The Nearness of You
Hooper's Crossing, New York, 1952. The post-war boom seems a million miles away . . . especially for a sheltered librarian who longs for the adventure and excitement of the big city.New York City. The hustle and bustle. The people and the excitement. It's all Lily Denton dreams about. But ever since her mother died, her overprotective father won't ease up on her. So she spends her days working at the library and her nights hoping life doesn't pass her by . . . until the Fall Festival. As tourists fill the streets, the crisp autumn air sneaks in-as does the thrill of a far more dangerous kind.Some men have a gift for avoiding trouble. Professional photographer Boone Tatum isn't one of them. In fact, that penchant for trouble is exactly what landed Boone in this small town in the middle of nowhere in the first place. Yet the moment he meets beautiful Lily Denton and snaps her photograph, everything changes. Suddenly leaving is the furthest thing from Boone's mind-or his heart.But danger has slipped silently into this sleepy town, marking Lily as its own. And Lily and Boone's dream of a life together is thrown into peril-unless Lily finds the courage to stand up for herself and a man she only just met . . . and can't live without.

The Nearness of You Details

TitleThe Nearness of You
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherGrand Central Publishing
ISBN1455527351
ISBN-139781455527359
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Fiction, Historical, Historical Romance

The Nearness of You Review

  • Crystal
    July 12, 2017
    It has been a really long time since I have had the chance to read a book by Dorothy Garlock. When I started reading , I quickly remembered why I loved her work. This is a wonderful story with characters that quickly became friends. Lily Denton is a smart, strong, young lady that loves her father. She wants to make him proud. She lost her mother at a very young age. She has not had an easy life and she has always dreamt of living in the big city, New York City. Lily always tries to do the "right It has been a really long time since I have had the chance to read a book by Dorothy Garlock. When I started reading , I quickly remembered why I loved her work. This is a wonderful story with characters that quickly became friends. Lily Denton is a smart, strong, young lady that loves her father. She wants to make him proud. She lost her mother at a very young age. She has not had an easy life and she has always dreamt of living in the big city, New York City. Lily always tries to do the "right" thing in life. She truly is the classic "good girl". Boone Tatum is an awesome photographer and has traveled the world to use his talent to tell the latest stories with his camera. He sets out to take a picture and finds himself in some hot water. His punishment is a trip to middle of nowhere, Hooper's Crossing to take pictures of their fall festival. He also has to take a new reporter with him. Clive is thrilled with their adventure to Hooper's Crossing. Boone's goal is to get in, get some pictures, let Clive write a quick piece to with the pictures, and get out and on to the next exciting assignment.It's not long and he finds himself not wanting to leave Hooper's Crossing quite so quickly. Everything changes when Boone meets an incredibly lady by literally bumping into her. He's instantly taken with Lily and sets out get to know her better. I loved watching Boone and Lily get to know each other. They have such a strong instant connection and attraction to each other. Lily takes Boone on a few adventures to assist him with his assignment. There is some drama and suspense included in this wonderful story that had my heart beating faster and my fingers flipping the pages just as quickly as I could. I just could not wait to see how my "new friends" were going to find their way out of the dangerous situation they find themselves in. I don't want to tell you too much because you are going to want to enjoy this fantastic story for your self. If you enjoy a sweet romantic story with friendship, drama, suspense, and family issues all in the perfect amounts then you need to grab this story now! If you are a fan of Dorothy Garlock then you are in for a treat. If you haven't had a chance to read her work for a while, like me, I think you are going to enjoy her story telling talent as much as I did. I was given the opportunity to read this fantabulous story and it has been my great pleasure to share my thoughts with you.
