A Stone in the Sea (Bleeding Stars, #1)
He wanted nothing at all… Until he found she had everything to give… Sunder lead singer and guitarist Sebastian Stone has everything—fans, fame, and fortune. He also has a heart full of bitterness and a reputation for a short-fused temper. But an outward reputation rarely reveals the true man inside. Facing assault charges after trying to protect his younger brother, Sebastian is sent to Savannah, Georgia to lie low until the dust settles in L.A. Shea Bentley is beautiful, kind, and hiding from the very lifestyle Sebastian has always embraced. When the mysterious, tattooed stranger begins hanging out at the bar where she works, Shea is quick to recognize he is nothing but trouble, but she's helpless to the way her body lights up every time his intense gray eyes tangle with hers. They both soon find themselves drowning in a sea of desire and passion that won’t let them up for air. Sebastian knows firsthand secrets never die, and he’s not the only one who’s hiding them. Loving someone always comes with a price. But will it be Shea’s past that costs them everything?

A Stone in the Sea (Bleeding Stars, #1) Details

TitleA Stone in the Sea (Bleeding Stars, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 21st, 2015
Rating
GenreRomance, New Adult, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Music

A Stone in the Sea (Bleeding Stars, #1) Review

  • Jennifer Kyle
    January 1, 1970
    2.75 Stars Find love and bring it here. Im a huge fan of several of this authors books and love her writing, however the writing style that the author used for this story just didnt fit the story line. Its about a bad boy rock star falling for a single mom who has a secret. They meet when Sebastian and his band are sent to Tybee Island, Georgia where they awaiting word from their record company about their future.The characters feelings are loaded down with over top description and sadly the 2.75 Stars ”Find love and bring it here.” I’m a huge fan of several of this author’s books and love her writing, however the writing style that the author used for this story just didn’t fit the story line. It’s about a bad boy rock star falling for a single mom who has a secret. They meet when Sebastian and his band are sent to Tybee Island, Georgia where they awaiting word from their record company about their future.The characters feelings are loaded down with over top description and sadly the writing at times was simply unbearable due to the situation. Words were also repeated in threes for example: "Deeper. Deeper. Deeper." / "Feeling. Feeling. Feeling." / "Agony. Agony. Agony." which got really annoying after a while. Disregarding the over the top writing and focusing on the story itself, I would have to say that it was an okay read up until the ending. The author completely lost me when the heroine’s LAME secret was revealed that sets the stage for the next book. Sadly, I didn’t care for the reveal and I’m just not interested in reading on. Sorry. Sorry. Sorry.
    more
  • KAS
    January 1, 1970
    5 FOR ALL THE FEELS Stars!!!Why have I waited so long to read this incredibly juicy, angsty, sexy, tormenting, heart wrenching book? Well, I have no idea, but am so glad I finally picked it up and dove in blind and head first. Whenever I read a series by A. L. Jackson, I know I will be gutted, and this was no exception. Oh, the feels this one gave me. Honest to goodness, even the scene where Sebastian kisses Shea for the first time on her front porch, had me pure melting inside. It was just a 5 FOR ALL THE FEELS Stars!!!Why have I waited so long to read this incredibly juicy, angsty, sexy, tormenting, heart wrenching book? Well, I have no idea, but am so glad I finally picked it up and dove in blind and head first. Whenever I read a series by A. L. Jackson, I know I will be gutted, and this was no exception. Oh, the feels this one gave me. Honest to goodness, even the scene where Sebastian kisses Shea for the first time on her front porch, had me pure melting inside. It was just a kiss people, albeit a scorching one, but have mercy!The chemistry between Sebastian and Shea is off the charts and their relationship is a ticking time bomb. This was a roller coaster ride I enjoyed immensely.I loved Sebastian! He is just one of those guys where as sure as the sun rises in the east and sets in the west, trouble follows him wherever he goes. He had my heart immediately and rooting for him all the way.Sebastian Stone, his messed up eighteen year old brother, and his friends and fellow band mates, who make up the group " Sunder," end up in Savannah, Georgia, where they are laying low, secluded in their agent's seaside mansion. As far as their adoring fans were told, it was a scheduling conflict that caused the cancellation of their European tour. Truth is Sebastian is facing assault charges and possible jail time. Yep, he found himself in trouble once again. A secret led Shea Bentley back home to Savannah four years ago. She waitresses at Charlie's, a favorite and historic riverfront bar, and is trying her best to stay under the radar and live out her life the best way she knows how. She has one priority to think about now, and nothing or no one will ever make her lose sight of it, even if it means having to lie.One night while taking customer's orders, Shea spots a man she has never seen before in a secluded corner booth. A man whose dangerous good looks and grey penetrating eyes knocks the breath out of her. A man who is going change her life forever. A man who is going to crush her heart .......Sebastian looks up from his phone to find a waitress asking if she can get him anything. A waitress who is beyond sultry and gorgeous with caramel colored eyes. A waitress who makes him feel like he is losing control. A waitress he can't seem to get off his mind and is compelled to be near again and again. A waitress who is going to get him in even more trouble. A waitress who holds the power to bring him to his knees in unimaginable pain .......  "What are you doing here?" I asked on a shaky breath. He looked to the sky and exhaled heavily, before he leveled his gaze back on me. "The same thing I'm doing every night, Shea. Thinking about you and wondering why in the hell I can't stop." This is book one of the "Bleeding Stars" series. Yes, there is a cliff hanger, so off I go to read book two, pronto!
    more
  • Natasha is a Book Junkie
    January 1, 1970
    I never needed anyone to love me until I needed you. I should have known. I should have known she would wreck me. I should have known she would give us another gut-wrenching story, and then leave only heartbreak in its wake, because this book owned me, cover to cover, every single sentence in it reminding me once again why I love this authors writing style so dearly, and why her words affect me every single time without fail. An intense, passionate love story that had all the components I am “I never needed anyone to love me until I needed you.” I should have known. I should have known she would wreck me. I should have known she would give us another gut-wrenching story, and then leave only heartbreak in its wake, because this book owned me, cover to cover, every single sentence in it reminding me once again why I love this author’s writing style so dearly, and why her words affect me every single time without fail. An intense, passionate love story that had all the components I am drawn to in a romance of this kind, but coupled with a few personal ‘triggers’ of my own—I was mesmerized from the very first page, and my fascination with these characters only grew as the story unravelled. Two people scarred by life, desperate to put their dark pasts behind them, and viscerally drawn to each other from the moment they meet—this is the story of finding the missing piece to one’s life, of finding the courage to take a chance, to throw all caution aside and risk one’s heart for nothing more than the hope of a happiness like no other. There are so many crucial facets to this story which I will not even mention to you, wishing for you to discover them on your own and thus allow this story to overwhelm you slowly, as intended, because there are so many complex layers to this tale, so many puzzle pieces, and the pace at which we uncover them is as important as the story itself. If you are looking for a phenomenally written, captivating read that you will not be able to put down, I cannot recommend this book highly enough. “I’d never felt anything was missing from my life. Not until the day I met Sebastian Stone.” Sebastian Stone is a rock star, a man whose life has been under the magnifying glass ever since he found fame, but his road to success has not been an easy one, marred by great loss and bitter mistakes, making him the disillusioned and hot-tempered young man he is now. When faced with the disastrous consequences of his temper’s latest outburst, he finds himself cooped up with his band mates in a small town in Savannah, Georgia, forced to re-evaluate his life altogether. But while seeking anonymity and peace, nothing prepares him for his body’s unexpected reaction to a kind-eyed waitress at a local bar, whose inexplicable pull leaves him baffled and starving for more. “I knew it then. What I wanted.To lose control.Just for a few hours.And I wanted to lose it with her.” Shea Bentley is a young woman whose deceivingly simple life hides a painful past full of secrets, a past she hides fiercely from all those around her. Kind, unpretentious, modest—Shea is unlike any other woman Sebastian has ever met, her eyes hiding a darkness he immediately recognises, while her inner light draws him to her like a beacon through a storm. And as much as he tries to stay away from her and not be an unwanted distraction in her life, her siren call keeps pulling him to her night after night. “What are you doing here?”