Straight Outta Tombstone
Tales of the Weird Wild West.Top authors take on the classic western, with a weird twist. Includes new stories by Larry Correia and Jim Butcher! Come visit the Old West, the land where gang initiations, ride-by shootings and territory disputes got their start. But these tales aren't the ones your grandpappy spun around a campfire, unless he spoke of soul-sucking ghosts, steam-powered demons, and wayward aliens. Here then are seventeen stories that breathe new life in the Old West. Among them: Larry Correia explores the roots of his best-selling Monster Hunter International series in "Bubba Shackleford's Professional Monster Killers." Jim Butcher reveals the origin of one of the Dresden Files' most popular characters in "A Fistful of Warlocks." And Kevin J. Anderson's Dan Shamble, Zombie P.I., finds himself in a showdown in "High Midnight." Plus stories from Alan Dean Foster, Sarah A. Hoyt, Jody Lynn Nye, Michael A. Stackpole, and many more. This is a new Old West and you ll be lucky to get outta town alive! Contributors: David Boop Larry Correia Jody Lynn Nye Sam Knight Robert E. Vardeman Phil Foglio Nicole Kurtz Michael A. Stackpole Bryan Thomas Schmidt & Ken Scholes Maurice Broaddus Sarah A. Hoyt Alan Dean Foster David Lee Summers Kevin J. Anderson Naomi Brett Rourke Julie Campbell Peter J. Wacks Jim Butcher"

Straight Outta Tombstone Details

TitleStraight Outta Tombstone
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherBaen
ISBN1481482696
ISBN-139781481482691
Number of pages259 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Horror, Anthologies, Science Fiction, Steampunk, Paranormal, Vampires, Fiction

Straight Outta Tombstone Review

  • Jon
    July 8, 2017
    Between the title and the cover, it didn't take much for me to be salivating over buying this. I'm a big fan of the Weird West, as many folk know, going back to my work on Doomtown Reloaded for the Deadlands RPG universe. Add in some of my literary heroes like Jim Butcher, Kevin J. Anderson and Larry Correia, and I was practically begging Baen to take my money on this one.As I write this, it's sitting at #2 in Anthologies and it'd be a GREAT time to click to push this beautiful book to #1. I may Between the title and the cover, it didn't take much for me to be salivating over buying this. I'm a big fan of the Weird West, as many folk know, going back to my work on Doomtown Reloaded for the Deadlands RPG universe. Add in some of my literary heroes like Jim Butcher, Kevin J. Anderson and Larry Correia, and I was practically begging Baen to take my money on this one.As I write this, it's sitting at #2 in Anthologies and it'd be a GREAT time to click to push this beautiful book to #1. I may have spoiled how much I enjoyed it, but read on if you're not convinced yet.I had a long plane ride home last night from LibertyCon and got a lot of reading done, including this anthology. The stories included were so action-packed that I was able to sail right through it. Really a stellar job of getting a lot of unique voices that are both fun and have a great handle on writing stories that make weird west.I'm not going to do a summary of every story involved, as it would take far too long, but I'll highlight some of my favorites.The best story in the volume, hands down, was "Trouble In An Hourglass" by Jody Lynn Nye. Jody has always had a great feel for short fiction, and didn't disappoint here. The characters really stand out in this time travelling adventure that made for a lot of fun. One can see how big of a fan of Dr. Who she is by the way that she made this world work, another bonus. I really hope i can see more shorts with Trouble involved, a character very difficult not to fall in love with -- even though you know you shouldn't!My next favorite was "Dry Gulch Dragon" by Sarah Hoyt. She poses a simple question at the very beginning of this story which is one of the best hooks I've ever read: would you let your sister marry a Dragon. It spins from there in to a world of elves and a fae-land within the west, something I'm not sure I've read done before, and I loved it! This felt like a classic fantasy tale and is worth the price of admission by itself.Best concept and unique exectuion award, which I do differentiate from my favorite story, goes to Peter Wacks with "The Key". It opens up as a tale within a tale, a Chinese woman betting a bar that she has a story worth giving her a free shot of whiskey. Wack's use of time in different scenes, which follows a crazy path featuring Nikola Tesla and Rasputin, exectues a really nice way of using formatting and scenery to add a cool temporal flare to the story, as heroes hunt down and protect the key.There wasn't a story I disliked in the whole volume, which is rare for anthologies. I can't get enough of the Weird West, and this actually surpasses my last favorite weird west antho, Dead Man's Hand edited by John Joseph Adams, which I nearly uphold as a bible of what the genre should be. Great work all around.10/10
