She-Hulk, Volume 1
Jennifer Walters has survived the second Civil War...barely. But, having risen from the rubble, she re-enters the world a very different kind of hero. Fueled by a quiet rage, she is determined to move forward, to go on with her life - but the pain of the past and all that she's lost is always there. An undercurrent, a pulse waiting to quicken -and trigger Jen's transformation into the one thing she doesn't have control over...Collecting: Hulk 1-6

She-Hulk, Volume 1 Details

TitleShe-Hulk, Volume 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherMarvel
ISBN1302905678
ISBN-139781302905675
Number of pages136 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Superheroes, Marvel, Comic Book, Fiction

She-Hulk, Volume 1 Review

  • David Schaafsma
    June 26, 2017
    Finally picked up the last two issues of this volume and was reminded why I really like this series. Jen Walters, lawyer for the Marvel Universe, has returned to the city, ready to contribute to helping people, her PTSD (from a Civil Wars disaster. . .) in check. This is a slow build of a volume, but it's appropriate as Jen’s identity as Hulk (not She-Hulk, but Hulk) needs to be figured out. What might the purpose be for her anger? Righteous rage? What lines might get crossed if Jen hulks out as Finally picked up the last two issues of this volume and was reminded why I really like this series. Jen Walters, lawyer for the Marvel Universe, has returned to the city, ready to contribute to helping people, her PTSD (from a Civil Wars disaster. . .) in check. This is a slow build of a volume, but it's appropriate as Jen’s identity as Hulk (not She-Hulk, but Hulk) needs to be figured out. What might the purpose be for her anger? Righteous rage? What lines might get crossed if Jen hulks out as the now dead Bruce Banner once did? How can she best serve the needy, many of whom are so unhappy and suffering in a world they find increasingly cruel?The ghost of Bruce actually visits Jen, which is a nice touch, I liked that a lot, and it figures in. I really like the drawing of Nico Leon, and the dark, subdued coloring of Matt Milla! The art fits all the psychological reflection. I like the increasingly complex storylines, I like the playing around Tamaki does with Jen’s internal dialogue, I like the actual dialogue that feels fresh and contemporary and smart, often clever, and I liked the finish! I especially like the fact that Tamaki is continuing this, just unearthing who Jen might become! This volume and this series makes an old comics icon, resurrected, seem important, relevant. And much worth reading!
    more
  • Shadowdenizen
    January 14, 2017
    A disclaimer or two first:1) I've been a fan of She-Hulk as long as I can remember. I've read from Savage She-Hulk thru the John Bryne run, the Dan Slott(et al) run, right up to this current run. And while some runs were better than others, I"ve mostly enjoyed them all, so this review might be a bit biased.2) I'm reading the single issues as they're published, so this is a review of the FIRST ISSUE, which is all that's out at this point. I'll try to update this review as I read further.ISSUE ONE A disclaimer or two first:1) I've been a fan of She-Hulk as long as I can remember. I've read from Savage She-Hulk thru the John Bryne run, the Dan Slott(et al) run, right up to this current run. And while some runs were better than others, I"ve mostly enjoyed them all, so this review might be a bit biased.2) I'm reading the single issues as they're published, so this is a review of the FIRST ISSUE, which is all that's out at this point. I'll try to update this review as I read further.ISSUE ONE: This was definitely a low-key issue, which is a GOOD thing, IMO: no super-hero slugfests here! The blurb on the front page summarizes all the crucial info you need to know, so the issue itself can serve as a good introduction for new readers to Jen Walters, lawyer for the Marvel Universe.The art is a nice countpoint to the story, and Jen is quite expressive, so the reader can start to get an impression of Jen. (The "[She]Hulk" persona underlies the whole issue, but does't really make an actual appearence, per se.) Strong start to the series, overall, IMO.ISSUE TWO: Another strong issue. I really liked the powerful depiction of Jenn's repressed rage, and the carefully calculated setup towards the first true appearence of the Hulk. The landlord/eviction storyline is serviceable, if not supercompelling, and (as above) is a interesting catalyst for the Hulks eventual appearence.ISSUE THREE: Another top notch issue for me. I"m loving the slow build up; it's a bit unconventional for a superhero title, but it's really working for me and this continues to be a great exploration of Jenn as a chadacter. And I really liked the scene between her and Hellcat; the way their friendship is delicted just seemed very normal and realistic.ISSUE FOUR: If you've read this far, you know my feelings on this title. This run is shaping up, to my mind, as one of the seminal runs on this character, even though it does admittedly mostly eschew the lighter tones the character is known for.***Sorry, I've been a bit lax at keeping this updated. (I read ALOT of monthly comics, and it's unusual for me to reiveiw individual issues.)But I just finished out this arc, and a solid "Brava" to all involved. This "new" version of (She)Hulk is both faithful to, but also a huge (but logical) divergence to the charater. And this team pulls off that dichotomy wonderfully.One of the things I was afraid of before starting this series was that Jen's law career would be pushed to the side, and that is a HUGE part of what makes the character, IMO. But I shouldn't have worried; they used her law career to great effect in this arc, as the impetus to the main storyline. So, though this title isn't getting the buzz that some other titles are, it's still a solid, entertaining title that deserves to be read and talked about!