“The same thing I’m doing every night, Shea. Thinking about you and wondering why the hell I can’t stop.” They both fight their attraction, try to find reasons for avoiding an emotional connection of any kind, but when they inevitably succumb to the unwavering spark between them, it is one of the most devastating, explosive, uninhibited, heart-breakingly passionate sights to be seen. Ms Jackson uses every weapon in her writing arsenal to express emotions of such magnitude that we are left quivering messes, totally entranced by her prose and hopelessly addicted to the intensity of the scenes she is weaving before our eyes. “I fell.Plunged into his abyss.Heart first.Through waves of ecstasy. Deeper. Deeper. To where I touched a sea of stars that blinded my eyes, where I floated in that place that belonged only to us, a place that didn’t belong to this world. Where darkness and light reigned and wrong or right had no bearing.A brutal ecstasy.” The connection between these characters takes on a life of its own and it soon becomes a palpable force driving the story forward. Sebastian is a man who never sought anything more than a temporary escape from his life, a chance to forget, until he meets a woman who gives herself to him selflessly and bravely, who takes a risk with her heart by loving a man who would never love her back the same way…or stay. But their greatest battle might end up being one they never even imagined fighting alongside one another. “I’m going to break you, Shea.”I knew it.Felt it in my gut.“You already have.” Ms Jackson is a master storyteller, a skilled ‘sadist’ when it comes to affecting her readers’ emotions and making our hearts ache, but her brand of ‘torture’ is quite possibly one of my favourite ‘afflictions’. In this book, her powerful writing style has the added element of an almost lyrical pace to the prose itself, with heightened imagery and emotional associations present in every rhythmic beat of the words themselves. It deepened my connection to the story, to these characters and their emotional journey, leaving me breathless on more than one occasion.I will not lie to you, there is a nasty cliffhanger at the end of this book, one that was needed given the many puzzle pieces yet to be revealed. It left me a raging mess, but glad that the story had not been cheapened by forcing it into one book. So, if you are not allergic to anticipation and get a kick out of reading phenomenally written, angst-ridden stories that overload your senses start to finish, I urge you to give this beautiful tale a chance.Sebastian and Shea’s story will continue in Drowning to Breathe in June 2015, and then conclude in Through the Storm, expected in October 2015. “I was falling further, being sucked beneath the surface.A stone in his sea.Completely drowning in this man.” See this review on my blog! | Follow me on Facebook! | Follow me on Twitter!Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1AzJZTlAmazon UK: http://amzn.to/1vZWljBAmazon CA: http://amzn.to/1AzK7SRRead an excerpt ➜ http://wp.me/p2YIUs-5nE
    more
  • SueBee★bring me an alpha!★
    January 1, 1970
    FREE on Amazon US today (11/14/2016)This sounds amazing!Book 1 in duet. BLURB:A Stone in the Sea ~ He wanted nothing at all Until he found she had everything to give Sunder lead singer and guitarist Sebastian Stone has everythingfans, fame, and fortune. He also has a heart full of bitterness and a reputation for a short-fused temper. But an outward reputation rarely reveals the true man inside. Facing assault charges after trying to protect his younger brother, Sebastian is sent to Savannah, FREE on Amazon US today (11/14/2016)This sounds amazing!Book 1 in duet. BLURB:A Stone in the Sea ~ He wanted nothing at all… Until he found she had everything to give… Sunder lead singer and guitarist Sebastian Stone has everything—fans, fame, and fortune. He also has a heart full of bitterness and a reputation for a short-fused temper. But an outward reputation rarely reveals the true man inside. Facing assault charges after trying to protect his younger brother, Sebastian is sent to Savannah, Georgia to lie low until the dust settles in L.A. Shea Bentley is beautiful, kind, and hiding from the very lifestyle Sebastian has always embraced. When the mysterious, tattooed stranger begins hanging out at the bar where she works, Shea is quick to recognize he is nothing but trouble, but she's helpless to the way her body lights up every time his intense gray eyes tangle with hers. They both soon find themselves drowning in a sea of desire and passion that won’t let them up for air. Sebastian knows firsthand secrets never die, and he’s not the only one who’s hiding them. Loving someone always comes with a price. But will it be Shea’s past that costs them everything? FREE: https://www.amazon.com/Stone-Sea-Blee...FREEBIES are often good for MORE than one day. I have gathered all my FREEBIES on a special shelf: Kindle-freebies (currently over 600 books)https://www.goodreads.com/review/list...
    more
  • ~ Becs ~
    January 1, 1970
    As the blurb states, Sebastian Stone, frontman of popular rock group Sunder, is hiding away from LA and the press in Georgia after he got himself into a whole heap of trouble. There he meets Shea who's working in a local bar and they share an immediate and undeniable attraction.Sebastian, despite his troubled and difficult past is really quite likeable. He's pretty sincere, fiercely loyal and, despite his reputation, very much one of the good guys. Shea, who also has secrets of her own, is a As the blurb states, Sebastian Stone, frontman of popular rock group Sunder, is hiding away from LA and the press in Georgia after he got himself into a whole heap of trouble. There he meets Shea who's working in a local bar and they share an immediate and undeniable attraction.Sebastian, despite his troubled and difficult past is really quite likeable. He's pretty sincere, fiercely loyal and, despite his reputation, very much one of the good guys. Shea, who also has secrets of her own, is a very easy heroine to like and for reasons we don't get to find about until the very end she's also trying to keep a low profile and isn't prepared at all for the way Sebastian is about to rock her world. (pun totally intended)After a difficult start, I struggled a little to get into the story at first, I found myself absorbed and touched by their growing feelings for one another. It's a fairly typical new adult romance plot line - they're obviously falling for one another but both have dark, troubled pasts and secrets they're not ready to share and both are convinced that they can never be together. It's very high on the angst, quite low on humour but ultimately very romantic and engaging. I found myself completely on board with their relationship, rooting for them to overcome their hurdles and for the rest of the world to just leave them alone but it's not to be and we're left with a devastating cliffy that completely broke my heart as I read with horror at the unfairness of the situation. It's enough to leave your heart pounding, desperate for more although I have to say that the story, at this point, pivots on a MAHOOSIVE coincidence that had my eyes rolling slightly. I totally didn't see it coming.There were a couple of real stand out scenes for me that live vividly on in my imagination - the night that they finally succumb to that all consuming attraction. The author did a fantastic job of really allowing Sebastian's and Shea's emotions to truly shine through and their passion felt real and incendiary. Also, there's a day at the beach when everyone seems to happy and everything is perfect (at least for a while) - there's a real rose tinted glow cast over that one that still gives me a goofy grin. As I actually did enjoy the story very much, I feel the need to explain why I've only rated it at 3 stars. The writing style and techniques adopted by the author often stopped me in my tracks and distracted me from the story.The first couple of chapters contained some rather overblown and flowery language which, rather than setting the scene, actually confused me a little but I soon settled into it but then I noticed another habit the author has - she likes to repeat things three times.For example:-Weak.Weak.Weak.Pretending.Pretending.Pretending.Trouble.Trouble.Trouble.Once noticed, sadly, this could no longer go unnoticed. I think this technique would work well when used for dramatic effect in moderation but it's massively overused in Stone in the Sea. It crops up every few pages over and over again and once I'd decided that it was annoying me, it pretty much hit me like a sledge hammer between the eyes every time I came across it. I'd be enjoying the story and turn the page and findWant.Want.Want.ORDeeper.Deeper.Deeper.and I'd want to howl in frustration. It jarred me from the story and totally took away my enjoyment.A writer's narrative should be the reader's guide into the story, the key that unlocks their magical world in our imaginations but, regrettably, this constant triple repetition of focal words ended up being stumbling blocks for me that made me grind to a halt and completely hindered my enjoyment of the story. And it's a real shame because it's a good story with great character development and strong emotional depth. I'm dying to know what will happen next with Sebastian and Shea - I was fully committed to their story but I just don't know if I can start the sequel knowing how much I struggled with the style.The story continues in June with Drowning To Breathe. I very much want them to find their way out of the dark abyss they ended up in but I'm unsure if I will actually continue.3 angsty and undecided stars
