Cross Check
A party girl and a clean-cut college hockey player discover that they’re not so different in this sexy, soulful Bayard Hockey novel from the bestselling author of Shut Out and the Heller Brothers series. Ella Verran has three goals this semester: get off academic probation, repair her relationship with her friend Skylar, and take some responsibility for her life. All of which are hard enough without hot, snobby hockey player Ben Buckingham around to distract her. Ella can’t stand Ben, and she knows the feeling is mutual. But he’s best friends with Skylar’s boyfriend, so he’s always around—taunting and tempting Ella in ways she never thought possible. As the star forward of the Bayard College hockey team, Ben has goals too, like playing well enough to land a spot on an NHL roster. Ben is perfectly poised on the ice, so why can’t he keep his cool around Ella? Her wild behavior rubs him in all the wrong ways—and a few of the right ones. But as they skate around each other, Ben learns that there’s more to Ella than her bad reputation. And when the line between love and hate starts to blur, he can’t resist crossing over and sweeping her off her feet.“Kelly Jamieson is my go-to author for hockey romance.”—USA Today bestselling author Jami Davenport The Aces Hockey series: MAJOR MISCONDUCT | OFF LIMITS | ICING | TOP SHELF | BACK CHECK The Bayard Hockey series: SHUT OUT | CROSS CHECK The standalone hockey romance: DANCING IN THE RAIN And don’t miss her Last Shot series: BODY SHOT | HOT SHOTIncludes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Cross Check Details

TitleCross Check
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherLoveswept
Rating
GenreSports and Games, Sports, Romance, Contemporary Romance, Hockey, New Adult

