My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island
Moor your heart on Mackinac Island along with resident sweetheart Maude Welling, an heiress trying to prove her worth by working incognito as a maid at the Grand Hotel. Meet Ben Steffans, a journalist posing as a wealthy industrialist who has come to the island to uncover a story about impoverished men pursuing heiresses at the famed hotel. Will a growing love between Maude and Ben be scuttled when truths are revealed in this Gilded Age romance?

My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island Details

TitleMy Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 1st, 2017
PublisherBarbour Books
ISBN1683220889
ISBN-139781683220886
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical, Romance, Christian Fiction, Christian, Christian Historical Fiction, Fiction

My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island Review

  • Julie Carpenter
    June 8, 2017
    I'm between 3.5 stars and 4 stars so rounding up I gave it 4!If you love historical Christian Fiction I highly recommend any of the books from this "My Heart Belongs" series. There are 6 books total and they release every other month throughout 2017. This is the fourth one I've read and I can't wait to finish out with the last two. Maude's story takes place on the beautiful Mackinac Island. No I haven't visited but from the descriptions throughout the story and the history behind the Island reso I'm between 3.5 stars and 4 stars so rounding up I gave it 4!If you love historical Christian Fiction I highly recommend any of the books from this "My Heart Belongs" series. There are 6 books total and they release every other month throughout 2017. This is the fourth one I've read and I can't wait to finish out with the last two. Maude's story takes place on the beautiful Mackinac Island. No I haven't visited but from the descriptions throughout the story and the history behind the Island resort, it sounds lovely. The Grand Hotel, The Winds of Mackinac Inn, the stables, the quaint setting and the ferry, as well as the carriages traveling all over the island transporting the tourists as well as the locals. Oh I can't forget the fun little soda shop. It really had me wanting to dress up in a beautiful Victorian style gown, grab a parasol, and ride along the streets in an open air carriage. Doesn't that sound fun? Ok I'm sure not everyone would want to dress in a gown but maybe vacationing on an island and having a fun open air carriage ride? Count me in!!!The author did a wonderful job with the descriptions of the different settings, not just the island, as you can probably tell from my above thoughts.I enjoyed the different characters and the mystery that was surrounding each one. Many secrets, some that the characters purposely kept hidden and some that the characters had no understanding of but had several hints slowly revealed throughout the book that opened their eyes to the secret.I liked the Prince and the Pauper feel and aspects that the author added to the story. And a fun cameo from Mark Twain himself. If you read the author's notes(or it could be the forward) she discusses where part of the idea of using the Prince and the Pauper came from.Maude's family has owned and are many of the main year round residents of Mackinac Island and throughout the story they all are hinting at something that Maude needs to discover for herself but won't share with her. That was frustrating at some points because everyone kept alluding to it but they treated her like a little girl sometimes in never revealing but just taunting her about this big thing. You could argue that they were doing it to protect her but after her hurt of being set aside from her childhood friend whom she was supposed to marry, it felt like they were just adding insult to injury. And yet it did build the mystery for the reader as to what was coming. I'm sure you will be able to pick up and know what they are all alluding to but there were some different twists that might make you second guess yourself.A few different times in the story felt a little confusing to me but overall I liked reading about the characters and their backstories as well as trying to figure out the big reveals.I liked a thought from one reviewer(Marlene), she quoted Maude praying for help forgiving another character and how it was refreshing to have a heroine who wasn't vindictive or holding a grudge throughout. I heartily agree with you Marlene! Great thought!Ben has a past of heartache and sorrow and has a big shot at gaining his greatest dream. He just needs to get the big scoop on some of the tourists on the island, write a revealing newspaper article and he's on his way. Now is anything ever that easy? Of course not, especially in fiction where the characters must have a character arc and struggle and fail sometimes before they learn and grow. Ben is no exception but he was a good counterbalance for Maude. I enjoyed their interactions and the sweet romance between them.Will everyone uncover or reveal their secrets? Can the secrets be forgiven or must the characters have no redemption from their lies and coverups? Mystery, fortunes, lavishness, health struggles, heartache, broken love, scandal, marriage, family, family and more family and lots of love and peace through God is all contained within these pages.There's so many more aspects to this story that I didn't cover but I can't share all its secrets right?Content: Clean. Religious aspects-Christian fiction so the characters attend church and discuss/think about God in their lives and ask for His help throughout the story. Nothing preachy and overbearing but a nice addition and really a good driving force behind the character's lives and stories. Oh I can't forgot to mention the music in the book and Ben's piano playing skills(can you tell I'm a pianist? LOL).I received a copy from the publisher, Barbour publishing, via NetGalley. Thanks Barbour! All thoughts and opinions in the review are my own.Happy Reading!!!