    more
  • Danielle ❤️ Pretty Mess Reading ❤️
    January 1, 1970
    ****3.5 ROCK STARS****This book started off good, then became great, then mediocre and cheesy, and ended pretty good, with a cliffhanger. All of that contributed to my 3.5 STAR rating.You already know that with any book about rock stars there is always that one who had a fucked up childhood that scarred them for life, right? This book is no different. Sebastian aka Baz, is the lead singer from a band called Sunder whatever that name stands for and has an anger problem. The boy likes to settle ****3.5 ROCK STARS****This book started off good, then became great, then mediocre and cheesy, and ended pretty good, with a cliffhanger. All of that contributed to my 3.5 STAR rating.You already know that with any book about rock stars there is always that one who had a fucked up childhood that scarred them for life, right? This book is no different. Sebastian aka Baz, is the lead singer from a band called Sunder – whatever that name stands for – and has an anger problem. The boy likes to settle everything with this fist. That anger problem has him and his band hiding out in Savannah, Georgia, away for the press in L.A.And it wouldn’t be a good rock star story if we didn’t have a beautiful woman who doesn’t care about his money or fame and loves him for him, right? Let me introduce, Shea. When I read her name I decided right then and there that was going to love her because I love Shea Body Butter from The Body Shop. It does wonders for my skin.Wait a hot damn minute! Where in the hell is my rock star who never wants a girlfriend and my female who is afraid to love again?Look no further folks because of course, this book has it too. And I loved every goddamn, cliche minute of it!!!!!In the beginning you get inside Baz’s head, you find out what makes him tick and a little bit into what breaks his heart. His family.Baz and Shea had crazy chemistry. From the moment they meet, you could feel the sexual tension in the air.Baz – I liked him. He was a selfish asshole every now and then but I still liked him. He had a big heart and was so gentle with Shea. He was like a big teddy bear.Shea – The girl cries a lot in this book, like a lot, a lot. I think I rolled my eyes at her tears a minimum of 6 times. I don’t mind if someone cries every now and then but I can’t be dealing with it constantly. Ask any of my friends or family.Shea is cute and gullible. That’s what irritated me about her. The girl has a kid and had this man sleeping at her house without doing a quick Google search on him. That is a big no, no. You do not let a man around your four year old daughter without at least seeing if he’s on the sexual offenders list. Just an FYI, people. I don’t respect behavior like that. Folks need to know who is around their children before that start spending the night at their house.Shea also broke my heart in a way. She was one of those females who are willing to shoulder a man’s pain and expect nothing in return. I wanted to bad to tell he that she was just as important as Baz, if not more.The girl was willing to wait for a man who might go to jail for years after knowing him for like 6 weeks or some shit. I felt so bad for her. I just wanted to give her a cuddle because she was a sweet and lovable chick. I knew I had filled a hole, if only briefly, for him. I knew he’d used me to hide from his pain, and I’d been willing to hold him, keep him, love him. Especially if it helped him heal.Even if it broke me.– Shea That would not have been me. Maybe, I’m just heartless, but you do not get to use me as your emotional crutch willingly. I’m not mad at the girl for being that way but I can only respect about 45% of it. For a single mom, she needed to put her heart first because it’s hard to pretend your heart is not broken around a child. Children sense everything.Follow all my crazy....Instagram www.instagram.com/prettymessreadingFacebook www.facebook.com/prettymessreadingTwitter www.twitter.com/prettymessread
    more
  • Jenny••Steamy Reads Blog••
    January 1, 1970
    I love when you decide to tackle your ever growing load of books on your kindle and get a winner. I've had this book literally forever but if you know me, I wait until the series is complete before reading it. So here I am.... I couldn't be more pleasantly surprised at what I got. I didn't read many reviews, so I kinda went into this blind. I'm glad I did. Sebastian Stone. You amazing, hot headed, gorgeous rock star, I strangled you, I loved you, I hugged you, and I hurt for you during this I love when you decide to tackle your ever growing load of books on your kindle and get a winner. I've had this book literally forever but if you know me, I wait until the series is complete before reading it. So here I am.... I couldn't be more pleasantly surprised at what I got. I didn't read many reviews, so I kinda went into this blind. I'm glad I did. Sebastian Stone. You amazing, hot headed, gorgeous rock star, I strangled you, I loved you, I hugged you, and I hurt for you during this installment. The life you lived, the life you live now, and the life you dream of living captivated me and I can't wait to find out how it turns out. Not only I'm I intrigued by him, I am loving his whole crew💙 Shae Bentley, oh my you surprised me the most in this book. You totally love protectively, but when you do love, you love fiercely. You have given everything to your daughter. Your protectiveness and your love is overflowing in this book for sweet little Kallie. You aren't looking for love, but it finds you in the most wonderful way. There is a hidden story that has just been ripped open at the end of this book and my god I can't wait to get it in the next book. These damn books and those damn hidden secrets.......... On to the next installment.....
    more
  • ✦❋Arianna✦❋
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 STARSAnd once again Im minority! So...First and foremost and I want to say that I really enjoyed the writing. This was my first book by this author so I didnt know what to expect, but the writing was one of my fav things. Even if at times it was a little annoying and...weird I enjoyed it. I wish I could say this book was everything I hoped and wished for. Unfortunately its not the case. The story is about a musician Sebastian Baz Stone who gets in trouble everywhere he goes (his words, not 2.5 STARSAnd once again I’m minority! So...First and foremost and I want to say that I really enjoyed the writing. This was my first book by this author so I didn’t know what to expect, but the writing was one of my fav things. Even if at times it was a little annoying and...weird I enjoyed it. I wish I could say this book was everything I hoped and wished for. Unfortunately it’s not the case. The story is about a musician Sebastian ‘Baz’ Stone who gets in trouble everywhere he goes (his words, not mine). Facing assault charges after he tries to protect his younger brother he is sent in Savannah to lie low for a couple of weeks. There he meets Shea, a young woman who works in a bar. But Shea has secrets. Baz knows what he wants and he wants Shea no matter what. Shea knows Baz is trouble so he tries (but not very hard) to stay away. Baz is persistent, they try to fight their feelings for each other. They slowly start to fall for each other, but they can’t forget they have secrets and in the end these secrets might destroy their relationship.I'm sure some readers will like this one more than I did. From the start I wasn’t invested in the story like I was hoping to be. It dragged a lot in my opinion and I must admit I barely finished it. Overall, I liked both Baz and Shea. Baz is loyal and protective towards his brother, his band and later towards Shea. I liked that about him. Shea is (view spoiler)[a great young mother (hide spoiler)], but most of the time she was so fricking naïve and a little childish as well. There were times when she acted like a 16 years old girl, not like a 23 years old woman. At some point she almost became clingy. Needless to say I hate clingy heroines. In the end even if I liked both Baz and Shea I didn’t care much about them. For me both of them were two-dimensional characters. My main problem with this one was the drama and the angst. Don’t get me wrong, as long as they are smart angst and/or drama I'm ok with them.The plot was very convenient at times. And only to create more and more drama. *rolling eyes* I found Shea’s secret very lame and of course only in the end Baz finds about it. Also, I didn’t feel their chemistry. I didn’t understand why they feel so connected. Yep!At this point I don't think I will read the next books in the series. Overall, just an OK read for me!