    more
  • Chelsea
    July 5, 2017
    *Read as single issues*I know what it means to go through something that takes away everything. There was a time when I lost something. I was hurt. Badly. And afterwards, I didn't... I don't see the world the same way.Listen, I'm amazed this book was allowed to get made. This is not your typical Hulk book where buildings get smashed, Bruce angsts over being a monster and the government tries to take down the Hulk. This is not even your typical She-Hulk book where Jen smarts her way through most *Read as single issues*I know what it means to go through something that takes away everything. There was a time when I lost something. I was hurt. Badly. And afterwards, I didn't... I don't see the world the same way.Listen, I'm amazed this book was allowed to get made. This is not your typical Hulk book where buildings get smashed, Bruce angsts over being a monster and the government tries to take down the Hulk. This is not even your typical She-Hulk book where Jen smarts her way through most situations all the while being fabulous and extremely self assure. This is a book that does an amazingly in depth study of PTSD and anxiety. This book studies life after a trauma and unlike most comic book stories, everything is not fixed in an issue or two. I preface this by saying I majored in psychology so I am always looking at things about trauma and psychological welfare through a more critical lens. It's the reason I can't always tolerate things like YA novels that dabble in these subjects or books where characters are told to just "cheer up" or "tough it out" when they're suffering from mental illnesses. That being said, I heard Tamaki researched these themes before writing this book and I can believe it. A memorial implies that the only victims are the ones in the ground. I think you can live through that kind of darkness every day, that you can live in a war, and that feels like a kind of dying.Throughout this book, Jen is using a few techniques to calm herself when she feels herself losing control. She's seeing a therapist who recommended she watch cooking shows to help manage her emotions. She's talking herself through moments that give her anxiety. She's taking everything one minute at a time and I think that's such a realistic portrayal of dealing with trauma and grief. Admittedly, I hated the CW II arc but, similar to CW, some great side books have come out of it. Power Man and Iron Fist and Ms. Marvel used it to talk about the dangers of predictive justice. This book is dealing with the aftermath of Jen's near death experience. I'm not entirely sure if she can't Hulk out because she'd lose control or if it's just that she no longer can. I've never read a She-Hulk that didn't retain her wits in her transformation, outside of Avengers Disassembled of course. At the end of this volume, She-Hulk talks like Hulk and I'm not entirely sure what that meant. So, this is a quieter book in that it's more of a character study than your typical action-packed comic. It amazes me that it's survived this long when Marvel's doing it's best to run their great titles into the ground by not promoting them and then cancelling them after a few issues. I'm amazed it's still running and so damn happy that it is. It's a book that we need and I honestly teared up a few times reading it. It's fantastic and it makes me want to read everything Tamaki has ever written. Seriously, this book blew me away. I am a monster. A different kind of monster now. A monster still breathing in a world... horrible... and worth fighting for.Read this review and others on my new blog!
    more
  • Ana Rînceanu
    June 19, 2017
    I love She-Hulk but haven't read Civil Wars so I was wondering if I could jump into the story. That turned out not to be a problem since the author got me invested in how She-Hulk handles her trauma and the strangeness of her powers. Good to see that Patsy is not pushing her, but stands by her.