    more
  • Evie
    July 7, 2017
    I fell in love with this book cover and thought the story had to be good so I didn't even bother reading the blurb. I'm pleased to say my gut feeling didn't let me down. The Nearness of You by Dorothy Garlock is the perfect beach read.It's a lighthearted romance with a sprinkle here and there of suspense and action, that keeps the reader turning pages until the end.The story starts in 1937 but it then fast-forwards to 1952, when Lily (the heroine) is all grown up and about to leave town with her I fell in love with this book cover and thought the story had to be good so I didn't even bother reading the blurb. I'm pleased to say my gut feeling didn't let me down. The Nearness of You by Dorothy Garlock is the perfect beach read.It's a lighthearted romance with a sprinkle here and there of suspense and action, that keeps the reader turning pages until the end.The story starts in 1937 but it then fast-forwards to 1952, when Lily (the heroine) is all grown up and about to leave town with her best friend Jane. I think this is my favorite part of the story. I love the dynamic between Jane and Lily. Jane's vivacious and doesn't settle for anything less than it's worth. She dreams big and always wants more.Lily, on the other hand, has big dreams but the guilt of leaving her father behind weighs heavy on her. Reading about two girls leaving town for the big apple, had me turning the pages until Lily changes her mind. I was disappointed with that twist because I was looking forward to seeing what the two of them would do in NYC.Despite that bit of disappointment, I enjoyed the story. The author does a great job of letting the reader see/understand the reasons Lily decides to stay in town. It's not as though she never gets to leave anyway.I do, however, wish that Jane would've had more of an active role given that she's Lily's best friends. Maybe perhaps Jane would've stolen the spotlight from Lily, but I think that the two together would've been a lot more fun to read.The dynamic between the Boone and Clive duo was fantastic. Clive--though not attractive and a pain in the ass as only he can be--is hilarious in his own way. It was nice to see how Boone learns to appreciate Clive for who he is and even admits there might just be a lasting friendship in the making.I have to say that if there's ever a story for Jane in the Big Apple, I will absolutely read it.
    more
  • Barb Klein
    June 21, 2017
    I have been reading Dorothy Garlock’s books for years. Her latest are usually set in the 30’s or 40’s, which is my favorite time to read about. “The Nearness of You” will be published in July, 2017. This novel is set in 1937 in Hooper’s Crossing, Hew York during their famous Harvest Festival. Lily Denton is the overprotective mayor’s daughter and she really wants to get away from this little town. She plans on running away with her friend, Jane, but at the last minute gets cold feet and backs ou I have been reading Dorothy Garlock’s books for years. Her latest are usually set in the 30’s or 40’s, which is my favorite time to read about. “The Nearness of You” will be published in July, 2017. This novel is set in 1937 in Hooper’s Crossing, Hew York during their famous Harvest Festival. Lily Denton is the overprotective mayor’s daughter and she really wants to get away from this little town. She plans on running away with her friend, Jane, but at the last minute gets cold feet and backs out. In the meantime, two small-time crooks are planning to rob the town bank after all the money from the festival ends up there. Life magazine is sending a team of writer and photographer to do a spread on small town festivals. Boone Tatum is a well-traveled photographer who is not happy at being saddled with this hick assignment. As always, in Ms. Garlock’s stories, there is a hint of romance (maybe more than a hint) and a hint of mayhem involving the characters. This book did not fail to provide the story I was expecting. A light novel, but with characteristic twists and turns. Check out her other books too. You will be glad you did.You can read this review on my blog at http://wp.me/p2pjIt-ri. Check out other book reviews at http://imhookedonbooks.wordpress.com.
    more
  • Cheryl
    July 8, 2017
    It has been long overdue since I have read anything from this author. I have not come across a book that I didn't like from this author. After reading this book, I can guarantee you that I won't let that happen again. Dorothy Garlock is in the same arena as Nicholas Sparks. There is so much life infused in the characters and the story.I absolutely loved Lily. She had such a kind heart. You could feel the kindness oozing off the pages of this book. Originally, I feared that Boone would be too muc It has been long overdue since I have read anything from this author. I have not come across a book that I didn't like from this author. After reading this book, I can guarantee you that I won't let that happen again. Dorothy Garlock is in the same arena as Nicholas Sparks. There is so much life infused in the characters and the story.I absolutely loved Lily. She had such a kind heart. You could feel the kindness oozing off the pages of this book. Originally, I feared that Boone would be too much for Lily; yet he was a great surprise. Meeting Lily was the best thing for Boone. It grounded him and made him more personable. Hooper's Crossing is a place that you would not want to leave. The people there are friendly. Well most of them. The town has personality. The Nearness of You is a delightful read that will stick with you long after you have finished the last page!