    more
  • Travis
    July 10, 2017
    I've liked westerns for many many years, though recently I've taken to reading more scifi than western, the action is better, and the stories are more interesting.Who would have thought that combining western settings with scifi stories could be so much fun.If you like either westerns, or scifi, or even (to a lesser degree fantasy), then you need to read this story collection. You'll find all the usual culprits, wild bill, train robberies, smoky saloons, six guns, and on and on, but none of them I've liked westerns for many many years, though recently I've taken to reading more scifi than western, the action is better, and the stories are more interesting.Who would have thought that combining western settings with scifi stories could be so much fun.If you like either westerns, or scifi, or even (to a lesser degree fantasy), then you need to read this story collection. You'll find all the usual culprits, wild bill, train robberies, smoky saloons, six guns, and on and on, but none of them are quite what you're used to in your typical western towns. This collection of stories will delight and entertain, putting new spins on old characters, providing glimpses into new and original western settings, and even elves (did I mention there were elves?) make an appearance in this collection, along with aliens, time travel, dragons, and even more wonderful and zany takes on how the west was won. :) Highly recommended, you can't go wrong with this collection of stories, run out and pick up your own copy today.
    more
  • Eric
    July 23, 2017
    I was really excited about this collection. It has a story in the Monster Hunter universe and a story in the Dresden Files universe - IN THE SAME BOOK! How could that not be amazing?Well, it could not be amazing because it's westerns. Don't get me wrong, I like them, they're just not the top of my list. It is rare for me to be deeply impressed with a western - the western is very much my father's genre.I liked the Monster Hunter story. I liked the Dresden files story. I didn't love either of the I was really excited about this collection. It has a story in the Monster Hunter universe and a story in the Dresden Files universe - IN THE SAME BOOK! How could that not be amazing?Well, it could not be amazing because it's westerns. Don't get me wrong, I like them, they're just not the top of my list. It is rare for me to be deeply impressed with a western - the western is very much my father's genre.I liked the Monster Hunter story. I liked the Dresden files story. I didn't love either of them, but they helped fill that need to read in those universes. I liked the story by Phil Foglio even if I could see the end coming. There were a couple of stories that were MEH. My favorite story - far and away was actually "Chance Corrigan and The Lord of The Underworld" by Michael A. Stackpole. Western, steampunk, magic... definitely a worthy read.
    more
  • Laura
    July 5, 2017
    Revisit the old westIf you like tales of the old west, especially if you like tales of the old west spiced with a bit of the bizarre or supernatural, you will enjoy these stories. The authors depict their setting well enough that you can practically taste the dust at the back of your throat. You may run across some familiar characters and even those that aren't familiar have excellent stories to tell.
    more
  • Nihonjoe
    July 11, 2017
    This was an awesome read. I liked all the stories in it, and loved most of them. David Boop did an amazing job gathering these disparate stories and putting them together in a cohesive whole that really works. You can read my full review over on MySF Reviews.
    more
  • Dana West
    July 15, 2017
    Five solid stars for A Fistful of Warlocks by Jim Butcher. I have wanted to know more about Anastasia Luccio and this story gave me just enough. Adding in Wyatt Earp, the Venatori Umbrorum, and some small town politics made this a fast paced, super fun, addition to the Dresdenverse.
    more
  • Marcus
    July 19, 2017
    Great first and last stories by Butcher and Correia but otherwise, it was an ok collection of western speculative fiction.