    more
  • Future Slayer Girl
    April 20, 2017
    I'm a She-Hulk fan... big time. To the point I write turn based rp using her as a character. After her incident in CW2 I was curious what they were going to do with her. She's grey, and she's Hulk now. She's not a She-Hulk. We are seeing inside the mind of someone suffering PTSD. Quiet literally because Jen still does some subtle fourth wall. As a whole, I enjoyed this series. One of the issues literally nothing happened! I was a bit upset. There was not release this week and I'm upset again. I' I'm a She-Hulk fan... big time. To the point I write turn based rp using her as a character. After her incident in CW2 I was curious what they were going to do with her. She's grey, and she's Hulk now. She's not a She-Hulk. We are seeing inside the mind of someone suffering PTSD. Quiet literally because Jen still does some subtle fourth wall. As a whole, I enjoyed this series. One of the issues literally nothing happened! I was a bit upset. There was not release this week and I'm upset again. I'd like to see them really build her up, and possible join with other hulks. Most of all... I want her to HULK! I want to see Grey Gammazon in action! Gimmie some good scans!
    more
  • Garrett
    July 26, 2017
    This is probably better than the three stars I'm giving it, but I would need to read it again to know for sure. Talk about a slow burn; never before in the history of green people in comic books do we wait like this for something to happen. The mistake would be in missing all of the other stuff going down - internally, for Jennifer, and externally, on the streets of New York - whilst you're waiting for gamma. Jennifer's internal struggle - beaten into a coma by Thanos only to then come out of it This is probably better than the three stars I'm giving it, but I would need to read it again to know for sure. Talk about a slow burn; never before in the history of green people in comic books do we wait like this for something to happen. The mistake would be in missing all of the other stuff going down - internally, for Jennifer, and externally, on the streets of New York - whilst you're waiting for gamma. Jennifer's internal struggle - beaten into a coma by Thanos only to then come out of it and discover that she's perhaps permanently injured, her powers are changed and her famous cousin is dead - produces a major trauma, and that's where we join up with her in this volume.One niggling point: The original title of this book was "Hulk." Collected, it's "She-Hulk." Copyright? The assumption of stupid fans? Patriarchy? Bah.
    more
  • Arya Stark
    February 1, 2017
    Boring and bland real shame
  • R.J.
    July 20, 2017
    Unusual and refreshing among my superhero reading. The cover they went with for the TPB seems a little misleading - don't expect a lot of action or even much hulking out (is that a spoiler?). But if you like stories about fantastic heroes processing their feelings (hi it me), pick this up.
    more
  • Christy
    June 25, 2017
    Mariko Tamaki is a goddess and Hulk is one of the best series I've read.
  • Geonn Cannon
    June 7, 2017
    One of my current favorites. Not just a superhero, Civil War II aftermath, but a real examination of being a Hulk. Jennifer's anxiety attacks and panic at turning into the Hulk is very, very well done. Fans of the Jessica Jones Netflix show will feel right at home.
    more
  • George
    July 13, 2017
    This is a really good book. The art is very well-constructed and fills the pages with a lifelike energy that's not too over-the-top but enhances the emotions and intensity of the book. The writing and story itself is pretty simple (at least in the beginning) but is a very interesting read that is definitely worth it. I'm really annoyed, though, because the title of this series is/was "Hulk," and renaming the trade's title to "She-Hulk" runs counter to what the book is all about; in the words of This is a really good book. The art is very well-constructed and fills the pages with a lifelike energy that's not too over-the-top but enhances the emotions and intensity of the book. The writing and story itself is pretty simple (at least in the beginning) but is a very interesting read that is definitely worth it. I'm really annoyed, though, because the title of this series is/was "Hulk," and renaming the trade's title to "She-Hulk" runs counter to what the book is all about; in the words of Marvel editor Axel Alonso, “The title She-Hulk evokes light-hearted stories about a Jennifer Walters who is at peace with herself and in full control of her powers. This isn’t that book.”Also, People who whine and complain about this book being a slow burner and "muh buh she doesn't Hulk out" need to shut up and step back. This is goddamn intentionally slow, have you ever heard of a couple of little things called "pacing" and "emotion" and "intensity"? Of course she doesn't fucking hulk out the second she gets a tiny bit aggravated, she's probably trying to deal with the fact that she's now a "proper" Hulk who isn't fully in control of her powers and especially since, y'know, her cousin, Bruce Banner, the original Hulk, freaking DIED in Civil War II. I wonder if that has anything to do with her, y'know, being not that upbeat or excited to transform into a giant rage monster. I wonder.
    more
  • Izza
    July 5, 2017
    3.5 stars | (read as single issues) I've never been a fan of the Hulk, but I'm glad I tried this because Jen Walters is amazing! A+ on the artwork!