    more
  • Marlene
    May 8, 2017
    My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island: Maude’s Mooring by Carrie Fancett Pagels, (2017, Barbour) is fourth in the My Heart Belongs series. It’s a Christian historical romance set in Michigan in 1895. Books in this series are all standalone, unified only in that each is a Christian historical romance set in a different state. I selected this book from NetGalley (in exchange for an honest review) because I previously enjoyed My Heart Belongs in the Superstition Mountains: Carmella’s Quandry. Rati My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island: Maude’s Mooring by Carrie Fancett Pagels, (2017, Barbour) is fourth in the My Heart Belongs series. It’s a Christian historical romance set in Michigan in 1895. Books in this series are all standalone, unified only in that each is a Christian historical romance set in a different state. I selected this book from NetGalley (in exchange for an honest review) because I previously enjoyed My Heart Belongs in the Superstition Mountains: Carmella’s Quandry. Rating: 4 1/2 starsThe heroine: Maude Welling, 21, is anticipating the return of her fiance Greyson from his travels. Only… he has come home with a wife! This is upsetting to her and it poses a problem: Maude’s father will only allow her to take over the family hotel as a married woman. The Winds of Mackinac has been in the family for generations, and Maude’s recently deceased mother “had prepared her since childhood to take over the running of the inn.” But her father is concerned that the level of responsibility required would exert too much pressure on her, and so he wants Maude to have a husband to share the burden. Maude disagrees and takes extreme measures to prove herself... The hero: Ben Steffan is a society columnist for the Detroit Post. He’s on Mackinac Island posing as the German-speaking, wealthy industrialist “Friedrich Konig” in order to “spot the targets for his article,” which in turn will likely assure his promotion to assistant editor. Immediately after he arrives (on the same train as Greyson and his wife), Ben encounters a distraught Maude, discombobulated from the shock of Greyson’s marriage. Ben seems rather taken with Maude right off the bat.Christian elements: Pagels’ portrayal of God’s presence in everyday life is good. Both the hero and heroine avoid alcohol, which is in line with many Christians’ thinking about the topic. At one point, Maude invites Ben to attend her church, where she is a Sunday school teacher. (Although, her reason for inviting him is a bit odd, in my opinion.) A few quotes are below:“It was as though God had allowed her that tiny moment of kindness to assuage the pain Greyson’s betrayal had delivered.” “For months now, God had seemed to be telling her that Greyson was not the man for her.”At 6% on my Kindle: “Last night she’d prayed for Greyson and Anna and asked God to help her to forgive them.” Bravo, Ms. Pagels. Nice to see a heroine not holding onto a grudge throughout the book for once! Forgiveness at the beginning! Awesome!Is it clean/chaste? Yes, most certainly!What I liked: *The minor detail included about sleeves and armbands - I never knew!*The surprises in this book. I was genuinely surprised multiple times. What fun! *I was pleased with the inclusion of “Frederick’s” German phrases, along with translations consistently offered in a smooth way. I find it frustrating when I’m reading and cannot figure out the meaning of foreign phrases from the context! Ms. Pagels’ handling of this is superior to that of any other author in memory. (My earliest experience with untranslated foreign phrases in my reading material was Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot mysteries. Boy, that always frustrated me! And I read every single one!) What I didn’t like: (These are very minor points that I don’t think much affect the quality of the story.)*The interest Ben and Maude have for each other seemed to be too much too soon. I disliked: “Why did her [Maude’s] thoughts continue to drift off to the stranger rather than to her childhood sweetheart?” No matter the reason for Maude’s upset at her betrayal by Greyson, I think it would be more natural to have her dwell on the probable reason for Greyson’s marriage. With perhaps just a thought or two about the handsome and kind Ben.*At the beginning of the book, Maude is shown playing her own music on the piano, and yet that is never revisited.*A few phrases here and there make this book sound like it might be a sequel. I’ve looked at the descriptions of all of Ms Pagels’ previous books, and didn’t find anything that sounded like a backstory. “Begging your pardon, but none of those ladies lifted a finger to help us when Pa went missing.” “Their gardener had finally sobered up long enough to come back and perform his job adequately again.” There were a few other quotes that made me think I was missing something, including at least one mention of an offstage character. *Early on, Maude is suspicious of Ben’s accent and how he represents himself, but nothing is ever made of that. She doesn’t investigate and eventually drops it. Yet, she is surprised later when she learns Frederick is not the person he purports to be.***********The bottom line: I really enjoyed this book because of the romance, but also because of the things that took me by surprise. I recommend this book to fans of historical American Christian romance. I look forward to reading more by this author, and plan to read The Fruitcake Challenge , which I’m particularly interested in as it is set in a lumber camp!
    more
  • Karen
    April 26, 2017
    A beautiful Mackinac Island, Michigan setting in June 1895, brings together a young woman and man posing as their opposites in society. Maude believes she must prove her worth and ability to run an inn to convince her father. Ben just wants a good story, so he can hopefully advance in his career. There was a lot of deception and misunderstanding between the main characters, preventing them from really getting to know each other. Each one wrestles with their conscience, and has to decide if they A beautiful Mackinac Island, Michigan setting in June 1895, brings together a young woman and man posing as their opposites in society. Maude believes she must prove her worth and ability to run an inn to convince her father. Ben just wants a good story, so he can hopefully advance in his career. There was a lot of deception and misunderstanding between the main characters, preventing them from really getting to know each other. Each one wrestles with their conscience, and has to decide if they will trust in God for their future, learning to look to Him for guidance, to discern His will, instead of holding tightly to possessions or misguided ambitions. The theme of forgiveness and looking to God to meet our needs was illustrated well in the story. I like how this author used real landmarks and places in the story, researching the area, and painting a picture of what island life was like in the summer when wealthy tourists came to stay on the island. It sounded like a lovely place to vacation, biking and walking everywhere. The use of real people and their work, like Mark Twain and his book The Prince and the Pauper, added authenticity; the plot was even a bit of a take on this classic.The index had some interesting facts about the time and locale. I had a hard time connecting to the characters in the first half, as the story seemed to jump around a lot. It came together nicely later on though. It was fun to see the nod to some of the author's characters from other stories in a few spots.Recommend for readers who enjoy historical Christian romances. (An e-book was provided by NetGalley and the publisher. All opinions are my own.)