  • Pat Patterson
    July 31, 2017
    Papa Pat Rambles has additional commentary, particularly about the cover art: http://habakkuk21.blogspot.com/2017/0...BUBBA SHACKLEFORD’S PROFESSIONAL MONSTER KILLERS by Larry Correia. Ever since Owen got to throw his boss out of the window, his fans have been clamoring for more. And, by going into the past, we can get a LOT more Monster Hunter stories. Some things stay the same: not all monsters are evil; chicks with guns are WAY cool; and NOBODY ever said “Dang, why did I bring all this ammuni Papa Pat Rambles has additional commentary, particularly about the cover art: http://habakkuk21.blogspot.com/2017/0...BUBBA SHACKLEFORD’S PROFESSIONAL MONSTER KILLERS by Larry Correia. Ever since Owen got to throw his boss out of the window, his fans have been clamoring for more. And, by going into the past, we can get a LOT more Monster Hunter stories. Some things stay the same: not all monsters are evil; chicks with guns are WAY cool; and NOBODY ever said “Dang, why did I bring all this ammunition?” Oh, yeah, and the government is mental.TROUBLE IN AN HOURGLASS by Jody Lynn Nye. Well, her name isn't REALLY trouble. Beauty may, perhaps, be only skin deep, but mischief goes right down to the bone. Mom tends bar with a shotgun, daddy builds time machines in the shed.THE BUFFALO HUNTERS by Sam Knight. What do you get when you go hunting buffalo with a giant Russian count and his daughter? Well, you get buffalo, for one thing. Not much sport to it, but this sort of thing really happened. In this case, though, it's not the buffalo that are the biggest threat.THE SIXTH WORLD by Robert E. Vardeman. This story combines mad scientists, native spook stuff, and little grey men. The most sympathetic character gets killed first, but he was sort of a wimp.EASY MONEY by Phil Foglio. Nasty, nasty man writes a story with a punchline at the end. It's a HECK of a good cowboy story, too.THE WICKED WILD by Nicole Givens Kurtz. This could ALMOST not be a Wild West story, but it's the wicked ways of the Wild West that make the people possible. Umm, I didn't mean to do that much alliteration. Anyway, bad guys use to be able to get away with stuff until they got shot. Or something.CHANCE CORRIGAN AND THE LORD OF THE UNDERWORLD by Michael A. Stackpole. Nicely steampunk in nature, a classic tale of the poor & downtrodden being taken advantsge of by the owners of the mine.THE GREATEST GUNS IN THE GALAXY by Bryan Thomas Schmidt & Ken Scholes. After the Big Shoot-Out, there's always some kid who thinks he has to prove himself. Usually, the story ends with a pimply 15 year old staring up at a blue sky. Sometimes it ends in zombies. Or not.DANCE OF BONES by Maurice Broaddus. When you take a man's money, you do the job he hired you to do. And if that means you have to do a little extra? Well, that's a risk you take.DRY GULCH DRAGON by Sarah A. Hoyt. Would you want your sister to marry a dragon? There's really NOTHING I can say about that concept without the risk of offending a brother-in-law. Really. I've got some responses, but I think I may have gone a bit far already.THE TREEFOLD PROBLEM by Alan Dean Foster. Mad Amos Malone and his trusty steed, Worthless, are not the sort you want to aggravate. Amos walks into a foreclosure situation, and, well, they just blow the competition away.FOUNTAINS OF BLOOD by David Lee Summers. It's rather a creepy title, but I don't know what I'd come up with to replace it. A hired gun goes beyond the necessary minimums to provide true service to the man who hired him; and there are vampires, and a bodacious lady marshal who rides a motorcycle called Wolf.HIGH MIDNIGHT by Kevin J. Anderson. The Shamblin' Zombie Private Eye encounters the ethics of the Wild West through time travel. Sort of.COYOTE by Naomi Brett Rourke. This particular story has just as much non-natural events as the others, but it reads truer. Some of the other stories NEED a volume like this in order to exist; this one doesn't. The story of the old man and his grand-daughter could appear anywhere from Boy's Life to Playboy to Good Housekeeping. Maybe not Popular Mechanics.THE KEY by Peter J. Wacks. Sorry. Didn't get this one. It has lots of famous people in it, though. And there is whiskey involved.A FISTFUL OF WARLOCKS by Jim Butcher. Everybody said Wyatt Earp was a tough lawman. He says, in this story, that he can't leave just because the bad guys want him to, or pretty soon everybody will be pushing him. Seems like a good philosophy for a Wild West lawman to have.
    more
  • Gail
    May 20, 2017
    Can't wait for this to be released. Read the first chapter/story by Larry Correia on the Baen website today. Really enjoyed this short story with Bubba Shackleford!
Write a review