Venom
Venom is back in his classic form, and deadlier than ever! The symbiote you know and love has returned to New York City. No more "Agent of the Cosmos." No more Lethal Protector. It's time for a new Venom, and it's great to be bad. But now that Venom is back on Earth and back in the gutter, just who has bonded with him - and turned him back into the slathering, fanged monster?Collecting: Venom 1-6

Venom Details

TitleVenom
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherMarvel
ISBN130290602X
ISBN-139781302906023
Number of pages136 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Superheroes, Marvel, Graphic Novels Comics

Venom Review

  • Sam Quixote
    July 27, 2017
    I couldn’t care less as I’m not a fan of either Venom or Eddie Brock but it should be noted that the cover of this book is misleading. Eddie, the most infamous host of the Symbiote, is reunited with Venom, they’re saying “We’re Back!” and the subtitle is “Homecoming”, so Eddie Brock/Venom fans (there must be some) should reasonably expect this to be about the pair - Venom being just one example of Marvel probably deciding to go back to the classic incarnation of the character after seeing how re I couldn’t care less as I’m not a fan of either Venom or Eddie Brock but it should be noted that the cover of this book is misleading. Eddie, the most infamous host of the Symbiote, is reunited with Venom, they’re saying “We’re Back!” and the subtitle is “Homecoming”, so Eddie Brock/Venom fans (there must be some) should reasonably expect this to be about the pair - Venom being just one example of Marvel probably deciding to go back to the classic incarnation of the character after seeing how returning to the status quo in Rebirth made DC a pile of cash. Except it’s not really about Eddie and Venom - they’re actually only together for a handful of pages at the end. Most of this one is about some nobody piece of trash called Lee Price who stumbles across the Symbiote and gets embroiled in some convoluted and tedious blackmail scheme with Black Cat, Scorpion and the Feds. It doesn’t help either that the comic is drawn by one of the worst artists working today, Gerardo Sandoval, whose busy ‘90s pencils make everything look flat, jagged and ugly. He’s done worse elsewhere (his work on the Secret Wars tie-in, Age of Apocalypse, is heinous) but it’s still really bad here. I suppose it’s interesting that after all the years of nonsense this character’s gone through as Agent Venom, a Guardian of the Galaxy and his latest role as “Space Knight”, the Symbiote is now more inclined towards “good” hosts and wants to be heroic rather than villainous - Venom actually has some character development for a change! - but it’s small beer in a book that’s mostly dreary reading. Venom’s just another decent supporting player/antagonist who can’t carry a solo title. Maybe there’s a good Venom comic out there (probably not) but this ain’t it.
    more
  • Garrett
    June 4, 2017
    Without a doubt the best Venom comic I've read so far. The symbiote is actually given characterization in this comic, and is really more of the main character than the new host is. I enjoyed the power conflict of the new host (Lee Price) and the symbiote, and I appreciated the art as well. The ending however was disappointing, as Eddie Brock is coming back ( I would have preferred the new character to remain as Venom, but who knows). Either way, it's a big improvement over earlier Venom titles.
    more
  • Chris Lemmerman
    June 11, 2017
    [Read as single issues]After a good few years of highly successful stories featuring Flash Thompson as Agent Venom, first on Earth and then as a member of the Guardians Of The Galaxy and his own series as a Space Knight, the Powers That Be have decided that Venom will now be back on Earth and rebond with Eddie Brock. But first, we get a six issue story featuring one of the least likeable characters I've ever met, Lee Price.Lee is a damaged man; after spending time as an Army Ranger and suffering [Read as single issues]After a good few years of highly successful stories featuring Flash Thompson as Agent Venom, first on Earth and then as a member of the Guardians Of The Galaxy and his own series as a Space Knight, the Powers That Be have decided that Venom will now be back on Earth and rebond with Eddie Brock. But first, we get a six issue story featuring one of the least likeable characters I've ever met, Lee Price.Lee is a damaged man; after spending time as an Army Ranger and suffering injuries that make 'normal' jobs difficult now that he has returned from service, he finds himself both part of the Black Cat's criminal underworld and the newest host of the Venom symbiote. In an interesting twist, Lee is the one exerting his influence over the symbiote, much to the symbiote's chagrin. The transition from Space Knight to this series is shaky (even with a bridging story in the recently released Venom #150), but at least the symbiote's new state of mind as a hero remains intact, even if Lee does his darnedest to break it.The story is up and down for the most part, and the eventual reunion of Eddie Brock and Venom is a means to an end, but it's not particularly bad. The artwork is the real saving grace, as Gerardo Sandoval continues on from Space Knight as the ongoing artist here, his dark, sketchy, anime-like proportions a perfect fit for Venom's world.Not the best, but a decent story that moves the Venom symbiote away from one familiar status quo to another. I do wonder if writer Mike Costa had more plans for Lee Price, but for now, I guess we'll never know.
    more
  • Drown Hollum
    July 30, 2017
    At first glance, Costa's Venom story reads like Marvel's take on The Darkness. It's all very gritty, and filled with plenty of crime and killing, while remaining fundamentally connected to Spider-Man's world and rogues gallery. It's a fun read, with some keen dialogue and lots of badass Venom moments. Sandoval's art is awesome, and perfectly suited to the Venom mythos, so if nothing else, it's glorious gritty eye-candy. All of this being a lead in to the book's big swerve in its last issue is br At first glance, Costa's Venom story reads like Marvel's take on The Darkness. It's all very gritty, and filled with plenty of crime and killing, while remaining fundamentally connected to Spider-Man's world and rogues gallery. It's a fun read, with some keen dialogue and lots of badass Venom moments. Sandoval's art is awesome, and perfectly suited to the Venom mythos, so if nothing else, it's glorious gritty eye-candy. All of this being a lead in to the book's big swerve in its last issue is brilliant though, and we appear to be on board for a serious exploration of the symbiote. Narratively, the big surprise in the back is awesome and some great writing, but that surprise is spoiled by the paperback's cover... so yeah, that's a weird misstep. Still I really dig where Costa is going, and I'm excited to read more Venom.
    more
  • Michael Kikle
    June 16, 2017
    So dull, and so mis-advertised. Had nothing to do with Eddie until the end of the next-to-last issue, and even that wasn't enough to justify putting the guy on the cover of this volume. Glad venom is looking like his old 90s self, but this book doesn't deserve him. One of the best parts of the book is that we experience how the symbiote alien costume wants to be melded with a hero like Flash again. I love the persona that constantly changes, for the suit. Good writing on that part, but not much So dull, and so mis-advertised. Had nothing to do with Eddie until the end of the next-to-last issue, and even that wasn't enough to justify putting the guy on the cover of this volume. Glad venom is looking like his old 90s self, but this book doesn't deserve him. One of the best parts of the book is that we experience how the symbiote alien costume wants to be melded with a hero like Flash again. I love the persona that constantly changes, for the suit. Good writing on that part, but not much of a plot, sadly.
    more
  • Jose Tinoco
    June 25, 2017
    Aunque echo mucho de menos a Flash, confío en que el nuevo host vaya a estar a la altura. Ya parece un personaje redondo y solo tenemos sus orígenes. Veremos cómo se va desarrollando estos volúmenes. De momento, buen inicio.
  • Cagne
    April 30, 2017
    I liked the ex military dark (eventually untapped) angle on this, and the Jiminy cricket symbiote dynamic.
Write a review