    more
  • Sonja
    April 10, 2017
    Carrie Fancett Pagels is an exceptional author. Her books are full of great descriptions so that you feel you are living in that time and place, easily visualizing everything she writes about. This July 1, 2017 release is sure to be a hit!The beautiful cover is an instant draw and most appropriate for the wonderful historical novel. The book is written in a wonderful setting and definitely makes me want to go there on a trip! I love the mystery that develops throughout the book. It has a great p Carrie Fancett Pagels is an exceptional author. Her books are full of great descriptions so that you feel you are living in that time and place, easily visualizing everything she writes about. This July 1, 2017 release is sure to be a hit!The beautiful cover is an instant draw and most appropriate for the wonderful historical novel. The book is written in a wonderful setting and definitely makes me want to go there on a trip! I love the mystery that develops throughout the book. It has a great plot!There are several books to this series, of which I have read two. I am planning on reading all of them! Great series.I received a copy of this e-book from Net Galley for my honest review. All thoughts are my own.
    more
  • Joyful
    April 1, 2017
    While being a part of My heart belongs series, this book can be read as a stand alone. Because her father won't let her run the inn without a husband, Maude Welling decides to prove to her father that she can run it without a husband by working incognito as a maid at the rival inn. The Winds of Mackinac Inn.has been in her mother’s family for generations, Undercover journalist Ben Steffans is posing as a wealthy industrialist and pursuing a story about impoverished men chasing heiresses at the f While being a part of My heart belongs series, this book can be read as a stand alone. Because her father won't let her run the inn without a husband, Maude Welling decides to prove to her father that she can run it without a husband by working incognito as a maid at the rival inn. The Winds of Mackinac Inn.has been in her mother’s family for generations, Undercover journalist Ben Steffans is posing as a wealthy industrialist and pursuing a story about impoverished men chasing heiresses at the famed Grand Hotel, but he himself soon becomes attracted to an intriguing maid. By saving Jack, Maude's younger brother, from injury Ben endears himself to the closed-mouthed islanders using the incident to dig deep for his story. While doing so, he uncovers scandals that threatens the love growing between them. What secret is her father hiding? Who is Mrs. Fox? What is her Uncle Robert hiding from her? Oh such mysteries! Will their love survive all this mystery?! I absolutely loved the characters and plot in this story!I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
    more
  • Melissa Henderson
    April 1, 2017
    A story full of mystery and intrigue. Concealed identities and trust issues cause turmoil and chaos amidst the possibility of new love. Reading this great story makes me want to know more about Mackinaw Island. I enjoyed this story very much. I received a copy of this story from NetGalley and the author and this is my personal honest opinion.
    more
  • Tina
    April 4, 2017
    My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island: Maude's Mooring (My Heart Belongs) by Carrie Fancett Pagels1895...Mackinac Island, Michigan...Maude Welling just cannot understand why her father is so adamant about her not managing Winds of Mackinac Inn without a husband. Well, she has to do something to prove to him she is capable of running it without a husband. Thus she comes up with a plan, albeit a risky one at best. Journalist Ben Steffans—or rather Friedrich Konig—is on an undercover assignment as a My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island: Maude's Mooring (My Heart Belongs) by Carrie Fancett Pagels1895...Mackinac Island, Michigan...Maude Welling just cannot understand why her father is so adamant about her not managing Winds of Mackinac Inn without a husband. Well, she has to do something to prove to him she is capable of running it without a husband. Thus she comes up with a plan, albeit a risky one at best. Journalist Ben Steffans—or rather Friedrich Konig—is on an undercover assignment as a wealthy industrialist staying at the infamous Grand Hotel pursing a story about impoverished men chasing women of financial means and heiresses—and maybe a promotion when finished...and finds himself intrigued by an attractive maid.Circumstances and mishaps bring Ben and Maude together and they form a fragile, tender friendship. As Ben digs deeper into his story he uncovers scandals and secrets that could unravel the fragile love growing. A story filled with mystery and intrigue, joys and sorrows, love and faith. I love Maude and Ben...and Jack is a precious little boy full of energy! There are characters that I was not sure I would like at first but later in the story I changed my mind about them. The authors' description of the Island has me wanting to take a trip and visit and maybe stay for a long while. I would stay at the Winds of Mackinac Inn and maybe get Jack to slow down a bit and take me on a tour. Wonderful, heartwarming story.(~I also received an e-book from the author via netgalley, (no monetary gain were exchanged), this is my honest review~)
    more
  • Vicky Sluiter
    June 5, 2017
    Set in my beautiful state of Michigan on Mackinac Island, I loved that Author Carrie Fancett Pagels did her homework and portrayed the island true to form. Even including the lovely lilacs it’s known for! It was tough to see the class differences on the island but that was very real for its day and Carrie didn’t shy away from what would have happened and how people in all classes would have responded to situations.Full of twists, turns, and intrigue, I was immediately pulled into this story. The Set in my beautiful state of Michigan on Mackinac Island, I loved that Author Carrie Fancett Pagels did her homework and portrayed the island true to form. Even including the lovely lilacs it’s known for! It was tough to see the class differences on the island but that was very real for its day and Carrie didn’t shy away from what would have happened and how people in all classes would have responded to situations.Full of twists, turns, and intrigue, I was immediately pulled into this story. The characters of this book are very believable and they learn that trusting God is so very important. It was great to see growth portrayed as they learned this lesson, and to see how it affected their decisions.I highly recommend this book and look forward to reading more by this author!I received a complimentary copy of this book but was not required to leave a positive review.