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    January 1, 1970
    4 STARS"Dark.Light.Heavy.Soft.What a heartbreaking story!! It is true that AL Jackson has a way of compelling you with her stories and her writing! I understand that the author in this one tried to put emphasis on the feelings using the same word many times..some people didn't like it. For me it wasn't a big problem because I loved the story and the characters so much that I forgot about it! I loved their instant love it was sweet and hot!This book is about secrets..both characters have their 4 STARS"Dark.Light.Heavy.Soft.What a heartbreaking story!! It is true that AL Jackson has a way of compelling you with her stories and her writing! I understand that the author in this one tried to put emphasis on the feelings using the same word many times..some people didn't like it. For me it wasn't a big problem because I loved the story and the characters so much that I forgot about it! I loved their instant love it was sweet and hot!This book is about secrets..both characters have their secrets that they would prefer to keep hidden.From the first moment Shea sees Sebastian she knows he is trouble..But he makes her want things she forgot there even were...and the feelings.They try to deny their feelings and the passion..But the secrets slowly will unravel..and they will try to stay together.. But can they?Falling. Falling.Falling.I loved Shea!!This girl won me over!! She is strong,kind,sweet and responsible..Sebastian saw in her the light he doesn't have these years..I loved Sebastian..underneath this bad boy there is a sweet,protective boy that makes you swoon all the time! Their chemistry is powerful.You don't want anything else but to see them together!!I loved AL Jackson's writing, it is so powerful and her characters so captivate!Each of her books is unique!The ending has a little cliffhanger keeping my interesting for the next book!!
    more
  • Ingie
    January 1, 1970
    Written May 21, 20152 1/2 Stars - No, this was just too much drama, grand feelings (I didn't feel), angst and a lot of words words words...A Stone in the Sea is a new m/f CR audiobook, a rock-star story. I was quite surprised when I got a giveaway winner mail (04/10/15). (view spoiler)[ Congrats! You are winner of one of ten audiobook downloads of A STONE IN THE SEA by A.L. Jackson." // Lea Hensley, AudioGals (hide spoiler)] ...But I'm sorry to sayA nice enough storyline but it all Written May 21, 20152 1/2 Stars - No, this was just too much drama, grand feelings (I didn't feel), angst and a lot of words words words...A Stone in the Sea is a new m/f CR audiobook, a rock-star story. I was quite surprised when I got a giveaway winner mail (04/10/15). (view spoiler)[ “Congrats! You are winner of one of ten audiobook downloads of A STONE IN THE SEA by A.L. Jackson." // Lea Hensley, AudioGals (hide spoiler)] ...But I'm sorry to sayA nice enough storyline but it all felt to excessive, to depressing, grey and just sad. The romance was maybe grand, the topic heartbreaking, the smex steamy, but something was missing here. —*Head shaking*— No, not okay. Not for me anyway. **********************************************The blurb:« Sunder lead singer and guitarist Sebastian Stone has everything - fans, fame, and fortune. He also has a heart full of bitterness and a reputation for a short-fused temper. But an outward reputation rarely reveals the true man inside. ~ Facing assault charges after trying to protect his younger brother, Sebastian Stone is sent to Savannah, Georgia, to lie low until the dust settles in LA. Shea Bentley is beautiful, kind, and hiding from the very lifestyle Sebastian has always embraced. When the mysterious, tattooed stranger begins hanging out at the bar where she works, Shea is quick to recognize he is nothing but trouble, but she's helpless to the way her body lights up every time his intense gray eyes tangle with hers. »‘Every instinct told me I needed to run, that there was something about this beautiful stranger I couldn’t resist.’ *********************************************I may have my doubts about this book and the way it ended but these 9:30 audiobooks hours were at least narrated, by Andi Arndt and Sebastian York, in a lovely way. ~ One full star to them.*********************************************When a story is struggling as much as this one appear to do, to be deep, to be grand and intimate, then I just start to feel tired and bored. It becomes laughable ridiculous instead of emotional and heartbreaking. There was so much good here, nice characters and a interesting plot, but it was just to often destroyed by all nonsense in between.A Stone in the Sea is NOT a stand-alone novel and there is a huge cliffhanger here. The second book isn't even published (written) yet. I'd never started this one if I'd known that. I HATE cliffhanger books. I WANT my HEA at once. ~ Sigh! We will see but I'm not sure I'll pick up part two when it's published. This wasn't good enough for another round. Not much to review either... but I'm not in the mood. I LIKE - no, not enough this time
    more
  • Jacqueline's Reads
    January 1, 1970
    5 Stormy Stars I dont remember how to breathe without you A Stone in the Sea is the first book in the Bleeding Stars series.This is not my first book by A.L. Jackson, but this is my first audio listen and it was FANTASTIC!A Stone in the Sea was dramatic, emotional, and descriptive. I felt it all. I felt ripped, raw and I was ready for the next ride. Sebastian is the lead singer for Sunder. After some negative publicity, hes taking the calm route and he goes to Savannah, Georgia until all the 5 Stormy Stars “I don’t remember how to breathe without you” A Stone in the Sea is the first book in the Bleeding Stars series.This is not my first book by A.L. Jackson, but this is my first audio listen and it was FANTASTIC!A Stone in the Sea was dramatic, emotional, and descriptive. I felt it all. I felt ripped, raw and I was ready for the next ride. Sebastian is the lead singer for Sunder. After some negative publicity, he’s taking the calm route and he goes to Savannah, Georgia until all the chaos dies down. He also is trying to figure out what he’s doing with this life.Shea is a waitress and she notices Sebastian in her section. He’s nothing like the guys she’s use to. He’s all rocker, tattooed and very stormy. She’s crazy intrigued, but right now she doesn’t have the time for distractions. She has more important things in her life. She doesn’t need a relationship. “Every instinct told me I needed to run, that there was something about this beautiful stranger I couldn’t resist” The beginning is very simple, but the book is so complex. So many things will be revealed throughout the read and it will leave you panting for more, shocked and gripping the pages. I couldn’t get enough. I loved the little secrets here and there. It just adds so much drama, tension and it really shifted the book many times. It also flowed really well.I love Shea. I love that she’s strong, self-less and she doesn’t really want anything to do with Sebastian, but he has such a presence, it’s hard not to get to know him. She warns Sebastian many times she doesn’t date, but Sebastian continues to pursue her and I love it. “The only promise he’d ever made me was the one that he was going to break me”“And each time, he slipped a little deeper into my bones” Sebastian isn’t super famous, but he’s famous in the rocker world. Shea doesn’t know who he is and it’s so cute how she doesn’t treat him like a love-sick fan. I love Sebastian. I love that he’s so tortured. I loved that he had to escape his LA life and he’s trying to redeem himself from past actions. I love how his past is such a mystery and as I read, I’m slowly uncovering it. And it’s not all at the end! I loved that Jackson keeps me questioning throughout the read on what will happen next.Shea has her secrets too. There’s a reason why she doesn’t do relationships and why she is a waitress in a bar. It’s not the big plot to the book, but I like that part of the book. I loved that part actually and it will make your heart break more for Shea. “I wanted to escape into her layers, to skim along the surface, and get lost in the beauty. To feel the shyness. To sink beneath, deeper into that pent-up confusion and dark”“I guess when you loved someone, you were willing to accept all the pieces and factors and fragments that made them up, the sum of those adding up to the whole, and you were left with no choice but to wholly accept the total of that creation.” I love Jackson. I love her books, I love her stories. I love what she makes me feel. I LOVE LOVE LOVE her! Audio QuestionsWhat made the experience of listening to A Stone in the Sea the most enjoyable? The narrators and overall storyline made my listening experience most enjoyable. Narrators can make and break a book and these definitely made it. I loved that the storyline was multilayered. There was not a single tone to the read. I was pushed and pulled throughout and I loved it.What was one of the most memorable moments of A Stone in the Sea? Throughout the book more of the character’s pasts are revealed and I really enjoyed reading those parts. I felt like it added a lot of depth to the story. I felt like I was connecting more with the characters and I was really seeing it from their POV. A.L. Jackson really builds up her characters. They were 100% developed with issues and complexes.Which character – as performed by Andi Arndt and Sebastian York – was your favorite? This isn’t my first book narrated by Sebastian York. I have a tiny crush on this narrator. He’s voice is very deep and very seductive. He reads so well and really captures the character. I felt Sebastian the character. I felt the intensity and raw emotions. I’m a huge fan and I will listen to anything he narrates. This is my first book narrated by Andi Arndt and I love her! I love her Southern twang. She completely took on the Heroine’s character. Andi’s voice is feminine, yet sweet. I loved that she could go from Southern to non-southern, it felt very smooth and it completely flowed. I’m a fan.Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?I felt an array of emotions. All good and all pleasurable. I felt the character’s heartache, pain and even their passion. I even cried! There are some good scenes and it will make you feel. An Audio copy was kindly provided. AMAZON $3.99
    more
  • Kassidy
    January 1, 1970
    This was a little too over-the-top, dramatic, and insta-lovey for me. But the ending has a great twist and I will read the sequel.