Readers also enjoyed


Cross Check Review

  • Heather andrews
    January 22, 2017
    I loved Ben, that man was so sweet in his own way, “we could drive somewhere and I could eff you in this car,” he continues, now back to nipping at my lips. “But I don’t want that for you either. Sex in a car can be hot, but I want better for you. I want to make it good for you.” Ben tries his hardest to make compelling arguements to his woman, “it makes sense to me. Also, sex apparently strengthens your immune system, and you wouldn’t want to get sick right before mid-terms.” I loved this book, I loved Ben, that man was so sweet in his own way, “we could drive somewhere and I could eff you in this car,” he continues, now back to nipping at my lips. “But I don’t want that for you either. Sex in a car can be hot, but I want better for you. I want to make it good for you.” Ben tries his hardest to make compelling arguements to his woman, “it makes sense to me. Also, sex apparently strengthens your immune system, and you wouldn’t want to get sick right before mid-terms.” I loved this book, Ben was so sweet to Ella, well not really at first but once things got going you saw a completely different side of both of them.
    more
  • Linda Quick
    January 22, 2017
    This is a fun and sexy romance full of college angst - from the party girl Ella to the perfect hockey player Ben. Ella has a history and is still dealing from the issues surrounding her friend's suicide, while Ben is hiding issues in his past. Despite believing they hate each other, because of mutual friends, they keep getting thrown together. Slowly they start to build a friendship/relationship that is full of fire and ice. I particularly enjoyed the complexity of the characters and the way the This is a fun and sexy romance full of college angst - from the party girl Ella to the perfect hockey player Ben. Ella has a history and is still dealing from the issues surrounding her friend's suicide, while Ben is hiding issues in his past. Despite believing they hate each other, because of mutual friends, they keep getting thrown together. Slowly they start to build a friendship/relationship that is full of fire and ice. I particularly enjoyed the complexity of the characters and the way the author tackled some tough subjects.Fans of the genre will love this book. While it is part of a series, it is a stand alone novel. While I've read many of the author's books, this is the first one I've read in this series and I had not trouble jumping into the middle of it. If you're a contemporary romance fan, add this one to your TBR list - you'll be glad you did. Just be aware that this is a very sexy story with some very explicit scenes that are not for younger readers.
    more
  • Laurel
    March 5, 2017
    I was given an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest and independent review. I really enjoy Kelly Jamieson's books. They are easy and fun reads, predictable but with a journey to get to the end of the story. The characters are likeable and the heroes hot. Whilst I know nothing about hockey the amount of sport involved is just right to set the scene. 3.5***
    more
  • Heather
    February 22, 2017
    **Advanced reader copy received from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**In this second book in the Bayard Hockey series, we get a little bit of everything - love, hate, emotion, empathy and of course hockey! While this is part of a series, it can easily be read as a standalone and your enjoyment will not be effected.Ben Buckingham is a stud on the Bayard hockey team and his chances of being drafted into the NHL are very high. While Ben projects himself as a polished, w **Advanced reader copy received from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**In this second book in the Bayard Hockey series, we get a little bit of everything - love, hate, emotion, empathy and of course hockey! While this is part of a series, it can easily be read as a standalone and your enjoyment will not be effected.Ben Buckingham is a stud on the Bayard hockey team and his chances of being drafted into the NHL are very high. While Ben projects himself as a polished, well-dressed athlete, there are some things in his past that he would much rather leave there and solely focus on hockey and moving forward with his life.Ella Verran is going through her own trying time since she's just been put on academic probation and she's trying to repair her relationship with her best friend Skylar. Since Skylar is her best friend, she often finds herself hanging out with her and her boyfriend, Jacob, who also happens to be best friends with Ben. Ben and Ella have always had a love-hate relationship and for them, spending time together isn't exactly high on their list of things to do. Or is it?As Ben and Ella get to know one another better and they see other sides of each other, they realize that maybe they have judged one another completely wrong. While neither of them is looking for a committed relationship, are they going to be able to smolder the sparks that are igniting between them?While this book does center on college, hockey and relationships, I felt like it centered on so much more. It dealt with love, loss, forgiveness and mental illness and it shed some light on issues that sometimes are still difficult for people to address. Kudos to Kelly Jamieson for writing not only a great love story, but one that shed light on other important topics.
    more
  • Taylor B
    February 27, 2017
    ARC provided by Netgalley. When I first started reading this book, I didn't think I would like it much sadly because Ben came off as incredibly judgmental and Ella came off as a little too passive aggressive and I thought the whole book would be filled with internal monologues and scenes where the main characters were always separate. However, that wasn't the case at all and I was pleasantly surprised by this enemies-to-lovers story. I flat out really enjoyed it and read it all in one sitting. O ARC provided by Netgalley. When I first started reading this book, I didn't think I would like it much sadly because Ben came off as incredibly judgmental and Ella came off as a little too passive aggressive and I thought the whole book would be filled with internal monologues and scenes where the main characters were always separate. However, that wasn't the case at all and I was pleasantly surprised by this enemies-to-lovers story. I flat out really enjoyed it and read it all in one sitting. Once you get past the initial chapters, the story picks up and BAM! You're sucked in.
    more
  • Deanna (A Novel Glimpse)
    February 7, 2017
    Original review: A Novel GlimpseNote: I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.Last month I read my first Kelly Jamieson novel. It was one of her contemporary hockey romances and I was really impressed. I loved her writing style and couldn't believe how well she pulled off third person dual point of view narration. I was excited to get another chance to read one of her upcoming novels, this time a new adult hockey romance. If I was impressed with the first book I r Original review: A Novel GlimpseNote: I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.Last month I read my first Kelly Jamieson novel. It was one of her contemporary hockey romances and I was really impressed. I loved her writing style and couldn't believe how well she pulled off third person dual point of view narration. I was excited to get another chance to read one of her upcoming novels, this time a new adult hockey romance. If I was impressed with the first book I read by Kelly Jamieson, Cross Check completely blew me away.Cross Check was told in first person dual narration, and it was so much fun to read! I couldn't get enough of this enemies to lovers romance. The sexual tension rolling off Ella and Ben was explosive. I loved every minute of their hate to love fest.Ella was a good person who had made some poor choices recently. Those choices had given her a reputation she wanted to get away from. That was hard to do knowing people, like Ben, were judging her. I loved the strength she showed making changes and getting the help she needed. Ella was a great role model for young women out there. She proved there isn't anything that can stand in your way of changing yourself if you want it bad enough. Ben had issues of his own. He thought he had moved past them, but really he was just hiding from them. I enjoyed the way he learned that he might have been judging Ella the way he didn't want to be judged. The way they taught each other to move on from the past was very sweet. Oh, and that sexual tension I mentioned before? Well, it was HOT, HOT, HOT when they finally acted on it.The only thing I wish I could have changed was not having read the first Bayard Hockey novel before reading Cross Check. I felt like I was missing was a little bit of both Ben and Ella's past. They obviously had some deeply negative feelings about each other from what took place in the first book. I also would have liked to have a better understanding of what happened to make Ella who she was in this book. But all this is on me, not the author's writing ability. I should have read the first book! I need to go back and read it now.Cross Check was a fun college hockey romance with some intense issues built into it. I loved every moment of it. I respected the way Kelly Jamieson made a fiery romance educational as well. I highly recommend this book to new adult fans out there.
    more
  • poppy
    February 13, 2017
    This was a fun sexy read you cant but help love Ben hes so sweet i really enjoyed his and Ella's story its well written and you won't want to put it down would recommend this book its a great read and i can not wait for the next one.
  • Charidy
    January 26, 2017
    This is not your typical College Romance (or Hockey Romance)... it was SO MUCH MORE. This wonderful romance follows mainly Ella and Ben and growing up.... rather more like learning to be what they think being an adult is. Ella is trying to deal with the loss of good friend and rebuilding her friendship with her best friend. Meanwhile she learns that Ben is not the stuck up guy always thought. Ben has always thought he has to hide his past and where he came from, afraid that people will look down This is not your typical College Romance (or Hockey Romance)... it was SO MUCH MORE. This wonderful romance follows mainly Ella and Ben and growing up.... rather more like learning to be what they think being an adult is. Ella is trying to deal with the loss of good friend and rebuilding her friendship with her best friend. Meanwhile she learns that Ben is not the stuck up guy always thought. Ben has always thought he has to hide his past and where he came from, afraid that people will look down on him. He's only told his best friend (and teammate) Flash and now Ella. Together they learn to conquer their pasts. Ben is also one of the star hockey players for the college and is facing a possible NHL draft. This book also covers serious social issues facing college students and college athletes. They characters are all very developed and relatable and the book keeps you glued. You want each character to succeed and root for them. She also is able to describe Hockey with enough description that you can easily picture the game in your head without it dragging. The author keeps you entertained with the banter of the characters while you also experience their challenges. You cant help but feel like you have a new set of young friends. I look forward to reading other stories by this author.
    more
  • Tracy Flick
    January 22, 2017
    Cross Check by Kelly Jamieson is a great addition to her Bayard Hockey series. Cross Check is a great read that draws you in to the characters lives. Ben and Ella have a love-hate relationship that you just love. After spending some more time together, you start to see their true feelings coming out...along with some of their insecurities. I thoroughly enjoyed Cross Check and cannot wait until the next book the series.
    more
  • C bond
    February 5, 2017
    netgalleyone of my fave authors. love the book
  • Sheryl
    January 26, 2017
    *4.5 stars**ARC courtesy of Netgalley and Random House Publishing*
Write a review