Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Vol. 3
The Green Ranger and Blue Ranger are lost in a mysterious world, as the rest of our heroes must try and track them down.Tommy and Billy are lost in a mysterious land without their powers. With the world reeling after Rita’s attacks, Jason, Kimberly, Zack, Trini, and Alpha 5 must do all they can to save Zordon, and bring their missing friends home. From writer Kyle Higgins (Nightwing, Batman Beyond 2.0) and artists Hendry Prasetya (Power Girl) and Jonathan Lam (Gotham Academy) comes the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers along with the continuing Adventures of Bulk and Skull from Steve Orlando (Supergirl) and Corin Howell (Bat-Mite).

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Vol. 3 Details

TitleMighty Morphin Power Rangers, Vol. 3
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherBOOM! Studios
ISBN1608869776
ISBN-139781608869770
Number of pages112 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Fiction, Comic Book, Young Adult

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Vol. 3 Review

  • Chris Lemmerman
    May 15, 2017
    [Read as single issues]You'll forgive me for having to check which issues are in this trade and then what happened in those issues, because the MMPR series at Boom! has been one long interconnected story since it first started so it's pretty difficult to differentiate when one trade ends and another begins.Issues 9, 11, and 12 focus on the main story as the Rangers mount their first counterattack against Rita after she finally won thanks to the help of the Black Dragon in the previous volume. Bi [Read as single issues]You'll forgive me for having to check which issues are in this trade and then what happened in those issues, because the MMPR series at Boom! has been one long interconnected story since it first started so it's pretty difficult to differentiate when one trade ends and another begins.Issues 9, 11, and 12 focus on the main story as the Rangers mount their first counterattack against Rita after she finally won thanks to the help of the Black Dragon in the previous volume. Billy and Tommy then find themselves trapped in an alternate dimension, home to the Black Dragon, AKA Lord Drakkon, AKA...well, you'll see. This is the most intense Power Rangers story you're ever going to see, and the despair and hopelessness that oozes off the pages is both wonderful and awful all at once.Issue 10 is another spotlight issue, this time on Billy who feels like he isn't living up to his role as a Ranger. Again I really like these issues, since character development was done in fits and starts in the TV show but is much more effortless here. It's also nice to see these characters worry and feel insecure, even if they are superheroes. It's all very Spider-Man-y.Hendry Prasetya pencils the main storyline once more, and continues to churn out massive robot fights and human interaction without missing a beat. Jonathan Lam pencils the fill-in for Billy, which is a very different, more subdued art style that certainly fits Billy's personality very well.We also get the conclusion of the Ongoing Adventures Of Bulk & Skull, only for them to be replaced by the New Adventures Of Squat & Baboo instead. These are fun, but not particularly memorable - mostly like the characters in the show, so that's a point in its favour, I guess?
    more
  • Paul Decker
    June 14, 2017
    This ongoing series is so good! I love how Higgins has taken such a staple of my childhood and brought it to the present with more modern and mature storytelling while keeping the fun and ridiculousness that is Power Rangers. This is the third volume, so it picks up where the last one ended. Lord Drakkon is a main focus of this volume. I love the design of his costume. And I am totally here for his backstory. I'm a big fan of alternate timelines and time travel, so it's exactly my cup of tea. Th This ongoing series is so good! I love how Higgins has taken such a staple of my childhood and brought it to the present with more modern and mature storytelling while keeping the fun and ridiculousness that is Power Rangers. This is the third volume, so it picks up where the last one ended. Lord Drakkon is a main focus of this volume. I love the design of his costume. And I am totally here for his backstory. I'm a big fan of alternate timelines and time travel, so it's exactly my cup of tea. There's a whole chapter in this volume that puts the main story on the back burner and focuses on one character, Billy. A different artist draws this chapter so there's a more personal feel to it. I liked it, but having less of the main story in this volume made me hungry for more. I really like the references to other seasons of Power Rangers. I won't go into details, but the last panel has two people standing next to each other that made me very excited.The Ongoing Adventures of Bulk & Skull has another story at the end of this volume. It's a fun, cute story but I'd prefer more of the character stories than another comical slap comedy with those lovable antagonists.I give this volume a 5/5. Higgins knows what to do with Power Rangers. My favorite ongoing comic series currently out there.
    more
  • Matisse
    June 26, 2017
    These volumes are too short. The story here is riveting, for sure, and there's no way anyone who's read this far will dare miss the next volume. It's just all a little bittersweet, since we have to wait so long for the next bit of the story. I do wonder if Higgins' vision will include any other Ranger powers or teams going forward. This title hints at it, what with (view spoiler)[the appearances of the Rangers of Aquitar, the Phantom Ranger, and the Falconzord (hide spoiler)] but since the MMPR These volumes are too short. The story here is riveting, for sure, and there's no way anyone who's read this far will dare miss the next volume. It's just all a little bittersweet, since we have to wait so long for the next bit of the story. I do wonder if Higgins' vision will include any other Ranger powers or teams going forward. This title hints at it, what with (view spoiler)[the appearances of the Rangers of Aquitar, the Phantom Ranger, and the Falconzord (hide spoiler)] but since the MMPR powers have become so central to the story world, how would a transition to Zeo, or even just from the dino powers to the thunder powers, ever work convincingly? Hm. Gonna have to wait and see, I guess. = )
    more
  • Kerri
    June 4, 2017
    3.5 stars. Again, this just felt way too short and there wasn't quite as much character development in this volume, which is where the previous volumes really went that extra mile. However, the plot is still killin' it in my opinion AND THAT ENDING THO.
    more
  • Jeremiah
    June 9, 2017
    Great story and the artwork is still some of the best I've seen! But these volumes are just waaaaay too short. 4 issues plus a bonus story. I was able to finish this WAY too quickly. Just saying. But still, loving the series!
  • Jessica
    June 14, 2017
    Really good. I never saw myself as a comic book reader, let alone one about the Power Rangers, but these are really good.
  • Eric
    June 14, 2017
    The continuing adventures of our favorite spandex clad teenagers with attitude.
Write a review