Weaver's Needle
Two recovery specialists. One murder. A hunt for the Dutchman's Lost Gold Mine becomes a race of survival.   Former Army MP Landry Parker fell into the recovery specialist role quite by accident—to help her ailing father. Now that she’s on her own, she is determined to prove herself and honor her family legacy. After being shot in the line of duty, former police officer Nickolai Baptiste became a recovery specialist, and he’s good at his job—maybe even the best.             A potential client pits Landry and Nickolai against one another to find the Dutchman’s Lost Gold Mine map that was stolen from her murdered husband, and the potential payday is too enticing to pass up. The trail takes them from New Orleans to Weaver’s Needle in Arizona where legend claims the mine is hidden. Landry and Nickolai are no strangers to adventure, but the unlikely partners quickly discover there’s someone after the treasure and there are those who want to ensure the lost mine in Arizona’s Superstition Mountain stays lost forever. Can Landry and Nickolai work together despite their distrust of each other to save the legend before more innocent lives are lost? Will they find the real treasure isn’t the gold, but something more valuable. . .true love and understanding?

Weaver's Needle Details

TitleWeaver's Needle
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 1st, 2017
PublisherShiloh Run Press
ISBN163409994X
ISBN-139781634099943
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Mystery, Fiction, Christian Fiction, Suspense, Christian

Weaver's Needle Review

  • Cara Putman
    March 2, 2017
    In Weaver’s Needle Robin Caroll is at her best showcasing the interesting characters and complex plots her readers have come to expect. Each page is filled with mystery and lore that left me right alongside the hero and heroine as they raced to a solution in this who-dun-it. Filled with details that transported me to the setting, this is a book that romantic suspense lovers will inhale. A definite keeper on my shelf.
    more
  • Karen
    March 16, 2017
    An intriguing plot, with plenty of action, and a romance to boot, made this an entertaining read! Characters who struggle with family concerns, including mental health issues, and the fight to survive as they hunt for a lost treasure map, made for interesting reading. Faith and doubts based on difficult life experiences added an inspirational side to the story. The romance went from zero to sixty in a short time, with a quick reconciling of faith, which seemed a bit forced, but worked out in the An intriguing plot, with plenty of action, and a romance to boot, made this an entertaining read! Characters who struggle with family concerns, including mental health issues, and the fight to survive as they hunt for a lost treasure map, made for interesting reading. Faith and doubts based on difficult life experiences added an inspirational side to the story. The romance went from zero to sixty in a short time, with a quick reconciling of faith, which seemed a bit forced, but worked out in the end. The mixing in of Native American traditions and spiritualism fit the story well, given the Arizona setting, and added tension to the plot. Recommend to readers who enjoy romantic suspense with faith elements! (An e-book was provided by NetGalley and the publisher. All opinions are my own.)
    more
  • Lisa Johnson
    June 1, 2017
    Title: Weaver’s NeedleAuthor: Robin CarollPages: 320Year: 2017Publisher: Shiloh Run PressMy rating 5 out of 5 stars.What an interesting story! Two people with different backgrounds and experiences are hired to retrieve a map that supposedly discloses the location of The Old Dutchman Mine. The main characters are Landy, who is a former MP and Nickolai, who is a former police officer. Now they both run independent recovery services.When an elderly woman hires them both to locate the map, she unwit Title: Weaver’s NeedleAuthor: Robin CarollPages: 320Year: 2017Publisher: Shiloh Run PressMy rating 5 out of 5 stars.What an interesting story! Two people with different backgrounds and experiences are hired to retrieve a map that supposedly discloses the location of The Old Dutchman Mine. The main characters are Landy, who is a former MP and Nickolai, who is a former police officer. Now they both run independent recovery services.When an elderly woman hires them both to locate the map, she unwittingly sets into motion what at first is a highly completive race to locate the map to claim the reward offered. What happens though is the race sets off something far more nefarious as many attempts are made on their lives. Both people run into the Native Americans who occupy the land and swear to protect the gold.There is action, danger, murder, intrigue, romance and faith throughout the novel. Robin Caroll is one excellent storyteller who brings a whole plethora of characters from a variety of backgrounds to weave a compelling tale. Landry is the lead female character who has some baggage from her past that she is still learning to live with and understand. Nickolai is the lead male who isn’t a Christian yet, but is still bound by the past tragedies that he takes the blame for and can’t seem to let go of to live free of that burden.The ending I thought was a stroke of genius and I really was surprised! I love the fact that her books are faith centered and her ability to draw the reader into the story like we’re really there is well done!Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
    more
  • Nadine Keels
    June 4, 2017
    A well-off widow recruits two recovery specialists, Landry and Nickolai, pitting them against each other to earn a substantial fee to recover a stolen map. While searching for the coveted map to a hidden and legendary gold mine, Landry and Nickolai may be growing too close for comfort--especially when the search could have deadly consequences in Weaver's Needle, a novel by author Robin Caroll.This novel's cover is what most drew me to the story. The cover has a sense of adventure and danger, but A well-off widow recruits two recovery specialists, Landry and Nickolai, pitting them against each other to earn a substantial fee to recover a stolen map. While searching for the coveted map to a hidden and legendary gold mine, Landry and Nickolai may be growing too close for comfort--especially when the search could have deadly consequences in Weaver's Needle, a novel by author Robin Caroll.This novel's cover is what most drew me to the story. The cover has a sense of adventure and danger, but it isn't dark. You can almost feel the blaze of the dry and scorching sun in the bold and vivid design that screams "romantic suspense."Overall, I found this adventure entertaining. The plot kept me curious, and Landry and Nickolai each have crucial, believable reasons for wanting to earn the recovery fee they're competing for.Now, I thought some of the romantic thoughts and feelings in the story didn't quite ring true. It seems to me that unless he or she is completely inexperienced, a grown man or woman wouldn't be super shocked or confused by a growing attraction to someone attractive, particularly when the two are working closely together. Also, I've never really been keen on the "I can't be with him/her because he/she isn't a Christian" theme in novels, as it tends to muddy the characters' faith/romantic motives to me. And, interesting as it was, I almost felt a little let down by the story's ending.Still, many fellow fans of Christian romantic suspense should enjoy this novel, and I wouldn't mind reading this new-to-me author again._________________I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
    more
  • Mark
    May 17, 2017