    more
  • A Book Lover's Emporium Book Blog
    June 22, 2017
    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The story flowed beautifully and was so well written, I couldn’t put it down. It has that easy, classic style which makes the book a winner.It is set in Hooper’s Crossing, America in 1952, but honestly could be set any time and any place. The characters are really well rounded, they felt like friends. I really liked Lily; she is a librarian, quiet and slightly put upon, but with dreams of bigger things; I could really relate to her. The photographer, Boone I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The story flowed beautifully and was so well written, I couldn’t put it down. It has that easy, classic style which makes the book a winner.It is set in Hooper’s Crossing, America in 1952, but honestly could be set any time and any place. The characters are really well rounded, they felt like friends. I really liked Lily; she is a librarian, quiet and slightly put upon, but with dreams of bigger things; I could really relate to her. The photographer, Boone, who is in Hooper’s Crossing to cover the Fall Festival, for Life magazine, is just wonderful. I loved how you got to know him and Lily and how their story weaved together. The secondary characters in the book are brilliant; they fit in perfectly to make this such a great story.I loved the way the author put the story together. It is not overly complicated but paints a wonderful picture of the town, as well as the lives of the people who live there and those who visit and touch the lives of everyone there. This one is a definite must read.
    more
  • Dixie
    July 21, 2017
    Dorothy Garlock at her best. love her.
  • Chelse
    June 24, 2017
    I loved this story. It is beautifully written and I was drawn into the story from the first chapter. This is the first book I have read by Dorothy Garlock and I’m excited to read more by this author.
  • Rene
    June 30, 2017
    3 Teacups/ 2 Handcuffs - unsure how I feel about everyone having a POV- almost quit a few times- not convinced she'd give it up that easily to him either
  • C bond
    June 16, 2017
    netgalleyLoved the book. This is one of the authors I read when I first started reading romance novels years ago.
  • Ionia
    June 30, 2017
    This is a very sweet romance with a bit of a criminal twist. Set in the 1930's the backdrop for this novel is a small, adorable American town. I liked this book right away, as with other Dorothy Garlock novels, this book is all about family connections and friendships aside from the main romance plot and the setting is so well described that you feel like you are right there with the characters. This book has a lot going on in it besides the romance and I was particularly impressed with the way This is a very sweet romance with a bit of a criminal twist. Set in the 1930's the backdrop for this novel is a small, adorable American town. I liked this book right away, as with other Dorothy Garlock novels, this book is all about family connections and friendships aside from the main romance plot and the setting is so well described that you feel like you are right there with the characters. This book has a lot going on in it besides the romance and I was particularly impressed with the way the author described the friendship between Lily and her police officer best friend. The dialogue is good in this book, but for me it was the subtle body language descriptions and the reactions that made the book what it was. It also had a happy ending that was believable, and I like that. This would be a great book for a weekend away, when you are looking for a book you can really get into. This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher, provided through Netgalley. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Angela
    July 10, 2017
    A thoroughly enjoyable book set in the 1930s and 1950s. Dorothy Garlock has a writing style that I can only describe as classical beauty. As the reader you fall into the story and become one with the characters. The main character, Lily, finds herself at a crossroads in life. Should she stay in Hooper's Crossing and stay the librarian or move to NYC with her best friend? As she is making her decision she befriends a Life photographer during the famous fall festival and finds herself falling in l A thoroughly enjoyable book set in the 1930s and 1950s. Dorothy Garlock has a writing style that I can only describe as classical beauty. As the reader you fall into the story and become one with the characters. The main character, Lily, finds herself at a crossroads in life. Should she stay in Hooper's Crossing and stay the librarian or move to NYC with her best friend? As she is making her decision she befriends a Life photographer during the famous fall festival and finds herself falling in love. Will he be the reason she leaves?I have never been disappointed with a Dorothy Garlock book and you make it about a small town librarian and I'm hooked. Whether this is your first Garlock book or your 20th you will not be disappointed.Thank you to NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing for an ARC for my own honest review in return.
    more
  • Page Turners
    July 11, 2017
    This story had everything going on in it. Lily is the daughter of the town mayor that longs for adventures in the big city. Boone is the jaded news photographer uninterested in the small town until he sees Lily. There is romance and suspense thrown together and did I mention the bank robbers? This was a sweet story with a small town feel to it. The romance had a slow but steady build and I was mesmerized from the beginning. I recommend this book to everyone looking for a good, old-fashioned love This story had everything going on in it. Lily is the daughter of the town mayor that longs for adventures in the big city. Boone is the jaded news photographer uninterested in the small town until he sees Lily. There is romance and suspense thrown together and did I mention the bank robbers? This was a sweet story with a small town feel to it. The romance had a slow but steady build and I was mesmerized from the beginning. I recommend this book to everyone looking for a good, old-fashioned love story.
