Doctor Aphra
Following her time in the clutches of Darth Vader, Doctor Aphra has barely escaped with her life. If he ever learns of her survival, he'll hunt her to the ends of the galaxy. But for now, it's time for a return to what she does best. With the droids 0-0-0 and BT-1 in tow, she's off in search of rare artifacts from the galactic center to the Outer Rim and everywhere in between. Aphra's got debts to pay after all. Just as long as she can stay one step ahead of the Empire, some Bounty Hunters and just about everyone else in the galaxy! COLLECTING: STAR WARS: DOCTOR APHRA 1-6

Doctor Aphra Details

TitleDoctor Aphra
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 3rd, 2017
PublisherMarvel
ISBN1302906771
ISBN-139781302906771
Number of pages136 pages
Rating
GenreMedia Tie In, Star Wars, Sequential Art, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Superheroes, Marvel, Fiction, Comics, Fantasy, Comic Book, Comix, Graphic Novels Comics

Doctor Aphra Review

  • FanboyBen
    May 28, 2017
    Since Marvel got the rights to produce Star Wars comics back in 2014, we’ve been lucky enough to be inundated with loads of consistently great material: the main “Star Wars” series by Jason Aaron has been reliably excellent for nearly its entire now-30+ issue run, Kieron Gillen’s “Darth Vader” series is to die for, and even the lesser titles (“Chewbacca” and “Kanan,” I’m looking at you), while not inspiring, also haven’t quite managed to qualify for anything reaching truly “god awful” status. Su Since Marvel got the rights to produce Star Wars comics back in 2014, we’ve been lucky enough to be inundated with loads of consistently great material: the main “Star Wars” series by Jason Aaron has been reliably excellent for nearly its entire now-30+ issue run, Kieron Gillen’s “Darth Vader” series is to die for, and even the lesser titles (“Chewbacca” and “Kanan,” I’m looking at you), while not inspiring, also haven’t quite managed to qualify for anything reaching truly “god awful” status. Sure, there’s a certain frustration that comes with Marvel playing things so “safe,” specifically in terms of when they choose to place their comics (so far, none of Marvel’s series have really made the jump to time frames set outside of those in the movies, ala “Knights of the Old Republic” or “Star Wars: Legacy”), but I’d argue that the persistent quality of Marvel’s output makes up for any nagging annoyances in their overall approach.Especially when said approach produces a series as unabashedly AWESOME as Kieron Gillen and Kev Walker’s “Doctor Aphra.” Guys, this series rocks. And that’s not even coming from someone who’s a diehard Aphra fan–while I know of a lot of people have really gravitated to the character since her debut in Gillen’s previous “Darth Vader” series (which this more or less acts as a direct follow-up to), my enthusiasm for her has been more measured. Don’t get me wrong, I think she’s a fun presence, and I think it’s way cool that Marvel is in a place with their Star Wars line where they can create an entire series around one of their wholly original characters…but if I’m being honest, the things that I love about this series aren’t so much based around its protagonist as much as they are with the stuff that surrounds her.For my money, there are three big things that make “Doctor Aphra” among the very best “Star Wars” comics Marvel has produced thus far:1.) The lore: If you’re a Star Wars lore-nut, you need to read this series, because you will absolutely adore it (trust me: I am, and I did, and I do). I won’t spoil anything, except to say that Gillen has a ton of fun filling in the ancient heretofore unfilled blanks of this new Star Wars canon’s history. 2.) Kev Walker’s art: The penciling by Kev Walker takes a little getting used to–at first glance, you’d be forgiven for thinking it almost looks a little cheap or unfinished–but by issue #3, I was entirely on board with his style, particularly in the way that he conveys motion (there’s a panel in the first issue depicting an explosion that ranks, for my money, as one of the most viscerally satisfying moments yet across Marvel’s Star Wars line, and it’s due entirely to the way he frames the characters’ movement).3.) The tone: One of the best things about Gillen’s “Darth Vader” series was the way that it balanced the darker aspects that inevitably came with its titular character with a lighter, almost more playful sensibility. Tonally, the whole thing just felt utterly unique and unlike anything else we’d yet seen in the Star Wars universe, and that same singularity of vision carries over to this series: Gillen has a way of conveying humor AND seriousness simultaneously in a way that somehow never feels too jokey or heavy-handed, and it makes for a reading experience that’s almost never boring.I could go on and on, but really, just take my word for it: if you dig Star Wars, you’re going to dig this series. Aphra’s a great character, but it’s a testament to Gillen and Walker’s skills that if you were to take her out of her own series, you’d still be left with something well worth reading.
    more
  • Matthias Noch
    April 12, 2017
    At first I was very skeptical whether this spin-off series of a new Star Wars character from the SW Darth Vader series would be a good addition to the SW Comic universe, but it is. I really like this story and the excellent illustrations and am really looking forward for the next episodes of this series.