    What do you get when you throw together a treasure hunt, romance, Indian folklore, and a competition to find a treasure map? An awesome book, that is what you get...... though it took more than tossing those things together. There is some quality writing here. I have been a fan of Robin Caroll's books since I first discovered her when she was writing for Broadman and Holman Publishing. I liked and eagerly read everything she wrote. It has been a while since she has written anything, so I was exc What do you get when you throw together a treasure hunt, romance, Indian folklore, and a competition to find a treasure map? An awesome book, that is what you get...... though it took more than tossing those things together. There is some quality writing here. I have been a fan of Robin Caroll's books since I first discovered her when she was writing for Broadman and Holman Publishing. I liked and eagerly read everything she wrote. It has been a while since she has written anything, so I was excited to see this book coming...... and was not disappointed after the seemingly endless wait. This is possibly her best, and that is saying a lot. I loved the characters and their interplay, especially the main two. You knew they were going to fall for each other, even though they were competitors, but it was still fun to read about. I love a good treasure hunt story, and that aspect of the book really kept my interest, made all the more captivating by the attempts to stop the dynamic duo from finishing their quest. The suspense was top notch, and I wasn't sure who the bad guy was for most of the book, though I was not surprised at his identity. Caroll also did a great job of describing the settings for her novel, and it made me want to go explore and look for hidden treasure also. Though the book is fictional, it IS based on a true treasure, which made the story more appealing. To sum it up: Awesome book, and I enjoyed every page of it. Robin has done herself and Christian fiction proud with her latest novel. I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Jeanie
    June 1, 2017
    Weaver’s Needle, the latest Christian suspense novel by Robin Caroll, is particularly interesting to me because I love this author’s writing and the setting is a short drive from my Phoenix home. Apache Junction is southeast of Phoenix, a charming town that retains its small Southwest community feel with friendly, down-to-earth people.One missing document. Two recovery specialists. One million dollars and one murder later, Landry and Nickolai are competing to recover that missing document. The $ Weaver’s Needle, the latest Christian suspense novel by Robin Caroll, is particularly interesting to me because I love this author’s writing and the setting is a short drive from my Phoenix home. Apache Junction is southeast of Phoenix, a charming town that retains its small Southwest community feel with friendly, down-to-earth people.One missing document. Two recovery specialists. One million dollars and one murder later, Landry and Nickolai are competing to recover that missing document. The $50,000 “reward” is desperately needed by both Landry and Nickolai – one to save a business that is a father’s legacy and the other, to move one’s sister to move to a halfway house from a hospital where she has had long years of treatment for schizophrenia.Winifred is the widow of the murdered man, the woman in charge of their company, Winslet Industries. Nickolai drove to Apache Junction. Landry flew to Arizona with Stan, a VP and long-time employee of the Winslet’s, and Winifred‘s chosen rep to handle expenses for Landry and Nickolai. The competitors squared off as boxers might when seeing each other in the ring.The missing document is a map of Arizona’s Superstition Mountains with Weaver’s Needle. The original drawing with handwritten notes was sold to Mr. Winslet by a descendant of the woman who cared for the dying Lost Dutchman. The Lost Dutchman Mine is folklore to most Arizonans. Landry was told there is a curse on the gold and on anyone trying to find it, that ghost warriors of the Superstitions would destroy the map to destroy the curse. Unbeknownst to Landry and Nickolai, Apache shamans are in prayer, seeking to deflect the white people who, the spirits revealed, were coming.First, she gets a warning note, then Landry’s rental vehicle had a punctured tire. Her first suspect was Nickolai. When Landry and Nickolai are almost killed, they learn to fully trust each other and work together. Phillip, another board member of Winslet arrives to watch out for Winifred’s interests, wanting to be part of their investigation but the two evaded them.I like both Landry and Nickolai; they are hard-working, honest people. Landry is a Christian, and prays through challenges. Nickolai is not a Christian and sees prayer as a crutch. As described, they could step off the pages and into the mountains. I couldn’t decide which of the two recovery specialists I wanted to find the map, especially when sparks fly between them.One of many things I enjoy about Ms. Caroll’s novels is that her character(s) show without preaching what a life of faith can look like, which is what this Christian sometimes needs to see. The plot twists and surprises bring many breathtaking moments! There was a limited number of suspects. The one(s) I thought of as the bad guy(s)/ gal(s) was correct but I couldn’t figure out the motives. The author shows spiritual lessons that I need to be reminded of. There were a couple things that, to me, stretched Christian faith a little farther than I’ve considered. The end, while it seemed to drop off quickly, was very satisfactory. I highly recommend this novel to readers of any age who appreciate Christian suspense with solid, lyrical writing, excellent background and setting, and ever-increasing breathtaking experiences.From a grateful heart: I received this eBook from the publisher and NetGalley, and this is my honest review.
    more
  • Gloria
    May 22, 2017
    Weaver's Needle is my first read by Robin Caroll but certainly will not be my last! This book has all of the elements of a book that I enjoy--mystery, action, romance and just good writing. Landry Parker, former Army MP and former detective, Nickolai Baptiste, both of New Orleans and now work in the recovery of stolen artifacts, are hired by Winifred Winslet, the widow of Bartholomew Winslet, to recover a map to the Dutchman's Lost Gold mIne in Arizona that was stolen from her husband when he wa Weaver's Needle is my first read by Robin Caroll but certainly will not be my last! This book has all of the elements of a book that I enjoy--mystery, action, romance and just good writing. Landry Parker, former Army MP and former detective, Nickolai Baptiste, both of New Orleans and now work in the recovery of stolen artifacts, are hired by Winifred Winslet, the widow of Bartholomew Winslet, to recover a map to the Dutchman's Lost Gold mIne in Arizona that was stolen from her husband when he was murdered. The twist is that the first to find the map is rewarded with $50,000. Both Landry and Nick need the money for different reasons. Once in Arizona, someone is trying to scare them away. As the situation gets dangerous for them, they decide to work together to find who has the map and maybe the murderer of Winslet. Two friends of the Winslets are there to oversee the search for the map. Stan was sent with them by Winifred but Phillip just showed up saying that he was there to make sure that Winifred is not taken advantage of. Both men love Winifred and maybe one of the them is the one that killed Bart and is trying to get them off the case. Mixed in the story was Native American folklore that says that Ghost Warriors protect the mine from being found by white people. There are many Native Americans in Apache Junction. Maybe one of them is trying to scare them away.Ms. Caroll does a great job at plot and character development and scenery description. This is an action packed, fast paced story that will keep the pages turning. I found the Native American element very interesting and it worked out well with the mystery surrounding the legend of the lost mine. Landry's parents died of natural causes but Nick's parents died in a house fire caused by his sister who suffers from schizophrenia and lives in a care facility. While Landry relies on her faith, Nick does not see how God could allow such events to happen.I recommend this read and thank NetGalley and Barbour Publishing for the opportunity to read and review this book.