  • Kelli C ~ Jack Sawyer's Heart
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 DEEP,DEEP,DEEP STARSWell that was completely unexpected! This will be a bit of a hard review for me as this book had 2 of my big bid No-No's - First I hate cliffhangers, second I hate instant love. BAM, both are present!Quick synopsis: Sebatian "Baz" Stone is part of a rock band embarking on success but he is currently in seclusion in a small southern town...hiding from his past, dealing with his demons, trying to process his effed up life. He and his band mates, and younger brother are just 2.5 DEEP,DEEP,DEEP STARSWell that was completely unexpected! This will be a bit of a hard review for me as this book had 2 of my big bid No-No's - First I hate cliffhangers, second I hate instant love. BAM, both are present!Quick synopsis: Sebatian "Baz" Stone is part of a rock band embarking on success but he is currently in seclusion in a small southern town...hiding from his past, dealing with his demons, trying to process his effed up life. He and his band mates, and younger brother are just trying to get by. Enter Charlie's, fun local bar and location of one beautiful, good hearted waitress Shea. Eyes meet, sparks fly, BAM a need so damn deep it is suffocating. This is the age old tale of bad boy wants good girl. Bad boy will crush good girl. Good girl has too much to lose. Good girl might not be what she appears. I know that is pretty vague but so is the whole "cosmic" pull of emotions that are off the charts deep.This book is HEAVY. This book has a beautiful lyrical quality to it. Reading it is almost like getting lost in a ballad of love and despair. It feels a bit fragmented and tortured...always on the cusp of something. I was a bit unprepared for Baz and Shea...I don't quite know if I "got" it completely and I especially didn't get that doozy of an ending and bomb drop! I know I will get book 2 because I HAVE to see how this is gonna play out...
    more
  • A.L. Jackson
    January 1, 1970
    Every time I write a book, I think I couldn't possibly fall in love with my characters any more than I did with that book. Sebastian and Shea are no exception. It was such an experience writing these two, a huge challenge to me as an author, and one I'm so thankful I dived into. I hope you enjoy Sebastian and Shea just as much as I enjoyed writing them.
    more
  • Vicki
    January 1, 1970
    This book really has an intense plot. There are so many half truths and deflections it is a wonder that Baz and Shea can even look at each other. They not only look at each other, they ignite each other. From the first look there is something strong pulling them together.Then we have the secrets, fears, regrets and more secrets. I loved Baz and Shea and especially Kallie.I could immediately saw that Baz wanted to be liked or wanted only for himself, not his stage persona. That made total sense This book really has an intense plot. There are so many half truths and deflections it is a wonder that Baz and Shea can even look at each other. They not only look at each other, they ignite each other. From the first look there is something strong pulling them together.Then we have the secrets, fears, regrets and more secrets. I loved Baz and Shea and especially Kallie.I could immediately saw that Baz wanted to be liked or wanted only for himself, not his stage persona. That made total sense to me. Where I had the problem, I did not understand Shea’s reasoning in telling him that huge lie. That lie that hovered like a big cloud over her head.I felt it was going to lead to a big problem. I have to say, I told you so at this point.All of the characters were very human and that allowed me to give Shea the benefit of a doubt as to the logic in her secrecy. The friends, well band members were really well written also. They had aggravation and compassion down cold. I enjoyed when they showed up with Baz. They brought a lot of color to the story.My main confession on this review is that I almost gave it a four because it was such a cliffhanger and those stress me out so much. I stayed awake to finish the book and it did not end, it just quit. Man, those cliffhangers are a bitter pill for me to swallow.As to the content, I can truthfully admit that I loved the writing, the characters and the story line. Where it ended, I can totally see where a complete book could be made with just telling the story from that point.As an update: It has been a few days since I read it and I am not quite as annoyed with the cliffhanger, but I am desperate to know how it ends. I will probably make myself pick up the second book in the series very soon. I know it will be good. It just better not be a cliffhanger! I concede that the rest of the story certainly deserves to be told.
    more
  • Ash
    January 1, 1970
    Find love and bring it here." When I came across the cover....I knew I had to have this book.....Its just so appealing....The cover itself, and the title...and the title of the series....it was just...too beautiful for me to pass up....The saying..."Don't judge a book by its cover"....? Yeah, that's true, you really shouldn't....because sometimes, the book is really, really bad.............but sometimes.......the book is so much better.I seriously loved everything about this book. It wasn't “Find love and bring it here." When I came across the cover....I knew I had to have this book.....Its just so appealing....The cover itself, and the title...and the title of the series....it was just...too beautiful for me to pass up....The saying..."Don't judge a book by its cover"....? Yeah, that's true, you really shouldn't....because sometimes, the book is really, really bad.............but sometimes.......the book is so much better.I seriously loved everything about this book. It wasn't just the cover that was appealing....the writing, the story line, the characters, the plot twists...? everything was perfect. There was seriously not one thing I could think of about this book that I didn't like [except for that ONE character....you know, the one in every book that you just absolutely despise...]I can't say too much, because I'll give the book away, but I will say, that as much as I absolutely loved the parts with Baz and Shea? The best parts were the parts with Baz and Kallie.I am so, so, so, so happy that I waited long enough to read this book....that the wait for book 2 is almost nonexistent. Book II: Drowning to Breathe comes out on SEPTEMBER 15! 11 days, I can totally do this...........come find me:www.facebook.com/ReadsAshIG: ash.reads Twitter: @ReadsAsh
    more
  • DKristin
    January 1, 1970
    WHAT IN THE MOTHER FUCKING FUCKETY FUCK SHIT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO WITH THAT???? WHAT THE FUCK??? YOU KNOW AL JACKSON... UGH! I'm gonna go cry in a fucking corner now... FUCK! Review to come fucking later! Check out My FULL Review at Kris & Vik Book Therapy Café... http://www.krisandvikbooktherapycafe....
    more
  • Farah *Professor Dean's Beauty*
    January 1, 1970
    Disappointed dissapointed dissapointed! LOL! I couldn't handle the repetition of feelings all the time..It was quite irritating
  • Penny
    January 1, 1970
    This book could have been so much better. In one hand, I find that there is a lack of context in the romantic relationship between the two main characters. The intensity of the feelings that they have for each other would make more sence if the couple would have had more interaction with each other before the those feelings are so strongly felt. I usually search for that kind of intensity in romance books and, more often than not, I am left wanting and disappointed because there is no intensity. This book could have been so much better. In one hand, I find that there is a lack of context in the romantic relationship between the two main characters. The intensity of the feelings that they have for each other would make more sence if the couple would have had more interaction with each other before the those feelings are so strongly felt. I usually search for that kind of intensity in romance books and, more often than not, I am left wanting and disappointed because there is no intensity. However, this book's case is different. The intensity is there, but a previos context to explain it is missing, a base, some fundament to justify those felling and have them be believable and realistic is needed. On the other hand, the book has way too much drama that doesn’t exist. It dramtizes things that are not drama, it makes mountans of sand.Overall, it was an enjoyable story. I liked it.
    more
  • Anna
    January 1, 1970
    To feel her storm. Just for a little while. Make me forget .