    more
  • Amy
    May 18, 2017
    2.5 starsIts hard to say how I feel about this story. On one hand, I really enjoyed being whisked away to the Island of Mackinac. Being a new resident of Lower Michigan, I have wanted to visit for a while. I have seen pictures, and the Grand Hotel truly looks stunning. The quiet pace of life seems very appealing and I can see why it's a popular tourist destination during the summer. I have also read historical fiction concerning the island during the War of 1812, and I am aware that there is fur 2.5 starsIts hard to say how I feel about this story. On one hand, I really enjoyed being whisked away to the Island of Mackinac. Being a new resident of Lower Michigan, I have wanted to visit for a while. I have seen pictures, and the Grand Hotel truly looks stunning. The quiet pace of life seems very appealing and I can see why it's a popular tourist destination during the summer. I have also read historical fiction concerning the island during the War of 1812, and I am aware that there is further military history dating back to the Revolutionary War. It seems to have been a targeted stronghold, and a strategic bonus to whichever side seemed to have its control. Sitting to the right side of the Straits, its located in Lake Huron, and after the Civil War it became a popular tourist haven. This story is based in 1895, and at this point, the Grand Hotel is fairly new. While I loved the locations, and descriptive side of the book, the story felt heavily lacking in plot. A Detroit journalist is staying there supposedly to uncover the scandal of men looking for a wealthy wife. Why is this scandalous? From what I have read, this kind of behavior was common during this and prior years. I wasn't convinced this was a 'story of the century' to propel Ben Staffen into the promotion he is seeking at the paper. Maude Welling, is a Islander who is struggling to cope with a Father who wants to sell her beloved home and Inn, the 'Winds of Mackinac'. He wishes to leave the Island and take his family to a farm in Lower Michigan. Maude suffers from asthma and has no desire to leave the Island. She secretly takes up a job at the Grand Hotel, in her efforts to prove herself to her Father. However, its a secret, and he doesn't know! There's details to be uncovered regarding the inheritance, and a betrayal of sorts by Maude's past beau, however she seems to not really hold much emotional attachment to him anyway. Ben is holding more than one secret. He's hiding behind the fake identity of a wealthy industrialist from Detroit, however his German roots hold a mystery that only he knows. This book was lengthy, and I struggled to get through it and accept many of the details as realistic. The ship incident, and the rescue seemed a little odd. If not for this amazing location, I probably would not have finished the book. I will say it was a pleasant surprise to see the heroine's name - my own Grandmother was called Maud, and to be honest I have never heard of anyone else being called that. The author states that it was popular during this time period. My own Grandma being born in the the early 1900s and in England, I guess that would fit. Thank you to Netgalley & Barbour Publishing for the eARC. This is my honest review.
    more
  • Dee/ bookworm
    April 11, 2017
    My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island was a good read, but it didn't draw you in. I found myself wondering how these characters where in love. It didn't seem as though you had any more than mild attraction and then they were sweethearts. And why couldn't Maude leave the island? Her dad told Ben to find out but it was never mentioned again. I felt like the novel had a slow start and a lot of things where suggested but never wholly unveiled. I would have liked to know more about what was going on wi My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island was a good read, but it didn't draw you in. I found myself wondering how these characters where in love. It didn't seem as though you had any more than mild attraction and then they were sweethearts. And why couldn't Maude leave the island? Her dad told Ben to find out but it was never mentioned again. I felt like the novel had a slow start and a lot of things where suggested but never wholly unveiled. I would have liked to know more about what was going on with Greyson and Anna and about Ada and Peter, another small novel perhaps? I received a free copy of this novel from NetGalley in exchange for a fair review.