    more
  • Anne Rightler
    June 5, 2017
    Weaver's Needle by Robin Carroll is a book whose pages are infused with drama, suspense, and unexpected romance. Nickolai and Landry, both recovery specialists, have taken on a case to find a missing treasure map. One that pits them against each other as the only one to get paid is the one who finds the map first. But the competition becomes complicated and convoluted. Warnings are given but each decides to continue the search. Who will find the map? Will they even survive the search effort? Who Weaver's Needle by Robin Carroll is a book whose pages are infused with drama, suspense, and unexpected romance. Nickolai and Landry, both recovery specialists, have taken on a case to find a missing treasure map. One that pits them against each other as the only one to get paid is the one who finds the map first. But the competition becomes complicated and convoluted. Warnings are given but each decides to continue the search. Who will find the map? Will they even survive the search effort? Who is out to stop them? The author does a fantastic job telling the history of Weaver's Needle and the American Indian legends surrounding the map and the cave to which it leads. Shamans, Shadow Warriors, dream visions, all to protect the site. The story moves quickly with lots of action, several twists to the plot and an earth-shattering, world-spinning, steal-your-heart kind of kiss. Whew, where's my fan? Tough subjects such as mental illness, death and the whys of illness and disease are briefly touched on throughout. Woven with the themes of strong friendships, restoration, guilt, and grief is Landry's faith in a God who loves and cares throughout difficult times. Nickolai, though, is of a different bent--if there was a superior being, it didn't play fair. The tension mounts and where will these contrary beliefs lead these two characters. Weaver's Needle is a story full of strong energy and great descriptive writing, making one feel like you are right there in the scene. A story lovers of mysteries and romance will not want to miss.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
    more
  • Sherri Smith
    June 9, 2017
    Weaver's Needle is about two recovery specialists (people who recover goods for people), who are pitted against each other to recover the Lost Duchman map. A wealthy widow, her husband was killed, after coming into possession of the map. She calls on two people, Landy and Nicholai, to retrieve it, with a promise of a $50,000 fee to go to only one of them.I rather enjoyed this story. It went along at just the right pace, maybe just a tad fast. The weaving of the words creative a pictorial display Weaver's Needle is about two recovery specialists (people who recover goods for people), who are pitted against each other to recover the Lost Duchman map. A wealthy widow, her husband was killed, after coming into possession of the map. She calls on two people, Landy and Nicholai, to retrieve it, with a promise of a $50,000 fee to go to only one of them.I rather enjoyed this story. It went along at just the right pace, maybe just a tad fast. The weaving of the words creative a pictorial display in my head as I followed along with their adventures. I did like how real each of them were.Only things, when I think about it, where I didn't per se have closure, was regarding the financial issues between Landry and Nickolai. Plus, I think the end of the book just felt a tad too rushed. There was plenty of drama and that's what kept me intrigued. I believe this book had the possibility of being much longer and therefore, the further exploration into the characters and the side stories that played a part in the story. Much editing was needed to bring it into this nice compact book, and while it still did well in telling the story, as much as I hate to admit it... I think more storytelling would have risen this book up to superb status.All in all, I did enjoy this book and will enjoy keeping it on my shelf of books to read again.I did receive this book complimentary from the publisher, Barbour Publishing. All opinions are my own with no requirements to post a positive review.
    more
  • Jasmine
    June 12, 2017
    The treasure is out there...somewhere...When I first saw the title it sounded sort of interesting but when I started reading the back cover blurb I only got as far as the words “Dutchman's Lost Gold Mine” and “Superstition Mountains” and that's all it took. I didn't have to read any farther, I knew I HAD to read this book. Robin Caroll is brand new author to me, though I'd seen the name before, but I've read a number of accounts of the infamous Lost Dutchman Mine. Weaver's Needle wasn't quite wh The treasure is out there...somewhere...When I first saw the title it sounded sort of interesting but when I started reading the back cover blurb I only got as far as the words “Dutchman's Lost Gold Mine” and “Superstition Mountains” and that's all it took. I didn't have to read any farther, I knew I HAD to read this book. Robin Caroll is brand new author to me, though I'd seen the name before, but I've read a number of accounts of the infamous Lost Dutchman Mine. Weaver's Needle wasn't quite what I expected, a normal mystery/romantic suspense novel, no, it was quite a bit more than that. One additional perspective, other than the hero and heroine's, came as a complete surprise to me. A surprise that was filled with rich detail and added an aspect to the story that I had never really pondered before.Weaver's Needle may have been my first read by Robin Caroll but I strongly doubt it will be my last. Whether you love romantic suspense, treasure tales, stories with an eerie and mysterious twist, or D all of the above, you should really check out this exciting adventure set in New Orleans and the wild Southwest.(I received a copy of this book from the publisher. All opinions are entirely my own.)
