Star Wars Vol. 5
With one member of the rebel crew captured and imprisoned, we turn once more to the journals of Ben Kenobi and a legendary adventure with Jedi Master...Yoda! COLLECTING: STAR WARS 26-30, Annual #2

Star Wars Vol. 5 Details

TitleStar Wars Vol. 5
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherMarvel Comics
ISBN1302902652
ISBN-139781302902650
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreMedia Tie In, Star Wars, Sequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Graphic Novels Comics

Star Wars Vol. 5 Review

  • FanboyBen
    June 1, 2017
    Ooph. For my money, this is the weakest story yet–not just from Aaron's "Star Wars" run, but in all of Marvel's Star Wars output since acquiring the license in 2014. I'm usually a big fan of both Aaron's writing and Salvador Larroca's style, so the thought of the two of them pairing up for an arc–let alone an arc focused specifically on freaking YODA–really had me jazzed. Color me surprised and disappointed that neither writer nor artist seemed to operating at their full potential here.I could g Ooph. For my money, this is the weakest story yet–not just from Aaron's "Star Wars" run, but in all of Marvel's Star Wars output since acquiring the license in 2014. I'm usually a big fan of both Aaron's writing and Salvador Larroca's style, so the thought of the two of them pairing up for an arc–let alone an arc focused specifically on freaking YODA–really had me jazzed. Color me surprised and disappointed that neither writer nor artist seemed to operating at their full potential here.I could go on and on about all of the things that didn't work here, whether it be the plot itself–which proves definitively that there is such thing as a Star Wars story that is TOO out there–Larroca's linework, which seemed oddly unfinished here, or even just the way the arc sits rather uncomfortably alongside the broader Star Wars lore (no spoilers, but if you've read, you know of what I speak). In fairness, there were moments here and there that worked, particularly early on, when it felt like Aaron had a better grasp of the type of tale he wanted to spin. But the longer this arc dragged on, the more eager I was for it to wrap up. And now, mercifully, it has.
    more
  • Anthony
    April 8, 2017
    Part of me thinks the main Star Wars ongoing is losing a little steam. I think that shows here by the fact that a lot of this arc is told through flashbacks. However, when those flashbacks involve Yoda in a story that is set before The Phantom Menace, who are we to complain?It's good and I also like how Jason Aaron limited the amount Yoda uses his lightsaber in his story. It's a small irk of mine, but I always prefer Yoda when he's the old wise zen type Jedi, and not the Jedi charging in with hi Part of me thinks the main Star Wars ongoing is losing a little steam. I think that shows here by the fact that a lot of this arc is told through flashbacks. However, when those flashbacks involve Yoda in a story that is set before The Phantom Menace, who are we to complain?It's good and I also like how Jason Aaron limited the amount Yoda uses his lightsaber in his story. It's a small irk of mine, but I always prefer Yoda when he's the old wise zen type Jedi, and not the Jedi charging in with his saber, and that's more of a last resort for when he's taking on Sith Lords.The artwork is usual Larocca. It's fine but you can tell some of it has been straight traced from movie stills.Still enjoying this book but it needs some kind of shake up. Maybe the crossover story with Doctor Aphra will help, or maybe we should jump ahead in time a little?
    more
  • Craig
    July 21, 2017
    Marvel authors continue to write Star Wars like it is a superhero book. That is, I suppose, an unfair statement but it often feels true to me. Despite their early craziness (I hated Dark Empire, though I suppose that is a dangerous opinion to have), I feel like Dark Horse just *got* Star Wars slightly better than Marvel across the board. I haven’t enjoyed a single Marvel Star Wars book as much as something like Dark Times. (And I am not an original EU purist by any means. For the most part, I fe Marvel authors continue to write Star Wars like it is a superhero book. That is, I suppose, an unfair statement but it often feels true to me. Despite their early craziness (I hated Dark Empire, though I suppose that is a dangerous opinion to have), I feel like Dark Horse just *got* Star Wars slightly better than Marvel across the board. I haven’t enjoyed a single Marvel Star Wars book as much as something like Dark Times. (And I am not an original EU purist by any means. For the most part, I feel that the new canon novels have been really good and much better than what was happening at the end of the old expanded universe, better than anything after new jedi order, really…)I feel like many of the authors are making progress (As for the art, I haven’t seen a single volume that has wowed me at all. Take a look at Doug Wheatley’s Star Wars art and none of Marvel’s artists are even close to that level…) but then there’s a volume like this. Listen, it isn’t a bad story. It’s just one that has been done before and is far too far on the fantasy side for me. Everyone is going to have their own line where suspension of disbelief stops working in a fictional universe. Living rock and talking mountains are just past that line for me.Star Wars is not an easy series to write. One has to walk a fine line between fantasy and science fiction. For me, personally, most of the Marvel books have just failed to walk that line. I know that they really work for others so your mileage may definitely vary. For what it’s worth, I liked the Annual story better than the main issues.
    more
  • Logan Aube
    July 11, 2017