  • Tijuana *Book Twins Reviews*
    January 1, 1970
    Where theres beauty; theres also pain This book is romantic, sexy, emotional, tender, and real. Its the embodiment of physical longing, and raw need. The secrets and drama play out perfectly. My god! I loved this so much. Im kicking myself for waiting so long to read this book. Heres the breakdown: Sebastian (Baz) is a rocker on hiatus, attempting to lay low after a legal drama in Los Angeles. When he meets Shea, its like lightning in a bottle. Hes caught off guard and the feeling is mutual. “Where there’s beauty; there’s also pain” This book is romantic, sexy, emotional, tender, and real. It’s the embodiment of physical longing, and raw need. The secrets and drama play out perfectly. My god! I loved this so much. I’m kicking myself for waiting so long to read this book. Here’s the breakdown: Sebastian (Baz) is a rocker on hiatus, attempting to lay low after a legal drama in Los Angeles. When he meets Shea, it’s like lightning in a bottle. He’s caught off guard and the feeling is mutual. Although Shea recognizes he’s nothing but trouble, she can’t deny her feelings. What I absolutely loved: The writing and performance. Typically, I write a separate audiobook review, but the performance and writing worked so well in tandem with this audiobook. Both narrators were superb and absolutely increased my enjoyment of this book. I love words, and AL Jackson weaves them together so brilliantly. The writing and imagery are rhythmic and romantic. The main characters are real, raw, and well written. There’s a bit of insta-lust going on, but I loved it. I thoroughly enjoyed witnessing Sebastian and fall in love. The chemistry between these two is SMOKING HOT! The imagery, language, and emotions jump of the page in this sweet and sexy Rocker romance. Baz is my new love! The secondary characters are also intriguing. I absolutely adore cute kids in books and Callie interacting with Baz is heart-melting.The storyline and plot are both stars. The setup for future releases is handled superbly. I already want to know the guy’s stories. I’m particularly looking forward to Lyric, simply because his name is aces! Yep, I love little details like that. OMG! And the ending? Thank the stars above I waited to read the series. Off to listen to Book 2…I rate it: 4.5 “Do You See Me” Stars
    more
  • Alaina
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely loved this book!This was another book I got to pick from winning a reading challenge and I was so freaking happy!! 1. because it wasn't on my TBR2. it's a new series to me3. THE COVER PEOPLE.I honestly had no idea what this book was going to be about so I didn't really have any high expectations. Low and behold, I'm so happy that I didn't because this book was so freaking good!!Sebastian and Shea were beyond freaking adorable. Seriously, their first freaking kiss made me freaking I absolutely loved this book!This was another book I got to pick from winning a reading challenge and I was so freaking happy!! 1. because it wasn't on my TBR2. it's a new series to me3. THE COVER PEOPLE.I honestly had no idea what this book was going to be about so I didn't really have any high expectations. Low and behold, I'm so happy that I didn't because this book was so freaking good!!Sebastian and Shea were beyond freaking adorable. Seriously, their first freaking kiss made me freaking swoon! I loved every second of this delicious book. Sebastian and Shea are freaking relationship goals for life. Besides the kiss, their chemistry was amazing. I honestly couldn't put my phone (because it was on my kindle app!) down whenever there was a scene between the two.Ugh! I miss these two already and their romance!! I really need to find the second book of this series and I pray that their relationship gets even hotter! BECAUSE THAT GOD DAMN CLIFFHANGER PEOPLE! I need more, right now!
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    *ARC Given to Blog for Honest Review*4 I dont have time for distractions. Butterfly You see me Dark. Light. Heavy. Soft. KissesWowwhat an amazing, emotional storm of a book! Good gravythis had everything I could have asked for and then somefantastic, tie-me-up-in-knots angst...incredible passion and chemistrya gorgeous broken rock star and a heartbreakingly beautiful girlplus so many feels it almost made my heart explode. I couldnt get enough of Baz and Shea finished this book in less than 24 *ARC Given to Blog for Honest Review*4 “I don’t have time for distractions.” “Butterfly” “You see me” “Dark. Light. Heavy. Soft.” KissesWow…what an amazing, emotional storm of a book! Good gravy…this had everything I could have asked for and then some…fantastic, tie-me-up-in-knots angst...incredible passion and chemistry…a gorgeous broken rock star and a heartbreakingly beautiful girl…plus so many feels it almost made my heart explode. I couldn’t get enough of Baz and Shea – finished this book in less than 24 hours and all it did was leave me begging for more!Sebastian Stone…oh Baz…my torn and twisted rock star. He’s a tortured soul…plagued by demons from his past and he’s got the weight of the world on his shoulders. He’s a fantastic mixture of intensity…darkness…with a side of brooding emo artist…and it worked for me in all the right ways. I mean, Baz is, at his core, a musician…guitar, piano, singer…writes songs – he doesn’t have to try very hard to be sexy…but it’s in all the ways he doesn’t try that made me love him more. He’s very self-deprecating…can never see the good part of himself…but he’s got a huge heart and an enormous capacity to love and care for the people that mean the most of him. He keeps very few people close…he’s been burned enough times to know who to let in but I don’t think he knew what he was getting into when he met Shea. ‘But that didn’t change the fact she made me feel different when I was with her, like maybe not every single thing in this world was bad. As if this girl saw me for who I really was and she actually liked him.She’d asked me what I wanted from her. The problem was I had no clue. All I knew was it was more. That I wanted more of her dark and her light and her heavy and her soft. I wanted more of her sweet breaths and more of her pounding heart.I wanted more of her kissesFuck.I wanted more of her kisses.’ Shea Bentley…my sweet, strong Shea Bear…I have a deep-rooted love for this girl. I love her personality…her strength…her beauty…she’s very calm and unassuming, she kind of flies under the radar. I know that’s a really random thing to say but…overall, I enjoyed Shea…she’s easy to connect with but I always felt like there was more to her….and it’s not until the very end that it kind of all clicks into place and makes sense. And for the record...I was right. She’s determined and focused…kind and genuine…plus she’s a good old country girl through and through. Shea…surprised me…a lot. I’ll be honest, Shea had me fooled…I knew she had secrets…and I thought I figured them all out but I was so wrong. But I think that made me love her even more. ‘When I found him sitting there that first time, I thought I’d known better than to go looking for his brand of heartbreak. But Sebastian had revealed in me everything I’d been missing, stamped out my loneliness and inserted himself in its place. He made me believe in something I’d given up hope on a long time ago because I’d never found it to be real, never believing giving myself to someone wholly was worth the risk.Now I knew better.Now I knew it was worth everything.’ I love the build of Baz and Shea…it was slow…steady…gradual. There was always this simmering passion…unending chemistry between the two of them, but it wasn’t rushed or forced…it just came in, like it was the most natural thing in the world. The chemistry between the two of them is the stuff I live for…the smoldering, the desire, their connection is fierce and hot and I couldn’t get enough. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’ve read Ms. Jackson’s books before and they’re steamy but holy hell on wheels…Baz and Shea are fucking hot. Like five-alarm-fire hot…and I loved every second of it. Once again, it was all part of that build so watching emotions continue to mount, I was itching for that bursting point…and once they let go…I was in heaven. I cannot get over how much I loved the balance between these two characters…it was effortlessly perfect. She was the calm to his intensity…the quite to his noise…the light to his dark…they’re like the epitome of ying and yang and the peace that they brought each other brought joy to my heart. ‘I swallowed around it and rolled to lie on my side. Like she was drawn, she did the same, and in that second, the world felt small, like the two of us were side-by-side. Like she was right here with me, and those slender arms were wrapped around me. And there was no sound, nothing vocalized, but I could hear her whisper those same words that terrified me.I love you.But she was saying it with her care, with her concern for me. Because she saw me.The real me. The girl didn’t give a fuck who the world thought I was or the way other people saw me. I’d been so fearful of her knowing, of it changing what we were…how we were.But no.Shea reached in to touch beneath it.’ I know to expect excellence when it comes to A.L. Jackson…she’s just one of the authors that I can count on to give me everything I need…a complete journey with two beautiful characters and all the intense emotions that I crave. We go back and forth between Baz and Shea’s POV’s…it’s never repetitive…they may share thoughts and feelings about a situation that has happened in the previous chapter, but there is no re-hashing past events. I love dual POV so it totally worked for me…but for whatever reason I feel like I had a stronger connection with Baz than Shea…and that’s not usually the norm. Baz just overall is a stronger more powerful presence…and there’s nothing wrong with that…it’s not that he overpowers Shea…I already said I loved their balance…he’s just a very deep, solid character and I enjoyed that about him. I had two teeny tiny pet peeves that happened throughout the book…one, was the way Baz talked sometimes irk’d me…and it’s going to sound really dumb, but when he would say something, he’d drop the “I”…so he would say “Don’t wanna hurt you.” instead of “I don’t wanna hurt you.” I can handle this on rare occasion, but towards the last 30% of the book it started to bother me…for whatever reason I found it forced and it made him sound uneducated…and he’s not a dumb guy. The other thing was the word repetition…this was another thing I didn’t really catch on to until the end of the book…I liked it, at certain points, but the problem is…both Baz and Shea did it. Interchangeably. Two characters don’t think alike and I get trying to tie them together, but it made their POV’s sound too similar and they need to have individual tones. ‘I set my hand on her cheek, words strained as my eyes darted over every inch of her face, memorizing this moment. “I wasn’t supposed to fall in love with you.” A small gasp escaped from between those full lips, and a gentle smile tweaked just one side of my mouth as I tilted my head, shifting so I could brush my fingertips along the butterflies taking flight on her hip, my voice growing softer with the power of this admission. “I wasn’t supposed to fall in love with her.” Tears streamed ceaselessly from the corners of Shea’s eyes, gliding down the side of her face and into her hair as she stared up at me. “Yes, you were,” she said. Wind pummeled at the outside walls, its power matching the devotion I felt inside. I took her hand and pressed it over my pounding heart. “You told me you wanted this more than anything, Shea. I’m giving it to you. All of it. Every piece of me… it belongs to you. I have so much shit in my life, and I always thought that was all I was ever going to have. That this life was a trade-off for the band making it, retribution for all the crimes I committed on the road to getting us here. But you changed all that. You gave me hope. Something good to hang onto, and I’m not ever going to let it go.”’ There are so many ways to possibly spoil this plot…things that individually I wouldn’t normally consider spoilers but when the entire story comes together, it’s a crucial detail that could take away from the moment…which I don’t wanna do. I do have to say that overall…I did not see anything coming and that was pretty awesome. Even the stuff I thought I figured out…just…no, I didn’t. At all. Which made the ending even more jaw dropping and as things clicked into place it was like I couldn’t process the facts quickly enough and while it was tearing me up, I was still loving every second. I knew something big was coming but I was not prepared for that. At all…wow…my heart was in my throat and I’m dying! Great cliffhanger…I am so excited to see where A.L. takes Baz and Shea next because…there are still so many things that need to be addressed and I’m itching to see what happens.