    more
  • Amy
    June 1, 2017
    Weaver’s Needle by new to me author Robin Caroll was a very interesting story that I had a hard time putting down. The premise drew me in, and I was curious to see where this story would lead. Landry was a fun character, spunky, clever, and relatable. I also enjoyed reading about Nicholai Baptiste, and that may or may not have been helped along by the fact that I spent the whole book visualizing him as Ross Poldark, because come on; the picture on the cover is the spitting image of Aidan Turner. Weaver’s Needle by new to me author Robin Caroll was a very interesting story that I had a hard time putting down. The premise drew me in, and I was curious to see where this story would lead. Landry was a fun character, spunky, clever, and relatable. I also enjoyed reading about Nicholai Baptiste, and that may or may not have been helped along by the fact that I spent the whole book visualizing him as Ross Poldark, because come on; the picture on the cover is the spitting image of Aidan Turner. I found Nicholai’s past and his sister’s schizophrenia to be morbidly fascinating and I really felt for him as a character.The treasure hunting aspect drew me in, and it was interesting seeing both Landry and Nicholai follow their leads to get to the bottom of this mystery. I enjoyed this story immensely, but the ending threw me for a loop, and I’m still not entirely sure what to think of it.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.http://pausefortales.blogspot.com/201...
    more
  • Nora St Laurent
    May 15, 2017
    This author whisked me away on an adventure that reminded me of the movie National Treasure but better. The story is set in Superstition Mountains which I found fascinating. Here’s the situation a potential clients’ husband has been murdered and a treasure map was stolen from his body. The first one to recover the map and return it to her would receive fifty thousand dollars. The stakes are high; each is in desperate need of the money.Landry Parker is a former Army MP who is smart, feisty, a fig This author whisked me away on an adventure that reminded me of the movie National Treasure but better. The story is set in Superstition Mountains which I found fascinating. Here’s the situation a potential clients’ husband has been murdered and a treasure map was stolen from his body. The first one to recover the map and return it to her would receive fifty thousand dollars. The stakes are high; each is in desperate need of the money.Landry Parker is a former Army MP who is smart, feisty, a fighter, loyal and is passionate about her faith. She has a unique set of puzzles solving tools at her disposal. The other specialist Nickolai Baptiste is a former New Orleans police officer who sees things from a law enforcement angle carries lots of baggage from the past and he’s not sure who holds his future. Sparks fly between these two in more ways than one as they try to outwit the other to be the first to obtain the map and the prize. I liked how the author pitted these two recovery specialists against each other and how they went about seeking clues to the treasure. Landry talks things over with her best friend and Nickolai talks about his findings with his former partner who just so happens to be working on the murder investigation connected to the map. I enjoyed that because the reader got to know more than each of the specialist. I found myself trying to solve the case too! The author effortlessly weaves together a Native American legend, customs, beliefs, with nail-biting suspense, as elements of evil and danger attack Landry and Nickolai in their search for clues to find the missing map. This thrilling race quickly becomes dangerous; which is a game changer for both specialists. I enjoyed this page-turning, gripping adventure, with likable characters, that had a hint of romance, and a compelling journey that drops readers into a gold mine guarded by a mysterious legendYou’ll want to leave plenty of time to enjoy every second of this novel. The author has included 10 discussion questions to help in creating lively discussion time. This makes for a fun book club selection.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”Nora St. LaurentTBCN Where Book Fun Begins! www.bookfun.orgThe Book Club Network blog www.psalm516.blogspot.com Book Fun MagazineSVP Promotions
    more
  • Diane
    May 3, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Weavers Needle for an honest review.Weavers Needle by author Robin Caroll is based on the legend of the Dutchman’s Lost mine in Arizona, USA. This area has many mysteries and disappearances of those who cross the rugged terrain in search for hidden gold within the Superstition mountain area. As the book progressed I was intrigued to read the Native American aspect of history for that area. The Apache Shamans wanted to stop intrud Thank you to NetGalley for allowing me to read an advanced copy of Weavers Needle for an honest review.Weavers Needle by author Robin Caroll is based on the legend of the Dutchman’s Lost mine in Arizona, USA. This area has many mysteries and disappearances of those who cross the rugged terrain in search for hidden gold within the Superstition mountain area. As the book progressed I was intrigued to read the Native American aspect of history for that area. The Apache Shamans wanted to stop intruders to their sacred mountain. The gold was not to be used for the white man or people. It was to be kept safely within the mountain for the Thunder God. There is a very spiritual theme to this book which I found so interesting. The story also has a Christian faith based theme which the author delicately and very skillfully worked into the events which affect the main characters, Landry and Nickolai. I won’t post spoilers, but will let you know I very much enjoyed this book!Landry Parker is an ex-Army MP who has been continuing her fathers “Recovery” business in New Orleans since his death. Now the business is in financial peril and she is desperate to earn enough money fast to put her business back on a solid financial foundation. Landry is good at her job, she learned how to find lost or hidden art, people, and collectibles as she worked with her father. Her new client is offering a fifty thousand dollar recovery fee for a lost document. The document was stolen from her husband after he was murdered. Landry is not hired to solve the case or find who is responsible for Mr. Winslet’s murder, but to find an original document dating from around the 1850’s which was said to be the dying instructions of Weaver on how to find the legendary cache of gold in the Superstition mountain. Before the meeting with Mrs. Winslet starts, another person is admitted into the room. The search is to be a competition between Landry and another PI, named Nickolai Baptiste, if they both agree to take the case. They do not like this arrangement, but they both are in need of money. Nickolai is an ex police officer who needs the money to pay for the additional care for his troubled sister.So, if you enjoy a bit of history, a bit of mystery, a bit of spiritual intrigue, with a hint of romance…this is a must read! Great writing, Robin Caroll!