  • Ken Moten
    June 17, 2017
    When Mockingbird was canceled to make way for more Civil War II books, it marked the beginning of my re-evaluating my willingness to keep buying comics from Marvel. This has only intensified with the downhill trend at Marvel Comics and the cancelation of Ta-Nehisi Coates' Black Panther and The Crew among several other books by minorities and women. This goes back to Marvel's Vice President saying that he did not endorse the policy of Marvel integrating itself. I do not know how long this series When Mockingbird was canceled to make way for more Civil War II books, it marked the beginning of my re-evaluating my willingness to keep buying comics from Marvel. This has only intensified with the downhill trend at Marvel Comics and the cancelation of Ta-Nehisi Coates' Black Panther and The Crew among several other books by minorities and women. This goes back to Marvel's Vice President saying that he did not endorse the policy of Marvel integrating itself. I do not know how long this series will last, but given reason trends, things look grim... ....Getting back to Mockingbird. This book does not make-up for that ones premature demise, but it comes close. This book is one of the very few good things to come out of CWII. It deals with the severe PTSD that Jennifer Walters suffers after the double whammy of her injuries and her cousin's death. It is not an action comic, but it one hell of a story about just attempting to deal with trauma. Easily one of my favorites from Marvel this year...which means it won't last thru next year.
    more
  • James Elkins
    June 24, 2017
    I am so enjoying this series!One of the central ideas within the concept of the Hulk is anger/rage be it controlled or uncontrolled, and it isn't addressed enough in the Hulk comics. The other Hulk title presently being published is The Totally Awesome Hulk (2015-) #1 and while it has been a fun title Amadeus Cho's Hulk isn't a product of anger or rage, but Jennifer Walter's Hulk is. Due to various....traumas she has lost the She-Hulk (She-Hulk, Volume 1: Single Green Female) version of her Hulk I am so enjoying this series!One of the central ideas within the concept of the Hulk is anger/rage be it controlled or uncontrolled, and it isn't addressed enough in the Hulk comics. The other Hulk title presently being published is The Totally Awesome Hulk (2015-) #1 and while it has been a fun title Amadeus Cho's Hulk isn't a product of anger or rage, but Jennifer Walter's Hulk is. Due to various....traumas she has lost the She-Hulk (She-Hulk, Volume 1: Single Green Female) version of her Hulk, Sensational (The Sensational She-Hulk by John Byrne Vol. 1) or not (She-Hulk, Volume 1: Law and Disorder) - that's not meant as a dig on Soule's series, (which I really enjoyed) just playing with words - and is now just Hulk.I welcome this Hulk with open arms.Great first volume/story arc. Loved the art.
    more
  • Elisa The-Bookie-Monster
    July 14, 2017
    3.5 starsComing off of Civil War 2, She-Hulk Vol 1 Deconstructed is about Jen Walters dealing with the loss of Bruce Banner. She is trying to return to her normal life by going back to work and dealing with clients, only to find it's not as easy as it sounds because of anxiety and general fear.This is my first She-Hulk comic, I didn't read Civil War 2, but I work at a comic shop and I've heard enough to know what happened, so I would suggest reading that first.
    more
  • Cagne
    June 11, 2017
    The premise was confusing. I didn't really understand if Jennifer's not-green form was a mental image rather than a physical form (until maybe the end? Or not?), or if she 'hulks out' now like Banner would. So, while the setting and the story were nice, that added level of confusion/suspension (which was paralleled with the one around the 'bad guy' I guess), was annoying.
    more
  • Matthew Cholodewitsch
    June 15, 2017
    Its more interesting when it's about Jess dealing with her PTSD than when it's doing the villain plot. So the last issue is a but of a let down. But the first is probably the best single issue of the year.
  • Avi Hannah
    June 17, 2017
    I love this series. While the final issue didn't hit every note I'd hoped for while wrapping up this first arc, i also know this is only the beginning of Jen's development. Seriously. This series is smart and emotional and deep and I love it
  • Erica McGillivray
    June 11, 2017
    This is a slow burn of a book.
  • Flora
    June 26, 2017
    [incoherent yelling]
Write a review