    more
  • Janet Friesner
    July 17, 2017
    Typical Dorothy Garlock. Story of a young woman living in a small town. I guess the part that caught my interest is the fact the heroine was born in 1931. The year I was born. Only difference in the story is it takes place in a small town and I grew up in a big city. Couldn't relate all the way, but it was easy reading. It is a love story.
    more
  • Rhonda
    July 22, 2017
    Always a good readSweet love story from a writer that never disappoints. I always get Dorothy Garlock novels as soon as they come out. Love the time frame set in the past. Sometimes getting a glimpse of history while getting a fantastic story.
  • Stevie Carroll
    July 16, 2017
    To be reviewed on The Good, The Bad, and The Unread.
  • Massanutten Regional Library
    July 17, 2017
    Julia, Central patron, July 2017, 4 stars:I enjoy all of her books.
  • Tiffany Faw
    July 19, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book! The characters were lovable and realistic. I was sad to get to the end of the book!
  • Page Inman
    July 16, 2017
    This is a sweet story about a young woman, who's been sheltered by an overprotective father, discovering what she wants to do with her life and getting the courage to do it
  • Luann Byerly
    July 21, 2017
    I enjoyed this book.
  • Julie
    July 18, 2017
    Fun Read.
  • Evelyn
    July 24, 2017
    Originally reviewed for www.buriedunderromance.com No one writes American period pieces like romance novelist Dorothy Garlock, and THE NEARNESS OF YOU is another hit to add to her list. Set in small town Hooper’s Crossing in 1952, THE NEARNESS of you tells the story of librarian Lily Denton who dreams of escaping her over-protective father and going to New York City with her adventurous best friend Jane. Before she makes the final decision to go, however, she falls for magazine photographer Boon Originally reviewed for www.buriedunderromance.com No one writes American period pieces like romance novelist Dorothy Garlock, and THE NEARNESS OF YOU is another hit to add to her list. Set in small town Hooper’s Crossing in 1952, THE NEARNESS of you tells the story of librarian Lily Denton who dreams of escaping her over-protective father and going to New York City with her adventurous best friend Jane. Before she makes the final decision to go, however, she falls for magazine photographer Boone Tatum who comes to town to cover the annual fall festival. The two find themselves drawn into a mystery and Lily’s plans are put on hold, maybe forever. The characters in this story are so well written that you will feel you know them personally. Lily and Jane could easily be your own best friends, and the support characters and towns people are realistic. The dialog between characters flowed easily and held my interest. I enjoyed the plot. It was not overly complicated, but it contained enough twists and turns to keep me turning the pages. The sweet romance between Lily and Boone progressed at a believable pace, and even though the HEA was predictable, it still left me with a smile on my face. THE NEARNESS OF YOU would make a great Hallmark movie! I voluntarily read an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
    more
  • Donna
    July 28, 2017
    Abby and her friend dream of living in New York City and leaving the little town of Hooper's Crossing, New York in 1952. A big festival is going on in town and a big-time photographer for Life magazine, Boone Tatum, comes to town to do a story. There are also two men who come to town, pretending to be tourists but really are planning a bank robbery. Their lives all collide in this realistic, historical romance about "small town U.S.A." I appreciated the nicely designed characters who could be an Abby and her friend dream of living in New York City and leaving the little town of Hooper's Crossing, New York in 1952. A big festival is going on in town and a big-time photographer for Life magazine, Boone Tatum, comes to town to do a story. There are also two men who come to town, pretending to be tourists but really are planning a bank robbery. Their lives all collide in this realistic, historical romance about "small town U.S.A." I appreciated the nicely designed characters who could be anyone next door! I felt the tender, sweet ambiance of a small town in the 1950's. Dorothy Garlock does an amazing job of creating an engaging story with likable characters. A great addition to historical romance! The Nearness of You by Dorothy Garlock is now available from Grand Central Publishing. An egalley of this book was made available by the publisher in exchange for a honest review.
    more
Write a review