    more
  • Bhriv
    June 8, 2017
    Weaver's Needle, written by Robin Caroll, is the first book I've read by this author.I was interested in the book because of the blurb. Murder, missing treasure map, two recovery specialist who I was sure would get together and hoped a lot of interesting stuff in between. What I found was that it was a very...well, it took a bit to get into it and then it was just really hard to keep my attention. I truly wanted to love the book, but I had a hard time finding it as gripping as other readers. I t Weaver's Needle, written by Robin Caroll, is the first book I've read by this author.I was interested in the book because of the blurb. Murder, missing treasure map, two recovery specialist who I was sure would get together and hoped a lot of interesting stuff in between. What I found was that it was a very...well, it took a bit to get into it and then it was just really hard to keep my attention. I truly wanted to love the book, but I had a hard time finding it as gripping as other readers. I think I like faster-paced book right from the beginning. If you enjoy books that take their time to get to the excitement, this book is definitely for you. I would try another book by this author as I do not judge an author by one book. Some of my favorite authors have a book or so that I didn't find to my liking. I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Barbour Publishing. I was under no obligation to post a review. All thought and comments are my own. (3.5 Stars)
    more
  • Donna (More Than a Review)
    June 25, 2017
    Weaver’s Needle by Robin Carroll is a fascinating story line of the two recovery specialist. Landry was a former military police for the army. Her competitor is Nikolai Baptiste and he was a former police officer and started a new line of work. I liked that each of them had a best friend that they would call and talk to. I'm hoping Chris, Nikolai's former partner could get his own book. There was a story of native American rituals woven throughout Landry and Nikolai's story. I loved how the rela Weaver’s Needle by Robin Carroll is a fascinating story line of the two recovery specialist. Landry was a former military police for the army. Her competitor is Nikolai Baptiste and he was a former police officer and started a new line of work. I liked that each of them had a best friend that they would call and talk to. I'm hoping Chris, Nikolai's former partner could get his own book. There was a story of native American rituals woven throughout Landry and Nikolai's story. I loved how the relationship between them develops throughout the book as they went from seeing each other as competitors to seeing each other as partners. Landry was a great character. She was a strong female but not stupid or too stubborn.Sexual content: great chemistry, kissing,Violence: someone is trying to stop them; vandalism,
    more
  • Deb Haggerty
    June 17, 2017
    Deb’s Dozen: Each needing cash, Landry and Nicolai take an assignment fraught with danger.Weaver’s Needle was an interesting book. Part adventure, part whodunit, part romance, the book leads the reader down a somewhat predictable path. The story starts slowly, with Landry and Nicolai needing money for different reasons—Landry to rescue her business; Nicolai to restore his sister to normal life.Enter a murder and a widow determined to recover the property stolen from her dead husband. Landry and Deb’s Dozen: Each needing cash, Landry and Nicolai take an assignment fraught with danger.Weaver’s Needle was an interesting book. Part adventure, part whodunit, part romance, the book leads the reader down a somewhat predictable path. The story starts slowly, with Landry and Nicolai needing money for different reasons—Landry to rescue her business; Nicolai to restore his sister to normal life.Enter a murder and a widow determined to recover the property stolen from her dead husband. Landry and Nicolai both run property recovery businesses and Mrs. Winslet has decided to pit them against each other with the successful person earning a $50,000 fee. The property to be recovered? An ancient map to the Dutchman’s Lost Gold Mine.And they’re off! Landry to Apache Junction, Arizona, with Stan Hauge, Mrs. Winslet’s representative, and Nicolai to research the murder trying to get info from his former partner, Chris. Of course, the trail leads him to Apache Junction as well.I found the story very slow at the beginning—so slow I almost stopped reading the book, but I’m glad I continued. The character of Nicolai was more believable to me than Landry’s. I also found Stan Hauge well drawn. Landry is the Christian in the story, praying before every meal. Nicolai is the sceptic—how could God have allowed the death of his parents and the hospitalization of his sister? The Christian elements were more of a diversion than an asset to the plot.Even with the sketchy character development and the distraction of the Christian elements, Caroll draws you into the story and makes you want to know the outcome. Add in the Apache Thundergod mystique and you’re entrapped—enticed to read the book to the ending. Three-plus stars.Robin Caroll says she “loves to keep you on the edge of your seat with her Southern-style, romantic mysteries/suspense.” Her passion is storytelling and presenting the faith element to her readers. She’s married with three daughters, two grandsons, and a menagerie of pets. You can find out more at RobinCaroll.com.I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
    more
  • Brandi (Rambles of a SAHM)
    June 30, 2017
    I'm somewhat torn about this book. I liked it for the most part. It started slow but once I got into the mystery it was good. Robin Caroll is a gifted writer and her skills moved the plot right along. The characters were interesting and compelling. I enjoyed their backstories and thought that they added depth to the storyline.What I didn't particularly enjoy was the mystic part of the story. For me it was a detraction rather than an enhancement. The wrap up in the Epilogue was really just too fa I'm somewhat torn about this book. I liked it for the most part. It started slow but once I got into the mystery it was good. Robin Caroll is a gifted writer and her skills moved the plot right along. The characters were interesting and compelling. I enjoyed their backstories and thought that they added depth to the storyline.What I didn't particularly enjoy was the mystic part of the story. For me it was a detraction rather than an enhancement. The wrap up in the Epilogue was really just too far out there for me. If you can set that aside (I did) I think that you'll enjoy this novel.I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
    more
  • Diana Montgomery
    May 21, 2017
    Looking for some adventure and a sit on the edge kind of book. Well Weaver Needles by Robin Caroll is for you. You will be flipping those pages to try to catch up with what is happening. For real when I started reading this book I could not put it down. Robin did a wonderful job writing this novel. Landry Parker is a recovery specialist. taking over her father's company after he became ill and then in his passing she is trying to save the company. But she needs a lot of money to keep it going. S Looking for some adventure and a sit on the edge kind of book. Well Weaver Needles by Robin Caroll is for you. You will be flipping those pages to try to catch up with what is happening. For real when I started reading this book I could not put it down. Robin did a wonderful job writing this novel. Landry Parker is a recovery specialist. taking over her father's company after he became ill and then in his passing she is trying to save the company. But she needs a lot of money to keep it going. So she agrees to do a job for wealthy lady to recovery something important her husband was killed for.Nickolai Baptiste was shot in the line of duty on the police force so he reties from it. He was a great cop so he decides to become a recovery specialist. When Landry gets there to meet the lady looking to hire a recovery specialist someone else is there also Nickolai! Now what could he be doing there also? Who will get the job to find the Dutchman's Lost Gold Mine Map? Great book.
    more
  • Karen
    May 31, 2017
    This is a new author to me and a genre I don't normally read. It was a great book and keep me on the edge of my seat. I enjoyed the suspense and there was plenty of mystery to keep me reading pass my bedtime - I just couldn't put it down. The characters, Landry and NIckolai, made me feel like I was right there with them. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good Christian suspense. Excellent writing, Robin Caroll. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing This is a new author to me and a genre I don't normally read. It was a great book and keep me on the edge of my seat. I enjoyed the suspense and there was plenty of mystery to keep me reading pass my bedtime - I just couldn't put it down. The characters, Landry and NIckolai, made me feel like I was right there with them. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good Christian suspense. Excellent writing, Robin Caroll. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing in exchange for an honest review. The review and opinions that I express are strictly my own.
    more
  • Deanna Stevens
    June 5, 2017
    Suspense, a hunt for a legendary treasure and it's full of twists and turns! This is a clean romance with good Christian aspects and loaded with action. A page turner! If you like romantic suspense... check out this one!