    more
  • Robin
    April 17, 2017
    What a super book. I can surely understand why Maude would want to stay on Mackinac Island. Sounds like a place I would enjoy, too! The ups and downs of Maude's love life, my oh my! The writing is fantastic and the characters are well developed and interesting. What a time period and what a place. Highly recommend. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
    more
  • Trisha Robertson (Joy of Reading)
    April 8, 2017
    Picking up this book you will find yourself drifting back thru the mist of time to Mackinac Island, June 1895. The descriptions of the views from the Grand Hotel are so vivid that you can feel the cool lake breeze and see the azure lake sparkling in the sun's gentle rays.With dynamic characters and an ideal setting this story will find its way into your heart. I've yet to visit Mackinac island. I've wanted to visit since watching the Jane Seymour & Christopher Reeve in the movie "Somewhere I Picking up this book you will find yourself drifting back thru the mist of time to Mackinac Island, June 1895. The descriptions of the views from the Grand Hotel are so vivid that you can feel the cool lake breeze and see the azure lake sparkling in the sun's gentle rays.With dynamic characters and an ideal setting this story will find its way into your heart. I've yet to visit Mackinac island. I've wanted to visit since watching the Jane Seymour & Christopher Reeve in the movie "Somewhere In Time". This book only solidified my desire to travel north to Mackinac.Please find my full review at: http://www.joyofreadingweb.wordpress.com(I received a complimentary copy of this book from Netgalley for review. I am not required to write a positive review. The options I have expressed are my own.)
    more
  • Regina
    April 2, 2017
    My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island by Carrie Fancett PagelsTravel back to the summer of 1895 to Mackinac Island. Envision and immerse yourself in the life and culture of the townspeople who live year-round on this tiny peace heaven. At least, I can imagine heaven would look like this a bit. 😊You will fall in love with the townspeople as much as I did. And as a side note: I really need to travel to Mackinac and see it for myself! Carrie’s stories vividly describe the area so well!If this is your My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island by Carrie Fancett PagelsTravel back to the summer of 1895 to Mackinac Island. Envision and immerse yourself in the life and culture of the townspeople who live year-round on this tiny peace heaven. At least, I can imagine heaven would look like this a bit. 😊You will fall in love with the townspeople as much as I did. And as a side note: I really need to travel to Mackinac and see it for myself! Carrie’s stories vividly describe the area so well!If this is your first story by Carrie Fancett Pagels, I will tell you, you will not be disappointed! I also encourage you to read her earlier books! Carrie is a talented writer!Maude Welling is a lovely young woman with a broken heart, or maybe not. Maude is courageous, strong, determined, and faithful to the core. She takes care of her father and younger brother. She also helps run their inn. Her younger brother, Jack, is quite the character and runner! I was quite taken with his eccentric and energetic behavior! Oh, to have his energy!Journalist Ben Steffan comes to the island on an undercover assignment as a wealthy businessman with a new name! But things tend to take a different turn once he meets the lovely Maude!Ben and Maude discover a few mysteries and scandal around Mackinac Island. But they also discover something much more valuable between them. What starts out as tender friendship grows and beautifies into a lasting love.Disclosure statement:I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
    more
  • Kathleen (Kat) Smith
    May 24, 2017
    A beautiful island that is often deserted except for the locals most of the year with the exception of late spring and early summer, where Mackinac Island is the in spot for the wealthy and rich, and those looking for wealth in their romances. Maude Wellings simply wants the opportunity to run her families inn, but her father won't see it. Her mother worked herself to death, quite literally as he was concerned and he isn't about the let the same thing happen to Maude. She had placed all her hope A beautiful island that is often deserted except for the locals most of the year with the exception of late spring and early summer, where Mackinac Island is the in spot for the wealthy and rich, and those looking for wealth in their romances. Maude Wellings simply wants the opportunity to run her families inn, but her father won't see it. Her mother worked herself to death, quite literally as he was concerned and he isn't about the let the same thing happen to Maude. She had placed all her hopes, dreams and future on one man returning home to marry her, Greyson Luce, but when he showed up on the ferry married to Anna, all she saw was her life coming to an end. That was the only way her father would let her take over running the Inn. Ben Steffan was a society columnist for the Detroit Post, who was going under the name of Friedrich Koing, a weathly industrialist to find the story of the century and hopefully secure a promotion with his boss when he returned. He set out to expose Greyson and Anna Luce, for doing what so many have done in making plans to stay at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island. Find someone with money and marry them as soon as possible, often times before they discovered one or both of them had no wealth to speak of and were merely looking for ways to get rich quick. The one thing Ben wasn't looking for was love and it landed right in his lap while trying to save Jack, Maude's youngest brother from crashing his bicycle into a rock wall. Yet it was just what God had planned even though Maude and Ben don't know it quite yet. Ben is simply attracted to Maude's ability to bounce back from what should be a rejection that broke her heart and left her devastated, not more determined than ever to prove to her father that she is more than capable of running their own Inn, even if it means going behind her father's back and becoming a maid at the Grand Hotel. She only hopes that no one will recognize her and turn her in for the charade she was hoping she might pull off. I received My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island by Carrie Fancett Pagels compliments of Barbour Publishing and Net Galley. This is such a timeless classic romance, because of the setting location and the determination of Maude's character to settle for what men in her life wanted for her, instead of listening to what she wanted instead. During the late 1800's it was common place for a lot of industrialist and wealthy men to look to securing a financial future with an equally wealthy and well to do women of the same station in life. Maude, defies all those odds and I love how simply working as a maid, made her more conscience of how she was treated her own maids at the Inn. For me, this one garners a 4 out of 5 stars in my opinion. There are some great historical notes found in the conclusion of this novel that details what is fiction and what is fact!