    more
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    January 1, 1970
    Five Stars for the story, for the characters...BUT only 1 star for the writing :/Rant coming:No offense - but I hated it!!!!! < the writing - not the story - even though that's another thing - some things in the story were just stupid - but pfff it's fiction, so that's allowed!This was my first AL Jackson book and I was really looking forward to it - because I'm a HUGE #RockstarFangirl - and I DID enjoy it - but the writing hurt my eyes and brain. I'm sure most people don't notice or don't Five Stars for the story, for the characters...BUT only 1 star for the writing :/Rant coming:No offense - but I hated it!!!!! < the writing - not the story - even though that's another thing - some things in the story were just stupid - but pfff it's fiction, so that's allowed!This was my first AL Jackson book and I was really looking forward to it - because I'm a HUGE #RockstarFangirl - and I DID enjoy it - but the writing hurt my eyes and brain. I'm sure most people don't notice or don't care - but those repetitions she does... one word that gets repeated 3 times... like....Beating.Beating.Beating.Deeper.Deeper.Deeper.Falling.Falling.Falling.YES!!! I understood that you were falling after you said it once, and maybe you think that repeating the word makes it more poetic or makes the reader feel it more intensly, but this reader was just totally annoyed by it :(But even more annoying that those triple words, were the beginnings of sentences. She SO OFTEN leaves out the first word. Mostly when Baz talks. She leaves out the 'I' - I know, we all learn in school to never start a sentence with 'I', but this sounded totally ridiculous. I couldn't enjoy the story 100% because I had to grrrrrr out loud every time one of those triple words or I-missing-thingies happened :(Ok - rant over.I REALLY loved the story and Baz and Kallie and Shae and Charlie and the band... and I can't wait to see what book #2 will bring ... I'm reading that now!!!! And I will continue to read the rest of the series too - in the hopes that one smart editor will stop her from doing those stupid things again! ☺Ms Jackson - if you're reading this... no offense intended - I just had to complain a bit - I'm weird that way ☺ I love Baz!!! ♥PLEASE DON'T LET ME STOP YOU FROM BUYING AND ENJOYING THIS BOOK!It's a really cute and moving and sexy story!!
    more
  • AC Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    Bleeding Stars Series (A Stone in the Sea & Drowning to Breath)by A.L. Jackson ~ 5 StarsLove of a voice that was never really heard. Love of a face that was never really seen.WOW! WOW! What a story! Devoured both books in 2 days. So, here is the thing: I met this beautiful author in Vegas before I read any of her books she was so nice and gracious btw I have this series on my kindle and I cannot believe I waited this long to start ;( I am not going to be able to stop now onto Where Bleeding Stars Series (A Stone in the Sea & Drowning to Breath)by A.L. Jackson ~ 5 Stars“Love of a voice that was never really heard. Love of a face that was never really seen.”WOW! WOW! What a story! Devoured both books in 2 days. So, here is the thing: I met this beautiful author in Vegas before I read any of her books – she was so nice and gracious btw … I have this series on my kindle and I cannot believe I waited this long to start ;( I am not going to be able to stop now… onto Where Lightning Strikes as soon as I am done with this review.Sabastian is a lead singer and guitarist for the band Sunder. He and the band have it all – fans, fame and fortune. But Sabastian’s life is not perfect by a mile – he has a painful past that causes regrets, bitterness and a frequent temper which stems from his protective nature toward his family. Recent altercations with an executive producer sent Sabastian straight to a retreat in Savannah hoping he could lay low while his team cleans up the mess in LA. Well, Sabastian was laying low alright!!! Wink wink wink One night out at a bar he met a beautiful waitress Shea Bentley. He was drawn to her right away and could not help but want to know Shea more. Shea has no time for distractions – she has responsibilities and also despises the lifestyle of a rock star. But Shea’s body and heart are betraying her mind – will she succumb to the bad mysterious rock star?“He was both the sun and the darkest night. A promise of heaven and the curse of hell.”Here’s the catch though -- Sebastian and Shea both have an abundance of secrets between them. Life is complicated, and when past secrets come to light will they be able to trust each other again? God knows everyone else (with the exception of his bandmates and her close friends) is jaded with lies and deceit.A Stone in the Sea ended with a major cliff-hanger – no spoilers here… you just have to read!The second book picks up where Sabastian finds out who the real Shea is. He could not deal with it. He ran out and left Shea devastated and broken hearted. This is a part where I was really mad at Baz for not thinking things through before leaving – but that’s how Baz is, a hot temper and hard headed. Thankfully it did not take him long to pull his head out of his arse and grovel his way back to Shea. So, the make-up part is always fun and HoT But Baz and Shea both realize that they are so much stronger as a unit and they are determined to get their life back together, to bring down those that wronged them. Justice prevailed in the end. Pretty sweet!!!“But we can run as hard and as fast as we want, and until we put our pasts to rest, they will always catch up to us.”I really love both main characters in this book, even the secondary characters and I am very excited to read about them in the next book. Shea is a strong woman. Despite what she endured in the past she was able to move on and take care of her daughter. I like the fact that she did not heat up the sheets with Baz right away – she is not playing games. Shea is genuinely concerned about attachment to someone who might not in it for a long run – she wants to protect her heart as well as her daughter’s happiness. Baz is sexy, talented, damaged but an amazing guy despite his temper. Deep down Baz is loyal, devoted, caring and protective of those he loves even if it means putting himself in vulnerable situations. Shea and Baz’s story is touching, beautiful, emotional, and full of angst. At times, my heart hurts for them both … Their love for each other, however, is gorgeous - quite passionate, heart-felt, and sexy. The chemistry is very intense and scorching hot. There are also many cute, sweet and tender moments throughout the book, especially surrounding Kallie. Melted my heart how cute and innocent she is. This is the first time I read AL Jackson’s books. It did take me a few chapters to get used to her writing style. I was a little bit distracted at first with the repeated words but I quickly attributed that to the poetic way she tells her story. It’s just her style. It’s gorgeous and I am totally digging it. No doubt this is a fantastic read! AL Jackson, it is so nice to finally meet you and your beautiful characters!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE your stories and cannot wait for more to come!!! “Sometimes when you welcome in something new, the old can no longer remain.”
