satisfied.Actually “reading” is probably the wrong way to describe what happened when I opened Summer On Firefly Lake because it felt more like I’d been invited to pull up a chair and sit for a while. Jen's writing is so rich in colour that the place felt like home and the characters like friends.I could use words such as gentle, heartwarmi 4.5 stars.Like eating stew and dumplings on a cold day in winter, reading the second book in Jen Gilroy's Firefly Lake series left me feeling happy, warm and satisfied.Actually “reading” is probably the wrong way to describe what happened when I opened Summer On Firefly Lake because it felt more like I’d been invited to pull up a chair and sit for a while. Jen's writing is so rich in colour that the place felt like home and the characters like friends.I could use words such as gentle, heartwarming, charming and sweet and still not really cover just how lovely this book is. That’s not to say the story is without action and drama, oh no, there’s plenty of that. While the main characters are Mia and Nick, a wonderful supporting cast definitely help throw in a few twists and turns - and they certainly earn their happy ending.As I said, this is book two in the series - and several of the characters from the first book, The Cottage At Firefly Lake, make a welcome reappearance - but it works well as a standalone.And while I might have mentioned a winter stew at the start, this book is perfect whatever the season.I'm already looking forward to book three.Thank you to Jen and her publisher for the ARC (via NetGalley) in return for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Kari
    July 31, 2017
    Summer on Firefly Lake is the second book in the Firefly Lake series. I hadn't read the first book, but I thought this one held up well as a stand alone. The author gave enough background on things that happened in the first book so that I didn't feel like I was missing anything. This is Mia and Nick's story. It was a cute friends to lovers story. Both Mia and Nick had been seriously hurt by love in the past. Mia needed to learn that independence didn't mean you had to give up on love. Nick had Summer on Firefly Lake is the second book in the Firefly Lake series. I hadn't read the first book, but I thought this one held up well as a stand alone. The author gave enough background on things that happened in the first book so that I didn't feel like I was missing anything. This is Mia and Nick's story. It was a cute friends to lovers story. Both Mia and Nick had been seriously hurt by love in the past. Mia needed to learn that independence didn't mean you had to give up on love. Nick had to learn how to open his heart and love without fear of loss. They were sweet together and I did find myself rooting for their HEA. The other relationships in the story were equally as fun to watch. I especially liked the relationship between Nick and Kiley. We are also treated to a secondary romance between Gabrielle, Nick's mom, and a mysterious traveler. I only wish that there was more of them together in the story. It was seriously really adorable. I am hoping that Cat's story is next. I'm really intrigued at her reaction to seeing Luc again. This is the first book by this author. I look forward to reading more form her in the future.
    more
  • Pam
    July 25, 2017
    4.5 Starshttps://ripeforreader.blogspot.com/20...Recently divorced Mia Gibbs has returned to her child hood summer vacation spot firefly lake to build a new life with her two daughters. She spent most of her marriage putting her husbands need before hers so she is now trying to adjust and get her life back on track. She runs into Nick McGuire an old friend from the past and they share one kiss and her world is turned upside down. For Nick his career in law in the city has always been his focus b 4.5 Starshttps://ripeforreader.blogspot.com/20...Recently divorced Mia Gibbs has returned to her child hood summer vacation spot firefly lake to build a new life with her two daughters. She spent most of her marriage putting her husbands need before hers so she is now trying to adjust and get her life back on track. She runs into Nick McGuire an old friend from the past and they share one kiss and her world is turned upside down. For Nick his career in law in the city has always been his focus but when he returns to firefly lake to help his mom who is sick, he runs into an old friend Mia. It does not take him long to realize that being just friends will not be enough. Will Nick be able to choose between his career in the city and the life he always thought he wanted or the girl he cannot live without?I have truly enjoyed the books of this series so far and can't wait to read book 3.Advanced copy provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • RBTL Book Promotions Anna
    July 25, 2017
    What a wonderful, heartfelt and satisfying read!As you all know sweet romances are not generally what I read, but with that said when I read the premise of this story I was intrigued and this made a lovely fresh change from my usual reading, it’s great to get a different genre and break things up a little. This is a really nice, easy to read romantic story with lovely characters who feel very realistic and natural, it was a teensy bit predictable but in a nice cosyish way. While reading Summer a What a wonderful, heartfelt and satisfying read!As you all know sweet romances are not generally what I read, but with that said when I read the premise of this story I was intrigued and this made a lovely fresh change from my usual reading, it’s great to get a different genre and break things up a little. This is a really nice, easy to read romantic story with lovely characters who feel very realistic and natural, it was a teensy bit predictable but in a nice cosyish way. While reading Summer at Firefly Lake, it felt like I was catching up with family & friends. The characters were amazing and relatable. The writing was captivating and vividly descriptive. Can two lost souls find happiness again after their disastrous relationships, you will have to read Jen Gilroy's book to find out!All in all this was an extremely enjoyable read and I am looking forward to reading the other titles in the Firefly Lake Series.
    more
  • Synergy
    July 30, 2017
    Summer on Firefly Lake is a heartwarming contemporary romance with a friends to lovers story. With writing that is fun and uplifting the main characters are revealed as victims of failed relationships because of partners who cheated. Learning to love and trust again are two big hurdles for anyone to overcome, but somehow doing it in the security of a friendship makes that battle a little less daunting. Mia and Nick are perfect together, they just have to learn to communicate. The HEA is a great Summer on Firefly Lake is a heartwarming contemporary romance with a friends to lovers story. With writing that is fun and uplifting the main characters are revealed as victims of failed relationships because of partners who cheated. Learning to love and trust again are two big hurdles for anyone to overcome, but somehow doing it in the security of a friendship makes that battle a little less daunting. Mia and Nick are perfect together, they just have to learn to communicate. The HEA is a great one and the story is one that sure makes you appreciate the journey to falling in love.I received an ARC of this book, from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Regan
    July 23, 2017
    I wasn't very impressed with book 1, but this story was GREAT. I loved how Mia became her own person while still keeping the values she set for herself. The ending wrapped up a bit quickly -- like a rush to finish the story and get on to the next one. But the characters were nicely and fully developed; even the minor ones had their own storylines with individual development.
    more
  • Kate
    June 22, 2017
    It's always a worry to read a sequel to a book you've loved, in case it doesn't live up to the first one. My worries were wiped away by the time I'd reached the end of the first page. This book is a masterclass in how to write a sequel: a perfect balance of existing characters and new ones, to make the story both comfortingly familiar and satisfyingly fresh. Mia and Nick are well-rounded, believable main characters, but Gabrielle stole the book for me - such a moving storyline, that adds extra d It's always a worry to read a sequel to a book you've loved, in case it doesn't live up to the first one. My worries were wiped away by the time I'd reached the end of the first page. This book is a masterclass in how to write a sequel: a perfect balance of existing characters and new ones, to make the story both comfortingly familiar and satisfyingly fresh. Mia and Nick are well-rounded, believable main characters, but Gabrielle stole the book for me - such a moving storyline, that adds extra depth to the book. I thoroughly enjoyed visiting Firefly Lake in the summer, and can't wait to spend Christmas there.
    more
Write a review