    more
  • Anna Asplund
    May 10, 2017
    Set in the late 19th century, this Christian romance novel forces the reader to ask if achieving your dreams is worth the cost - especially if that cost if losing the one you love. Maude wants to run the inn that's been in her family for decades - much to her father's chagrin.. Ben wants to finally get the biggest scoop of his career and win the assistant editor position - no matter the cost. These two must work together to sort through the secrets and lies to find what they truly want - and wha Set in the late 19th century, this Christian romance novel forces the reader to ask if achieving your dreams is worth the cost - especially if that cost if losing the one you love. Maude wants to run the inn that's been in her family for decades - much to her father's chagrin.. Ben wants to finally get the biggest scoop of his career and win the assistant editor position - no matter the cost. These two must work together to sort through the secrets and lies to find what they truly want - and what they must do to achieve their dreams.This Christian romance was fun and adorable - more so than I really expected. Starting this book, I had the typical complaints that I tend to with romances - it was semi-predictable, the characters lacked depth, everything in the story conspired to bring our lovers apart, yet they ultimately end up together. Romances just don't do it for me usually - they bore me and I end up reading particularly terrible or melodramatic lines to my husband to laugh at. But once I was able to put my reservations aside, I thoroughly enjoyed this book for many reasons:1) Maude was far more of a feminist than I originally assumed. She frequently takes charge of situations in her life and does what she thinks is best. I wasn't expecting such a strong female character who worked so hard to achieve her dreams (most of which had nothing to do with finding love). She was especially outspoken for the time period this book in set in - which I really loved and appreciated.2) The plot itself was much more complicated than I assumed it would be. I thought this would be a much more straightforward romance, but by the time I was halfway through, I must admit I was a bit confused - I thought all the complications had already happened because there were SO MANY, yet more kept coming. And each complication built on other ones. They didn't feel cheap or too easy. I didn't predict as many events as I thought I would, and that was quite a bit of fun. And at some points, all the complications made me legitimately question whether or not our heroes would end up together. That's the kind of thing I enjoy in romance novels - not knowing what's going to happen.3) The characters, while not well-developed, were fun and often quirky and interesting. I appreciated that Ben was so much more love-struck than Maude was - it made things interesting and kept me on my toes a bit. I loved all of Maude's family and how they basically had full reign of the island - that moved the plot along, but it also helped give the reader a better feel for who Maude was. I just wish they'd been more developed and complex - most of the characters were so one-dimensional that it drove me crazy.Overall, this was a sweet and fun (and very chaste) story. I recommend this for anyone who likes a good love story and historical fiction.
    more
  • Loraine
    May 23, 2017
    What a tangled web we weave when we practice to deceive. Maude Well's family have run the Winds of Mackinac Inn for generations. But Maude's widowed father doesn't believe she's capable of running it without a husband, so she goes to work undercover at the Grand Hotel. Mrs. Fox the head of housekeeping seems to be hiding her own secrets. Ben Steffans, a Detroit newspaper journalist, is undercover as a wealthy industrialist to scoop a story that will hopefully raise him from reporter to assistant What a tangled web we weave when we practice to deceive. Maude Well's family have run the Winds of Mackinac Inn for generations. But Maude's widowed father doesn't believe she's capable of running it without a husband, so she goes to work undercover at the Grand Hotel. Mrs. Fox the head of housekeeping seems to be hiding her own secrets. Ben Steffans, a Detroit newspaper journalist, is undercover as a wealthy industrialist to scoop a story that will hopefully raise him from reporter to assistant editor. Greyson, Maude's beau/fiance, has returned to the island but with a wealthy wife. Maude's Uncle Robert is acting strangely along with her dad who seems to be suffering from heart problems. Is anyone who they really seem? I love the snippets of suspense throughout this historical romance as it's never quite clear who is doing what or why, and are they depending on themselves or listening to what God's plans are for them. It is obvious that Pagels is extremely knowledgeable and fond of Mackinac Island. She brings the island and its culture of the late 1890's to life. The characters were realistically intriguing as they all tried to sort out the difficulties in their lives. They were all attempting to make the right choices but life seemed to get in the way sometimes and forced them to really look at what they had done in the past and what they were doing now. I would really love to see a sequel to this book to find out more about what happens to all the characters I fell in love with on Mackinac Island.FAVORITE QUOTES: "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do.""It had been wrong to think she should settle for anything less than true love as God intended for her.DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy from NetGalley and Barbour Books to facilitate this review. Opinions are mine alone. I was not compensated for this review.