  • Kari Anderson
    May 14, 2017
    I love a little romance, especially muddled within a good mystery. But I really love a good mystery. The summary of this book pulled me in from the get go. And the book really lived up to my expectations and so much more. I loved all the twists and turns throughout the book. As soon as you felt you had it all figured out, another wrench was thrown into the plot. Great read!
    more
  • Molly_Cafinated_Reads
    May 30, 2017
    Holy Moly! can't wait to my coming soon review!
  • Kelly Tyree
    March 23, 2017
    Weaver's Needle is a modern day treasure hunt with suspense and romance added in. It is a book that draws you into the suspense and keeps you guessing. Landry Parker and Nickolai Baptiste are competing recovery experts. They have been summonsed to the home of a wealthy widow that offers them a large payment if they are able to recover a treasure map. Both Landry and Nick have their own reasons for needing the large payment so both set off to recover the map. Initially the two work independently Weaver's Needle is a modern day treasure hunt with suspense and romance added in. It is a book that draws you into the suspense and keeps you guessing. Landry Parker and Nickolai Baptiste are competing recovery experts. They have been summonsed to the home of a wealthy widow that offers them a large payment if they are able to recover a treasure map. Both Landry and Nick have their own reasons for needing the large payment so both set off to recover the map. Initially the two work independently but when Landry and Nick find themselves in dangerous situations, they compare notes and begin to work collectively. They also begin to have feelings for one another. They soon find themselves in a hunt for clues that lead them right into Native American sacred grounds. Weaver's Needle keeps you guessing. They characters are likable and you find yourself rooting for them to have a lasting romance. Landry's faith is clear and the message of salvation is subtle but written well.
    more
  • Cathy Daniel
    May 26, 2017
    I always love this author's writing. So good. However I expected an adventure and running in the desert or treasure hunting and there was none of that, so it was disappointing and not what I expected. Also I'm so tired of the one person is Christian, the other isn't, the one who isn't makes a quick conversion that doesn't seem believable at the end plot so very common in Christian fiction. Not this author's fault, it's an industry thing. So I deducted a star for both complaints but overall, I en I always love this author's writing. So good. However I expected an adventure and running in the desert or treasure hunting and there was none of that, so it was disappointing and not what I expected. Also I'm so tired of the one person is Christian, the other isn't, the one who isn't makes a quick conversion that doesn't seem believable at the end plot so very common in Christian fiction. Not this author's fault, it's an industry thing. So I deducted a star for both complaints but overall, I enjoyed this book.
    more
  • Dana Michael
    March 19, 2017
    Mystery, suspense and romance is this authors specialty. This book contained them all and had me turning the pages to find out what happened next. The setting started in New Orleans and went to Arizona. The ride along the way had me sitting on the edge of my seat. The characters had depth, the plot was amazing and the message was inspirational. I definitely recommend this book. I was given a copy of this book by the publisher and was under no obligation to leave a review.
    more
  • Jerrye Bell
    June 14, 2017
    Weaver's Needle by Robin CarollRating: 2 out of 5 stars____________________________________________________________Story NotesRobin Caroll's newest venture into the world of recovery specialists (ie treasure hunters) promised excitement, adventure and romance but fell quite a bit short of its goal.Having read some of Ms. Caroll's collaborative work with Colleen Coble, I approached her latest story with some happy anticipation, hoping for a good plot with well developed characters. I was somewhat Weaver's Needle by Robin CarollRating: 2 out of 5 stars____________________________________________________________Story NotesRobin Caroll's newest venture into the world of recovery specialists (ie treasure hunters) promised excitement, adventure and romance but fell quite a bit short of its goal.Having read some of Ms. Caroll's collaborative work with Colleen Coble, I approached her latest story with some happy anticipation, hoping for a good plot with well developed characters. I was somewhat disappointed with the story as it went along given the anticipation that Ms. Caroll built at the beginning of the story was not well carried with the fleshing out of the plot. She begins her story with two characters, Landry Parker and Nickolai Baptiste, who are recovery specialists called to bid on the same venture - to find a map that possibly leads to gold mine in Arizona. With the circumstances surrounding the map's disappearance both Landry and Nickolai are reluctant to sign on but neither can afford to pass up the finders fee that's offered. As they take their respective paths to seeking out the details of how and why the map went missing they both find that all  answers are leading to Apache Juction, Arizona and its surrounding towns. Both Landry and Nickolai have personal financial reasons for taking this case and as they find themselves working together they have to remember that there can only be one collection fee given for the map's finding. The question Ms. Caroll then presents is whether working together will keep them safe or make them more of a target for whomever stole the map? And further will this case bring them together forever or keep them divided as they seek the map and the treasure it indicates exists. With the plot presented there is much room for an author to really make the characters involved come alive and create a real feeling of danger and excitement. However, I found the "excitement" and "danger" to be rather lukewarm and not anxiety-inducing in the least.  