    more
  • Sophie
    January 1, 1970
    I've waited months to read this one. Not because I thought it would be bad as I'm a huge fan of AL Jackson's books but because my friends told me it ended on a big cliffhanger.As the second book should be published in 2 days now I went to read this one yesterday. And I read it in one sitting, litterally. Now, I'm mad I did not wait another day or two because I still have to wait! I'm dying of frustration right now and don't have any nails left "unchewed".The story is not a really complicated I've waited months to read this one. Not because I thought it would be bad as I'm a huge fan of AL Jackson's books but because my friends told me it ended on a big cliffhanger.As the second book should be published in 2 days now I went to read this one yesterday. And I read it in one sitting, litterally. Now, I'm mad I did not wait another day or two because I still have to wait! I'm dying of frustration right now and don't have any nails left "unchewed".The story is not a really complicated one, even if the main protagonists have secrets we learn throughout the book (the biggets being Shea's secret and it explodes like a nuclear bomb at the end of the book) but the feelings I got from reading She and Baz's story overwhelmed me completely. I could not be detached, the were drowning me in their emotions.Shea is such a beautiful and luminous heroine. Baz is gorgeous (yes ladies he is HOT), dark, tormented and drawn to Shea's light. They were so right together, there is no other words. They deserve their HEA and I hope they'll get it in Drowning to Breathe. I've faith in AL Jackson, she always give HEA. Well, mind you, she never ended a book with a cliffhanger before this one so I hope she won't change with the "and they lived happy ever after"!So now, fingers crossed, only 2 days to sleep (yes, I feel like a kid before Christmas) but it's still too long!
    more
  • J. Grayland
    January 1, 1970
    Loved it! A blossoming romance between the troubled lead singer of a rock band,and a small town girl, trouble follows Sebastian everywhere until he meets Shea and the chemistry they have explodes. This is a great story with a very unexpected cliffhanger at the end that I have to be patient for until June 2015 I just can not wait for it. Narrated by Sebastian York and Andi Arnt who do an amazing job.
    more
  • Syndi
    January 1, 1970
    Ugh!!! This book is painful to listen. Miss jackson indeed brings her writing style into this book. The ballad, the angst, the drama blend into one. But this time i found it too much. Way too much. And the development between the main characters is non existing. I dont understand why sebastian interested anf falls in love with shea. And suddnly sebastian wants to protect shea and callie? Makes callie his own child?? Huh?? *raising eyebrow*The insta love does not work at all. The alpha male from Ugh!!! This book is painful to listen. Miss jackson indeed brings her writing style into this book. The ballad, the angst, the drama blend into one. But this time i found it too much. Way too much. And the development between the main characters is non existing. I dont understand why sebastian interested anf falls in love with shea. And suddnly sebastian wants to protect shea and callie? Makes callie his own child?? Huh?? *raising eyebrow*The insta love does not work at all. The alpha male from sebastian is annoying and stupid. Shea character i do not see it a lot. Not being executed very well. 2 bleeding ears stars.
    more
  • Rachel
    January 1, 1970
    Overall rating (so far): 4 "Little Bug" stars!Triggers:Cheating: (view spoiler)[ No (hide spoiler)]Love triangle: (view spoiler)[ No (hide spoiler)]Sex with om/ow: (view spoiler)[ No (hide spoiler)]Intimate pasts: (view spoiler)[ Sebastian (hero): He definitely lead a troubled and wild life. He did the drugs, women and rock and roll. That's literally all that's mentioned about it. So we KNOW he was that typical rock star and then he did get in a relationship with another star of some sort? Model Overall rating (so far): 4 "Little Bug" stars!Triggers:Cheating: (view spoiler)[ No (hide spoiler)]Love triangle: (view spoiler)[ No (hide spoiler)]Sex with om/ow: (view spoiler)[ No (hide spoiler)]Intimate pasts: (view spoiler)[ Sebastian (hero): He definitely lead a troubled and wild life. He did the drugs, women and rock and roll. That's literally all that's mentioned about it. So we KNOW he was that typical rock star and then he did get in a relationship with another star of some sort? Model or musician? I am not sure, but after his latest run in with the law, she broke up with him when things got rough. He honestly didn't care (he says this in his inner thoughts) because he didn't love her. This went down before he went to Savannah, GA, so I am ASSUMING that's the last time he was been with anyone - simply because he had too much going on with the band and his younger brother and trying to deflect jail time. He is a rock star, but his sexual past is NOT thrown in your face at all. You just know that he did at one time in his life participate in all that crap. I so appreciated that. Knowing is one thing, but having to read details? No thank you, so thanks AL Jackson for not ruining him for me! :)Shea (heroine): She hasn't been with anyone since she had her precious daughter Kallie. So it's been about 4 years for her. We don't really get a lot of her past so far in this installment. We get more about Sebastian, but she definitely wasn't a virgin. (hide spoiler)]OW/OM drama: (view spoiler)[ None. (hide spoiler)]Push/pull: (view spoiler)[ I am going to be honest here - which, I'm sure, you wouldn't expect anything less lol. Sebastian pushes Shea away twice. Once towards the beginning before they become intimate, but after he finds out about her daughter. It was a dick move, but I think he more than makes up for it. Definitely redeemed himself after that. And then once was when his past was coming to light and he didn't want Shea and Kallie a part of that. He wanted to protect them and that happens with like 50+ pages left, so towards the end. Now, normally, I am not a huge fan of pushing away, especially by the hero because it's too much angst on my heart, too much room for mistakes (fidelity usually comes into play), and I like my heroes to fight for what they want. Sebastian's pushing didn't bother me though. I knew just from his inner thoughts (which never involved ow at ALL) that he would stay true to Shea. He loved her, without a doubt and simply wanted to protect her, all the way thinking he didn't deserve happiness with the life that he lead. And of course, the reader knew Shea was the same. She would never look at another man. Sebastian wasn't even TEMPTED to be with another woman. The only woman he wanted was Shea and if he couldn't have her (even if it was all his own self punishment) he didn't want anyone else. And to close this argument for why the pushing didn't bother me, Sebastian came back to HER both times. Shea never went to him. And I believe both times he made himself redeemable in my eyes. I understood where he was coming from totally, but I understood the flip side as well, and being that I DO like my heroes a little more alpha, I had to knock down at least a star for that. (hide spoiler)]HEA: (view spoiler)[ Non-relationship cliffhanger - on to book 2 (hide spoiler)]My review:I originally was going to wait until I finished book 2 before I wrote my review on this book. But then I thought, well, let me get my thoughts out there before I forget everything I want to write, especially about triggers. I really enjoyed this first installment, but depending on how book 2 goes, I may rate the series as a whole higher than 4 stars. My main reasons for why 4 and not 5 stars is because I tend to like my heroes more alpha (even though I understood his torment) AND I hate cliffhangers. On the plus side, the characters remained faithful, Sebastian and Shea were so sweet to each other and little Kallie was the most precious 4 year old girl. Loved her and I LOVED LOVED the sweet moments between Sebastian and his "little bug". God, my heart melts. So as much heartbreak as there was in this book for the two of these tortured souls to be together, there were many tender sweet sweet moments to compete. The ending was absolutely heartbreaking and I HAVE to go right into the next book. There is no question. On a side note - I really want Austin to get his own book. That poor boy. I would love to see him happy. I am not sure if I would read any spin off books on the other characters simply because 2/4 supporting guys are definite manwhores. Sometimes I am okay with it and sometimes I'm not. If they change their ways when they meet their women, maybe I would consider it because detailed scenes with them and others weren't so bad in this installment. Anyways, we will see on that!I really wanted to wait until I read both books before writing my review for this one
    more
  • The Girl Murdered by Her TBR
    January 1, 1970
    Ughhhh!!! What the hell???!!!This book is so cliche, nothing was new. Every scene was so boring and predictable. The only thing that saved this book from a dnf is Kallie. She was the cutest thing ever. The rest of the character was annoying and frustrating.Baz and Shea's had the "instalove" kind of relationship. They also annoy me because of the push and pull bullshit relationship they have. Nope, not impressed with it. Baz was the jaded bad boy, who is in the verge of self-destruction, while Ughhhh!!! What the hell???!!!This book is so cliche, nothing was new. Every scene was so boring and predictable. The only thing that saved this book from a dnf is Kallie. She was the cutest thing ever. The rest of the character was annoying and frustrating.Baz and Shea's had the "instalove" kind of relationship. They also annoy me because of the push and pull bullshit relationship they have. Nope, not impressed with it. Baz was the jaded bad boy, who is in the verge of self-destruction, while Shea was the good girl with secret past blah blah blah!!! SOOOO CLICHE!!!But even if its like this, I'll still continue to read the sequel and I'm hoping that everything will be bearable. I hope the sequel will make this book better.
    more
Write a review