    more
  • Ashley
    June 11, 2017
    After her fiance arrives back on the island married to another woman, Maude Welling's dream of running her family's inn are dashed when her father tells her that without a husband he will not allow it. So she comes up with a plan to go undercover at the rival inn that will surely change his mind and show him that she doesn't need a man to help her run the inn. Journalist Ben Steffans has come to Mackinac Island undercover to work on a story about impoverished men who visit the island looking for After her fiance arrives back on the island married to another woman, Maude Welling's dream of running her family's inn are dashed when her father tells her that without a husband he will not allow it. So she comes up with a plan to go undercover at the rival inn that will surely change his mind and show him that she doesn't need a man to help her run the inn. Journalist Ben Steffans has come to Mackinac Island undercover to work on a story about impoverished men who visit the island looking for wealthy women to wed. Ben and Maude keep crossing paths and begin to develop a sweet friendship, but will all their deceptions get in the way of their blossoming relationship?I'm a big fan of Carrie Fancett Pagels, so when I first heard about this book I got super excited. And I've gotta say that it did not disappoint! It's my new favorite book of hers. She is a master at creating memorable and genuine characters and settings that leave a lasting impression. All the historical details lent this novel an authentic feel and made it truly come to life. The descriptions really leaped off the page, transporting me back in time to 1895 Mackinac Island, right there with these fascinating characters.One thing that I absolutely loved were all the German words and phrases sprinkled here and there throughout the novel. I took four years of German in high school, so it's always fun to see how much of it I actually remember.My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island is a wonderful novel that is sure to delight any fan of historical romance! Highly recommend!I received a copy of this book from NetGalley. All thoughts and comments are my own honest opinion.
    more
  • Amy
    May 4, 2017
    My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island: Maude's Mooring is a fabulous addition to Barbour Publishing's My Heart Belongs line. It is summer 1895 and Heiress Maude Welling disguises herself and works as a maid at the island's Grand Hotel. Journalist, Ben Steffens, comes to town and goes undercover as a wealthy businessman, trying to investigate a future story about gold digging men pursuing heiresses. Maude and Ben meet and begin to fall for one another. What will happen when the truth comes out abou My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island: Maude's Mooring is a fabulous addition to Barbour Publishing's My Heart Belongs line. It is summer 1895 and Heiress Maude Welling disguises herself and works as a maid at the island's Grand Hotel. Journalist, Ben Steffens, comes to town and goes undercover as a wealthy businessman, trying to investigate a future story about gold digging men pursuing heiresses. Maude and Ben meet and begin to fall for one another. What will happen when the truth comes out about who they truly are?Carrie Fancett Pagels has written a winner with My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island: Maude's Mooring. I love how she used the beautiful setting at Mackinac Island in the story. The descriptions of the island and hotel we're so vivid, that I felt like I was transported back in time. I just love the character of Maude, how she was so determined to become her own person and knew what she wanted. I was not sure how I felt about Ben in the beginning, but he grew on me by midway. A wonderful story of forgiveness, faith, and inspiration.Highly recommended.5+ stars. I received this book from the publisher, but was not required to write a review. This review is 100% my own honest opinion.
    more
  • Karen Hadley
    May 22, 2017
    I love to read books by Carrie Fancett Pagels and she has a new great book that isWow! “My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island.” Hop on a boat and visit this island.I enjoyed Marge’s zest for life and her love for her family’s generational home that also serves as an Inn. I loved the good characters and wanted to shake the no-so-good ones. Marge, her brother, Ben, and a mysterious lady will make you want to unpack and stay a while. This was a charming, interesting and well written book.I loved it.B I love to read books by Carrie Fancett Pagels and she has a new great book that isWow! “My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island.” Hop on a boat and visit this island.I enjoyed Marge’s zest for life and her love for her family’s generational home that also serves as an Inn. I loved the good characters and wanted to shake the no-so-good ones. Marge, her brother, Ben, and a mysterious lady will make you want to unpack and stay a while. This was a charming, interesting and well written book.I loved it.Blessings,Karen HadleyRating: 5*I received this book as a gift, all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Gena DeBardelaben
    June 11, 2017
    eARC: NetgalleyI greatly appreciated that this sweet romance is Christian based and clean throughout and I loved the beautiful setting, but I have to admit I sometimes had trouble following the story. It seemed that the author expected you to know these characters. I felt at times that there must have been a previous book with these characters, but there wasn't. There were also several scenes that felt like they were superfluous and unnecessary. I feel that it could definitely have benefited fro eARC: NetgalleyI greatly appreciated that this sweet romance is Christian based and clean throughout and I loved the beautiful setting, but I have to admit I sometimes had trouble following the story. It seemed that the author expected you to know these characters. I felt at times that there must have been a previous book with these characters, but there wasn't. There were also several scenes that felt like they were superfluous and unnecessary. I feel that it could definitely have benefited from a tighter, more focused storyline.
    more
  • Teri
    May 28, 2017
    This book was absolutely precious! I loved every moment of Maude and Friedrich/Ben's love story. It was sweet, but left no doubt that they cared for one another and admired each other greatly. Even the secondary characters were easy to fall in love with, and I especially enjoyed revisiting a few of the characters I had met in other books by Carrie Fancett Pagels. This one left me with a smile on my face! **I received a copy of this book from Net Galley in return for my honest review
    more
  • JoAnn
    June 5, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book and this is my unbiased review.This book is a very well written Christian historical romance. I loved the plot, characters and the setting. I always enjoy a new book by this author. Love her writing. I highly recommend this book.