If you are going to write about brakes failing or a napalm fire breaking out in a hotel room and you want your readers to really be afraid for your characters you have to be very descriptive with the details of those happenings and the reactions of your characters. I never really felt fear or anxiety for Landry or Nickolai, rather I felt like the "danger" was an afterthought added to make the story seem more interesting. And the random angry lady involved in the wreck caused by Nickolai's failed brakes was really annoying and not helpful to the scene at all. Another inclusion that bothered me was the random inserts of Apache ceremonies and rituals that were not well connected to or explained within the story. Usually those scenes are inserted to explain the actions of participating characters but I was halfway through the book before I finally understood the reason Ms. Caroll included them. Furthermore, the character that was to carry out the decisions of the Apache council was not revealed until the last two chapters; making him unhelpful to the carriage of the plot. And the whole ending where Nickolai was given the choice of "saving Landry's life if he gave up his memories of the location of the gold mine" was so very weird and not possible I laughed and shook my head when I read it. This is supposed to be a Christian book so why do the Apache have any power over who lives and who dies based on one person's choice? That power rests in the hands of Almighty God who does not give the power of life and death to any man! Not good, Ms. Caroll! Finally, Ms. Caroll's "bad guy" was so evident from the first third of the book that I was bored with his revelation at the end. I find that the best "bad guys" are those who are concealed or are working unsuspected alongside the "heroes" until the end and their revelation comes as a shock to all those involved. Not that all criminals are masterminds but I do expect fictional ones to be capable of more stealth than your average sneak thief or drug dealer. I did find some redeeming qualities in this book so all is not completely lost. I was very happy with the way in which Ms. Caroll dealt openly with the mental illness Nickolai's sister suffers from. She showed that Schizophrenia is a real disorder and that those who suffer from it often harm those who are closest to them in very brutal ways. And when Ms. Caroll showed that faith in Christ is the best way for any Schizophrenic to find the strength to overcome their tendencies, that impressed me and made me see that her intentions were headed in the right direction. I was also glad to see that Ms. Caroll had Nickolai see that the blame for his parents deaths was not his to carry. His family had no history of mental illness and his sister's actions were not unlike those of her friends, therefore her condition was not to be anticipated or realized until it turned violent in a tragic way. Additionally, the romance between Landry and Nickolai was fairly well written, with a sweetness and carefulness that I have come to expect from Christian Romance. I was a little against it at first, given that Nickolai was an unbeliever but was happy to see them together at the end of the story. So although there were some things that were good about this story, I'm not sure I will be recommending this book to anyone as it was rather disappointing. I hope that Ms. Caroll will spend more time honing her craft before she writes another like this. For avid readers of adventure/dramatic stories she will have to make her writing much sharper and more descriptive if she wishes to have devoted fans. I received this E-book free of charge from Barbour Publishing/Shiloh Run Press via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. I will receive no fiscal compensation from either company for this review. 
    more
  • Honeybee
    June 10, 2017
    This was a fast-paced, enjoyable read. The main characters were Landry Parker, former military police officer, and Nikolai Baptiste, former New Orleans police officer, now competitors in the recovery business. They are hired by a wealthy heiress to find and return a historic document that was stolen when her husband was murdered. The document is purported to be none other than the original map of the Dutchman's lost gold mine in the Superstition Mountains of New Mexico. The catch is that, while This was a fast-paced, enjoyable read. The main characters were Landry Parker, former military police officer, and Nikolai Baptiste, former New Orleans police officer, now competitors in the recovery business. They are hired by a wealthy heiress to find and return a historic document that was stolen when her husband was murdered. The document is purported to be none other than the original map of the Dutchman's lost gold mine in the Superstition Mountains of New Mexico. The catch is that, while their travel and lodging expenses will be reimbursed during their search, only the person who recovers the map will receive the $50 thousand finder's fee. Both Landry and Nikolai are in need of the cash, so they set out to find what became of it. Meanwhile, a minor character, Gopan, a junior Apache shaman, goes on a vision quest to find out who is after the gold and how they can stop the outsider from stealing the sacred treasure and angering their thunder god. From the very first page, you can sense the clash of personalities and the strong rivalry between Landry and Nikolai. Both have histories of loss and pain that influence their reactions to people and circumstances. Both are strong-willed and determined. And neither one cares for the other--at first. However, it isn't long before threats and sabotage from an unknown source forges a reluctant partnership and eventual bond between them. Slashed tires, cut brake lines and a scorpion sting transform the two adversaries into allies, and eventually romance blossoms. The list of possible suspects ebbs and flows throughout the book. Details unfold, as the investigators tackle their assignment from different angles, and then eventually team up against the person who'll go to any length to thwart their search. It was hard to tell who stole the map and killed the millionaire to acquire it, as well as who might be in possession of the real or copied versions. The story was well-written and came to an exciting crescendo within the the final chapters of the book. I was a bit disappointed with part of the ending, but it pretty much had to resolve this way, since the "real" map is still at large (or non-existent) and the gold mine is still lost to this day. It was also disconcerting that the author chose to have the Christian character, Landry, kissing and seriously considering a long-term relationship with admitted agnostic, Nikolai. However, the author neatly handles that issue by the end of the book. While it is clearly a stand-alone novel, I think this story has the potential of generating an entire series, based on the characters and their interesting business. Robin Caroll is a fine writer with a polished voice and style. She does a great job of developing not only her story and main characters, but also of creating interesting sub-plots and fleshing out her supporting cast.If you are looking for a book that includes mystery, intrigue, suspense, action, romance and a fair amount of humor, this one has it all. It also deals somewhat with mental illness and the pain of watching the decline of a loved one through degenerative disease. The gospel is included without being preachy. The dialogue is realistic and believable.