    more
  • Jason
    March 19, 2017
    Let Gilleon write whatever he wants in the Star Wars universe. An excellent follow-up to his amazing Vader series.
  • Teresa
    July 4, 2017
    0 ABYDoctor Aphra is an archaeologist. After faking her death with Darth Vader, she now continues to hunt around the galaxy for rare artifacts that she can sell for a high price. Black Krrsantan still helps her out in hopes of getting what she owes him, but when her Doctorate is disabled by her father, she must comply to his wishes before she can be reinstated. Searching for hints to a lost civilization on Yavin 4 brings the Empire down on them,. but unlocks a great historical mystery.This is on 0 ABYDoctor Aphra is an archaeologist. After faking her death with Darth Vader, she now continues to hunt around the galaxy for rare artifacts that she can sell for a high price. Black Krrsantan still helps her out in hopes of getting what she owes him, but when her Doctorate is disabled by her father, she must comply to his wishes before she can be reinstated. Searching for hints to a lost civilization on Yavin 4 brings the Empire down on them,. but unlocks a great historical mystery.This is one of the best installments to the new canon with a great character. Aphra is a fantastic edition to the story: her character is interestingly developed with her own unique qualities that make her stand out from other characters in the series. The art is superb, as usual, and I cannot wait for the next one!
    more
  • Mary Beth
    June 27, 2017
    Elevating the supporting player of Gillen's Darth Vader to titular-protagonist status is a lot of fun. Aided by Walker's expressive illustrations, Gillen maintains a tricky tone here: the treasure-hunting Aphra is deeply unethical, even ruthless, but she's also witty and clever and all too easy to root for. Her evil droids become a bit tiresome here (as one-note as they are, they work best in small doses), but the conflict with her driven father is interesting, especially in their divergent inte Elevating the supporting player of Gillen's Darth Vader to titular-protagonist status is a lot of fun. Aided by Walker's expressive illustrations, Gillen maintains a tricky tone here: the treasure-hunting Aphra is deeply unethical, even ruthless, but she's also witty and clever and all too easy to root for. Her evil droids become a bit tiresome here (as one-note as they are, they work best in small doses), but the conflict with her driven father is interesting, especially in their divergent interpretations of a lost religious order that haunts them both.
    more
  • Amanda
    June 28, 2017
    I enjoyed the art, but I didn't enjoy the story all that much. Maybe it's because I haven't read the Vader comics that Aphra comes from? I did appreciate the nods to Indiana Jones. The sociopathic Threepio and Artoo seemed forced to me. I liked Aphra's dad. That's all I have to say, I guess. I'd be interested in reading a full length book about this character to give her another chance to grow on me.
    more
  • Ricky Ganci
    June 26, 2017
    Kieron Gillen's vision of the roguish side of the Star Wars universe is at odds with every other Star Wars writer currently working under the purview of the LucasFilm Story Group. Any potential that Aphra has as a serious character in Star Wars is wasted by his need to include Beetee and Triple-Zero cracking wise at the worst times, undercutting any sense of adventure or exploration that she might bring to her corner of the Star Wars universe.
    more
  • Koolwijk
    July 2, 2017
    Man i love Kieron Gillen. Writer of the wonderfull The Wicked and the divine and Marvel's first Darth Vader run. With Aphra he creates a wonderfull new character in Star Wars. A female Indiana Jones raiding tombs. Building lore. One of the best Star Wars comics out there.
    more
  • J.
    June 23, 2017
    Not quite as pitch perfect as Guillen's DARTH VADER series but still admirably engaging. Aphra is a character who is interesting enough in her own right and it keeps the series afloat in its entry volume. Hopefully it maintains its own momentum going forward.
    more
  • Dave
    June 22, 2017
    The best of the Star Wars stuff I've read. Genuinely funny, and the action is mostly good. Got a little bogged down for a bit, but is usually stays pretty light and fun. (Read as single issues as published)
  • Kyle Austin
    July 1, 2017
    Dr. Aphra is the queer Star Wars anti-hero we all deserve. This series captures everything that makes Star Wars great, from family to humor to universe expansion. Triple Zero is a particular gem amongst many in this volume, and I can't wait to see what Aphra gets up to next.
    more
  • Adam
    July 4, 2017
    It's like Indiana Jones in a Star Wars setting. I really liked it.
  • Nick Werner
    July 4, 2017
    Terrible typos in two spots: Prologue was duplicated and they could not decide if it was "Arc" or "Ark" until the second issue.
  • Scott
    July 3, 2017
    Already one of my favoritesAs an old Star Wars fan, I was always an original character lover, but Aphra like Ashoka is a new star!
  • Heather
    July 2, 2017
    I wasn't really that interested in Aphra as a character, but I have to say this series was really interesting and looking forward to seeing what happens next!
Write a review