    more
  • Anne Rightler
    April 28, 2017
    My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island: Maude's Mooring by Carrie Fancett Pagels is a delightful romance. Set in the late 1800s on the lovely Mackinac Island, readers meet Maude as she runs to meet her intended's arrival. And the plot thickens from there. All of her plans--of marriage, of staying on the island and of managing the family inn--seem to come to naught. Ben, a Detroit newspaperman, has come to the island for the story of his career, but to do so, he has taken on a new name. Things don't My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island: Maude's Mooring by Carrie Fancett Pagels is a delightful romance. Set in the late 1800s on the lovely Mackinac Island, readers meet Maude as she runs to meet her intended's arrival. And the plot thickens from there. All of her plans--of marriage, of staying on the island and of managing the family inn--seem to come to naught. Ben, a Detroit newspaperman, has come to the island for the story of his career, but to do so, he has taken on a new name. Things don't go as planned for him either. The author does a great job in portraying the era and the island, one can picture in the mind's eye the activities going on and I swear I could smell the lilacs! The characters are realistic and likable and there's even a cameo appearance of Mark Twain. Readers meet plenty of characters who are like most locals do in small towns--watching out for each other, gossiping and taking an interest in each other's lives, especially if there's a romance happening. Betrayals, deceits, and secrets are woven together to bring twists to the plot and keep the reader guessing as to what is happening. Will Maude be able to stay on Mackinac? Why is her father not forthcoming regarding his plans for the inn? Will Ben get his big story? Is there a chance for romance for Ben and Maude or will the deceits and secrets be just too much to overcome? Another charming and entertaining story from a favorite author.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Netgalley and was not required to write a review. The opinions are my own.
    more
  • Carrie Pagels
    January 25, 2017
  • Debbie
    April 12, 2017
    "My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island" is a Christian romance set in 1895. It contained just enough historical detail to remind the reader of the time period, but the time period wan't critical to the events in the story (except for Mark Twain's visit). It's a nice enough romance, but I felt like the author tried to make Maude's part of the story much more complicated than it was.For example, Maude's mother promised that Maude would inherit the inn but Maude's father acts like it's his. Rather th "My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island" is a Christian romance set in 1895. It contained just enough historical detail to remind the reader of the time period, but the time period wan't critical to the events in the story (except for Mark Twain's visit). It's a nice enough romance, but I felt like the author tried to make Maude's part of the story much more complicated than it was.For example, Maude's mother promised that Maude would inherit the inn but Maude's father acts like it's his. Rather than finding out who owns the inn (by asking the lawyer, her uncle, or her father), Maude decides to prove to her father that she can run an inn. Not by helping out at the inn but by working as a maid cleaning rooms at the Grand Hotel. Not sure how that proved she can run a business, but she also kept this a secret from her father, so how could it prove anything to him? And her brief employment as a maid didn't turn out to be necessary to her romance, her ambitions, or even Ben's story.The terms of the will were critical to the story, but we don't actually learn what the will said until nearly the end. Much of Maude's worries would have been cleared up if she'd only found out the terms earlier (though some things earlier in the story made no sense in light of those terms). The romantic conflict ended up being that Maude couldn't leave the island but Ben's life and ambitions were in Detroit. So who will give up their dreams, or will they part?The characters went to church and heard a sermon relating to Ben's struggles. At the end, Ben realized that God had been working behind the scenes. There was no sex or bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this book to "clean romance" fans.I received an ebook review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.
    more
  • Debbie
    April 22, 2017
    This story is about Maude Welling from Mackinac Island and how she met and fell in love with Ben Steffan. It is a wonderful story about love, trust, and faith in God. Maude lives on Mackinac Island at the Winds of Mackinac Inn, her family Inn. She tries to get her father to let her manage the Inn by herself as he has a failing heart. However, father doesn't want her working herself to death like her mother and his mother did. To prove she can manage the Inn on her own, she takes a job as a maid This story is about Maude Welling from Mackinac Island and how she met and fell in love with Ben Steffan. It is a wonderful story about love, trust, and faith in God. Maude lives on Mackinac Island at the Winds of Mackinac Inn, her family Inn. She tries to get her father to let her manage the Inn by herself as he has a failing heart. However, father doesn't want her working herself to death like her mother and his mother did. To prove she can manage the Inn on her own, she takes a job as a maid at the Grand Hotel on the hill. Ben is a reporter on assignment to find out who the men at the Grand Hotel are wooing rich ladies to get their money. He is also tasked with finding out the story behind Maude's former fiance' and his new wife, since her family is a competitor to Ben's bosses' newspaper. Ben has to decide in the end if the stories he has investigated are worth telling or if it is best to do the right thing.I really enjoyed this clean historical romance and recommend it to anyone who also enjoys this type of genre'. Check it out, you won't be sorry. Enjoy!I received a copy of this story via NetGalley and all the opinions are purely my own and I was not compensated in any way for my opinion.
    more
  • Grams
    May 3, 2017
    Review to come.
Write a review