    more
  • Sarah
    June 6, 2017
    “Weaver’s Needle” is the first book I’ve read from Robin Caroll in quite a while and I was so excited to get started! I loved her “Evil” and “Justice Seekers” series and was super stoked to see she had a new book coming out, so of course, I had to read it! I can happily say that I enjoyed this book, though I do confess that there were a couple things I might’ve liked done differently. I really enjoyed Ms. Caroll’s writing and definitely the mystery aspect of the story. I was very intrigued at th “Weaver’s Needle” is the first book I’ve read from Robin Caroll in quite a while and I was so excited to get started! I loved her “Evil” and “Justice Seekers” series and was super stoked to see she had a new book coming out, so of course, I had to read it! I can happily say that I enjoyed this book, though I do confess that there were a couple things I might’ve liked done differently. I really enjoyed Ms. Caroll’s writing and definitely the mystery aspect of the story. I was very intrigued at the story line, two Recovery Specialists pitted against one another to find a missing map first and I appreciated how she wove the story, keeping me on my toes and guessing “whodunit.” Though it’s more of a treasure hunt than a murder mystery, the two were so intertwined that they often overlapped and had me playing out the same scenarios as Landry and Nickolai, trying find motive and wondering who was attempting to force them off the case. The story did seem a bit convoluted, with several rabbit trails and side trips in their search for answers. I also found myself getting lost a time or two, trying to keep up with all of the names and how each person fit into their role. There were also a couple things that were restated, as though the author had forgotten that she’d already brought up a topic, so it was mentioned again. Despite that, I definitely enjoyed the mystery side of things and was right there with Landry and Nickolai, wanting to search for the mine and see the hunt to it’s conclusion.The characters are usually my favorite part of any book, but in this case, I didn’t quite connect with them as well as I would’ve liked. Landry Parker and Nickolai Baptiste are both interesting characters, but they sometimes felt almost secondary to the mystery. And I’m not entirely sure about the overall time line, but I do have to add that their romance felt a bit rushed, with how quickly everything was happening. It also seemed that something would happen, such as a fire or a car accident, and instead of following that up, the suspense would taper off and the story would move to their personal lives. I appreciated that the author was working to build characters that I would care about, but at the same time, it caused a bit of a lag in the story and I didn’t find it holding my attention as well as I would’ve liked. This story focuses around a Native American legend and discusses their beliefs quite a bit, something that I found both interesting and a little difficult to read at times. Some of their rituals are described from the perspective of someone going through them and there is some debate regarding what they believe, verses Christianity, and the author chose to leave it as a bit of a gray area. I can appreciate her tact regarding a different belief, but at the same time, part of the ending left me a bit uncomfortable with the whole thing.Overall, this was an interesting read that dealt with some unique topics and is one I would recommend if you enjoy mystery and treasure hunts.*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review.
    more
  • Meagan Myhren-bennett
    June 4, 2017
    Weaver's NeedleBy Robin CarollWhen a murder results in a missing map - a map that could lead to the rumored Dutchman's Lost Gold Mine - a hunt is on. When Winifred Winslet, the widow of Bartholomew Winslet, calls two different recovery specialists in to locate the map that may have cost her husband his life the race is on and only one of them will be paid.Landry Parker and Nickolai Baptiste are both drawn against their better judgment to locate the map. Landry needs the money to save her father' Weaver's NeedleBy Robin CarollWhen a murder results in a missing map - a map that could lead to the rumored Dutchman's Lost Gold Mine - a hunt is on. When Winifred Winslet, the widow of Bartholomew Winslet, calls two different recovery specialists in to locate the map that may have cost her husband his life the race is on and only one of them will be paid.Landry Parker and Nickolai Baptiste are both drawn against their better judgment to locate the map. Landry needs the money to save her father's business while Nickolai needs the money for his sister. With two very determined and stubborn people on the case the map - if it exists - is sure to be found. There is just one problem - someone wants the map to be lost forever and the rumors about the long lost gold may be a key factor in this case.Landry and Nickolai are both determined to find the answers that will lead them to the killer and the map, but that may be difficult when someone takes a personal interest in stopping them. And where one murder has been committed what is a couple more? With danger closing in on them and the clock running down will they solve this case or will they become yet another casualty of a doomed expedition for gold in the Superstition Mountains? Joining forces seems to be the best way to stay alive unless the competition is where the true danger lies. Can Landry and Nickolai trust one another with their backs?Weaver's Needle takes the reader back and forth between the quest that Landry and Nickolai find themselves on and mysticism of the Indians who call the Superstition Mountains. The spiritual aspects of the Apache portion of the story was presented in such a way that the reader wasn't sure if it was in the present day or in the past until the end of the book (you'll have to read the book for yourself to know the answer for this). This added another layer of complexity to the story and the mystery surrounding the quest for the map and the powerful pull of greed upon the human spirit. This was an interesting book that gave several potential suspects as to who did it and why. If you are looking for a mystery with a unique twist this may be what you are looking. There is mystery aplenty within these pages and the suspense will keep you flipping the pages if you aren't careful. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and was under no obligation to post a review. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Darlene L.
    May 29, 2017
    Recovery specialist Landry Parker is on the brink of losing her business, so when she stumbles upon a case involving a mysterious map, a hidden mine, and a $50K reward, she jumps at the chance. The catch? She pitted against her nemesis.Former police officer Nickolai Baptiste is offered a challenge. One that will pay a substantial reward if he wins against the beautiful Landry Parker—his adversary in this business of recovering items of importance.Landry and Nickolai soon find themselves up again Recovery specialist Landry Parker is on the brink of losing her business, so when she stumbles upon a case involving a mysterious map, a hidden mine, and a $50K reward, she jumps at the chance. The catch? She pitted against her nemesis.Former police officer Nickolai Baptiste is offered a challenge. One that will pay a substantial reward if he wins against the beautiful Landry Parker—his adversary in this business of recovering items of importance.Landry and Nickolai soon find themselves up against not only oppositions with each other, but an unknown opponent who is dead set against them finding the map. Even worse, his intent becomes deadly after a rash of incidents leave Landry and Nickolai working together instead of against each other, making it impossible to stop their growing feelings.Can these recovery specialists find the mysterious and most sought after map before it’s too late on this deadly game of cat and mouse? Or will the legends and folklore catch up with them?Weaver’s Needle by Robin Caroll is a delightful story for any age and leaves the reader turning the pages in this race against the clock. It has lots of twists and will keep you guessing on who the opponent is. The plot is solid and moves forward nicely.The characters are well rounded and jump off the page to the reader. They will find it hard to side with either Landry or Nickolai but will love both. This is well done by the author.The Native American folklore throughout was interesting and added mystery to the story. You can tell the author did her research on this aspect.The setting was perfect for this national treasure type of story. The Superstition Mountains and Weaver’s Needle was the best background and I could picture everything as Landry and Nickolai made their way to the mine. I give Weaver’s Needle four gold mines. It’s a treasure hunt you will want to get in on!**Book has been provided courtesy of Barbour Publishing, Inc and the author in exchange for my honest review.
    more
Write a review