    My least-favorite arc in this series. I'm going to do a lot of complaining here.- Pacing is slow, slow, slow.- Many of the faces are clearly traced, a la Greg Land. Some of the shots of Yoda's face literally look like screenshots from the films were Photoshopped onto the panel.- I just can't bring myself to care about any of the characters here besides Yoda himself.- There's no clear explanation of the nature of "the stonepower", and what little information is given is inconsistent.- In issue #3 My least-favorite arc in this series. I'm going to do a lot of complaining here.- Pacing is slow, slow, slow.- Many of the faces are clearly traced, a la Greg Land. Some of the shots of Yoda's face literally look like screenshots from the films were Photoshopped onto the panel.- I just can't bring myself to care about any of the characters here besides Yoda himself.- There's no clear explanation of the nature of "the stonepower", and what little information is given is inconsistent.- In issue #30, right before he reaches the end of Yoda's story in Ben's journal, Luke abruptly drops everything he's doing and decides to visit the planet described in the story. Nothing about this makes sense. He hasn't even finished reading the story yet, doesn't know what he's gonna find there or even what he's looking for. He has no reason to be there. And, oh yeah, isn't he supposed to be looking for Artoo?!? Ugh.- In the closing pages, we see Yoda in "present-day" sensing Luke's growth in the Force and anticipating his arrival. Not exactly consistent with Yoda's reaction to meeting Luke in THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK, where he angrily insists that Luke is too old, fearful, and reckless to begin Jedi training.
    more
  • Teresa
    July 21, 2017
    This is the fifth compiled volume of the Marvel Star Wars series of comics which contains issues 26-30 as well as Annual #2. "Yoda's Secret War" begins in the present time of the series with C-3PO having been captured by a special squad of stormtroopers and Luke following R2, who refuses to leave his droid friend behind. In his travels, Luke reads from Obi-Wan's journal and learns of a mission Yoda once went on to save a planet. Luke feels drawn to the same planet and sees the remains from what This is the fifth compiled volume of the Marvel Star Wars series of comics which contains issues 26-30 as well as Annual #2. "Yoda's Secret War" begins in the present time of the series with C-3PO having been captured by a special squad of stormtroopers and Luke following R2, who refuses to leave his droid friend behind. In his travels, Luke reads from Obi-Wan's journal and learns of a mission Yoda once went on to save a planet. Luke feels drawn to the same planet and sees the remains from what Yoda left many years earlier. It is a Force-heavy planet with great stone giants that are like mountains, and the people of the planet fighting each other over Force and terrain. "Annual #2" features a bystander, a female engineer, who ends of helping Leia from a tight spot, despite her not really liking Leia. Overall, the art is splendid in this compilation, but the story is lacking. The "Annual #2" was an interesting addition to Leia's adventures, but the arc with Yoda was boring and seemed like a tangent in comparison to the new Marvel Star Wars as a story, which was disappointing. I am hoping the next installment will continue with the main story, rather than a past event that was very lackluster. 
    more
  • Emily S
    June 7, 2017
    (Read individual issues)I've enjoyed the entire run of STAR WARS; it has been a shining light in the new canon. I was a long time EU fan as well, and this series gave me a lot of hope for the new content.That said, Yoda's adventure here was pretty boring to read with very little progress. It could have been an issue or two, or side story, but it just kept going. When you start a volume going into R2 trying to save C3PO and end up on this strange side quest, one gets pretty disappointed.
    more
  • Bryan
    May 16, 2017
    -- read as single issues #26-#30 --This was a significantly better plot arc than what Aaron had going on in the volumes before it. In our third look into the journals of Ben Kenobi we are witness to Yoda's journey to a force-sensitive planet. I thought it was well done, and didn't feel forced at all. I hope the next six issues continue along this path of quality.
    more
  • Ricky Ganci
    June 26, 2017
    We're starting to drift away form the straightforward, space opera storytelling of the first couple of years--what I appreciated most about this was how Aaron was able to tell a Yoda story to Luke without betraying the fact that Luke doesn't know who Yoda is at the beginning of The Empire Strikes Back.Still, I'd love to see them go back to a more grounded storytelling approach.
    more
  • Kyle Austin
    July 23, 2017
    Not the strongest entry and I'm not sure Yoda's voice was fully embraced/caught, but interesting nonetheless. Perhaps the greatest indicator that they could have done better on the Yoda part was that a completely unrelated story after the Yoda entries dramatically outshines everything that precedes it. And with that being said, I am very excited to see more of Pash Davane.
    more
  • Aneez
    July 20, 2017
    Yoda's good, but the semi-orphaned kids waging war is a trope that is a little to familiar. Luke's story isn't resolved in a meaningful way either. The annual is okay, dealing (again) with Leia's Alderaan grief (or lack thereof), but the whole thing feels mediocre.
    more
  • Koolwijk
    July 8, 2017
    The main Star Wars comic is losing some of it's importance. It is still a fun read but in no way essential to the new canon. Maybe it is time to focus this series on the rebellion moving to the planet Hoth. And start focussing this series on an other part of the timeline. Post Return of the Jedi.
    more
  • Sassy
    July 18, 2017
    I DIDN'T COME HERE TO READ ABOUT YODA I CAME FOR MY SWEET BABY BOY LUKE!!!
  • Dominic Bowkett
    July 5, 2017
    Great Book as well as movie, I like it.
  • Debbie
    July 21, 2017
    3.5 stars
Write a review